Skip to main content


read progress

New Municipal Tax Changes Effective January 1, 2022

minute read

Beginning January 1, 2022, the town of Lane is implementing a new municipal tax rate from 0 percent general sales and use tax rate to 2 percent. In addition, the town of Henry is amending their municipal tax rate from 1% to 2%.

South Dakota municipalities are able to implement new tax rates or change existing tax rates on January 1 or July 1 each year, according to South Dakota Codified Law 10-52-9.

The South Dakota Department of Revenue has municipal tax information bulletins available, which list all municipal sales and use tax rates statewide, along with information on tribal sales, use and excise taxes.

Updated bulletins are free of charge and available January 1. To obtain a municipal tax information bulletin, download it on the Department of Revenue website or contact the Department of Revenue at 1-800-829-9188.

See Municipal Tax Guide

Recommended Articles

Aberdeen Temporary Office Closure

The Aberdeen Office is closed this week as they transition to their new office space. Staff is able to take calls and will be available in person next week at the new office space at 420 S Roosevelt Street.

Read More about Aberdeen Temporary Office Closure