Disabled Person License Plates

Permanently Disabled Person Vehicle Plate
Permanently Disabled Person Motorcycle Plate
Who is Eligiable? An owner of a vehicle, who is a resident of this state, who has complied with all the laws of this state in obtaining regular number license plates for the motor vehicle, and who operates or directs the operation of the vehicle, may submit to the county treasurer an application containing a physician's certificate on a form approved by the secretary, stating that the applicant is a person with substantial physical disability that makes it impossible or causes substantial hardship to walk. The secretary shall promulgate a rule defining a person with a substantial disability.
Apply Apply with Application for Physically Disabled Parking Permit and License Plates (MV-044).
Fees There is no additional charge for physically disabled person's license plates.
Applicable Law 32-5-76


Diabled Veteran
Diabled Veteran Motorcycle
Who is Eligiable? Before a person can receive a disabled veteran plate, he or she must be an owner of a motor vehicle or motorcycle and a resident veteran who is either:
  1. A recipient of a Veterans' Administration K Award; or
  2. A recipient of an automobile under Public Law 187; or
  3. A recipient of a statutory benefit for loss or loss of use of one or more extremities; or
  4. A recipient of a veteran's allotment for total disability which is a service connected injury.
In addition, the injury must have been incurred in active duty during a time of war or while participating in a military mission involving armed conflict. Disabled Veteran plates are available for passenger vehicles and motorcycles.
Special Requirements Disabled Veteran plates will be issued from the division upon verification of Disabled Veteran status through the Veteran's Administration in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. If the applicant does not qualify for Disabled Veteran status, the $10 fee will be refunded. If the applicant does qualify, the regular plate fee will be refunded.
Apply It will be necessary to complete an South Dakota Military License Plate Application.
Fees Ten Dollars will be charged annually for the Disabled Veteran plate, no registration fee is charged.
Applicable Law 32-5-108, 32-5-109, 32-5-109.1


Portable Physically Disabled Person Parking Permit
Who is Eligiable? This permit is to be used only when transporting a physically disabled individual and the use of a designated physically disabled person's parking facility is necessary. Vehicles owned by certain nonprofit organizations, licensed hospitals, retirements homes, educational institutions that have under their care or responsibility physically disabled persons, and nursing facilities licensed pursuant to chapter 34-12 (regulation of hospitals and related institutions) may obtain portable physically disabled person's parking permits.
Special Requirements If an applicant is no longer a person with a physical disability or is deceased, or if the applicant no longer transports persons with physical disabilities, the permit must be surrendered within 30 days to the county treasurer of the applicant's residence.
Apply The applicant must properly complete an Application for Portable Physically Disabled Person's Parking Permit and have it validated (MV-044) by a physician. The application is filed with the county treasurer of the applicant's residence.
Home  |  SD.GOV  |  DOR Intranet
445 E Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501




© Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota