For more information, visit the South Dakota Trucker’s Information website.
Truck / Van Title & Registration
An Application for Motor Vehicle Title & Registration (PDF) must be completed and filed in the county of the applicant’s residence. The application must be signed by the record owner(s) or by an authorized agent for the record owner(s). If the application is signed by an authorized agent, a power of attorney document must be attached to verify the appointment.
Truck / Van Fees
License fees on trucks and vans are determined under the current Non-Commercial Gross Weight License Fee Schedule (PDF).
International Registration Plan (IRP) License Plates
Vehicles used to transport items weighing more than 500 pounds (for business purposes) must be commercially licensed. If your vehicle travels only in South Dakota, you must obtain an in-state commercial license from your local county treasurer’s office. However, if you use that vehicle outside South Dakota, you must either obtain a trip permit or have an IRP license (PDF) (also referred to as a prorate license). These licenses are issued only by the Office of Prorate and Commercial Licensing, a section of the Department of Revenue Motor Vehicles Division. For more information, visit SDTruckInfo.com.
|Vehicle Plate||Vehicle Plate||Vehicle Plate|
|Prorate License Plates|
|Applicable Law||SDCL 32-10-17||SDCL 32-10-17||SDCL 32-10-17|
Truck Size & Weight Configuration
Below is a summary of size and weight regulations. For complete information and illustrations, please refer to the SD Motor Carrier Handbook (PDF).
The maximum height for any vehicle, including load, is 14 feet.
- A vehicle with a load of baled hay is permissible up to 14 feet 3 inches
- Farm machinery and fire equipment: no height limit.
The maximum width of any vehicle is 102 inches (8 feet 6 inches).
- Farm machinery operated by a farmer: no width limitation except on the interstate system (daylight hours only).
Unless specifically addressed, the length limits shown apply only to the vehicle, and do not apply to the load carried on it. They are exclusive of the load overhang, retractable extensions used to support loads and safety or energy conservation devices. These devices include mirrors, turn signal lamps, hand-holds, flexible fender extensions and mud flaps. Retractable extensions must be retracted if not being used to support overhanging loads.
Vehicle Weight Regulations
Axle Group Limitations
The maximum allowable weight for all individual axles and axle groups is limited by statute:
- Maximum Allowable Weight Single Axles: 20,000 pounds
- Tandem Axles: 34,000 pounds
- Tridem Axles: 42,000 pounds
- Other Axle Groups: based on the Bridge Weight Formula.
The weight supported on a tire may not exceed 600 pounds per inch width of tire, if that tire is on:
- A steering axle
- An axle equipped with dual tires; or
- A trailer towed by a vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 11,000 pounds or less.
The weight supported by tires mounted on other axles may not exceed 500 pounds per inch width of tire.
Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT)
Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) is paid by anyone who registers a heavy highway motor vehicle in their name with a taxable gross weight of 55,000 pounds (28 ton) or more. The applicant is required to file a Form 2290 with the IRS. HVUT is filed annually. The tax period of Form 2290 is July 1st - June 30th of the following year. When vehicle owners purchase a vehicle over the gross weight requirement they have 60 days to file Form 2290 with the IRS in which they are under pending status and the tonnage decals are issued. At the time of registration, proof of payment of the heavy vehicle use tax is required to be provided within 30 days. The tonnage decals are not issued until this information is received.