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Mission Statement
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Serving South Dakota to provide fair, efficient, and reliable revenue administration with our partners to hep fun public
service statewide.
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South Dakota.
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Insufficient Funds or No-Account Check

A The division may suspend a license, title, or registration and issue the county a credit if the check used to pay for
the mot or vehicle's fees is dishonored.

. Distress warrant must be issued to recover license plates or tags issued if a purchaser purchased the plates or tags
or paid the excise tax or any title fees with an insufficient funds or no-account check.

1. If the check is not made good within 30 days, and the sheriff is unable to collect, the county treasurer must
report it to the state's attorney for prosecution.

c. At this point, the division will suspend such registration, title, or license and credit the county.
1. To request suspension and receive credit, submit a statement of the facts along with a refund invoice.

a. The statement should document the above process, including the dates, title number, bad check

information, distress warrant, whether the plates have been collected, and when it was turned over for
prosecution.

o. In addition to the statement, please attach copies of the following:
1. Bad check.
2. Dishonored check notice.
3. Certified return receipt card.
a. Returned distress warrant.

e. A record cannot be suspended if the title has already been transferred or repossessed, or the dishonored check is
not in a title owner's name.

1. A suspension does not prevent the sale of the vehicle, if the vehicle is later sold, the record suspension will be
removed.

2. A $40 fee is added to the MVD fees for collection of an insufficient fund check.

r. If collection is made on the dishonored check, this is entered on to the system and the documents stating the title
number(s) , specific fee(s) and circumstances must be submitted.

Driver's Privacy and Protection Act

What is the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act?

Law enacted by Congress in 1994 to restrict state governments from disclosing personal information about any
persons’ or entities’ motor vehicle records

The DPPA is a Federal law paralleled with State law
Enforced by S.D.C.L. 32-5-143—32-5-150
Why was the DPPA enacted?
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- The DPPA was enacted to protect personal information from being available to the public after a local DMV
provided an address of an individual who was stalked and murdered.

The DPPA restricts the following:

+ Use of vehicle plate number or VIN to search owner's name

+ Use of the name of a driver to find the mailing or physical address of the driver

+ A search for names and addresses of previous owners of a vehicle

Authorization of Release of Information:

+ In South Dakota there are eight (8) exceptions to disclosing personal information from motor vehicle records

+ The 8 exceptions are the "qualifications” listed in Section C of the South Dakota DPPA form:

1.

For use by the record holder, or by the record holder’s direct authorization

For use by any government agency (NO FEE ASSESSED)

For use by any legitimate business to carry out normal functions, but only to:
a. To verify accuracy of personal information submitted by the individual

b. To obtain the correct information (if what was submitted is incorrect) to prevent fraud, pursue legal
action, or recover debts from the individual

For use in civil, criminal, administrative, or arbitral legal processes leading up to court proceedings

For use by insurers or their agents in connection with claims investigation activities, anti-fraud activities,
rating, or underwriting

For use by licensed removal agencies to notify owners of towed, impounded, or abandoned vehicles (NO

FEE ASSESSED) 7. For use by any licensed private investigative agency

8. For use by any employer to obtain or verify CDL information (Driver Licensing and DOT use this one)

Requests Available and Fees:

« Record Search $2.00

- Title History & Damage Disclosure $5.00

+ DPPA requests can be emailed to DPPA@state.sd.us 32-3-30.2 32-3-67
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DPPA form-Removal Agencies, Mechanics

State of South Dakota ORI

Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVERIUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DPPA: Removal Agencies, Storage Facilities, and Mechanics Vehicle Information Request

Instructions

Complete this form in its entirety to ensure a prompt response, incomplete forms can result in a rejection of your request.
Responses will be sent by email or via US mail. Responses will not be faxed. Requests made by out-of-state businesses must be
accompanied by a copy of a business license issued by your state.

-
n Business Name: FEIN:
Requestor’s SD Sales Tax License Number: Address:
Information = * ¥*
City: State: Zip Code:
= * *
Contact Personc Email Address: Phone #:
* - *
Year: Make: Model: Plate Number:
Vehicl *
Reqeu;csteed Title Number: Title State: VIN/HIN:

Authorization
for Release

Please select which scenario applies from the list below:

() We are a South Dakota based towing agency requesting the name and address of any titled owners or lienholders
to provide them with notification that this vehicle has been towed and/or impounded.

() We are a South Dakota based storage facility requesting the name and address of any titled owners and
lienholders to provide them with notification that this vehicle has been abandoned in our storage facility.

(] We are an out-of-state towing agency requesting the name and address of any titled owners or lienholders to
provide them with notification that this vehicle has been towed and/or impounded. We have attached a copy of our
business license.

() we are a South Dakota based vehicle repair business requesting the name and address of any titled owners or
lienholders to provide them with notification of our intent to obtain a title as the result of an unpaid repair bill.

(] we are an out-of-state vehicle repair business requesting the name and address of any titled owners or lienholders
to provide them with notification of our intent to obtain a title as the result of an unpaid repair bill. We have attached

a copy of our business license.

(O) Other (please describe):

Unsworn
Declaration

In requesting and using this information, | acknowledge that this disclosure is subject to the Driver’'s Privacy Protection Act
(Public Law 103-322) and South Dakota law. This request is made under the penalties of the law.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct

Signed on this ay day of o = ot _=0CaUC (state).

=D
Printed Name: Signature: Srguearwre %té




DPPA Form - Government Agency or Business

State of South Dakota Form #1201
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DPPA: Vehicle Information Request by a Business or Government Agency

Complete and submit this form to your county treasurer’s office or mail it to the Motor Vehicle Division at the address above.
A Appropriate fees must be submitted before information can be processed. Complete the form in its entirety to ensure a prompt
Instructions response. Incomplete forms can result in a rejection of your request Responses will be sent via email or US Mail. Responses will not
be faxed. Requests made by out-of-state businesses must be accompanied by a copy of a business license issued by that state.
Note: Record summary (general vehicle information) fees are $2 and title history (copy of scanned title records) fees are $5.

*
Business Name: . FEIN #:
Requestor's  SD Sales Tax License #: Address:
Information
e e e e et e Ziptode—=——
- -
Contact Person: Phone #:
-

Email Address:

Year: Make: Model:

Information

Title Number: VIN/HIN:
Requested
Name and Address: DL/SSN:
n Please select which scenario applies from the list below: CJRecord Summary I Title History

[ 1 work for a government agency or law enforcement and | need the information described above for use in

Authorization my job.

for Release
1 am a business owner or employee and | am requesting vehicle information to verify personal information
given to me by someone that works for me.

[J1 am a business owner or employee and | am requesting record information to obtain information to prevent
fraud, pursue a legal remedy, or collect on a debt involving the record holder.

01 am requesting vehicle information for use in a current or future legal proceeding or for use by a licensed
private investigator.

[T 1 represent an insurer and | am requesting information for claims investigation, to prevent fraud or for rating
and underwriting.

$0.00
Amount Due:
n In requesting and using this information, | acknowledge that this disclosure is subject to the Driver's Privacy Protection
Act (Public Law 103-322) and South Dakota law. This request is made under the penalties of the law.
Unsworn . .
< I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct
Declaration 2 i 2
Signed on this _—~ day of stk (state).

P »

; s ' !
Printed Name: Signature: j 4 S’W & Qél& '
LS




DPPA Form - Private Individuals

State of South Dakota Form #1202
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

DPPA: Private Individual Vehicle Information Request

Complete and submit this form to your county treasurer’s office or mail it to the Motor Vehicle Division at the address above.
Appropriate fees must be submitted before information can be processed. Complete the form in its entirety to ensure a prompt
response. Incomplete forms can result in a rejection of your request Responses will be sent via email or US Mail. Responses will
not be faxed.
Instructions
Note: Record summary(general vehicle information) fees are $2 and title history(copy of scanned title record) fees are $5.

*
n Name: SD DL # or SSN:

Requestor's  Address: City: State: Zip Code:
Information *
Contact Person Email Address: Phone #:
- * *
Year: Make: Model
-
Information Title Number Title State: VIN/HIN:
Requested
Name and Address: SD DL # or SSN:
n Please select one scenario that applies from the list below: [C Record Summary I Title History
Authorization 11 am a private individual requesting my own information.

for Release
11 am a private individual requesting information on a vehicle that was left on my property when | purchased

the property. | have included a copy of the deed, showing when the property was transferred into my name.

11 am a private individual requesting another person’s information. | have included a bill of sale or a signed
affidavit from the person allowing me access to their information.

11 am private individual requesting information for use in legal proceedings.

C1Other (please describe):

ﬂ In requesting and using this information, | acknowledge that this disclosure is subject to the Driver’'s Privacy
Protection Act (Public Law 103-322) and South Dakota law. This request is made under the penalties of the law.
Unsworn
Declaration I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.
~ o - th ® van * *
Signed on this ) day of - = - A e (state) _
H 1
* s @Z 7
Printed Name: Signature: l&mw ee |
*

Name on Credit Card for online payment:

$0.00
Amount Due:



Motor Vehicle Schedule

Certificate of title

$10

Interest: All will be assessed from purchase
date, regardless of when an applicant applies
for title and registration. *

The system will automatically assess interest at the rate of 1 %
on any application made after 45 days from the date of
purchase. *

Penalty: All fees will be assessed from
purchase date, regardless of when an
applicant applies for title and registration. **

In addition to the interest, a 10% penalty or $10 fee,
whichever is greater, will automatically be applied against an
application made 60 days from the purchase date. **

Written requests for damage disclosure
information

$5

Written requests for title histories $5
Duplicate title $10
Repossession title $10
Lien notation $10
Lien cancellation No fee
Issuance and attachment of assigned serial $25
number

License plate mailing fee (per set) $7.50
Decal mailing fee (per set) $1.50
License plate reassignment fee $5.00
Fee charged for dishonored check $40.00

Interest and Penalty (applies to motor vehicle excise tax and 4% initial registration fee). All fees are assessed
from purchase date regardless of when an applicant applies for title and registration.

*The system automatically assesses interest on the tax owed for each month or part thereof for which the tax
payment is late at the rate of 1 % or $5, whichever is greater, for the first month; and 1 % per month thereafter
on any application made after 45 days from the date of purchase. (Interest is not calculated on interest.)

**A one-time penalty equal to 10% of the tax or $10, whichever is greater, is automatically applied against any
application made after 60 days from the purchase date.




Boats

BOAT FEE SCHEDULE

Annual Fee
Non-motorized Boats Over 12° and Boats $15 Fee
Propelled Only by Electric Motors
Motorboats Under 19' (includes ski jets) $25 Fee
Motorboats 19' and Over $45 Fee

Temporary fishing tournament boat license (10 consecutive dates) ------------------- $50
OTHER FEES
Certificate of Title (Boat Over 12' in Length and All Motorized BOats) ... $10
Lien Fee........oececnecsecies $10 for each lien noted
Duplicate Title...........ccc.cooorirmrionriecerree st $10
Transfer of Boat Ownership (Boats exempt from titling) ..o $3 (Fee is Submitted to Division of Motor
Vehicles)
Registration (CT administrative fee assessed on
€ach boat lICENSEA) ...t $1 (Fee is Retained)
Duplicate Registration.................ccccooooronrinrinrinrionninrnesnns $2 (Fee is Retained by the County)
Duplicate Boat Decals..............cccooorrmrnrnnrieenreeeeesieenne $3 ($1 of This Fee is Retained by the County)
Written Requests for Damage Disclosure Information.......... $5
Mailing Fees------------mmmm oo $1.50 per decal

Interest and Penalty (applies to 3% boat excise tax). All fees are assessed from purchase date regardless of when
an applicant applies for title and registration.

The system automatically assesses interest on the tax owed for each month or part thereof for which the tax
payment is late at the rate of 1% or $5, whichever is greater, for the first month; and 1% per month thereafter on
any application made after 45 days from the date of purchase. (Interest is not calculated on interest.)

A one-time penalty equal to 10% of the tax or $10, whichever is greater, is automatically applied against any
application made after 60 days from the purchase date.



Commercial

Commercial Fees

Tons vehicle Age
2 0-9 YRS|
9 YRS PLUS|
3 0-9 YRS|
9 YRS PLUS
. 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
S 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
6 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
7 0-9 YRS
9 YRS PLUS
s 0-9 YRS|
9 YRS PLUS
o 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
10 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
" 0-9 YRS,
S YRS PLUS
2 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
13 0-9 YRS|
9 YRS PLUS
1a 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
15 0-9 YRS|
9 YRS PLUS
6 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
7 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
18 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
. 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
2 0-9 YRS|
9 YRS PLUS
21 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
2 0-9 YRS|
9 YRS PLUS
2 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
24 0-9 YRS|
9 YRS PLUS
25 0-9 YRS
9 YRS PLUS
26 0-9 YRS
39 YRS PLUS|
27 0-2 YRS
39 YRS PLUS|
28 0-9 YRS
9 YRS PLUS|
29 0-9 YRS
3 YRS PLUS|
30 0-2 YRS
9 YRS PLUS
31 0-9 YRS
39 YRS PLUS|
32 0-9 YRS
9 YRS PLUS|
33 0-2 YRS
3 YRS PLUS|
34 0-9 YRS
9 YRS PLUS)
35 0-9 YRS
39 YRS PLUS
36 0-2 YRS
9 YRS PLUSJ
37 0-9 YRS
9 YRS PLUS|
38 0-9 YRS
9 YRS PLUS|
39 0-9 YRS
3 YRS PLUS|
a0 0-9 YRS
9 YRS FLUSI
0-9 YRS
a1
39 YRS PLUS|
a2 0-9 YRS
3 YRS PLUS)
a3 0-2 YRS
3 YRS PLUS|
aa 0-9 YRS
9 YRS PLUS|
0-9 YRS
45
9 YRS PLUS . : X . . 1118.48 : . 1615.58
a6 0-9 YRS 1272.75 1555.58 [EBTLFRN]  1838.42 212125
9 YRS PLUS . X . . 1145.48 : 1400.03 JESEFFEN]  1654.58 . 1909.13




1662.75
1496.48
1692.75
1523.48
1722.75
1550.48
1752.75
1577.48

1932.75
1739.48
1962.75
1766.48

2214.17

2878.42

a7 0-2 YRS 1158.00
YRS PLUS
a8 0-5 YRs|
YRS PLUS
a0 0-2 YRs|
YRS PLUS
s0 0-5 YRs|
YRS PLUS
o1 0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
2 0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
o5 0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
o4 0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
o5 0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
. 0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
=7 0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
05 YRS
58
YRS PLUS
oo 0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
0-5 VRS
60
YRS PLUS
1 0-5 VRS
YRS PLUS
2 0-5 VRS 1363.25
YRS PLUS 1226.93
3 0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
1 0-5 VRS
YRS PLUS
os ©0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
o6 0-5 VRS
YRS PLUS
&7 ©0-5 YRS
YRS PLUS
0-5 VRS 1718.00
68
YRS PLUS 1352.93 R ELERL]
. 0-5 YRS 1526.58 [ERZENS]
YRS PLUS EEYEXE]  1570.20
70 -3 YRS 1328.50 [EEETTIEH
9 YRS PLUS FELERLY
- 0-5 VRS
3 YRS PLUS
09 YRS,
72
9 YRS PLUS
. 0-5 YRS,
5 YRS PLUS
e ©0-3 VRS,
9 VRS PLUS
75 05 VRS,
9 YRS PLUS
. 0-5 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
- -3 VRS,
9 VRS PLUS
— 05 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
. 0-5 YRS,
3 YRS PLUS
=0 09 VRS,
9 VRS PLUS
a1 05 vRS,
9 YRS PLUS
=2 0-5 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
. -3 VRS,
9 VRS PLUS
o1 05 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
- 0-5 YRS,
3 YRS PLUS
a6 09 ¥RS,
9 VRS PLUS
o 05 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
=5 0-5 YRS,
3 YRS PLUS
. 0-9 YRS,
9 YRS PLUS
o0 05 YRS
5 YRS PLUS
o1 ©0-3 YRS,
9 VRS PLUS
o2 05 ¥RS,

9 VRS PLUS.

1856.93

2171.25

3321.25




Motorcycle/Off-road vehicle

Motorcycle Fee Schedule (post 04/01/2015)

Engine Age Fee/Month 6 7 8 10 12 14 16 18
<350CC 0-9 YRS 1.50 9.00 12.00 15.00 18.00 21.00 24.00 27.00

10+ YRS 1.05 6.30 8.40 10.50 12.60 14.70 16.80 18.90
>350CCto |0-9 YRS 1.75 10.50 14.00 17.50 21.00 24.50 28.00 31.50
1,000CC 10+ YRS 1.23 7.35 9.80 12.25 14.70 17.15 19.60 22.05
51,000CC 0-9 YRS 2.00 12.00 16.00 20.00 24.00 28.00 32.00 36.00

10+ YRS 1.40 8.40 11.20 14.00 16.80 19.60 22.40 25.20




Motorhome

Staggered Non-commercial Motorhome License Fees (post 4/01/2015)

Pounds Vehicle Age Fee/Month 2 3 a
< 6000 0-9 YRS 9.00 18.00
= 10+ YRS, 6.30 12.60
0-9 YRS 12.00 24.00
£001-8000 1,5, vrs 8.40 16.80
0-9 YRS 15.00 30.00
B001-10000 5, ypg 10.50 21.00
10001 - 12000 |2 YRS 18.00 36.00
104 YRS, 12.60 25.20
0-9 YRS 21.00 42.00
12001~ 14000}, ygs 14.70 25.40
0-9 YRS 24.00 43.00
14001- 1600015, yrs 16.80 33.60
16001 - 18000 |2 FS 27.00 54.00
10+ YRS, 18.90 37.80
0-9 YRS 30.00 60.00
18001- 2000015, ygs 21.00 42.00
20001 - 220002 YRS 33.00 66.00
10+ YRS, 23.10 46.20
0-9 YRS 36.00 72.00
220012900015, ygs 25.20 50.40
0-9 YRS 39.00 78.00
24001~ 2600015, ygs, 27.30 54.60
26001 - 28000 |02 YRS 42.00 84.00 Y
10+ YRS, 29.40 58,50 MEETEN] 117.60
0-9 YRS 45.00 90.00 JEER]  180.00
28001-30000],5, yps 31.50 53.00 IEEFE 126.00
0-9 YRS 43.00 96.00 JREERA] 152.00
30001-32000],5, ygs, 33.60 57.20 JRUVEN]  134.40
232001 - 330002 YRS 51.00 102.00 JREERN]  204.00]
10+ YRS, 35.70 71.40 QETURTY 142.80
0-9 YRS 54.00 103.00 RN 215.00
39001360005, vgs 37.80 75.650 [EEERN] 15120
0-9 YRS 57.00 114.00 VAR 222.00)
36001-380001,5, ygs, 39.90 75.50 EECRN] 1535.60
0-9 YRS 60.00 120.00 BRI 240,00,
38001400005, yvgs 42.00 EER] 126.00
20001 - 2000] 2 TRS 63.00 126.00 REEXN]  252.00,
10+ TRS 44.10 53.20 JREPEN] 176.40
42001 - 4a000]*2 T*S 66.00
10+ YRS, 46.20 92.40
0-9 YRS 69.00 138.00
44001 - 4600015, yps 48.30 96.60
0-9 YRS 72.00 144.00
AB001- 480005, ygs 50.40 100.80
0-9 YRS 75.00 150.00

48001 - 50000

5 6
45.00 54.00
.;1.50
EXL 72.00
42.m)
gl s0.00
52.50
X 105,00
oo
105.00

73.50
120.00|

u-;.m)
9a.50 JERERN
L 150.00
ms.un
las.uo
115.50 JEEE
S 216.00
lZﬁ.UD
195.00 [JEETIGH]
l.;ﬁ.so
21n.nn
PPN 176.40
225.00 S0
157.50
2a0.00 JEEEES
ms.un
255.00 JEEEES
ns.sn
FX 324,00
lag.uo
FESAN] 242,00
199.50
300.00 JEEE
21u.uo
315.00 JEEEEEE
220.50
nu.un
FEIR 27720
345.00 TR
241.50
T 432,00
252.00

375.00 g

7 8
63.00 72.00
o
s1.00[EB
sasu
pULN]  120.00
7;.50
126.00 [N
sn.zu
147.00 g iR
mz.gn
168.00 [JEEEE]
117.60
189.00 k]
132.30
210.00 [JEEEG]
147.00
PESR 264.00
161.70
PIFXN 232.00
176.40 [T

pEEX ] 312.00
191.10
zm.nn
PIEEN) 235.20
EsLN ] 360.00
zzo.sn
336.00 B2
135.2[!
E AN 208.00
zlq.gu
EVERN 23200
264.60
300.00

279.30
420.00 giskuii]
294.00
a41.00 JEEEE
sma.?n
ELrRin] 528.00|
323.40 [JELER)

EEEEN 55200
335.10
LR 576.00
351.80

Bz 600.00

81.00
56.70

75.60
135.00|

162.00]
113.40|
189.00|
132.30]
216.00]
151.20|
243.00|
170.10]
270.00]
189.00|
297.00]
207.90|
224.00]
226.80]
351.00|
245.70]
378.00|
264.60]
405.00|
283.50]
432.00]
302.40|
459.00]
321.30|
486.00]

513.00|
359.10
540.00|
378.00|
567.00|
396.90|
594.00|
415.80|
621.00|
434.70|
648.00 |
453.60|

675.00|

150.00
105.00
180.00
126.00
210.00
147.00
240.00
168.00
270.00
189.00
300.00
210.00
330.00
231.00
260.00
252.00
390.00
273.00
420.00
254.00
450.00
315.00
480.00
336.00
510.00
357.00
540.00

570.00
399.00
600.00,
420.00
630.00
441.00
660.00,
462.00
620.00
483.00
720.00

04.00

750.00

B
2N 7560
132.00 JEETEH
91.40
ELX 180.00
115.50
FLERA] 216.00
138.6[!
231.00 JESEY
1ﬁj.7n

zg).au
207.90 PP
EEVN 360.00
z;n.au

429.00 gt
am.an
a52.00 JEZEG
323.40

a9s.00 JEEGEE

ELLA]  378.00
X 61
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Non-commercial Gross Weight

Staggered Non-commercial gross weight vehicle license Fee (post 7/01/2016])

Tons Vehicle Agi Fee 18
. |P-oYRS 180.00
10+ YRS, 126.00

0-9YRS

10+ YRS
18 [D-9YRS
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Non-commercial Vehicle

Staggered Non-commercial vehicle license Fee (post 4/01/2015
Pounds Vehicle Age Fee/Month 2 4 5 6 10 12 14 15 16 18
1-2000 |09 YRS s 3.00 6.00 12.00 18.00 30.00 36.00 42.00 48.00 54.00
10+ YRS $ 210 4.20 8.40 12,60 21.00 25.20 29.40 33.60 37.80
2001 - 2000 |02 7RS S 6.00 12.00 24.00 36.00 60.00 72.00 84.00 96.00 108.00
10+ YRS $ 420 8.40 16.80 25.20 42.00 50.40 58.80 67.20 75.60
4001 - 6000 |02 YRS S 9.0 18.00 36.00 54.00 90.00 108.00 126.00 144.00 162.00
10+ YRS $ 630 12.60 25.20 37.80 63.00 75.60 88.20 100.80 113.40
6000 |02 YRS $  12.00 24.00 48.00 72.00 120.00 144.00 168.00 192.00 216.00
10+ YRS $ 840 16.80 33.60 50.40 84.00 100.80 117.60 134.40 151.20

*Pickups >6000 may register gross weight



Trailer

Staggered Non-commercial Trailer License Fee (post 4/01/2015)

Pounds Age Fee/month 2 4 10 14 15 16 18
1- 1000 0-9 YRS 1.50 3.00/ 6.00 g RERAY  15.00 RERG]  21.00 24,00 27.00
10+ YRS 1.05/ 2.10 4.20 » ki o3 s 9.45 10.50 £ 13.65 14.70 16.80 18.90

0-9 YRS 3.00 6.00 12.00 ¥ “ 27.00 gEELE) X ELE) 42 .00 48.00 54.00

40022000 10+ YRS 2.10| 4.20] 8.40 K 3 pER:L) 21,00 PEEL) 2940 33.60 37.80
2001 - 3000 0-9 YRS 4.50 9.00! 18.00 £ ELRGY 45,00 LR 63.00 72.00 81.00
10+ YRS 3.15 6.30 12.60 . 28.35 31.50 37 40.95 PEEBG 50.40 56.70

3001 - 4000 0-9 YRS 6.00| 12.00 24,00 X 54.00 =l 78.00 RN 96.00 108.00
10+ YRS 4.20| 8.40 16.80 J X 3 EXg:-  42.00 o 54.60 gEECE 67.20 75.60

0-9 YRS 7.50| 15.00 30.00 L 5 [/ 75.00 y YR 105.00 120.00 135.00

4001 - 5000 10+ YRS 5.25 10.50 21.00 26.. . RYFEY 5250 . N 68.25 73.50 84.00 94.50
5001 - 6000 0-9 YRS 9.00 18.00 36.00 X ¥ ﬂ?.f)(l 90.00 X BSFAIL] 126.00 144,00 162.00
10+ YRS 6.30 12.60 25.20 o % ECRL)  63.00 s 81.90 g 100.80 113.40

6001 - 7000 0-9 YRS 10.50| 21.00 42.00 X . X EERG) 105.00 \ BEIRN] 147.00 168.00 189.00
10+ YRS 7.35! 14.70 29.40 6. s 5 LEBRY 7350 X EERLY 10250 117.60 132.30

0-9 YRS 12.00 24.00 48.00 4 X ¥ X LR 120.00 X X 156.00 RN 192.00 216.00

7001 ~8000 10+ YRS 8.40] 16.80 33.60 ¥ ¥ 75.60 EEey X pUERLY 11760 134.40 151.20
8001 - 9000 0-9 YRS 13.50| 27.00 54.00 X ! PSRN 13500 X BVARN] 189.00 216.00 243.00
10+ YRS 9.45 18.90 37.80 6 . 6! 85.05 EREY 1 pPFEAY 13230 151.20 170.10

9001 - 10000 0-9 YRS 15.00 30.00 60.00 ¥ ¥ X BELN] 150.00 X b BERNL] 210.00 2470 00 270.00
10+ YRS 10.50 21.00] 42.00 2. " ELRT] 10500 o RELRT) 147.00 168.00 189.00

10001 - 11000 0-9 YRS 16.50 33.00 66.00 A X o 8 BEERNY 165.00 X pAERL) 231.00 264.00 297.00
10+ YRS 11.55 23.10 46,20 . JOEREY 11550 g ELBEY 161.70 184.80 207.90

11001 - 12000 0-9 YRS 18.00 36.00 72.00 Y % U] 180.00 . X pEER) 252.00 288.00 324.00
10+ YRS 12.60| 25.20 50,40 3 RRERL) 12600 . UER-L) 176.40 201.60 226,80

12001 - 13000 0-9 YRS 19.50 39.00 78.00 o X BRART] 195.00 ! PAERL) 273.00 312.00 351.00
10+ YRS 13.65 27.30 54.60 & 2 pPFE:LY 13650 . ARy 191.10 218.40 245.70

13001 - 14000 0-9 YRS 21.00| 42.00 84.00 g A LR 210.00 o rx FZER ) 294.00 336.00 378.00
10+ YRS 14,70 29.40 58.80 0 X REFEL] 147 00 o 191.10 SRR 235.20 264,60

14001 - 15000 0-9 YRS 22.50| 45.00 90.00 A 202.50 grEENvsl A FAFRL] 315.00 360.00 405.00
10+ YRS 15.75 31.50 63.00 1 pESWAY 15750 * PLUENEY 220.50 252.00 283.50

15001 - 16000 0-9 YRS 24.00 48.00 96.00 ¥ X pAUR 240.00 E3PEI) 336.00 384.00 432.00
10+ YRS 16.80 33.60 67.20 X X PSR L) 168.00 o paE:RL) 23520 268.80 302.40

16001 - 17000 0-9 YRS 25.50 51.00 102.00 .. FRERN] 255 00 ! 3 N EESRL 357.00 408.00 459.00
10+ YRS 17.85 35.70 71.40 X pLLRAY 178.50 ¥ PEFRY 249 90 285.60' 321.30

17001 - 18000 0-9 YRS 27.00) 54.00 108.00 ] Y FZEX 270.00 d ERSRILE 378.00 432.00 486.00
10+ YRS 18.90 37.80 75.60 S A 8 BYLRL) 18900 X pZLW L] 264,60 302.40 340.20

18001 - 19000 0-9 YRS 28.50 57.00 114,00 3 256.50 EERRES] 1 370.50 EEEER 456,00 513.00
10+ YRS 19.95 39.90 79.80 X X BRLRLY 19950 ¥ a3 FALERY 27930 319.20 359.10

19001 - 20000 0-9 YRS 30.00 60.00 120.00 . X X FLOR) 300.00 ¥ ERDE 420.00 480.00 540.00
10+ YRS 21.00| 42.00 84.00 g BELKLE 21000 . PREX] 294 00 EEFERVH 336.00 378.00

e e o ==
oo zoooloa o o
Each Add. 0-9 YRS 16.50 18.00 19.50 27.00
11.55 13.65 18.90

10001bs |10+ YRS




Central Office DMV

General Information Center

605.773.3541
motorv@state.sd.us

ELT 605.773.2433
Dor.dmvelt@state.sd.us
[FTA/IRP/HVUT/UCR 0605.773.3314

Sdmotorcarrier@state.sd.us

Dealer Licensing

605.773.4416
dealerprogram@state.sd.us

DPPA

Dppa@state.sd.us

Emblem Decal Requests

emblem@state.sd.us

Special Plates

plates@state.sd.us

HVUT/2290's

DORform2290@state.sd.us

County Office Locations

Mailing Address Physical Office City, SD, Zip Phone Fax
County Address Code
Aurora PO Box 97 401 N. Main St. | Plankinton, 605-942- 605-942-7746
57368 7162
Beadle 450 3 St. SW Huron, 57350 605-353- 605-353-8406
Suite #101 8405
Bennett PO Box 606 201 State St. Martin, 57551 605-685- 605-685-6311
6092
Bon Homme PO Box 5 300 W 18" Ave | Tyndall, 57066 | 605-589- 605-589-4202
4213
Brookings 520 3™ St. Suite Brookings, 605-696- 605-696-8259
#100 57006 8250
Brown 25 Market St. Aberdeen, 605-626- 605-626-4010
Suite #2 57401 7133
Brule 300 S. Courtland Chamberlain, 605-234- 605-234-4436
St. Suite #108 57325 4436
Buffalo PO Box 165 112 Osman Ave | Gann Valley, 605-293- 605-293-3240
57341 3236
Butte 117 5t Ave Belle Fourche, 605-892- 605-892-4525
57717 4456




Campbell PO Box 8 111 2" St. NE Mound City, 605-955- 605-955-3308
57646 3388

Charles Mix PO Box 339 400 Main St. E Lake Andes, 605-487- 605-487-7221
57356 7542

Clark PO Box 295 200 N. Clark, 57225 605-532- 605-532-5931
Commercial St. 5911

Clay 211 W. Main St. Vermillion, 605-677- 605-677-7104
Suite #201 57069 7123

Codington 14 15t Ave. SE Watertown, 605-882- 605-882-6288
57201 6285

Corson PO Box 285 200 15t St E Mclintosh, 605-273- 605-273-4233
57641 4552

Custer 420 Mt. Custer, 57730 605-673- 605-673-8150
Rushmore Rd. 4552

Davison 200 E. 4t Ave Mitchell, 57301 | 605-995- 605-990-8618
8617

Day 711 W. 15t Ave St. Webster, 57274 | 605-345- 605-345-9511
Suite #206 9510

Deuel PO Box 680 408 4t St. W Clear Lake, 605-874- 605-874-1306
57226 2483

Dewey PO Box 36 710 C. St Timber Lake, 605-865- 605-865-3691
57656 3501

Douglas PO Box 68 706 Braddock Armour, 57313 | 605-724- 605-724-2204
St. 2318

Edmunds PO Box 68 210 2" Ave Ipswich, 57451 605-426- 605-426-6164
6801

Fall River 906 N. River St. 906 N. River St. | Hot Springs, 605-745- 605-745-3530
57747 5145

Faulk PO Box 309 110 9t Ave S. Faulkton, 57438 | 605-598- 605-598-6680
6232

Grant 210 E 5™ Ave. 210 E 5™ Ave. Milbank, 57252 | 605-432-

5651

Gregory PO Box 437 221 E 8" St. Burke, 57523 605-775- 605-775-2596
2605

Haakon PO Box 905 140 S Howard Phillip, 57567 605-859- 605-859-3850
2612

Hamlin PO Box 267 300 4t St. Hayti, 57241 605-783- 605-783-3201
3441

Hand 415 W 15t Ave Miller, 57362 605-853- 605-853-2578
2136

Hanson PO Box 500 720 5t St. Alexandria, 605-239- 605-239-4296
57311 4723

Harding PO Box 125 410 Ramsland Buffalo, 57720 | 605-375- 605-375-3176
St. 3542

Hughes 104 E Capitol 104 E Capitol Pierre, 57501 605-773- 605-773-7479
Ave Ave 7491

Hutchinson 201 W Mentor 201 W Mentor | Olivet, 57052 605-387- 605-387-4209
St. Room #160 St. Room #160 4213




Hyde 412 Commercial Highmore, 605-852- 605-852-3178
Ave SE 57345 2510

Jackson PO Box 279 700 Main St. Kadoka, 57543 | 605-837- 605-837-2447
2423

Jerauld PO Box 346 205 S Wallace Wessington 605-539- 605-539-9125
St. Springs, 57368 | 1241

Jones PO Box 77 310 Main St. Murdo, 57559 605-669- 605-669-7120
7106

Kingsbury PO Box 166 202 2 St. SE DeSmet, 57231 | 605-854- 605-854-3833
3411

Lake 200 E Center St. Madison, 57042 | 605-256- 605-256-7624
7618

Lawrence PO Box 394 90 Sherman St. | Deadwood, 605-578- 605-722-6216
57732 1862

Lincoln 104 N Main St. Canton, 57013 | 605-764- 605-764-6620
Suite #100 5701

Lyman PO Box 37 300 S Main Ave | Kennebec, 605-869- 605-869-2295
57544 2295

Marshall PO Box 130 911 Vander Britton, 57430 605-448- 605-448-2116
Horck St. 2451

McCook PO Box 278 130 W Essex Salem, 57058 605-425- 605-425-2534
Ave 2721

McPherson PO Box 110 706 Main St. Leola, 57456 605-439- 605-439-3648
3544

Meade 1300 Sherman Sturgis, 57785 605-347- 605-347-5925
St. Suite #107 5871

Mellette PO Box 228 311 E 4th St White River, 605-259- 605-259-3194
57579 3151

Miner PO Box 426 N Main St. & Howard, 57349 | 605-772- 605-772-4203
Park Ave 4652

Minnehaha 415 N Dakota Sioux Falls, 605-367- 605-367-6091
Ave. 57104 4211

Moody 101 E Pipestone Flandreau, 605-997- 605-997-3572
Ave. Suite A 57028 3171

Oglala Lakota | 906 N River St. 906 N River St. | Hot Springs, 605-745- 605-745-3530
57747 5145

Pennington PO Box 6160 130 Kansas City | Rapid City, 605-394- 605-394-2162
St. #250 57709 2163

Perkins PO Box 126 Bison, 57620 605-244- 605-244-7289
5624

Potter 201 S Exene St. Gettysburg, 605-765- 605-765-2332
57442 9403

Roberts 411 2" Ave. E Sisseton, 57262 | 605-698- 605-698-4277
Suite 2A 7245

Sanborn PO Box 97 604 W 6t St. Woonsocket, 605-796- 605-796-4509
57385 4512

Spink 210 E 7t Ave. Redfield, 57469 | 605-472- 605-472-4582
Suite #6 4583

Stanley PO Box 615 40 E 2" Ave. Ft. Pierre, 605-223- 605-223-7785
57532 7783




Sully PO Box 265 700 Ash Ave. Onida, 57564 605-258- 605-258-2884
2444

Todd PO Box 587 200 E 3 St. Winner, 57580 | 605-842- 605-842-1116
Suite #203 1700

Tripp PO Box 587 200 E 3™ St. Winner, 57580 | 605-842- 605-842-1116
Suite #203 1700

Turner PO Box 250 400 S Main St. Parker, 57053 605-297- 605-297-5556
4425

Union 209 E Main St. 209 E Main St. Elk Point, 57025 | 605-356- 605-356-2257
Suite #220 Suite #220 2391

Walworth PO Box 325 4303 4" Ave. Selby, 57472 605-649- 605-649-7867
7737

Yankton 321 W 3 St. Yankton, 57078 | 605-260- 605-260-4491
Suite #107 4400

Ziebach PO Box 68 315 Main St. Dupree, 57623 | 605-365- 605-365-5203
5173

From <https://dor.sd.gov/government/county-treasurers/county officials can email
our office for things that do not need an immediate response. This email is great to

send customer correspondence back to our office. motorvinfo@state.sd.us contact-

county-treasurers/>

Dealer Agents

Supervisor Watertown 605-882-5192 (office) 605-520-9360 (cell)
Lori Colberg

Jason Penticoff Rapid City 605-394-3394 (office) 605-381-7236 (cell)
Ron Rysavy Sioux Falls 605-367-5814 (office) 605-941-4742 (cell)
Tyanna Wachter Sioux Falls 605-789-4694 (office) 605-295-2905 (cell)
Jason Silvernagel Aberdeen 605-626-2249 (office) 605-216-5893 (cell)

You can email any dealer question to dealerprogram@state.sd.us



https://dor.sd.gov/government/county-treasurers/contact-county-treasurers/
https://dor.sd.gov/government/county-treasurers/contact-county-treasurers/
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Dealer Program Supervisor
Watertown

Lori Colberg: 605-882-5192
Cell phone: 605-520-9360

Dealer Agents
Sioux Falls

Ron Rysavy: 605-367-5814
Cell Phone: 605-941-4742

. Tyanna Wachter: 605-789-4694
Cell Phone: 605-295-2905

Aberdeen

Jason Silvernagel: 605-626-2249
Cell Phone: 605-216-5893

Rapid City

. Jason Penticoff: 605-394-3394
Cell Phone: 605-381-7236
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Stacey Green

Dawn Sass

Jeffrey Salzman

Jamie Bohaboj

Email: Stacey.Green@state.sd.us and
Sdmotorcarrier@state.sd.us

Email: Dawn.Sass@state.sd.us and
Sdmotorcarrier@state.sd.us

Email: Jeffrey.Salzman@state.sd.us and
Sdmotorcarrier@state.sd.us

Email: Jamie.Bohaboj@state.sd.us
and Sdmotorcarrier@state.sd.us

Phone: 605-773-3314 - Option 1

Phone: 605-773-3314 - Option 2

Phone: 605-773-3314 - Option 3

Phone: 605-773-3314 - Option 4

Mailing Address: 445 East Capitol Ave

Mailing Address: 445 East Capitol Ave

Mailing Address: 300 5§ Sycamore Ave, Ste 102

Mailing Address: 300 5 Sycamore
Ave, Ste 102

Pierre, SD 57501

Pierre, SD 57501

Sioux Falls, SD 57110

Sioux Falls, SD 57110

Auction Agency "99" Plates

a. A Car Dealer Auction Agency may purchase 99 plates to transport vehicles being sold at the
auction to or from the place of business.

The fees for the 99 plates are determined by the Department, and additional fees are charged to mail

plates and decals.

The plates are transferrable by the auction agency from one vehicle to another for transporting.

The dealer must apply for 99 plates at the county treasurer's office.

32-6B-36.3.; 32-6B-364
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Boat Dealer Plates

A. Boat dealers may purchase boat dealer license plates to be used on boats that are part of the dealership's
inventory. Boat dealer plates may not be used on boats that are leased or rented.

The fees for the boat dealer plates are determined by the Department, and additional fees are charged to mail plates
and decals.

Dealers are exempt from paying excise tax.
Boat dealer plates can be transferred to and from any boat that is part of the dealership's inventory.
Boat dealers must apply for boat dealer plates at the county treasurer's office.

32-7B-10; 32-7B-11

Consignment Sales by Dealers of Public Auctions

A. Consignment is defined as, “The delivery of a vehicle/boat by the owner into the possession of another without
transfer of title for the purpose of sale or where there is any condition that the purchaser does not have an
absolute obligation to pay for the vehicle/boat or has a right to return the vehicle/boat to the seller.”

B. Public auction is defined as, “A business that is open to the public where South Dakota titled motor vehicles/boats
are consigned, displayed, and auctioned to the highest bidder by an auctioneer.”

c. Auctioneer is defined as, "A person who presides over a public auction where following an initial starting price,
bids are taken from 2 or more people until a final bid or price is established for a motor vehicle/boat.”

D. Any vehicle/boat dealer or public auction may sell or offer to sell South Dakota titled vehicles/boats on
consignment. No person may sell or offer to sell on consignment a motor vehicle/boat that the
manufacturer’s statement of origin has not been transferred.

1. Any dealer licensed to sell motorcycles, off-road vehicles, snowmobiles, boats and boat trailers, or public
auction, may sell motorcycles, off-road vehicles, snowmobiles, boats, and boat trailers on consignment from a
bordering state. If the bordering state does not issue titles for the consigned unit, the owner must provide a
current state registration and accompanying affidavit stating that their home state does not issue titles for the
unit. A bill of sale, the registration and/or affidavit of statement must be in the possession of the
consignment dealer or public auction along with the proper consignment contract.

2. Any vehicle that is at least 20 years old and any motorcycle that is at least 30 years old may be sold at a public
auction as a consignment without a South Dakota title. The vehicle must, however, be titled in the name of
the seller.

3. An out-of-state dealer may sell a vehicle that is at least 20 years old or more or a motorcycle that is at least 30
years old that is titled in the dealer's name (out -of-state title) at public auction if the dealer purchases a
permit from MVD. The dealer must provide proof that the dealership is in good standing in the dealer’'s home
state and has no outstanding dealer violations. The permit fee is $250 if purchased before the auction and
$500 if purchased at or after the auction. A dealer in violation shall be denied a temporary permit for a period
of one year from the date of the violation.

E. A consignment sale, other than a public auction (South Dakota dealers), between dealers is prohibited.

F. Vehicles/boats sold on consignment cannot display dealer plates or permits.
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1. Valid license plates stay on the vehicle until the vehicle is sold.

a. Upon sale of the vehicle, the seller must provide the purchaser with a seller's permit. Dealer
plates/permits are not to be used on consignment sales.

G. Any dealer or public auction that sells or offers to sell South Dakota titled vehicles/boats (or those exempt from
having a South Dakota title) on consignment shall enter a contract with the consignor. The contract shall contain,
at a minimum, the following information:

1. Name and address of consignor (owner).

2. Name and address of consignee (dealer or auctioneer).

3. Vehicle/boat description: title number, year, make serial/hull number.
4. When applicable, completed odometer disclosure.

5. Agreed upon price or range.

6. Agreed upon amount that the owner will pay the dealer or auctioneer.

7. Length of time vehicle/boat will be with the dealer or auctioneer.
8. Disclosure by dealer or auctioneer that the sale is a consignment sale.
9. Signature of owner and dealer or auctioneer.

H. The following documents must be available at the dealership or auction prior to sale of a vehicle/boat:

1. South Dakota title in the name of the consignor.
2. Completed and signed consignment sales contract containing information set out above
3. When applicable, an odometer reading certified by the owner (may be included on contract).
4. Federal FTC Buyer Guide must be displayed in vehicle being offered for sale on dealer lot.
1. The following documents must be available at the dealership or auction upon sale of a vehicle/boat:
1. South Dakota title properly assigned by the consignor (owner).
2. Bill of sale.
3. Prior disbursement of proceeds if lien is indicated (lien must be satisfied and released).
4. A violation of these provisions is a Class 2 misdemeanor.
3. A dealer and auctioneer are required to keep the following records.
1. Dealer or auctioneer must maintain record of consignment sales for 5 years.

2. Dealer or auctioneer must retain a copy of consignment sales contract for 5 years.
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K. A dealer or an auctioneer may not sell a vehicle/boat that has a title with a lien on it for less than the full amount
of the lien, without the advance written consent of the lienholder. A dealer or an auctioneer may not release the
proceeds from the sale of a vehicle/boat with a lien until the lienholder signs a release of the lien. A violation of
these provisions is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

L. Every dealer and public auction shall keep books, records, and files. A record shall be kept on every vehicle
offered for sale, including the serial/hull identification number and a description of the vehicle/boat and the name
and address of the owner. If the vehicle/boat is sold, the name and address of the person purchasing the
vehicle/boat and the price for which it is sold.

M. All records must be open and available to inspection by a dealer inspector.

N. If a dealer takes a vehicle in on consignment and the vehicle does not sell and is returned to the seller, the dealer
must charge the customer sales tax, when charging a fee for displaying the vehicle on the dealership lot. Since
commissions are not sales taxed, in the event the dealer sells a consigned vehicle, sales tax is not assessed.

o. If a vehicle is sold at auction, the auctioneer's commission is subject to sales tax (an auctioneer's commission is
specifically taxed under statute.

Dealer "77" Plates

A. A dealer may purchase dealer 77 plates to be used on any new or used vehicle in the dealership's inventory. The 77 plates
maybe used for any purpose except vehicles for lease or hire, and wrecker or service vehicles.

The fees for the 77 plates are determined by the Department, and additional fees are charged to mail plates and decals.
The dealer is exempt from paying 4% excise tax.

The 77 plates can be transferred to any vehicle that is part of the dealership's inventory.

The dealer must apply for dealer plates at the county treasurer's office.

32-6B-21; 32-6B-22; 32-6B-21.1

Dealer "88" Plates

A dealer may purchase “88" dealer commercial plates that can be used to transport inventory replacement vehicles,
or to allow a prospective buyer for demonstration purposes for a period of 3 days. The plates cannot be used on a
vehicle for lease or hire or on a wrecker or service truck.

The fee for the plate is based on the commercial fee schedule. Mailing fees are also assessed.

The dealer is exempt from paying the motor vehicle excise tax because the vehicles the plates are used on are a part
of the dealership's inventory.

The plates can be transferred from one vehicle to another within the dealership's inventory.
The vehicle must comply with all provisions pertaining to overweight operations.

The commercial gross weight tonnage must be paid and the tonnage sticker affixed to the 88 plate prior to
operation.
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For any 88 plate licensed over 27 tons, a copy of the 2290 Heavy Vehicle Use Tax form must be submitted to dealer
licensing, the form must be stamped by the IRS to be valid.

Dealers must apply for 88 plates at the county treasurer's office.
32-6B-22.1; 32-6B-22.2; 32-6B-21.1

Dealer’s Car Auction Agency

a. Dealer's car auction agency includes any person, firm, limited liability company, corporation or association
engaged in an auction, as defined by Chapter 59-8, of vehicles. A dealer's car auction agency license is required.
A. Sales at a dealer's car auction agency shall involve only vehicles owned by dealers and sold to dealers.
Exceptions:

1. An auction agency may sell vehicles to dealers that are owned and titled (in-state or out-of-state) by
the following entities, if the vehicles were acquired as an incident to its regular business:

a Any regulated lender as defined in 54-3-14 or any financing institution licensed pursuant to Chapter 54-7.

b. Any financial institution chartered or licensed in any other jurisdiction that acquires vehicles as an incident
to its regular business.

1) A dealer’s car auction agency may accept a vehicle for sale by a financial institution chartered or
licensed in another jurisdiction in which the title is not in the name of the entity, provided the title is
in the name of the customer and has the proper documentation required substantiating a

repossession transaction. a) The out-of-state title must be provided.

by An affidavit form or other such document from the state that allows the lienholder to assign the
out-of-state title without obtaining a repossession title must be submitted.

o A lienholder is required to obtain a repossession title, if from a state that requires a lienholder to
obtain a repossession title prior to selling a repossessed vehicle.

¢. Any insurance company authorized to do business in either this state or some other state.

8. An auction agency may also accept from any manufacturer any vehicle that is owned by the manufacturer and
that has an MCO/MSO or a valid title.

1. Any vehicle with an MCO/MSO sold for a manufacturer can only be offered to the manufacturer’s
franchised dealers with the same-line vehicle make. D. An auction agency may also sell vehicles owned

by any governmental entity to any member of the public.

1. A sale of these vehicles to the public may not be held on the same day as dealer sales.

e. Itis a Class 1T misdemeanor for any auction agency to accept for sale any unauthorized vehicle.

r. An auction agency is required to announce, at the time of the sale, if the vehicle being offered has a title (in -

state or out-of-state) that has been marked denoting any brand or damage.
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1. If the auction fails to announce a title brand or damage notation, the purchaser may return the vehicle to the
auction within 10 days after receiving the title and the auction agency must make full refund to the purchaser.

. Every auction agency shall keep books, records, and files. A record shall be kept of every vehicle offered for sale
by or thro ugh the agency, including the serial numbers or identification numbers, odometer information, and a
description of the vehicle and the name, address and license number of the e vehicle dealer who owns the
vehicle. If the vehicle is sold, the name, address and license number of the vehicle dealer purchasing the vehicle
and the price for which it is sold.

H. An auction agency shall file a bond in the amount of $50,000 and shall have a public liability insurance policy of
not less than $300,000.

1. Auction agency “99" license plates.

1. The plates can be used on any vehicle being transported to or from the auction agency’s place of business for
the purpose of transporting a vehicle that will be sold by the auction agency.

a. The annual fee for a set of auction plates is $101 effective April 1, 2015. A mailing fee of $7.50 per set of
plates and $1.50 per set of decals is also assessed.

The plates are transferable by the auction agency from one vehicle to another vehicle for transporting purposes.

Dealer Demonstration/In-Transit Permit

a. Any vehicle owned by a licensed dealer bearing dealers’ demonstration or in- transit permits may be
driven upon the streets and highways of this state for demonstration or in-transit purposes.

b. Demonstration is defined as: the noncommercial use of a dealer owned vehicle by an employee of the
dealership for any purpose in the ordinary course of business relating to the sale of the vehicle within the
trade or market area of the dealership or demonstration by any prospective buyer for a period of three
days. The term includes vehicles donated by a dealership to a community or organization and used for a
one-day parade or event.

c¢. In-transit is defined as: the noncommercial use of a dealer owned vehicle by any employee of the
dealership for travel to and from any service facility, detail shop, repair shop, gas station, car wash, dealer
auction, another lot owned by the dealer, a supplemental lot, temporary special event lot, temporary
supplemental lot, or any other location to facilitate a dealer trade.

d. A dealer or their representative may not issue dealers demonstration/in-transit permits to any vehicle
for any other purpose than those mentioned above.

e. The demonstration/in-transit permit shall not be used on service vehicles, loaners, or in place of
regular license plates.
Dealers shall obtain their supply of (blue) demonstration/in-transit permits from their own source, but the permit
shall conform to the requirements of the department. 61:24:04:01
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Dealer Licenses

~ You must be a licensed dealer in this state to advertise, display, or sell vehicles. A violation of this is a Class 1
misdemeanor; a second violation is a Class 6 felony.

s. No person may act as, offer to act as, or hold himself or herself out to be a broker. A violation is a Class 2
misdemeanor.

c. Exceptions:

1

10.

11

Any person acting on a judgment or court order

Any public officer while performing the officer's formal duties

Employees of licensed dealers when carrying out job duties

Any person or business disposing of vehicles used in a fleet

» Vehicle rental companies

». Trucking companies

Any lender or insurance company that obtains vehicles/boats through the normal course of business and then

disposes of the vehicles. a. Lenders as defined and licensed complying with 54-3-14 and 54-7 .

b. Any financial institution chartered or licensed in any other states that obtain vehicles/boats through the normal
course of business and sells such vehicles/boats to licensed dealers.

Any vehicle rental and leasing company that sells its used vehicles to dealers licensed under this chapter.
Any nonprofit automobile club; only if selling automobiles twenty years old or older.
. regulated by state laws in chapter 32-3

Businesses that manufacture or convert new vehicles/boats to sell to licensed dealers holding franchise
agreements from the original manufacturer.

. Any person who sells less than five vehicles/boats in a twelve-month period unless the person is licensed as a
dealer in another state or holds himself or herself out as being in the business of selling vehicles/boats.
However, if the vehicles are travel trailers, any person who sells less than three travel trailers in a twelve-month
period.

Any person acting as an auctioneer if auctioning South Dakota titled vehicles for a licensed dealer or a person who
is exempt from the provisions of this chapter.

Any removal agency that acquires and sells a vehicle which has been towed at the request of a private landowner
under the provision of chapter 32-36 or at the request of a law enforcement officer, if no vehicle is sold for an
amount over $1,200.00.

Any person not engaged in the sale of vehicles/boats as a business and is disposing of vehicles/boats used solely
for personal use if the vehicles/boats were acquired and used in good faith and not for the purpose of avoiding
the provisions of this chapter.
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o. Application must be made to the office of the county treasurer of the county in which such dealership is located.
. All questions on the application form must be fully and accurately assessed for it to be processed.
o Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant.
2 Licenses will be issued directly from the Department of Revenue.
o Licenses will not be issued until all supporting documents are turned in.
. Dealers may not legally operate until such time as the license has been issued.

e License renewal notices and billings are available for the dealer to print from the dealer system 90 days before
expiration.

. The license renewal notice and billing must be reviewed, updated, and submitted, along with required fees, to the
county treasurer's office of the dealership before the deadline date shown on the notice.

2 If the notice is not submitted by the deadline date, an initial license fee will be assessed.

2. The renewal notice and billing also include dealer plates that are assigned to the dealership. If the dealer wishes to
increase the number of dealer plates, they can indicate that on the renewal and fees will be adjusted accordingly.

s If the dealer wishes to decrease the number of plates in their inventory, the plates must be turned in at the county
when the renewal is submitted, and the fees will be adjusted accordingly. F. The actual (paper) dealer license is
issued for a five-year period. A license must be renewed yearly.

1+ On new dealer applications, the location must be inspected by a dealer agent
before the license is issued.

2 If the applicant intends to establish a second business in another county, a
separate license must be obtained. G. The initial/renewal dealer license fees are:

+ Vehicle dealer/used vehicle dealer -- $300/initial, $175/renewal.
2. Mobile home dealer -- $300/initial, $150/renewal.
2 Motorcycle dealer -- $250/initial, $150/renewal.

.. Snowmobile dealer -- $150/initial, $125/renewal.
s. Trailer dealer -- $125/initial, $100/renewal.
.. Boat dealer -- $250/initial, $175/renewal.

Emergency vehicle dealer -- $250/initial, $100/renewal



Dealer License Fees
A. The initial/renewal dealer license fees are:

1. Vehicle dealer/used vehicle dealer -- $300/initial, $175/renewal.
2. Mobile home dealer -- $300/initial, $150/renewal.

3. Motorcycle/Off-road vehicle dealer -- $250/initial, $150/renewal.
4. Snowmobile dealer -- $150/initial, $125/renewal.

5. Trailer dealer -- $125/initial, $100/renewal.

6. Boat dealer -- $250/initial, $175/renewal.

7. Emergency vehicle dealer -- $250/initial, $100/renewal

8. Dealer's Car Auction Agency -- $300.00/initial, $175/renewal

Final Stage Manufacturer Dealer -- $300/initial, $175/renewal

Dealer License Requirements
Documents required to apply for a Dealer License:

1. A corporate bond, issued by a corporate surety which has been authorized to do business in this state:
a. $25,000 for new/used motor vehicle and mobile home dealers
b. $10,000 for trailers 3,000 pounds and over
c. $20,000 for boats
d. $5,000 for motorcycles and snowmobiles
e. $50,000 for Dealer Car Auction Agencies

2. A public liability insurance policy of not less than $300,000 for vehicle dealers, used vehicle dealers and
motorcycle dealers.

a. This is not required of trailer dealers, snowmobile dealers, mobile/manufactured home dealers, and
boat dealers.

B. Principal place of business.



1. All applicants and existing dealerships must have a principal place of business that conforms to the laws
and rules under dealer licensing. For vehicle, used vehicle, motorcycle, trailer, and boat dealers, this
requires an enclosed permanent structure located within the state, easily accessible and open to the
public at all reasonable times. There must be an improved area adjoining the building that is large enough
to display five or more vehicles/boats of the type of the dealer is licensed to sell.

2. The principal place of business location must accord to all applicable land use ordinances, building codes
and zoning. (Written verification of conformance from the city or county must be submitted with all initial
applications for license.) It is the location that all books, records, and files necessary to conduct business
are kept and maintained. In no event may rooms in a hotel, motel, apartment house, or any part of a
single or multiple unit dwelling house be considered a principal place of business, unless the entire
ground floor is devoted principally to, and occupied for, commercial purposes.

3. The licensed dealer must be open for business on a continuing basis, with normal business hours posted
in a place visible for viewing by the public.

4. The dealership must maintain a telephone and the telephone number, in the name of the business, must
be listed in either the white or yellow pages.

5. In the event the principal place of business is in a structure which houses more than one business, the
dealer's office must be separate from the other business.

6. A dealer inspector must inspect all principal places of business and certify they are in accordance with the
law before a dealer license is issued.

7. Principal place of business for mobile/manufactured homes.

8. The place of business for mobile/manufactured home dealers may not be a tent, temporary stand, or
other temporary quarters, nor permanent quarters occupied pursuant to any temporary arrangement.

9. The licensee may use unimproved lots and premises for sale, storage and display of mobile homes and
manufactured homes.

10. A licensee may use a residence located within or adjacent to his mobile home park or a manufactured
home park as a principal place of business, unless prohibited by local zoning.

11. "An auxiliary lot,” defined as a physically separate location such as a mobile home park, manufactured
housing, rental community, manufactured housing subdivision, or any residential lot, may be used as a
supplemental lot. The auxiliary lot may be located outside of the county of the principal place of business
of the dealer.

C. Any dealer who is moving his dealership to a new location must obtain permission, 30 days in advance of the
move, from the Department of Revenue.

1. The dealer must provide zoning approval for the new location.



2. The dealer must submit an updated bond and public liability insurance policy that reflects the new
address.

Dealer Plates and Permits

Licensed motor vehicle dealers may purchase special dealer license plates for use on vehicles that are a part of the
dealership's inventory.

Application for dealer license plate and the license fee are to be submitted to the county treasurer.

Dealers must have a valid dealer's license for the year of dealer license plates they are wishing to obtain before such
dealer license plates can be issued.

Dealer license plates are to be used only on vehicles/boats owned by the dealer.

Dealer license plates shall not be used for lease, rental, hire, wreckers, two cars, or service trucks.

Dealer license plates shall not be loaned or left attached to any vehicle/boat sold by dealer.

Dealer license plates may be transferred from one vehicle/boat to another when owned by the dealer.

Dealer Record Keeping Requirements
A. Any seller of a motor vehicle/boat shall, on demand by the Secretary of Revenue, make available all books, records
and memoranda that relate to the sale of a motor vehicle/boat. The Secretary, in the event of any failure or refusal
to produce such records, may conduct or cause to be conducted an audit of the books and records of any licensed
dealer.

. All books, records and memoranda that relate to the sale of a motor vehicle/boat shall be retained for five years.

c. Grounds for issuance of a Cease-and-Desist Order, monetary penalty assessment, denial, suspension, or revocation
of license. The department may deny any application, apply a cease-and-desist order, assess a monetary penalty, or
suspend or revoke a license for any of the following:

1.

Commission of fraud or willful misrepresentation in the application for or in obtaining a license.

Conviction of a felony involving snowmobile/vehicle/boat theft or odometer fraud in the last five years.

A violation of any law of this state which relates to dealing in manufactured homes/mobile
homes/snowmobiles/vehicles/boats.

Failure to comply with any administrative rule promulgated by the department.

Perpetration of a fraud upon any person because of dealing in manufactured homes/mobile
homes/snowmobiles/vehicles/boats.

Failure to apply for transfers of title as required in chapter 32-3 and 32-3A, 32-20A, 42-8.

Failure to allow department inspections, including initial and annual inspections, complaint investigations and
necessary follow-up inspections.



8. Misrepresentation through false, deceptive, or misleading statements about the sale or financing of
manufactured homes/mobile homes/snowmobiles/ vehicles/boats which a dealer has, or causes to have,
advertised, printed, displayed, published, distributed, broadcast, televised or made in any manner about the
sale or financing of manufactured homes/mobile homes/snowmobiles/vehicles/boats.

9. Refusal to comply with a licensee’s responsibility under the terms of the new manufactured home/mobile
home/snowmobile/vehicle/boat warranty issued by its respective manufacturer unless such refusal is at the
direction of the manufacturer.

10. Failure to comply with the terms of any bona fide written, executed agreement pursuant to the sale of a
manufactured home/mobile home/snowmobile/vehicle/boat.

11. Inability to obtain or renew surety bond or to participate in a dealer asset pool.
12. Failure to maintain and continuously occupy a principal place of business.

13. Failure to obtain or renew a public liability insurance policy of not less than three hundred thousand dollars.

14. Failure to disclose damage to a new snowmobile of which the dealer had knowledge if the dealer’s actual cost
to repair exceeds five percent of the manufacturer’s suggested retail price.

15. For a dealer of manufactured/mobile homes, a previous manufacturer or dealer license revocation in this or
any other state.

16. Violation by the dealer of an applicable manufactured home building or safety code.

17. For a manufactured/mobile home dealer, failure to deliver the MSO or title to the county treasurer within 30
days after the date of delivery.

18. For a manufactured/mobile home dealer, conviction within the previous 5 years of a crime that relates directly
to the business of the dealer or manufacturer involving fraud, misrepresentation, or misuse of funds.

19. For a manufactured/mobile home dealer, misuse of the dealers’ metal plates and lending for use on
manufactured/mobile homes not owned by the manufacturer or dealer.

p. The department may issue an order directing a dealer to cease and desist from engaging in any act or practice in
violation of any of the provisions listed above. A Cease-and-Desist Order is effective for a period of two years.

1. Within 20 days after service of a Cease-and-Desist Order, a dealer may request, in writing, a hearing to contest
the order. Hearings shall be heard by the Office of Hearing Examiners.

2. If a dealer fails to comply with a Cease-and-Desist Order, the department may:

a. Impose a monetary penalty on the dealer of $500 for each violation on the Cease-and-Desist Order.

a. Suspend the dealer’s license for not more than 30 days: or
b. Revoke the dealer’s license.

3. Within 20 days of service of an order, a dealer may request, in writing, a hearing to contest the order. Hearings
shall be heard by the Office of Hearing Examiners.



4. Upon suspension or revocation, a dealer shall immediately return all dealer metal plates and surrender the
license certificate. Failure to do so is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

e Any person who converts or manufactures authorized emergency vehicles (any vehicle of a fire department or
any ambulance and emergency vehicle of a municipal department or public service corporation that are designated
or authorized by the Department of Commerce and Regulation) and who, for commission or with intent to make a
profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with option to purchase, offers, or attempts to negotiate a sale or exchange of
new, or new and used authorized emergency vehicles, or who is engaged wholly or in part in the business of selling
new, or new and used authorized emergency vehicles, or any out-of-state dealer that includes the submission of a
bid proposal for the sale of a vehicle, if the bid proposal is offered in response to a bid request originating in this
state , shall obtain an emergency vehicle dealer license.

1. An emergency vehicle dealer must meet all the requirements that vehicle dealers must meet but is
exempt from the requirements of having its principal place of business in South Dakota.

2. For an emergency vehicle dealer whose principal place of business is not located in South Dakota, proof is
required that it is a licensed dealer in another state and has no outstanding dealer violations (proof can be in
the form of an affidavit from the dealer attesting to no outstanding dealer violations).

2. An emergency vehicle dealer is not required to secure a separate license for each county if the dealer has
complied with the other requirements of an emergency vehicle dealer’s license.

3. The initial license fee for an emergency vehicle dealer’s license is $250, the renewal fee is $100.

4. An emergency vehicle dealer must have a surety bond in the amount of $10,000.

r. A dealer must place a notice on any vehicle/large boat sold or offered for sale, regardless of the vehicle’s age,
which discloses damage to the vehicle for which the current title denotes a salvage brand or similar brand denoting
damage to the vehicle. The notice must be printed on white NCR paper, measuring 4" x 6”. The original is to be
retained by the dealer and the copy is to be given to the purchaser. The information is to be printed in 12-point
(minimum) Universe - bold - capital letters. See a sample of the notice in the “Forms Section” for wording on
the permit. The notice must be posted on the inside of a side window with the front of the form facing the outside,
or in the case of a large boat on the front window, indicating a salvage title or similar brand denoting damage to
the vehicle that is offered for sale to consumers. The dealer is responsible for keeping the notice always posted that
a vehicle/large boat is available for sale to consumers. At the time of sale of the vehicle/large boat, the dealer shall
remove the notice and shall have the purchaser sign and date it. The dealer shall retain the signed notice, along
with copies of the title document, for 5 years from the date of sale. (Source: South Dakota statute 32-3-51.18)

(Source: South Dakota statute 32-3A-38.6)

1. If a dealer fails to a disclosure, (notice must be signed by the purchaser at the time of sale), the purchaser may
return the motor vehicle/large boat to the dealer within 10 days after receiving the title and shall receive a full
refund. 32-6B
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Manufacturer/Customizer and Dealer Temporary Permits

Businesses planning to display or sell vehicles at a Special Event in South Dakota are required to obtain a Special Event
Permit from the South Dakota Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles. This includes temporarily displaying
passenger vehicles, motorcycles, off-road vehicles, trailers, campers, boats, or any other type of titled or MSO vehicle.

A. Displaying or Selling Motorcycles and Off-road vehicles:

1. New or used licensed South Dakota motorcycle and off-road vehicle dealers may sell or display motorcycles
or off-road vehicles at a Special Event without a permit if it is held within the county they are licensed. They
must notify the Dealer Licensing Office.

2. Used motorcycle and off-road vehicle dealers must purchase a permit to display or sell at a Special Event if
the event is outside of the county they are licensed.

i.For used motorcycles, the permit may be issued if the motorcycles are franchised in this state, but are at
least two model years old, and have at least two thousand five hundred miles on the odometer.

3. Out-of-State Motorcycle and off-road vehicle dealers must purchase a permit to sell new motorcycles or
off-road vehicles if the make is not currently franchised in South Dakota.

iIf a South Dakota dealer has a franchise agreement for that make, a permit will not be issued. They will
not be allowed to sell or display at the event.

4. Motorcycle or off-road vehicle manufacturers or customizers must purchase a permit to display motorcycles
or off-road vehicle they build or modify. I. This permit is for display only. Sales are not allowed at the event.
C. Displaying or Selling Trailers:

1. Licensed South Dakota Trailer Dealers may display and sell new and used trailers at any special event in the
State of South Dakota without a permit.

2. Trailer manufacturers and out-of-state Dealers must purchase a permit to display trailers at a Special Event.
i Manufacturers are for display only. Sales are not allowed at the event.

i, Out-of-State New Trailer Dealers may only sell new trailers that are not franchised in this state
unless the person obtains a written waiver from any similarly franchised dealer in this state. The person
should present the waiver to the department at the time the person applies for the permit.

i Out-of-State Used Trailer Dealers must purchase a permit to display or sell. D. Displaying
customized vehicles:

1. Motor vehicle customizers must purchase a permit to display cars, trucks, and RV's they build or modify.
. This permit is for display only. Sales are not allowed at the event.

E. Out-of-State Boat and Boat Trailer Dealers (New or Used)



1. Licensed Dealers may display and sell at a South Dakota event if the event lasts 2 or more days.

2. The event must be a sponsored event and have at least 3 licensed boat dealers attending and displaying
boats. 32-6B-1; 32-6B-5.1

Manufactured Home Dealer Permit

A. New and used mobile/manufactured homes owned by a dealer may be transported upon the streets and highways
to the dealer’s place of business and to the purchaser of such a home and between a dealer’s place of business and a
supplemental lot or a temporary supplemental lot. Any mobile/manufactured home purchased or transported by or for
a dealer must have:

On any used home, an affidavit issued by the county treasurer of the county in which the home is registered, stating
that the current year's taxes have been paid.

A self-issued permit displayed when moving a used or new mobile/manufactured home.

When a dealer sells a new or used or an out-of-state titled mobile/manufactured home and is transporting it to the
purchaser, the dealer must file a Property Tax Assessment with the director of equalization in the county of destination.

Manufactured Home Dealer Plate

A. Manufactured Home dealers may purchase MHD dealer plates to be used to transport inventory owned by the
dealer.

The fees for the manufactured home dealer plates are determined by the Department, and additional fees are charged
to mail plates and decals.

1. The dealer is exempt from paying the initial 4% tax/registration fee.

2. The plate must be displayed on the rear of any manufactured home being transported on a public
highway.

3. The dealer must apply for manufactured home dealer plates at the county treasurer's office.

32-7A-10; 32-7A-10.1; 32-7A-11

Motorcycle and Trailer Dealer Plates

A. A motorcycle dealer or a trailer dealer may purchase license plates to use on units that are part of the dealership's
inventory.

The fees for the motorcycle and trailer dealer plates are determined by the Department, and additional fees are
charged to mail plates and decals.

These dealers are exempt from paying the 4% excise tax.
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The plates can be transferred to any motorcycle or trailer that is part of the dealership's inventory.
Dealers must apply for motorcycle dealer plates and trailer dealer plates at the county treasurer's office.
32-6B-23

Snowmobile Dealer Plates

A. Snowmobile dealers may purchase snowmobile dealer plates to be used on snowmobiles in the dealership's
inventory.

The fees for the snowmobile dealer plates are determined by the Department, and additional fees are charged to mail
plates and decals.

The dealers are exempt from paying excise tax.
The plates are transferrable to any snowmobile in the dealership's inventory.

The dealer must apply for the snowmobile dealer plates at the county treasurer's office. 32-6C-7; 32-6C-8

Definitions

"Abandoned motor vehicle," any motor vehicle left on a public street or highway or left on private property without the
permission of the landowner or tenant.

"Administrator,” the administrator of the dealer licensing and inspection program of the Department of Revenue.

"Administrator,” the secretary of revenue.

Auctioneer," a person who presides over a public auction where following an initial starting price, bids are taken from
two or more people until a final bid or price is established for a motor vehicle.

"Authorized emergency vehicle," any vehicle of a fire department and any ambulance and emergency vehicle of a
municipal department or public service corporation that are designated or authorized by the Department of Public
Safety or the Department of Health.

Return to Top

Boat," every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as a means of
transportation on water.

Boat dealer," any person or business who in the ordinary course of business sells new or used large boats or any
person or business who in the ordinary course of business sells five or more large boats in a year.

Broker," a person who, for a fee, commission, or other valuable consideration, arranges or offers to arrange a
transaction involving the sale or exchange of vehicles, and who is not:

A dealer or a bona fide agent or employee of a dealer.
A representative or a bona fide agent or employee of a manufacturer; or
At any point in the transaction the bona fide owner of the vehicle involved in the transactions.
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Chassis cab," any incomplete motor vehicle, with a completed occupant compartment, that requires only the
addition of cargo carrying, work performing, or load bearing components to perform the vehicle's intended
function.

"Commercial motor vehicle," any motor vehicle used or maintained for the transportation of persons or property for
hire, compensation, or profit, or designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, and not
specifically excluded under § 32-9-3;

"Commercial motor vehicle," any motor vehicle used or maintained for the transportation of persons or property for
hire, compensation or profit or designed, used or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, and not
specifically excluded under § 32-9-3;

"Commercial vehicle," any vehicle which is operated in interstate commerce in furtherance of any commercial
enterprise.

"Commission," the Game, Fish and Parks Commission of this state acting directly or through its authorized officers.

"Community," the franchisee's area of responsibility as stipulated in the franchise. A community has a minimum
radius of ten miles around an existing dealership.

"Compensation,” the charge imposed upon motor carriers in consideration of the unusual use of the public
highways in this state by such motor carriers.

"Compensation certificate," the certificate issued upon application by a motor carrier, as defined in §§ 32-9-2 and
32-9-3, showing authority to use and payment of compensation for the unusual use of the highways by the one to
whom issued;

"Component part," any part of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer other than a tire, having a vehicle identification
number.

Converter," a person who modifies or installs on previously assembled chassis special bodies or equipment which,
when completed, form an integral part of the vehicle and which constitutes a major manufacturing alteration and
who may issue a supplemental or secondary statement of origin.
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Dealer," any person who, for commission or with intent to make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with option
to purchase, offers or attempts to negotiate a sale or exchange of new, or new and used vehicles, or who is
engaged wholly or in part in the business of selling new, or new and used vehicles, whether or not such vehicles are
owned by that person.

"Demonstration," the noncommercial use of a dealer owned vehicle by any employee of the dealership for any
purpose in the ordinary course of business relating to the sale of the vehicle within the trade or market area of the
dealership or demonstration by any prospective buyer for a period of three days. The term includes vehicles
donated by a dealership to a community or organization and used for a one-day parade or event.

"Department,” Department of Revenue.

"Department,” the Department of Revenue.
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"Department,”" Department of Revenue.

"Department,” the Department of

Revenue; "Department"” the

Department of Public Safety.

"Department,” the Department of Revenue.
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"Emergency vehicle dealer,” any person who converts or manufacturers authorized emergency vehicles and who, for
commission or with intent to make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with option to purchase, offers, or
attempts to negotiate a sale or exchange of new, or new and used authorized emergency vehicles, or who is
engaged wholly or in part in the business of selling new, or new and used authorized emergency vehicles;
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"Final stage manufacturer dealer,” any person who assembles or installs on a previously assembled new motor
vehicle chassis cab any special body or equipment that forms an integral part of the motor vehicle, constitutes a
major manufacturing alteration, and completes the vehicle.

For hire," for remuneration of any kind, paid or promised, either directly or indirectly, for the transportation of
persons or property. An occasional accommodative transportation service by a person not in the transportation
business while on an errand for himself, is not a service for hire, even though the person transported shares in the
cost or pays for the service.

Franchise," a written or oral agreement or contract between a franchisor and franchisee which fixes the legal rights
and liabilities of the parties to such agreement or contract.

Franchisee," person who receives vehicles from a franchisor under a franchise and who offers and sells the vehicles
to the public.

Franchisor," any person engaged in the manufacturing or distribution of vehicles including any person who acts for
the franchisor.
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Good faith," honesty in fact and the observance of reasonable, nondiscriminatory commercial standards of fair
dealing in the trade, as defined and interpreted in the Uniform
Commercial Code as amended to January 1, 2010.

"Gross vehicle weight rating,” the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single vehicle.

"Gross weight," the total weight of the chassis, body, equipment, and maximum load of each motor vehicle, trailer,
or semitrailer as fixed by the applicant for a compensation certificate.
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"In-transit," the noncommercial use of a dealer owned vehicle by any employee of the dealership for travel to and
from any service facility, detail shop, repair shop, gas station, car wash, dealer auction, another lot owned by the



http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-10-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-20-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-3A-2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-3-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-1

dealer, a supplemental lot, temporary special events lot, temporary supplemental lot, or any other location to
facilitate a dealer trade;

"Interstate commerce," the movement of a vehicle between jurisdictions but does not include the movement of
any vehicle which transports or is being used to transport persons or property, the transportation of which
originates in one jurisdiction and passes into or through another jurisdiction or jurisdictions, for delivery in the
jurisdiction in which the transportation originated.

"Impounded vehicle," any vehicle removed or caused to be removed from a public highway pursuant to § 32-30-19;
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"Junking certificate,” a certificate of ownership, which may not be restored to a title document which allows
highway use, issued by the department to the owner of a vehicle which is going to be dismantled and sold for
parts.

"Junk motor vehicle," any motor vehicle which has been placed on the property of a recognized junk dealer for the
purposes of salvage.

Jurisdiction,” a state, district, territory, or possession of the United States, a foreign country, and a state or province
of a foreign country.

"Large boat," any boat over twelve feet in length or a motorboat, used or capable of being used as a means of
transportation on water, except canoes, inflatable boats, kayaks, sailboards, and seaplanes.

"Low-speed vehicle," a four-wheeled motor vehicle whose speed attainable in one mile is more than twenty miles
per hour and not more than twenty-five miles per hour on a paved level surface.
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"Manufactured home," a structure, transportable in one or more sections, which is eight body feet or more in width
or forty body feet or more in length in the traveling mode, or is three hundred twenty or more square feet when
erected on a site; which is built on a permanent chassis and designed to be used as a dwelling, with or without a
permanent foundation, when connected to the required utilities; and which contains the plumbing, heating, air
conditioning, and electrical systems therein. The term includes any structure which meets all the requirements of
this subdivision and any other structure which has been certified by the secretary of housing and urban
development. The term does not include a recreational park trailer.

"Manufacturer,” any person, firm, corporation, limited liability company, or association engaged in the manufacture
of new motor vehicles as a regular business.

"Manufacturer,” a person who manufactures or assembles vehicles, including motor homes, and who issues the
original or first manufacturer's statement of origin. The term, manufacturer, includes a central or principal sales
corporation through which it distributes its products to franchised dealers.

"Mobile home," a movable or portable unit, designed and constructed to be towed on its own chassis (comprised

of frame and wheels), and designed to be connected to utilities for year-round occupancy. The term includes:

@ Units containing parts that may be folded, collapsed, or telescoped when being towed and that may be
expanded to provide additional cubic capacity; and

® Units composed of two or more separately towable components designed to be joined into one integral unit
capable of being separated again into the components for repeated towing.
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The term does not include a recreational park trailer.

"Moped," a motor driven cycle equipped with two or three wheels. If a combustion engine is used, the maximum
piston or rotor displacement shall be fifty cubic centimeters regardless

of the number of chambers in such power source. The power source shall be equipped with a power drive system
that functions directly or automatically only, not requiring clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive
system is engaged.

"Moped" a motor driven cycle equipped with two or three wheels. If a combustion engine is used, the maximum
piston or rotor displacement shall be fifty cubic centimeters regardless of the number of chambers in such power
source. The power source shall be equipped with a power drive system that functions directly or automatically only,
not requiring clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is engaged.

Motorboat," any boat propelled by machinery, whether such machinery is the principal source of propulsion but
does not include a boat which has a valid marine document issued by the commissioner of customs of the United
States government or any federal agency successor thereto.

"Motorcycle," includes motorcycles, motorbikes, mopeds, bicycles with motor attached, and all motor operated
vehicles of the bicycle or tricycle type, whether the motive power be a part thereof or attached thereto and having
a saddle or seat with the driver sitting astride or upon it, or a platform on which the driver stands, but excluding a
tractor.

Motorcycle" includes motorcycles, motorbikes, mopeds, bicycles with motor attached, and all motor operated
vehicles of the bicycle or tricycle type, whether the motive power be a part thereof or attached thereto and having
a saddle or seat with the driver sitting astride or upon it, or a platform on which the driver stands, but excluding a
tractor.

"Motor home," a motor vehicle designed as an integral unit to be used as a conveyance upon the public highways
and for use as a temporary or recreational dwelling and having at least four of the following permanently installed
systems:

@ Cooking facilities.

®) lce box or mechanical refrigerator.

«© Potable water supply including plumbing and a sink with faucet either self-contained or with connections for an
external source, or both, (d) Self-contained toilet connected to a plumbing system with connection for external
water disposal.

© Heating or air conditioning system, or both, separate from the vehicle engine or the vehicle electrical system.

® A one hundred ten--one hundred fifteen volt alternating current electrical system separate from the vehicle
engine electrical system either with its own power supply or with a connection for an external source, or both,
or a liquefied petroleum system and supply.

"Motor vehicle," automobiles, motor trucks, motorcycles, house trailers, trailers, and all vehicles propelled by power
other than muscular power, except traction engines, road rollers, farm wagons, freight trailers, vehicles that run only
on rails or tracks, and off-road vehicles as defined in § 32-20-1;

"Motor vehicle," all vehicles or machines propelled by any power other than muscular used upon the public
highways for the transportation of persons or property or both.

"Motor vehicle," shall have the meaning ascribed to it by § 32-9-1;
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"Motor vehicle," automobiles, motor trucks, motorcycles, house trailers, trailer coaches, cabin trailers, and all
vehicles propelled by power other than muscular power, except traction engines, road rollers, fire trucks, wagons
and engines, police and patrol wagons, farm wagons, freight trailers, and such vehicles as run only on rails or tracks.
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"New motor vehicle," any motor vehicle to which a manufacturer's statement of origin has not been transferred or
is a motor vehicle on which title was issued from the manufacturer's statement of origin or manufacturer's
certificate of origin and is still in the name of the first person who took title to the vehicle.

"Noncommercial motor vehicle," any motor vehicle not classified as a commercial motor vehicle.

"Noncommercial trailer or semitrailer,” any trailer or semitrailer not used or maintained for the transportation of
persons or property for hire, compensation, or profit.

Notation," a physical or electronic process of recording a lien on a certificate of title, a manufacturer's statement of
origin, or a manufacturer's certificate of origin.
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"Off-road vehicle," any self-propelled, two or more wheeled vehicle designed primarily to be operated on land
other than a highway and includes all terrain vehicles, dune buggies, and any vehicle whose manufacturer's
statement of origin (MSO) or manufacturer's certificate of origin (MCO) states that the vehicle is not for highway
use. The term does not include a farm vehicle as defined in this section.

"Off-road vehicle," any self-propelled, two or more wheeled vehicle designed primarily to be operated on land
other than a highway and includes, but is not limited to, all-terrain vehicles, dune buggies and any vehicle whose
manufacturer's statement of origin (MSO) or manufacturer's certificate of origin (MCO) states that the vehicle is not
for highway use. Offroad vehicle does not include a farm vehicle as defined in § 32-3-2.4.

"Operate," to navigate or otherwise use a boat.

Owner," any person, firm, association, or corporation renting a motor vehicle or having the exclusive use thereof,
under a lease or otherwise, for a period greater than thirty days; as between contract vendor and contract vendee,
the term, owner, shall refer to the contract vendee, unless the contrary clearly appears from the context of chapters
32-3 to 32-5B, inclusive, or a person having legal possession or title;

"Owner," as defined in subdivision 32-3-1(16), except that for the purposes of proportional registration of vehicles
as authorized and provided in §§ 32-10-10 and 32-10-15 to 32-10-28, inclusive, "owner" means a person who holds
a legal title of a vehicle, or in the event a vehicle is the subject of an agreement for the conditional sale thereof with
the right of purchase upon performance of the conditions stated in the agreement and with an immediate right of
possession vested in the conditional vendee, or in the event while a vehicle is subject to a lease with an immediate
right of possession vested in the lessee, or in the event a mortgagor of a vehicle is entitled to possession, then such
conditional vendee, lessee or mortgagee is considered to be the owner;

Owner," a person, other than a lien holder, having the property in or title to a boat. The term includes a person

entitled to the use or possession of a boat subject to an interest in another person reserved or created by
agreement and securing payment or performance of an obligation, but the term excludes a lessee under a lease not

intended as security; Return to Top
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"Person" shall have the meaning ascribed to it by § 32-9-1;

"Personal watercraft," any motorboat that has an inboard or outboard motor powering a water jet pump or caged
propeller as its primary source of motive power and is designed to be operated by a person standing on, kneeling
on, sitting astride, or being towed behind the watercraft, and has the probability that the operator and passengers
may in the normal course of use, fall overboard.

"Preceding year," a period of twelve consecutive months fixed by the administrator which period shall be within the
sixteen months immediately preceding the commencement of the registration or license year for which
proportional registration is sought; and the administrator in fixing such period shall make it conform to the terms,
conditions, and requirements of any applicable agreement or arrangement for the proportional registration of
vehicles.

"Private business use," the transportation of persons or property for hire, compensation, profit, or remuneration of
any kind, or the transportation of any property of a business venture not specifically excluded under § 32-9-3;

"Properly registered," as applied to place of registration:

@ The jurisdiction where the person registering the vehicle has his legal residence; or

® In the case of a commercial vehicle, the jurisdiction in which it is registered if the commercial enterprise in
which such vehicle is used has a place of business therein, and, if the vehicle is most frequently dispatched,
garaged, serviced, maintained, operated, or otherwise controlled in or from such place of business, and the
owner has assigned the vehicle to such place of business; or

© Inthe case of a commercial vehicle, the jurisdiction where, because of an agreement or arrangement between
two or more jurisdictions, or pursuant to a declaration, the vehicle has been registered as required by said
jurisdiction.

In case of doubt or dispute as to the proper place of registration of a vehicle, the administrator shall make final
determination, but in making such determination, may confer with administrators of the other states or jurisdictions
affected.

"Public auction," a business that is open to the public where South Dakota titled motor vehicles are consigned,
displayed, and auctioned to the highest bidder by an auctioneer; "Public highway," every street, alley, public road,
public thoroughfare, or highway in this state;

32-5B-4. Purchase price defined. For the purposes of this chapter, the purchase price is:

) For a new motor vehicle sale or lease, the total consideration whether received in money or otherwise.

However, when a motor vehicle is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on a new motor vehicle, the credit or
trade-in value allowed by the seller shall be deducted from the total consideration for the new motor vehicle to
establish the purchase price.

@ For a used motor vehicle sold or leased by a licensed motor vehicle dealer, the total consideration for the
used motor vehicle whether received in money or otherwise. However, when a motor vehicle is taken in trade by
the dealer as a credit or part payment on a used motor vehicle, the credit or trade-in value allowed by the dealer
shall be deducted from the consideration so that the net consideration is established.

® For a used motor vehicle sold, leased, or transferred by any person other than a licensed motor vehicle

dealer, the total consideration received in money or otherwise. However, when a motor vehicle is taken in trade as a
credit or part payment on a used motor vehicle, the credit or trade-in value shall be deducted from the total
consideration so that the net consideration is established. The purchaser and seller of the motor vehicle shall
submit to the county treasurer a bill of sale, approved, and supplied by the secretary. If a bill of sale is not
submitted, the excise tax will be assessed on the retail value as stated in a nationally recognized dealers' guide as
approved by the secretary of revenue. If the excise tax is assessed on the retail value, the value of the motor vehicle
taken in as credit on trade-in shall be the retail value as stated in the nationally recognized dealers' guide.
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@ For a new or used motor vehicle acquired by gift or other transfer for no or nominal consideration, the
manufacturers' suggested dealer list price for new motor vehicles and for used motor vehicles the retail value
stated in a nationally recognized dealers' guide approved and furnished by the secretary of revenue.

®) For a motor vehicle manufactured by a person who registers it under the laws of this state, the amount
expended for materials, labor, and other properly allocable costs of manufacture or in the absence of actual
expenditures for the manufacture of a part or all the motor vehicle, the reasonable value of the completed motor
vehicle.

®) For a rebuilt motor vehicle, upon its initial registration and titling, the total consideration for the salvage
vehicle, whether received in money or otherwise, and the total consideration for any assemblies, subassemblies,
parts, or component parts used.

%) For either a new or used motor vehicle, as defined by § 32-5B-21, which is a closed lease, the total
consideration whether received in money or otherwise. Total consideration is all lease payments including cash,
rebates, the net trade-in, extended warranties, administrative fees, acquisition fees, or any other fees assessed on
the purchase of the vehicle. Total consideration does not include title fees, registration fees, vehicle excise tax paid
pursuant to §8 32-5B-1, 32-5B-1.1, and 32-5B-21 to 32-5B-24, inclusive, federal excise taxes attributable to the sale
of the vehicle to the owner or to the lease of the vehicle by the owner, insurance, and refundable deposits;

®) For either a new or used motor vehicle, as defined by § 32-5B-21, which is leased, and the terms of the lease
are either not certain at the time the lease contract is executed or the lease is open ended, the purchase price shall
be the total consideration whether received in money or otherwise. Total consideration includes the purchase price
of the vehicle, plus cash, rebates, the net trade-in, extended warranties, administrative fees, acquisition fees, or any
other fees assessed on the purchase of the vehicle. Total consideration does not include title fees, registration fees,
vehicle excise tax paid pursuant to §§ 32-5B-1, 32-5B-1.1, and 32-5B-21 to 32-5B-24, inclusive, federal excise taxes
attributable to the sale of the vehicle to the owner or to the lease of the vehicle by the owner, insurance, and
refundable deposits.
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"Racing boat," any boat designed and manufactured exclusively for racing.

"Rebuilt vehicle," any motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer that has been rebuilt by the addition or deletion of
assemblies, subassemblies, parts, or component parts so that upon gross visual examination it does not appear to
be the vehicle described in the certificate of title last issued for the vehicle, or whose title has been marked as
rebuilt by this state or another state or jurisdiction.

"Recreational Park trailer," a vehicle that is primarily designed to provide temporary living quarters for recreational,

camping, or seasonal use and which:

@ Is built on a single chassis mounted on wheels.

® Has a gross trailer area not exceeding four hundred square feet in the setup mode.

© Is certified by the manufacturer as complying with American National Standards Institute
Standard No. A119.5 in effect on January 1, 2008; and has at least a seventeen-digit identification number and
the manufacturer has designated the vehicle as a recreational park model on the manufacturer statement of
origin.

"Recreational Park trailer," a vehicle that is primarily designed to provide temporary living quarters for recreational,
camping, or seasonal use and which:

@ Is built on a single chassis mounted on wheels.

®) Has a gross trailer area not exceeding four hundred square feet in the setup mode.
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© s certified by the manufacturer as complying with American National Standards Institute Standard No. A119.5
in effect on January 1, 2008; and

@ Has at least a seventeen-digit identification number and the manufacturer has designated the vehicle as a
recreational park model on the manufacturer statement of origin.

"Recreational vehicle," a vehicular portable structure built on a chassis designed to be used as a temporary dwelling
for travel, recreational, vacation, or seasonal uses, permanently identified as a travel trailer or a recreational park
trailer by the manufacturer of the trailer.

"Removal agency," any public body, private or nonprofit organization authorized to remove and salvage
abandoned and junk motor vehicles and other scrap metals. The removal agency may be authorized by chapter 32-
30 to remove vehicles, may be hired or appointed by a public body or may be in the business of removing or
salvaging vehicles;

"Road tractor," any motor vehicle designed and used for drawing other vehicles, except farm or logging tractors
used exclusively for farming or logging, and not so constructed as to
carry any load thereon either independently or any part of the weight of a vehicle or load so drawn.
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Sailboard," any single-hulled boat equipped with an articulating mast and designed to be operated by a person
standing on the board, maneuvering through the trim of the hand-held sail, and distributing his body weight on
the board.

Salvage vehicle defined--Application. For purposes of §§ 32-3-51.5, 32-3-51.20, and 32-3-51.21, the term, salvage
vehicle, means any motor vehicle that an insurer or self-insurer determines a total loss due to theft or to damage
caused by fire, vandalism, collision, weather, submersion in water, or flood. This section does not apply to any
motor vehicle more than ten model years old or with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than sixteen thousand
pounds.

"Scrap metals," waste or refuse metals that have been in actual use and have been abandoned and are fit only to be
remanufactured or recycled.

"Secretary," secretary of revenue.
"Secretary," secretary of revenue.

"Sell-it-yourself lot," any space provided to a person for a fee to display that person's boat or vehicle for sale;

Semitrailer," any vehicle of the trailer type, equipped with a kingpin assembly, designed, and used in conjunction
with a fifth wheel connecting device on a motor vehicle constructed so that some part of its weight and that of its
load rests upon or is carried by another vehicle

Semitrailer," any vehicle of the trailer type, equipped with a kingpin assembly, designed, and used in conjunction
with a fifth wheel connecting device on a motor vehicle and constructed so that some part of its weight and that of
its load rests upon or is carried by another vehicle.

Semitrailer," any vehicle of the trailer type, equipped with a kingpin assembly, designed, and used in conjunction
with a fifth wheel connecting device on a motor vehicle and constructed so that some part of its weight and that of
its load rests upon or is carried by another vehicle.
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"Snowmobile," any engine-driven vehicle of a type which uses sled type runners or skis with an endless belt tread or
similar means of contact with the surface upon which it is operated and the vehicle does not exceed forty-eight
inches in width.

"State," includes the territories and the federal districts of the United States.

"Supplemental lot," a physically separate location owned and maintained by a licensed dealer within the same
county as the principal place of business.
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"Temporary special events lot," a location other than the principal place of business, supplemental lot, or temporary
supplemental lot where a licensed trailer dealer, a licensed used car dealer, or a licensed vehicle dealer selling only
truck tractors, trailers, or motor homes, or any combination thereof, may conduct business for a period of time not
to exceed ten consecutive days for a specific purpose such as fairs, auctions, shopping center sales, or tent sales. A
temporary special events lot shall meet all local zoning and building codes for the type of business being
conducted.

"Temporary supplemental lot," a location other than the principal place of business or supplemental lot but within
the same county as the principal place of business, or within the corporate limits of a municipality which overlaps
boundaries of a county, or in an adjoining county, if the adjoining county has no licensed vehicle dealer selling
automobiles, pick-ups, or passenger vans and the temporary supplemental lot is no more than ten miles from the
principal place of business, where a licensed vehicle dealer or a licensed used vehicle dealer may conduct business
for a period of time not to exceed ten consecutive days for a specific purpose such as fairs, auto shows, auctions,
shopping center promotions, or tent sales. A temporary supplemental lot shall meet all local zoning and building
codes for the type of business being conducted. If a licensed vehicle dealer establishes a temporary supplemental
lot in a county with a licensed used vehicle dealer, a licensed used vehicle dealer may establish a temporary
supplemental lot in a county with a licensed vehicle dealer. A licensed vehicle dealer may establish, for
manufacturer sponsored events, a temporary supplemental lot in an adjoining county that has no like franchised
licensed dealer.

Trailer," any vehicle without motive power designed for carrying property or passengers wholly on its own
structure and for being drawn by a motor vehicle.

“Trailer," any vehicle without motive power designed to be coupled to or drawn by a motor vehicle and constructed

—_—

so that no part of its weight or that of its load rests upon the towing vehicle.

"Trailer," every vehicle without motive power designed to carry property or persons wholly on its own structure and
to be drawn by a motor vehicle.

"Trailer dealer,” any person who, for commission or with intent to make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with
option to purchase, offers or attempts to negotiate a sale or exchange of new or used trailers, semitrailers, or travel
trailers or who is engaged in the business of selling new or used trailers, semitrailers, or travel trailers whether such
vehicles are owned by such person.

"Travel trailer," any trailer or semitrailer which provides as its primary purpose adequate, comfortable, temporary
living quarters while on pleasure excursions or while touring for business, professional, educational, or recreational
purposes.
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"Truck tractor," any motor vehicle designed and used primarily for drawing other vehicles and not so constructed as
to carry a load other than a part of the weight of the vehicle and load so drawn.
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"Used vehicle," any motor vehicle to which title has been issued to someone other than the first person who took
title to the motor vehicle from the manufacturer's statement of origin or manufacturer's certificate of origin; and

"Used vehicle dealer," any person who, for commission or with intent to make a profit or gain sells, exchanges, rents
with option to purchase, offers or attempts to negotiate a sale or exchange of used vehicles or who is engaged in
the business of selling used vehicles.
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Vehicle," any new or used automobile, truck, truck tractor, motorcycle, motor home, trailer, semitrailer or travel
trailer of the type and kind required to be titled and registered under chapters 32-3 and 32-5, except manufactured
homes, mobile homes, mopeds or snowmobiles;

"Vehicle" shall have the meaning ascribed to it by § 32-9-1.

"Vehicle dealer," any person who, for commission or with intent to make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with
option to purchase, offers or attempts to negotiate a sale or exchange of new, or new and used vehicles, or who is
engaged wholly or in part in the business of selling new, or new and used vehicles.

"Vehicle identification number," the number assigned by the manufacturer or by the department for the purpose of
identifying the vehicle. The term includes any number or letters assigned by the manufacturer for the purpose of
identifying a component part and any such number stamped on a vehicle or part according to law or the rules
promulgated by the department for the purpose of identifying the vehicle or part.
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"Waters of this state,” any public waters within the territorial limits of this state and all waters which form a
common boundary between this state and Minnesota, North Dakota, Montana, Wyoming, lowa, or Nebraska.
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Applic

ation for Replacement of License Plates, Registration Stickers, or Lost Title (Lost in Mail)
Application for Replacement of License Plates, Registration Stickers, or Lost Title Form

State of South Dakota
Motor Vehicle Division Form 1006
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Application for Replacement of License Plates, Registration Stickers,
Off-Road Decal, or Lost Title (Lost in Mail)

Complete and submit this form to the county treasurer's office. Office locations and mailing addresses for county
treasurers can be found at http//dor.sd.gov

Instructions
- -
Name(s): _ MailingAddress:
Applicant & ) * % . *
Vehicle City: State. ____ =~ Zipcode
Information *
Phoe I S e EnallAddress: S
Title #: VIN/HIN: S

Replacement of

l, , certify that | am the current registered owner of the above-described vehicle;
that plates/stickers/decal were issued Bh to the same address (listed above), on file at the
MVD and it is within 90 days of the issue date and that the license plates/registration stickers, for which I have

License previously paid the required fee, have not been received by me.
Plates/Registration
St'Cke'l;/ OffI-Road License Plate/Decal # | O Registration Stickers [ License Plates [J Off-Road Decal
eca

| hereby request that the county treasurer or MVD issue replacement license plates/registration stickers/decal
at no additional cost to me. | swear, under penalty of perjury, that | will not use the replacement license plates,
registration stickers or off-road decal on any vehicle other than the one identified above. | further swear, should
the original set of plates, stickers or decal eventually be delivered to me, that 1 will not use them, nor allow them
to be used, on any vehicle, but will immediately return them to the county treasurer office or MVD as describe
inthe box below.

Signature of Affiant Date:

If the license plates/registration stickers/decal were purchased from the county treasurer, please submit
this form to your treasurer’s office. If the license plates/validation stickers/decal were purchased online
or at a self-service terminal location, please submit to the MVD at the address above.

Replacement
of Lost Title
Documents

I, _, certify that | am the current registered owner of the above-described
vehicle; that the vehicle title was originally printed Bh . to the same address (listed
above) on file at the MVD and it is within 90 days of the issue date, that the title applications fees have been
paid and that such title has not been received by me.

I hereby request that the Motor Vehicle Division issue a replacement title at no additional cost to me. | affirm
that if the original title is eventually received, | will immediately return it to the Motor Vehicle Division at the
above address.

Signature of affiant: Date:
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Duplicate Title Application
Duplicate Title Application Form

State of South Dakota Form #1002
Motor Vehicle Division
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 dor.sd.gov

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Duplicate Title Application

~

1. Odometer readings are required on vehicles 2011 or newer and on vehicles with a GVW of 16,000 Ibs, or less.
A If the duplicate title is to be mailed to someone other than the owner, the mailing instructions must be indicated on the form

Instructions 3. If anindividual authorized to sign for an owner through a power of attorney is signing this form, a copy of the power of attorney form
is required. The original power of attorney form should be retained in the event it is needed for assigning the duplicate title.
4. Completed applications along with a $10 fee must be submitted to your county treasurer's office.
n Odometer reading is: [ miles [ kilometers
Vehicle Declared actual vehicle mileage unless one of the following statements is checked:
Information [ Stated mileage exceeds odometer's mechanical limits, or
[] Stated mileage is not the actual mileage. WARNING-ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.
Title Number: VIN/HIN:
Year: Make: Model: Weight:
Name (as it appears on the title): SSN/SDDL:
Owiiéi Address: City: State: Zip Code:
Information  Special Mailing Name and Address:
City: State: Zip Code:
1. If the existing lien has been paid in full, a signed lien release must be submitted.
n 2. If a lien needs to be noted at the time of the application, include the loan contract, and $10 lien notation fee,

3. If requesting a printed duplicate title, the request must comply with one of the reasons below. Check the applicable reason.

Lienholder [ZJ Moving to another state (title is required to register the vehicle in the new state of residence.

Information
[ Insurance Claim/Total Loss

[ Court Order
[J Name Change, Addition or Deletion of an Owner
[ other (MUST BE APPROVED BY THE MVD) Provide Reason:

By signing, the lienholder is granting approval for the owner to obtain a duplicate title. Note: Lender signatures are only required
for an existing lien that was a paper title or an approved request for a printed title (Section D3 above)
Lienholder

X 1. Signature: Name: 1D:

Signature
Address: City: State: Zip Code:
2. Signature: Name: ID:
Address: City: State: Zip Code:
| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct and that | have not transferred the
vehicle or boat described above to another owner, or if it has been transferred, that | am applying for a duplicate title on behalf of the new

Unsworn owner. | certify the original title has been either lost, stolen, destroyed, mutilated, illegible or was never received.

Dedlaration Signed on this day of at

Printed Name: Signature:
Printed Name: Signature:
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Motor Vehicle & Boat Title Application
Motor Vehicle and Boat Title Application Form

Form #1001

State of South Dakota
Motor Vehicle Division
445 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501
SD Title #:

605-773-3541 dor.sd.gov

County: Boat #:

Motor Vehicle/Boat Title & Registration Application

This application is for a (select one): This application is for a (select only one):

T Motor Vehicle - %
Application (| [ Title Transfer CINew Title [Joperation by Law
Recquest O Boat [JRepossession [Jout-of-State Title Transfer [JUnpaid Repair Bill
Jinterstate Title [CJAbandoned Title
n Complete the applicable fields:
. VIN/HIN: Year: Make: Model
Vehicle/Boat
Information Secondary VIN: Year: Make:
Primary Color: Secondary Color: Previous State/Brand:
Motor Vehicle: Body Type: Weight/CC: Fuel Type:

Brand: (Check if applicable) ] Manufacturer Buy Back [0 Manufacturer Buy Back-Rebuilt [ Parts Only

[ Manufacturer Buy Back-Salvage [ Manufacturer Buy Back-Junking Certificate [ Junking Certificate

[ salvage Total Loss [1 Recovered Theft

Odometer (complete for vehicles 2011 or newer): Units (select one): O mites [ Kilometers

Odometer Brand: (Check one): [ Actual Mileage [J exceeds Mechanical Limits [J Not Actual Mileage

Boat: Length: ft. in. Hull Material: Boat Type:

Propulsion Type of Use:

Instructions: In the owner’s/lessor's/trust’s name section include first, middle, last. In the type of ownership section select from
the following: and, or, DBA, Guardianship, lessee, lessor, trustee, etc. In the customer type section select from the following:

Owner & individual, company, dealer, government, or trust In the identification number section input the SD driver’s license number, or
Address identification number, social security number, or federal employer identification number.
Information

1. Owner/Lessor/ Trust:

Type of Ownership;: Choose One v

Customer Type:

Identification #:

Address: City: State: Zip Code:

2. Owner/Lessor/ Trust: Type of Ownership:. Choose One v
Customer Type: Identification #:

Address: City: State: Zip Code:

3. Owner/Lessor/ Trust: Type of Ownership: Choose One Y
Customer Type: Identification #:

Address: City: State: Zip Code:

4. Owner/Lessor/ Trust: Type of Ownership:. Choose One v
Customer Type: Identification #:

Address: City: State: Zip Code:

If the title mailing address is different from the address above, see title mailing address section on page 2. Form #1001

Forms Page 51
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Title Mailling  Name: Address:
Address ) )

Information S State: Zip Code:
ﬂ Contact Name:
Contact

Information Email Address: Phone #:

- Note: A guide published by the automobile industry will be used to check values.

Motor Vehicle/Boat is: [] Tax exempt (if claiming exemption, list #): [ Rental Vehicle/SD Sales Tax #:
Vehicle/Boat ] Non-profit donated vehicle/corporation #: [ Title Only: (if applying for a “Title Only” in signing
Purchase this application you are attesting that the
Information Purchase Date: boat/vehicle will not be used upon the waterways,
- streets, or highways of this state or any state.)
1. Purchase Price Applications must be made with 45 days of the
Bill of Sale not available/NADA ] purchase date
2. Less Trade-in Allowance
3 Difference 0 PENALTY: Any person failing to
4. Tax (3% for boat, 4% for vehicles of line 3) pay the full amount of excise tax is
5. Tax Penalty & Interest subject to a Class 1 misdemeanor.
6. Credit for Tax Paid to Another State
7 Tile Fee $10.00 PENALTY: Any person who
8. Late Fee (Application made after 45 days) intentionally falsifies information
9. Lien Fee 71 on this application is guilty of a
10. Balance Due for Title Application Class 6 felony.
South Dakota Dealer Price Certification: | hereby certify that the purchase price and trade-in allowance on this
application is correct and that all accessories and added equipment have been reported.
Dealer Name: Dealer Signature:
1% Trade-in Information
Year Make: VIN/HIN: Title #:
24 Trade-in Information
Year. Make VIN/HIN: Title #:
Electronic Lien & Title (ELT): A paper title is not printed until lien(s) are released or a request by a lienholder is approved.
2 1% Lienhold
Lienholder enholcer
Information Name: Address:
City: State: Zip Code:
24 Lienholder
Name: Address:
City: State: Zip Code:
| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.
Unsworn Signed on this _ day of N at ) - - ...
Declaration  printed Name Signature:
Printed Name Signature:
Printed Name: Signature:
Printed Name: _ Signature:
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Motor Vehicle Exemptions
Motor Vehicle Exemptions

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Exemptions

5-11 must

have been
fitled in
South

Dakota

01-Vehicle/boat and house trailer owned by United States, State, County,
Municipality, Township, Public or Nonpublic Schools accredited by the
Dept of Education and Cultural Affairs Indian Tribes or schools,
nonprofit community support providers, or of fire departments or buses
owned by churches, and farm vehicles as defined in 32-5-1.3.
02-Vehicle/boat acquired by inheritance from or bequest of a decedent.
03- Vehicle/boat previously title or licensed jointly in the names of two
or more persons and subsequently transferred without consideration to
one or more such persons.

04-Vehicle/boat transferred without consider ation between spouses,
between a parent and child and between siblings.

05-Vehicle/boat transferred pursuant to any mergers or consolidations
of corporations.

06-Vehicle/boat transferred by a subsidiary corporation to its parent
corporation.

07-Vehicle/boat transferred between an individual and a corporation
where the individual and the owner of the majority of the capital stock of
the corporation are one and the same.

08-Vehicle/boat transferred between a corporation and its stockholders
or creditors when to effectuate a dissolution of the corporation.
09-Vehicle/boat transferred between an individual and a limited or
general partnership where the individual and the owner of the majority
interest in the partership are one and the same person.
10-Vehicle/boat transferred to effect a sale of all or substantially all of
the assets of the business entity.

11-Vehicle/boat transferred between corporations, both subsidiary and
no subsidiary, if the individuals who hold a majority of stock in the first
corporation also hold a majority of stock in the second corporation; but
these individuals need not hold the same ratio of stock in both
corporations.

12-Vehicle/boat acquired by a secured party or lienholder in satisfaction
of adebt.

13-Vehicle first transferred to a person other than a licensed motor
vehicle dealer when such vehicle was previously licensed and registered
pursuant to 32-5-27 (exemption applies only if title previously coded 27).

Motor Vehicle Exemptions

14-Any motor vehicle sold or transferred which is eleven or more model
years old and which is sold or transferred for $2.500 or less and any boat
which is eleven or more model years old and which is sold or transferred for
$2.500 or less. ($2.200 prior to July 1, 2016)

17-Out-of- state vehicle titled (option of licensing) in the corporate name of
a licensed motor vehicle dealer according to 32-5-27. Firstretail sale of
vehicle is taxable.

18- Motor vehicle/boat transferred by a trustor to his trustee or from a
trustee to a beneficiary of a trust

19- Vehicle rented for 28 days or less and not consecutively rented for
more than one 28-day period or a trailer that has an unladen weight of
9,000 pounds or more, rented for 6 months or less and not consecutively
rented for more than one 6 month period.

36- Franchised (new) motor vehicle dealer pays 4% excise tax on the
manufacturer’s suggested retail price of a new vehicle and licenses motor
vehicle.

42-Dealer tiles (option of licensing) used vehicle/boat and does not pay
excise tax.

48-MNonprofit corporation that will donate vehicle.

84- Insurance company titles vehicle/boat and does not pay 4% excise tax.
Plates are notremoved from vehicle.

92-House trailer (subject to 4% initial registration fee upon initial
registration).

94-ATV's purchased prior to July 1, 2016 are exempt from the 4% excise tax.
95- A “title only” is issued when the applicant does not purchase license
plates or pay the 4% excise tax. In signing this application, you are attesting
that the vehicle/boat will not be used upon the streets and highways/waters
of this state or any other state.

97-Tax previously paid by the owner of the vehicle/boat (previous
interstate, or noting a third lien).

98-Applies when an even trade takes place where both vehicles/boats are
of equal value or a trade down takes place where the vehicle/boat
purchased has lesser value than the vehicle/boat traded. Prices must be
substantiated with a bill of sale.

99-Applicant surrenders out-of-state title in applicant’s name from a state
that has an equal and similar tax for a South Dakota title, reciprocity is
granted.
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Out of State Dealer Tax Assessment
Out-of-State Dealer Tax Assessment Form

Form# 1004
State of South Dakota
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov
Out-of-State Dealer Tax Assessment
This form is to be filled out by the dealer who sells the motor vehicle. Please submit the completed form
Instructions with the title transfer paperwork to the county treasurer’s office.
n Name of Dealership: Agent for Dealership:
Dealership Street Address: City State Zip
Information =S
Phone Number: Email Address:
Year: Make: Model:
Vehicle
information  VIN/HIN: Title Number:
“ Date of SagzJ Selling Price: Tax Amount:
Tax . .
lifbraston State Tax was Paid to: _ Tax Type (Sales, Excise, Etc.)
n Purchaser's Name: Address:
Purchaser ,
information Y State: Zip Code:
This statement is made with the knowledge that it is a Class 5 felony to make a false statement and that in
- doing so, | am subject to the penalty of South Dakota law.
Unsworn
Declaration | declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signed on the day £ at _

Printed Name of Dealership Representative:

Dealership Representative’s Signature:
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Request for Tonnage Decals (HVUT)
Request for Tonnage Decals (HVUT) Form

State of South Dakota FORM: 1100
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue Tax Period:
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http.//dor.sd.gov
DEFARTMENT OF REVENUE DORform2290@state sd.us County:
Request for Tonnage Decals (HVUT) L. Choose One v
-
- Registered Owner: ID#/EIN:
A
Business Name or Business Owner (name on form 2290)_ 4
Customer .
Information Email Address: Phone #:
South Dakota Title Number or VIN: Year Make
a -
Vehicle
Information

I hereby affirm that | have not paid the federal Heavy Highway Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) on the vehicle(s) listed above
but qualify to receive tonnage decals under one of the following conditions: (Check appropriate box)
[0 1 acquired the vehicle(s) within 60 days prior to this date. | acknowledge that a HVUT return for the current period must be
filed with the IRS within 60 days and agree to provide a copy of the stamped form 2290 to the State of South Dakota as proof
this was done. Visit www.IRS gov/trucker for information about the Heavy Highway Vehicle Use Tax

| have filed to suspend the tax. My HVUT return was submitted to the IRS requesting suspension of the tax for the above
[0 vehicle(s) because it will be driven fewer than 5,000 miles (7,500 miles for agricultural vehicles) during the current HVUT period.
| agree to provide the State of South Dakota a copy of my stamped form 2290 within 90 days from the date of registration.

This is NOT a Highway Vehicle and meets ALL criteria listed below to be excluded from filing the HVUT.

O e The vehicle chassis has permanently mounted to it machinery or equipment used to perform certain operations
(construction, manufacturing, drilling, mining, timbering, processing, farming, or similar operations) if the operation of
the machinery or equipment is unrelated to transportation on or off the public highways;

* The vehicle chassis has been specially designed to serve only as a mobile carriage and mount (and power source, if
applicable) for the machinery or equipment, whether or not the machinery or equipment is in operation; and
+ The vehicle chassis couldn't, because of its special design and without substantial structural modification, be used as

Unsworn part of a vehicle designed to carry any other load.
Declaration . S
| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct
* * *
Signed on the ____ day of ; at
» =
Printed Name: Signature: ___ Stgiatewre Qfé‘w

Notice to customers who paid the HVUT and request for proof of filing:
You are hereby notified that proof of filing must be supplied to the State for vehicles required to pay the Heavy Highway
Vehicle Use Tax Please supply a copy of your IRS stamped form 2290 as proof of filing the HVUT. Copies of your unstamped
return paperwork and proof of payment to the IRS may be supplied as alternative proof of filing the HVUT.

Your tonnage decals will not be released until this documentation is received by the State of South Dakota

Email your documents to DORform2290@state.sd.us or provide to your county treasurer's office.
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Tax Payment Verification
Tax Payment Verification Form

State of South Dakota Form# 1007
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Tax Payment Verification

Instructions

This form must be submitted with South Dakota’s application for title to qualify for credit against
South Dakota’s motor vehicle excise tax for a like or similar tax paid to another state on the purchase
of a vehicle. The out-of-state title being submitted must be in the same name as the applicant. The
applicant will receive credit for the percentage of tax paid that is equal to or greater than the tax
owed to this state.

n Name: Phone Number:
Applicant
Information Address: City: State: Zip:
I am attaching proof from another state of tax previously paid. | acknowledge the Department may require
additional documentation.
Tax

Information

Amount Paid: Tax Type (Sales, Excise, Etc.):

State tax was paid to: Date of tax payment:

Unsworn
Declaration

This information is made with the knowledge that it is a class 5 felony to make a false statement to the
Department of Revenue. | declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the
foregoing is true and correct.

Signed on this day of ¥ at

Printed Name: Signature:
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Tribal Member Motor Vehicle Excise Tax Exemption Application
Tribal Exemption Application Form

State of South Dakota Form# 1005
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Tribal Member Motor Vehicle Excise Tax Exemption Application

Please submit the completed application along with copies of your tribal identification card, your driver's license (if
available) and the title application paperwork to your local county treasurer’s office.

=

Instructions
“ Name: Address:
Applicant City: State: _ Zip Code: _
Information
Phone Number: Email Address:
Vehicle Title Number: VIN:
Information
To be exempt from South Dakota's motor vehicle excise tax
imposed by SDCL 32-5b-1, at the time the vehicle is purchased Tribe Exemption Code
. the applicant must Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe 20
IE)f(empt:)n Crow Creek Sioux Tribe 23
nformation : . i i
1. Be an enrolled member of a federally recognized Indian Ela?d':“u:‘s’f”‘ T"Tb‘;) ;’;
tribe: AND ower 4 |qm rbe
. Oglala Sioux Tribe 26
2. Reside on Indian country (as defined by 18 US.C. § 1151) Rosebud Sioux Tribe 21
in South Dakota that is governed by the tribe in which Sisseton Wahpeton Sioux Tribe 28
you are a member. Standing Rock Sioux Tribe 22
Yankton Sioux Tribe 29
Tax Exemption Code:
ﬂ Are you an enrolled member of a federally recognized tribe? Cyes OONo
Exemption ¢ yes please identify the following: Tribe: Enroliment Number.
Qualifying

Information At the time you purchased the vehicle, in which county did you live?

What was your physical address at the time you purchased the vehicle? (No PO box numbers)

What was the legal description of where you resided at the time you purchased the vehicle? (Only required for the
following counties: Moody, Bennett, Mellette, Tripp, Gregory, and Charles Mix)

- Please attach copies of: [ Tribal Identification Card (Required) [ Driver's License

Doaumentation

& Signature I declare and affirm under the penalties of law that the information | have provided on this application is

in all things true and accurate.

Applicant’s Signature: Date:
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License Plates and Decals

License Plates and Decals Forms

Affidavit for Duplicate License Plates

Disabled Person Parking Permit and License Plates Application Form

Emblem Decal Application Form

Exempt Entity License Plate Application Form

Farm Decal Application Form

Military License Plate Application Form

Personalized Plate Application Form

Refund Request Form

Special License Plate Application Form

Veteran and Active-Duty Military License Plate Application and Affidavit Form
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Affidavit for Duplicate License Plate/Validation Sticker

SD EForm - 2022 V1

- Affidavit for Duplicate License Plate/Validation Sticker

A South Dakota Department of Revenue
Revised o S ,
07/08 Division of Motor Vehicles
' 445 E. Caprol Avenue | Pierre, SD 57301-3185 | 605-773-3541

Declaration

I, of

certify that I am the current registered owner of the described vehicle/boat and wish to purchase duplicate license plates and/or validation
stickers.

Vehicle Description

Year Make VIN# Title #

Replacing License # and/or Sticker # Expiration Date:

Reasons For Replacement (Plcase check one)

I:l Requesting county plates reflecting county of residency. (current plates are being surrendered to county treasurer)

D License plate is damaged. (current plates are being surrendered to county treasurer)

I':I License plates/decals lost or stolen.

Lost or Stolen License Plates
Lost or stolen license plates or validation stickers must be reported to a law enforcement agency. Reported to:

Law Enforcement Agency City

Owner(s) Signature Date

New Plate Information (completed by county)

Number of license plates returned to County Treasurer o 1 2

Number of validation stickers returned to County Treasurer 0o 1 2

Fees Paid Motor Vehicle: $10.00 | Trailer: $2.00
Motorcyclke: $2.00 Snowmobike:  $2.00

Boat: $2.00

New License # and/or Sticker #

County Date

County Signature/Titke

White: Division of Motor Vehicle Yellow: County Pink: Owner



Disabled Person Parking Permit/License Plates Application

Disabled Person Parking Permit and License Plates Application Form

State of South Dakota Form # 1305
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Disabled Person Parking Permit and License Plates Application

Complete and submit this application to your county treasurer’s office with the applicable fees.
Note: You must be a resident of South Dakota to qualify for the special plates. If you do not possess a valid SD driver's
license, some other form of proof of residency (SD utility bill in your name, etc) is required.

Instructions
n Name: Dependent name (if applicable):
Applicant Address: City:
Information
State: Zip Code: County:
Email Address: SD Driver’s License # or SSN:

Permits

Select the type of permit that you are applying for. Check all permits that apply. See page two for medical certification,
which is required for all permits.

[ Permanent Portable Permit (Permanent permits must be renewed every five years. A doctor certification is not required
upon renewal.)

Renewal of Permanent Portable Permit (This permit is renewable 90 days prior to the expiration date. A doctor
certification is not required upon renewal )

Two Portable Permits Requested (Permanent permits only.)

A Second Portable Permit Requested (Permanent permits only.)

gBaa o

Temporary Portable Permit (Issued for a temporary disability not to exceed twelve months.)
O Renewal of Temporary Permit (See page two for medical certification.)

Original Permit/DP Number: Previous Expiration Date:

Plates &
Vehicle
Information

Select the type of plate that you are applying for then complete the vehicle information. Note: a $7.50 fee is required
for each set of license plates to be mailed.

[ vehicle
O Motorcycle

Year: Make: Model :

Title Number: VIN:

Current Permanent DPPP Number (if applicable):

Signature

| hereby request that a portable physically disabled parking permit or license plates be issued in the name of the applicant (certified applicant). |
certify that | am a resident of SD and that the above information is accurate and by signing this application, I certify that | have read and
understand this application pertaining to physically disabled parking responsibilities, uses and penaities and fines of using and displaying a
physically disabled parking permit or spedal license plates. | further understand that it is a Class 1 misdemeanor to submit a false or fraudulent
application or to alter a permit. | also give permission to the applicant’s physician to supply the information requested on this application

Signature is by: (Check one)
[ Medically Certified Applicant (print name):

1 For Applicant By (Print name and relationship):

Signature: Date:

Note: A physician is required to complete section F on page 2.
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Physician
Confirmation

Please have your physician complete the following page. Check all circumstances that apply. A disability in and of itself
is not a valid criterion for certification.

[ cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.

[ cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, a prosthetic device, a
wheelchair, or another assertive device.

[ Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second,

when measured by spirometry, is less than on liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at

rest.

[0 uses portable oxygen

[ Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as class Il or class

IV according to the American Heart Association leaflet. “The functional and therapeutic classifications of patients with
diseases of the heart,” in print on June 1, 1990.

[ Is severely imited in ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
Please check the applicable condition of the applicant/dependent.

[ Physical disability is permanent. (If checked, portable permit must be renewed every five years, but does not required
doctor certification upon renewal)

O Physical disability is temporary. (Portable permit can be issued for a maximum length of one year.)
Date of onset: Expected date of recovery:

Physician Note: Permissuve use of physically disabled parking facilities should only be approved in those situation where an
applicant or dependent’s physical or medical condition is such that it is impossible or causes severe physical hardship on the
applicant or dependent to use parking facilties other than those reserved for physically disabled parking.

Physician’s Statement: Under punishment of perjury, in my opinion the applicant meets one or more of the six conditions listed

under ARSD 64:34:01:01:01 and entitles the applicant or dependent to receive a permanent or temporary portable permit, or
license plates as provided under SD law.

Physician’s Name: Address:
City: State: Zip Code:
Phone Number:
Physician’s Signature: Date:
Permit Number(s): Issue Date:
County
Treasurer's License Plate Number: Expiration Date:
Use
(Must be
completed)
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Please read the following information before completing the disabled person parking permit and license plates
application. Note: You must be a resident of South Dakota to qualify for the special plates and permit. If you do not
Usage possess a SD driver’s license, some other proof of physical residence in the state is required such as a utility bill in
Instructions your name indicating a physical SD address.

Responsibilities:

A. By completing and signing the application, you are requesting issuance of either a special portable permit or vehicle license plates to park in reserved
parking for individuals with physical disabilities. By signing the application, you are also subject to all rules, laws, regulations and fines governing the use of
the special portable permit or license plates.

El-gbahty (32-5-76 through 32-5-76.3)
Eligibility for special portable permit or vehicle license plates. (ARSD 64:34:01: 01:01) Persons with physical disabilities which limit or impair their ability to
walk 200 ft without assistance for a portable permit or vehicle license plates. Such persons must meet one or more criteria as certified by a licensed
physician.

B.  The parent or legal guardian of a dependent with physical disabilities which limit or impair their ability to walk 200 ft. without assistance are eligible for a
portable permit or vehicle license plates. Such persons must meet one or more criteria as certified by a licensed physican.

Types of Reserved Physically Disabled Person’s Parking Permits:

A, Permanent portable permits are issued to individuals who have a permanent physical disability. They are issued for a maximum of 5 years and can be
renewed. Renewals do not require doctor certification.

B. Temporary portable pemmits are for individuals who have a temporary physical disability and expire not more than 12 months after the date of issuance.

C. Vehicle license plates with appropriate reserved physically disabled person’s designation are issued only to individuals with permanent physical disabilities

Note: In all three cases, if the applicant is no longer considered to have a physical disability or is deceased, the distinctive portable permit or license plates shall

be sumrendered to the county treasurer. Failure to surrender the portable permit or licenses plates is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

Use of Permit or Special Vehicle License Plates:

A.  The permit or special license plates are to be used only to transport a physically disabled persorn{s) and permit the operator of a vehicle transporting the
physically disabled person(s) to park only for the time reasonably necessary to load or unload passengers in any space reserved for the physically disabled

B.  When using a reserved physically disabled person’s parking site to load or unload a physically disabled person, the permit must be visually displayed
through the front windshield of the vehicle.

C. For safety reasons, before exiting a designated physically disabled person's parking site, the permit must be removed from the rearview mirror before the
vehicle is set into motion.

D All physically disabled person’s parking permits bear an expiration date. A permit may be renewed 90 days prior to its expiration date by completing a
permit application and, if required, having it validated by a physidan. Applications may be obtained through your local county treasurer’s office.

