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SOUTH DAKOTA  

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

NEWSLETTER 

SPRING 

2024 

A Message From Secretary Michael Houdyshell 

Greetings from the South Dakota Department of 

Revenue! With the beautiful spring season in full 

swing and the warm summer months just around the 

corner, the dedicated team at the Department of 
Revenue is diligently working on implementing the 

various new laws passed during the 2024 Legislative 

Session. We are delighted to report the successful 

conclusion of yet another productive legislative 

session. 

We invite you to delve into informative pages 2 

through 6 of this newsletter, where you will find 

detailed guidance and summaries of some of the bills 
that impact the Department of Revenue. These 

insights aim to keep you informed about the recent 

legislative changes and how they may affect you and 

your business. 

On page 3, you will discover details about the 

upcoming municipal tax change scheduled to take 

effect in July. On that same page, find an in-depth 

explanation of the three steps you must follow to 

secure your spot as a vendor at the 2024 Sturgis 

Rally.  

In this edition of the newsletter, we shine a spotlight 
on Cottage Food Law, exploring important questions 

regarding your sales tax responsibilities when selling 

homemade food products. Be sure to turn to page 5 

for valuable information that can help you properly 

navigate this law. 

Exciting updates await you on page 6, including a 

feature on the new instant win ticket from the South 

Dakota Lottery, details on the thrilling second chance 
drawing, and information about obtaining 

commercial plates for hunting and fishing operations.  

As always, our knowledgeable staff is here to assist 

you with any inquiries or support you may need. We 

trust that you will enjoy and find this spring edition of 

our newsletter both informative and engaging.  
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INSIDE 

Legislative Updates 

Municipal Tax Rate Change 

Sturgis Rally Vendor Applications 

Due Dates 

Cottage Food Law 

Education Calendar 

New Lottery Scratch Ticket 

 

Sales or Property Tax Refund for 

Senior & Disabled Citizens 

South Dakota senior citizens and citizens 
with disabilities have until July 1 to apply 
for sales or property tax refunds under 
South Dakota ’s Tax Refund Program. Under 
the program, eligible individuals may 
receive a portion of the sales or property 
taxes they paid from the previous year if 
they meet the eligibility requirements.  

To be eligible for the sales tax refund, 
individuals must meet the following 
qualifications: 

• Be a South Dakota resident during all of 2023;  

• Be 65 years old on or before January 1, 2023, or disabled at any time during 2023; and  

• Live alone and have a yearly income of $16,038 or less OR live in a household whose 
members ’ combined income is $21,692 or less.  

 
To be eligible for the property tax refund on their home, individuals must meet the following 
qualifications: 

• Be 65 years old on or before January 1, 2023, or disabled at any time during 2023; and  

• Live alone and have a yearly income of $16,038 or less OR live in a household whose 
members ’ combined income is $21,692 or less.  

• Owned the house you are now living in for at least three years OR you have been a 
resident of South Dakota for five years or more.  

 
You may only receive either the sales tax refund or the property tax refund. The Tax Refund 
Office will calculate the refund for each tax, and you will receive whichever is greater. The 
deadline to apply for the program is July 1, 2024, and applications must be submitted by mail 
to the Tax Refund Office, 445 E Capitol Ave, Pierre, SD 57501 -3185. Individuals interested in 
applying can also apply online at  https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/2050  or download the 
application from the Department ’s website. Those who qualified in 2023 will receive an 
application in the mail.  
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SB 112 

Effective July 1, 2024, Senate Bill 112 establishes a 
non–resident title fee. 

SB 112 requires anyone who titles a car, off-road 
vehicle, or boat but doesn’t have a South Dakota 
driver’s license to pay a $100 surcharge. 

The collected fee will be equally 
split between the county and 
state government. 

This law does not affect South 
Dakota residents. 

https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/2050
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/2050
https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/24878
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Sales Tax Rate Lookup 

Sturgis Rally Vendor Applications  

Beginning July 1, 2024, one South Dakota 
community will amend their current municipal tax 
rate.    
  
The municipal tax change taking effect includes:   
  

Arlington, S.D., implementing a 1 percent 
municipal gross receipts tax on lodging 
accommodations, eating establishments, 
alcohol sales, and admissions.   
  

South Dakota municipalities are able to implement 
new tax rates or change existing tax rates on 
January 1 or July 1 each year.  

The South Dakota Department of Revenue has 

municipal tax information bulletins available that 

list all municipal sales and use tax rates statewide, 

along with information on tribal sales and use and 

excise taxes. 

To obtain a Municipal Tax Information bulletin, 

download it on the Department of Revenue website  

or contact the Department of Revenue at 1-800-

829-9188.  

 Municipal Tax Rate Change 

Step 1: Apply for a Temporary South Dakota Sales 

Tax License 

All vendors must have a Temporary South Dakota 

Sales Tax License for selling or displaying a 
product or for providing services at the Sturgis 

Motorcycle Rally. New applications must be 

completed each year.  

Businesses with a permanent South Dakota 

sales tax license, operating in a temporary 

location during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, 

will also need to apply for the  Temporary 

South Dakota Sales Tax License. 

APPLY NOW 

Step 2: Determine if You Need to Post a Bond 

• First-time vendors must post a $500 

bond. 

• Vendors who attended last year ’s rally 

and filed and paid their taxes on time, 

will not need to post a bond.  

• Businesses that filed or paid their taxes 

after the due date last year, will need to 

post a bond. Contact the Department 

at (605) 394-2332 to determine bond 
amount. 

• Prior vendors, that did not attend last 

year, will need to post a $500 bond.  
 

Cash, cashier ’s check, money order, or credit 

card are accepted. There is a non-refundable 

processing fee of 2.45% to use a credit card.  

• Bonds are held as a deposit and will be 

returned when the rally has ended, and 

the final return has been filed and proper 

taxes have been paid. 

Step 3: Send Application and Bond (if needed) to 

SD Department of Revenue 

Step 4: Receive Your Temporary South Dakota Sales 

Tax License Card and Information Packet 

• If required, bond must be received 

before the license card can be emailed.  

 

Bring your license card with you  when you 

come to the rally.  

https://dor.sd.gov/businesses/taxes/municipal-tax/#taxpdfs
https://dorresources.sd.gov/f/SturgisRallyApp
https://dorresources.sd.gov/f/SturgisRallyApp
https://dorresources.sd.gov/f/SturgisRallyApp
https://dorresources.sd.gov/f/SturgisRallyApp
tel:6053942332
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Due Dates  

Tax Return Due Date 

April 05/20/2024 

May 06/20/2024 

June 07/22/2024 

July 08/20/2024 

Motor Vehicle Registration Dates  

Vehicle registration renewal due dates are 

based on the first letter of your last name 

which then correlates to a particular month.  

May– H/I/O  

June– K/L  

July– M/N  

*April and December are non-renewal months  

Effective July 1, 2024, House Bill 1068 allows 
disabled veterans to obtain standard issue  
county motor vehicle or motorcycle license 
plates instead of disabled veteran plates if the 
disabled veteran meets the requirements. 

HB 1068 

911 Emergency Surcharge Rate 

Increase 
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You are able to receive an answer to your 

questions quickly by sending it to our Live Chat!  

This feature is operated by our 

trusted employees, here at the 

Department of Revenue. Our 

team is available Monday-Friday 

8:00am-5:00pm CT.  

What Can We Do For You Today? 

dor.sd.gov  

Check out the 

605Drive 

webpage! 

Standard County 

Plates 

Effective July 1, 2024, the 911 emergency surcharge 
rate increases to $2.00.  

All telecommunications service providers, wireless 
service providers, or Interconnected Voice over 

Internet Protocol service 
providers are responsible for 
collecting and remitting the 911 
Emergency Surcharge.  

The surcharge is $2.00 per 
service user line per month.  

• The surcharge does not 
apply to prepaid wireless 
services.  

• The surcharge cannot be 
charged on more than 100 

service lines per customer account billed per 
month.   

Surcharges itemized on the customer’s invoice are 
not subject to sales tax.  

• If not itemized, the surcharge is subject to state 
and applicable municipal sales tax.  

Standard County 

Motorcycle Plates 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/24492
https://dor.sd.gov/government/605drive/
https://dor.sd.gov/government/605drive/
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Cottage Food 

Law & Sales Tax  

Responsibility 

In 2022, the legislature passed HB 1322, a bill 

amending laws that impact homemade food 

products being sold from homes. Changes impact 

SDCL 34-18. A big change is the law now allows for 
non-temperature-controlled foods, such as canned 

and dried goods, and not just baked goods. Another 

change is that the law allows individuals wishing to 

sell canned goods to take an online food safety 

course and get a certification that lasts five years. 

Before the law change, a third-party authority was 

required to test canned goods for food safety. These 

changes expand the home-produced food products 
that can be legally sold from home. 

 

The amended laws do not change a seller’s tax 

responsibility. Individuals selling homemade food 

products from their home are required to have a 

sales tax license. Items sold are subject to sales tax 

whether they are sold directly from the home, at a 

farmer’s market, or at a temporary sales venue. All 
food products sold and received within South Dakota 

will have the state 4.2% sales tax rate applied. If the 

customer is receiving the food 

products within city limits, 

then the local municipal tax 

rate also applies up to an 

additional 2%. 

