Historic Vehicle Title & Registration
As vehicles are bought and sold, the title becomes the legal documentation of each change in ownership. Both the buyer and the seller must follow specific procedures to ensure the title is properly transferred from one owner to the next. Motor vehicle titling and registration is handled through your local county treasurer’s office. See below for all applicable license fees that must be paid to the county treasurer. An Application for Motor Vehicle Title & Registration (PDF) must be signed by the record owner(s) or by an authorized agent for the record owner(s). A power of attorney document must be attached to verify the appointment if the application is signed by an authorized agent.
Historic Vehicle Fees
License fees on historic vehicles fall under the standard license fee of $10.
Historical Vehicle License Plates
If you own a non-commercial automobile, pickup truck, van, or truck that weighs less than eight thousand pounds, or a retired firetruck that is more than thirty years old at the time of application you may apply for historic license plates. The applicant must submit an Application for South Dakota Special License Plate form and a $10 fee. You can see a list of license plates our office has previously issued in the Historical License Plates Overview (PDF).
|Vehicle Plate||Motorcycle Plate|
|Historic License Plates|
|Fee||A fee of $10 shall be assessed.||A fee of $10 shall be assessed.|
|Apply||Complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101()PDF).||Complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101()PDF).|
|Applicable Law||SDCL 32-5-77||SDCL 32-5-77.3|
Display of Original Issue Plates on Historic Vehicles
If you own a motor vehicle which is more than 30 years old—and only drive it on special occasions such as displays, parades and exhibitions—you may apply to display original South Dakota numbered plates issued in the same year as the model year of the motor vehicle on which they will be displayed. The plates must be in good condition and used in pairs. The applicant must submit an Application for South Dakota Special License Plate form, a $10 fee, and a photograph of the license plates.
Vehicles displaying historic plates can only be used for special occasions such as displays, parades, exhibitions, tours and similar uses, and may be driven to service stations or garages for fuel and repairs. It may not be used for general transportation purpose unless it displays regular number plates issued by the county treasurer. Regular license plates issued by this state in the same year as the year of the vehicle (this does not pertain to motorcycles) may be used on the vehicle instead of historic license plates, but must be registered through the Motor Vehicles Division.