Penalties and Fines:
A Individuals giving false information on the application for a portable permit or special license plates or altering a portable permit are subject to a Class 1
misdemeanor.
B. Failure to display a portable pemmit does not excuse the permit holder from parking violations issued because of failure to display the permit (ARSD
64:34.01.05)
C.  Any person who is not certified as physically disabled who exercises the reserved parking privileges granted to individuals with disabilities will be subject to
a Class 2 misdemeanor. The court shall assess a fine of not less than $100 if the parking space is marked in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities
Act Accessibility Guidelines as of January 1%, 2002. (SDCL 32-30-11.3).
D.  If the applicant is no longer a person with a physical disability, is deceased, or if the applicant no longer transports persons with physical disabilities, the
portable permit and/or special license plates must be surrendered within 30 days to the county treasurer of the applicant’s county or residence.
E The owner of any vehicle not displaying a serially numbered certificate or special license plates parked in a parking space designated as reserved for people
with physical disabilities is subject to a Class 2 misdemeanor. The court shall assess a fine of not less than $100 if the parking space is marked in accordance
with the Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines as of January 1%, 2002.
Class 1 or 2 Misdemeanor Definition (§ 22-6-2)
A.  Except as otherwise provided by law, misdemeanors are divided into two classes which are distinguished from each other by the following maximum
penailties which are authorized upon cornviction:
1. Class 1 misdemeanor. one-year imprisonment in a county jail or one thousand dollar fine, or both:
2. Class 2 misdemeanor. thirty days imprisonment in a county jail or two hundred dollar fine, or both.

Care and Replacement of the Portable Permit:

Itis the responsibility of the permit holder to ensure that the permit(s) is kept in a secure place to prevent the permit from being lost or stolen. The permit
holder will be held responsible for any misuse or any permit which has not been reported lost or stolen to law enforcement and to the Motor Vehicle Division,
Spedal Licensing Section

If a permit is reported lost or stolen to the proper agencies, the permit reported may not be reactivated if found or returned to the permit holder. Once the
permit is reported lost or stolen, it is flagged invakid and should not be used. The permit should be returned to the county treasurer.

Any alterations to the permit void the permit.

If a permit becomes deteriorated to the point where any information is obliterated, the permit holder must replace the permit. The deteriorated permit should
be returned with the application for a replacement permit.

Application is made through your local county treasurer’s office.
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Emblem Plate Decal Application
Emblem Decal Application Form

State of South Dakota Form # 1306
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov
Emblem Plate Decal Application

Complete the application and submit to the Motor Vehicle Division Payment must be submitted with the application An electronic
decal design with the requested logo must be submitted with the application. The accepted file format is vector art format (i.e.:
Instructions Adobe lllustrator). Please submit logo designs via email to emblem@state sd us.

To qualify for emblem plate decals an organization needs to meet the following requirements, as defined in 32-5-176:
1. The primary activity is to serve the community, contribute to the welfare of others and is not offensive or discriminatory.
2. The name and purpose of the organization does not promote any specific product or brand name that is for sale.
3. The decal of the organization does not promote a specific religion, faith, or anti-religious beliefs.
4. If the organization is a first responder organization, the SD Department of Public Safety must approve the application and decal.

* *
n Organization Name; Address:
* * *
O[ganization City: State; Zip Code:
Information * *
Contact Person: Email Address:
* *
Contact Phone Number: FEIN:
In addition to the completed application, as defined by SDCL 32-5-175, the organization must provide the following
documents: Either attached to this form or emailed to the address above.
Decal 1. A copy of its Articles of Incorporation for each organization. [

2. A copy of its Charter By-Laws for each organization. &

Requirements X ¢ R " .
3. Any Internal Revenue Service ruling for each organization's non-profit tax exemption status.

Please answer the following questions:

1. s your organization a non-profit corporation or group of non-profit corporations? O Yes [CINo
2. Is your organization on file with the Secretary of State’s office? O Yes CINo
3. Does your organization have at least 200 members, donors, or volunteers? [ Yes [INo

The sale of these emblems is subject to sales tax. Please provide your sales tax ID for verification:

Standard plate decals can be no larger than 3 inches by 3 inches. Motorcycle plate decals can be no larger than 1% by 1 V2 inches.
n (Decal designs must be on an opaque background.) Decals may be ordered in the quantities listed below at a cost of $1.50 per
decal set. Minimum order must be 200 decals. The prices below include a 15% administrative fee. Please contact our office at the

Decal Order  email listed above for orders larger than listed below.

Information
1 New Order 1 Re-order

[1] Check here if you are requesting a new design or a design change (associated setup fees are listed below.) Set-up fees are
charged for new decal designs or any existing decal design changes. All final designs must be approved by the South
Dakota Motor Vehicle Division.

The set-up fee for a new design or design changes are: (1 1-4 color design: $50.00 [715-8 color design: $75.00
[ 200 vehicle decals (100 sets)-$115.00 1200 motorcycle decals -$115.00
1 250 vehicle decals (125 sets)-$143.75 1250 motorcycle decals -$143.75
(11300 vehicle decals (150 sets)-$172.50 (71300 motorcycle decals -$172.50
1400 vehicle decals (200 sets)-$230.00 1400 motorcycle decals -$230.00 $0.00
Total :
-

n Name on Credit Card for online payment

Contact Signature: Stguatere Qté"w Date: 04/20/2023

Signature
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Exempt Entity License Plate Application
Exempt Entity License Plate Application Form

State of South Dakota Form 1307
Motor Vehicle Division Date:
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

South Dakota Exempt Entity License Plate Application

Type of Application: (Please select one) [J New [ Re-assignment
Application Agency Name:
Information
Mailing Address:
Special Mailing Address: (if different from above)
City State: Zip Code: FEIN #
Contact Person: Phone Number:
n All plate fees are $9.20 plus $7.50 for shippin er set.
Type of [] State ] Federal [ County [J City/Township [] Tribal/BIE/BIA
License
Plates [[] Church Bus [J Community Support Provider (approved by Division of Education) [ Mass Transit
[[] Fire Department [ Driver's Ed. (indicate school)
[Z] Public School (indicate district name & number) [ University
1 Non-public school (indicate school nhame) [] Technical School
[[1 Special Education School [ Educational Cooperatives/Multi-districts
[] Alternative Program for High School Students [ Vocational Multi-District
[] School Bus (not school owned):
[J Leased [[] Contracted
Lessor/Contractor Name: Address:
City: State: Zip Code:
New Title # (if Year: Make: Vehicle Identification Number Plate # to be
i purchased from a (VIN): reassigned:
Vehicle SD dealer):
Information

Each license plate will be issued a decal indicating the city location except counties, which will have a decal indication the county location.
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Farm Decal Application
Farm Decal Application Form

State of South Dakota Form# 1008
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Farm Decal Application

A
- Completed applications must be submitted to the applicable county treasurer’s office.
Instructions
n One decal should be placed on each plate (front & rear) of each farm vehicle. The decals should be placed on
the upper left of the current license plate.
Farm Decal
Qualifications

If you are no longer operating a vehicle on which the farm decal should be displayed, remove the farm decals
from the license plates.

Note: Farm vehicles are exempt from certain Federal Motor Carrier requirements if the motor vehicle meets
the following criteria:
e Does not transport hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding.
e Travels in the state the vehicle is registered in or in another state.
e |s operated by an owner or operator of a farm or ranch, or by a family member or employee of
the owner or operator.
Transports agricultural commodities, livestock, machinery or supplies to or from a farm or ranch.
Is not used in for-hire motor carrier operations, except if it is operated under a crop share farm
lease agreement, is owned by a tenant with respect to that agreement; and is transporting the
landlord’s portion of the crops under that agreement.
e Either

o Has a GVW or GVWR (whichever is greater) of 26,001 or less, operating anywhere in the
United States; or

o Has a GVW or GVWR (whichever is greater) of more than 26,001 pounds, operating in
interstate commerce within the state in which it is registered;

o Has a GVW or GVWR (whichever is greater) of more than 26,001 pounds, operating in
interstate commerce within 150 air miles of the farm or ranch with respect to which the
vehicle is being operated, regardless of whether it is being operated within the state it is
registered.

Note: The farm decals do not exempt your vehicle from any taxes or yearly license plate fees.

-
Signature: Date:

Signature
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Military License Plate Application
Military License Plate Application Form

State of South Dakota Form #1303
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Military License Plate Application

=

Instructions

Please complete the application and submit to the county treasurer's office with any applicable fees. There is a $7.50 mailing fee
for each set of plates. Applicant must possess a South Dakota driver's license or identification card to qualify.

Applicant
Information

Applicant Name: Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Email Address: Phone Number:

&

Vehicle
Information

Plate Type: [ venicle [ Motorcycle

Year. Make: Model:

Title # VIN:

=

A

o
aﬂ
®

Plate
Selection

Please select the requested license plate and include any necessary documentation with the application.

These requirements apply to the following plates: a $10 initial fee plus annual registration fees are assessed. Applicant must
submit a copy of the DD214 forms, copy of certificate awarded upon presentation of medal, or other official documentation that
substantiates eligibility.

1 Air Force Cross ] Distinguished Service Cross
1 Bronze Star [ Navy Cross
[J Bronze Star with Valor Service [ Silver Star

O Distinguished Flying Cross
These requirements apply to the following plates: a $10 initial fee and $10 annual fee are assessed. There is a maximum of 2 sets
of plates per applicant. Note: There is no fee assessed for the Congressional Medal of Honor plate.

L1 Congressional Medal of Honor

] Disabled American Veteran (Indicate VA Clam#: )
*Benefits decision letter from the VA will need to be provided.*

O Pearl Harbor Survivor

L1 Prisoner of War

These requirements apply to the following plate: a $10 initial fee and $10 annual fee are assessed. Applicant must submit a copy
of their 2214 forms. There is a maximum of 2 sets of plates per applicant.

1 Purple Heart
These requirements apply to the following plate: a $10 fee plus annual registration fees are assessed. Applicant must submit a
copy of their military ID.

] National Guard (Indicate State: and National Guard Unit # )

These requirements apply to the following plate: a $10 initial fee plus annual registrations fees are assessed. Applicant must
submit a copy of the Department of Defense Report of Casualty (DD Form 1300) or death notice, or verification from the US
Department of Veteran Affairs (VA) that the service member’s death was service related.

[1 Gold Star (Family)

Unsworn
Declaration

By signing this statement, | give consent to the Veteran's Administration to release information to the South Dakota Department of
Revenue regarding my eligibility for the requested type of special license plate issued by the State of South Dakota.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signed on the day of at

Printed Name: Signature:
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Personalized License Plate Application
Personalized Plate Application Form

State of South Dakota Form# 1300
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov
Personalized License Plate Application
Complete and submit this application to your county treasurer’s office with the applicable fees. The Motor Vehicle Division may
refuse to issue or recall previously issued personalized license plates. To qualify for a personalized plate an applicant must be a

South Dakota resident (proof may be required). Personalized plates are only available on the following vehicles: non-commercial

Instructions : e ; 2
passenger vehicles or motor homes for a $25 annual fee, and motorcycles for a $20 annual fee. Initial applications require an
additional $7.50 mailing fee. Commercial vehicles and interstate registrations are NOT eligible for personalized plates.
Current license plates MUST be surrendered at the time of application.

Applicants Name: Address:
Applicant = ) 2 s

Information wy: State: p Code:

Phone Number: _ . ~ Email Address:
Year: Make: Model:
Vehicle

Information  VIN/HIN: Title Number: Current Plate #:

Indicate any spaces you would like on the license plate. An applicant can check plate availability of specific plate option on
n www sdcars.org “CK A PL8”". Personalized plate requests will be denied if they contain any of the following:

Special characters such as (#, $, & @, etc)
Vulgar words, terms, or abbreviations, characters that express, represent, or imply a profane, obscene, or sexual meaning
Words or terms that are offensive or disrespectful of a race, religion, color, deity, ethnic heritage, gender, sexual
orientation, disability status or political affiliation
Words or terms that support lawlessness, unlawful activities, or that relate to illegal drugs or paraphernalia
Foreign words or terms that fall into any of the previous categories
Combinations of letters and/or numbers that conflict with or are a duplicate of another South Dakota license plate or plate
series

e Combinations of letters and/or numbers that could be misinterpreted or are confusing from a readability standpoint for
law enforcement purposes.

Personalized
Plate Request

[ Car, Truck, Motor Home [ Motorcycle [ Rear Plate Only -Current Mileage Required
e  Current Mileage must be submitted annually at the time of
renewal.

e Note: To qualify for this plate, your vehicle must travel less
than 7,500 miles per renewal year.
1% Choice: _ : _(7-character limit for car, truck or motorhomes, 6-character limit for motorcycles)
cy!

2™ Choice: (7-character limit for car, truck or motorhomes, 6-character limit for motorcycles)

Please explain the meaning of the requested personalized plate. If your first choice is not available or denied, your second choice will be considered.

1 Choice Meaning:

2" Choice Meaning:

n Applicant’s Signature: Date:
Applicant’s
Signature
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Refund Request Form
Refund Request Form

State of South Dakota Form# 1600
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Refund Request

Complete the applicable portion of the form to request a refund of fees paid.

Instructions For commercial refund requests the following terms apply:
e Vehicle license plates and registration forms must be surrendered at the time the refund request is made.
e An administrative fee of $10.00 will be withhekd from the refund amount due.
* Applications for refund must be made by the 5 of the month for that month to be eligible for refund with the remaining
months in the registration year

For non-commercial refund requests the following terms apply:
e Refunds must be requested within 90 days from the date the registration was renewed.
e No refund may be made unless the stickers are returned unused and still attached to the registration card.
e Application must be submitted to the county treasurer’s office where the vehicle was registered.

For refund requests of the SD motor vehicle excise tax the following terms apply:
e Required documentation must be submitted, along with the original title, and a $10 title correction fee.

“ Name: Address:

Applicant City: State: Zip Code: _
Information
Year: Make: Model: Transaction #:
; Title #: VIN: License Plate # (if applicable):
Vehicle
Information  pae of Registration: Commercial License Tonnage (if applicable):
County: Effective Date of Termination (for commercial refunds):
n Please select a check box and sign the form for the applicable refund request: Beiina Clemation
Total Refund for ___Months: $
Refund [0 commercial Refund-|, the undersigned owner of the above reference
etun vehicle, do hereby surrender the commercial license plates and vehicle Less Administrative Fee: $-10.00 :
quuest & registration form issued to this vehicle, and in doing, | understand this 10
Signature vehicle can no longer be used as a vehicle which is required by state law ~ Net Amount of Refund S

to be registered as a commercial vehicle. | request a refund of the unused

portion of the commercial vehicle license fee paid. Hore: YRS el dicactly So.ne vilbicla

owner.

[ Non-Commercial Refund-| certify that the above referenced vehicle was renewed in error and | have surrendered the
vehicle’s registration along with the unused license plate(s) and/or decal(s). This request for refund is made within 90
days of the date the license fee was paid.

County Use: The above unused registration, plate and/or decal has been surrendered to our office.

Refund Amount County: Employee Name:

[] 4% Excise Tax Refund -| certify that my reason for requesting a 4% excise tax refund is one of the following (select
reason) and | have attached the required documentation, title correction fee, and original title:

[ A bill of sale was not available or was incomplete at the time of the application. (submit bill of sale)

[ Trade-in or purchase was indicated incorrectly by the dealership. (submit affidavit of facts from the dealership,
corrected purchase agreement, and any other supporting documentation)

Owner's Signature: Date:
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Special License Plate Application
Special License Plate Application Form

Form # 1304
State of South Dakota
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Special License Plate Application

Please complete this form and submit to the county treasurer’s office, along with any applicable fees and proof of

2

Instructions  South Dakota residency.
n Name: Address:
Applica'nt City: State: Zip Code:
Information
Email Address: Phone #:
Year: Make: Model:
Yehice Title #: VIN:
Information <ok :
n [7) Amateur/Commercial Radio: (SDCL 32-5-65 & 32-5-65.1) Applicant must either have a current official license from the FCC.
A copy of the FCC license must be included with the application. There is a $7.50 mailing fee and a $10 initial fee for this plate.
Plate
Selection FCC License Issue Date: Station Call Letters:
[ Construction: (SDCL 32-9-3 & 32-9-3.3) This vehicle must be inspected and approved by the Highway Patrol. There is a $7.50 mailing
fee and a $25 annual fee for this plate Plate Type: CVehicle O Trailer
[) Dignity: (SDCL 32-5-184 to 32-5-186) There is a $7.50 mailing fee and a $10 initial fee for this plate
Plate Type: 1 Vehicle ] Motorcycle
O Firefighter: (SDCL 32-5-113 to 32-5-122) Applicant must be currently certified and recognized by the State Fire Marshal's
office. There is a $7.50 mailing fee and a $10 inttial fee for this plate.
Affiliated Fire Department:
[ Historical/Original Historical: (SDCL 32-5-77 & 32-5-77.2) The vehicle must be more than 30 years older than the current
model year. If applying for original historical plates, a color photograph of the original license plates must be included
with this application The original plates must have been issued in the same year as the model year of the vehicle and
cannot conflict with any current plate series. There is a $7.50 mailing fee for historical plates, a $1.50 mailing fee for original
historical registration and a $10 one-time fee for both plates.
Plate Type: [ Vehicle [] Motorcycle Original Historical Plate Number:
[l Indian Tribal: (SDCL 32-5-123 & 32-5-124) There is a $7.50 mailing fee and a $10 initial fee for this plate.
Affiliated Tribe:
0 Rear Plate Only: (SDCL 32-5-179 to 32-5-183) To qualify for a rear plate only the motor vehicle cannot exceed 7,500
miles driven per year. The motor vehicle is not to be used for general or commercial transportation, but rather for
occasional transportation, public displays, parades, and related pleasure and hobby activities. The current odometer is
required. There is a $7.50 mailing fee and a $25 annual fee for this plate.
(Please use personalized license plate application for personalized rear plate requests.)
Current Odometer Reading:
ﬂ I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct
JEPPan Signed on the _ _day of S vt :
Declaration . y
Printed Name: Signature:
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Veteran/Active-Duty Military Member License Plate Application
Veteran and Active-Duty Military License Plate Application and Affidavit Form

State of South Dakota Form # 1302
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Veteran & Active Duty Military License Plate Application & Affidavit

Complete this application to apply for military active-duty license plates or military veteran license plates and submit to the county
treasurer’s office. A special plate fee of $10 is assessed for each set of license plates ordered along with a $7.50 mailing fee per set
Instructions of plates. The annual registration fee associated with the vehicle must be paid prior to or at the time the special plate is ordered.

> |

n Name: Address:
Applicant City: State: Zip Code:
Information Email Address: Phone:
Plate Type: [ Vehicle O Motorcycle
Vehicle Year Make: Model
iiommaton Title Number. VIN:
n Choose One: 1 Woman Veteran License Plate
1 Active-Duty Member License Plate L1 Veteran Indian Tribal Plate (Section E and F not required)
Type of [J Veteran License Plate Indicate Affiliated Tribe:
Plate Current plates assigned to this vehicle must be returned to receive credit towards the purchase of this new plate. If the

current plate is a specialty plate, you may keep the special plate, not receive credit, and they can be reassigned to another
vehicle while valid.

Choose One: *Required field unless applying for a Veteran Indian Tribal Plate.

= I Army {1 Marines L[] Coast Guard 0 Navy L1 Air Force

Military Branch

Optional-Choose One: If an indicator is not selected or "None” is selected, only the branch of service will be printed. (Not
n required if applicant is applying for a Veteran Indian Tribal Plate.)

Plate Indicator [0 None O Korea [ Desert Storm [ Retired [ Vietnam ] Bosnia
[0 Combat Veteran [ Panama [ Afghanistan [ Peace Time [J Grenada O lraq
[0 Cold War O Gulf War [ Lebanon O wwil 1 Somalia

G | hereby affirm under oath that | am the owner of the vehicle/motorcycle described in this application, that | am a resident of South
Dakota, that | possess a valid South Dakota driver’s license or identification card, and that | am:

[J] Currently serving on active duty in the US Armed Forces
O 1am amilitary veteran according to SDCL 33A-2-1 which requires:
e Has served the full obligation for active duty, reserve, or National Guard service in the military, or receive an
early discharge for a medical condition, hardship, reduction in force, or at the convenience of the military; and
e Has been separated or discharged from such service honorably or under honorable conditions.

Unsworn
Declaration

| hereby request that the South Dakota Department of Revenue issue Veteran Plates or Active-Duty Member Plates based on the
qualifying criteria. | understand that false attesting to these facts is a Class 2 misdemeanor and that it is a felony to falsify an
affidavit.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signed on this day of at

Printed Name: Signature:
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Licensed Dealers
Licensed Dealers Forms

Licensed Dealers

Dealer License Application Form - Used by a dealer to become licensed to do business in South Dakota.

Dealer License Plate Application Form

Dealer's Report of Sale Form

45-day Title Delivery Extension Request Form

Foreign Title Trade in Form - Dealer form, used on an out-of-state titled trade-in vehicle.
Dealer Exit Audit Form

Application for Temporary Manufacturer, Customizer, or Dealer Permit Form - Used to apply for a temporary
permit to display or sell certain vehicles at an event, e.g., Sturgis Motorcycle Rally.
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Dealer Exit Audit
Dealer Exit Audit Form

State of South Dakota 1405
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.qgov

Dealer Exit Audit

* *
A Dealer Name: License #:
Dealer * *
Information Owner's Name: Owner's Home Address:
*
Owner's Home Phone #: Out-of-business (OB) da@
n Year Make Complete VIN SD Title Number
Remaining
Inventory

Please use the reverse side of the form or attach an additional sheet if necessary.

Inventory
Disposal

Please describe the disposal of the remaining inventory (i.e., date of upcoming liquidation sale, etc). Authorization

is required if the inventory will not be disposed of within 14 days of the OB date. Please use the reverse side
of the form or attach and additional sheet if necessary.

Inventory
Title
Transfers

Total number of vehicles to be titled in the owner’s personal name (transfer must be done within 14 days of the

OB dat@

Year Make Complete VIN SD Title Number

Please use the reverse side of the form or attach an additional sheet if necessary.

Balance and
Signature

Online computer account balance (if not previously paid, due at the time of the exit audit $

| attest that all vehicle sales have been completed and titles delivered; that sales records will be retained and available for 5
years from OB date; that any vehicle(s) being titled in my personal name cannot be offered for sale and will only be used for
my personal use; and that | am responsible for payment of any remaining balance on my dealer online computer account

Dealer Signature: Date:
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Dealer License Application
Dealer License Application Form

State of South Dakota 1400
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Dealer License Application

Complete and submit this application along with all supporting documents (bond, insurance, lease, etc.) and the license

A
- fee to the address listed above. This form may be used to apply for more than one license for a single location.

Instructions
Dealer Name: FEIN:
Applica'nt DBA (if applicable): County:
Information
Mailing Address: City: State: Zip Code 1
Physical Address: City: State: Zip Code
Phone #: Email Address:
Is the building owned or leased? Supplemental/Auxiliary lots:
Note: If the building is leased, a copy of the
lease must be submitted with the application.
Note: If you are a new dealer of any type you MUST complete the franchise section below. A vehicle dealer license also
c covers motorcycles/off-road vehicles and trailers.
License
Type [ vehicle ] Motorcycle/Off-Road ] Mobile Home 1 snowmobile [ Boat
Trailer [ Under 3,000 Ibs. [ over 3,001 Ibs.
Other:  [JCar Auction  [JFinal Stage Manufacturer Emergency Vehicle Dealer. [JIn-State  [J Out-of-State

This section is to be completed by NEW vehicle dealers of any type. Note: A copy of your dealer agreement/franchise
agreement must be submitted with this application.

Franchise Type of Vehicle: Manufacturer: | Factory Sales Rep: Sales Rep Office Address and Phone Number:
Information
Type of Ownership:
ﬂ ] individual [ Partnership [] Corporation (list officers) [ LLc (list individuals)
Oowner Name: SD DL or SSN: | Date of Birth: Alternate Phone #:
Information

Individuals authorized to sign documents for the dealership:

Authorized Name: SD DL or SSN: Signature:

Signers
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Note: Bond certificate MUST be submitted with this application.

Surety Bond Bond Company: Bond #: Bond Amount
Information " )
Mailing Address: City:
State: Zip Code: Phone #;
Note: Insurance certificate MUST be submitted with this application.
Insurance Insurance Provider: Amount of Coverage:
Information )
Phone #: Email Address:
Effective Dal@ @ Policy #: Agent:
Name of Institution: Phone #: Title Held: Y
Inventory
Financing Address: Effective Date:
Yes No
Business [ O Is the principal place of business and any supplemental or auxiliary lot in conformance with all applicable
Information building codes, zoning and land use ordinances? Verification must be attached.
O O Is the principal place of business where the books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are
kept?

m] O Is the telephone number being used for the dealership published in the white or yellow pages or any other
online directory?

m] | Is the principal place of business being maintained and continuously occupied with business hours posted in a
conspicuous place inview of the public? List hours of operation below:
Sun; __to Mon: __to Tue: __to Wed. _to__ Thurs;__to___ Frii__to__ Sat __to

Will the books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business be available at all reasonable hours to
inspection by the department?

Is the principal place of business in the residence of the applicant?

O O Does the business maintain a service facility for the maintenance of franchised vehicles listed?
If not, do you have a service contract with an authorized service center for warranty work? Yes or No

O O Does the lot(s) for display of the vehicle/boats have sufficient space to store five or more vehicles/boats?
(m} O Has dealer applicant or any other partner, member officer, or financial supporter for the dealer license been
convicted of a felonry in the last 5 years?
If yes and it was a vehicle related felony such as odometer fraud, VIN tampering, vehicle theft, etc.

Please list

(m] O If a franchised dealer, is there any other licensed dealer within your *community franchised to sell the same
line-make of vehicle?
If “yes” list dealer's name(s):

O O Is a title service being used to do on-line title transactions?
If yes, list title service:

*' Community" as defined under SDCL 32-6B- 1(4): the franchisee's area of responsibility as stipulated in the franchise. A
community has a minimum radius of ten miles around an existing dealership.
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n Please attach the following documents:

Additional

O Insurance Certificate (see chart below) O Copy of Lease (if applicable) [ Franchise agreement (New dealer only)

Documents Osond (see chart below) O Zoning letter (Required for ALL)

Note: Zoning letters must state that the location is zoned properly for a dealership to display/sell vehicles. Failure to submit ALL
required documents may result in a delay in processing your application. If you have any questions, please email
dealerprogram @state.sd.us. Please include the county your dealership is in and a dealer agent will contact you.

License Type: Fee: Bond: Insurance:
Vehicle dealer $300/initial, $175/renewal 425,000 $300,000
Additional Mobile Home $300/initial, $150/renewal $25,000 None
Information Motorcycle/Off-Road $250/initial, $150/renewal $5,000 $300,000
Trailer dealer:
Under 3,000 pounds $125/initial, $100/renewal None None
Over 3, 001 pounds $125/initial, $100/renewal $10,000 None
Boat dealer $250/initial, $175/renewal 420,000 None
Snowmobile dealer $150/initial, $125/renewal 45,000 None
Dealer car auction agency $300/initial, $175/renewal $50,000 $300,000
Emergency Vehicle $300/initial, $175/renewal 410,000 $300,000
Final Stage Manufacturer $300/initial, $175/renewal $25,000 $300,000
Access:

Dealer
System Use
Agreement

Motor Vehicle Division shall provide Dealer with the necessary User ID to access the System and user documentation.
Access to South Dakota title records and the electronic filing of South Dakota title forms is restricted to Dealers in
good standing with the DMV and for only those uses approved by the DMV

Dealer’s Duties:

The Dealer shall only request a Record for lawful business-related purposes. Dealer shall only reuse a record obtained
from the System for lawful business-related purposes. The system shall be used exclusively by the Dealer and the
Dealer's employees. The Dealer shall not allow others to logon to the system. Dealer shall make themselves and its
employees knowledgeable regarding all laws and regulations related to record use and the retention and shall comply
with the same. Dealer's MUST have sighed confidentiality agreements with each employee that has access to the
System.

This system must be utilized to record changes in vehicle ownership as it relates to dealership transactions, verifying
vehicle ownership and updating dealership information.

Equipment:
The Dealer is responsible for and must provide all equipment necessary for accessing the System.

Assignment:
The Dealer’s right to use the System is not transferable and is limited to the Dealer’s own business needs. A Dealer can
only obtain information from the System for business purposes.

Terms:

Dealers will be billed 25 cents for every transaction conducted in the system. Once this total reaches $50, the dealer
will be billed at the end of the month and is responsible for payment of these fees by the end of the following month
or late fees and interest may be assessed.

The Dealer is solely responsible for any misuse of the DMV Dealer System and information obtained from it under the
Online Use Agreement. Misuse may result in criminal penalties under the Federal Drivers Privacy and Protection Act

By signing this you are certifying that the information contained in this application is true and accurate and that you
agree to the terms as listed above. All information in this application is subject to verification prior to license issuance.

Name: _ k Signature: Ddte :
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Dealer License Plate Application
Dealer License Plate Application Form

State of South Dakota 1401
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

B T i 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Dealer License Plate Application

=

Instructions

Auto, motorcycle, trailer, mobile/manufactured home, snowmobile, boat dealers, and auto auction agencies (SDCL 32-6B-21,
32-6B-22, 32-6B-23, 32-6B-36.3, 32-6C-7, 32-7A-10, 32-7B-10)-Licensed dealers/auction agencies may apply for such license
plates issued under a special numbering series established to identify such dealer/auction agency licenses upon payment.
License plate fees are a $7.50 mailing fee for each set of plates, and a $1.50 mailing fee for each decal or set of decals.

Applicant
Information

Name of Applicant: Address:

City: State:

Zip Code: County:

E

Type of
License
Plates

For annual orders, indicate the number of plates in the quantity section and multiply that amount by the
annual unit price. Plate fees are based on the dealer’s license renewal month.

Order Type (Please Choose One) O Monthly O Annual

Plate Name Plate | Number | Monthly Annual Mailing Fee Per Total
QTY of Unit Price | Unit Price | Plate/Decal/Set
Months

Dealer 77 License Plates $8.42 $101.00 $7.50
Trailer License Plates $2.00 $24.00 $7.50
Motorcycle License Plates $2.00 $24.00 47.50
Snowmobile License Plates $.83 $10.00 $1.50
Mobile/Manufactured Home License $83 $10.00 $7.50
Plates
Boat License Plates $1.67 $20.00 $1.50
Auction License Plates $7.00 $101.00 $7.50
Dealer 88 Commercial License Plates

2 Ton, 1-4,000 Ibs. $7.08 $85.00 $7.50

3 Ton, 4,001-6,000 Ibs. $8.33 $100.00 $7.50

4 Ton, 6,001-8,000 Ibs. $9.58 $115.00 $7.50

5 Ton, 8,001-10,000 Ibs. $10.83 $130.00 $7.50

6 Ton, 10,001-12,000 Ibs. | $1250 | $15000 | $7.50 i

7 Ton, 12,001-14,000 Ibs. $14.58 $175.00 $7.50

8 Ton, 14,001-16,000 |bs. $16.67 $200.00 $7.50

9 Ton, 16,001-18,000 Ibs. $18.75 $225.00 $7.50

10 Ton, 18,001-20,000 Ibs. $20.83 $250.00 $7.50

11 Ton, 20,001-22,000 Ibs. $24.17 $290.00 47.50

12 Ton, 22,001-24,000 Ibs. $27.50 $330.00 $7.50

13 Ton, 24,001-26,000 Ibs. $30.83 $370.00 $7.50

crandTotal [

For fee schedules for additional tonnage/weight, visit our website at www.dor.sd.gov.

Disclosure
and
Signature

| certify, for or as the applicant, that the above information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge
and belief. | under the conditions under which the license | have applied for is issued by the South Dakota
Department of Revenue.

Applicant Signature: Da@
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Dealer's Report of Sale
Dealer's Report of Sale Form

State of South Dakota 1402

Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Dealer's Report of Sale

=]

Dealers authorized by the Motor Vehicle Division to opt out of the online computer system must file this
form, along with a $5 service fee, with the new purchaser's county treasurer within 15 days of the date of sale

Instructions £ the vehicle.
n Name: SD DL#, SSN/FEIN _ L
Purchaser .
Information Aeidgss Chy:
State: _ Zip Code: County:
VIN: SD Title Number:
Vehicle ) ) 3 £ L
life At Make: Year: Selling Price: _
Date of Sale (MM/DD/YYY®)
This statement is made with the knowledge that failure to submit the ap plication or file the report of sale
within the fifteen days constitutes a dealer violation.
Signature

Dealership’s Name: Dealer License Number:
Dealership Address: City:

State: ! . Zip Code:

Signature: im_@_q_@}f_@t_/@}f_ _; Date (MM/DD/YY\@
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Dealer Request for 45 Day Title Delivery Extension
45-Day Title Delivery Extension Request Form

State of South Dakota

Motor Vehicle Division

445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

S AR T OF EaCaidn 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

1403

45-Day Title Delivery Extension Request

A request is being made within 50 days of the date of sale for an extension of the delivery of title to our retail customer for the
below referenced vehicle. This extension is request because the lienholder on the title has failed to release the lien or deliver the
Instructions title document to our dealership. A copy of the lien release payoff verifying that payment has been made to the
lienholder and the date the payoff was made must be attached.

Complete and send this form to the Motor Vehicle Division dealer licensing program by emailing to dealerprogram @state sd us
Note: A purchase agreement from when the vehicle was acquired and when the vehicle was sold must be attached.

n Year: Make: Model:

Vehicle )
Iformation SD Title #: VIN/HIN:
Date of Sale: Purchaser’'s Name:
Sale
Information Address: Phone #:
n Please provide as much information as possible to equip the Motor Vehicle Division to resolve the problem.
Lienholder Lienholder Name: Address:
Information
City: State: Zip Code:
Contact Person: Phone #:
Other Information:
Name & License #: Address:
Dealership i :
Information City: State: Zip Code:
Contact Person: Phone #:

] Al
| g 1
Dealer Signature: !&Ww ;téw : Dale)

- O Approved O Denied

For Office

Use MVD Representative Signature: Date:
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Foreign Title Trade in Form
Foreign Title Trade in Form

State of South Dakota 1404
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Foreign Title Trade-in Form

This form is for use with foreign (out-of-state) titles traded into a licensed dealer.
Instructions
n Make: VIN:
Vehicle
Information Model: Year:
(Trade-in
Vehicle) Title #: License #:
Trade in on the following car, truck, trailer or motorcycle (New-Used):
Purchased
Vehicle Sold to: Make:
Information
VIN: Model:
Year: Title #:
n To be attached immediately to foreign (out-of-state) title and surrendered by the purchaser to the county treasurer
u ing for the title and registrati
Notice t6 pon applying for e and registration.
Dealers
Dealers Name: Dealer #:
Address: City:
State: Zip Code:
Dealer's Signature: Da@
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Temporary Events Dealer Permit
Application for Temporary Manufacturer, Customizer, or Dealer Permit Form

State of South Dakota L

Motor Vehicle Division

445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.qgov

Special Events Application for Temporary Manufacturer, Customizer, or Dealer Permit

Complete and submit this application to the South Dakota Motor Vehicle Division along with any applicable fees to the address
listed above. All permits are $500. If purchased prior to the event the permit is $250.

Instructions
Note: If you are displaying accessories only, you will not need a permit if the units displaying accessories are plated and titled
with state-issued non-dealer plates. If using manufacturer/new (units with an MSO/MCO only) bikes or units, a permit MUST
be purchased
If a dealer is found to be in violation of any of the permit provisions, the dealer will be denied any request for a temporary permit
for a period of 15 months from the date of the violation.
For additional questions contact dealer licensing by emailing dealerprogram @state,sd.us.
Please attach a copy of the license and letter from your state showing you are in good standing with your state.
“ Manufacturer, customizer, or dealer name:
Ap pllcar\t DBA (if applicable): Dealer Number:
Information * ) *
Address: City: - -
State: Zip Code: Phone #:
* *
Email: FEIN:
* *
Owner: Event Contact Person:
- Event: *  Booth # and Location: 3
C - *
Event Effective Date: Expiration Date:

Information  Note: The set-up date must be included in the effective date. Dates cannot be less than 3 days or exceed 15 days.

For all permit types—Only new units not currently franchised in SD may be displayed by an out of state dealer with the exception of trailer dealers. If there
u are franchised trailers in SD AND you have a letter from ALL SD trailer dealers in the state allowing you to display in SD.
Permit O Motor Vehicle Manufacturer-Display Only Make of Units:
Information

O Motor Vehicle Customizer-Display Only
O Trailer Manufacturer-Display Only
C Trailer Dealer-New Trailer-Display Only Make of Trailer:

O Trailer Dealer-Used Trailer-Sell

O Off-Road Vehicle/Motorcycle Dealer-Used-Sell-Units must be 2 model years old AND have 2,500 miles or more

O Off-Road Vehicle/Motorcycle Dealer-New-Sell Make of Units:
Note: SD off-road dealers—If event is 2 days or less, no permit is required if the event is in an adjoining county.

O Out of State Dealer (Classic Vehicle or Classic Motorcycle-vehicle must be at least 20 years old)—AUCTION ONLY

O Out of State Boat and Boat Trailer Dealer (New or Used)—Permit fee $200.

Applying: [ FPrior to Event or [ PDuring Event Amount Due: 20.00
=
n Name on Credit Card for online payment:
Signature Applicant’'s Name (Printed):
% Cte
Applicant’s Signature: Stguatwre Gfere Date: _ 04/21/2023
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South Dakota Special Event Permit

Businesses planning to display or sell vehicles at a Special Event in South Dakota are required to obtain a Special Event Permit from the
South Dakota Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division. This includes temporarily displaying passenger vehicles, motorcycles, off-
road vehicles, trailers, campers, boats, or any other type of titled or MSO vehicle.

How much does a permit cost?
- $500 if purchased during the event.
« $250 if purchased before the event.

Displaying or Selling Motorcycles and Off-road vehicles?
« South Dakota new or used licensed motorcycle and off-road vehicle dealers may sell or display motorcycles or off-road
vehicles at a Special Event without a permit if it is held within the county they are licensed. They must notify the Dealer
Licensing Office.
« South Dakota new or used licensed motorcycle and off-road vehicle dealers may display off-road units only at a special event
2 days or less without a permit in the State of South Dakota. They must notify the Dealer Licensing Office.
- South Dakota licensed dealers displaying used outside of their county must purchase a permit and the motorcycles or off-
road vehicles must be 2 model years old and have 2500 miles on the odometer.
« South Dakota licensed dealers may only display new out of county only if it is a manufactured special event in an adjoining
county where no other like franchised dealers are or if there are no other franchised dealers in the state.
- Out-of-state motorcycle and off-road vehicle dealers must purchase a permit to sell or display new motorcycles or off-road
vehicles, only if the make is not currently franchised in South Dakota.
= Out-of-state motorcycle and off-road vehicle dealers must purchase a permit to display or sell used motorcycles or off-road
vehicles and the motorcycles or off-road vehicles must be 2 model years old and have 2500 miles on the odometer.
« Motorcycle or off-road vehicle manufacturers or customizers must purchase a permit for display only of motorcycles or off-
road vehicles they build or modify.

Displaying or Selling Trailers?
» Licensed South Dakota trailer dealers may display and sell new and used trailers at any special event in the State of South
Dakota without a permit
« Trailer manufacturers must purchase a permit to display trailers at a Special Event
o This permit is for display only, sales are not allowed at the event.
« Out-of-state trailer dealers must purchase a permit to display and sell used trailers at a Special Event.
« Out-of-state trailer dealers must purchase a permit to display new trailers only if there are no other like franchised dealers in
the state or if they have written permission from each franchised dealer of the same make of trailers.

Displaying or Selling Cars, Trucks, and RV’s?
« Licensed South Dakota Dealers may sell or display vehicles at a Special Event without a permit if it is held within the county
they are licensed. They must notify the Dealer Licensing Office.
« Licensed South Dakota Dealers may sell or display truck tractors or motorhomes outside their county of license under the
Temporary Special Events lot definition. No permit is required.
» Licensed South Dakota Dealers may sell and display at a public auction if the vehicle is 20 years old or older without an
additional license or permit.
« Motor vehicle customizers must purchase a permit to display cars, trucks, and RV's they build or modify.
o This permit is for display only. Sales are not allowed at the event.

Out-of-State Boat and Boat Trailer Dealers (New or Used)
- Licensed Dealers may display and sell at a South Dakota event if the event lasts 2 or more days.
o A dealer must fill out the Special Permits application 5 days prior to the event

o The event must be a sponsored event and have at least 3 licensed boat dealers attending and displaying boats.
o The fee is $200.00.

» South Dakota licensed dealers are not required to purchase a permit

Out-of-State Dealers
» To obtain a dealer permit attach a copy of your out-of-state dealer license and an affidavit stating there are no outstanding
dealer violations.

« NOTE: In the event a dealer is found to be in violation of any of the permit provisions, said dealer will be denied any request
for atemporary permit for a period of 15 months from the date of the violation
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Manufactured/Mobile Home
Manufactured/Mobile Home Forms

Manufactured/Mobile Home

Affidavit for Movement for Disposal of Abandoned Mobile Home Affidavit Form

Mobile Manufactured Home Affidavit Form (Choose home being placed on real estate)

Mobile Manufactured Home Affidavit Form (Choose home being removed from real estate)

Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, Storage Facility Lien, or Auction Agency Form

Notice of Intent to Sell or Dispose of Mobile Manufactured Home Form
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Affidavit for the Purpose of Movement for Abandoned Mobile/Manufactured Home
Movement for Disposal of Abandoned Mobile Home Affidavit Form

State of South Dakota 1011

Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Affidavit for the Purpose of Movement for Disposal
of an Abandoned Mobile/Manufactured Home

Complete and take this form to your county treasurer’s office with the appropriate fee.

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

If moving permit is requested, the county will issue a moving permit to the customer.

Instructions
“ Make Year:
Home Serial Number:
Information
Affiant Name: Address:
Real City: State: Zip:
Property
Owner Phone: Email Address: County

| hereby affirm under oath | have obtained a title to the abandoned home for the sole purpose of the disposal of
“ the home from real property owned by me and located at

Affirmation
for Disposal  (Address of physical location of abandoned mobile/manufactured home)
Purpose
[0 1 wish to request a moving permit for the sole purpose of disposal ($15 fee.)

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct

Unsworn

Declaration
Printed Name: Signature:

at (state).

Signed on this day of

“ Title Surrender Date (90 days from date on affidavit):
(Fill in date)

County
Treasurer
Use Only

60-day extension requested:
(Fill in date)

Date:

County Signature:
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Mobile/Manufactured Home Affidavit Placed on Real Estate
Mobile Manufactured Home Affidavit Form
Choose Home is being PLACED on real estate option

State of South Dakota Form #:1009
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov
Mobile/Manufactured Home Affidavit
Purchaser/Owner(s):
A:ﬁazt & [JHome is being PLACED on real estate [JHome REMOVED from real estate [ Tax Affidavit
ender
i ATG Physical Address: City: State: Zip Code:
Lender Name:
Lender Address: City: State: Zip Code:
“ Year: Make: Model:
Home
Information ~ VIN:
[JSurrendered to Real Estate
I(We) hereby give notice to all parties who may be affected or concerned in the premises and home listed above, that | (we)
Statements confirm our intentions to declare this home to be a fixture to real estate at the location listed above. | (we) further declare the

title to such home is hereby surrendered and said property shall be treated as mortgaged property and subject to the
requirements thereof.

[JRemoved from Real Estate
I(We) hereby give notice to all parties who may be affected or concerned in the premises and home listed above, that | (we)
confirm our intentions to declare this home to be removed as a fixture to real estate at the location listed above. | (we) further
declare my (our) intentions to obtain a title in my (our) name as the rightful owners of the manufactured home. Attached is an
independent report indicating that lien searches have been conducted.

[JMovement of Home
New Address:

Name of individual moving home:

Address: Phone #:

Unsworn
Declaration

| (we) request that the Department of Revenue perform the actions required pursuant to SDCL 32-3 as indicated above
in my (our) name(s) and that I (we) agree to protect and indemnify the South Dakota Department of Revenue, Motor
Vehicle Division, against any and all liabilities and claims which may arise as a result of this transaction and agree at
my expense to defend any suit that may be brought against the Secretary or any person acting for him as a result of
issuing such certificate.

Signed on the day of at (city), (state).

Purchaser/Owner Signature:

Lender/Authorized Agent Signature:

For County
Treasurer
Use Only

| hereby attest that the appropriate taxes, as set out in SDCL 10-21-36 through 10-21-39, have been paid and that there are no
outstanding taxes due to the county in which the mobile/manufactured home is located.

Printed Name:

Signature: Date:
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Mobile/Manufactured Home Affidavit Removed from Real Estate
Mobile Manufactured Home Affidavit Form
Choose Home REMOVED from real estate option

State of South Dakota Form #1009
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http//dor.sd.gov
Mobile/Manufactured Home Affidavit
Purchaser/Owner(s)
A:ﬁ:gte& [JHome is being PLACED on real estate [ Home REMOVED from real estate [ Tax Affidavit
e r
NIOTMANON . o eical Addvess: City: State Zip Code
Lender Name:
Lender Address City: State Zip Code:
n Year: Make: Model
Home

Information  VIN

[JSurrendered to Real Estate

I(We) hereby give notice to all parties who may be affected or concerned in the premises and home listed above, that | (we)
Statements confirm our intentions to declare this home to be a fixture to real estate at the location listed above. | (we) further declare the
title to such home is hereby surrendered and said property shall be treated as mortgaged property and subject to the
requirements thereof.

[JRemoved from Real Estate
I(We) hereby give notice to all parties who may be affected or concerned in the premises and home listed above, that | (we)
confirm our intentions to declare this home to be removed as a fixture to real estate at the location listed above. | (we) further
declare my (our) intentions to obtain a title in my (our) name as the rightful owners of the manufactured home. Attached is an
independent report indicating that lien searches have been conducted

[IMovement of Home
New Address

Name of individual moving home
Address: Phone #:

n | (we) request that the Department of Revenue perform the actions required pursuant to SDCL 32-3 as indicated above
in my (our) name(s) and that | (we) agree to protect and indemnify the South Dakota Department of Revenue, Motor
Vehicle Division, against any and all liabilities and claims which may arise as a result of this transaction and agree at

Unsworn
Declaration my expense to defend any suit that may be brought against the Secretary or any person acting for him as a result of
issuing such certificate.
Signed on the day of at (city), (state)
Purchaser/Owner Signature:
Lender/Authorized Agent Signature:
H | hereby attest that the appropriate taxes, as set out in SDCL 10-21-36 through 10-21-39, have been paid and that there are no
outstanding taxes due to the county in which the mobile/manufactured home is located
For County
Treasurer Printed Name
Use Only

Signature: Date:
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Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, Storage Facility Lien, or Auction Agency
Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, Storage Facility Lien, or Auction Agency Form

State of South Dakota QI 1025
Motor Vehicle Division
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, or
Auction Agency

Notice was sent for: (*Note: Applicant must be in possession of vehicle to qualify for any process below.)
D Abandoned (Towed) - Vehicle was towed (notice must be sent within 45 days)

atcs (] Abandoned (Storage) - Vehicle left abandoned in a storage facility
Type ¥ s & ' LI
D Unpaid Repair Bill - vehicle has an unpaid repair bill
() Auction Agency — Vehicle obtained through an insurance agency requested tow
Please specify information about your removal agency, repair facility, storage facility or auction  agency -
* *
Applicant
Information Name Busine*s_s/SaIes Tax License Phone gu mber Emai! Address -
Street Address City State Zip
¥ Y Make Model
Vehicle Rt i
Information *
License Plate Number Serial/VIN Number
n Registered Owner Lienholder Insurance Company (for unpaid repair only)
Notice
SentTo Name Name Name
Street Address Street Address Street Address
City/State/Zip Code City/State/Zip Code City/State/Zip Code
*
Cirtified notice tracking number. (Not required for a Storage Lien)
Certified notice tracking number. (Notrequiredfor a Storage Lien)
() Abandoned (Towed) Vehicle was towed Bh from
that is public property[] or private property [ ] and towed to our lot at the above address. As of the date of this notice, the total
Statement fees due are $ .Towing$_____ Storage $ * and additional
storage atarateof S______ perday will be assessed until the vehicle is claimed and removed. The owner and lienholder may
reclaim the vehicle and shall notify the removal agency and Motor Vehicle Division in writing within 30 days of this notice. *If the
removal agency does not give notice within ten days from the date of removal, no storage may be charged beyond the ten-day
period until the notice is mailed.
(CJ) Abandoned (Storage) Vehicle was left for storage@n at :
As of the date of this notice, the storage charge is §, The owner and lienholder may reclaim the vehicle within
30 days of this notice
(O) Unpaid Repair Bill Vehicle was left for repait@w_, __at
as of the date of this notice, the total charge of $ is due. The owner and lienholder may reclaim
the vehicle and shall notify the repair facility and Motor Vehicle Division in writing within 30 days of this notice
(O Auction Agency Vehicle was towed at the request of the insurance company
Gn to our lot at the above address. As of the date of this notice, charges due are $
The owner and lienholder may reclaim the vehicle after notification to reclaim has been sent to the agency in writing within 45 days
of when the notice was received
Page 1 of 2 SECOND PAGE MUST BE REVIEWED AND SIGNED
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Affidavit

| affirm that this information has been examined by me, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, is in all things true and correct |
hereby attest that this notice was sent to the registered owner and lienholder and insurer (if required) within the required time frame. |

understand that it is my responsibility to maintain record for proof of notices sent
I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

day of at (city), (state)

Signed on the

Signature

Printed Name

Please refer to the statutes listed below and the procedures manual found on our website:
http;//dor sd gov/Motor Vehicles/Publications/PDF/Procedures¥20Manual PDF for information regarding the application process.

Abandoned (Towed):
SDCL 32-36-1 through 32-36-11

Documents to be submitted to the county treasurer's office:

» Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
+ This properly completed Notice that was sent to the owner and any lienholder by certified mail
* Tow Ticket (when removed from public property) or written approval from the landowner (when removed from private property)

+ Title fee of $10

Abandoned (Storage):

SDCL 44-14-1 through 44-14-6 and 44-2-3 through 44-2-9

Documents to be submitted to the county treasurer's office:
+ Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
+ This properly completed Notice that was sent to the owner and any lienholder by certified mail

+ Storage Rental Agreement
+ Title fee of $10

Unpaid Repair Bill:
SDCL 32-3-67 through 32-3-69

Documents to be submitted to the county treasurer's office:

+ Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
+ This properly completed Notice that was sent to the owner, lienholder, and insurer by certified mail

* Unpaid repair bill
* Title fee of $10

*Once the title has been issued, the vehicle must be sold at public auction.

Auction Agency;
SDCL 32-3-75

Documents to be submitted to the county treasurer's office:

» Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
« This properly completed Notice that was sent to the owner and any lienholder by certified mail

« Title fee of $10
*Once the title has been issued, this vehicle must be sold by the auction agency.
TITLE APPLICATION MUST NOT BE APPLIED FOR UNTIL THE 30 DAY REQUIRED WAIT TIME
HAS PASSED.
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Notice of Intent to Sell or Dispose of Mobile/Manufactured Home
Notice of Intent to Sell or Dispose of Mobile Manufactured Home Form

Form # 1010

State of South Dakota
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Notice of Intent to Sell or Dispose of Mobile/Manufactured Home

This form is to be completed by the real property owner, where the mobile/manufactured home is abandoned. This

i notice must be sent by certified mail to the registered owner and any identifiable lienholder.
Instructions

n Notice Sent to the Registered Owner(s):

Recipients Address: City State: Zip Code:

Notice to the Lienholder (If applicable):

Address: City State: Zip Code: _

Notice Sent from Real Property Owner:

Sender  address: City: State: Zip Code:

Phone Number:

Mobile/ Year: Make: VIN:
Manufactured

Home
Information

H The mobile/manufactured home noted above has been left on leased property at

(location). The court has issued a Writ of Possession and the home is considered
Statement  abandoned if it is not removed within 30 days of this notice. Notice is hereby given that the above home will be

& Unsworn  sffered for sale or disposed of (pursuant to Chapter 21-54), if the home is not removed within 30 days of receipt of
Declaration  this notice.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signed on this day of at (state).

Printed Name: Signature:
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Electronic Lien and Title
Electronic Lien & Title Forms

Motor Vehicle Affidavit Form

ELT Lender Application Form

Lender Paper Title Request Form

Notice to Submit Title Form

Lien Release Form
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ELT Lender Application
ELT Lender Application Form

State of South Dakota
Motor Vehicle Division

445 E. Capitol Avenue
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

SD Electronic Lien and Title Lender Application

By signing the South Dakota Electronic Lien and Title Lender Agreement, participating lenders agree to the following
conditions and requirements:

e The lender must provide their Lender ID (which is their FEIN if it is the principal location, secondary branches of the
lender will provide their Lender ID followed by their 2-digit branch identifier) to all loan recipients and dealers utilizing
selected lender services. The lender must require that all dealers utilizing selected lender services record the Lender
ID on the South Dakota Application for Title with the accompanying lienholder information.

e The lender must work directly with their chosen provider’s Help Desk to resolve all ELT discrepancies and data
transmission issues.

e The lender shall use state data only for the purpose of fulfilling the requirements of ELT.

e The lender shall protect the confidentiality of the information and data to which lender has access. At no time shall
the lender furnish to any person, association, or organization any vehicle or title data received from South Dakota
Department without South Dakota Department’s prior written consent.

e The lender has no proprietary rights to the information received from South Dakota Department.

e The lender understands that South Dakota Department and its employees shall not be liable to the lender for any
damage, costs, lost production, or any other loss of any kind due to failure of South Dakota’s equipment hardware or
software or for the loss of consequential damages that are the result of any other type of failure.

e The Lender assumes full responsibility for the accuracy of information and holds harmiess and indemnifies the
Department, its officers and employees for any damage or loss, resulting from issuing a certificate of title based upon

such electronic lien satisfaction.

e The lender agrees to only request the printing of a title with lien if their customer moves out of state, for court orders,
for insurance claims, to make changes to owner information, or any other Department approved situation.

e The Lender must execute the release of lien within 20 days or less of pay off.
® The Lender must address and respond to all lien errors within 3 business days of discovery of the error.

e Either party, upon giving 30 days written notice to the other party, may terminate authorization. In the event of
termination, South Dakota Department is released from any/and all obligations to the lender.
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State of South Dakota

Motor Vehicle Division

445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http//dorsd.gov

SD Electronic lien and Title Lender Application

This application must be submitted to the Department by a provider on behalf of the lender If the lender has
multiple branches and wishes for each branch to have an account, complete the additional branch section.

Instructions
n [ inttial Enroliment in ELT [ Change of Lender Address [ Removal from ELT Program
Requested [0 Change of Pravider [ Change of Lender Name
Action
] Company [ Dealer [ Government O indwidual O Trust
Lender Lender ID (FEIN, SSN, SDDL, OR SDID). Multiple Branches
Information
Lender Name: Address:
City. State: Zip Code:
Authorized Agent for Lender. Phone Number:
Agent's Email Address: Agent's Signature
“ O Assurant [ Decisions Dynamics, Inc. [J PDP Group, Inc.
Provider O ViNtek, Inc. [ DealerTrack Collateral Management Services
Information
Assurant DealerTrack Collateral Manage ment Services DDI Technology
2975 Breckinridge Bhvd 9750 Goethe Road 1 Weliness Bivd Ste 201
Duluth, GA 30096 Sacramento, CA 95827 PO Box 1337
Phone: 678-694-9885 Phone: 916-854- 5406 Irmo, SC 29063
M helle dryer @ assurant com Craig leuschen@dealertrack com Phone: 803-808-0117
PDP Group. Inc. VINtek, Inc.
10909 McCormick Rd 1735 Market Street, Suite S00
Hunt Valley, MD 21031 Philadelphia PA 19103
Phone: 800-666-3008 Phone: 888-846-6500
www simplveltcom sakes@vintekcom
Branch Address: City: State: Zip Code: Branch
Addmtional ID {01,
Branches etc.)
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Lender Paper Title Request Form
Lender Paper Title Request Form

State of South Dakota 1501
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 httpy//dor.sd.gov

Lender Paper Title Request

To print a paper title with the lien noted on the title, complete and subm it this form to

Instructions  der.dmvelt@state.sd.us or mail to the address above.
= This request can only be completed by lenders that do not use a provider.
« Lenders requesting a paper title must be shown on the vehicle's title record.

Vehicle Owner(s):
Vehicle & e number VINZHIN,
Owner
Information
Please indicate the address the printed title should be mailed to
Name: _ 3 Address: =
Title Mailing
Information City State: Zip Code

“ Please select a reason for requesting a paper title:

Request [J Moving to Another State-The title is required to register in a new state of residernce
Reason O Insurance Claim/Total Loss

[ Court Order

[0 Name: Change, Addition, or Deletion of an Owner

[ Other (Must be approved by the MVD):

Note-Paper title requests will not be approved for the following reasons:
e Repossessions-Lenders must apply for a repossession title through South Dakota
e Selling Vehicle-A lien release must be submitted to the county treasurer when a vehide is sold or traded
e Loan Payoff-A lien release must be submitted to the county treasurer,
* lender does not participate in ELT-Nonparticipating lenders can check the status of their hen on

ﬂ Lender Name

Unsworn

Declaration | am requesting that a paper title be printed and mailed for the vehicle listed above. | declare under penalty of
perpury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct

Signed on the day of at (city) (state)
~

Agent Name:

Email Address.

For Department Use Only
Paper Title Print Request O Approved [ Denied Date Reviewed:

MVD Agent Signature: Denial Reason:
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DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Lien Release
Lien Release Form

1503
State of South Dakota

Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Lien Release

Instructions

This form is only to be completed by non-participating lenders. If a lender is participating, a lien release can
be completed through their third-party vendor. Please complete this form and submit to the county
treasurer's office. For a full list of the county treasurer’s offices, visit our website at www.dor.sd.gov

Release

This is an order to release the lien on the following vehicle:

Year: Make: Model:

Title Number: VIN/HIN:

Title Owner Name: County:
Lender Name: Lender Email:

Title Mailing
Address

The printed title should be mailed to following address:

Name: Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Unsworn
Declaration

| affirm that this information has been examined by me, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, isin all
things true and correct.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signed on this day of ; , at (City), (State)

Lender Agent Name

Lender Agent Signature
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Motor Vehicle Affidavit
Motor Vehicle Affidavit Form

Form # 1012
State of South Dakota

Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DT ST RTINS 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov
Motor Vehicle Affidavit

Name: Email Address:
Affiant :

Information Address: City: State: Zip Code:
n Year: Make: Model:
Vehicle

Information  Title #: . VIN: _

ClGeneral Purpose

&

Statements The following statement of fact is to be used to disclose any information for which an affidavit is required:

CIRepossession
This is to certify that on the day of 20 the undersigned did lawfully
repossess the vehicle/boat as described above from of

because of the failure of the debtor to fulfill his/her obligation according to the terms of the encumbrance on
said vehicle. That | (we) make this affidavit for the purpose of establishing ownership to said vehicle/boat in order
to obtain a certificate of title hereto under the laws of South Dakota.
Tlinterstate
| hereby apply for regular South Dakota license plates for the above vehicle/boat as provided for under SDCL
32-5-4.1 and 32-3A-36 and affirm that the described vehicle/boat will be operated on this state’s
highways/waters. This vehicle/boat is properly titled or registered under the laws of the State of
. I will retain the certificate of title issued by that state but have given a copy
to the county treasurer for attachment to this affidavit. | request registration in the State of South Dakota for
the reason indicated below:
Tl Applicant is in the state on a temporary basis.
TJCommercial vehicle titled out-of-state, but on lease to a South Dakota based motor carrier.
CIMilitary personnel temporarily stationed at a military base located within South Dakota.
C1South Dakota resident whose vehicle/boat is mortgaged by an out-of-state based financial service
(mortgagor)—Not applicable if the out-of-state title is electronic (ELT).
I(We) hereby request that the Department of Revenue create a nonnegotiable Interstate Title record covering this
vehicle/boat in my (our) name(s).

| (We) hereby request that the Department of Revenue issues title covering this vehicle/boat in my(our) name(s),
n and that I(we) agree to protect and indemnify the South Dakota Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division,
Unsworn  against any and all liabilities and claims which may arise as a result of this title issuance and agree at my expense
Declaration to defend any suit that may be brought against the Secretary or any person acting for him as a result of issuing
such certificate.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct

Signed on the day of y at

Printed Name: Signature:
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Notice to Submit Title Form
Notice to Submit Title Form

State of South Dakota 1502
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

605-773-3541 htupy/dorsd.gov
Notice to Submit Title

Notification
Mailing

Notification to submit title is sent to:

Name Address:

City State: Zip Code:

Notification to submit title is sent from:

Name Address:
City. State: Zip Code:
n This is to notify you that the county treasurer’s office has received notice that the
Notification o sewing ienholder , City State
Zip code requests to have a ien notated on the following vehicle
Year Make: Maodel
VIN/HIN Title Number.
Please submit the title within 15 days from the date above to the county treasurer
for notation

Note: South Dakota is an Electronic Lien and Title (ELT) state, therefore a title will not be printed until all
liens are released or upon request for a printed title by lender for an approved purpose.

If you refuse to deliver the title to the county treasurer within 15 days of being
notified to do 5o, you are hable for the damages to the lienholder for the amount of damages the lienholder suffers
by reason of your refusing to permit the lien notation

Signature

Signature: Date:

To be completed by the County Treasurer Only
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Affidavits
Affidavit Forms

Affidavits

Succession Affidavit Form - Used for transferring a vehicle title in the event of a death where the estate does
not exceed $100,000.

Motor Vehicle Affidavit Form - Statement of Fact, also used to correct an error that may have been made on
documentation.

Low Speed and Off-Road Vehicle Affidavit Form

Application for a Rebuilt Vehicle - Used to title a rebuilt vehicle

Truck Tractor Affidavit Form 1017 - Used to verify required criteria on a motor home conversion.

Affidavit for the Purpose of Movement for Disposal of an Abandoned Mobile/Manufactured Home



https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/1013
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/1012
https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/1015
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https://www.state.sd.us/eforms/secure/eforms/E2079V2-AffidavitForMovement.pdf

Affidavit for the Purpose of Movement for Disposal of an Abandoned
Mobile/Manufactured Home
Movement for Disposal of Abandoned Mobile Home Affidavit Form

State of South Dakota 1011

Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Affidavit for the Purpose of Movement for Disposal
of an Abandoned Mobile/Manufactured Home

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Complete and take this form to your county treasurer's office with the appropriate fee.

If moving permit is requested, the county will issue a moving permit to the customer.

Instructions
n Make Year:
Home Serial Number:
Information
Affiant Name: Address:
Real City: State: Zip:
Property
Owner Phone: Email Address: County

| hereby affirm under oath | have obtained a title to the abandoned home for the sole purpose of the disposal of
n the home from real property owned by me and located at

Affirmation
for Disposal
Purpose

(Address of physical location of abandoned mobile/manufactured home)

[0 1 wish to request a moving permit for the sole purpose of disposal ($15 fee.)

| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

Unsworn Signed on this day of at (state).
Declaration
Printed Name: Signature:
- Title Surrender Date (90 days from date on affidavit):
(Fill in date)
County
Treasurer 60-day extension requested:
Use Only (Fill in date)
County Signature: Date:
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Affidavit for Rebuilt Motor Vehicle
Application for a Rebuilt Vehicle

SD EForm - 2431 VA Complete and use the button at the end to print for mailing CALIA HON TR
State of South Dakota OFEICE USE ONLY
Division of Motor Vehicles

I Department 445 E. Capitol

Avenue Pierre, SD
605-773-3541 | http://dor.sd.gov/Motor_Vehicles/

Application for Inspection of Rebuilt Motor Vehicle and Installation of Assigned or
Replacement Vehicle Identification Number and Affidavit

« All information on this form must be complete and submitted to the county treasurer with a $25 inspection fee.

Instructions ° Ihe vehicle owner must sign the affidavit and have his or her signature notarized.
« Original tittes and MSOs/MCOs for component parts used in the construction of this vehicle must be attached.
« Photo copies of bills of sale and receipts for parts and labor used in the construction of this vehicle must be attached.

« Completed application must be submitted to your local county treasurer's office.

Name
Applicant
Information B
e City State Zip
Phone Email
G Component Part Origin of Component Part/Purchased from: Component Part Number
Component (name and complete address) (required)
Information Engine
Frame
Body

Note: Ownership evidence (bill of sale and/or title) is required if an engine. frame or bedy is used.

Origin of Component Part/Purchased from: Component Part Number

Component Part
(name and complete address) if available

Transmission

Fender(s)
Hood

Door(s)

Bumper(s)
Quarter Panel(s)

Tailgate/Deck Lid

Pickup Cargo Box
Cab of a Truck

Roof or Floor Pan

Explanation by rebuilder (owner or person who rebuilt the vehicle) as to what was done in relation to the assembling. rebuilding, altering,
etc of the vehicle for which title is sought.

Explanation of
Vehicle
Construction

Revised 1/17
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The undersigned, being duly sworn upon oath, deposes and says they are the owner of the vehicle listed
HF below. This vehicle was rebuilt or built from parts and materials on hand, or parts and materials purchased
Affidavit from a supplier, or a manufactured kit purchased from a supplier, or purchased “as is" from a rebuilder, or
otherwise lawfully acquired. The affiant or registered owner makes this affidavit as part of an application to the
South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles for a Certificate of Registration and/or a Certificate of Title. The
undersigned will indemnify and hold harmless the State of South Dakota on account of the issuance of a
Certificate of Registration and/or Certificate of Title for said vehicle.
Check all boxes that apply
[ wvehicle was constructed from parts/material on hand [C] Venhicle was assembled from manufactured kit
] Venhicle was built from purchased parts/material, receipts attached [J Vehicle was purchased “as is” from rebuilder
Please Print or Type

Year Make (if a manufactured kit) Model Type Weight/cc
Affiant's Full Legal Name
(As appears on Drivers License or ID) First Middle Last
Drivers License, ID Number, or DOB Telephone Number _

=

Affiant's Physical Address
City State Zip Code
Affiant’'s Mailing Address EI
City State Zip Code
Affiant's Signature Date
STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA, COUNTY OF: SS.
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO ME BEFORE THIS
DAY OF 20
NOTARY PUBLIC OR COUNTY TREASURER:
F | hereby certify that | am an employee of the South Dakota Department of Revenue and that | have
Certification personally examined the above vehicle, major component parts and ownership documents. The completed
from SD DOR rebuilt vehicle conforms to South Dakota Codified Law and Administrative Rules.
(Office use only)
Employee Signature Employee Name (Print) Employee Title

Employee Notes:
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Affidavit for Truck Tractor Converted to a Motor Home
Truck Tractor Affidavit Form

Form # 1017

State of South Dakota

Motor Vehicle Division

445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.qgov

Truck Tractor Converted to a Motor Home Affidavit

Please submit a photograph showing a full view of the vehicle with this affidavit, a title application, any supporting
documentation and a weight slip to the applicable county treasurer’s office.

Note: To become a motor home, the truck tractor shall be modified to include a vehicular-type unity built on the
tractor’s chassis and designed primarily as temporary living quarters for recreational, camping, vacation, or travel use.

=

Instructions

n Name:
Affiant : ‘ . :
Information fiddiess. City: State: Zip Code:
Phone #: Email:
Year: Make: License #:
Vehicle AT "
Information Ko & VIN:

I (we) hereby affirm that this vehicle meets equipment requirements and will not be used for private business use. Check all equipment
that applies to this vehicle.

Applicable
Equipment  Check all equipment that applies to this vehicle. To qualify, you must meet at least 5 of the criteria listed, as well as

the modification requirement stated above (SDCL 32-3-65):

[C Cooking facilities

[ Sleeping facilities

[ Refrigerator

[7Heating or air conditioning system separate from vehicle engine or vehicle engine electrical system*

[ Self-contained toilet or toilet connected to a plumbing system with connection for external water disposal*

[ Portable water supply, including plumbing and a sink with faucet either self-contained or with connections for an
external source*

7110 or 115 volt system separate from the vehicle engine electrical system either with its own power supply or with
a connection for an external source or a liquefied petroleum system and supply*

*Must be permanently installed and meet American National Standards Institute and National Fire Protection Association
standards in effect on the date of manufacture

ﬂ Will the vehicle be used to transport a motor vehicle, boat, or animal to a race, tournament, show or similar event?
- C1No
Additional - yeg (Iif you indicated yes, check the criteria below that applies (to qualify all the criteria must apply)
Information
1 Prize money received from participating in the activity is declared as ordinary income for tax purposes
71 The cost of participating in the activity is not deducted as a business expense for tax purposes

[l There is no corporate sponsorship exceeding $2,000 in any one calendar
Note: If this vehicle is being used to tow a trailer, the trailer does not qualify for a permanent trailer identification plate. The trailer
must display a noncommercial trailer plate.

n | hereby request that the Department of Revenue issue a motor home title covering this vehicle in my name. |
declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct
Unsworn

Declaration  signed on the day of ; ,at (state).

Printed Name: Signature:
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General Purpose Affidavit
Motor Vehicle Affidavit Form

Form # 1012
State of South Dakota

Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov
Motor Vehicle Affidavit

Name: Email Address:
Affiant ;

Information Address: City: State: Zip Code:
n Year: Make: Model:
Vehicle

Information  Title #: i VIN: _

_I1General Purpose

o]

Staterients The following statement of fact is to be used to disclose any information for which an affidavit is required:

CIRepossession
This is to certify that on the day of 20 the undersigned did lawfully
repossess the vehicle/boat as described above from of
because of the failure of the debtor to fulfill his/her obligation according to the terms of the encumbrance on
said vehicle. That | (we) make this affidavit for the purpose of establishing ownership to said vehicle/boat in order
to obtain a certificate of title hereto under the laws of South Dakota.

[lInterstate
| hereby apply for regular South Dakota license plates for the above vehicle/boat as provided for under SDCL

32-5-4.1 and 32-3A-36 and affirm that the described vehicle/boat will be operated on this state’s
highways/waters. This vehicle/boat is propertly titled or registered under the laws of the State of
. L will retain the certificate of title issued by that state but have given a copy
to the county treasurer for attachment to this affidavit. | request registration in the State of South Dakota for
the reason indicated below:

C1Applicant is in the state on a temporary basis.

TJCommercial vehicle titled out-of-state, but on lease to a South Dakota based motor carrier.

CIMilitary personnel temporarily stationed at a military base located within South Dakota.

C1South Dakota resident whose vehicle/boat is mortgaged by an out-of-state based financial service

(mortgagor)—Not applicable if the out-of-state title is electronic (ELT).

I(We) hereby request that the Department of Revenue create a nonnegotiable Interstate Title record covering this
vehicle/boat in my (our) namef(s).

I (We) hereby request that the Department of Revenue issues title covering this vehicle/boat in my(our) name(s),
n and that I(we) agree to protect and indemnify the South Dakota Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division,
Unsworn  against any and all liabilities and claims which may arise as a result of this title issuance and agree at my expense
Declaration to defend any suit that may be brought against the Secretary or any person acting for him as a result of issuing
such certificate.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct

Signed on the day of at

Printed Name: Signature:
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Low Speed & Off-Road Vehicle Affidavit
Low Speed and Off-Road Vehicle Affidavit Form

F #1015
State of South Dakota orm
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov
Low Speed 8: Off-Road Vehicle Affidavit
A Complete and submit the below form to the county treasurer’s office. Note: Anyone operating a low-speed vehicle or off-road
: vehicle is required to have a valid driver’s license
Instructions
n Name: Address:
Applicant City: State: Zip Code:
Information
Phone Number: Email Address:
Year: Make: Model:
Vehicle
Informiation Title Number: VIN/HIN:

n O Low Speed Vehicle: A 4-wheeled vehicle whose speed attainable in 1 mile is more than 20 miles per hour and not more than
. 25 miles per hour on a paved level surface. The manufacturer’s certificate of origin or title must clearly identify the vehicle as a
Declaration low-speed vehicle.

I, the undersigned, do hereby swear that the vehicle described is a low-speed vehicle, as identified by the MSO/MCO or certificate
of title (form not required if the SD titles denotes a low-speed vehicle) and that the vehicle is equipped with the following

accessories:
["1 Headlights [ Turn Signals (front and rear) [ Tail Lights [1Stop Lights
O Parking Brake O Conforming VIN [ Conforming Windshield
[ Seat Belts [0 Red Reflex Reflectors I Exterior Mirrors

(Note: Local governments may adopt more stringent local ordinances governing low-speed vehicle operation)

["] Off-Road Vehicle: This does not apply to golf carts or a toy/youth off-road vehicle.

I, the undersigned, do hereby swear that | had installed on the above described two or four wheels, all-terrain vehicle:

Engine Type:
O Rearview Mirror O Headlights O Minimum of 200 cc engine for 4 wheels
Minimum of 120 cc engine for 2 wheels
| Horn [ License Plate Light (] Electric — four-wheel
0 Exhaust and Muffler O Parking, tail, and stop lights O Other (list below)
Name and address of the individual who installed the accessories: _
n | declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.
UsSoTh Signed on this day of at (state).

Declaration Printed Name: Signature:
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Succession Affidavit
Succession Affidavit Form

State of South Dakota Eann 1013
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Succession Affidavit

Name: Address:

Affiant City: State: Zip Code:
Information
Name: Address:
City: State: Zip Code:

n License #: Year: Make: Model :

Title Property

Data Title #: VIN/HIN:
c I/we, the affiant, hereby affirm that (decedent) died on (date); that at
least 30 days have elapsed since that death. |/we, state under oath the following:
Statement
e The value of the entire probate estate of the decedent, wherever located, less liens and encumbrances, does not exceed $100,000.
e No application or petition for the appointment of a personal representative is pending or has been granted in any jurisdiction
e  The decedent has not incurred any indebtedness to the Department of Social Services for medical assistance for nursing home or other
institutional care.
e |/we are entitled to payment or delivery of all property held by others in the sole name of the decedent pursuant to SDCL 29A-3-1201
e My/ourentitlement is based upon my/our status as an heir or as a devisee in the decedent’s will
e |/we accept responsibility for applying the property to liens and encumbrances, homestead allowance, exempt property, family
allowance, funeral expenses, expenses of administration and creditor claims, as required by law, and distributing any remaining
property to heirs and devisees entitled thereto.
e |/we submit personally to the jurisdiction of the courts of South Dakota in any proceeding relating to this affidavit that may be
instituted by and interested person
e Pursuant to SDCL 29A-3-1202, the person, paying, delivering, transferring, or issuing personal property or the evidence thereof
pursuant to this affidavit is discharged and released as if the person dealt with a personal representative of the decedent and is not
required to see the application of the personal property or evidence thereof or to inquire into the truth of any statement in this
affidavit.
Accordingly, the affiant(s) requests that the Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division, transfer the title to this
“ titled property as indicated below (pl ch one option):
Transfer
: The ownership of the title pro by transferred to successor(s
Information S P property by f15)
address(es).
(] The ownership of the title property by transferred to (name of purchaser),
who purchased the vehicle/boat on (date) for § (purchase price).
I/we, the affiant(s) acknowledge |/we may be liable and accountable to any personal representative of the estate of any other person having
superior right to title. Further, I/we agree to protect and indemnify the South Dakota Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division, against any
Si gnature and all labilities and claims which may arise as a result of this title transfer
Affiant Signature: Date:
- Subscribed and sworn to before me this SS. day of 20,
Notary State of South Dakota, County of

Notary Public or County Treasurer Signature: Date Commission Expires:
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Miscellaneous
Miscellaneous Forms

Miscellaneous Forms

Bill of Sale Form - Details the purchase price, date of sale and chain of ownership of a vehicle.

Closed Lease Tax Worksheet Form - Used to calculate tax owed on a leased vehicle.

County Treasurer Supply Request Form

DPPA for Removal Agencies and Mechanics Form

DPPA for Government Agency or Business Form

DPPA for Private Individuals Form - Used for history and title searches.

Extended or Additional Consideration Lease Tax Worksheet Form

Motor Vehicle Complaint Form - Use to file any complaint with the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Non-Resident Off-Road Vehicle Permit App Form

Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, or Auction Agency Form - Used to obtain a title on an
abandoned vehicle.

Odometer Disclosure Form

Out-of-State Vehicle Lease Tax Worksheet Form - Used to calculate the tax owed on a vehicle
lease originating outside of South Dakota.

Power of Attorney Form - Authorizes another person to act on behalf of a vehicle owner.

Salvage and Recovered Theft Statement Form

Seller - Report of Sale Form

Forms Page 104
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Bill of Sale Form
Bill of Sale Form

State of South Dakota 1025
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Bill of Sale

“ Year: Make: Model:

Vehicle
Informanicn VIN/HIN: Title Number:
n | (we) do hereby swear that c@ (date of the sale), | (we) sold, transferred,
Statement
and conveyed all rights, title and interest in the above described motor vehicle/boat. The motor
Signature
vehicle/boat was sold to (purchaser name) for

dollars. | (we) further swear as seller(s) that | (we) am (are) the owner(s) of

the above described motor vehicle/boat and have full right and power to convey the same.

| declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury that this information has been examined by me,
and to the best of my knowledge and belief, is in all things true and correct.

Seller Name: Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Seller Signature: Dat&)
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Closed Lease Tax Worksheet
Closed Lease Tax Worksheet Form

State of South Dakota Form #1028
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Closed Lease Tax Worksheet

A closed lease is a lease in which the terms of the lease are known at the time the lease contract is executed. This
worksheet must be submitted to the applicable county treasurer's office along with the following: copy of the lease, and
Instructions an application for title and registration

Note: If the terms of the lease are not known at the time the lease contract is executed (otherwise known as an open-
ended lease) then tax is assessed on the purchase price of the vehicle. The dealer is to certify the price on the application
for title and registration.

This does not apply to vehicles with a gross weight vehicle rating of 16,000 pounds or more.

n Year: Make: VIN:

Vehicle Information

Name of Dealer: Dealer Number:
Owner Lessor Name: i _ Address: =
Information
City: State: Zip Code:

Lessee Name: _

n 1. Lease payment: (includes all capitalized costs but does not include the following: title fee, registration | 1.
fees, excise tax, federal excise tax, insurance, or refundable security deposits on the lease). [Total
Lease & Tax number of monthsinlease (2a) X (2b) $ __lease payment per month] $0.00
Information
2. Capitalized Cost Reduction [net trade (trade-in value minus pay-off), cash, and rebate]. 2

3. Up Front Fees [non-capitalized fees that are paid at lease signing, including the following: extended 3.
service contracts, administrative or document fees, lease acquisition fees, or other fees assessed on the
purchase of the vehicle.

4.  Purchase Price [add lines 1,2, and 3] 4
$0.00
5. SD 4% Excise Tax [multiple line 4 by .04] 5.
$0.00
6. Amount of Tax Paid Up Front to Another State [attach proof of tax paid] 6.
7. Total Tax Due [subtract line 6 from line 5] 7.
$0.00
H | declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.
Additional Signed on this day of % at
Info.rmatlon Printed Name: Signature:
& Signature
Note:

. Upon buy-out of a lease, the lessor/dealer must forward the assigned title to the lessee, who will make application for title through their
county treasurer. The purchase price on a buy-out is the amount paid for the vehicle at the end of the lease.

e Ifalease is extended from that of the initial lease period or if additional consideration is paid during a lease, additional tax is due. Use the
“Extended or Additional Consideration Lease Tax Worksheet”. The lessor must forward the form and proper fees to the Motor Vehicle Division
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County Treasurer Supply Request
Supply Request Form

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

State of South Dakota
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Supply Request

Form# 1700

County Name:

County
Information

Phone Number: _

Comments:

Person Placing the Order:

Email: _

County Number:

Form Number:

Quantity Requested:

MV052

South Dakota Boat Registration Card

Order

Request MV053

County/Portal Cards

MV400 (Pad of 50)

Permission for Special Hull ID Number

MV 401 (Pad of 50)

Permission for Special Serial Number

MV2002 (Pkg of 100)

Handicap Parking Permit (Hanging Tag)

MVORC

ORC Cards

Emblem plate insert

Plate inserts

Decal Type:

Num ber of Decals on
Hand (Not Boxes):

Num ber of Decals
Ordered (Not Boxes):

Boat Motorized (M)

Boat Non-Motorized (N)

Boat Other (Type & Exp. Year)

Farm

Off-road permits (include info cards)

SD Emblem Decals

Snowmobile

Contact Landon at |klock@iti4dmv.com or Brady bklock@itiddmyv.com (605-582-6337) from ITl for license plate

ordering for the following plate types:

Commercial
Motorcycle

Non-Commercial (Auto/Truck)
Non-Commercial truck (Tplate)

Organization (Truck/Auto)
Organization (Motorcycle)
Trailer ID (U Plate)

For orders regarding Game Fish & Parks, such as Boating Handbooks contact 1-877-827-8817.
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Driver's Privacy Protection Act: Removal Agencies, Storage Facilities, and Mechanics Information Request
DPPA for Removal Agencies and Mechanics Form

State of South Dakota Rt

Motor Vehicle Division

445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DPPA: Removal Agencies, Storage Facilities, and Mechanics Vehicle Information Request

Complete this form in its entirety to ensure a prompt response, incomplete forms can result in a rejection of your request.
A Responses will be sent by email or via US mail. Responses will not be faxed. Requests made by out-of-state businesses must be
Instructions  a@companied by a copy of a business license issued by your state.

* i
“ Business Name: FEIN:
-
Requestor’s SD Sales Tax License Number: Address:
Information = * *
City: State: Zip Code:
- * *
Contact Person Email Address: Phone #:
* * *
Year: Make: Model: Plate Number:
Vehicle *
Reqeue?sted Title Number: Title State: VIN/HIN:

n Please select which scenario applies from the list below:

Authorization D We are a South Dakota based towing agency requesting the name and address of any titled owners or lienholders
for Release to provide them with notification that this vehicle has been towed and/or impounded.

C] We are a South Dakota based storage facility requesting the name and address of any titled owners and
lienholders to provide them with notification that this vehicle has been abandoned in our storage facility.

() We are an out-of-state towing agency requesting the name and address of any titled owners or lienholders to
provide them with notification that this vehicle has been towed and/or impounded. We have attached a copy of our
business license.

(7] We are a South Dakota based vehicle repair business requesting the name and address of any titled owners or
lienholders to provide them with notification of our intent to obtain a title as the result of an unpaid repair bill.

(] We are an out-of-state vehicle repair business requesting the name and address of any titled owners or lienholders
to provide them with notification of our intent to obtain a title as the result of an unpaid repair bill. We have attached

a copy of our business license.

() other (please describe):

B In requesting and using this information, | acknowledge that this disclosure is subject to the Driver’'s Privacy Protection Act
(Public Law 103-322) and South Dakota law. This request is made under the penalties of the law.
Unsworn . o
Declaration | declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct

Signed onthis _— "~ day of tond 1ed i _=oeaul (state).

Saba
Printed Name: Signature: Stguatere %té’
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Driver's Privacy Protection Act: Request by Business or Govt Agency
DPPA for Government Agency or Business Form

State of South Dakota Form #1201
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DPPA: Vehicle Information Request by a Business or Government Agency

Complete and submit this form to your county treasurer’s office or mail it to the Motor Vehicle Division at the address above.

