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2005 Legislative Update
By Kelly Thompson

The removal of some state tax exemptions, a review of how property is
assessed for tax purposes, and changes in how motor vehicle and mobile/
manufactured home dealers do business were among tax-related issues
discussed by the South Dakota Legislature during the 40-day legislative
session that officially ended on March 22.

The Department of Revenue & Regulation followed 188 bills during the
2005 Session dealing with sales, use and contractors’ excise taxes;
property taxes; motor vehicle issues; insurance coverage; banking and
securities issues; alcohol and cigarette taxes; Deadwood gaming and horse
racing; and issues affecting the South Dakota Lottery and the South
Dakota Real Estate Commission. Following is a brief listing of several of
these bills that had received final action by the time this article was
written.

Signed into law:

HB1002. Effective July 1, 2005, anyone applying for owner-occupied
status on their property must state whether the dwelling for which they are
applying is their principal place of residence.

HB1033. Required by the Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement (SSTA),
provides an amnesty for tax, penalty and interest to those who register to
collect sales tax within one year from the date South Dakota comes into
compliance with the SSTA. Some restrictions apply.

HB1034. Removed the requirement that mobile/manufactured home
dealers be inspected or investigated annually, allowing inspections and
investigations of those dealers about whom the department has received
complaints or whose paperwork has been called into question.

HB1040. Repeals the sales and use tax exemptions on nutritional
supplements dispensed by physicians, chiropractors, optometrists,
dentists, podiatrists, and audiologists, and ostomy care supplies.

HB1044. Fulfills SSTA requirement by setting up a process purchasers
must use to obtain refunds of overpaid sales taxes. Prohibits a purchaser
from suing the retailer for over-collected taxes unless they provide the
retailer with written notice and give them 60 days to respond.

(CONTINUED ON PAGE 2)
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EXECUTIVE

2005 Legislative Update (CONTINUED FROM COVER)

With the 2005 Legislative Session now complete, I can tell you that South Dakota has
no new taxes or increases in tax rates resulting from this year’s legislative process.  The
legislature did, however, exempt from sales tax the services of referees and umpires for
amateur sports events.  In addition, several technical measures were passed that will
ensure that our state is among those states that have simplified their sales taxes to the
extent that we continue to be positioned to collect sales tax on Internet and catalog sales
as early as any other state.

One of the key challenges our state has faced in meeting the streamlined sales tax
requirements has been to ensure that all who are licensed to sell goods and services in South Dakota apply the
sales tax rate that is applicable to the location where the goods or service is delivered.  Recently, our
department spent considerable time clarifying how services provided by attorneys and accountants should be
sourced for sales tax purposes.  A new Tax Facts #115 for attorneys and #107 for accountants has been issued
to provide written guidance on this matter and can be obtained by calling the department or accessing our
website.

With warm weather very near, those who provide fishing guide services for a fee are reminded that they must
have a sales tax license.  For more details, see Tax Facts #195, also available by calling 1-800-TAX-9188 or
accessing our website.

I hope that business is good and that you will have the chance to enjoy the many pleasures our state offers in
the spring and summer months.

Insights...from the Secretary’s Desk

HB1060. Authorizes the department to issue cease and
desist orders against vehicle dealers who engage in
fraudulent business practices or any other action that
could result in the denial, suspension or revocation of
their license.

HB1111. Allows a dealer to offer for sale, sell or
exchange a vehicle without a title if the dealer
complies with specific criteria dealing with records of
purchase, payment to lien holders, and proper
application for title.

HB1119. Exempts an out-of-state titled vehicle that is
purchased by a dealer and sold to another dealer from
having to be titled upon purchase or entry into the
state.

HB1142. Provides a refund of sales and use tax paid
by contractors on raw material they fabricate in South
Dakota for use in projects outside the state if the
material is being used in a project that is exempt from
those taxes in the state where the project is completed.

HB1153. Exempts products and substances used with
pesticide application from sales tax.

HB1234. Added wholesale tax on tobacco, amusement
device taxes, and the gross receipts tax on visitor-
related businesses to the types of taxes that can be
included in compacts between the state and Indian
tribes.

SB1. Requires directors of equalization to consider the
extent to which land is tillable or non-tillable in
making their determination of the land’s capacity to
produce.

SB2. Deals with how to value agricultural land when
there are insufficient sales in a county.

SB155. Exempts governments (including planning
districts) from collecting sales and use tax from
management services provided to revolving loan funds
operated by non-profit entities.

SB207. Exempts from sales tax mobile/manufactured
homes built to HUD standards. Increases the initial
registration fee on such homes from 3% to 4%, with
the fee assessed on the purchase price of the home,
including installation.
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REVENUE SOLUTIONS

Business Education Program
Come join our Business Education Program at one of the
workshops or seminars in your area.  The department
offers a number of educational opportunities that cover
different tax issues facing new and existing business
owners.  For the most current list of seminars or to
register, visit our website at www.state.sd.us/drr.  All
seminars and workshops are free of charge.

Basic Tax Seminars
Our Basic Business Tax Seminars cover sales, use and
contractors’ excise tax issues.  These seminars are free and
designed for new business owners or as a refresher course.

Sales and Contractors’ Excise Tax Seminars
May 17, 2005 Sales Tax: 9am - Noon
Kenny Anderson Center Contractors’ Excise Tax: 1 - 4pm
Sioux Falls, SD

May 23, 2005 Sales Tax: 10am - 1pm
Mitchell Public Library Contractors’ Excise Tax: 2 - 5pm
Mitchell, SD

May 25, 2005 Sales Tax: 9am - 1pm
Yankton Library Contractors’ Excise Tax: 2 - 5pm
Yankton, SD

Small Business Workshops
Information regarding the Dept. of  Revenue & Regulation,
Dept. of  Labor, Small Business Administration and the IRS
will be covered.  The IRS will only be presenting at the Sioux
Falls and Rapid City workshops.  For more information, check
us out online at www.state.sd.us/drr.
April 20, 2005
Lake Area Tech Institute
Watertown, SD

May 25, 2005
Western Dakota Tech Institute
Rapid City, SD

June 15, 2005
Super 8 Motel
Eagle Butte, SD

Border Issues Seminars
Border Issues Seminars cover the difference in the tax
application and reporting process between South Dakota and
bordering states.  Sales Tax is from 9am-Noon and Contrac-
tors’ Tax is from 1pm-4pm, unless noted otherwise.  For more
information, check us out online at www.state.sd.us/drr.
April 13-14, 2005
Tri-State (SD/IA/NE)
Sioux Falls, SD

May 18-19, 2005
SD/NE Border Issues
Norfolk, NE

May 4, 2005
SD/ND Border Issues
Watertown, SD

T Where Technology Meets Taxes
By Dr. Revenue

With over 1,000 electronic tax applications filed
and issued since the inception of our new online
tax application in October, new taxpayers are
seeing the benefits of the department’s new
technology initiatives.

The success of the
online application has
prompted us to bring
another form online:
SD QUEST Authori-
zation Agreement
For Electronic Tax
Filing and Payment.

Applicants must
decide whether to pay
their taxes using
ACH Credit (tax-
payer files the return and releases funds from
their account) or ACH Debit (taxpayer files the
return and the department contacts the bank for
the taxes due).

Once the department receives a completed
application, a SD QUEST packet will either be
emailed or sent via regular mail.  Packets include
a SD QUEST Users Guide, electronic worksheet,
department contact information and a tax ID and
pin number. The ID and pin number will be used
to access the tax return on www.sdquest.com.

All Revenue & Regulation field offices are
equipped with private application terminals for
taxpayers to sign up for SD QUEST. For a
complete list of field offices and contact info, log
on to the web at www.state.sd.us/drr2/
contact.htm.

To submit an agreement, log onto the web at
www.state.sd.us/drr. Applicants can also call the
department toll-free at 1-800-TAX-9188.

SD QUEST Vitals
• efficient and
convenient filing

• file online or by
phone

• pay electronically
• safe and secure
• reduce filing errors
• eliminate paperwork

May 25, 2005
Southeast Tech Institute
Sioux Falls, SD

June 8, 2005
South Dakota State Library
Pierre, SD

June 29, 2005
Brookings Library
Brookings, SD

June 8-9, 2005
Tri-State (SD/IA/NE)
Sioux City , IA
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NEWS YOU CAN USE

Attention Advertisers!
What is included in the advertising media when
providing an advertising service exempt from sales
tax?

An advertising service is the business of preparing
advertisements for publication in newspapers,
magazines, placemats, billboards, handbills or for
broadcast and welcoming services. Advertising
agencies that create and place advertisements in
advertising media are providing an advertising
service that is exempt from sales tax.

Advertisements sold that are not placed in the media
are subject to sales tax.  Contractors that place the advertising sign on a billboard, building, or permanent fence
are subject to contractors’ excise tax.  Contractors that place the signs on a bench, vehicle, windows, T signs, or
with temporary stakes are subject to sales tax.

The department has a broad interpretation of  what is
included in advertising media.  The creating and
placing of  advertising signs on the following items are
considered placement in the advertising media and are
exempt from sales tax.  Use tax is due on all supplies
used.

• Billboards
• Benches
• Buildings
• Fences

• T Signs – golf  courses
• Temporary Stakes
• Vehicles
• Windows

Did You Know...
New Alcohol Training Approved - The department has approved a new alcohol training program for
taxpayers to utilize and train new and existing employees on serving alcohol responsibly. The ServSafe
program is sponsored by the National Restaurant Association.  For information, log onto the web at
www.nraef.org or contact Matt Stangley at (312) 715-1010.

Satellite Services - As of  October 2004, fees for direct-to-home satellite services are subject to state sales tax,
but exempt from municipal sales tax. This includes both direct-to-home and direct-to-business satellite
services. This is a change in policy. Previous to October 2004, the direct-to-business satellite services were
subject to municipal tax.

Businesses Changing Ownership Status - In South Dakota, when a business changes ownership status in
any way, a new license must be obtained. Examples of  change of  ownership requiring a new license are as
follows:

• Sole ownership or partnership to corporation
• Corporation to sole ownership or partnership
• Partnership to sole ownership
• Sole ownership to partnership

You may apply for a new license electronically at www.state.sd.us/drr or call us toll-free at 1-800-829-9188.

Businesses Changing Locations - Whenever a business moves to a new county in South Dakota or moves
outside the state, the department must issue a new license number. You may apply for a new license
electronically at www.state.sd.us/drr or call us toll-free at 1-800-829-9188.

From The IRS
2005 Travel & Transportation Costs - The 2005 Standard Mileage Rate has been set at 40.5 cents per
mile.  The 2005 rate for most areas (other than the higher rate areas listed at the site below) will be $31 for
per diem and $60 for lodging.  See all domestic per diem rates at  www.gsa.gov.
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The tribal sales and use tax is reported on the state
sales tax return.

Example:
$1,000 taxable sale occurred in Mission, SD (1.75%)
which is located on the Rosebud Sioux Tribe
Reservation (4.00%).

• Fill out Lines 1-3 on your sales tax return as you
normally would.

• Under the Deductions section, Line C
Reservation Sales, include all sales made on any
reservations that have a tribal agreement with the
State of  South Dakota.

SALES AND USE TAX

The Tribal Governments with tax
collection agreements include:

• Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe - Includes
the Cheyenne River Reservation in Dewey
and Ziebach Counties.

• Standing Rock Sioux Tribe - Includes
the Standing Rock Reservation in Corson
County and a 500 foot strip of land
in the northernmost portions of  Dewey
and Ziebach Counties.

• Oglala Sioux Tribe - Includes the Pine
Ridge Reservation in Shannon County
and that portion of  Jackson County south
of  the White River.

• Rosebud Sioux Tribe - Includes the
Rosebud Reservation in Todd County,
and Indian country defined by 18 U.S.C.
1151 (b) and (c) in Mellette, Tripp, and
portions of  Gregory and Lyman
Counties.

Paying Taxes on Agreement Indian Reservations
By Rob Witte

C.  Reservation Sales 1,000.00

Filing on the Reservation

CITY/RESERVATION TAX CALCULATIONS

CITY/RES CODE NET TAXABLE RATE TAX

G

H

Mission         239-2                $1,000.00                 1.75%          $17.50

RBST-SA      412-4                 $1,000.00                4.00%          $40.00

Under City/Reservation (right side of  return)
G Report taxable sales subject to city tax under the

appropriate city.
H Report gross receipts for each Reservation using the

appropriate Reservation Code.

The State of South Dakota is
unique in that it has tax collection
agreements with four of the state’s
nine tribal governments.  The
agreements were developed to
eliminate confusion regarding tax
collection and to make sure all
retailers and customers are treated
alike. The agreements require the
tribe and the state to split the tax
collected. The tribal tax ordinances
enacted by the Cheyenne River,
Standing Rock, Oglala (Pine Ridge)
and Rosebud Sioux Tribes mirror
the state’s tax structure.

As simple as the agreements may
be between the governments, the
filing and remitting of collected
taxes has seemed difficult for some
licensees.  Revenue Agent Bobi
Adams, who works with the tribes,
said the area in which licensees
make the most mistakes is in not
correctly reporting sales made on
agreement reservations  under the
“Line C, Reservation Sales”
deduction of the sales tax return
and reporting the sales under the
appropriate tribal code under the
“City/Reservation Tax
Calculations.”

When taxpayers fail to report the
deduction under the tax calculation
section, someone from the
department must contact the
taxpayer to correct the error. “The
department wants taxpayers to be
aware of this issue because it is
taking up large amounts of
administrative time to correct the
problems,” said Adams.

The department has developed a
number of publications to help
taxpayers file and remit the correct
amount of tax.  “We have a Tribal
Governments Tax Facts that
addresses tax returns, sales to tribal
governments, tribal governments
without agreements and more.  We
want taxpayers to contact us so that
we can develop an understanding of
how this process should work,”
Adams said.

You can find the Tribal
Governments Tax Facts online at
www.state.sd.us/drr or call and
request one toll-free at 1-800-TAX-
9188.  Companies that work with
the tribes may contact Revenue
Agent Bobi Adams at
(605) 773-3311.

• Continue to fill out the left side of  the sales tax form.

Cheyenne

Standing
Rock

Rosebud

Oglala
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CONTRACTORS IN THE KNOW

1. On June 20, 2004, ABC signs a contract
with the City of Edgemont for $50,000 to
install materials into a water line.  This
project is for a qualified utility.  The
contractor will owe use tax on the material
furnished by the municipality.  However,
they do not include the material on line 2 as
owner furnished material subject to the
excise tax. Materials provided by the city are
valued at $12,000, with possession taken on
August 5. The city did not pay sales tax on
these materials. Payment of $50,000 was
received August 20, 2004.

2. On June 25, 2004, ABC Corporation
submits a bid for $300,000 to remodel a
school building in Hot Springs, SD. ABC
purchases some materials locally and pays
the applicable state and municipal sales tax
to the supplier. A hard-to-locate material is
purchased from an unlicensed out-of-state
supplier at a cost of $25,000 plus $300
freight. No sales tax is paid on this purchase.
The materials arrive at the jobsite on August
1.  Payment of $200,000 is received on
August 4, 2004.

3. On July 30, 2004, ABC enters into an
agreement with a furniture store in Custer to
build a warehouse for $175,000. The
furniture store purchases the materials and
provides them to ABC to install. The
purchase price, including sales tax, is
$100,000. Payment of $175,000 is received
on August 25, 2004.

4. On August 4, 2004, ABC enters into an
agreement with a Rural Water System
(qualifying utility) to add on to an office
building. The contract amount is $150,000.
Materials are purchased from a licensed
supplier and state and municipal sales tax
are paid. Payment of $75,000 is received on
August 27, 2004.

5. On August 4, ABC receives a payment of
$200,000 for school remodeling. On August
25, $175,000 is received for the construction
of the furniture warehouse. On August 20,
the City of Edgemont pays ABC $50,000.
On August 27, ABC receives $75,000 as a
start-up payment on their contract from the
Rural Water System.

State Tax Liability
a. As the remittances of $200,000 for remodeling the

school, $175,000 for the furniture store and $50,000
for the water line and $75,000 from the Rural Water
System were received in the August 2004 monthly
reporting period, add $200,000, $175,000, $50,000
and $75,000; enter $500,000 on line 1 under Total
Gross Receipts.

b. As owner-furnished materials provided by the
furniture store are reported in the month, enter
$100,000 on line 2.

c. Add lines 1 and 2 and enter the total on line 3.

d. As ABC had no receipts as a subcontractor in
August, they would not have any prime contractor
exemption certificates, so enter 0 on line 4.

e. No receipts from projects on a Reservation were
received. Enter 0 on line 5.

f. Enter $600,000 on line 6 and 7.

g. Enter the 2% tax of $12,000 on lines 8 and 11.

h. Since the fair market value of the materials
furnished by Edgemont was $12,000 and possession
of the materials was taken on August 5, and the
purchase price of materials used in the Hot Springs
school on which no tax was paid to the supplier was

$25,000 plus $300 freight; add $12,000 + $25,000
+ $300 and enter the total - $37,300 on line 12 and
the 4% use tax - $1492 on line 13. Add lines 13 +
14 + 15 and enter on line 16.

i.  Add lines 11 + 16 and enter $13,492 on line 17.

j.  Since the materials purchased without sales tax for
the Hot Springs school were installed inside the city
limits, municipal sales tax is due. Enter $25,300
under Hot Springs, multiply by 1.83% which is
$462.99. Construction materials provided by
Edgemont were used inside the city limits, enter
$12,000 under Edgemont, multiply by 2% which is
$240. Add Hot Springs and Edgemont municipal tax
and enter $702.99 on line 18.

k.  The total tax due is computed by adding lines 17 +
18 and entering the total on line 19. Enter any
interest or penalty due if the return is late, on line
20. Add lines 19 + 20, subtract any notice of credit
or add any billing notice amounts and enter the total
on line 21. Enter the amount of the remittance,
$14,194.99, on line 22.

Filing Correct and Accurate Returns
For contractors concerned about filing inaccurate returns, the department wants you to know that we are here to help.  We
have created a number of construction contract scenarios that are common in the business.  The contract scenarios are
followed by step-by-step instructions on how to fill out the paper version of the contractors excise tax return.

We encourage contractors to consider filing their tax returns electronically free of charge via SD QUEST.  Filing taxes
electronically will significantly reduce filing errors, eliminate excess paperwork and is safe and secure.  Visit one of our field
offices or the Pierre office and fill out a SD QUEST application today.  You can also apply online at www.state.sd.us/drr.

Reporting Period Aug 04

Return 200408

Return Due September 20, 2004

File Code 7

CHECK FOR CHANGE OF ADDRESS BELOW

Out of Business?  Attach license card

Last day of businses:

CONTRACTORS’ EXCISE

TAX RETURN

License #

REMITTANCE CALCULATIONS

STATE TAX CALCULATIONS

CITY/RESERVATION TAX CALCULATIONS

CITY/RES CODE NET TAXABLE RATE TAX

1.  Gross Receipts                                     * A   Hot Springs

2.  Owner Furnished Materials              * B  Edgemont

3.  Total (Line 1 plus 2) C

4.  Subcontractor Receipts                      * D

5.  Reservation       * E

6.  State Excise Taxable (Line 3-4-5) F

7.  Gross Receipts Subject to 2% Excise* G

8.  2% Tax (Line 7 x .02) H

I

J

11.  Total Excise Tax (Line 8 + 10) K

12.  Subject to 4% State Sales/Use Tax  * 18.  Total City/Res Tax (Add A to K)

13. State Sales/Use Tax Due (Line 12 x .04)

14.  Fuel Subject to 4% Tax                    * 19.  Total Tax Due (Line 17 + 18)

15.  Fuel Use Tax (Line 14 x .04) 20.  Interest/Penalty

16.  Total Use Tax (Line 13 + 15) 21.  Total Due (Line 19 + 20)

17.  Total State Tax (Line 11 + 16) 22.  Amount Remitted                                       *

I declare under the penalties of perjury this return has been examined by me and to the best

of my knowledge and belief is a true, correct and complete return.

Date Preparer Date Licensee

RV11EXRTN  05/03

9.

10.

500,000.00  169-4

104-2

25,300.00

12,000.00

2.00%

2.00%

506.00

240.00
100,000.00

600,000.00

13,492.00

746.00

14,238.00

June 15, 2004 Jon Q. Taxpayer

    0

600,000.00

600,000.00

12,000.00

12,000.00

37,300.00

1,492.00

1,492.00 14,238.00

14,238.00
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According to the South
Dakota Governor’s Office
of Economic
Development, the
construction industry is
only second to retail trade
for major industries in
South Dakota.  This
means that as South
Dakota grows
economically and our
population continues to
increase, so will the
construction industry.
The importance of the
construction industry is
further evident in that
South Dakota collected
over $60 million dollars
in Contractors’ Excise
Tax in fiscal year 2004, a
5.7% increase from fiscal
year 2003.

Prime contractors are
required by state law to
charge 2% contractors’
excise tax on their gross
receipts.  Municipal tax
does not apply to receipts
subject to the 2%
contractors’ excise tax.
Gross receipts include the
total amount a prime
contractor receives for a
contract without
deducting anything.
Subcontractors are not
subject to the 2% tax if
the subcontractor is
furnished a valid prime
contractors exemption
certificate by the prime
contractor for each
specific job performed.

Auditors have found that
contractors routinely
deduct the following
items from their gross
receipts.

Indirect Payments -
Amounts paid to suppliers
or subcontractors, on
behalf of the prime
contractor are considered
gross receipts of the
prime, even if payment is
made directly by the
person the realty
improvement is done for.

This happens frequently
with banks who manage
construction accounts and
are required to pay
suppliers and

subcontractors on behalf
of the prime contractor.

Barter - If equipment is
exchanged for labor, the
value of the equipment
determines the amount of
contractors’ excise tax
that is due by the
contractor.

Sweat Equity - Persons
receiving consideration in
exchange for labor under
a “sweat equity” contract.
For example,
homeowners providing
work such as painting or
shingling.  The
homeowner is considered
a subcontractor and
should be provided with
an exemption certificate
from the prime contractor.

Liquidated Damages,
Penalties - Interest,
penalties or liquidated

Gross Receipts and Contractors’
Excise Tax
By Betty Morford and Rob Witte

damages paid by the
contractor may not be
deducted from gross
receipts.

This situation occurs
when a contract must be
completed by a certain
date.  Often contractors
will be required to pay the
project owner a certain
amount of money for each
day that the contract runs
over the due date.  The
contractor cannot deduct
the fees that are paid to
the project owner.

The department
recommends contacting a
revenue agent toll-free at
1-800-TAX-9188 before
deducting any receipts or
expenses from your gross
receipts.  It will save you
time and money in the
future.

Specialty Builders In The Black Hills
By Rob Witte

As gold miners did more than 100 years ago, land developers big and small have
descended on the Black Hills in hopes of  creating their own financial success.
Individuals from South Dakota and beyond are turning their land interests into
beautiful homes and cabins in and around the Black Hills Region.

The Department of  Revenue & Regulation considers individuals who hold title to a
parcel of land and build with the intent to sell as Specialty Builders (Spec Builders).
You are considered a Spec Builder even if  you do not perform any of  the work;
whether it is for new construction or remodeling. This type of  development allows
an individual to potentially earn more dollars by adding value to their property.
Spec Builders must have a contractors’ excise tax license as well as pay sales/use tax
on all construction materials.

The department has developed a brochure, Specialty Builders and the $100,000
Rule, which outlines this information in more detail.  Visit us online at
www.state.sd.us/drr or request a brochure by calling us toll-free at
1-800-TAX-9188.
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