Skip to main content

Individuals

Specialty Military Plates


Quick Navigation

Apply
Military Plate Fees
Specialty Military Plates
Air Force Cross
Bronze Star
Bronze Star with Valor 
Distinguished Flying Cross
Distinguished Service Cross
Disabled Veteran
Medal of Honor
National Guard
Navy Cross
Pearl Harbor Survivor 
POW
Purple Heart
Silver Star
Gold Star
Other Military Plates

Apply

Those looking to apply for other specialty military plates must possess an active South Dakota driver license or South Dakota ID card may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates. Get started by completing an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates.

 

Military Plate Fees

Upon initial application, the registration fee is charged in addition to a $10 fee. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon renewal of the plates, the applicant pays the registration fee but is not assessed an additional fee for the plates. This is true for all plates unless otherwise noted. Applicants for medal related license plates will also need to provide a copy of their DD214 form, copy of certificate awarded upon presentation of medal, or other official documentation that substantiates eligibility.

 

Specialty Military Plates

Air Force Cross

Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses an active South Dakota driver license or SD ID card and who has received the Air Force Cross Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates. If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Air Force Cross Plates Air Force Cross Plate Air Force Cross Motorcycle Plate
Fee Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates. Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for SouthDakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

Bronze Star

Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license or SD ID card and who has received the Bronze Star Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates. If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Bronze Star Plates Bronze Star Plate Bronze Star Motorcycle Plate
Fee Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates. Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

Bronze Star with Valor

Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license or SD ID card and who has received the Bronze Star with Valor Service Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates. If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Bronze Star with Valor Plates Bronze Star with Valor Plate Bronze Star with Valor Motorcycle Plate
Fee Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates. Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

Distinguished Flying Cross

Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license or SD ID card and who has received the Distinguished Flying Cross Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates. If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Distinguished Flying Cross Plates Distinguished Flying Cross Plate Distinguished Flying Cross Motorcycle Plate
Fee Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates. Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

Distinguished Service Cross

Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license or SD ID card and who has received the Distinguished Service Cross Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates. If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Distinguished Service Cross Plates Distinguished Service Cross Plate Distinguished Service Cross Motorcycle Plate
Fee Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates. Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

Disabled Veteran

Before a person can receive a disabled veteran plate, they must be an owner of a motor vehicle or motorcycle and a resident veteran who is either:

  1. A recipient of a Veterans Administration K Award; or
  2. A recipient of an automobile under Public Law 187; or
  3. A recipient of a statutory benefit for loss or loss of use of one or more extremities; or
  4. A recipient of a veteran's allotment for total disability which is a service-connected injury.

In addition, the injury must have been incurred in active duty during a time of war or while participating in a military mission involving armed conflict. Disabled Veteran plates are available for passenger vehicles and motorcycles. Disabled Veteran plates will be issued from the division upon verification of Disabled Veteran status through the Veteran's Administration in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. If the applicant does not qualify for Disabled Veteran status, the $10 fee will be refunded.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Disabled Veteran Plates Disabled Veteran Plate Disabled Veteran Motorcycle Plate
Fee $10 will be charged annually for the Disabled Veteran plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. $10 will be charged annually for the Disabled Veteran plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-157, and 32-5-160 32-5-155, 32-5-157, and 32-5-160

 

Medal of Honor

Any resident veteran owner of a motor vehicle who has received the Medal of Honor may apply to the Secretary of Revenue and Regulation for special license plates. If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.

  Vehicle Plate
Medal of Honor Plates Medal of Honor Plate
Fee No fee is charged for the special plates. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

National Guard

Any applicant for the National Guard plate must be an active enlisted member of the National Guard, an active warrant officer of the National Guard, an active commissioned member of the National Guard, or a retired member of the National Guard with twenty years or more of creditable service. These plates are subject to the same limitations and conditions as are applicable to active members. Any member of the National Guard who is discharged, separated, or furloughed to a reserve or inactive status shall surrender the National Guard plates to the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Each member of the National Guard shall apply to the county treasurer of the county of his/her residence for the issuance of the special plates. The guard member, in order to receive the special plates, shall have pay the registration fee and submit an application for the special plates and a copy of the applicant's National Guard identification card to the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles, Special License Section.

