
Dealer 
Requirements

Renewal Licenses
Licensing is done under a staggered registration 
system.  

The actual (paper) dealer license is issued for a 5-year 
period, unless canceled or revoked for cause by the 
Division of  Motor Vehicles; however, each year, a 
License Renewal Notice and Billing is required to 
be submitted prior to the expiration of  the license, 
this contains all pertinent data on file relative to the 
dealership. The Notice and Billing must be thoroughly 
reviewed for accuracy, with required changes noted 
thereon. The document must then be signed and 
returned to the county treasurer of  the county in 
which the dealership is located by the deadline date 
shown on the Notice and Billing. Payment of  the 
annual dealer renewal license fee and dealer plate 
fees must accompany the License Renewal Notice 
and Billing. 

Renewal License Fees (if  submitted prior to the 
expiration of  the license)
1.  Vehicle Dealer - $175
2.  Used Vehicle Dealer - $175
3.  Mobile/Manufactured Home Dealer -$150
4.  Motorcycle Dealer - $150
5.  Snowmobile Dealer - $125
6.  Trailer Dealer - $100
7.  Boat Dealer - $175
8.  Emergency Vehicle Dealer - $175
9. Final Stage Manufacturer Dealer - $175 

Failure to renew a dealer license prior to its expiration 
will result in the dealer being assessed the same fee as 
the initial license fee.  In the event a dealer possesses 
more than one type of  dealer license, the dealer must 
renew all the licenses during the license renewal month 
assigned to the dealer.
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South Dakota requires that people who engage in 
the business of  selling vehicles, whether exclusively 
or in addition to any other occupation have a motor 
vehicle dealer license.                                                 

All businesses must become licensed with the Division 
of  Motor Vehicles before any sales transactions 
may occur. Also, it is recommended that applicants 
contact the department prior to submitting a license  
application to make sure that the name you want to 
use for your business is not already in use.

South Dakota Laws
SDCL 32-6B-4, 32-6C-2, 32-7B-2 and 32-7A-3: No 
person may engage in the business, either exclusively 
or in addition to any other occupation, of  selling, 
offering to sell, or displaying of  new or used vehicles, 
trailers, motorcycles, boats, mobile/manufactured 
homes or snowmobiles without a license as provided 
in SDCL 32-6B-12, 32-6C-5, 32-7A-9 and 32-7B-3. A 
violation of  this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. 

SDCL 32-6B-4.1: No person may act as, offer to act 
as, or hold himself  or herself  out to be a broker. A 
violation of  this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. 

Definitions
Vehicle Dealer 
Any person who for commission or with intent to 
make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with 
option to purchase, offers or attempts to negotiate a 
sale or exchange of  new, or new and used vehicles, 
or who is engaged wholly or in part in the business 
of  selling new, or new and used vehicles.

Used Vehicle Dealer
Any person who, for commission or with intent to 
make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with 
option to purchase, offers or attempts to negotiate a 
sale or exchange of  used vehicles or who is engaged 
in the business of  selling used vehicles; or any person 

who sells five or more used vehicles or offers for sale 
five or more used vehicles at the same address or 
telephone number in any one calendar year.

Any person who sells less than five vehicles in a 12-
month period is exempt, unless the person is licensed 
as a dealer in another state or holds himself  or herself  
out as being in the business of  selling vehicles.

Mobile/Manufactured Home Dealer
Any person, other than a manufacturer of  a mobile 
home or a manufactured home, who sells three or 
more mobile homes or manufactured homes in any 
consecutive twelve month period. 

Trailer Dealer
Any person who, for commission or with intent to 
make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with 
option to purchase, offers or attempts to negotiate a 
sale or exchange of  new or used trailers, semitrailers, 
recreational park trailers, or travel trailers or who 
is engaged in the business of  selling new or used 
trailers, semitrailers, recreational park trailers, or travel 
trailers whether or not such vehicles are owned by 
such person.”  Any person who sells less than three 
travel trailers in a 12-month period is exempt, unless 
the person is licensed as a dealer in another state or 
holds himself  or herself  out as being in the business 
of  selling vehicles.

Snowmobile and/or Boat Dealer
Any person who, for commission or with intent to 
make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with 
option to purchase, offers or attempts to negotiate a 
sale or exchange of  new or used snowmobiles, or who 
is engaged wholly or in part in the business of  selling 
new or used snowmobiles and/or boats.
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Final Stage Manufacturer Dealer
Any person who assembles or installs on a previously 
assembled new motor vehicle chassis cab any special 
body or equipment that forms an integral part of the 
motor vehicle, constitutes a major manufacturing al-
teration, and completes the vehicle.



Emergency Vehicle
Any person who converts or manufacturers autho-
rized emergency vehicles and who for commission or 
with intent to make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, 
rents with option to purchase, offers, or attempts to 
negotiate a sale or exchange of  new or new and used 
authorized emergency vehicles or who is engaged 
wholly or in part in the business of  selling new or new 
and used authorized emergency vehicles. The term 
includes the submission of  a bid proposal for the sale 
of  a vehicle if  the bid proposal is offered in response 
to a bid request originating in this state.

Bonds
A surety bond is required for most licensed dealers. 
The bond must be executed by the applicant as prin-
cipal and by a surety company qualified to do business 
in the state as surety.  

Surety Bond Fees
1.  Vehicle Dealer - $25,000
2.  Used Vehicle Dealer - $25,000
3.  Mobile/Manufactured Home Dealer - $25,000
4.  Motorcycle Dealer - $5,000
5.  Trailer Dealer - $10,000 for trailers weighing more 
than 3,000 pounds
6.  Snowmobile Dealer - $5,000
7.  Boat Dealer - $20,000
8.  Emergency Vehicle Dealer - $10,000                                                      
9.  Final Stage Manufacturer Dealer - $25,000

New Licenses
No applicant, nor any other partner, member, officer 
or financial supporter of  the dealership may have been 
convicted of  a crime involving vehicle theft or fraud 
in the last five years.

The fees for dealer license depend on the type of  
license the dealer is obtaining. 

License Fees
1.  Vehicle Dealer - $300
2.  Used Vehicle Dealer - $300

3.  Mobile/Manufactured Home Dealer - $300
4.  Motorcycle Dealer - $250
5.  Snowmobile Dealer - $150
6.  Trailer Dealer - $125
7.  Boat Dealer - $250
8.  Emergency Vehicle Dealer - $300                                                             
9.  Final Stage Manufacturer Dealer - $300

A vehicle dealer license and used vehicle dealer license 
allows the licensee to sell a broad range of  vehicles. 
In addition to being able to sell vehicles, they are also 
able to sell motorcycles and trailers without specifically 
acquiring those licenses. A dealer selling low-speed 
vehicles must be licensed as a vehicle dealer or a used 
vehicle dealer. A boat dealer license allows the licensee 
to sell boat trailers without acquiring a separate trailer 
license. Dealers of  mobile/manufactured homes, 
motorcycles, trailers, and snowmobiles must have that 
specific category of  license.

The dealer license application must be completed 
in its entirety and submitted to the county treasurer 
of  the business’ location with the fee, original surety 
bond, written confirmation from the city/county that 
the business meets all land use ordinances, building 
codes, and zoning, and a certificate of  public liability 
insurance (when the license requires insurance). The 
application and fees are forwarded from the county 
treasurer’s office to the Division of  Motor Vehicles in 
Pierre. For future renewal of  the license, the division 
will assign a registration renewal month. The applica-
tion is then routed to the dealer inspector.

Principal Place of Business
Every person licensed as a vehicle dealer shall display 
a license in a conspicuous place at the principal place 
of  business.

All applicants and existing dealerships must have a 
principal place of  business that conforms to the laws 
and rules under dealer licensing. For vehicle, used 
vehicle, motorcycle, trailer and boat dealers, this re-
quires an enclosed permanent structure located within 
the state, easily accessible and open to the public at 
all reasonable times, with business hours posted in 

view to the public. There must be an improved area 
adjoining the building that is large enough to display 
five or more vehicles or boats of  the type the dealer 
is licensed to sell.

Additionally, the principal place of  business location 
must accord to all applicable land use ordinances, 
building codes and zoning, with written proof  of  
conformance being submitted upon initial application 
for a license. All books, records and files necessary to 
conduct business must be kept and maintained at the 
licensed location.

In no event may rooms in a hotel, motel, apart-
ment house or any part of  a single or multiple 
unit dwelling house be considered a “principal 
place of  business,” unless the entire ground floor 
is devoted principally to, and occupied for, com-
mercial purposes. The principal place of  business 
must have separate office space for conducting busi-
ness if  more than one business occupies the structure. 
To maintain a principal place of  business, the licensed 
dealer must be open for business on a continuing basis, 
with normal business hours posted in a place visible 
for viewing by the public.

The dealership must maintain a telephone at the deal-
ership and the telephone number, in the name of  the 
business, must be listed in either the white or yellow 
pages. In the event the principal place of  business is 
in a structure which houses more than one business, 
the dealer’s office must be separate from the other 
business.  

A dealer inspector must inspect all principal places of  
business and certify they are in accordance with the 
law before a dealer license is issued.

The principal place of  business for mobile/manu-
factured homes is essentially the same as previously 
stated, however, there are some differences. The place 
of  business for mobile/manufactured home dealers 
may not be a tent, temporary stand or other temporary 
quarters, nor permanent quarters occupied pursuant 
to any temporary arrangement. The licensee may use 
unimproved lots and premises for sale, storage and 

display of  mobile homes and manufactured homes. A 
licensee may use a residence located within or adjacent 
to his mobile home park or a manufactured home park 
as a principal place of  business unless prohibited by 
local zoning.

A snowmobile dealer must have a principal place of  
business in which the records, books, and files neces-
sary to conduct business are maintained and available 
for inspection

All of  the dealer requirements apply to the emergency 
vehicle dealer requirements, with the exception of  
having a principal place of  business in South Dakota. 
The business may be located outside the state. In ad-
dition, a separate license is not required to operate in 
more than one county.

Online Dealer System
In July of  2008, a new Title and Registration computer 
system was implemented. All licensed dealers are re-
quired to use the online system for obtaining informa-
tion and entering applications. A transaction fee of  no 
more than $.50 per transaction may be assessed by the 
Department. Currently, the transaction fee is $0.25. 
For more information visit www.SDcars.org.

Going Out of Business
A dealership that is going out-of-business, must sur-
render the dealer license and any dealer plates to the 
dealer inspector, county treasurer, or the Division of  
Motor Vehicles. Failure to do so is a Class 2 misde-
meanor. An exit audit between the dealership and the 
dealer inspector must be performed prior to the dealer 
going out of  business.

Insurance
Vehicle dealers, used vehicle dealers, final stage, and 
motorcycle dealers are obligated to have a public liability 
insurance policy of not less than $300,000. This is not 
required of trailer dealers, snowmobile dealers, mobile/
manufactured home dealers and boat dealers.


