Methods of Annual License Renewal

There are currently 4 options for annual renewal of a vehicle registration. License renewal can be accomplished in person at the applicant’s county treasurer’s office; by mail through the county; online Internet renewal through http://mysdcars.sd.gov (individuals), www.SDcars.org (businesses), or through a self-service terminal located in Sioux Falls, Rapid City, Pierre, Aberdeen, Mitchell, Watertown, Yankton, and Brookings.

1. In-Person Renewal


To renew in person, the applicant should take the renewal postcard and a photo ID (either a driver license or ID card) to his or her local county treasurer's office. If a vehicle you want to renew is not shown on the postcard, proof of ownership of such vehicle in the form of the title or license renewal form must be presented.

Acceptable forms of payment for in-person renewals are cash, checks (in-state only), cashier’s check or money orders.

2. Renewal by Mail

If renewing by mail, mail the renewal postcard and payment for the fees owed to your county treasurer’s office. If a vehicle you want to renew is not shown on the postcard, proof of ownership of such vehicle in the form of the title or license renewal form must be submitted. Acceptable forms of payment are check (in-state only), cashier’s checks or money orders. Include in your payment the appropriate postage fee ($5 for each plate/plates and $1 for each decal/decals). Also include on the postcard, your driver’s license number or ID number from a valid ID card. Allow two weeks for processing for renewals received by mail. For more information, contact your local county treasurer's office.

3. Internet Renewal

The internet renewal system is available from 90 days prior and 30 days after the registration expiration. Please be aware that the 30 days beyond expiration is not a grace period and only for convenience of using the internet renewal option. Law enforcement may ticket for driving on expired plates. Certain boat and snowmobile renewals cannot be done on-line at this time. Address changes must be made through the applicant’s county treasurer’s office or online prior to renewal. Individuals renew at the customer portal, while businesses renew at the business portal.

To renew online, an applicant must have a valid SD driver’s license or a valid SD ID issued by the SD Department of Public Safety, along with their date of birth. In the case of a business, an FEIN number, along with the state assigned customer number (as indicated on the vehicle’s renewal notice sent out by the state) is needed to obtain access to the system. Costs include the registration fees, mailing fees (mailing fee is $1 for each license renewed), and a processing fee. ($1.50 for echeck or 2.25% for debit or credit card).

Acceptable forms of payment include electronic check and credit/debit cards (Discover, MasterCard and Visa only).

 

4. Self-Service Terminals


The self-service terminals (SST) are fully automated motor vehicle registration renewal stations which dispense license renewal tags on the spot. For a list of self-service terminal locations, follow this link.

A vehicle owner can navigate through the easy touch screen (voice assistance available) with a valid South Dakota driver’s license, South Dakota identification card, or if a company, the information provided on its renewal notice. Once the payment has been submitted and the transaction is completed, the license renewal tags and vehicle registration are dispensed directly from the machine.

During the transaction, the customer is asked to scan the bar code on their South Dakota driver’s license or South Dakota identification card. This action retrieves all the vehicle owner’s registrations and allows them to select only the registrations they want to renew.

The SST allows vehicle owners to register up to 90 days prior and 30 days after the expiration of their current license tags. Certain boat and snowmobile renewals cannot be done on-line at this time. Address changes must be made through the applicant’s county treasurer’s office prior to renewal. Costs include the registration fees and a service fee. ($1.50 for echeck or 2.25% for debit or credit card).

Vehicle owners from any county can use the terminal with the proper identification.

Acceptable forms of payment include electronic check and credit/debit cards (Discover, MasterCard and Visa only).

 

 

 

Home  |  SD.GOV  |  DOR Intranet
445 E Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501




© Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota