
SALES AND USE TAX RETURN
Reporting Period
Return
Return Due

If your address changed, please update below:  
Mailing Address:  

Physical Address:
Out of business? Last day of business:
Please send your license card in with your return.License #

RV11STRTN 12/05

SALES TAX CALCULATIONS       GROSS         TAXABLE RATE  TAX DUE
1. Gross Sales
2. Use Taxable
3. Non-Taxable Sales
4. Special Jurisdiction Sales (Detail in City Section)
5. Net State Sales Taxable (Line 1 plus Line 2, minus Line 3, minus Line 4)
6. City & Special Jurisdiction Tax Calculation Detail:
7. City/Special Jurisdiction Name      Code         Taxable  Rate          Tax Due
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22. Total City/Special Jurisdiction Tax (Add Lines 8 through 21)
23. Total Tax Due (Line 5 plus Line 22)
24. Penalty/Interest
25. Adjustment (Previous Credit/Balance Due)
26. Total Due (Line 23 plus Line 24 plus Line 25)
27. Amount Remitted

x 4.5%

I declare under the penalties of perjury this return has been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is a true,
correct and complete return.

Date

Date

Preparer

Licensee



File and pay electronically at http://sd.gov/epath   
Receive a collection allowance of 1.5% of the tax due, not to exceed $70, each reporting 
period, by filing and paying your taxes electronically and on time.   

     No allowance given on contractors’ excise tax returns or if you have past tax due. 

You MUST complete and send in this return even if you have zero receipts. 
 Failure to do so could result in a penalty. 

Change of Address:    Please use the lines provided on the return to correct your address or send the address change to 
the South Dakota Business Tax Division. A new license card with the new address will be mailed to 
you. 

Close your Account:   To cancel your tax license enter the last day of business in the space provided. 

You must cancel your license within 30 days, file a final return, and pay all tax due if: 

1. The ownership of the business changes (For example, from sole ownership to a partnership,
from a partnership to a corporation, etc.)  The new owner must apply for a new tax license at
www.sd.gov/taxapp .
You must notify the Department when a partner leaves or enters a partnership, but you do
not need to cancel your license.

2. You close your business; or
3. You sell your business.

Interest:   1% (.01) interest will be assessed each month on any past due tax until the tax is paid in full.  (A minimum of 
$5.00 interest is due the first month). (1.25% interest is assessed for each month tax is unpaid prior to July 
2015.) 

Penalty:   10% (.10) of the tax due (minimum $10.00, even if no tax is due) is assessed if a return is not filed within 30 
days following the month the return is due. 

Make Checks Payable to:   South Dakota State Treasurer 
• Please write your license number on your check.
• Please do not staple or paperclip the check to the return.

Mail Returns to:  South Dakota Department of Revenue 
Anderson BLDG
Mail Code 5055
445 E Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-3100

If you have questions or need help completing the return and/or worksheet, please visit the nearest Department of 
Revenue Office or call 1-800-829-9188.  

South Dakota Department of Revenue Aberdeen Area Office  Sioux Falls Area Office 

Business Tax Division 14 South Main, Suite 1-C 300 S Sycamore Ave, Suite 102 

445 E Capitol Ave  Aberdeen, SD 57401 Sioux Falls, SD 57110 

Pierre, SD 57501  
Mitchell Area Office  Watertown Area Office 
417 N Main, Suite 112 715 S Maple 

Mitchell, SD 57301  Watertown, SD 57201 

Rapid City Area Office  Yankton Area Office 

Contact Information: Call:  
1-800-829-9188 Email:
bustax@state.sd.us
Website:  http://dor.sd.gov 1520 Haines Avenue, Suite 3 1900 Summit Street 

Rapid City, SD 57701 Yankton, SD 57078 




