Skip to main content

Individuals

Personalized & Specialty Plates


Quick Navigation

Construction Vehicle License Plates
Emblem Plate
Dignity Sculpture Plate
Rear Plate Only
Amateur Radio License Plate
Disabled Person License Plate
Firefighter License Plate
Personalized Plate
Policies Regarding Personalized Plates
Tribal License Plates
Tribal Veteran & Women Veteran License Plate

 


Apply for Construction Vehicle License Plates

A vehicle used exclusively on job sites for the construction of township roads, stock water dugouts, dams, farm and ranch irrigation systems or other soil and water conservation projects on farms and ranches, or for the construction or maintenance of highways in the State of South Dakota may qualify for construction plates. Any motor vehicle, semitrailer, motor-propelled or trailed vehicle chassis registered in South Dakota is eligible.

  Vehicle Plate
Construction Vehicle License Plate Construction Vehicle License Plate
Fee Construction plates are to be purchased for $25 annually from the Division of Motor Vehicles. Prior to moving any vehicle or equipment (between job sites or from a job site to a central location) that has been issued a construction plate, the owner must obtain a $5 permit for the movement of the vehicle or equipment on the roads and highways. The permits, which are obtained through the Highway Patrol, are available in books of 10 at the amount of $50. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates.
Apply Complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law SDCL 32-9-3, SDCL 32-9-58

 

Apply for an Emblem Plate

Any owner of a motor vehicle may apply for an emblem specialty plate.

Organization Decal Guide

Members of approved nonprofit organizations are eligible to purchase organization license plates from their county treasurer which allows for placement of organization decals on a special license plate. The decals allow nonprofit organizations throughout South Dakota to raise additional funds. To qualify organizations must be:

  • A Non-profit Corporation or group of non-profit corporations
  • Registered with the Secretary of State
  • Have 200 members, donors or volunteers

 

Apply for a Dignity Sculpture Plate

Any South Dakota resident may obtain Dignity Sculpture license plates.

  Vehicle Plate
Dignity Sculpture Plate Dignity License Plate
Fee In addition to the cost of a vehicle's annual registration renewal, vehicle owners have an initial fee of $10.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law SDCL 32-5-184

 

Apply for a Rear Plate Only

A rear plate is only available for vehicles with an annual mileage of less than 7,500 miles that are not used for general or commercial use. Applicants will be required to supply a current odometer reading at the time of annual registration. Applicants must pay a $25 special plate fee in addition to the registration cost for the initial registration and each renewal. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail the license plates.

  Vehicle Plate
Rear Plate Only Rear Plate Only
Fee In addition to the cost of a vehicle's annual registration renewal, vehicle owners have an annual fee of $25.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law SDCL 32-5-179

 

Apply for Amateur Radio License Plate

Special plates may be obtained from the Division of Motor Vehicles by any official amateur radio operator licensed by the FCC. An applicant for amateur radio plates must provide a copy of the FCC license when applying for and renewing amateur radio plates. The plates may bear the inscription of the station's call numbers and shall be displayed on the vehicle.

  Vehicle Plate
Amateur Radio License Plate Amateur Radio License Plates
Fee Applicants must pay a $10 special plate fee in addition to the registration fee for the initial registration and each renewal. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law SDCL 32-5-65

 

Apply for Disabled Person License Plate

For more information on Disabled Parking Permits & Plates visit the Disabled Parking Permits & Plates page

 

Apply for Firefighter License Plate

An owner of a vehicle who is a resident of South Dakota and it currently certified and recognized by the State Fire Marshal's office may apply for a firefighter license plate. The plates must be displayed on the vehicle in place of the regular number plates. If the applicant dies or is discharged, separated, or retires, the plate must be surrendered to the owner's local county treasurer. In addition to the registration fee for the initial registration and each renewal, vehicle owners must pay an initial plate fee of $10. A $5 mailing fee Is also due.

  Vehicle Plate
Firefighter License Plate Firefighter License Plate
Fee The initial fee for firefighter plates is $10. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law SDCL 32-5-113

 

Apply for a Personalized Plate

An owner of a vehicle who is a resident of South Dakota may apply for personalized vehicle license plates. Personalized plates can consist of no more than seven letters, nor less than one. The annual cost for a personalized vehicle license plate is $25, plus the regular license plate fee.

  Vehicle Plate
Personalized License Plate Personalized License Plate
Fee The annual cost for a personalized vehicle license plate is $25, plus the regular license plate fee.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law SDCL 32-5-89.2, SDCL 2-5-89.3

 

Personalized License Plate Fees

Standard Fees Fee Type Cost
Cars, Trucks, and Motorhomes Annual $25
Cars, Trucks, and Motorhomes Lien $10
Cars, Trucks, and Motorhomes Solid Waste $1
Cars, Trucks, and Motorhomes Mailing $5
Motorcycle Annual $20
Motorcycle Lien $10
Motorcycle Solid Waste $1
Motorcycle Mailing $5

 

Other Fees

Varying Fee Type Cost
License Plate $20
Wheel Tax View which counties impose this tax

 

  Fee Type Cost
Excise Tax   4% of purchase price on all motor vehicles.
Duplicate Title Title $10
Duplicate Title Mailing $5

 

Policies Regarding Personalized Plates

The South Dakota Department of Revenue may refuse, or recall previously issued, personalized license plates. Standards have been set to help the Department review and either approve or deny applications fairly and consistently.

 

Apply for Tribal License Plates

Any resident may obtain Indian tribal plates. To receive the plates, the applicant must have registered his vehicle, paid the current year's county plate fees, and provide proof of such by sending a copy of the current vehicle registration form with the application. The Indian tribal plates must be displayed on the vehicle in place of the regular number plates.

  Vehicle Plate
Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Plate
Crow Creek Sioux Tribe Crow Creek Sioux Tribe Plate
Lower Brule Sioux Tribe Lower Brule Sioux Tribe Plate
Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe Plate
Oglala Lakota Sioux Tribe Oglala Lakota Sioux Tribe Plate
Rosebud Sioux Tribe Rosebud Sioux Tribe Plate
Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe Tribe Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe Plate
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Plate
Yankton Sioux Tribe Yankton Sioux Tribe Plate
Fee The initial fee for the Native American tribal plates is $10. There is no fee assessed for renewal of the plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-5-123

 

Apply for a Tribal Veteran & Women Veteran License Plate

Any resident veteran owner of a motor vehicle, who possesses an active South Dakota driver’s license or SD ID card and is an honorably discharged veteran having served on active duty in the armed forces of the United States may apply for a Military License Plate.