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SOUTH DAKOTA  

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

NEWSLETTER 

SPRING 

2025 

A Message From Secretary Michael Houdyshell 

Greetings from the South Dakota Department of 

Revenue! With the warm spring season in full swing 

and the beautiful summer months just around the 

corner, the dedicated team at the Department of 
Revenue is diligently preparing to implement the 

various new laws passed during the 2025 Legislative 

Session.  

Governor Rhoden signed many bills into law. On 

pages 2 through 6, we provide guidance and 

summaries on some of the bills that impact the 

Department. These insights aim to keep you informed 

about the recent legislative changes and how they 
may affect you and your business. 

On page 3, you will find the legislative updates 

coming to the Motor Vehicle Division  

The upcoming municipal tax changes scheduled to 

take effect in July are listed on page 4. 

In this edition of the newsletter, we examine Senate 

Bill 216 in greater depth, exploring property tax relief 

for homeowners that Governor Rhoden worked with 

a group of legislators to provide during the 100th 

legislative session. 

An exciting update awaits you on page 7. The South 

Dakota Lottery launched mobile cashing 

functionality through its app! South Dakota Lottery 

players may now claim instant and lotto prizes from 

$101 to $5,000 through mobile cashing.  

Page 8 contains information on office changes, 

upcoming tax seminars and tips on when to report 

and pay contractor’s excise tax on construction 
projects. 

Our knowledgeable staff is always here to assist you 

with any questions or provide you with any support 

you may need. We hope that you will enjoy the 2025 

spring edition of our newsletter and find it 

informative and engaging.  
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INSIDE 

Legislative Updates 

Municipal Tax Rate Changes 

Due Dates 

Education Calendar 

New Lottery Mobile Cashing  

Office Changes 

 

 

Hotel Exempt Form Updates 

Sales or Property Tax Refund for 

Senior & Disabled Citizens 

South Dakota senior citizens and citizens with 
disabilities have until July 1 to apply for sales or 
property tax refunds under South Dakota’s Tax 
Refund Program. Under the program, eligible 
individuals may receive a portion of the sales or 
property taxes they paid from the previous year. 

To be eligible for the sales tax refund, individuals 
must meet the following qualifications: 
1.    Be a South Dakota resident during all of 
2024;  
2.    Be 65 years old on or before January 1, 2024, or disabled at any time during 2024; and  
3.    Live alone and have a yearly income of $16,566 or less OR live in a household whose members’ 
combined income is $22,484 or less. 

To be eligible for the property tax refund on their home, individuals must meet the following qualifications: 
1.    Be 65 years old on or before January 1, 2024, or disabled at any time during 2024;  
2.    Live alone and have a yearly income of $16,566 or less OR live in a household whose members’ 
combined income is $22,484 or less; and 
3.    Owned the house you are now living in for at least three years OR you have been a resident of South 
Dakota for five years or more.  

You may only receive either the sales tax refund or the property tax refund. The Tax Refund Office will 
calculate the refund for each tax, and you will receive whichever is greater. The deadline to apply for the 
program is July 1, 2025. Applications submitted by mail should be sent to the Tax Refund Office, 445 E 
Capitol Ave, Pierre, SD 57501-3185. 

Individuals interested in applying can apply online at https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/2050 or download 
the application from the Department’s website: https://dor.sd.gov/individuals/taxes/property-tax/relief-
programs/. Those who qualified in 2024 will receive an application in the mail.  

For additional information on the tax refund program, contact the Department of Revenue at 1-800-829-
9188 (Option 1).  
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Hotels must keep documentation to show the purchase was paid from 
government funds when a government entity requests a tax-exempt hotel 
stay. 
 
Previously, the Department required that either an exemption certificate, a 
purchase order, or a copy of the credit card be kept as documentation.   
 
We recognize that keeping a copy of a credit card poses a security risk, so 
the Proof of Government Exemption for Hotels form was developed as an 
alternative. Hotels may create their own version of this form if the same 
information is captured. 
 
For more information, see the updated “Exemption Certificate” and “Hotels, 
Motels, and Campgrounds” tax fact sheet located on the department’s 
website at https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/sc/publications-tax-facts/. 
 
For assistance or questions call 1-800-829-9188 or email us at 
bustax@state.sd.us. 

https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/2050
https://dor.sd.gov/individuals/taxes/property-tax/relief-programs/
https://dor.sd.gov/individuals/taxes/property-tax/relief-programs/
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/2050
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/sc/publications-tax-facts/
mailto:bustax@state.sd.us
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More exciting updates to titling are just around the 

corner. Senate Bill 131 seeks to further modernize 

vehicle title management in South Dakota by 

establishing an electronic system for vehicle titles.  

The Department of Revenue is mandated to 

implement this system by July 1, 2026.  

The updates will facilitate the electronic 

transmission of title applications, lien statements, 

and other related documents.  

Moving toward an electronic title and registration 

system will help future South Dakotans transfer 

their vehicle titles in a quicker and more efficient 

manner.  

Additional information will be available as the 

Department works through the development of 

the system.  

SB 135-Expands the Exemption 

from a Motor Vehicle Title Fee 

 

Legislative 

Updates Coming 

to Motor Vehicle 

Division  

SB 45-Technology Fee 

SB 131-Electronic Titling System 

SB 179-Modifies Requirements for 

Off-Road Vehicle Dealers at 

Special Events  

South Dakota's Senate Bill 45 adds a new $2 fee for 

motor vehicle transactions. This fee applies to 

certain transactions already covered by existing 

state vehicle laws, including those related to vehicle 
registration and title transfers. Once paid, the fee is 

nonrefundable.  

  
The revenue generated from this fee will be used to 

maintain and provide updates to the motor vehicle 

title and registration system. The goal is to keep 

upgrading and maintaining the state’s motor 

vehicle system for smoother transactions now and 

in the future.  

Senate Bill 135 brings some clarity to a bill passed 

last year that imposes a $100 fee to any vehicle 

owner who chooses to title a motor vehicle, off-

road vehicle, or snowmobile in South Dakota, but 

who does not have a South Dakota-issued driver 

license or identification card, or a physical address 

in South Dakota.  

Motor vehicle owners who only have a post office 

mailbox or a mail forwarding address will be 

required to pay the $100 fee.  

SB 135 also expands the title transactions that are 

exempt from this additional fee. The fee does not 

apply to the following:  

• Title corrections; 

• Duplicate title transactions; 

• Insurance companies taking title to a vehicle 

following a payment to cover a loss; 

• Manufacturers taking title due to a 

manufacturer buy back; or 

• Lienholders taking title due to a repossession.  

Senate Bill 179 modifies the requirements for off-

road vehicle dealers attending special events.  

Specifically, it exempts dealers from needing a 

permit or license for temporary events (2-7 days) in 

their own county or adjacent counties, as long as no 

other dealer of the same franchise is located in the 

event's county, and the dealer is licensed in South 

Dakota. 

Any associated fees or taxes are also waived for 

these events.  

https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/26148
https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/25633
https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/26100
https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/26160
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Due Dates  

Tax Return Due Date 

April 05/20/2025 

May 06/20/2025 

June 07/21/2025 

July 08/20/2025 

Motor Vehicle Registration Dates  

Vehicle registration renewal due dates are 

based on the first letter of your last name 

which then correlates to a particular month.  

May– H/I/O  

June– K/L  

July– M/N  

*April and December are non-renewal months  

House Bill 1037 suspends the tax collection 

allowance credit for individuals and 

businesses that file their sales tax returns and 

remit taxes electronically.  

The suspension will take effect on July 1, 

2025, and will remain in place until June 30, 

2028.  

Sales Tax 

Rate Lookup 

HB 1037-Tax Collection 

Allowance Suspended 

SB 37-Changes to the 911 

Emergency Surcharge   
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Beginning July 1, 2025, two South Dakota communities 
will amend their current municipal tax rates.    
  
The municipal tax changes taking effect include:   
  

Newell, S.D., implementing a 1 percent municipal 
gross receipts tax on lodging accommodations, 
eating establishments, alcohol sales, and 
admissions.   

 
Wagner, S.D., implementing a 1 percent municipal 

gross receipts tax on lodging accommodations, 
eating establishments, alcohol sales, and 
admissions.   
  

To obtain a Municipal Tax Information bulletin, 

download it on the Department of Revenue website  or 

contact the Department of Revenue at 1-800-829-9188.  

 Municipal Tax Rate Change 

On July 1, 2024, the 911 emergency surcharge 
rate increased to from $1.25 to $2.00, until 
June 30th, 2026.  

Senate Bill 37 makes the rate increase 
permanent.  

All telecommunications service providers, 
wireless service providers, or Interconnected 
Voice over Internet Protocol service providers 
are responsible for collecting and remitting 
the 911 Emergency Surcharge.  

Any entity required to collect and remit the 
surcharge imposed must register with the 
Department of Revenue.   

Additionally, Senate Bill 37 amended the  
reporting period to the calendar year. 

For more information, check out our 911 
Emergency Surcharge tax fact. 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/25820
https://apps.sd.gov/rv25taxmatch/main.aspx
https://apps.sd.gov/rv25taxmatch/main.aspx
https://dor.sd.gov/businesses/taxes/municipal-tax/#taxpdfs
https://apps.sd.gov/rv25taxmatch/main.aspx
https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/25601
https://dor.sd.gov/media/510nzn5x/911-emergency-surcharge.pdf
https://dor.sd.gov/media/510nzn5x/911-emergency-surcharge.pdf
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Over the last five years, owner-occupied property 
assessments have skyrocketed in some parts of the 
state. This has led to higher property taxes for 
homeowners, especially for seniors and those living 
on fixed incomes. Governor Rhoden worked with a 
group of legislators during the 100th legislative 
session to provide property tax relief for 
homeowners. Senate Bill 216 was the result of that 
effort.  

What does SB 216 do? 

Property Assessments 

Although suppressing valuations will not decrease 
the amount of property taxes collected, Governor 
Rhoden felt it was important to attempt to slow some 
of the shifting of the tax burden that has been 
occurring the last few years. SB 216 restricts counties 
from increasing owner-occupied valuations by more 
than 3% annually for the next five years. This 
limitation focuses on annual reappraisal increases. 
New construction and additions will not be part of 
this limitation. The limitation will impact valuations 
that are set for the 2026 calendar year. 

Taxing District Budgets 

Property tax bills are a direct result of the amount of 
property taxes being requested by the local 
governments. Currently, taxing districts (cities, 
counties, townships) can increase the amount of 
property tax they levy each year by a growth factor 
plus an index factor (which we call CPI). CPI can never 
be greater than 3%. SB 216 establishes a similar cap 
for the growth factor. This means that for most 
districts, the maximum increase they will be able to 
apply to their property tax budget would be 6% 
(maximum 3% for growth and maximum 3% for CPI). 
There are additional allowances to exceed that 3% 
growth cap, such as the usage of the discretionary 

formula and when a Tax Increment Financing (TIF) 
dissolves.  

Tax Relief for Seniors on Fixed Income 

SB 216 will increase the income and property 
valuation thresholds of the existing Assessment 
Freeze for the Elderly and Disabled relief program. 
The new income levels will be $55,000 for single-
member homes and $65,000 for multi-member 
homes, and the maximum eligible home value is 
being increased to $500,000. 

How will SB 216 affect taxpayers? 

It is important to note the 3% limitation outlined in 
SB 216 is not a limitation on an individual property’s 
value. The limitation is on the accumulative owner-
occupied valuation within a county. Overall, owner-
occupied valuations will continue to increase as the 
market dictates; SB 216 is simply slowing the rate at 
which owner-occupied valuations can increase 
annually. If valuations on owner-occupied properties 
are generally limited, then owners of other types of 
properties (such as agricultural or commercial 
properties) will pick up more of the tax burden.  

The cap on the growth of taxing district budgets will 
help slow the increase in taxes that can be requested 
by the local governments. This in turn will help lower 
the levy needed to be applied on the tax bill.  

The increases on the Assessment Freeze Relief 
Program thresholds will allow more senior or 
disabled homeowners to be able to qualify. The 
income increases will not go into effect until the 2026 
application year. This means the earliest newly 
qualifying individuals will see a reduction in their 
assessed value is the 2026 assessment year for taxes 
payable in 2027. 

 

Senate Bill 216 

Governor’s 

Property Tax 

Relief Bill 

https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/26256
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How will SB 216 impact taxing districts? 

A key component to SB 216 is that it is not decreasing valuations. It is simply restricting the total owner-
occupied reappraisal valuation in a county from increasing more than 3% annually. New construction within 
the district is not part of that limitation, so the full amount of new construction will be added to the district’s 
valuation. That means the valuation limitation will have little to no effect on most taxing districts. The counties, 
cities, and townships will continue to receive the same amount of property taxes they are currently getting.  

The cap on the growth factor for budget purposes may impact some districts, but only those in high-growth 
areas. These limitations go into effect for the 2027 budget year. 

If a district typically sees less than a 3% growth, then this portion of SB 216 will have zero effect. To put this in 
perspective: 

• Only 3 out of 66 counties have a 5-year average growth of more than 3% 

• Less than 20% of cities reported a growth percentage of greater than 3% 

• More than 96% of townships had a growth percentage of less than 3% last year 

An increase in usage of the Assessment Freeze program will also not impact taxing districts. The districts will 
continue to be able to ask and receive the same amount of property tax dollars they are currently receiving 
regardless of the number of individuals that apply for the relief program.  

School district funding is handled differently than counties, cities, and townships. Since each fund has its own 
mechanism, each fund must be addressed separately.  

SCHOOL GENERAL FUND 

• Any district under the State Aid to Education Funding formula will continue to get the “Need” that is 
calculated by the Department of Education through a combination of Local Effort and State Aid. 

• Districts that are fully funded by Local Effort will still see valuations increasing. 

SCHOOL CAPITAL OUTLAY FUND 

• The main functionality of the Capital Outlay limitations is not changing. The calculations have been and will 
continue to be based on the maximum allowable the district can get. It is NOT based upon the actual 
amount of taxes requested by the district. A school district will not be penalized if it is not taxing at the 
maximum allowable under SB 216. 

• The only change happening for Capital Outlay is that the growth percentage is no longer “unfettered”. 
Starting in Taxes Payable 2027, the growth will not be able to be greater than 3% (barring situations with 
TIF dissolution and discretionary formula) for the Growth+3% Limitation. 

- Worst case scenario, any school district that falls under the Growth+3% Limitation is a 6% increase in 
the maximum they could have received in the prior year. 

• ONLY those school districts that typically seeing a growth greater than 3% AND fall under the Growth+3% 
Limitation will be impacted. Even then, this fund will be eligible for additional tax dollars each year. The 
increase may not be as much as realized previously.  

• All districts now have the option to opt out of the capital outlay fund if they so choose. 

- If school districts want to do this for Pay 2026, they will have two weeks to act on it. SB 216 becomes 
law on July 1, and the deadline to take action by the Board is July 15. 

      - The $3 maximum levy is still in place and cannot be exceeded. That means that the base CapOut fund 
+ CO Certificates + CO Opt Out cannot generate more than a $3.00 levy. 

SCHOOL SPECIAL ED FUND 

• It is not possible to project what the SpEd max levy will be for the next 5 years, nor how that will play out 
with valuation changes in every single school district. But in general there will be minimal impact to the 
Special Ed fund under SB 216. 

While SB 216 is a good first step, the Governor realizes more work is necessary to provide long-lasting 
property tax relief to South Dakotans. An interim task force on property tax reduction will begin this summer. 
Governor Rhoden has asked former State Representative Kirk Chaffee (and former Meade County Director of 
Equalization) to be his designee on this task force and will bring forward his Homeowner Property Tax Relief 
proposal. More information on the Governor’s proposal can be found here.  

https://news.sd.gov/news?id=news_kb_article_view&sysparm_article=KB0043937&sys_kb_id=68c547f21be46650df4edb1de54bcb78&spa=1
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South Dakota Lottery Launches Mobile Cashing Functionality   

The South Dakota Lottery is now giving players the 

ability to claim qualifying prizes through 

its mobile app. South Dakota Lottery 

players may now claim instant and lotto 

prizes from $101 to $5,000 through 

mobile cashing. After a mobile claim has 

been processed, players will receive their 

prize via ACH transaction.  

