Military License Plates - General

Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Air Force Cross
Who is eligible? Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license and who has received the Air Force Cross Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates.
Special Requirements If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.
Fee Upon initial application, the registration fee is charged in addition to a $10 fee for the special plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon renewal of the plates, the applicant pays the registration fee but is not assessed an additional fee for the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plate Application (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-109.6


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Bronze Star
Who is eligible? Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license and who has received the Bronze Star Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates.
Special Requirements If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.
Fee Upon initial application, the registration fee is charged in addition to a $10 fee for the special plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon renewal of the plates, the applicant pays the registration fee but is not assessed an additional fee for the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plate Application (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-109.6


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Bronze Star with Valor
Who is eligible? Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license and who has received the Bronze Star with Valor Service Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates.
Special Requirements If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.
Fee Upon initial application, the registration fee is charged in addition to a $10 fee for the special plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon renewal of the plates, the applicant pays the registration fee but is not assessed an additional fee for the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plate Application (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-109.6


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Congressional Medal of Honor
Who is eligible? Any resident veteran owner of a motor vehicle who has received the Congressional Medal of Honor may apply to the Secretary of Revenue and Regulation for special license plates.
Special Requirements If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.
Fee No fee is charged for the special plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-5-109.3


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Distinguished Flying Cross
Who is eligible? Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license and who has received the Distinguished Flying Cross Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates.
Special Requirements If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.
Fee Upon initial application, the registration fee is charged in addition to a $10 fee for the special plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon renewal of the plates, the applicant pays the registration fee but is not assessed an additional fee for the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plate Application (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-109.6


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Distinguished Service Cross
Who is eligible? Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license and who has received the Distinguished Service Cross Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates.
Special Requirements If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.
Fee Upon initial application, the registration fee is charged in addition to a $10 fee for the special plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon renewal of the plates, the applicant pays the registration fee but is not assessed an additional fee for the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plate Application (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-109.6


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Disabled Veteran
Who is eligible? Before a person can receive a disabled veteran plate, he or she must be an owner of a motor vehicle or motorcycle and a resident veteran who is either:
  1. A recipient of a Veterans' Administration K Award; or
  2. A recipient of an automobile under Public Law 187; or
  3. A recipient of a statutory benefit for loss or loss of use of one or more extremities; or
  4. A recipient of a veteran's allotment for total disability which is a service connected injury.
In addition, the injury must have been incurred in active duty during a time of war or while participating in a military mission involving armed conflict. Disabled Veteran plates are available for passenger vehicles and motorcycles.
Special Requirements Disabled Veteran plates will be issued from the division upon verification of Disabled Veteran status through the Veteran's Administration in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. If the applicant does not qualify for Disabled Veteran status, the $10 fee will be refunded.
Fee Ten Dollars will be charged annually for the Disabled Veteran plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-SL1).
Applicable Law 32-5-108, 32-5-109, 32-5-109.1


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
National Guard
Who is eligible? A resident owner of a motor vehicle who is a regularly enlisted or commissioned member of the National Guard, other than an inactive member, may receive National Guard license plates. A retired member of the South Dakota National Guard, with twenty (20) years or more of creditable service is entitled to make application for National Guard plates. These plates are subject to the same limitations and conditions as are applicable to active members. Any member of the National Guard who is discharged, separated, or furloughed to a reserve or inactive status shall surrender the National Guard plates to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
Special Requirements Each member of the National Guard shall apply to the county treasurer of the county of his/her residence for the issuance of the special plates. The guard member, in order to receive the special plates, shall have pay the registration fee and submit an application for the special plates and a copy of the applicant's National Guard identification card to the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles, Special License Section.
Fee The Fee for an initial National Guard plate is $10, in addition to the registration fee. There is no additional fee for the renewal of the special plate, but the registration fee is assessed. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-5-55


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Navy Cross
Who is eligible? Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license and who has received the Navy Cross Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates.
Special Requirements If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.
Fee Upon initial application, the registration fee is charged in addition to a $10 fee for the special plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon renewal of the plates, the applicant pays the registration fee but is not assessed an additional fee for the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plate Application (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-109.6


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Pearl Harbor Survivor
Who is eligible? Any resident of South Dakota who was serving in the United States Armed Forces and survived the attack at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii on December 7, 1941, and who received an honorable discharge may apply to the Secretary of Revenue and Regulation for special motor vehicle license plates.
Special Requirements If applicant dies the plates must be surrendered to the county treasurer's office and no additional fees are due for the registration year.
Fee Ten dollars will be charged annually for the Pearl Harbor plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-5-108, 32-5-109, 32-5-109.1


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
POW
Who is eligible? Any resident of South Dakota who was a prisoner of war (POW) while serving in the United States Armed Forces is eligible for special motor vehicle license plates.
Special Requirements POW plates will be issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles upon verification of POW status through the Veteran's Administration in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. If the applicant dies the plates must be surrendered to the county treasurer's office of the applicants residence.
Fee Ten Dollars will be charged annually for the POW plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-101).
Applicable Law 32-5-108, 32-5-109, 32-5-109.1


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Purple Heart
Who is eligible? Any resident veteran owner of a motor vehicle or motorcycle who has received the Purple Heart medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue and Regulation for special motor vehicle license plates. The applicant must submit a copy of DD Form 214, discharge papers, verifying eligibility.
Special Requirements If applicant dies. The plate must be surrendered to the county treasurer's office.
Fee Ten Dollars will be charged annually for the Purple Heart plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an Application for Special License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-109.2


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Silver Star
Who is eligible? Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license and who has received the Silver Star Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates.
Special Requirements If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.
Fee Upon initial application, the registration fee is charged in addition to a $10 fee for the special plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon renewal of the plates, the applicant pays the registration fee but is not assessed an additional fee for the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plate Application (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-109.6


Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Gold Star
Who is eligible? A resident owner of a motor vehicle who is a parent, a spouse, a sibling, or a child of a member of the US Armed Forces who died while in service to this country or who died as a result of the service.
Special Requirements If applicant dies, the plates may be retained by the plate owner's family, but may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration date of the plates or stickers.
Fee Upon initial application, applicant pays the registration fee, plus a $10 special license plate fee; annually only the the registration fee is assessed. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply Applicant must complete a South Dakota Special License Plate Application form (MV-101 and submit for verification purposes a copy of the Department of Defense Report of Casualty (DD Form 1300) or death notice, or verification from the U.S.Department of Veterans Affairs that the service member's death was service-related.
Applicable Law 32-5-109.5
Home  |  SD.GOV  |  DOR Intranet
445 E Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501




© Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota