Special License Plates

Fire Fighter, Indian Tribal, Historic, Construction Vehicle and Radio Plates.

Amateur Radio License Plates
Who is Eligiable? Special plates may be obtained from the Division of Motor Vehicles by any official amateur radio operator licensed by the FCC.
Special Requirements An applicant for amateur radio plates must provide a copy of the FCC license when applying for and renewing amateur radio plates. The plates may bear the inscription of the station's call numbers and shall be displayed on the vehicle.
Fee Applicants must pay a $10 special plate fee in addition to the registration fee for the initial registration and each renewal. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-5-65


Commercial Radio License Plates
Who is Eligiable? Special plates may be obtained from the Division of Motor Vehicles by any licensed commercial radio station.
Special Requirements The plates may bear the inscription of the station's call numbers and shall be displayed on the vehicle.
Fee Applicants must a $10 special plate fee in addition to the registration fee for the initial registration and each renewal. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-5-65


Construction Vehicle License Plates
Who is Eligiable? A vehicle eligible for construction plates will be any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, motor propelled or trailed vehicle chassis registered in South Dakota.
Special Requirements A vehicle used exclusively on the job site for the construction of township roads, stock water dugouts, dams, farm and ranch irrigation systems or other soil and water conservation projects on farms and ranches, or for the construction or maintenance of highways in the state of South Dakota may qualify for construction plates.
Fee Construction plates are to be purchased annually from the Division of Motor Vehicles for a fee of $25. Prior to moving any vehicle or equipment (between job sites or from a job site to a central location) that has been issued a construction plate, the owner must issue a $5 permit for the movement of the vehicle or equipment on the roads and highways. The permits, which are obtained through the Highway Patrol, are available in books of 10 for a fee of $50. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-9-3.3, 32-9-3.10


Disabled Person License Plates See Physically Disabled Parking Permit & License Plates


Firrefighter License Plates
Who is Eligiable? Any resident, currently certified and recognized by the State Fire Marshal's office, qualifies to apply for a special firefighter license plate.
Special Requirements To receive a plate the applicant must submit a special plate application, and pay the registration fee, plus $10 for the special plates. The firefighter plates must be displayed on the vehicle in place of the regular number plates. If the applicant dies or otherwise is discharged, separated, or retires, the firefighter license plate must be surrendered to the county treasurer of the county where the applicant lives.
Fee The initial fee and renewal fee for firefighter plates is $10. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-5-113


Crow Creek Sioux Tribe
Lower Brule Sioux Tribe
Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe
Rosebud Sioux Tribe
Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe
Yankton Sioux Tribe
Who is Eligiable? Any resident may obtain Indian tribal plates. To receive the plates, the applicant must have registered his vehicle, paid the current year's county plate fees, and provide proof of such by sending a copy of the current vehicle registration form with the application. The Indian tribal plates must be displayed on the vehicle in place of the regular number plates which must be kept in the vehicle.
Fee The initial fee for the Native American tribal plates is $10. There is no fee assessed for renewal of the plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-5-123
Home  |  SD.GOV  |  DOR Intranet
445 E Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501




© Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota