Skip to main content


Due to the Governor’s executive order, our offices will be closed until May 31st. Our staff is available via live chat or at 800-829-9188 to answer your questions.

read progress

New Municipal Tax Changes Effective July 1, 2020

minute read

Beginning July 1, 2020 one South Dakota community will implement a new municipal tax rate.   

The municipal tax changes taking effect include:  

  • Erwin, S.D., increasing its 0 percent general sales and use tax rate to 2 percent.

South Dakota municipalities are able to implement new tax rates or change existing tax rates on January 1 or July 1 each year. 

The South Dakota Department of Revenue Municipal Tax Bulletin lists all municipal sales and use tax rates statewide, along with information on tribal sales, use, and excise taxes. 

Recommended Articles