Prior to the implementation of mobile 

cashing, players were required to 

claim all prizes over $100 or more by 

visiting a South Dakota Lottery 

validation center or by mail. The 

South Dakota Lottery’s validation 

centers are located in Pierre, Rapid 

City and Sioux Falls.   

Players may initiate a mobile claim with 

a few simple steps. First, players should 

open the South Dakota Lottery official 

mobile app, which is available for 

download in the Apple App Store and 

Google Play Store. Players can scan a 

scratch or lotto ticket with a qualifying 

prize then complete a digital claim form to complete 

the claim.  

In order to utilize mobile cashing functionality, 

players should ensure that they have the latest 

version of the South Dakota Lottery’s mobile app and 

have enabled camera permissions to the app.  

Mobile claims should be processed within four 

business days. A player’s first mobile prize claim may 

take up to eight business days due to the bank 

account verification process.   

Players will have the ability to check the status of 

existing and previous claims through the My Claims 

page on the mobile app. The Lottery advises players 

with a pending mobile claim to sign the back of their 

winning ticket and keep it until the claim has been 

completed.  

 

 

 

 

Throughout the mobile claims process, the Lottery 

will perform its regular debt setoff procedures as 

required by state law. Applicable tax documents and 

other information will be emailed to the player when 

necessary.   

For more information on mobile cashing, including a 

tutorial video, visit https://lottery.sd.gov/mobile-

cashing/.   

visit%20https:/lottery.sd.gov/mobile-cashing/
visit%20https:/lottery.sd.gov/mobile-cashing/
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When to report and pay contractor’s excise tax on 

construction projects depends on the accounting 

method used for tax reporting and when the 

receipts are received. The completion of the project 
does not determine when the contractor’s excise tax 

is due. This is a misconception often found during 

an audit. 

A business can report contractor’s excise tax using 

either a cash or accrual basis. 

Contractors reporting on the cash basis must pay 

the contractor’s excise tax during the same reporting 

period when they receive a payment. This includes 
all installment and progression payments received.  

Contractors reporting on the accrual basis must 

pay the contractor’s excise tax during the same 

period when they bill a client.  

Reporting receipts and paying contractor’s excise tax 

in the correct reporting period is very important to 

avoid costly corrections later. Corrections of these 

errors can incur high amounts of interest for late 
reporting and tax payments. 

Contact us for assistance reviewing your company’s 

reporting basis or if you have any questions on 

when your taxes are due.  

The Sioux Falls office is moving to 

the new Sioux Falls One Stop  

 Effective June 4, 2025 the new address will be :  

1501 S HIGHLINE AVE STE 3B 

SIOUX FALLS SD 57110 
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Upcoming Tax Seminars 

Be sure to check our website for potential  

reschedule dates.  

Date             Topic     Location 

May 15                  Motor Carrier  

                        Confab                        Watertown 

June 3             Basic Sales Tax      Online 

June 5                   Basic Contractor’s  

                        Excise Tax Seminar      Online 

September 9      Basic Sales Tax      Online 

September 11      Basic Contractor’s  

                        Excise Tax Seminar      Online 

September 24      Motor Carrier  

                        Confab                        Rapid City 

December 2      Basic Sales Tax            Online 

December 4      Basic Contractor’s  

                        Excise Tax Seminar      Online 

Seminars are free to attend. Click here to register, 

request a presentation, or view a complete schedule. 

CONTACT US 

SD Department of Revenue  

445 E Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501  

Website: https://dor.sd.gov  

Phone: 605-773-3311  

Taxpayer Assistance Center: 1-800-829-9188  

Motor Vehicles: 605-773-3541  

SD Lottery: 605-773-5770  

Gaming Commission: 605-578-3074 

Costly Timing Errors in Reporting 

Contractor’s Excise Tax 

https://apps.sd.gov/RV23Education/Classes.aspx
https://apps.sd.gov/rv23education/classes.aspx
https://apps.sd.gov/rv23education/classes.aspx

