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Boats

This Tax Fact Sheet is designed to explain to boat dealers and owners 
how tax applies to items and services sold and purchased. If your specific 
question is not answered in this Tax Fact Sheet please call our toll-free 
helpline at 1-800-TAX-9188 weekdays from 8-5 CT.

Information found in this document rescinds and replaces all previous, 
written information on this subject. All readers and users of this 
publication are responsible for keeping informed about changes in 
tax laws and regulations by reading the Department of Revenue  
newsletters, press releases, Tax Facts, and other documents published 
by the department. 

Large Boats
Large boats are subject to the 3% motor vehicle excise tax in lieu of 
sales tax. South Dakota law defines a large boat as “any boat over 
twelve feet in length or a motorboat, used or capable of being used 
as a means of transportation on water, except canoes, inflatable 
boats, kayaks, sailboards and seaplanes.”
 
The motor vehicle excise tax applies to the total purchase price, 
including delivery charges. 

South Dakota residents purchasing or acquiring large boats must 
apply to their county treasurer within 30 days of the purchase or 
acquisition for a certificate of title and registration.

Other Watercraft
The following do not fall within the definition of large boats:

• Canoes
• Inflatable boats
• Kayaks
• Sailboards

These watercraft are subject to the state 4% sales or use tax plus 
applicable municipal tax. These watercraft cannot be titled. 

Seaplanes
Seaplanes are subject to the state aeronautics tax. Contact the South 
Dakota Department of Transportation for more information.

Personal Watercraft 
Personal watercraft, such as jet skis, are subject to the 3% mo-
tor vehicle excise tax in lieu of sales tax. South Dakota residents 
purchasing or acquiring personal watercraft must apply to their 
county treasurer within 30 days of the purchase or acquisition for 
a certificate of title and registration.

Boat Accessories and Equipment
Boat accessories and equipment are subject to the 4% state sales 
tax and applicable municipal tax. Items that are normally attached 
to a large boat and are included in the purchase price are subject to 
the 3% motor vehicle excise tax. Items normally attached to a large 
boat are motors, boat covers, oars and depth finders.

U.S. Coast Guard Documented 
Boats
A boat registered and documented with the Coast Guard is subject to 
the 3% excise tax. Coast Guard Documented Boats are not required 
to obtain a title or display a South Dakota boat number.
 
Before a Coast Guard Documented Boat may be used on the waters 
of this state it must be registered and display a South Dakota license 
validation decal on each side of the boat. The owner should register 
the boat at the county treasurer’s office. If tax has previously been 
paid by the applicant to another state, the owner must furnish proof 
that sales or use tax was paid.

A Coast Guard Documented Boat owned by a nonresident must 
be registered in South Dakota if the boat is here for more than 60 
days or is berthed in a marina facility controlled by the state for a 
contract period of more than 60 days.

A nonresident does not owe use tax on a boat that is in South Dakota 
on a temporary basis for personal use.

Boat Registration
Boats requiring registration are annually licensed under a staggered 
registration system, with decals expiring the last day of the month 
of the year for which they are issued.

Application for title and registration is made to the county treasurer’s 
office of the applicant’s residence. The county treasurer will issue 
the applicant a registration stating the assigned boat number, a 
description of the boat and the name and address of the owner. The 
registration must be kept in the boat available for inspection. 

When registering a boat that is not required to be titled, the registrant 
must show proof that sales tax was paid.

Nonresident Boat Registration
A boat must be registered if it is in South Dakota for more than 60 
days or is berthed in a marina facility controlled by the state for a 
contract period of more than 60 days.
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Boat Trailers
Boat trailers are subject to the 3% motor vehicle excise tax. Because 
boats and boat trailers are titled separately, the dealer must separate 
the purchase price of each on the invoice for tax purposes. Boat 
trailers are required to be titled and must be registered every year. 

A South Dakota resident purchasing or acquiring a boat trailer must 
apply to their county treasurer within 30 days of the purchase or 
acquisition for a certificate of title and registration.

Trade-ins
If a boat, watercraft or boat trailer is traded toward the purchase 
of another boat, watercraft or boat trailer, credit will be given for 
the value of the trade-in. Tax will apply to the total purchase price 
of the boat or boat trailer, including any delivery charges, less the 
amount allowed for the trade-in.

Out-of-State Purchases
The South Dakota 3% motor vehicle excise tax is due on the pur-
chase price, including delivery charges, of large boats, personal 
watercraft or boat trailers purchased out-of-state. Credit will be 
given for tax legally paid to another state. If the tax paid that state 
is equal to or greater than the tax due in South Dakota, additional 
tax is not due.

The 3% motor vehicle excise tax is paid to the county treasurer at 
the time of titling and registration. A copy of the invoice must be 
provided to the county treasurer to document the purchase price 
and all taxes paid.

The 4% state use tax, plus applicable municipal tax is due on boats 
purchased out-of-state that are not required to have a South Dakota 
title. Credit will be given for sales or use tax legally paid to another 
state. If the amount of sales or use tax paid the other state is equal 
to or greater than the use tax due in South Dakota, additional tax 
is not due.

Use tax is paid directly to the Department of Revenue. For more 
information on use tax view Use Tax Everyone’s Responsibility 
Tax Fact, at www.state.sd.us/drr or request a copy by calling 1-800-
TAX-9188. 

If a boat must be registered, but not titled, proof that sales or use 
tax was paid must be provided to the county treasurer at the time 
of registration.

Sales or use tax is due on boats delivered to SD, provided the boat 
is exempt from the 3% motor vehicle excise tax, even if another 
state’s tax has been paid. The tax is based on the purchase price 
including delivery.

If a boat or boat trailer is delivered by a South Dakota dealer or a 
transportation company hired by the purchaser to a location outside 
South Dakota, South Dakota tax does not apply.

Examples
John Doe from Yankton, SD purchases a canoe in Norfolk, NE and 
brings it back to South Dakota. He is charged Nebraska sales tax 
at the time of purchase because he took possession in Nebraska. 
The Nebraska tax was legally imposed and South Dakota will grant 
him credit for the tax he paid. If the amount of tax that he paid in 
Nebraska is less than the amount of South Dakota tax due, he will 
owe the difference.

Jane Deer from Vermillion, SD contacts the same Norfolk, NE dealer 
to purchase a canoe. Instead of picking up the canoe, she arranges to 
have the dealer deliver it to her in Vermillion. The Nebraska dealer 
charges her Nebraska sales tax. Because possession was taken in 
South Dakota, the Nebraska tax was not legally imposed and a credit 
will not be granted. Ms. Deer owes South Dakota use tax on the 
purchase price of the canoe, including delivery charges.

Municipal Tax
Many municipalities in South Dakota have a sales and use tax in 
addition to the state sales tax.  If the customer receives a product 
or service in one of these municipalities, the product or service is 
subject to that municipality’s sales tax.  A list of municipal tax rates 
is available on our website at www.state.us.sd/drr or by calling 
1-800-TAX-9188.

Sales Tax Exempt Entities
Accredited schools, non-profit hospitals, approved relief agencies 
and government entities are exempt from sales and use tax.
The seller must keep proof of payment from the exempt purchaser. 
Accredited schools and relief agencies have numbers assigned by 
the department that should be provided to the seller. 

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax Exempt 
Entities
Boats and trailers are exempt from the motor vehicle excise tax if 
owned by one of the following:

•	The United States
•	The State of South Dakota
•	A South Dakota county, municipality or township 
•	A public or nonpublic school accredited by the Department 

of Education and Cultural Affairs 
•	An Indian tribe or school 
•	A nonprofit adjustment training center

Required Records
Boat dealers must have a South Dakota boat dealer’s license and 
a sales tax license, if applicable, for each place of business within 
the state. Records, such as purchase and sales invoices, bills of lad-
ing, books of all receipts and sales, cash register receipts, and other 
pertinent papers and documents, must be kept for at least five years 
and be available for inspection during business hours.  
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Repair Services
Services such as boat repair, body repair, and customizing are subject 
to state and municipal sales tax. Repair services are taxed where the 
customer takes receipt of the service.  If the item is picked up by 
the customer at the repair shop, the tax applies at the repair shop.  
If the repaired item is delivered to the customer’s location, the tax 
applies at the customer’s location.

Repair of Inventory
Sales tax does not apply to repairs or replacement parts on boats, 
watercraft or trailers for sale in a dealer’s inventory. Replacement 
parts are defined as parts that will remain with the property for an 
indefinite period of time and include items such as: tires, lights, 
bodywork, hoses, belts, spark plugs, and batteries.

The dealer may take parts from their inventory to repair dealer-
owned inventory without reporting use tax on these items. They 
may also sublet repairs to body shops, electrical repair shops, up-
holstery shops, etc. When sublet repair services are performed on 
dealer owned inventory, the repair shop should obtain an exemption 
certificate.

Example
A boat which has been taken in on trade is taken to a body shop for 
repair. The body shop repairs the boat and bills the dealer. The boat 
dealer intends to resell the boat. The body shop should obtain an 
exemption certificate from the dealer and not charge sales tax. 

The use tax exemption does not include routine maintenance items 
such as oil, windshield washer fluid, antifreeze, filters, detailing or 
cleaning services. Items taken from the dealer’s inventory for routine 
maintenance are subject to use tax, even though the boat, watercraft 
or trailer is held for sale. In addition, routine maintenance products 
and services purchased from other shops are subject to sales tax and 
they cannot be purchased for resale.

Parts used to repair boats, watercraft or trailers the dealer rents or 
leases to others, or are otherwise used by the dealer, are subject to 
use tax.

Sales for Resale
A boat dealer may sell his or her services or products for resale 
if the buyer provides an exemption certificate. It is the buyer’s 
responsibility to know when a service or product qualifies as a sale 
for resale. The seller is responsible for maintaining a complete ex-
emption certificate. For more information on sales for resale view 
the Exemption Tax Fact on our website at www.state.sd.us/drr or 
request a copy by calling 1-800-TAX-9188.

Warranties and Extended Service 
Contracts
A warranty or extended service contract included in the price of a 
large boat, personal watercraft, or trailer is also subject to the motor 
vehicle excise tax. 

Sales tax applies to warranties or extended service contracts included 
in the price of boats that are subject to sales tax.  A warranty or 
extended service contract sold separately from the boat, watercraft, 
or trailer is subject to 4% state sales tax, plus applicable municipal 
tax where the warranty or service contract is sold.

Parts and labor furnished by a dealer to fulfill a warranty or extended 
service contract obligation are not subject to sales or use tax provided 
the customer is not charged for such parts or labor. The dealer’s 
receipts from the manufacturer for warranty work are not taxable.

Payments received from the customer for deductibles, parts, or 
service not covered under the warranty or extended service contract 
are subject to sales tax.

Insurance
Insurance policies sold by insurance agents are not service contracts. 
Insurance premiums subject to the insurance premium tax are not 
subject to sales tax.

All charges made to the insurance company for parts and labor are 
subject to sales tax. Parts or service which are paid by an insurance 
claim are subject to sales tax. 

Implied Warranty
If a dealer makes repairs at no charge to a customer’s boat, water-
craft or trailer after the sale, and those repairs are not covered by 
a written warranty, the dealer owes use tax on the cost of all parts 
installed on the customer’s boat, watercraft or trailer.

Rental of Boats
The rental of a boat or watercraft is subject to 4% state sales tax, 
applicable municipal tax and tourism tax.

A leasing or rental company that operates within the principal place 
of business of a boat dealer must title, license and tax any leased 
or rental boat in a name that is distinct and separate from that of 
the dealership.

The rental of a trailer for less than 28 consecutive days is subject to 
the 4% state sales tax, applicable municipal sales tax and  tourism 
tax. The owner must title and register leased trailers.

Tourism tax is 1.5%.  Report the tourism tax in the city & special ju-
risdiction tax section of the sales tax return with the code 700-1.

Purchases for Resale 
Boat dealers must give an exemption certificate to their suppliers in 
order to purchase services and supplies exempt from sales tax.

Dealers may sublet repairs to body shops, electrical repair shops, 
upholstery shops, etc. When sublet repair services are performed 
the repair shop should obtain an exemption of resale.
State law requires exemption certificates to be complete and ac-
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curate. The buyer will be held responsible for properly completing 
an exemption certificate. Exemption certificates may be obtained 
from the department’s website, www.state.sd.us/drr, or by calling 
1-800-TAX-9188. 

Use Tax
Supplies, materials, or services purchased without a resale certifi-
cate are subject to use tax, if sales tax was not paid at the time of 
purchase. The state use tax rate is 4%, plus applicable municipal use 
tax, and is payable to the Department of Revenue in the filing period 
in which the boat dealer receives the supplies or services.

Tangible personal property delivered into South Dakota by the sup-
plier or a transportation company hired by the purchaser, is subject 
to the South Dakota sales or use tax, even if the supplier charges 
another state’s sales tax.

When a purchase is made out-of-state and possession is taken out-
of-state the supplier may charge that state’s sales tax. If the other 
state’s sales tax is the same or more than South Dakota’s tax, there 
is no South Dakota tax owed. If it is less than South Dakota’s, the 
difference must be paid to South Dakota. The state plus applicable 
municipal taxes must be added together to determine if additional 
tax is owed.

Use tax is also due on supplies taken out of retail inventory for the 
business’ use. Use tax is due on these items in the filing period they 
are taken out of inventory.

Talk to Us!
If you have a tax problem or question, call the South Dakota Depart-
ment of Revenue toll-free at 1-800-TAX-9188.  Visit us on the web 
at www.state.sd.us/drr, email us at bustax@state.sd.us or write us:

South Dakota
Department of Revenue

445 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD  57501-3100

Aberdeen			   Sioux Falls	 		
14 South Main, Suite 1-C		  300 S. Sycamore, Suite 102 
Aberdeen, SD  57401		  Sioux Falls, SD  57110
Mitchell				   Watertown 
417 N. Main, Suite 112		  715 S Maple 
Mitchell, SD  57301		  Watertown, SD  57201
Rapid City			   Yankton 
1520 Haines Avenue, Suite 3	 1900 Summit Street 
Rapid City, SD  57701		  Yankton, SD 57078-1951


