Governor Noem signed an Executive Order temporarily extending certain vehicle registration renewals and the time period to register and title newly acquired vehicles.
South Dakotans who renew their registrations in the months of March and May will have 60 days to complete this requirement upon the termination of the emergency declaration. Additionally, any newly acquired vehicle that has been obtained within the time period covered under the Governor’s Executive Order will have 60 days to title and register their vehicle after the emergency order has been lifted. Interest and penalties associated with the extended title and registration periods will be waived.
DOR Online Motor Vehicle Services
The Department of Revenue strives to serve the citizens of South Dakota with services that keep them online and out of line. Although we may not be in office, we offer several alternative ways to complete your renewals.
Our online services allow you to review and renew your vehicle registration/decals and license plates, purchase new license plates, opt-in for email renewal and general notifications, find out the estimated renewal cost of your vehicles, report the sale of a vehicle, and print a seller's permit. Annual license renewals can be done online through the Vehicle Registration & Plates portal at mysdcars.sd.gov.
Visit a license renewal kiosk to renew your vehicle registration in less than five minutes. A vehicle owner can navigate through the easy-to-use touch screen (voice assistance available) with a valid South Dakota driver’s license, South Dakota identification card, or if a company, the information provided on its renewal notice. Once the payment has been submitted and the transaction is completed, the license renewal tags and vehicle registration are dispensed directly from the machine. To find your nearest DMV Now License Renewal Self-Service Kiosk, please visit https://sddmvnowkiosk.com/.
Renew registrations by mail with your local county offices. You will need to include a $1 mailing fee for registration cards and a driver’s license or identification card number. If you are looking to transfer your title, please contact your local treasurer with questions on the appropriate fees and documentation to be mailed in. Find your local county treasurers contact information by going to https://dor.sd.gov/government/county-treasurers/contact-county-treasurers/.
Our commitment to our customers continues. As more information is available, we will work hard to provide updates to you through social media and our website.
Please feel free to contact us using the chat function in the bottom right hand corner or at 800-829-9188. Our team is ready to answer your questions.