
A Guide to South Dakota’s Disabled 

Veteran Property Tax Exemption Program 

The State of South Dakota recognizes and honors our state’s veterans for the service they have given to 
and sacrifices they have made for their country. Some of our South Dakota veterans returned home with 
disabilities sustained through the course of that military service, and because of those conditions, may 
have difficulty meeting their property tax obligations. 

With that in mind, the Disabled Veteran Property Tax Exemption program was developed to help ease the 
tax burden for such individuals. This brochure explains how the program works, what eligibility 
requirements must be met, how to apply, and lists the statute that governs the program. To find out more, 
please call us toll-free at 1-800-829-9188. 

 

WHAT THE PROGRAM DOES 
For those eligible disabled veterans or un-remarried surviving spouses, the program exempts 
$150,000 of the full and true value of the dwelling, or portion thereof, from property taxes. 

 
After application is made and the property qualifies for the exemption, no further applications are 
needed. The property will continue to receive the $150,000 exemption until the property is sold or 
there is a change in use. 

 
“Dwelling” is defined as the house, manufactured home, or mobile home, and the lot upon which 
the structure is situated. This also includes the garage, whether that structure is attached or 
unattached. 

 
WHO IS ELIGIBLE 
To be eligible for the exemption, the following criteria must be met: 
· The property must be owned and occupied by a disabled veteran or unremarried surviving spouse. 

· The property must be classified as owner occupied. 

· The veteran must be rated as permanently and totally disabled as the result of a service-connected 

disability. 
 
For the initial application, the applicant must provide proof of their eligibility. Such proof can 
be obtained by calling the Sioux Falls VA Regional Office at 1-800-827-1000 and requesting that they 
send you a statement verifying that you are permanently and totally disabled as the result of a 
service-connected disability(ies). You must take a copy of that statement with you when you apply 
for the exemption as proof that you meet the eligibility requirements. 

 
HOW TO APPLY 
Application must be made on or before November 1 of the first year the exemption is requested. 
Your application is for the following assessment year, taxes payable the next year. For example, an 
application by November 1, 2019 is for the 2020 assessment year, and the property taxes payable in 
2021. 

 
Send the completed application to the county Director of Equalization in the county where the 
property is located. Remember to supply proof of eligibility (see previous section) when making 
application for this exemption. 



HAVE QUESTIONS ON THE PROGRAM? 
Contact your local Veterans Service Officer, your county Director of Equalization, or the 
South Dakota Department of Revenue, Division of Property Taxes in Pierre. 

 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THE PROGRAM 
     10-4-41.   Partial exemption for owner-occupied dwellings of surviving spouses of certain disa-
bled veterans. One hundred fifty thousand dollars of the full and true value of the total amount of a 
dwelling or portion thereof classified as owner-occupied pursuant to §§ 10-13-39 to 10-13-40.4, 
inclusive, that is owned and occupied by the surviving spouse of a veteran who was rated as per-
manently and totally disabled from a service-connected disability is exempt from property taxation. 
The surviving spouse shall apply for this partial exemption on a form prescribed by the secretary of 
revenue. Any application or supporting document for this exemption is confidential. Any surviving 
spouse who would otherwise qualify for this exemption but fails to comply with the application 
deadline for the owner-occupied classification or the deadline for application for this exemption 
may petition the board of county commissioners to recalculate the taxes based upon the owner-
occupied classification and this exemption and abate or refund the difference in taxes pursuant to 
chapter 10-18. 
    
  If the director of equalization determines that the surviving spouse receives an exemption for the 
dwelling pursuant to this section, the surviving spouse retains that exemption until such time as the 
property ownership is transferred, the surviving spouse does not occupy the dwelling, the surviving 
spouse remarries, or the property has a change in use. If the legal description of property is 
changed or amended and the surviving spouse continues to reside in the dwelling, the surviving 
spouse retains the exemption provided by this section. 
 
 
    SD Department of Revenue 
    Property Taxes Division 
    445 East Capitol Avenue 
    Pierre, SD 57501-3185  
    1-800-829-3185 


