Dealer License Plates

Boat Dealer
Who is Eligible? Boat dealer plates: The department shall issue to a boat dealer, upon application and payment of a fee of $20 per set, boat dealer license plates. The boat dealer plates must be displayed on or carried in the boat. Any boat owned by the licensed boat dealer and bearing the dealers’ plates may be operated on the waters of this state for any purpose, except on boats that are leased or rented. The plates are transferable by the dealer from one boat owned by the dealer to another boat owned by the dealer. Boat licenses are to be carried on or in the boat. A $5 fee is assessed for each set of plates to be mailed and a $1 fee is assessed for reach set of decals to be mailed.
Apply South Dakota Dealer License Plates (MV-099).
Applicable Law 32-7B-10, 32-7B-11


Dealer 77
Who is Eligible? "77" Dealer license plates: Any new vehicle or used vehicle owned by a licensed dealer bearing a dealer's "77" plate may be driven on the streets and highways of this state for any purpose. The dealer "77" plate is transferable by the dealer from one vehicle owned by the dealer to another vehicle owned by the dealer. The dealer "77" plate may not be used on vehicles for lease or hire or on wreckers or service vehicles. Licensed dealers shall make applications and payment of $63 for each set of license plates desired at the county treasurer's office. A $5 fee is assessed for each set of plates to be mailed and a $1 fee is assessed for reach set of decals to be mailed.
Apply South Dakota Dealer License Plates (MV-099).
Applicable Law 32-6B-22, 32-6B-21


Dealer 88
Who is Eligible? "88" Dealer Commercial license plates: Effective July 1, 2004, a dealer may purchase "88" commercial plates that can be used to transport any inventory replacement vehicle and by a prospective purchaser for demonstration purposes for a period of three days. The dealer "88" plate is transferable by the dealer from one vehicle owned by the dealer to another vehicle owned by the dealer. The dealer is exempt from paying 3% motor vehicle excise tax. The fee for the plates is based on the commercial declared gross weight fee schedule. The gross weight tonnage fee must be paid and the tonnage sticker affixed to the "88" plate prior to operation. The dealer must comply with the requirements set out in federal guidelines pertaining to the filing and payment of the federal heavy vehicle use tax (HUVT) on any registration in excess of 27 tons. Before DMV will issue dealer 88 commercial license plates or renew the registration on a dealer 88commercial plate, the dealer must provide the DMV with a copy of the HVUT Form 2290 stamped and verified by the IRS. The vehicle must comply with all provisions pertaining to overweight operation. A $5 fee is assessed for each set of plates to be mailed and a $1 fee is assessed for reach set of decals to be mailed.
Apply South Dakota Dealer License Plates (MV-099).
Applicable Law 32-6B-22.1, 32-6-22.2


Dealer 99 - Auction Agency Plates
Who is Eligible? Dealer "99" Auction Agency Plates: These plates can be used on any vehicle being transported to or from the auction agency's place of business for the purpose of transporting a vehicle that will be sold or has been sold by the auction agency. The plates are transferable by the auction agency from one vehicle to another vehicle for transporting purposes. The annual fee for a set of auction plates is $42. The plates are consecutively numbered and bear as a prefix the number "99". A $5 fee is assessed for each set of plates to be mailed and a $1 fee is assessed for reach set of decals to be mailed.
Apply South Dakota Dealer License Plates (MV-099).
Applicable Law 32-6B-36.3


Dealer Trailer
Who is Eligible? Motorcycle, trailer, and mobile home/manufactured home dealer plates: The department shall issue to every motorcycle dealer, trailer dealer and mobile home/manufactured home dealer, upon application and payment of a fee of $15 for motorcycle and trailer and $10 for mobile home / manufactured home dealer's plates, dealer's metal number plates. One license plate shall be displayed on the rear of any motorcycle or trailer, semitrailer, travel trailer, or mobile home/manufactured home owned by the dealer. A prospective buyer may operate any vehicle owned by the licensed dealer and bearing the dealers’ metal plate on the streets and highways of this state for any purpose, including demonstration. A $5 fee is assessed for each set of plates to be mailed and a $1 fee is assessed for reach set of decals to be mailed.
Apply South Dakota Dealer License Plates (MV-099).
Applicable Law 32-7A-10


Snowmobile Dealer
Who is Eligible? Snowmobile dealer plates: The department shall issue license plates of a durable material to license dealers upon application and payment of $10 for each set desired. Any new snowmobile or used snowmobile owned by a licensed dealer, bearing dealer's license plates may operate in this state. One plate shall be displayed on each side of the snowmobile. The license plate is transferable by the dealer from one snowmobile owned by the dealer to another snowmobile owned by the dealer. A $1 fee is assessed for reach set of decals to be mailed.
Apply South Dakota Dealer License Plates (MV-099).
Applicable Law 32-6C-7


Motorcycle Dealer
Who is Eligible? Motorcycle, trailer, and mobile home/manufactured home dealer plates: The department shall issue to every motorcycle dealer, trailer dealer and mobile home/manufactured home dealer, upon application and payment of a fee of $15 for each plate, dealer’s metal number plates. One license plate shall be displayed on the rear of any motorcycle or trailer, semitrailer, travel trailer, or mobile home/manufactured home owned by the dealer. A prospective buyer may operate any vehicle owned by the licensed dealer and bearing the dealers’ metal plate on the streets and highways of this state for any purpose, including demonstration. Motorcycles are required to have only one permit on the back of the vehicle. A $5 fee is assessed for each set of plates to be mailed and a $1 fee is assessed for reach set of decals to be mailed.
Apply South Dakota Dealer License Plates (MV-099).
Applicable Law 32-6B-23


Home  |  SD.GOV  |  DOR Intranet
445 E Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501




© Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota