Skip to main content


Due to the Governor’s executive order, our offices will be closed until May 4th. Our staff is available via chat or at 800-829-9188 to answer your questions.

SD Commission on Gaming

Gaming Laws & Regulations

Limited Gaming

Download the South Dakota Commission on Gaming Manual (PDF) to learn more about rules and regulations for the conduct of gaming in South Dakota. You can also reference the following applicable Codified Laws:

 Laws SDCL- 42-7B

 Rules and Regulations SDCL -Article 20:18 


Horse & Dog Racing - Live & Pari-mutual

South Dakota laws and regulations regarding horse and dog racing.

 LawsSDCL 42-7

Rules and regulationsSDCL Article 20:04

Rules Inserts

  • No updates or inserts at this time


Patron Dispute

In a patron dispute, a licensee must notify the disputing patron that the patron has a right to have a commission agent present when the dispute is discussed or resolved. AR-SD 20:18:12.01:07

If a licensee refuses payment of alleged winnings to a patron, the licensee and the patron are unable to resolve the dispute to the patron's satisfaction, or the dispute involves at least $250, the licensee must immediately notify the executive secretary or a designee. The executive secretary or a designee shall conduct whatever investigation is necessary. Following the investigation, if necessary, the executive secretary or a designee shall render a decision on the dispute. The executive secretary must notify the licensee and the patron in writing of the executive secretary's decision regarding the dispute within 30 days after the date that the notice of the dispute was first received. A patron or a licensee aggrieved by a decision of the executive secretary or a designee may appeal to the commission. A licensee's failure to notify the executive secretary, failure to notify the patron of the patron's rights, or failure to pay after an adverse decision is grounds for disciplinary action.