 
Baked goods sold may also be 

subject to municipal gross 

receipts tax (MGRT). Most 

municipalities in South Dakota 

have an additional 1% tax that applies to prepared 

foods sold for immediate consumption. Baked goods 

may or may not be subject to this additional tax 

based on how they are prepared before being sold 
and the intent for the sale. Unsliced breads, whole 

pies, and trays of baked goods generally do not fall 

within MGRT liability. However, individually packaged 

rolls, cake slices, and single pastries would typically 

be subject to the MGRT. Baked goods that are sold 

and transported for immediate consumption (e.g., 

wedding cake delivered to a reception hall) are 

considered catering which also falls within MGRT 
liability.   

 

Lastly, food products sold at spectator events are also 

subject to a 1.5% tourism tax that is added on top of 

the state and possible municipal taxes. Spectator 

events include craft and vendor fairs, public 

expositions, rodeos, and sporting events. The tourism 

tax applies to any sale made while directly at the 
event even if the fulfillment does not occur during 

the event. 

 

For more information, see the Sales & Use Tax and 

Municipal Tax Guides, and the Tourism Tax and 

Prepared Foods Tax Facts or call the Department of 

Revenue Taxpayer Assistance helpline at 1-800-829-

9188. 
 

To register for a South Dakota sales tax license, 

please visit: https://apps.sd.gov/rv23cedar/main/

main.aspx 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/34-18
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/sc/publications-guides/
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/sc/publications-guides/
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/sc/publications-tax-facts/
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/sc/publications-tax-facts/
https://apps.sd.gov/rv23cedar/main/main.aspx
https://apps.sd.gov/rv23cedar/main/main.aspx
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Hunting & Fishing Operations – 

Commercial Plates 

The following information is being added to the 

Fishing & Hunting Services Tax Fact: 

• Vehicles used for fishing or hunting guide 

services are required to be commercially 

licensed under SDCL 32-9.  

Commercial plates can be purchased from the 

treasurer’s office in the county the business operates. 

For vehicles being used commercially on a temporary 

basis with a current non-commercial registration, a 

thirty-day permit may be purchased from the county 

treasurer or highway patrol. A temporary permit may 

be issued for as many thirty-day periods as the 

applicant requests. 

Access all of DOR’s tax facts here. 
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Upcoming Tax 

Seminars 

Be sure to check our website for 

potential  

reschedule dates.  

Date             Topic     Location 

May 15             Importer/Exporter   

                        Supplier Fuel Tax       Zoom 

June 4             Basic Sales Tax      Zoom 

June 6                  Basic Contractor’s  

                        Excise Tax Seminar      Zoom 

July 23                  Motor  Carrier  

                        Confab                        Zoom 

August 13      Propane Fuel Tax      Zoom 

September 4      Basic Sales Tax      Zoom 

September 5      Basic Contractor’s  

                        Excise Tax Seminar      Zoom 

December 3      Basic Sales Tax            Zoom 

December 5      Basic Contractor’s  

                        Excise Tax Seminar      Zoom 

Seminars are free to attend. Click here to register, 

request a presentation, or view a complete schedule. 

CONTACT US 

SD Department of Revenue  

445 E Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501  

Website: https://dor.sd.gov  

Phone: 605-773-3311  

Taxpayer Assistance Center: 1-800-829-9188  

Motor Vehicles: 605-773-3541  

SD Lottery: 605-773-5770  

Gaming Commission: 605-773-6050  

Our Lady Luck scratch ticket will have you singing 

happy tunes! This $5 ticket has a $20,000 top prize. 

Match any of your numbers to the winning numbers 

to win the prize for that number. You can also reveal 

a diamond symbol to instantly win the prize for that 

symbol. Reveal a 5X symbol to win 5 times the prize 

shown for that symbol. Reveal a "Luck" symbol to 

win all 15 prizes!  

Win up to $20,000 

Do you have a non-winning ticket? Enter your 

non-winning Lady Luck tickets for a chance to 

win a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to a private 

concert for a winner and their guest in Pigeon 

Forge, Tennessee. 

Prizes: 2 winners will receive a once-in-a-

lifetime opportunity to a private concert with 

Martina McBride in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee. 

Winners will also be eligible for additional on-

site prizes up to $500,000. 

Enter by May 1, 2025 

Enter the Second Chance Drawing 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/32-9
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/sc/publications-tax-facts/
https://apps.sd.gov/RV23Education/Classes.aspx
https://apps.sd.gov/rv23education/classes.aspx
https://apps.sd.gov/rv23education/classes.aspx

