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With few exceptions, the sale of products and 
services in South Dakota is subject to sales or use 
tax.  

If you rent or lease a motor vehicle for 28 days or 
less to customers in South Dakota, the rental fee is 
subject to state and municipal sales tax and may be 
subject to tourism tax and motor vehicles gross 
receipts tax. Table 1 shows the tax that applies to the 
lease or rental receipts of the vehicle listed. 

When you buy a vehicle to rent to others, you may 
owe motor vehicle excise tax on the vehicle 
purchase. The sale or purchase of a motor vehicle 
subject to the motor vehicle excise tax is not subject 
to sales or use tax.  For title, license and registration 
information on a specific vehicle, please contact your 
County Treasurer. 

Motorcycles, cars, pickups, and vans that will be 
rented for 28 days or less and trailers with a trailer ID 
plate under § 32-5-8.1 that have an unladen weight 
of 9,000 pounds or more that are rented for 6 months 
or less are not subject to the 4% motor vehicle excise 
tax if the motor vehicle rental is subject to the Motor 
Vehicle Gross Receipts tax imposed by § 32-5B-20.  

You may purchase motor vehicles to lease or rent 
without sales tax.   

The last column in Table 1 indicates if motor vehicle 
excise tax or sales tax applies to the purchase or 

sale of the leased or rented vehicle.    

Dealers are required to collect the state sales tax and 
any applicable municipal sales tax, motor vehicle 
gross receipts tax, and tourism tax on any vehicle, 
product, or service they sell that is subject to sales 
tax in South Dakota.  

  http://dor.sd.gov/      1-800-829-9188 

Motor Vehicle    
Lease and Rentals 

The purpose of this Tax Fact is to explain how South Dakota state and 
local sales taxes apply to motor vehicle lease and rentals.  It is not 
intended to answer all questions that may arise.  The information in 
this fact sheet is current as of the date of publication.  This guide may 
change with updated information or added examples.     

July 2016 

South Dakota Taxes and Rates 

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax – Applies to the purchase of 
most motor vehicles (See Table 1) 

4% 

State Sales and Use Tax – applies to all sales or 
purchases of taxable products and services.  

4.5% 

The following taxes may apply in addition to the state sales tax: 

Municipal Sales and Use Tax – applies to all sales of 
products and services that are subject to the state 
sales or use tax if the purchaser receives or uses the 
product or service in a municipality that imposes a 
sales or use tax.    

1 to 
2% 

Tourism Tax –applies to the rental of certain motor 
vehicles. (See Table 3) Tourism tax does not apply 
when you are remitting use tax.  

1.5% 

Motor Vehicle Gross Receipts Tax – applies to the 
rental of motorcycles, cars, trucks, and vans for less 
than 28 days, and the rental of certain trailers for 6 
months or less. (See Table 3)  

4.5% 

http://legis.sd.gov/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=32-5-8.1&Type=Statute&cookieCheck=true
http://legis.sd.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5B-2&cookieCheck=true
http://dor.sd.gov/
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Table 1:  Motor Vehicle Lease and Rentals 
Applicable Taxes 

 
Vehicle  

(See Table 1 for vehicle description) 

Taxes that apply to the Lease or Rental Payments Does Motor Vehicle 
Excise Tax or Sales 

Tax apply to the 
vehicle purchase? 

Sales or  
Use Tax 

Municipal 
Sales or Use 

Tax 

Tourism 
Tax 

Motor Vehicle 
Gross Receipts 

Tax 

1. Automobiles, Pickups, Vans, and 
Motorcycles    
 Leased or rented under a single contract 
for 28 days or less 
 
 Leased or rented under a single contract 
for more than 28 days  

If this same vehicle is later rented for 28 
days or less, the receipts from that rental 
are subject to the state and applicable 
municipal sales tax, motor vehicle gross 
receipts tax, and tourism tax. 

 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 

 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 

 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 

 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 

 
 

No  
 
 

Motor Vehicle 
Excise Tax  

(See Table 1)   
   

2. Trailers with a trailer ID plate under 32-5-
8.1 that have an unladen weight of 9,000 
pounds or more 
 Leased or rented under a single contract 
for 28 days or less 

 
 Rented under a single contract for more 
than 28 days but less than 6 months 

 
 Rented for more than 6 months 

 
 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 
 
 

No 

 
 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 
 
 

No 

 
 
 

No 
 
 

No 
 
 

No 

 
 
 

Yes 
 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 

 
 
 

No 
 
 

No 
 
 

Motor Vehicle 
Excise Tax   

3. Recreational Equipment that are motor 
vehicles under 32-5-1. 
 Leased or rented under a single contract 
for 28 days or less 

 
 Leased or rented under a single contract 
for more than 28 days  

 
Includes: 
ATVs*                       Snowmobiles  
Campers                   Snowmobile trailers 
Camping trailers     Watercraft trailers   
Mopeds*                  Watercraft (Boats) 
Motor coaches               

 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 

 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 

 
 

Yes 
 
 

No 

 
 

No 
 
 

No 

All recreational 
vehicles listed are 
subject to motor 
vehicle excise tax, 
except for Mopeds.     
 
*Mopeds are 
subject to sales tax 
and may be 
purchased for 
resale to lease or 
rent to others.   

4. All motor vehicles other than those listed 
in 1-3 above that are defined by SDCL 32-5-1 
 Leased or rented under a single contract 
for 28 days or less 
 Leased or rented under a single contract 
for more than 28 days 

 
 

Yes 
 

No 

 
 

Yes 
 

No 

 
 

No 
 

No 

 
 

No 
 

No 

 
Contact your 

County Treasurer 
for applicable 

Motor Vehicle Tax 

 

http://legis.sd.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-8.1&cookieCheck=true
http://legis.sd.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-8.1&cookieCheck=true
http://legis.sd.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-1&cookieCheck=true
http://legis.sd.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-1&cookieCheck=true


 

3 | July 2016  │  South Dakota Department of Revenue  │  Motor Vehicle Lease and Rentals    

 

Motor Vehicle Rentals 

Optional Products or Services   
 
The following items may be included with a vehicle 
rental.  The charges for these items are subject to 
the same tax as the vehicle rental whether the 
rental agency lists each charge on the customer’s 
invoice or includes it in the car rental fee. 
 
 Additional driver fee 
 Airport concession fees and facility fees 
 Car navigational (GPS) system  
 Car Satellite radio 
 Child seat  
 Drivers 24 years or younger  
 Drop charges  
 Emergency roadside service 
 Energy surcharges 
 Exceeding mileage 
 Frequent flyer surcharge 
 Fuel and service charges 
 Fuel purchase option 
 Loss damage waiver 
 Rental tax surcharges 
 Ski racks 
 Up charges for nonstandard vehicles 
 Vehicle licensing fees passed onto customer 

Insurance Premiums  

 
A car rental company does not owe sales tax on 
the insurance premiums customers pay for 
insurance the rental company sells when the 
following criteria are met: 

 
a. The insurance is from a licensed insurance 

company; 
b. The entire amount charged to the customer 

for the premium is subject to insurance 
premiums tax; and 

c. The charge is itemized on the customer’s 
invoice.  

 
If the charge to the customer for the insurance is 
greater than the amount the insurance company 
pays insurance premiums tax on, the entire charge 
is subject to sales tax. 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Delivery and Handling Fees 

The seller’s charge for delivery is 
subject to the same state and municipal 
sales tax rate as the product or service 
sold. If the product or service sold is not 
taxable, the delivery charge is not 
taxable. 

Delivery charges include any charge for 
transportation, shipping, postage, 
handling, crating, and packing.  

If you hire a transportation company 
and bill the customer for the 
transportation service, your receipts for 
the transportation charge are subject to 
the same tax as the product sold.  

When a shipment contains taxable and 
nontaxable products, sales tax is due on 
the portion of the delivery charge for the 
taxable products. This is determined by 
using a percentage of the sales price 
compared to the total sales or a 
percentage of the weight of the taxable 
products compared to the total weight of 
all products in the shipment.  

Examples 
1. A parts store ships a part to a customer in rural Minnehaha 

County for $200 plus $20 delivery.  

 The parts store owes 4.5% state sales tax on $220.  No 
municipal sales tax is due because the customer takes 
possession outside the city limits.   
 

2. A parts store sells spark plugs to a repair shop in Watertown 
for $100 plus $10 delivery. The repair shop provides the 
parts store with an exemption certificate. 

 The store does not owe sales tax as this is a sale for resale.   

 
3. Jones Auto sells and delivers the following items to Fred’s 

Farm Store in Pierre: 2 tires for resale for $1000 and 1 tire 
display rack for use by Fred for $1000. Jones bills Fred 
$2000 plus $200 delivery. Fred gave Jones an exemption 
certificate for the two tires. 

 Jones charges state sales tax plus Pierre municipal sales tax 
on $1,100 ($1000 for the display rack plus $100 shipping). 
Taxable shipping was determined by dividing the taxable 
products by the total sale ($1000 / 2000 = 50%).  50% of the 
shipping is taxable ($200 x 50% = $100). 
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Sourcing – Which State or City Tax Applies? 

► Products or Services Sold 
 
Sales tax applies where the customer receives the 
product or service. Receive means where the 
customer takes possession of the product.  

Products purchased, repaired, or serviced that are 
picked up at the seller’s shop are taxed at the shop’s 
location. 

Products the seller delivers, with their vehicle or by a 
delivery company, are taxed at the delivery address.   

When a customer hires a shipping company, the 
seller will owe sales tax based on the delivery 
address. The shipping company should give the seller 
documentation showing the delivery address. If the 
seller does not have a delivery address, the seller will 
owe sales tax based on the customer’s address. 

Products or services delivered to locations outside 
South Dakota are not subject to South Dakota sales 
tax.   

The seller must keep documentation of the address 
used to determine tax.    

 
► Lease or Rentals 
 
With exception of motor vehicles and transportation 
equipment, sales tax applies to the first lease 
payment where the lessee receives or takes 
possession of the product. If the product is moved to 
a new location and the lessee tells the lessor the new 
location, sales tax applies to each additional payment 
based on the new location.  If the lessor does not 
know the product’s new location, sales tax will 
continue to apply based on where the lessee received 
the product. 

The intermittent use at different locations, such as 
use of business property that accompanies 
employees on business trips or service calls, does 
not alter the property location. 

 
Motor Vehicles Lease or Rentals: 
Includes the lease or rental of motor vehicles, trailers, 
or semitrailers that do not qualify as transportation 
equipment. 

• One payment covers the entire lease or rental:  
The payment is taxed where the customer 
receives or takes possession of the property.   

• The lease or rental includes more than one 
payment:   Each payment, including the first 
payment, is taxed at the primary property location, which is the address for the property the lessee 
provides the lessor. Occasional use at a different location does not change the primary property location. 

Examples 

 
1. Smith buys an lawn mower in Sioux Falls and 

hires Speedy Transport to deliver the lawn 
mower to Mitchell.  Smith gives the dealer the 
delivery information. 

 
 The dealer owes 4.5% state sales tax and 2% 

Mitchell municipal sales tax because the dealer 
delivered the lawn mower to Mitchell.   

 
2. A repair shop picks up a car in rural Minnehaha 

County, repairs the car at its shop in Sioux 
Falls, then delivers the repaired car to the 
customer in rural Minnehaha County.   

 
 The repair service, including any pickup and 

delivery charges, is subject to the 4.5% state 
sales tax. No municipal tax applies because the 
product was delivered to the customer outside 
city limits.    

 

 
3. Rusty Car Rental in Rapid City rents a car to 

John for 7 days. John uses the car to tour the 
Black Hills and Badlands in South Dakota.     
 

7 Day Rental   

Full Size Car  $  375.00 

GPS Navigation    50.00 

Collision Damage Waiver   25.00 

Airport Facility Fee  20.00 

 
Sub Total 

  
$  470.00 

 
Tax 

 
Rate 

 

State sales tax  4.5% 21.15 

Rapid City sales tax  2% 9.40 

Tourism Tax 1.5% 7.05 

Motor Vehicle Gross  
Receipts Tax 

4.5% 21.15 

       TOTAL DUE  $  528.75 

  
 All charges on the rental are subject to the 

same tax. 
 The Collision Damage Waiver is not insurance. 
 Rapid City tax applies because the car was 

delivered to John at the Rapid City airport. 
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Transportation Equipment includes: 

 Any locomotive and railcar used for the carriage of persons or property in interstate commerce; 

 Any truck/truck-tractor with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 10,001 pounds or greater and any trailer, 
semitrailer, or passenger bus that is: 

 Registered through the International Registration Plan; and 
 Operated under authority of a carrier authorized and certificated by the U.S. Department of 

Transportation or other federal authority to engage in the carriage of persons or property in 
interstate commerce; 

 Any container designed for use on and component parts attached or secured on any transportation 
equipment defined in this section. 

 
Sales tax applies to all lease and rental payments for transportation equipment where the customer 

receives or takes possession of the equipment.   

Repairs and Maintenance 

Services such as auto repair, maintenance, body repair, oil changes, and customizing are subject to state and 
municipal sales tax.  Sales tax applies to the full charge, including parts, labor, and delivery charges. 
 
Repairs and maintenance to rental vehicles are subject to sales or use tax whether the rental agency or the 
customer pays for the service.       

Resale Purchases 

A rental business cannot buy repair parts or maintenance items 
for their rental fleet without tax.   

Use Tax 

If you buy taxable products or services that are used, stored, or 
consumed in South Dakota without paying sales tax, you owe 
use tax. If you buy taxable items in another state and pay 
another state’s sales tax at a lower rate, you owe use tax based 
on the difference in tax rates when you use or store the product 
in South Dakota.   

You owe use tax on any item taken out of tax unpaid inventory to 
use for your business or your personal use. 

You will owe municipal use tax if you buy a product or service in 
one city (or a rural location) and use, store, or consume that 
product or service in another city that imposes a higher city 
tax.  For example, JC Repair, mails a repair part to your address 
outside Huron. The JC charges 4.5% state sales tax. You then 
use the repaired equipment in Huron.  You owe the additional 2% 
Huron city use tax on the amount paid for the repair part at the 
time you take the repair into Huron. 

You do not owe use tax on items bought to resell to customers.   

The fact that you may add a charge to a repair bill to cover costs 
of the supplies used does not relieve you from your liability for 
the tax on such items used or consumed in the operation of your 
business.  

Promotional items: You owe sales or use tax on products such as calendars, key chains, pens, caps, t-shirts 
and jackets that you give to customers or employees. 
 

 
Examples of taxable products: 
   
• Auto shop equipment 
• Breathing masks 
• Brushes 
• Carburetor and brake cleaner 
• Clothing: boots, coats, coveralls, 

shirts, work uniforms 
• Fire extinguishers 
• Floor dry 
• Floor mats and rugs 
• Grinding compounds 
• Hand tools 
• Hearing protectors 
• Paint remover 
• Sandpaper 
• Safety glasses or goggles 

(nonprescription) 
• Soap 
• Tape 
• Wash rack supplies 
• Welding shop equipment 
• Welding gloves or helmets 
• Wiping rags 
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Donations: If you donate or give away taxable items, you owe sales or use tax on your cost of the items, 
unless given to a tax-exempt entity.  For example, if you change the oil in a church van at no charge, you owe 
use tax on your cost of the filter and the oil used. 
 
Use tax is due when you buy the product or service. You owe use tax on items you bought with the intent to 
resell when you remove them from inventory to use.   

It is your responsibility to identify taxable purchases when an exemption certificate is used.  You must either 
tell your vendors to charge you tax on the taxable items 
or report the use tax on line 2 of your sales tax return at 
the time you make the purchase.   

Failure to account for the use tax due on taxable items 
you bought from licensed vendors you gave an 
exemption certificate to may result in a penalty of 50% of 
the use tax due in accordance with SDCL 10-45-61.  

 

Towing Services 

Receipts from towing services are subject to state and city tax at the location to which the vehicle is towed.   
Receipts for towing to a location outside South Dakota are not subject to South Dakota sales tax.    

 

Driving Services 

Fees charged for driving a motor vehicle from one location to another are subject to sales tax or use tax.  Sales 
tax applies based on the location to which the vehicle is driven.  For example, if a person drives a car from 
Highmore to Pierre, the state and Pierre municipal sales or use tax is due. 

 

Warranties, Insurance, and Service Contracts 

► Manufacturer’s Warranty 
Parts and labor furnished to fulfill a warranty obligation of the manufacturer are not subject to sales tax. Your 
receipts from the manufacturer for warranty work are not taxable. You do not owe use tax on parts taken from 
inventory to complete work under a manufacturer’s warranty.   

Receipts from the customer or manufacturer for items not covered by the warranty are subject to sales tax. 

 
Loaner/rental vehicle: A warranty may provide for a loaner or rental vehicle while a car is repaired. 
• When the manufacturer pays for the loaner/rental vehicle as provided under a warranty, the receipts are 

subject to the motor vehicles gross receipts tax, but are not subject to sales tax or tourism tax.   
• If the customer pays for the rental vehicle, the receipts are subject to state and municipal sales tax, motor 

vehicles gross receipts tax, and tourism tax.  

If the manufacturer’s warranty states: Sales or Use Tax Due 

1. No cost to customer for parts No sales or use tax due on the parts 

2. Customer is responsible for a percentage of parts and labor Sales tax due on the amount charged the customer 

3. Customer pays a deductible for parts or labor Sales tax due on the amount charged the customer 

4. Customer is responsible for the repair labor Sales tax due on the amount charged the customer 

5. The manufacturer furnishes you the repair part at no charge No sales or use tax due on the repair part 

6. The manufacturer pays you for the repair part No sales or use tax due on the repair part 

7. The manufacturer pays you for the repair labor No sales or use tax due on the repair labor 

All supplies and services purchased that 
are not being resold to a customer are 

subject to sales or use tax.  
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Warranties, Insurance, and Service Contracts (continued) 

 
► Extended Service Contracts (Extended Warranty) 
Extended service contracts that cover unexpected repair costs are subject to the motor vehicle excise tax 
when sold at the time of the vehicle purchase.   

Extended service contracts sold later are subject to sales tax. Sales tax applies where the extended warranty 
is delivered to the buyer.     

 

► Mechanical Breakdown Insurance 
Insurance policies are not considered warranty or service contracts. Insurance premiums are not subject to 
sales tax; however, the premiums are subject to insurance premiums tax. All charges made to the insurance 
company for parts and labor are subject to sales tax.  

If you do not know if a service contract is insurance or not, you may contact the South Dakota Department of 
Labor, Insurance Division and ask if the company that sells the contract is a licensed insurance company, or 
call the Department of Revenue at 1-800-829-9188. 

 

► Implied Warranty 
If you do not charge for repairs made to a customer’s motor vehicle after the sale and those repairs are not 
covered by a written warranty, you owe use tax on the cost of all parts installed in the customer’s vehicle.  You 
do not owe use tax on your employee’s labor. 
 
 

   
      

Contact Us 

If you have any tax questions, please contact the South Dakota Department of Revenue. 

 

Call toll-free:  1-800-829-9188       

Website:  http://dor.sd.gov/           

Business Tax Division Email:  bustax@state.sd.us   

Motor Vehicle Division Email:  motorv@state.sd.us  

Mailing address and office location: South Dakota Department of Revenue 

445 East Capitol Ave 

Pierre, SD  57501 

 

http://dlr.sd.gov/insurance/default.aspx
http://dlr.sd.gov/insurance/default.aspx
http://dor.sd.gov/
mailto:bustax@state.sd.us
mailto:motorv@state.sd.us