  Vehicle Plate
National Guard Plates National Guard Plate
Fee The fee for an initial National Guard plate is $10, in addition to the registration fee. There is no additional fee for the renewal of the special plate, but the registration fee is assessed. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

Navy Cross

Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license or SD ID card and who has received the Navy Cross Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates. If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Navy Cross Plates Navy Cross Plate Navy Cross Motorcycle Plate
Fee Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates. Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

Pearl Harbor Survivor

Any resident of South Dakota who was serving in the United States Armed Forces and survived the attack at Pearl Harbor, Hawaii on December 7, 1941, and who received an honorable discharge may apply to the Secretary of Revenue and Regulation for special motor vehicle license plates. If applicant dies, the plates must be surrendered to the county treasurer's office and no additional fees are due for the registration year.

  Vehicle Plate
Pearl Harbor Survivor Plates Pearl Harbor Survivor Plate
Fee $10 will be charged annually for the Pearl Harbor plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-157, and 32-5-160

 

POW

Any resident of South Dakota who was a prisoner of war (POW) while serving in the United States Armed Forces is eligible for special motor vehicle license plates. POW plates will be issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles upon verification of POW status through the Veteran's Administration in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. If the applicant dies the plates must be surrendered to the county treasurer's office of the applicants residence.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
POW Plates POW Plate POW Motorcycle Plate
Fee $10 will be charged annually for the POW plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. $10 will be charged annually for the POW plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-157, and 32-5-160 32-5-155, 32-5-157, and 32-5-160

 

Purple Heart

Any resident veteran owner of a motor vehicle or motorcycle who has received the Purple Heart medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue and Regulation for special motor vehicle license plates. The applicant must submit a copy of DD Form 214, discharge papers, verifying eligibility. If the applicant dies, the plate must be surrendered to the local county treasurer's office.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Purple Heart Plates Purple Heart Plate Purple Heart Motorcycle Plate
Fee $10 will be charged annually for the Purple Heart plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. $10 will be charged annually for the Purple Heart plate, no registration fee is charged. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-157, and 32-5-160 32-5-155, 32-5-157, and 32-5-160

 

Silver Star

Any resident owner of a motor vehicle who possesses a South Dakota driver license or SD ID card and who has received the Silver Star Medal may apply to the Secretary of Revenue for special license plates. If the applicant no longer qualifies for the plates or dies, the special plates may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration of the plates or renewal stickers.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Silver Star Plates Silver Star Plate Silver Star Motorcycle Plate
Fee Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates. Upon initial application, the applicant is charged the cost of registering the vehicle, in addition to the price of the $10 special plates. $5 is also assessed for the cost to mail your plates. Upon renewal, there are no additional costs above the registration of the plates.
Apply Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000). Complete an Application for South Dakota Military License Plates (MV-4000).
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

Gold Star

A resident owner of a motor vehicle who is a parent, a spouse, a sibling, or a child of a member of the US Armed Forces who died while in service to this country or who died as a result of the service. If the applicant dies, the plates may be retained by the plate owner's family, but may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond the expiration date of the plates or stickers.

  Vehicle Plate Motorcycle Plate
Gold Star Plates Gold Star Plate Gold Star Motorcycle Plate
Fee Upon initial application, applicant pays the registration fee, plus a $10 special license plate fee; annually only the the registration fee is assessed. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon initial application, applicant pays the registration fee, plus a $10 special license plate fee; annually only the the registration fee is assessed. A $5 mailing fee is also assessed.
Apply Complete a South Dakota Special License Plate Application form (MV-4000) and submit for verification purposes a copy of the Department of Defense Report of Casualty (DD Form 1300) or death notice, or verification from the U.S.Department of Veterans Affairs that the service member's death was service-related. Complete a South Dakota Special License Plate Application form (MV-4000) and submit for verification purposes a copy of the Department of Defense Report of Casualty (DD Form 1300) or death notice, or verification from the U.S.Department of Veterans Affairs that the service member's death was service-related.
Applicable Law 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157 32-5-155, 32-5-156, and 32-5-157

 

Other Military Plates

Veteran, Tribal & Active Duty Military Plates are also available.

SEE PLATES