A Appropriate fees must be submitted before information can be processed. Complete the form in its entirety to ensure a prompt
Instructions response. Incomplete forms can result in a rejection of your request Responses will be sent via email or US Mail. Responses will not
be faxed. Requests made by out-of-state businesses must be accompanied by a copy of a business license issued by that state.
Note: Record summary (general vehicle information) fees are $2 and title history (copy of scanned title records) fees are $5.
2 *
Business Name: FEIN #:
Requestor's  SD Sales Tax License #: Address:;
Information
Y e e e e e NS e e Ziptode =—=—
* *
Contact Person: Phone #:
*
EmaibAddess A e e e
Year: Make: Model:
Information 00 Number: VIN/HIN:
Requested
Name and Address: DL/SSN:
n Please select which scenario applies from the list below: C1Record Summary 1 Title History
o [ I work for a government agency or law enforcement and | need the information described above for use in
Authorization :
my job.
for Release

1 am a business owner or employee and | am requesting vehicle information to verify personal information
given to me by someone that works for me.

1 am a business owner or employee and | am requesting record information to obtain information to prevent
fraud, pursue a legal remedy, or collect on a debt involving the record holder.

I am requesting vehicle information for use in a current or future legal proceeding or for use by a licensed
private investigator.

[T 1 represent an insurer and | am requesting information for claims investigation, to prevent fraud or for rating
and underwriting.

Amount Due: 20.00

Unsworn
Declaration

In requesting and using this information, | acknowledge that this disclosure is subject to the Driver’s Privacy Protection
Act (Public Law 103-322) and South Dakota law. This request is made under the penalties of the law.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.
- * Manth ¥ YeR * 21118 .|
Signed on this _—° day of g (- Rl (state).

'
|
Printed Name: Signature: : 4 W & %& |
.
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Driver's Privacy and Protection Act Form (DPPA) Private Individuals Info Request

DPPA for Private Individuals Form

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

State of South Dakota Form #1202
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

DPPA: Private Individual Vehicle Information Request

Complete and submit this form to your county treasurer’s office or mail it to the Motor Vehicle Division at the address above.

P

Appropriate fees must be submitted before information can be processed Complete the form in its entirety to ensure a prompt
response. Incomplete forms can result in a rejection of your request Responses will be sent via email or US Mail. Responses will

not be faxed.

Instructions

Note: Record summary(general vehicle information) fees are $2 and title history(copy of scanned title record) fees are $5.

-
“ Name: SD DL # or SSN:
Requestor's  Address: City: State: Zip Code:
Information
Contact Person Email Address: Phone #:
- - *
Year. Make: Model
*
Information Title Number: Title State: VIN/HIN:
Requested
Name and Address: SD DL # or SSN:
“ Please select one scenario that applies from the list below: [ Record Summary I Title History
Athoreation 11 am a private individual requesting my own information.
for Release

“1lam a private individual requesting information on a vehicle that was left on my property when | purchased
the property. | have included a copy of the deed, showing when the property was transferred into my name.

11 am a private individual requesting another person’s information. | have included a bill of sale or a signed
affidavit from the person allowing me access to their information.

11 am private individual requesting information for use in legal proceedings.

10ther (please describe):

Unsworn
Declaration

In requesting and using this information, | acknowledge that this disclosure is subject to the Driver’s Privacy
Protection Act (Public Law 103-322) and South Dakota law. This request is made under the penalties of the law.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

® * ASUATE. DY SO *
Signed on this day of Ny = at m——————— (state) _
* ' . G4 1
Printed Name: Signature: L&g‘mw ete :
*
Name on Credit Card for online payment: B I
$0.00

Amount Due:
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Extended or Additional Consideration Lease Tax Worksheet
Extended or Additional Consideration Lease Tax Worksheet Form

State of South Dakota Form #1029
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Extended or Additional Consideration Lease Tax Worksheet

This worksheet is to be used if a lease is extended from that of the initial lease period, or if additional consideration
is paid during a lease or upon termination of a lease. The certificate of title does not have to be submitted unless
Instructions  the lessor wants the additional tax amount shown on the title.

Note: This does not apply to vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,000 pounds or more, except fertilizer

vehicles.
n Year: _ Make:
Vehicle
Information Title Number: VIN:
Lessor Name: Address:
e City. State: Zip Code
Information s el e
Lessee Name:
n 1. Extended Lease Period 1.
Eliencieit asns [Number of months X$ per month] $0.00
- AC_Idmofﬂ' 2. Additional Consideration 2
Cons'de'at"?n [additional amount paid during the lease or upon termination of the lease]
Tax Information
3. Total 3
[line 1 or 2; if both lines apply, add line 1 and 2] $0.00
4 SD Excise Tax 4
[multiply line 3 by .04 for tax due) $0 00
n This tax worksheet and taxes are to be submitted to the Motor Vehicle Division.
Additional I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregeingis true and correct.
Information &
Signature Signed on this day of . at
Printed Name: Signature:
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Motor Vehicle Complaint Form
Motor Vehicle Complaint Form

Form# 1702
State of South Dakota

Motor Vehicle Division
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 dor.sd.qov

Motor Vehicle Complaint Form

Please complete as many of the fields as possible to better prepare the Motor Vehicle Division office to manage your
complaint Completed forms should be submitted electronically by click the sign and submit button once completed.

Instructions
n Applicant Name: Address:
Applicant City: State: Zip Code:
Information
Phone Number: Email Address:

SD Driver’s License or SSN:

Complaint is filed against: [ Dealer O Business [ Individual

Complaint Dealer, Business or Individual's Name:
Information
Phone Number: Address:
City: State: Zip Code:
n Year: Make: Model:
Vehicle VIN/HIN: Title Number:
Information
Date of Safe) Where did the transaction take place?

[] Business [ Internet [ Other

Complaint
Type

Select the appropriate complaint type(s):

The following will be handled by the Motor Vehicle Division:
[0 Damage to the Vehicle 0 odometer Reading O Advertising O Vehicle Title
[ Other:

The following will be handled by the Attorney General's office:
[ Finance/Breach of Contract [ Warranty/Repair [ Lemon Law

Description

and
Signature

Please provide a detailed description of what transpired by date:

After your complaint has been submitted it will be reviewed by personnel from the appropriate state agency and
where warranted, a thorough investigation will be conducted to determine any wrong-doing or possible solutions.
To help in the investigation, we ask that you accurately enter as much of the request information as possible. If
additional documentation is needed, a representative will contact you. Any information submitted will be kept
strictly confidential and only used for purposes related to this complaint.

Signature: &qﬂdfalé 7Here Date: 04/25/2023
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Non-Resident Off-Road Vehicle Permit Application
Non-Resident Off-Road Vehicle Permit App Form

State of South Dakota Form 1030

Motor Vehicle Division

445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http//dor.sd.gov

Non-Resident Off-Road Vehicle Permit Application

n Complete and submit to the County Treasurer's Office or the Moter Vehicle Division, along with requirements below: (If
submitting online, upload the following requirements.)
Instructions * Photocopy of your driver’s license — for each titled/registered owner * ::'?aal fE_'IE_ of ?SU..D(J lied whe
» Copy of proof of Social Security Mumber - for each titled/registered owner * a § M:a;:ﬁn:zrﬁ:ﬁi"eh ::a" n
» Copy of ownership document from your state or proof of insurance FpYying . g -
. . Please allow 7-10 business days for mailing

* This does not apply to golf carts or a toy/youth off-road vehicle,

* *
n MName: Address:
. * * * *
Applicant City: State: Zip Code: SSM:
Information * *
Phone Mumber: Email Address:
Year: Make: Model: Color:
*
Vehicle ) . '
- VIN/HIMN: Title # (if licable):
Information P
n I, the undersigned, do hereby swear that | had installed on the above described two or four wheels, all-terrain vehicle: (All boxes
must be checked.)
Declaration Engine Type: (Select One)
01 Bearview Mirror 0O ﬁeadl'lghts 01 Mlinimum of 200 cc engine for 4 wheels
Minimum of 120 cc engine for 2 wheels
o forn O Ticense Plate Light 0 Electric - four-wheel
1 Behaust and Muffler 0 'ﬁarl{ing, tail, and stop lights 1 Other (list attached)
ﬂ Initial: (J* Renewal [ J* Permit Fee: § $0.00
Mailing Fee:
i Total Amount Due: $51.50
Permit
| declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.
. o v Jan v | 2023 w
Unsworn Signed on this day of | o _at i (state) :
. I -
Declaration Printed Mame: Signature; '@f_‘f_a{_‘f(’}? _@_(_&_’Lf}_ _:
You may also need a Permit frem the US Forest Service — which allows you to ride on Forest Service Trails.
Motorized trail permits may be purchased directly from the Black Hills National Forests offices, many local vendors, ordered
online (permits mailed), or from the Black Hills and Badlands Tourism Assaciation Visitor Center, located off Exit 61 on | 90.
NOTE: The Black Hills Forest Service offices or any of their vendors DO NOT issue this Mon-Resident Off-Road permit
BHFS Off-Road Vehicle Permits Online Orders | Black Hills & Badlands Tourism Association — Rapid City, SD
(blackhillshadlands.com) 605-355-3700
O Approved [ Denied Reason
Office Use  Permit # Permit Start Date:
Onl .
Y Printed Name: Signature: __ &ﬁﬂdfdﬂw %fﬁ g | 07/19/2023
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Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, Auction Agency
Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, or Auction Agency Form

State of South Dakota rOmy1026
Motor Vehicle Division
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, or
Auction Agency

Notice was sent for: (*Note: Applicant must be in possession of vehicle to qualify for any process below.)
(CJ Abandoned (Towed) - Vehicle was towed (notice must be sent within 45 days)

HOtice () Abandoned (Storage) - Vehicle left abandoned in a storage facility
Type : e 2 2 e
Unpaid Repair Bill - vehicle has an unpaid repair bill
() Auction Agency — Vehicle obtained through an insurance agency requested tow
Please specify information about your removal agency, repair facility, storage facility or auction agency -
* * *
Applicant
Information Name Busingzs/Sales Tax License Phone &lumber Ema,i\! Address £
Street Address City State Zip
A Year Make Model
Vehicle
Information d
License Plate Number Serial/VIN Number
u Registered Owner Lienholder Insurance Company (for unpaid repair only)
Notice
SentTo Name Name Name
Street Address Street Address Street Address
City/State/Zip Code City/State/Zip Code City/State/Zip Code
- A
Certified notice tracking number (Not required for a Storage Lien)
Centified notice tracking number: (Not required for a Storage Lien)
[] Abandoned (Towed) Vehicle was towed®n from
that is public property ] or private property [] and towed to our ot at the above address. As of the date of this notice, the total
Statement fees due are $ .Towing$____ Storage $ and additional storage at
arateof $_________ per day will be assessed until the vehicle is claimed and removed. The owner and lienholder may reclaim the
vehicle and shall notify the removal agency and Motor Vehicle Division in writing within 30 days of this notice.
() Abandoned (Storage) Vehicle was left for storage@n at :
As of the date of this notice, the storage charge is $ - The owner and lienholder may reclaim the vehicle within
30 days of this notice.
(CJ Unpaid Repair Bill Vehicle was left for repaimn at

as of the date of this notice, the total charge of $ is due. The owner and lienholder may reclaim
the vehicle and shall notify the repair facility and Motor Vehicle Division in writing within 30 days of this notice.

(CJ Auction Agency Vehicle was towed at the request of the insurance company

Bn to our lot at the above address. As of the date of this notice, charges due are $

The owner and lienholder may reclaim the vehicle after notification to reclaim has been sent to the agency in writing within 45
days of when the notice was received.

SECOND PAGE MUST BE REVIEWED AND SIGNED

Page 1 of 2
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Affidavit

| affirm that this information has been examined by me, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, is in all things true and correct |
hereby attest that this notice was sent to the registered owner and lienholder and insurer (if required) withinthe required time frame. |

understand that it is my responsibility to maintain record for proof of notices sent
1 declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

(city), (state)

Signed on the day of P , at

Signature

Printed Name

Please refer to the statutes listed below and the procedures manual found on our website:
http://dor.sd gov/Motor Vehicles/Publications/PDF/Procedures®20Manual PDF for information regarding the application process.

Abandoned (Towed):
SDCL 32-36-1 through 32-36-11

Documents to be submitted to the county treasurer’s office:

« Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
* This properly completed Notice that was sent to the owner and any lienholder by certified mail
* Tow Ticket (when removed from public property) or written approval from the landowner (when removed from private property)

+ Title fee of $10

Abandoned (Storage):

SDCL 44-14-1 through 44-14-6 and 44-2-3 through 44-2-9

Documents to be submitted to the county treasurer's office:

+ Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
* This properly completed Notice that was sent to the owner and any lienholder by certified mail

+ Storage Rental Agreement
+ Title fee of $10

Unpaid Repair Bill:
SDCL 32-3-67 through 32-3-69

Documents to be submitted to the county treasurer's office:

+ Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
* This properly completed Notice that was sent to the owner, lienholder, and insurer by certified mail

+ Unpaid repair bill
* Title fee of $10

*Once the title has been issued, the vehicle must be sold at public auction.
Auction Agency:
SDCL 32-3-75
Documents to be submitted to the county treasurer's office:

= Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
= This properly completed Notice that was sent to the owner and any lienholder by certified mail

« Title fee of $10

*Once the title has been issued, this vehicle must be sold by the auction agency.

TITLE APPLICATION MUST NOT BE APPLIED FOR UNTIL THE 30 DAY REQUIRED WAIT TIME
HAS PASSED.
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Odometer Disclosure Form
Odometer Disclosure Form

State of South Dakota 1021
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Odometer Disclosure

Instructions

Federal and state law requires that you disclose a vehicle’s actual mileage on each transfer of ownership.
Failure to complete an odometer disclosure or making a false disclosure may result in fines and/or
imprisonment. Complete this disclosure statement if the vehicle being transferred is less than 20 years old and
weighs less than 16,000 pounds.

“ Year: Make: Model:

Vehicl.e VIN: Title Number:
Information

The odometer reading is _ (check one) 1 Miles [ Kilometers.
Odometer ) ) )
Information The stated mileage is: (Check one of the following)

[ Actual mileage;
[ Exceeds odometer's mechanical limits; or

[ Is not actual-WARNING: Odometer Discrepancy

Disclosure Certification: |, as the seller, under penalty of South Dakota law, certify by my signature to the
truth and accuracy of this disclosure statement.

Seller
Information
& Signature Seller Name: Address:
City: State: Zip Code:
Seller Signature: Date of Sa@
ﬂ Purchaser Name: Address:
Purchaser
Information City: State: Zip Code:
& Signature

Purchaser Signature: Date of S@
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Out-of-State Vehicle Lease Tax Worksheet
Qut-of-State Vehicle Lease Tax Worksheet Form

State of South Dakota Form #1027
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Out-of-State Vehicle Lease Tax Worksheet

Instructions

Use this worksheet if the out-of-state lease tax was being assessed monthly.

Note: Lessee and lessor must remain the same. This worksheet, along with a copy of the lease, must accompany
the application for title and registration on leases. This does not apply vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of
16,000 pounds.

Year: Make: VIN:

Vehicle Information

Owner
Information

Lessor Name: Address:

City: _ o 1 State: Zip Code:

Lessee Name:

Lease and
Tax
Information

1. The date the vehicle entered SD (ﬂ: Remaining number of months in the lease (1b):

2. Lease payment: (includes all capitalized costs but does not include the following: | 2.
title fee, registration fees, excise tax, federal excise tax, insurance, or refundable
security deposits on the lease). [Total number of monthsin lease (2a) X
(2b)$ _lease payment per month] $0.00

3. Capitalized Cost Reduction [net trade (trade-in value minus pay-off), cash, and 3
rebate].

4. Up Front Fees [non-capitalized fees that are paid at lease signing, including the 4.
following: extended service contracts, administrative or document fees, lease
acquisition fees, or other fees assessed on the purchase of the vehicle.

5. Total [add lines 2,3, and 4) S.
$0.00
6. Purchase Price [divide line 5 by line 2a (number of months in lease) and then 6.
multiply that answer by line 1b (remaining months in the lease)] NaN
7. SD 4% Excise Tax [multiple line 6 by .04] y
NaN

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.

Addnlor)al Signed on this day of , at _

Information

& Signature  printed Name: Signature:
Note:

Upon buy-out of a lease, the lessor/dealer must forward the assigned title to the lessee, who will make application for title through their
county treasurer. The purchase price on a buy-out is the amount paid for the vehicle at the end of the lease

If a lease is extended from that of the initial lease period or if additional consideration is paid during a lease, additional tax is due. Use the
“Extended or Additional Consideration Lease Tax Worksheet”. The lessor must forward the form and proper fees to the Motor Vehicle Division
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Power of Attorney
Power of Attorney Form

1023
State of South Dakota
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.qgov
Power of Attorney
A Complete this application to designate power of attorney only to make an application for title or to assign a
Instruction certificate of title.
[ Vehicle [ Boat
Vehicle or Year. _ Make; Model:
Boat
Information VIN/HIN: Title Number:
Let it be known that the undersigned of the city
Person(s) of South Dakota, does (do) hereby appoint the following true and lawful
Appointed

attorney(s) for the purpose listed below:

Appointed Name: Address:
City: State: Zip Code:
Appointed Name: Address:
City: State: Zip Code:

Attorney
Powers

The appointed attorney(s) may exercise the following designated powers. Check all that apply.
Group 1: To be used only if more than one person is named above.

[ Jointly (both people named must sign) [ Severally (either person named can sign)
Group 2: One or more selections must be made.

[ To apply for a certificate of title for the described vehicle/boat in the name of the undersigned.

[ To assign all rights, title, and interest in the described vehicle/boat on behalf of the undersigned.

Disclosure,
Signature,
and Notary

The undersigned does further authorize said attorney(s) to include in any application for title and/or the assignment, such
statements and warranties as to mortgages, liens, and encumbrances upon the above described motor vehicle/boat as they, or
either of them, may believe to be true in fact The undersigned does hereby ratify and confirm each and every act which said
attorneys or either of them may do pursuant to the power herein granted.

In witness whereof, the undersigned has executed this instrument on this day of 20
Name: Signature :

Name: Signature :

Sworn to and witnhessed by me this day of , 20

Notary Signature:

My commission expires the day of 20
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Salvage and Recovered Theft Disclosure Statement
Salvage and Recovered Theft Statement Form

1020
State of South Dakota
Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 httpi//dOl’.Sd.gOV

Salvage and Recovered Theft Disclosure Statement

Salvage Titles: State law requires that if an insurer, in settlement of a total loss insurance claim, or self-insurer

acquired ownership of a vehicle determined a total loss, the insurer shall within 30 days of acquisition of the title,
surrender it and apply for a salvage title. If the owner retains possession of the vehicle, the owner shall prior to
sale or transfer of the title, obtain a salvage title. Failure to do so is a Class 1 misdemeanor. Salvage titles are
required on motor vehicles less than 11 years old and vehicles that weigh less than 16,000 GVWR.

Instructions

n Year: Make:

Model:
Vehicle
Information VIN: Title Number: Title State:
Any vehicle that an insurer or self-insurer determines a total loss due to damage caused by fire, vandalism, collision,
weather, or submersion in water or flood.
Salvage
Statement Was this vehicle determined to be a total loss? Cves O No OnN/A
n The recovered SD salvage titled vehicle has been recovered and determined not to be salvage.
Recovered
Theft [ Yes [ No OnN/A
Statement
n | declare under penalty of perjury under the law of South Dakota that the foregoing is true and correct.
Unsworn Signed on this _ _day of 3 at
Declaration ) .
Printed Name: Signature:
Printed Name: Signature:
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Seller's Report of Sale
Seller - Report of Sale Form

1024
State of South Dakota

Motor Vehicle Division
445 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 605-773-3541 http://dor.sd.gov

Seller's Report of Sale

Instruction

For your protection, keep this notice until the vehicle is sold or transferred. When you sell the
vehicle/boat you must file the new purchaser information with your local county treasurer. Failure to do
so is a Class 2 misdemeanor. Do not give this form to the buyer. By submitting this form, you are
notifying the state of South Dakota of the sale or transfer of this motor vehicle/boat. The title record will
not be changed until the title is submitted for transfer. This may protect you from liabilities resulting
from driving or movement of the vehicle/boat after the date of the sale. Owners should keep a copy of
this notice for their records as proof of the transfer.

Year: Make: Model:
Vehicle
Information :
VIN/HIN: Title Number:
Date of Sale: _ ~ Selling Price: _
Sale Seller's Name: Address:
Information
City: State: Zip Code:
n Purchaser's Name: Address:
Purchaser 2 ; 5 :
Information City: _ State: _ Zip Code: _

Purchaser’s SD Driver's License # or SSN:

Seller
Signature

| certify that | have sold or transferred the vehicle described herein and have assigned and delivered the certificate
of title to the buyer or transferee, thereby releasing interest in this vehicle.

)

Seller's Signature: W tgharute Core ! Date: '05/18/2023

__________
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Attorney Fees

A. If the manufacturer failed to fulfill its' obligations to repair the
nonconforming vehicle the consumer may recover reasonable attorney fees
in addition to the refund of contract price, taxes, and license & registration
fees 32-6D-8

Civil action against manufacturer

A. A consumer that sustains damages (out of pocket expenses) due to the failure of the manufacturer or
authorized dealer to perform its obligations to repair the nonconforming vehicle, may bring civil
action against the manufacturer to enforce the provisions of the South Dakota Lemon Law if:

1. Notice is given to the manufacturer in the form of certified mail, demanding correction, or repair
of the nonconforming condition

i. The manufacturer has 7 calendar days from the date notice is received to notify the
consumer of a reasonably accessible repair facility

ii. From the time the nonconforming vehicle arrives at the repair facility by the consumer, the
manufacturer or authorized dealer has 14 calendar days to attempt to repair the
nonconforming condition

2. Reasonable attempts to correct the nonconforming condition have been performed, and the
manufacturer was given a final attempt to correct the nonconforming condition

B. If a manufacturer started informal legal proceedings, in compliance with Federal rules and regulations,
the consumer must first exhaust any remedy provided to the consumer under the informal legal
proceedings before a cause of action can be initiated under the South Dakota lemon law 32-6D-6

Deductions from the total refund/formula

A. Refunds are made to the consumer and lienholders

1. The refund amount is determined by multiplying the full purchase price by # miles on vehicle before
the formal notice of nonconformance divided by 100,000.

If the vehicle had 8,000 miles and full purchase price is $24,000, then the formula is 24,000 x 8,000 /
100,000 = $1,920

The total amount the manufacturer will deduct from the refund is $1,920, this is determined to be the cost
for use the consumer got out of the vehicle before the first report of nonconformance.

32-6D-4
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Definitions

Consumer: the purchaser, other than for purposes of resale, of a new or previously untitled motor
vehicle used in substantial part for personal, family, or household purposes, who is entitled by the
terms of the warranty to enforce the obligations of the warranty

Express warranty: a written warranty, so labeled, issued by the manufacturer of a new motor vehicle,
including any terms or conditions precedent to the enforcement of obligations under that warranty

Lemon law rights period: the period ending one year after the date of the original delivery of a motor
vehicle to a consumer or the first twelve thousand miles of operation, whichever first occurs

Manufacturer: the person, firm, corporation, or limited liability company engaged in the business of
manufacturing, importing, or distributing motor vehicles to be made available to a motor vehicle
dealer for retail sale

Motor vehicle: every vehicle intended primarily for use and operation on the public highways which is
self-propelled. The term does not apply to any motor home or to any motor vehicle having a
manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating of fifteen thousand pounds or more

Motor vehicle dealer or authorized dealer: any person operating under a dealer agreement from a
manufacturer and licensed pursuant to chapter 32-6B

Nonconforming condition: any condition of a motor vehicle that is not in conformity with the terms
of any express warranty issued by the manufacturer to a consumer and that significantly impairs the
use, value, or safety of the motor vehicle and occurs or arises solely in the course of the ordinary use of
the motor vehicle, and that does not arise or occur as a result of abuse, neglect, modification, or
alteration of the motor vehicle not authorized by the manufacturer, nor from any accident or other
damage to the motor vehicle which occurs or arises after the motor vehicle was delivered by an
authorized dealer to the consumer

Notice of a nonconforming condition: a written statement delivered to the manufacturer and which
describes the motor vehicle, the nonconforming condition, and all previous attempts to correct such
nonconforming condition by identifying the person who made the attempt and the time the attempt
was made. 32-6D-1
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Liability of authorized dealer

The manufacturer cannot charge back or require reimbursement by an authorized motor vehicle dealer
for any costs including:

1. Any refunds or replacement costs incurred by the manufacturer

Under the South Dakota lemon law the authorized dealer is not responsible for any action a consumer
takes against a manufacturer 32-6D-10

Manufacturer's defenses to lemon law claims

A. A valid defense to any claim against the manufacturer exists if:
i. The nonconforming condition of the vehicle doesn't significantly impair:

the use of the motor vehicle
ii. market value of the motor vehicle iii. safety of the motor vehicle

The nonconforming condition is the result of:
Abuse of the motor vehicle ii. Neglect of the motor vehicle

iii. Any modification or alteration of the motor vehicle not authorized by the manufacturer
32-6D-7

Obligation to repair nonconforming vehicle

A. Any vehicle that does not conform to the standards set by the manufacturer
must be repaired by the manufacturer or authorized dealer to remedy any
nonconforming condition.

1. The Lemon Law Rights period is the first 24 months from the date of
delivery or the first 24,000 miles, whichever first.

2. The manufacturer or authorized dealer is still obligated to make repairs
if formal notice was given by the consumer before the expiration of the
lemon law rights period.

i. Formal notice means the consumer delivered the vehicle to the manufacturer or
authorized dealer and gave written notice on nonconformance. 32-6D-2
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Refund or Replacement

A. If the manufacturer or authorized dealer is unable to adequately repair the nonconforming vehicle to
meet the manufacturer's warranty the dealer must, at the option of the consumer:

Replace the motor vehicle with a comparable new motor vehicle
Refund the consumer all collateral charges which includes:

I. Excise tax
ii. License and registration
iii. Any similar government fees paid for by the consumer to register the vehicle

All finance charges incurred by the consumer

Any incidental costs associated with alternative means of transportation during the time the consumer
was without a vehicle because of the nonconforming condition

i. Bus fares, taxi fares, rental car fees 32-6D-3

Resale of manufacturer buy back vehicles

A. If a vehicle is returned to the manufacturer under the lemon law in SD as the result of legal action or
informal dispute, it cannot be sold in this state unless:

The manufacturer discloses in writing to the new purchaser that the vehicle was returned due to
nonconformance to the manufacturer's warranty

The nature of the nonconformity to the warranty is disclosed to the new purchaser
3. The manufacturer makes application for and receives a title that is branded as
MANUFACTURE BUY BACK

i. This brand will remain on all subsequent titles for the life of the vehicle

ii. The manufacture buy back brand indicates the vehicle was returned to the manufacturer because it
did not conform to the warranty 32-6D-9

iii. The manufacturer discloses in writing to the new purchaser that the vehicle was returned due to
nonconformance to the manufacturer's warranty.

iv. The nature of the nonconformity to the warranty is disclosed to the new purchaser.

v. The manufacturer makes application for and receives a title that is branded as
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MANUFACTURE BUY BACK
i. This brand will remain on all subsequent titles for the life of the vehicle

ii. The manufacture buy back brand indicates the vehicle was returned to the manufacturer because it
did not conform to the warranty

32-6D-9

Time limit for acting on lemon law

A. Any action brought on a manufacturer under the South Dakota lemon law must be started within 3
years following the original date of delivery of the motor vehicle to the consumer
32-6D-11

ELT code

LE: Lender Notify Department of Error
-Lender sends this in response to LA transactions that have errors

ER: Lender Notify Department of Lien Reassignment Error
-Lender sends this in response to LR transactions that have errors

EK: Lender Notify Department of Error on Correction

-Lender sends this in response to LK transactions that have errors

LO: Lender Lien Release (must be submitted within 20 days after the final payment is received)

-Lender uses this transaction when a lien has been paid off.

LG: Lender Request for Paper Title w/ Lien(s)

-Lender uses this when a paper title is needed.

LE: Lender Notify Department of Error

-Lender sends this in response to LA transactions that have errors

ER: Lender Notify Department of Lien Reassignment Error

-Lender sends this in response to LR transactions that have errors
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EK: Lender Notify Department of Error on Correction

-Lender sends this in response to LK transactions that have errors

LA: Department Notify Lender of Lien Notation

-DMV sends this transaction when a new lien is added

LK: Department Notify Lender of Correction

-DMV sends this transaction either upon discovery of an error, or as a response to LE, ER, or EK transactions
that are found to have errors.

LR: Department Notify New Lender of Reassignment of Lien

-DMV sends this transaction to the reassigned lienholder.

LU: Department Notify Lender(s) of Change in Lien Information

-DMV sends this transaction to lienholders to notify additional liens being added or removed by other
lienholders.

EO: Department Notify Lender of Lien Release Error

-DMV sends this transaction to notify lienholders that an LO transaction could not be completed.

EG: Department Notify Lender of Request for Paper Title Error

-DMV sends this transaction to notify lienholders than an LG transaction could not be completed.

CA: Department Response to Lender Transactions Not Resulting in errors

-DMV sends this transaction as a response to all successful LO and LG transactions.

NO: Department Response to Lender Stating No Errors Found

-DMV sends this transaction as a response to LE, ER, or EK transactions when no errors are found



ELT FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions
ELT
What is Electronic Lien & Title (ELT)?

ELT is a title record that indicates a lien against the vehicle and the title record is stored
electronically, no paper is documented.

What does a Provider do?

When a title record is issued with a lien or a new lien is perfected, the Provider supplies
the Lender with an electronic message of the lien perfection. When a lien is needed to
be released, the Lender would send an electronic lien release to the Department
through the Provider. Providers also supply other services for their Lenders.

What is the cost to use a Provider?

The 5 vendors provide several different options for your business so we would suggest that you
contact them directly to determine the costs that will be associated with your participation in
this program.

Does a Lender have to use a Provider?

No. If the Lender chooses to not use a Provider, no notice is sent to the
Lender regarding any lien perfections.

How does a Lender note a lien if not using a Provider?

If there is a current title document, the title along with the loan contract and $10.00
lien fee is submitted to the titled owner’s county treasurer’s office. The county will
note the lien in the system and keep the title. If the title is already ELT, the loan
contract and $10.00 fee is remitted to the county treasurer and lien is noted.

If a Lender does not utilize a Provider, what do they get for a notice of lien perfection?

The Lender receives no notification. They will be able to verify lien perfection.

Is there anything a Lender needs to do if not going to utilize a Provider?

The Lender must submit the Lender Information form that has been mailed to them. If
they did not receive one, our office can send it.

How does a Lender note a second (junior) lien on an already existing ELT record?

ELT is a title record that indicates a lien against the vehicle and the title record is stored
electronically, no paper document.
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What if the loan customer (titled owner) is moving out of state and needs a title?

If the Lender is participating through a Provider, an electronic request to print a paper
title is sent to the state. The title will be printed and mailed the following work day. If
the Lender is not using a Provider, a manual request to print title must be completed
and sent to the state. This is one of only three reasons the state will print a title with
the lien. The others are: to correct a title (like adding or removing a name) and a
court order. All other requests must be approved by the Department.

What if title has to be corrected?

If the Lender is participating through a Provider, an electronic request to print a paper
title is sent to the state. The title will be printed and mailed the following work day. If
the Lender is not using a Provider, a manual request to print title must be completed
and sent to the state.

How does a lienholder get a repossession title on an ELT record?

Application is made with all documents, except the title. The repossession affidavit has
an ELT box to check in place of title.

Does it cost anything for the title to be printed after the lien is paid off?

No

What is the website for the VIN check to verify lien information?

This will be available with implementation of ELT. www.sdcars.org (click on “VIN Check”)

Where can | find a list of Providers?

http://dor.sd.gov/Motor_Vehicles/Electronic_Lien_and_Title/PDFs/Provider%20contact%
20information.pdf

If a lien is currently in the state system as a “paper title”, does the Lender have to surrender the
title?

No

Does the Lender have the option to submit a current title to make it electronic?

No
When a lien is paid off, can the title stay paperless?

No
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ELT Reference Guide

The South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles has an Electronic Lien & Title System (ELT). As a result, a title
certificate is not printed on any title that is issued that indicates a lien.

Lenders have the option to utilize a third-party provider that will provide a lender with electronic notices of
title issuance and lien perfection when a record is issued in the state system. Upon release of a lien, a
participating lender will release a lien electronically through its provider. Upon receipt of the electronic lien
release, the title will be printed and mailed to the owner, unless directed otherwise by the lender.
https://dor.sd.gov/media/jkbnwr0z/sd-elt-guide.pdf

https://dor.sd.gov/individuals/motor-vehicle/all-vehicles-title-fees-registration/ Scroll until you find the below
section

Electronic Lien & Title (ELT)
What is the ELT System?

The South Dakota Motor Vehicle Division has an Electronic Lien & Title System (ELT), which allows lienholders to reduce
the handling, storage and mailing costs of paper titles by replacing them with an electronic version. No paper title will be
printed while there is a lien noted, unless one of the exceptions in South Dakota law apply. SDCL 32-3-70

How Does the ELT System Work?

Lenders have the option to utilize a third-party provider that will provide electronic notices of title issuance and lien
perfection when a record is issued in the state system. Upon the release of a lien, a participating lender will send a lien
release electronically through its provider. Upon receipt of the electronic lien release, the title will be printed and mailed
to the owner, unless directed otherwise by the lender. For more information on the Electronic Lien & Title system, take a
look at the ELT Guide (PDF).

Notation of Liens on Existing South Dakota Printed Titles

To have a lien noted on an outstanding title, the owner or lienholder shall present the original South Dakota certificate of
title (or valid duplicate) and a copy of the security agreement to the titled owner’s county treasurer’s office. A lien
notation fee of $10 must also be submittied. Note: the check or money order must be made out to the appropriate county
treasurer (not to the Motor Vehicle Division).

South Dakota Electronic Lender Guide
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32-3-35 Manufacturer's statement or certificate of origin pending issuance of certificate of title--Priority

32-3-36  All lien spaces filled--Issuance of new certificate.
32-3-37 Sale of encumbered vehicle with knowledge of lien holder--Effect against subsequent

purchasers.
32-3-38 Holder of security interest entitled to have notation of lien made by treasurer-
Notification to department--Notation on instrument and certificate of title.

Changing Lenders

Changing lenders on an existing ELT record
A. To change lenders when a customer has a lien on their title and refinances that loan with a different lender

a. The lien release must be provided for the original loan.
b. The new lien must be added before the original lien is released.

For bank buyouts see Lien Reassignment section

Lien Correction - ELT

A.To correct a lien on an ELT record for a participating lender

Email dor.dmvelt@state.sd.us with the following information

i. Title number or VIN

ii. Correct lender ID

iii. Correct lender name and address iv. Notification that the record needs to be updated to reflect
"Participating.”

The Division will review and amend the record if it qualifies.

Lien Reassignment

This is for bank buyouts only
A. Alien reassignment is only to be used when one bank buys another bank and their contracts. This will retain the
original lien notation date on the customer record.

B. The bank that the lien has been assigned to or the owner of the vehicle should present the following to the county
treasurer of the county the vehicle is registered in:
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1. Lien assignment agreement signed by representatives of each bank.

2. Certificate of title unless ELT.

. The county treasurer will note on the system and on the lien notation area on the title beside the original lienholder,
the name of the bank the reassignment is being made to, the date the reassignment is being made, and the
signature of the county treasurer.

1. The lien notation fee should be assessed.
. The county will change the computer system to reflect the reassignment and retain copies of the lien assignment.

32-3-38; 64:28:12:10

Mechanics Lien Procedure

The mechanic’s lien procedure is a means to transfer titles for boats and off-road units on unpaid repair and
storage bills. Personal property left for repair at a place of business in South Dakota is considered abandoned if
the property is unclaimed by its owner for a period of ninety (90) days after written notice of the intent to sell
the property is given. The mechanic’s lien procedure does not apply to motor vehicles or trailers.

a. The business owner must send notice to the owner at the owner’s last known address (owner address
information to be provided by the MVD through the DPPA process)

b. The notice must be sent by certified, return receipt mail

c. The sale is subject to liens, mortgages, and other creditors’ interest properly filed or perfected before the
date the personal property came into possession of the place of business

. Property that is unclaimed by owner for a period of 90 days after written notice of intent to sell the property is
given to the owner and lienholder(s) by certified mail.

1. Refer to Unclaimed Vehicle Due to Unpaid Repair Bills section, for vehicles left unclaimed as the result of
an unpaid repair bill.

. If lien not on file with the register of deeds, must file a sworn lien statement with the register of deeds. The
statement must contain the following: name and address of owner and any lienholders; description of
property sufficient to identify it; approximate location of property; date the lien is claimed to have arisen;
amount claimed as a lien; circumstances out of which lien is claimed.

. Sworn statement and post office receipt for mailing filed with register of deeds in county in which property
located.

. No title is issued before the public sale.

Notice of sale containing the following information: name and address of owner and any lienholders;
description of property sufficient to identify it; location of property; statement of grounds for which lien
claimed and reference to its filing with the register of deeds; nature of the default; amount claimed to be due
at date of notice; time and place of sale mailed to property owner and any lienholders.
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Publication of notice of sale in at least one issue of newspaper published in county at least 10 days before the
sale.

. Property that is unclaimed by owner for a period of 90 days after written notice of intent to sell the property is
given to the owner and lienholder(s) by certified mail.

1. Refer to Unclaimed Vehicle Due to Unpaid Repair Bills section, for vehicles left unclaimed as the result of
an unpaid repair bill.

. If lien not on file with the register of deeds, must file a sworn lien statement with the register of deeds. The
statement must contain the following: name and address of owner and any lienholders; description of
property sufficient to identify it; approximate location of property; date the lien is claimed to have arisen;
amount claimed as a lien; circumstances out of which lien is claimed.

Sworn statement and post office receipt for mailing filed with register of deeds in county in which property
located.

No title is issued before the public sale.

. Notice of sale containing the following information: name and address of owner and any lienholders;
description of property sufficient to identify it; location of property; statement of grounds for which lien
claimed and reference to its filing with the register of deeds; nature of the default; amount claimed to be due
at date of notice; time and place of sale mailed to property owner and any lienholders.

Publication of notice of sale in at least one issue of newspaper published in county at least 10 days before the
sale.

. Sale:

1. Sale must be held at public place. If held elsewhere, must set out all facts for not holding the sale in a
public place and give a description of place at which sale will be held.

2. Sale cannot be held on Sunday or other legal holidays and must be held between 10:00 AM and 5:00 PM.

3. Sale must be made at public auction to highest bidder for cash. It is not necessary to use an actual
“auctioneer” to conduct the sale.

4. Purchaser receives a bill of sale from the party making the sale or a report of the sale that is filed with the
register of deeds within 5 days of sale.

. The lienholder or his agent shall make a sworn report of the proceedings to the register of deeds within 5 days
of the sale. The report must contain the following: proof by affidavits of giving notice of the sale, including a
copy of the notice; an account of the sale, showing items sold, amounts bid and paid and names and
addresses of purchasers; amount due on the lien, together with costs and disbursements of the sale and the
surplus or deficiency remaining, if any.  32-3-41; 44-11 (1-12)
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Notation and Cancellation of a Lien

A. All vehicle liens must be noted on the South Dakota title or ELT to be effective under title law.
1. If alien is noted on the title, MSO, or ELT it will remain on the title record until the debt is satisfied.
2. Alien that is noted electronically is considered perfected as if a paper title were issued and a lien noted on it.

B. Effective October 1, 2012, the DMV implemented an Electronic Lien and Title (ELT) System. As a result, a title certificate is
no longer printed on any title that indicates a lien.

1. Lenders have the option to utilize a third-party provider that will provide a lender with electronic notices of title and
lien when a record is issued in the state system. A list of providers can be found on the Department of Revenue
website.

2. Lenders that do not participate through a provider will not receive notification that advises them of a title issuance or
lien perfection; however, access to search the state’s title system to verify title and lien records is available online at:
SDcars.org (click on VINY).

C. On an assigned South Dakota title, all liens to be noted on the title record must be noted in the proper space provided in
the assignment blank on the reverse side of the title.

1. The name of the purchaser, complete address and lien information must be either typewritten or printed.
2. A lien notation fee must be assessed for each lien noted.

D. No lien will be noted on the file with the county treasurer unless the lien is noted on the original certificate of title, title
record (ELT), or a valid, lawfully issued duplicate title.

E. The county treasurer is not required to file or record a chattel mortgage or similar instrument covering a motor vehicle
only. Notation of such instrument must be made on the certificate of title.

F. In case of a mixed mortgage where the security includes a motor vehicle and other chattel property, the county treasurer
must file or record such mixed mortgage. The filing of such mortgage against the car will have no effectiveness.

G. On a mixed mortgage, the lien on the motor vehicle must be noted on the certificate of title or title record (ELT) to be

effective, and the lien notation fee collected. H. Procedures for Lien Notation:
1. Notation of a Lien (Paper Title Exists):

a. The owner or lender must present the original South Dakota title (or valid duplicate) and a copy of the security
agreement to the county treasurer of the owner's county of residence. A lien notation fee must also be
submitted. The lien will be noted on the system and the title submitted to the DMV where it is held
electronically until the lien is released.

2. Notation of a Subsequent Lien on an ELT Record:


http://dor.sd.gov/Motor_Vehicles/Electronic_Lien_and_Title/PDFs/Provider%20contact%20information.pdf
https://sdcars.org/

a. A copy of the security agreement and a lien notation fee is submitted to the county treasurer’s office of the
owner’s county of residence. The lien will be noted on the system and the title record remains electronic.

Procedures for Release of Lien (under law, the lender has 20 days after final payment is received to execute a lien
release):

1. Release of Lien on an ELT Record (Participating Lender):

a. Upon release of a lien, a participating lender will release a lien electronically through its provider. Upon receipt
of the electronic lien release, provided there are no additional liens, the title will be printed and mailed the
following business day to the owner, unless directed otherwise by the lender. No fee for lien release.

2. Release of Lien on an ELT Record (Non-Participating Lender):

a. A lien release is submitted to a county treasurer’s office. Provided there are no other liens, the title is printed

and mailed the following business day to the owner, unless otherwise indicated on the release. No fee for lien
release.

3. Release of Lien on Paper Title:

a. The paper title and a lien release are submitted to a county treasurer’s office. The lien is released on the paper
title and returned to the owner, unless otherwise indicated on the release. No fee for lien release.

J. If a person trades in a vehicle to a dealer or enters into a consignment agreement with a dealer and the vehicle has a lien
noted on the title, the parties may agree that the dealer will satisfy the lien.

1. Failure to satisfy a lien constitutes theft.
2. The dealer must satisfy the lien within 10 business days after receipt of the funds.

a. Proof of payment of the lien shall be the confirmation number when payment is made online or a copy of the
check and the certified return receipt mail card, if payment is not made online.

K. A lien release can accompany an application for duplicate title. The lien will be cancelled by the DMV and the duplicate
title issued without the lien.

1. The application for duplicate title, along with the lien release, must be forwarded to the DMV with the proper fee. The
duplicate title will be issued without the lien.

2. The duplicate title will be mailed to the address on file for the owner, unless otherwise directed.
32-3-41; 32-3-37; 32-3-35; 32-3-44; 32-3-45

Notification for Notation of Lien on Paper Title

A. The title must be presented to the county treasurer of the county of record.

1. When the title or a valid duplicate is presented, the lien will be noted by the county treasurer on the front of
title and in the computer system. The title is then submitted to the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).
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2. If the certificate of title is not presented, the lienholder must complete the “Intent to Notify Owner."

a. The county treasurer will then notify the owner or the lienholder (in those instances where the lienholder
is holding title) by "Notification to Submit Title," retaining a copy of such notice, to surrender the
certificate of title within fifteen (15) days for the purpose of noting a lien or an additional lien.

3. The certificate of title must be submitted to the MVD, where it is held electronically until all liens are released.

4. The lien will be entered on the file. A lien notation fee is assessed.

B. If the owner, or in the case of an already existing lien, the first lienholder, in those instances where the title is being
held by the lienholder, does not comply with the county treasurer request to surrender the certificate of title within
fifteen (15) days for notation of a lien or an additional lien, the county treasurer must inform the lienholder by
“Intent to Notify Owner."

C. The holder of a certificate of title who refuses to deliver a certificate of title will be liable for damages to such
subsequent lienholder for the number of damages suffered by reason of the holder of the certificate of title refusing
to permit the showing of the lien on the certificate of title.

D. No lien will be noted on the file, unless the lien is properly noted on the original title, or a valid duplicate.

32-3-43; 32-3-44; 32-3-45; 32-3-38; 32-3-41

Transfer of Ownership by Affidavit of Repossession
A. The county treasurer requires South Dakota title (if available) to be submitted when applying for repossession
title, the lender noted on the title must be the applicant for repossession title.

1. If the motor vehicle records indicate that the title is lienholder-held and the title is not available, a
statement indicating why the title is not available should be submitted with the other required
documentation.

2. If the motor vehicle records indicate that the title is a SD electronic lien and title (ELT) record, the title is not
required.

B. The lien should be properly noted on the certificate of title or on the record (ELT). Other documents required:
1. A copy of the *security agreement
2. Application for certificate of title signed by the lienholder
3. Motor Vehicle Affidavit (Section C Repossession)
4. Title fee

C. The lien noted on the certificate of title or title record (ELT) must not have been released by the county
treasurer. Cancellation of the lien does not prohibit obtaining title by repossession.
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D. A Dealer Car Auction Agency may accept a vehicle for sale by a financial institution chartered or licensed in
another jurisdiction in which the title is not in the name of the entity, provided the title is in the name of the
customer and has the proper documentation required supporting a repossession transaction.

1. The out-of-state title must be provided.

2. The affidavit or other such document that is required by the customer’s or lienholder’s title state that allows
the lienholder to assign the out-of-state title without obtaining a repossession title, must be submitted.

3. Alienholder is required to obtain a repossession title, if the lienholder is from a state that requires a
lienholder to obtain a repossession title prior to selling a repossessed vehicle.

*Loan contract

32-3-6; 32-3-46; 64:28:13:03

Transfer of Ownership by Foreclosure of a Lien
A. Foreclosure of a lien upon a motor vehicle will be governed by the laws pertaining to foreclosure of chattel
mortgages.
This is a court order and is different than a repossession.

B. Filing of such lien will not be required as a condition precedent to foreclosure.

C. The register of deeds will require the surrender of the certificate of title covering the vehicle(s) involved, along with
an affidavit of publication or public posting of such notice of sale, bill of sale executed by a person authorized to
hold such a sale, certified copy of the lien instrument upon which foreclosure action is based, a title fee, application
for certificate of title signed by the purchaser and any applicable motor vehicle excise tax.

D. If a notation of lien has been made on the title or MSO by the seller, buyer, owner, or holder of the instrument, it
will be valid against the creditors of the debtor, whether armed with process or not, and subsequent purchasers and
other lienholders or claimants, but otherwise is not valid against them.

32-3-47; 32-3-41; 64:28:12
Non-Participating Lenders
A. A non-participating lender is any lender that does not utilize a third-party provider to manage their title

notifications electronically.
B. All titles with liens will be issued as ELT records.
C. No paper titles will be issued for lenders to retain.
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Providers

Electronic Lien & Title (ELT) provider list and contact information

Provider 1

Assurant

2975 Breckinridge Blvd

Duluth, SD 30096

Phone: 1-866-742-1466 E-mail: als.info@assurant.com

Provider 2

Dealer Track Collateral Management Services

9750 Goethe Road

Sacramento, CA 95827

Phone: 916-854-5406 E-mail: Craig.Leuschen@dealertrack.com

Provider 3
Decision Dynamics
PO Box 2078
Lexington, SC 29071
Phone: 803-808-0117
E-mail: info@etitlelien.com

Provider 4
PDP Group Inc
10909 McCormick Rd

Hunt Valley, MD 21031 E-mail: contact@simplyelt.com
Phone: 1-800-666-3008 Website: www.simplyelt.com
Provider 5

VINtek Inc

3268 Progressw Way Bldg 12 Suite 8000
Wilmington, OH 45177
Phone: 916-854-6500 E-mail: sales@vintek.com




Request for Paper Title
A. To request a paper title for a non-participating lender:

a. The Lender Paper Title Request form must be submitted to the Motor Vehicle Division.
b. A paper title will not be printed unless it is authorized by the Division.

c. Alien cancellation form must be submitted to any South Dakota County treasurer office if the vehicle
was sold, traded, or paid off.

i. This will prompt a paper title to print.
B. To request a paper title for a participating lender:
a. The lender must electronically request a paper title through their third-party provider.

b. The Division may deny requests for paper title if they do not qualify.



Exempt Entity Plates

BIT Exempt Bus Exempt

* SOUTH DAROTA"

BIT 002 BUS0000

SDDMVPBIT7 BT2@a (P) SDDMVPBUS2 aesaaas (P)

Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Exempt City Exempt

*SOUTH DAKOTA® *SOUTH DAKOTA®

CRT0000 CTY0000

SDDMVPCRE2 @@a@ad@ (P) SODDMVPCTY2 @ee@aad (P)

Civil Air Patrol Exempt Community Service Provider Exempt

[ *SOUTH DAKOTA® | * SOUTH DAKOTA®

"CAP 00_ 00

SDDMVPCAP7 eaaaa (P) SDDMVPCSP2 aeadaaa (P)

o
(7L,
1
QS
Ho

Conservation Officer Exempt County Exempt

e SOUTH DAKOTA" | * SoUTH DAKOTA'

® GF0O0 000000

SDDMVPGFP7 GFa@a (P} SDDMVPCOU2 COsaaaa (P)

Crow Creek Sioux Tribe Exempt Driver Education Exempt

* SOUTH DAKOTA® *SOUTH DAKOTA®

CCT0000 DE 0000

SDDMVPCCE2 002020 P) SDDMVPEDU2 @@
EVOC Exempt MC
YL M1000
W o 3 R+ OO SODMVMEXE4
SDDMVPEVO7 EVOCaaa (P) i
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Exempt Trailer Large

0000TRL

EXEMPT

Exempt Trailer Small

|5 SOUKERSNER |
1234TR

e SDDMVMTSE7
SDDMVPTLE? @@@@TRL (P) @2@@TR (5)
Fence Exempt Fire Department Exempt

* SOUTH DAKOTA"®

€BFENCE

SDDMVPFEN7

Fire Marshal Exempt

*SOUTH DAKOTA®

@FM10

SODDMVPFRM7

o

amaoa (P)

* SOUTH DAKOTA*

FD 0000

SODDMVPFRD2

Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe Exempt

FST0000

SDDMVPFSE2

aoapaa@ (P)

Highway Patrol

HP400 __HPBOL
P

Lake Area Tech Exempt

* SOUTH DAKOTA"®

LATI000

B2 s
— SDDMVMH752 —
SDDMVPH757 @aBae (P) SADA® (S) SDDMVPLAT2 LATIZ@ (P)
Lower Brule Sioux Tribe Exempt Mass Transit Exempt

LBTOOOO

SDDMVPLBE2

Mitchell Tech Exempt

*SOUTH DAKOTA®

NTI000

SDDMVPMITZ2 MTig@a (P)

MT00000

SDDMVPMAS2

aoaaaaa (P)

Motor Carrier

M0123

SDDMVPMCR7

aga@aa (P)
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Oglala Sioux Tribe Exempt
* SOUTH DAKOTA®

DST0000

SDDMVPOSE2  OSTaaae (P)

EXEMPT

Park Ranger Exempt
*SOUTH DAKOTA®

= P K 0 0
»('}»
exeert|
SDDMVPPRE7 PRa@a (P)

Rosebud Sioux Tribe Exempt
* SOUTH DAKOTA*

RST000(

SDDMVPRSEZ2 gaaaaa® (P)

Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate Exempt
*SOUTH DAKOTA®

SHT0000

————

SDDMVPSWE2 aeaaada (P)

School Exempt
*SOUTH DAKOTA*

'S 0000

SDDMVPSCH2 FRBEB (P)

South Dakota Housing Association Exempt
*SOUTH DAKOTA*

SDHA 00

SDDMVPSDH7 @2@aad (P)

Southeast Tech Exempt

Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Exempt

o = e 18 =
SDDMVPSET2 SETIaaa (P) SDDMVPSRE2  @@a@asa (P)
State Exempt Western Dakota Tech Exempt
P o= _— =
SDDMVPSTEY a3P3 (P) SDDMVPWDT2 WDTIag {P)

Yankton Sioux Tribe Exempt
* SOUTH DAKOTA®

ST0000

1 paswrr]
SDDMVPYSE2 @eaaaas (P)
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Military Plates

MILITARY

Air Force Active Duty

= g aTIvE Iun (=
o ATIVE DUTY. (=) “ SR n A

SDDMVPAFA7 a@aad (P) @@ (S)

Air Force Cross

2400000 3 60000

Adr Force Cross

fir Force Cross

— SDDMVMAFC4
SDDMVPAFC7 aoa@ad (P) a@@Eade (S)

Air Force Veteran

O YETERAN [2]
SDDMVMAFV4
SDDMVPAFV7 aaeaa (P) @gea (S)

Air Force Woman Veteran

E SDDMVMAFW4
SDDMVPAFW7 PeEa@ (P) @a@@ (S)

Army Active Duty

S dCTIVE DUTY. =] SDDMVM ACA4
SDDMVPACA7? @aaaa (P) @aa (S)

Army Veteran

poass VETERAN

|

SDDMVPACV7 ag@aa (P) @a2@a (5}

SDDMVMACV4

Army Woman Veteran

Bronze Star

v&00000 ¥ NGO0O

Sronzs Sier

— - WIMINTETERIN._ =) SEpvmACwa O TR . SDDMVMBSM4
SDDMVPACW7 @@z (P) @@ {S) SDDMVPBSM7 @@ (P) EEE®E (S)
Bronze Star With Valor Coast Guard Active Duty

¥ F00000 % L0000

Bromge Star with Falor

Browsze Star with Valor

e SDDMVMBSV4 SDDMVMCGA4
SDDMVPBSVY PP (P) @@ (S) SDDMVPCGA7 2aaad (P) @m@a (S)
Coast Guard Veteran Coast Guard Woman Veteran

VETERAN [=
SDDMVMCGV4
o

@ (S)

_____ SDDMVMCGW4
SDDMVPCGW7 apaaa (P) @@ (S)

Plate Catalog Page 142



MILITARY

Disabled Veteran Distinguished Flying Cross
‘ 44 = 10000
,.u..".m,,: %B00000 21000
s nx wished l-f’nn‘ )
—_— o SDDMVM DVM4 . Sre SDDMVMDFC4
SDDMVPDVP7 DVaeaa (P) DV@aa (S) ‘SDDMVPDFC7 ppae® (P) @@ (S)
Distinguishcd Scrvice Cross Gold Star
Ihm‘ngmdndi‘nuw e, S AN (=
\ SDODMVMDSC4 SDDMVMGSF4
SDDMVPDSC7 @RI (P) D@ (S) SDDMVPGSF7 D220 (P) D (S)
Marine Active Duty Marine Veteran

ACTIVE OUTY (=] YETERAN =]
: 7 SDDMVMMCA4 _ _ - SDDMVMMCV4
SDOMVPMCA7 @D (P) aeaa (5) SDOMVPMCV7 POe2 (P) BE@@ (S)
Marine Woman Veteran Medal of Honor Army

SDDMVMMCW4

g CMHOD

Wedat Of Powsz ©

SDDMVPMCW7 @aeaDd {P) Dao (5) SDDMVPMHAZ DBRGOE (P‘;
National Guard Navy Active Duty

SDDMVPNGP7

NGE@ER (F)
Navy Cross
c 0 0 0 0 0 ‘{\m,(m
Navy Cross
— - SDDMVMNCM4
SDDMVPNCM? aaaaae (P) @EEER@ {S)

SODMVMNUCA4
@ (S)

" VETERAN (=
VETERAN. (1)) "~
SDDMVPNCV7 secae (P) S0He (5)
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MILITARY

Navy Woman Veteran

SDDMVMNCWA4
a@aa (S)

Pearl Harbor Survivor

19 87
PEARL HARBOR
!SURVIVOR 0 0

SDDMVPPHS? PHSa@ (P)

Prisoner of War

Prisoass of War

’=5, 00

Prisoner of War

2,000

Purplo Heart

P0000

P00O

Combai Wossded
il SDDMVMPOW4 s RSy Wownaon SDDMVMPUR4
SDDMVPPOW?7 POWa@@ (P) POWa@ (s) SDDMVPPUR7 a@a@a (P) e@aa (S)
Silver Star
Silver Star
Sitver Star ey
SDDMVMSSM4
SDDMVPSSM? @aaaaad (P) @aDED (S)
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Miscellaneous Specialty Plates

Version 26 DEALER « EMBLEM « RADIO « STANDARD

Amateur Radio Commercial Radio
SDDMVPAMA2 @eaaaad (P) SDDMVPRAD2  a@aaada (P)
Dealer 77 Dealer 88
' [ i
TE GAIAT MK ",5,',' i
GREAT TACES. GREAT PLACE SDDMVMDMC2 ) ) GREAY FACES. GREAT 7LACES
SODMVPD772  e@ewes P) 00000 5) SDOMVPD8S2  @9awea (Pl
Dealer Auction 99 Emblem
A000
GREAT FACES. CREAT PLALE SDDMVMORGZ
SDDMVPD992 AEaeaa (P) SDDMVPORGZ aaaE@ (Pl @@E@ (S)
Low Speed Vehicle Personal

o Sl “—
| SAMPLE
L0000 SAWPLES SR

SDDMVPLOW2  @aaaad (P) SDDMVPPLP2 2@ (P) @@@ada (5)

Standard County

00A 000 Ms2403

L GRIATAACES. GRER KCES =]
SDDMVPSTN] aeaead (P) DEDADD (S)
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MISCELLANEOUS

Apportioned

APPORTIONED
VEHICLE
Sttt XL,

SDDMVPAPP7 $)

SDOMVPCIL

Commercial

CONMERCIAL i

00000 V

PEDIEV | PI

Construction
CONSTRUCTION ¢

cs_0000

SDDMVPCONT

Disabled Person

& 70000

SDDMVPDIST

SDDMVMDIS4

DPg@aa (P) DPaaa (S)

Historical

a e ?_ Lo Fags. s e 2
SDDMVPDIGT Yaaaa (P)

SODMVMDIG4
peaY (5)

Firefighter

y

SDDMVPFIR?

FFada |P)

Mobile Manufactured Home Dealer

D

E

L

E

— R TRATLER o &
—— SDDMVMHIS4 —
SDDMVPHIS? HsTaaas P) EROBEP (5) SODMVPMHD7 808090 ()
Prorate Special Interest
SOUTH DAKOT_'f\
0 0 0 0 0 | | \.

AR
SDDMVPPRA? PRE@DED (S) SDDMVPSIP7 Sla@aae (5)

Special Interest Personalized

SOUTH DAKOTA

SDDMVPSPP7

SEEaaaa (S)
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Trailer Plates

TRAILER

Construction Trailer

CST_000

SDDMVPCOT?7 aaoaod (S)

Dealer Trailer

00000

TRATLER
SDDMVPDTR7 SDDBAD (S)

| oMreasmo

w

Prorate Trailer

012345

APPORTIONED TRAILER
SDDMVPPTR? FRREIP (S)

Trailer

TOOOOOO

TRAILER
SDDMVPTRA7 Taaaa@a@ (S)

Roooqp

o TRAILER (%]

Trailer ID/ Commercial Trailer
TRAILER ID

000000

SDDMVPTID7 @aE@aDa ()

Trailer Transporter

*  SOUTHDAKOTA =

TP 001

TRANSPORTER

SDDMVPTRT7 a@aaa (S)

Plate Catalog Page 147



Tribal Plates

Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Veteran

= J000 < 000K

CHEYENNE RIVER 510X TRIBE "}5‘.‘—} CHEYENKE RIVER SIBGX TRIBE r-... I

SDDMVPCRS7 @i (P) SDDMVPCRV7 @@k (P)

Crow Creek Sioux Tribe Crow Creek Sioux Tribe Veteran

& 0000 ® “000T

CR0W CREEK SIOUX TRIBE [z CROW CREEK SIOUX TRIBE —]

L=

SDDMVPCCT7 9008 (") SDDMVPCCV7 #66T P)
Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe Veteran
\=S 0000 g OOOX
r;muu SUNTEE SI00T TRIBE ] . vfmmu SANTEE 104X TRIEE El
SDDMVPEST7 a@aaa (P) SDDMVPFSV7 @a@X (P)
Lower Brule Sioux Tribe Lower Brule Sioux Tribe Veteran

"000J

LIJI.P BRULE SIDUX TRIBE [—]

.ﬁ'

,;>oooo €

SDDMVPLET?7 eeas @) SDDMVPLBV7 aaa) (P)

Oglala Lakota Sioux Tribe Oglala Lakota Sioux Tribe Veteran

E= 0000 B 0000

DELALN LAXATA SIDUX TRIZE (] DGLALY LAXOTA STOUR TRIBE | s |

SDDMVPOLS7? aPaa (P) SDDMVPOLV7 @@a@ (P)
Rosebud Sioux Tribe Rosebud Sioux Tribe Veteran

= 0000 = 000H

ROSEBUD SIOUX "uit '''''' ROSEBUD SI0UX TRIBE [?]

SDDMVPRST7 SPIG (Pﬂ SDDMVPRSV7 @@aH (P)
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Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate

v 0000

[ =]
SDDMVPSWT7 R

(F)

faJI:i

T

TRIBAL

Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate Veteran

i SISSETON WAHPETON DPUTE

SDDMVPSWV7

[Z]

aaaD (P)

Standing Rock Sioux Tribe

@ 0000

STANDINS ROCK STOUX TRIBE ;j

SDDMVPSRT7 @RES (P)

Yankton Sioux Tribe

w5 0000

YANKTON SIOUX TRIBE ;'Tr'ﬁ

SDDMVPYST7 asa (P)

EmoM—Am

SDDMVPSRV7

SDDMVPYSV7

Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Veteran

@ 000F

STAMDING ROCK STOUY TRIZE @

a@aaF (P)

Yankton Sioux Tribe Veteran

¥ 000C

YANKTON SEOUX TRIBE

T

@aaC (P)
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Plates, pictures, and fees

Plates, Fees, and Requirements

| Plate Fees Transferrable Requirements
 — i $10.00 initial Transferable to newly | SD resident, provide FCC license,
l KBCDlZE} 1 regular license fees acquired vehicle call number, special license plate
COMMERCIAL RADIO apply application, 32-5-65;32-5-65.1
| Commercial Radio
e $10.00 initial Transferable to newly SD resident, provide FCC license,
‘Klﬂ8§l7’ regular license fees acquired vehicle call number, special license plate
R apply application, 32-5-65;32-5-65.1
Amateur Radio
~ - $101.00 Not vehicle specific — SD licensed dealer, application for
l§710000_0| can be transzrred to South Dakota DealerpL‘i)cense Plate
~ DEAwRIT ) any vehicle owned by | 32-6B-21; 32-6B-36.3
| Dealer 77 the dealer
P~ $101.00 Not vehicle specific — | SD licensed dealer, application for
Eggooooo can be transferred to South Dakota Dealer License Plate
GEALER AUCTION 55 any vehicle owned by | 32-6B-21; 32-6B-36.3
| Dealer Auction 99 the dealer
Tonnage Not vehicle specific - SD licensed dealer, application for
can be transferred to South Dakota Dealer License Plate
4 LY any vehicle owned by | 32-6B-22.1
Dealern:éuu the dealer for hauling
| inventory
T — $24.00 Not vehicle specific — | SD licensed dealer, application for
[f 00000 = can be transferred to South Dakota Dealer License Plate
DEALER TRARER any vehicle owned by | 32-6B-23
Dealer Trailer the dealer
v $24.00 Not vehicle specific — SD licensed dealer, application for
cnog,_o can be transferred to South Dakota Dealer License Plate
Ceaven 7y any vehicle owned by 32-6B-23; 32-7B-10
| Motorcycle Deal the dealer
=) $20.00 Not vehicle specific — SD licensed dealer, application for
B D 3 8 2 can be transferred to South Dakota Dealer License Plate
any boat owned by 32-6B-23; 32-7B-10
_Boat Dealer the dealer
] Y $10.00 Not vehicle specific — SD licensed dealer, application for
i oooooq can be transferred to South Dakota Dealer License Plate
R any unit owned by 32-7A-10; 32-6C-7
Mobile/Manufactured Home the dealer
| Dealer
$10.00 Not vehicle specific — SD licensed dealer, application for
can be transferred to South Dakota Dealer License Plate
any unit owned by 32-7A-10; 32-6C-7
Snowmobile Dealer the dealer
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"~ _coogo

ErMBLEn

Emblem

No initial fee
regular license fees
apply

Only transferrable to
a newly acquired
vehicle from a sold
vehicle

SDDL, SDID, or SSN, no special
app, no approval process, 32-5-
170

| ["—"Aogo

| Emblem Motorcycle

No initial fee
regular license fees

apply

Only transferrable to
a newly acquired
vehicle from a sold
vehicle

SDDL, SDID, or SSN, no special
app, no approval process, 32-5-
170

LS 00go

LOW SPEED VEMICLE

Low Speed Vehicle

$10.00 if not at
time of renewal

Only transferrable to
a newly acquired
vehicle from a sold
vehicle

SDDL, SDID, or SSN, can go more
than 20 mph but not more than 25
mph, title or MSO must indicate
“"Low Speed Vehicle" 32-5-152

'SAMPLES

| Personalized

$25.00 initial
regular license fees

apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SD resident, South Dakota
Personalized License Plate
application 32-5-89.2; 32-5-89.3

$20.00 initial
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SD resident, South Dakota
Personalized License Plate
application 32-5-89.2; 32-5-89.3

Fee schedule

Only transferrable to
a newly acquired
vehicle from a sold
vehicle

SDDL, SDID, or SSN, no special
app, no approval process 32-5-5;
32-5-86; 24-7-32; 32-5-9

Fee Schedule

Only transferrable to
a newly acquired
vehicle from a sold
vehicle

SDDL, SDID, or SSN, no special
app, no approval process 32-5-5;
32-5-86; 24-7-32; 32-5-9

Boats Motorized, Non-
| Motorized

Motorcycle/ATV
I [ .|.Jm $10.00 Stays with SDDL or SSN 32-5-9.1
. s Snowmobile
| Snowmobile
= ) Fee Schedule Stays with Boat SDDL or SSN 32-3A-4

1

'CTY0000

o

Public entities, Indian Tribes,
| Churches

'WDTI 00

Special Schools; Mitchell
Tech, Western Dakota Tech,
Lake Area Tech, Southeast
Tech

$9.20 Transferrable to Must be SD entity, submit all
newly acquired paperwork to MVD 32-5-42
vehicle

$9.20 Transferrable to FEIN, submit all paperwork to MVD

newly acquired
vehicle

32-5-42
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AR IO.(AE'N( DuTYy -
Active Duty; Air Force; Air
Force MC, Army, Army MC,
Coast Guard, Coast Guard
MC, Marine, Marine MC,

$10.00 initial
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDDL or SDID, SD Application for
Veteran and Active-Duty License
Plates and Affidavit 32-5-155 — 32-
5-164

Navy, Navy MC

NATIONAL GUARD

_N?tional Ggard

$10.00 initial
regular license fees

apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDDL or SDID, copy of active
military ID or proof of 20 years of
service, SD Military license
application 32-5-155 — 32-5-164

AIR FORCE CROSS

Air Force Cross, Air Force
Cross MC, Distinguished
Flying Cross, Distinguished
Flying Cross MC,
Distinguished Service Cross,
Distinguished Service Cross
MC, Navy Cross, Navy Cross
| MC

$10.00 initial
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDID or SDDL, DD214 or copy of
award certificate and SD Military
License Plate Application 32-5-155
—32-5-164

." Aeitata
»E00000

SIL;;;; :;A.l
Silver Star, Silver Star MC,
Bronze Star, Bronze Star MC,
Bronze Star w/Valor, Bronze

$10.00 initial
regular license fees

apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDDL or SDID DD214 or copy of
award certificate and SD Military
License Plate Application 32-5-155
—32-5-164

| Star w/Valor MC

GOLD STAR

Gold Star, Gold Star MC

$10.00 initial
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDDL or SDID, parent, spouse,
sibling or child of a member of US
armed forces who died in service
to this country or died as a result
of service, SD Military License Plate
Application 32-5-155 — 32-5-164

VETERAN
ARMY VETERAN

Veteran; Air Force, Air Force
MC, Army, Army MC, Coast
Guard, Coast Guard MC,
Marine, Marine MC, Navy,
Navy MC

$10.00 initial
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDDL or SDID, Application for
Veteran and Active-Duty License
Plates and Affidavit 32-5-155 — 32-
5-164
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DISABLED VETERAN
Disabled Veteran, Disabled

| Veteran MC

$10.00 annual

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDDL or SDID, SD Military license
application 32-5-155 — 32-5-164

CST_000

CONSTRUCTION TRAILER
Construction Trailer

$25 annual

Not transferrable

32-9-33

0000

STANDING ROCK SIOUX
TRIBE

Indian Tribe Plates:
Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe,
Crow Creek Sioux Tribe,
Lower Brule Sioux Tribe,
Flandreau Santee Sioux
Tribe, Rosebud Sioux Tribe,
Sisseton Wahpeton Sioux
Tribe, Standing Rock Sioux
| Tribe, Yankton Sioux Tribe

$10.00 initial

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SD resident, application for special
license plates. 32-5-123

SPECIAL INTEREST

| Rear Plate Only

$25.00 annual
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SD resident, application for special
plates, vehicles with annual
mileage of less than 7500 miles not
used for general or commercial
use. 32-5-179; 32-5-181

SAMPLEL

SPECIAL INTEREST
PERSONALIZED

Personalized Rear Plate Only

$25.00 annual
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SD resident, application for
personalized plates, vehicles with
annual mileage of less than 7500
miles not used for general or
commercial use. 32-5-179; 32-5-
181

H CREVERNE ATOER SI663 TATES

CHEVENNE RIVER SIOUX
TRIBE VETERAN

Veteran Indian Tribal;
Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe,
Crow Creek Sioux Tribe,
Flandreau Santee Sioux
Tribe, Lower Brule Sioux
Tribe, Rosebud Sioux Tribe,
Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate
Tribe, Standing Rock Sioux
Tribe, Yankton Sioux Tribe

$10.00 initial
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDDL or SDID, SD Military license
application 32-5-155 -32-5-164
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Dignity, Dignity MC

$10.00 initial
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SD resident, application for special
license plates. 32-5-184

£ CMHOO |
DAL T AT
Congressional Medal of
Honor

No fees
2 maximum

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDDL or SDID, DD214 or copy of
award certificate and SD Military
License Plate Application 32-5-155
—32-5-164

T P0O00O
PURPLE HEART
Purple Heart, Purple Heart
MC, Prisoner of War,
Prisoner of War MC, Pearl
Harbor Survivor, Pearl
| Harbor Survivor MC

$10.00 annual
2 maximum

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SDDL or SDID, DD214 or copy of
award certificate and SD Military
License Plate Application 32-5-155
—32-5-164

00000 V.

COMMERCIAL

Fee Schedule

Only transferrable to
a newly acquired
vehicle from a sold
vehicle

SDDL or SDID, no special app, no
approval process 32-9-7

| Commercial
\cs_0000

| Construction

$25 annual

Not transferrable

SSN or FEIN, Special License Plates
application 32-9-3.3; 32-9-3(7); 32-
9-58

& 70000

S Gar
DISABLED PERSON
Disabled Person, Disabled

Person MC, Disabled Person
Placard

No fee
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SD resident, Application for
Physically Disabled Person’s
License Plate 32-5-76

FIREFIGHTER

Firefighter

$10.00 initial
regular license fees
apply

Transferrable to any
vehicle owned

SD Resident, Firefighter,
application for Special License
Plates 32-5-113; 32-5-114

Original Historical, Original
Historical MC

$10.00 initial

Can be transferred to
new vehicle or new
owner

SD resident, not for general
transportation, vehicle 30 years or
older, application for Special
License Plates, photo of plates 32-
5-77.32-5-77.2
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HISTORICAL

Historical, Historical MC

$10.00 initial

Can be transferred to
new vehicle or new
owner

SD resident, not for general
transportation, vehicle 30 years or
older, application for Special
License Plates 32-5-77

T000000

TRATLER " |

TRAILER

Trailer 3,000 Ibs. and
more

Fee Schedule

Only transferrable to
a newly acquired
vehicle from a sold
vehicle

SDDL, SDID, or SSN, no special
app. no approval process 32-5-8;
32-5-126

Fee Schedule

[ T | Only transferrable to | SDDL, SDID, or SSN, no special
Rooooo a newly acquired app. no approval process 32-5-8;
TRAILER | 2 | vehicle from a sold 32-5-126
TRARER vehicle
Trailer less than 3,000 Ibs.
TRAILER 1D $10 initial Not transferrable 32-9-8.1
U000000

TRAILER 1D/
COMMERCIAL TRAILER

Trailer ID
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Plates and Registration

Additional registration fees
The highway patrol fee is $1 assessed on each vehicle being used on the roads. Boats, snowmobiles, and house
trailers are excluded from the highway patrol fee. 32-5-153

The solid waste fee is $0.25 per tire, not to exceed $1 per vehicle. Boats, snowmobiles, and house trailers are
excluded from the solid waste fee.
34A-6-83; 64:29:02:04.02

Amateur and/or Commercial Radio Plates
A. Special plates may be obtained from the Motor Vehicle Division by any official amateur radio operator licensed by the
FCC or any licensed commercial station.

1. Application is made through the applicant’s county treasurer in the county of applicant’s residence or through
the customer online portal at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

2. Applicant must complete an Application for Special License Plates.

3. Upon initial application, the applicant is assessed a fee, in addition to the registration fee. A mailing fee is also
assessed.

4. An applicant for amateur radio plates must provide a copy of his FCC license when applying for amateur radio
plates.

5. Applicants are allowed to obtain more than one set of the same plate for multiple vehicles. A manual
registration must be completed on any renewals involving multiple vehicles.

6. The special plates may be used on a noncommercial or a noncommercial declared gross weight licensed vehicle.
B. The plates may bear the inscription of the station's call numbers and shall be displayed on the vehicle.

1. Special license plates shall be validated each year with distinctive stickers and are valid only for the registration
year for which stickers are issued.

2. Upon renewal, the owner pays only the registration fee.

a. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has regular or organization plates assigned to it, the applicant may choose
to retain the regular or special license plates that are being removed for future reassignment to a newly
acquired vehicle or the applicant may choose to turn in the regular or organization plates to the county
treasurer and receive credit for any remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees.

C. In the event the FCC license is voided, the applicant must

e ——
‘KZﬂR§q7‘ l KBCD]_23 return the special plates to the county treasurer.

32-5-65; 32-5-65.1;

AMATEUR RADIO COMMERCIAL RADIO
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Congressional Medal of Honor Plates

A. Any resident veteran owner of a motor vehicle, who has a valid South Dakota driver's license or South Dakota
identification card, who has received the Congressional Medal of Honor may apply for special license plates.

1. The application must be completed using full name (no initials).
2. The applicant is not exempt from the motor vehicle excise tax due.
3. No license fee is charged (registration fee or special license plate fee).

4. The initial application is submitted to the veteran’s county treasurer in the veteran’s county of residence or
through the customer online portal at http://mysdcars.sd.gov..

5. A maximum of two sets of plates may be issued. B. Renewal of Congressional Medal of Honor Plates.

1. No fee for the renewal of the plates.
32-5-160; 32-5-162 Sl

2 CMHOO

Medat OF

MEDAL OF HONOR ARMY

Construction Plates

A. A vehicle used exclusively on the job site for the construction of township roads, stock water dugouts, dams, farm
and ranch irrigation systems or other soil and water conservation projects on farms and ranches, or for the
construction or maintenance of highways in the state of South Dakota may qualify for construction plates.

B. A vehicle eligible for construction plates will be any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, motor propelled or trailed
vehicle chassis registered in South Dakota.

C. Prior to moving any vehicle or equipment (between job sites or from a job site to a central location) that has been
issued a construction plate, the owner must issue a $5 permit for the movement of the vehicle or equipment on the
roads and highways.

1. The permits are obtained through the Highway Patrol and are available in books of 10 for a fee of $50.

2. The permits are self-issued by a company driver.

3. The original (white) copy of the permit must be carried by the driver and displayed on demand by any officer.
The duplicate (blue) copy of the permit must be mailed to the South Dakota Highway Patrol (500 East Capitol
Avenue; Pierre, SD 57501-5070) prior to beginning the trip.

D. Examples of this type of equipment would be a portable office on a trailer, a lube trailer, a shop trailer, a tool trailer,
or a water truck or fuel truck that does not leave the job site to replenish its supply.

E. A vehicle such as a gravel truck operated both on and off the highway project or a tractor semitrailer or tractor
lowboy type operation used for the hauling of heavy equipment around the state will be construed to be a vehicle
that does not quality for construction plates.
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F. To obtain construction plates, applicant must complete an Application for Special License Plates, and present a South
Dakota certificate of title.

1. The application is submitted to the Division of Motor Vehicles.

2. In the case of a company, the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner's social security
number or South Dakota driver's license number may be used.

G. Construction plates are to be purchased annually from the Division of Motor Vehicles. A plate mailing fee is also
assessed.

H. In the event a construction plated vehicle is sold or transferred, the construction plates must be removed from the
vehicle and become invalid (plates cannot be used on another vehicle).

32-9-3;32-9-3.3
CS 0000

S oes
CONSTRUCTION

Dignity Plate

A. Any owner of a motor vehicle, who is a resident of this state, may obtain Dignity license plates.

1. Application is made through the applicant’s county treasurer in the applicant’s county of residence.

2. The initial fee for the Dignity plates is $10, in addition to annual registration fees. A $7.50 mailing fee is also
assessed.

a. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has regular or organization plates assigned to it, the applicant may choose to
retain the regular or special license plates that are being removed for future reassignment to a newly acquired
vehicle or the applicant may choose to turn in the regular or organization plates to the county treasurer and
receive credit for any remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees.

3. Applicant must complete and apply for Special License Plates.

4. The special plates may be used on a noncommercial or a noncommercial declared gross weight licensed vehicle.

B. Renewals are processed through the applicant’s county treasurer, on-line, or at an SST. There is no plate renewal fee for
Dignity plates, other than the annual registration fee.

SDCL 32-5-184, 32-5-185, 32-5-186

DIGNI
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Duplicate Plates
A. The fee for all duplicate license plates, or the replacement of lost or damaged decals is $10.

1. If only one plate is missing, the other plate must be returned to the county.
B. The fee for all duplicate special plates and personalized plates or tabs (including special motorcycles) is $10.
C. The fee for a duplicate (regular) motorcycle, trailer, snowmobile, and boat license is $2.
D. The fee for a replacement trailer ID plate (U plate) is $10.

E. A general affidavit explaining why the duplicate is needed must be completed.

F. If plates are lost or stolen, the loss or theft must be reported to a law enforcement agency and attested to on the
duplicate license
plate validation sticker
application G.
1. A copy of this form is retained by the county treasurer and the Division.

2. If you fail to remove the plates off a vehicle you have sold, you can't report them lost/stolen.

H. If a person moves into a different county and wants county indicator plates reflecting their new county of
residence, they can apply for replacement plates through their new county.

1. A duplicate plate fee will be assessed, and a duplicate plate affidavit must be completed.
2. The customer's old county plates must be surrendered at the time of application.

32-5-92; 32-5-99; 32-5-166; 32-5

Emblem Plates

A. Any owner of a motor vehicle or motorcycle, who is a resident of this state, who has a valid South Dakota driver's
license or South Dakota identification number as assigned by the Department of Public Safety, may receive a set of
organization plates that allow for the placement of an emblem decal on the plates.

1. The plates can only be used on noncommercial or noncommercial declared gross weight vehicles and
motorcycles (not allowed on commercial vehicles, trailers, snowmobiles, or boats).

2. If the emblem plates are requested at time of initial application, no additional fee is charged for the plates,
above the costs involved in registering the vehicle.

3. If the plates are requested later or if the vehicle has current plates, the plates must be surrendered and a $10 fee
is charged, in addition to any applicable costs involved in the registration.

4. Only approved emblems that are listed on dor.sd.gov may be used on the plates.

5. A State Seal decal may be purchased from the county treasurer's office. B. Sale or transfer of vehicle.
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1. Upon the sale or transfer of the vehicle or motorcycle to which the emblem plates are attached, the owner must
remove the plates and may select either of the options below:

a. The plates, if valid (not expired) can be attached to a newly acquired vehicle or motorcycle upon
registration of the vehicle through the county treasurer.

b. Any remaining credit on the plates at the time of registration is applied.

c. A $5 plate reassignment fee is assessed.

2. The regular or emblem plates that are removed from the vehicle or motorcycle are eligible for attachment to a
newly acquired vehicle or motorcycle upon registration of the newly acquired vehicle.

3. Credit for any remaining months on the plates at time of registration will apply.
4. A $5 plate reassignment fee is assessed.
5. If the plates expire prior to attachment, the plates are invalid and cannot be used.
C. To qualify for emblem decals, an organization must be a nonprofit corporation or a group of nonprofit corporations

with a common purpose, on file with the secretary of state’s office and must have a minimum of 200 members,
volunteers, or donors. In addition, the following requirements must be met.

1. The primary activity or interest of the organization or group of organizations serves the community, contributes
to the welfare of others, and is not offensive or discriminatory in its purpose, nature, activity, or name.

2. The name and purpose of the organization or group of organizations does not promote any specific product or
brand name that is provided for sale; and

3. The decal of the organization or group of organizations does not promote a specific religion, faith, or anti-
religious belief.

4. The organization must make application for the decals to the division and provide the following:
a. A copy of its articles of incorporation for each organization.
b. A copy of its charter or by-laws for each organization.
Any Internal Revenue Service rulings of each organization’s nonprofit tax exemption status.
c. A completed decal design with the organization name and the organization logo (no larger than three
inches by three inches); or in the case of a group of organizations, a decal design which clearly depicts the

common purpose and theme of the group.

1) Effective July 1, 2006, the department may authorize an organization to use a decal produced by the organization.
The organization must request approval by submitting, along with the application, an original decal.

a) The size of the decal must be approximately 3" x 3".



d. A completed application for organization decals on a form provided by the department.

1. If approved, the organization must purchase a minimum of 100 sets of the emblem decals. The organization must
reimburse the division for the cost of the decals, plus a 15 percent administrative fee. The decals are produced by
the Penitentiary and sent to the organization.

2. The organization is responsible for establishing the qualifying criteria for the decals, selling/distributing the decals,
etc.

5000

EMBLEM

32-5-167; 32-5-168; 32-5-170; 32-5-171; 32-5-172; 32-5-173; 32-5-174; 32-5-175; 32-5-176; 32-5-177; 32-5-178

Firefighter License Plates
A. A resident of this state who is a fire fighter may apply for special plates designating such person as
a fire fighter.

1. Application is made through the applicant’s county treasurer's office or at the customer
portal online at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

2. In addition to the registration fee, the applicant pays a special plate fee of $10 for the initial
application. A $7.50 mailing fee is also assessed. Upon renewal, the owner pays only the
registration fee.

a. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has other plates assigned to it, the applicant may
choose to retain the regular or special license plates that are being removed for
future reassignment to a newly acquired vehicle or the applicant may choose to turn
in the regular or organization plates to the county treasurer and receive credit for any
remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees.

3. Applicant must complete and submit a Special License Plate Application.

4. The special plates may be used on a noncommercial licensed or a noncommercial declared gross
weight vehicle.

FIREFIGHTER 32-5-113; 32-5-114; 32-5-116; 32-5-118; 32-5-120; 32-5-121;
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Gold Star Family Plates
A. A resident owner of a motor vehicle who is a parent, a spouse, a sibling, or a child of a member of the US Armed
Forces who died while in service to this country or who died because of the service may apply for special Gold Star
Family license plates.

1. Application is made through the applicant’s county treasurer in the county of applicant’s residence.

2. The special plates may be used on a noncommercial or a noncommercial declared gross weight licensed
vehicle.

B. Initial Application for Gold Star Family Plates.

1. The application must be accompanied by a copy of the Department of Defense Report of Casualty (DD Form
1300) or death notice, or verification from the US Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) that the service
member’s death was service related.

2. An applicant may receive a maximum of two sets of the special license plates.

C. Upon initial application, the applicant is charged a fee for the special plates, in addition to the registration fee. A
mailing fee is also assessed.

a. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has regular or organization plates assigned to it, the applicant may choose to
retain the regular or special license plates that are being removed for future reassignment to a newly acquired vehicle or
the applicant may choose to turn in the regular or organization plates to the county treasurer and receive credit for any
remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees D. Gold Star Family plates are available for noncommercial

vehicles only.

E. Renewal of Gold Star Family Plates.

1. The registration fee is assessed, but no additional fee is assessed for the special plates.

F. If applicant dies.

1. The special plates may be retained by the plate owner’s family but may not be displayed on the vehicle beyond
the expiration date of the plates or stickers.

32-5-154; 32-5-155; 32-5-156; 32-5-157; 32-5-158; 32-5-159; 32-5-162; 32-5-163; 32-5-164; 32-
5-165; 32-5-166

i bOLD STAR FANILY

GOLD STAR

Historical Vehicles
A. A resident owner of a vehicle or motorcycle over 30 years old that is used only for special occasions may be licensed
as a historical vehicle/motorcycle. The motor vehicle may be used for pleasure transportation, public displays,


http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-154
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-154
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-154
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-154
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-154
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-155
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-155
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-155
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-155
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-155
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-156
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-156
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-156
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-156
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-156
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-157
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-157
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-157
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-157
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-157
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-158
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-158
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-158
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-158
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-158
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-159
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-159
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-159
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-159
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-159
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-162
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-162
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-162
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-162
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-162
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-163
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-163
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-163
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-163
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-163
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-164
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-164
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-164
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-164
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-164
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-165
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-165
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-165
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-165
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-165
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-165
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-166
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-166
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-166
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-166
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-166

parades, and other related pleasure or hobby activities, and may be driven to and from any facility providing motor
vehicle maintenance or repair.

B. Historical plates can be obtained for a one-time registration fee of $10. Application is made at the county treasurer's
office. A mailing fee of $7.50 is also assessed.

1. Applicant must complete and submit a Special License Plate Application.

2. No motor vehicle for which historical license plates have been issued may be used for daily transportation to
and from a place of work or for commercial transportation.

3. No motor vehicle for which historical plates have been issued may be driven more than four thousand miles
per year.

4. The South Dakota driver's license number or social security number of each owner must be given. In the case
of a company, the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner’s social security number
or South Dakota driver's license number may be used.

C. Historical plates remain with the owner upon sale or transfer of a vehicle. The plates can be attached to a newly
acquired historical vehicle upon title and registration of the newly acquired vehicle. A plate reassignment fee is
assessed.

1. Historical plates can stay attached upon transfer of the vehicle, provided the former owner of both the vehicle
and the plates authorizes in writing the reassignment of ownership of the plate to the new owner(s). The new

plate owner(s) pays the fee.

32-5-77

HISTORICAL

Historical Vehicles/Original Plates
A. A motor vehicle registered pursuant to 32-5-77 may, in-lieu-of being issued number plates, display
original South Dakota number plates issued in the same year as the model year of the car on which
they are displayed.

B. The plates must be in good condition and cannot be used if the number on the original plate is
identical to a number on any other plate in a numbering system currently being used.

a. A color photograph of the license plates must be included with the application.

C. Authorization will be granted for the display of only one license plate in those years in which only
one plate was issued or on motorcycles. Single plates were issued in the years 1945, 1946, 1947,
1948, 1952, and 1953. If a single original number plate is allowed, it should be displayed on the rear
of the historic motor vehicle in a horizontal and upright position D. The Motor Vehicle Division must
approve the use of the plates.
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E. There is a one-time registration fee of $10. Application is made at the county treasurer's office. A
registration mailing fee of $1.50 is also assessed.

F. A plate fee, mailing fee, or reassignment fee may be assessed upon application when applicable. A
mailing fee would be $7.50

G. Historical plates remain with the owner upon sale or transfer of a vehicle. The plates can be attached to a
newly acquired historical vehicle upon title and registration of the newly acquired vehicle. The plate may
only be attached to another vehicle of the same model year. A plate reassignment fee is assessed.

1. Original historical plates can stay attached upon transfer of the vehicle, provided the former owner of both the vehicle
and the plates authorizes in writing the reassignment of ownership of the plate to the new owner(s). The new plate
owner(s) pays the fee. 32-5-77.2; 64:29:03:08

Indian Tribal License Plates
A. Any owner of a motor vehicle, who is a resident of this state, may obtain Indian Tribal license plates.

1. Application is made through the applicant’s county treasurer in the applicant’s county of residence or through
the customer online portal at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

2. The initial fee for the Indian tribal plates is $10, in addition to the registration fee. A $7.50 mailing fee is also
assessed.

a. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has regular or special plates assigned to it, the applicant may choose to
retain the regular or special license plates that are being removed for future reassignment to a newly
acquired vehicle or the applicant may choose to turn in the regular or special plates to the county
treasurer and receive credit for any remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees.

3. Applicant must complete and submit a Special License Plate Application.
4. Applicant must be a South Dakota resident and may be required to provide proof of residency.

5. The special plates may be used on a noncommercial or a noncommercial declared gross weight licensed
vehicle.

B. Veteran Indian Tribal license plates are available by completing the Veteran and Active-Duty Military license plate
application.

C. Renewals are processed through the applicant’'s county treasurer. There is no renewal fee for the special plates,
other than the registration fee. 32-5-123; 32-5-124; 32-5-125

Licensing Noncommercial Motor Vehicles

A. License fees are charged according to the weight schedules for noncommercial vehicles.
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1. License fees on a noncommercial motor vehicle, which is an automobile, pickup, or van under 6,000 pounds must be
determined by the manufacturer's shipping weight, including manufacturer’s accessories. The license fees for the
vehicle will be based on the regular noncommercial license fee schedule.

a. The JD Power/NADA computer system can be used to determine shipping weight. If the applicant disagrees
with the weight, the applicant has the option of getting a weight slip.

b. A dealer can certify a weight by initialing the weight field on the application. If a reference guide or invoice
is available that shows the weight, the document should be submitted. If certifying a weight, the dealer is
responsible for the accuracy of the weight.

A. If a noncommercial motor vehicle is a pickup that weighs more than 6,000 pounds, the owner has the choice of
paying license fees under the noncommercial or the noncommercial gross weight fee schedule.

1. License fees on a noncommercial motor vehicle, that is not an automobile, pickup, or van will be based on the
declared gross weight (highest legal weight that the vehicle will be operated during the registration period) of
the motor vehicle, as determined by the applicant.

a. A pick-up that the pick-up box has been removed and replaced with something other than a pickup box
and the removal, alteration, or replacement causes the weight of the vehicle, including accessories, to
exceed 6,000 pounds, the vehicle must be licensed as a truck under the declared gross weight fee schedule
64:28:03:12

b. The title must be submitted for correction of the body type from pick-up to truck. No title fee is assessed.

B. The owner of a noncommercial vehicle that is required to pay license fees based on the declared gross weight can
register the vehicle for a period of 3 to 8 months, inclusive, in lieu of an annual registration.

1. A pickup, weighing more than 6,000 pounds that is licensed under the noncommercial gross weight fee
schedule, does not qualify for seasonal registration in-lieu-of annual registration.

2. The fee will be 1/12 of the annual license fee for the motor vehicle, based on the declared gross weight fee
schedule, multiplied by the number of months that the vehicle is being registered. The minimum license fee
assessed is $15 for a seasonal registration. No administrative fee is assessed on the initial license under this
system.

3. Any subsequent seasonal licensing of a vehicle during the licensing period is assessed a $10 administrative fee
for each license issued.

C. Noncommercial vehicles licensed under declared gross vehicle weight are licensed under the staggered registration
system unless the owner opts for a seasonal registration. The applicant is issued decals denoting the year and month
of the vehicle's expiration.

1. The applicant is also issued tonnage decals denoting the weight that the vehicle is registered for.

2. Twenty-eight ton and over decals will be issued directly from the Motor Vehicle Division to individuals who have
submitted proof of payment of the federal heavy vehicle use tax.

D. Proof of compliance with the heavy vehicle use tax must be furnished.
1. IRS Form #2290 Schedule 1 stamped received by the IRS.
2. IRS Form #2290 Schedule1, plus a copy of the canceled check.

3. Vehicles exempt from heavy vehicle use tax must submit the IRS Form #2290 Schedule 1, which has been
stamped as received by the IRS.


http://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=64:28:03:12&Type=Rule&SearchString=64:28:03:12&Catalog=&SearchFilter=

E. The county treasurer will attach to the daily printout of vehicles registered at a tonnage of 28 or over, the taxpayer
statement notification concerning payment of the federal heavy vehicle use tax.

1. The Payment of Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax form is to be completed on all vehicles licensed at 28 ton or over
in which IRS proof of payment is not available at the time of registration.

2. If proof of payment is available at the time of registration, the county treasurer must attach the proof (IRS
Form #2290 Schedule 1 -- stamped "paid") to the report along with a copy of the vehicle's registration (see
commercial vehicles section for documentation required).

3. If proof of payment is not available at time of registration, the applicant has 30 days that they can operate the
vehicle without displaying the tonnage decals. Remember: one of the two forms -- taxpayer statement
notification or the proof of payment of the tax must be attached to the county treasurer's report of vehicles
licensed at 28 ton or more.

4. Contact for Federal Excise Tax information and form 2290-Heavy Vehicle Use Tax:
1-866-699- 4096 — Cincinnati Service Center.

F. The licensed gross weight of a vehicle may be increased at any time during a registration period. The county
treasurer will collect the difference in fees between the registered weight and the desired higher weight. Plates are
not turned in.

1. Requests to lower a vehicle's licensed weight during the registration period can be granted, but no refund is
given. The applicant must return the license plates and a new set of plates is issued with the lower tonnage.

G. License fees on a motor home and converted house car are determined by the manufacturer’s shipping weight,
including accessories, under the motor home fee schedule.

H. An applicant for renewal of South Dakota license plates must present a certificate of title or if the vehicle is
mortgaged and the records indicate that the title is held by the lienholder, the license plate renewal certificate (in the
event the license plate renewal certificate is lost, a copy may be obtained from the Division of Motor Vehicles for a
fee or a copy of the certificate of title signed by the lienholder is acceptable).

I.  The county treasurer is authorized to renew the motor vehicle registration without a title document or license
renewal certificate if the applicant can furnish proof through a South Dakota driver's license or social security card
that he is the registered owner of the motor vehicle. The motor vehicle computer record must match the name on
the South Dakota driver's license or social security card.

32-5-6; 32-5-6.1; 32-5-6.3; 32-5-6.4
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Licensing Trailers

A. Owners of trailers utilized with automobiles, pickups, and vans must purchase a regular annual trailer plate. There is
no restriction on the weight carried by trailers licensed in this manner.

1. Vehicles licensed for gross weight (commercial and noncommercial) may tow any regularly licensed trailer if
the weight of the trailer plus its load is included in the gross weight license of the towing vehicle.

2. On trailers exempt from licensing, the weight of the trailer and the load being hauled is not included in
determining the declared gross weight of a vehicle.

3. A recreational vehicle is prohibited from displaying a trailer identification plate and must be licensed under the
noncommercial trailer fee schedule.

a. A recreational vehicle is defined as a vehicular portable structure built on a chassis designed to be used as

a temporary dwelling for travel, recreational, vacation or seasonal uses, permanently identified as travel
trailer or a recreational park trailer by the manufacturer of the trailer.

B. A trailer identification plate can only be displayed on a noncommercial vehicle licensed under the declared gross
vehicle weight schedule or a commercial licensed vehicle.

1. This will be the only license identification required on the trailer.

2. The cost of the trailer identification plate is. There is no annual registration fee if the trailer stays titled under
the same owner.

3. In the event the trailer identification plate is lost, a new plate is issued. The applicant must complete a
duplicate plate affidavit and submit a fee to the county treasurer.

C. In the event of ownership transfer, the new owner must apply for their own trailer identification plate
1. The trailer identification plate is non-transferable.
D. A noncommercial vehicle licensed under the declared gross vehicle weight schedule or a commercial licensed

vehicle may tow any legally licensed trailing unit (instate or out-of-state) if the proper weight fees have already been
paid on the power unit.

E. A noncommercial unit not licensed on declared gross weight can't pull any trailer bearing a trailer identification
plate unless a temporary commercial permit is purchased through the county treasurer.

1. The temporary permit may be purchased for a period from 5 to 15 days at a fee of $1 per day. There is no limit
on the number of these types of permits that may be obtained.

F. For each trailer, a vehicle registration must be completed. The registration must be always carried in the power unit.
64:28:01:02; 32-5-8; 32-5-8.1; 32-5-8.2; 32-5-8.3; 32-5-8.4
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Nonresident Registration

A. South Dakota title and registration statutes do not expressly prohibit an out-of-state applicant from
titling and registering in South Dakota.

B. An applicant must provide the county where the vehicle will be kept and the applicant’s residence
post office address on the application for title and registration. If an applicant resides out-of-state,
the applicant’s physical address must be used on the application.

C. Providing false information on the application for title and registration is a felony and anyone
doing so is subject to further action by the department. 32-3-18

Pearl Harbor Plates
A. Any resident of South Dakota who was serving in the United States Armed Forces and survived the attack at Pearl Harbor,

Hawaii, on December 7, 1941, and who received an honorable discharge may apply for special motor vehicle license plates.
B. Initial registration.
1. The Pearl Harbor Survivor (PHS) application must be completed using the full name (no initials) and submitted to

the county treasurer of the veteran’s county of residence or through the customer online portal at
http://mysdcars.sd.gov..

2. The applicant must possess a valid SD Driver's License or SD Identification Card.

3. The applicant is not exempt from the motor vehicle excise tax.

4. A plate applied for permit will be issued by the county treasurer for the veteran to use in the interim of obtaining
the special license plates.
The veteran will initially pay the $10 special plate fee and a $7.50 mailing fee is also assessed.

5. If the applicant does not qualify for PHS status, the $10 special license plate fee will be refunded.

6. A maximum of 2 sets of special PHS plates will be issued per veteran.

7. The special plates can be used on an automobile, pickup truck, or van licensed under the noncommercial fee
schedule or a motorcycle.

a. The veteran may choose to use one of the 2 sets of PHS plates on a noncommercial motor vehicle that is a
pickup truck that weighs more than 6,000 pounds that is licensed under the noncommercial gross vehicle
weight fee schedule or a motor home. In this case, the veteran pays the registration fee but is not required to
pay the $10 initial and renewal purple Heart plate fee.

A. Renewal.

1. A fee will be collected yearly by the county treasurer and decals issued for the special plates; no registration fee is
assessed. 32-5-160; 32-5-162 19
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Personalized License Plates
A. Application for special personalized license plates shall be made to the applicant’s county treasurer in the applicant’s

county of residence or through the customer online portal at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

1. An application for personalized plates, the registration fee, plus a $25 fee for the special license plates is
required. A $7.50 mailing fee is assessed.

a. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has regular or special plates assigned to it, the applicant may choose to
retain the regular or special license plates that are being removed for future reassignment to a newly
acquired vehicle or the applicant may choose to turn in the regular or special plates to the county
treasurer and receive credit for any remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees.

2. Personalized plates can consist of no more than seven letters, nor less than 1. Spaces should be indicated on
the application if desired.

1.  Applicant shall state the meaning behind the requested personalized plate, on the application form.

2. Applicant must be a South Dakota resident and may be required to provide proof of residency.
3. The special plates may be used on a noncommercial licensed or a noncommercial declared gross weight vehicle
or a motorcycle. B. Renewal.

1. Personalized license plates shall be renewed each year on a staggered registration basis and are valid only for
the registration year for which such stickers are issued.

2. The renewal fee is $25, plus the registration fee.

3. If a plate owner fails to renew their registration within 60 days of expiration the plate message will be available
for another applicant to apply for

C. In the event an owner has purchased personalized license plates and then wants different personalized license plates
for the vehicle, the owner can turn in the personalized license plates, receive credit for remaining months on the
plates, and pay the $25 plate fee (prorated). A duplicate plate fee is not assessed.

SAMPLES

PERSONAL 32-5-89.2; 32-5-89.3; 32-5-89.4; 32-5-89.5

Personalized Motorcycle Plates
A. Application for special personalized motorcycle license plates shall be made to the applicant’s county treasurer in the

applicant’s county of residence or through the customer online portal at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

B. An owner of a motorcycle who is a resident of this state may apply for personalized motorcycle license plates.
Personalized plates may contain a maximum of six letters and a minimum of two letters.

a. The annual fee for the plate is $20, in addition to the registration fee. A $7.50 mailing fee is assessed.
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b. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has regular or special plates assigned to it, the applicant may choose to
retain the regular or special license plates that are being removed for future reassignment to a newly
acquired vehicle or the applicant may choose to turn in the regular or special plates to the county
treasurer and receive credit for any remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees.

2. Initial application is made to the county treasurer of the applicant’s county of residence.

a. Renewal is made through the applicant’s county treasurer’s office.

C. Applicant shall state the meaning behind the requested personalized plate, on the application form.

D. Applicant must be a South Dakota resident and may be required to provide proof of residency.

E. Renewal.

a. Personalized motorcycle license plates shall be renewed each year on a staggered registration basis and
are valid only for the registration year for which such stickers are issued.

b.  The renewal fee is $20, plus the registration fee.

c.  If a plate owner fails to renew their registration within 60 days of expiration the plate message will be
available for another applicant to apply for

F. In the event an owner has purchased personalized license plates and then wants different personalized license plates
for the vehicle, the owner can turn in the personalized license plates, receive credit for remaining months on the
plates, and pay the $20 plate fee (prorated). A duplicate plate fee is not assessed.

SAMPLE
Yy oy
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mc 32-5-89.2; 32-5-89.3; 32-5-89.4; 32-5-89.5

Plate With Owner Licensing System
A. In July 2008, the state’s vehicle registration system changed from license plate with vehicle to license plate with
owner.

1. The ownership of a vehicle, as stated on the title, determines ownership of a plate. All owners on a vehicle's
current title record or a pending title record are also owners of any plate attached to that vehicle and any
individual listed as an owner on the title can act affecting the plate.

a. Exceptions as to who owns the plates apply to special and distinctive plates that require qualification
(firefighter, veteran, etc.). The person who qualifies for the plate is the plate owner and the only one that
can act affecting the plate.

2. A person cannot move a plate from vehicle to vehicle. The vehicle ownership must transfer before a plate can
be detached from the system and removed from the vehicle. So, under most circumstances, the plate can only
be detached if:
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a. The plate owner no longer owns the vehicle that was originally attached to the plate.
b. The vehicle originally attached to the plate is junked.

c. The vehicle originally attached to the plate is titled out-of-state.

3. Similarly, an unattached plate cannot be moved from vehicle to vehicle and can only be attached to an
acquired vehicle.

4. Plate with owner applies to commercial vehicles (renewed under our staggered registration renewal system)
and noncommercial vehicles, trailers, motorcycles, and historical plated vehicles. It does not apply to boats,
snowmobiles, trailer ID plated vehicles, construction plates or prorated (IRP/apportioned) vehicles.

5. There will be situations when plates may stay with the vehicle when ownership of a vehicle is being transferred.
A plate can remain attached to the vehicle when the ownership is transferred if one of the following
exemptions apply: inheritance; transfer between immediate family members; transfer of ownership as the result
of a transfer of a business ownership (exemptions 5- 11).

a. Plates may stay with vehicle upon transfer between immediate family members with consideration, but
the transaction is not exempt from tax.

b. A historical plate or a personalized plate can stay attached upon transfer of vehicle ownership, provided
the former owner of both the vehicle and the plate authorize the reassignment of ownership of the plate
to the new owner.

6. Specialty and distinctive plates (personalized, veteran or military, radio, fire fighter, etc.), are no longer
secondary plates, but are now the primary plate. Two sets of plates are not issued. Upon initial application for a
special/distinctive plate, a permit is used in the interval between ordering and receiving the plates.

7. An expired plate that is attached to a vehicle on the system remains valid and may be renewed at any time
within the plate period. However, an expired plate that is unattached is no longer valid and the plate cannot be
used.

8. A license plate transfer can only be made between like plated vehicles (example: a license plate transfer from a
motorcycle to an automobile is not allowed). A license plate transfer is allowed between vehicles registered as
noncommercial, noncommercial gross weight or a motor home.

9. A plate cannot physically be attached to a vehicle until the owner goes to the county treasurer and completes
the registration. In situations where a vehicle is sold and a plate is not immediately used, no refund is allowed,
but a credit for the remaining months left on the plate is given when it is attached to a newly acquired vehicle.
If the plate expires before attachment, the plate is no longer valid.

A. Attach/detach. The definitions of “attach” and “detach” are:

1. "Attach”, refers to action affecting a vehicle’s record within the system. Attaching a plate associates, or ties, a
specific license plate number with a specific vehicle within the DMV system records, as opposed to physically
securing the actual license plate to a vehicle. A license plate number may be “attached” to a specific vehicle.
Under certain conditions, a plate number, which is attached, may be “detached” from a vehicle. A plate that is
not attached to a vehicle is an "unattached” plate.



2. "Detach”, refers to action within the system that removes the attachment between a vehicle and a specific
license plate number. B. Report of sale. A report of sale (ROS) is a notification that a sale has occurred. The

report of sale can be accomplished by one of the following:

1. A new certificate of title contains a tear-off form attached to the bottom of the title. The seller is responsible
for completing the information and forwarding the form to the county treasurer’s office.

2. A seller can complete a report of sale online at https://mysdcars.sd.gov

3. A sale of a vehicle by a dealer creates a pending title record, which replaces any need for a ROS form.

The ROS serves only as notification of a sale and does not cause any action to be taken against the title or registration
record.

Plates for Substantially Disabled Persons
A. Permanently physically disabled persons may obtain special vehicle or motorcycle license plates.

1. Application is made through the applicant’s county treasurer in the county of applicant’s residence or through
the customer online portal at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

2. Applicant must complete an Application for Physically Disabled Person’s License Plates.
3. Itis a Class 1 misdemeanor to submit a false or fraudulent application.

4. Applicant must submit a physician's certificate on a form approved by the Secretary of Revenue, which states that
they are substantially disabled by a physical disability and that it is impossible or causes substantial hardship for
them to walk.

5. The applicant pays the registration fee and there is no additional charge for the physically disabled persons’
license plates. A mailing fee is assessed.

a. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has regular or organization plates assigned to it, the applicant may choose
to retain the regular or special license plates that are being removed for future reassignment to a newly
acquired vehicle or the applicant may choose to turn in the regular or organization plates to the county
treasurer and receive credit for any remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees.

6. The special plates may be used on a noncommercial or a noncommercial declared gross weight licensed vehicle
or a motorcycle.

B. Plates are limited to physically disabled persons who own the vehicle or a parent or guardian of a dependent with
substantial physical disability.

1. Effective July 1, 1995, skilled nursing facilities, licensed pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 34-12 (regulation of
hospitals and related institutions), who transport physically disabled persons, are eligible for physically disabled
person’s license plates.
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a. Applicant must comply with procedures for obtaining special plates as set out herein. However, a
physician's certificate on the application form is not required.

b. The plates are only for loading for unloading of physically disabled persons. Vehicles cannot be parked in a
physically disabled person’s parking facility.

C. Renewal of physically disabled person’s parking plates.
1. Renewal is made though the county treasurer.

2. The registration fee is charged, but there is no additional fee charged for the special plate.

D. Violations

1. The court shall assess a fine of not less than $100 if the parking space is marked in accordance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines, as of January 1, 2002, when any person, other than the
physically disabled person to whom it was issued uses a physically disabled person’s parking permit for the
purpose of parking; when a person who is not a person with a physical disability exercises the privileges granted
to a person with a physical disability; when the owner of any vehicle not displaying a permit or special plate parks
or stops in a parking space, or blocks a parking space on public or private property designated as reserved for a
person with a physical disability; when an owner of a vehicle parks, stops, or stands in an access isle or lane
immediately adjacent to reserved parking spaces or in front of a ramp or curb-cut in such a manner that blocks
access to a person with a disability who uses a wheel chair.

2. The police of any municipality or any other political subdivision are requested to report all violations of special

license plates or permits to the Division of Motor Vehicles, who in turn, must revoke the privilege of displaying
plates or permits that are improperly used.

3. Each designated parking space must state the penalties for illegal use of the parking space. This only applies to a
new sign or a sign that replaces an existing sign after July 1, 2002.
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Purple Heart Plates
A. Any resident veteran owner of a motor vehicle who has received the purple Heart medal can apply for special motor
vehicle license plates.

B. Initial registration.
1. The Purple Heart application must be completed using the full name (no initials) of the veteran and submitted to

the county treasurer of the veteran’s county of residence or through the customer online portal at
http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

2. The applicant must possess a valid SD Driver's License or SD Identification Card.

3. The veteran must submit a copy of DD Form 214, discharge papers verifying eligibility.
4. The applicant is not exempt from the motor vehicle excise tax.

5. A plate applied for permit will be issued by the county treasurer for the veteran to use in the interim of obtaining
the special license plates. The veteran will initially pay the $10 special plate fee and the registration fee until
verification of eligibility status is checked. A $7.50 mailing fee is also assessed.

6. If the applicant does not qualify for purple Heart status, the $10 special license plate fee will be refunded.
7. A maximum of 2 sets of special purple Heart plates will be issued per veteran.

8. The special plates can be used on an automobile, pickup truck, or van licensed under the noncommercial fee
schedule or a motorcycle.

a. The veteran may choose to use one of the 2 sets of purple Heart plates on a noncommercial motor vehicle
that is a pickup truck that weighs more than 6,000 pounds that is licensed under the noncommercial gross vehicle weight
fee schedule or a motor home. In this case, the veteran pays the registration fee but is not required to pay the $10 initial

and renewal purple Heart plate fee. A. Renewal.

1. A fee of $10 will be collected yearly by the county treasurer and decals issued for the special plates. No

registration fee is charged.
3 P0000
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32-5-160; 32-5-162
Combat Wounded

PURPLE HEART

Rear Plate Only/Personalized Rear Plate Only

A.A rear plate only or personalized rear plate only are available for special interest motor vehicles with an annual
mileage of less than 7,500 miles that are not used for general or commercial use. Applicants will be required to
supply a current odometer reading at the time of annual registration.
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Renewal month Staggered Licensing
A. Definitions under the staggered licensing system.

1. "Active vehicle”, a vehicle with unexpired license plates.
2. "Expired vehicle”, a vehicle with license plates that have been expired for less than 12 months.
3. "Inactive vehicle”, a vehicle with license plates that have been expired for 12 months or more. B. Initial

registration.

1. Upon initial registration, license fees are assessed from date of sale, unless the date of sale is more than 12
months ago in which case the license fees are assessed from current date with license fees prorated to the
customer’s registration month indicator (RMI).

C. License plate attachment

1. The first letter of the owner’s last name determines the month that a non-commercial vehicle owner will register
the vehicle.

a. For businesses, the first letter of the business name must be used. Registrations can be renewed 90 days
prior to the expiration.

b. April, October, and December are non-renewal months.

c. If attaching an unexpired license plate from an applicant’s plate inventory to a newly acquired vehicle, with
a purchase date of 12 months or less, fees are calculated from date of sale.

d. If the plate is within renewal (90 days prior to expiration), registration fees are billed to the following RMI,
with credit given for any remaining months on the license plates.

e. If plate expiration is more than three months, no additional registration months are billed.

f. Additional license fees may apply if the age and weight of the newly acquired vehicle is in a higher license

fee category, in which case additional license fees are billed. D. Noncommercial vehicle license renewal.

1. When renewing a registration on a noncommercial automobile, pickup, or van (under 6,000 pounds) with an
expired license (less than 12 months), license fees are calculated from the date of expiration to the RMI. E.

Noncommercial declared gross weight vehicle license renewal.
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1. When renewing a registration on a vehicle that is required to be licensed under the declared gross weight
license system (pickup does not qualify) in which the registration has expired (less than 12 months), license
fees are assessed from current date to RMI.

2. License fees are not calculated from the registration expiration date.  32-5-22; 32-5-2.1; 32-5-2.2; 32-5-2.4

Replacement License Plates/Validation Stickers (Lost in the Mail)

A. In cases where individuals do not receive the license plates or validation stickers that they have purchased online,
SST, or the county, the county treasurer can waive the fee normally required for duplicates.

1. The application for replacement of lost plates or stickers must be made within ninety (90) days from the date
the plates or stickers were issued.

2. Replacement license plates and/or validation stickers may be issued at no additional charge to the customer.
3. If the plates/validation stickers turn up later, they must be surrendered to the county treasurer's office.

4. If you have moved or changed addresses, the duplicate fee is assessed.

In cases where an individual needs to replace license plates or validation stickers that have been used or possessed,
duplicate fees must be collected.

Special License Plates for Certain Disabled Veterans
A. Before a person can receive a disabled veteran plate, an applicant must be an owner of a motor vehicle or motorcycle
and a resident veteran who is either.

1. A recipient of a Veteran's Administration K Award; or

2. Arecipient of an automobile under Public Law 187; or

3. Arecipient of a statutory benefit for loss or loss of use of one or more extremities; or

4. A recipient of a veteran's allotment for total disability which is a service-connected injury.

B. The injury must have been incurred in active duty during a time of war or while participating in a military mission
involving armed conflict.

C. Initial registration.

1. The disabled veteran (DV) application must be completed using the full name (no initials) and South Dakota
driver’s license, South Dakota identification card number or social security number, and submitted to the county
treasurer of veteran’s county of residence or through the customer portal online at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

2. The applicant must possess a valid SD Driver's License or Identification Card.

3. The applicant is not exempt from the motor vehicle excise tax.
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. A plate applied for permit will be issued by the county treasurer for the veteran to use in the interim of obtaining
the special license plates. The veteran will initially pay the $10 special plate fee and the registration fee until
verification of eligibility status is checked. A $7.50 mailing fee is also assessed.

. DV plates will be issued from the division upon verification of DV status through the Veteran's Administration in
Sioux Falls, SD. If the applicant does not qualify for DV status, the $10 special license plate fee will be refunded
and a different plate will need to be requested.

. A maximum of 2 sets of special DV plates will be issued per veteran.

. The special plates can be used on an automobile, pickup truck, or van licensed under the noncommercial license
fee schedule or a motorcycle.

. The veteran may choose to use one of the 2 sets of DV plates on a noncommercial motor vehicle that is a pickup
truck that weighs more than 6,000 pounds that is licensed under the noncommercial gross vehicle weight fee
schedule or a motor home. In this case, the veteran pays the registration fee but is not required to pay the $10

initial and renewal DV plate fee. D. Renewal of disabled veteran plates.

. Afee of $10 is collected yearly by the county treasurer and decals issued for the special plates. No registration
fee is assessed unless the plates are being used on a pickup that weighs more than 6,000 pounds licensed under
the noncommercial gross weight fee schedule or a motor home (see #7 above).

. The Disabled Veteran must supply their benefits decision letter annually during renewal to maintain their DV
plate.
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Special License Plates for National Guard

A. A resident owner of a motor vehicle who is an active enlisted member of the National Guard, an active warrant officer
of the National Guard, an active commissioned member of the National Guard, or a retired member of the National
Guard with twenty (20) years or more of creditable service can apply for National Guard plates (Inactive members
are not eligible).

1. Application is made through the applicant’s county treasurer's office or at the customer portal online at
http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

2. Each member of the National Guard must apply to the county treasurer of the county of his/her residence for
the special plates.

3. The application must be accompanied with a copy of the National Guard identification card.
4. The applicant must possess a valid SD Driver's License or Identification Card

5. The plates will bear a distinctive number and design, designating such persons as a member of the National
Guard.

6. The fee for an initial National Guard plate is $10, in addition to the registration fee. There is no additional fee for
the renewal of special plates, but the registration fee is assessed. A $7.50 mailing fee is assessed.

a. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has regular or organization plates assigned to it, the applicant can retain
the regular or special license plates that are being removed for future reassignment to a newly acquired
vehicle or the applicant can turn in the regular or organization plates to the county treasurer and receive
credit for any remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees.

7. The special plates can be used on a noncommercial, or a noncommercial declared gross weight licensed vehicle.

B. Any member of the National Guard who is discharged, separated, or furloughed to a reserve or inactive status must
surrender the National Guard plates to the Motor Vehicle Division.

32-5-154; 32-5-155; 32-5-156; 32-5-157; 32-5-158; 32-5-159; 32-5-162; 32-5-163; 32-5-164; 32-
5-165; 32-5-166

NATIONAL GUARD

NATIONAL GUARD

Special License Plates for Prisoners of War
A. Any resident of South Dakota who was a prisoner of war (POW) while serving in the United States Armed Forces is

eligible for special motor vehicle license plates. B. Initial registration.

1. The Prisoner of War (POW) application must be completed using the full name (no initials) and South Dakota
driver’s license number, South Dakota identification card number or social security number of the veteran and
must be submitted to the county treasurer of veteran’s county of residence or through the customer online
portal at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

2. The applicant must possess a valid SD Driver's License or SD Identification Card.
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3. The applicant is not exempt from the motor vehicle excise tax.

4. A plate applied for permit will be issued by the county treasurer for the veteran to use in the interim of obtaining
the special license plates. The veteran will initially pay the $10 special plate fee and the registration fee until
verification of eligibility status is checked. A $7.50 mailing fee is also assessed.

5. POW plates will be issued from the division upon verification of POW status through the Veteran’s
Administration in Sioux Falls, SD. If the applicant does not qualify for POW status, the $10 special license plate
fee will be refunded.

6. A maximum of 2 sets of special POW plates will be issued per veteran.

7. The special plates can only be used on an automobile, pickup truck, or van licensed under the noncommercial
license fee schedule or a motorcycle.

8. The veteran may choose to use one of the 2 sets of POW plates on a noncommercial motor vehicle that is a
pickup truck that weighs more than 6,000 pounds that is licensed under the noncommercial gross vehicle weight
fee schedule or a motor home. In this case, the veteran pays the registration fee but is not required to pay the

$10 initial and renewal POW plate fee. C. Renewal.
1. A fee of $10 is collected yearly by the county treasurer and decals issued for the special plates. No registration

fee is assessed. D. Surrender of plates.

, Prisoser of War 1. If it is determined that the veteran does not qualify for the special plates or if the veteran
% PO 000 dies, the plates must be surrendered to the county treasurer’s office of the applicant’s county
2 o WA of residence.
Sk AL | 37.5-160; 32-5-162

PRISONER OF WAR

Special Plates
A. Sale or transfer of a vehicle.

1. Upon the sale or transfer of a vehicle to which special license plates are attached, the owner must remove the
special plates and may select either of the options below:

a. If an owner is (or will be) replacing the vehicle with a newly acquired vehicle, the owner may request, at time
of registration of the newly acquired vehicle, attachment of the special plates to the vehicle. A plate
reassignment fee is assessed. Credit for any remaining months left on the special plates at time of
registration will apply. If the plates expire prior to attachment, the plates are invalid and cannot be used.

b. An owner may request transfer of special plates to another vehicle that is owned and titled by the applicant.
1) The special plates may be transferred to a vehicle that already has special license plates assigned to it.

a) Any remaining credit on the special license plates at the time of attachment will apply to the vehicle
the plates are being reassigned to. If additional license plate fees are due, the county treasurer will
collect the additional fee. A plate reassignment fee is assessed. No refund will be given.
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b) The regular or organization plates that are removed from the vehicle are eligible for attachment to
a newly acquired vehicle upon registration of the newly acquired vehicle through the county
treasurer. Credit for any remaining months on the plates at time of registration will apply. A plate
reassignment fee is assessed. If the plates expire prior to attachment, the plates are invalid and

cannot be used. B. If the applicant dies:

1. The plates must be surrendered to the county treasurer’s office and no additional fees are due for that registration
year.

Tax Exempt Plates

A. Vehicles owned by the United States, states, counties, townships, municipalities, improvement districts; vehicles
purchased by the state under Sections 18 and 16(b)2 of the Urban Mass Transportation Act; vehicles owned by public
or nonpublic schools, fire departments, licensed ambulance services, Indian tribes or schools, or non-profit
community support providers; buses and vans owned by churches.

1. An Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration and an Exempt Entity Plate Application must be
completed.

2. No motor vehicle excise tax is due on vehicles owned by the above-indicated entities.

3. The fee for exempt entity plates is $9.20. A $7.50 mailing fee is also assessed.
4. A title fee must also be included when transferring ownership of the vehicle.

5. Send properly completed forms directly to the Motor Vehicle Division; Special Licensing; 445 East Capitol
Avenue; Pierre, South Dakota 57501-3185.

6. When plates are being transferred from one vehicle to another, you must send a $5 reassignment fee to the
Motor Vehicle Division.

a. An application must be submitted indicating "renewal".

b. A copy of the registration from the vehicle that the plates are being removed must also be submitted.

B. Buses owned by individuals or companies which are being leased or rented by schools may apply for special bus
plates.

1. If the bus is being used for private or commercial use, the applicant must obtain commercial plates.
2. Seating capacity must be declared. C. Driver education vehicles.

1. Any motor vehicle dealer who participates in the driver education program in the schools of the state by
furnishing any school with a motor vehicle used in the program shall qualify for special license plates. D. Heavy

motor vehicle operator’s course vehicles.



1. A motor vehicle that is not for hire and operated solely for educational proposes by a student or an instructor as
part of a heavy motor vehicle or heavy equipment operator's course offered by a non-profit post-secondary institution

located in the state is exempt from commercial motor vehicle licensing requirements. 32-5-42; 32-5-42.2; 32-5-50;

Veteran, Woman Veteran, Tribal Veteran, and Active-Duty Military Member Plates
A. A resident veteran owner of a motor vehicle who has a Valid South Dakota driver’s license or South Dakota
identification card and who signs an application/affidavit may apply for special vehicle veteran license plates.

1. Application is made through the applicant’s county treasurer in the county of applicant’s residence or through
the customer online portal at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

B. Initial Application for Veteran, Tribal Veteran, and Woman Veteran Plates

1. The South Dakota Application for Veteran License Plates and Affidavit must be used by the veteran to attest that
he/she is a resident of South Dakota, possesses a valid South Dakota driver's license or South Dakota
identification card, and is an honorably discharged veteran having served on active duty in the armed forces of
the United States. In the case of a Tribal Veteran, the applicant must also be a member of a South Dakota tribe.

a. An owner falsely attesting to having been an honorably discharged veteran on active duty from the armed
forces of the United States is guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor.

2. The application/affidavit will also be used by the veteran to indicate the military branch of the armed forces that
applies and choose from predetermined plate indicators pertaining to conflict and status that are available to the
veteran OR indicate the tribe they are a member of.

3. The applicant is not exempt from the motor vehicle excise tax.

4. Upon initial application, the annual registration fee is charged in addition to a $10 fee for the special plates and a
$7.50 mailing fee.

a. If an applicant’s vehicle currently has regular or organization plates assigned to it, the applicant may choose
to retain the regular or special license plates that are being removed for future reassignment to a newly
acquired vehicle or the applicant may choose to turn in the regular or organization plates to the county
treasurer and receive credit for any remaining months on the plates toward the registration fees.

5. Veteran plates can be used on any noncommercial or declared gross weight licensed vehicle, motor home, or a

motorcycle. Tribal Veteran plates are not available for a motorcycle. C. Renewal of Veteran Plates.

1. The veteran pays the registration fee but is not assessed an additional fee for the special plates.

32-5-154; 32-5-155; 32-5-156; 32-5-157; 32-5-
162; 32-5-163; 32-5-164; 32-5-165; 32-5-166
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Permits

5-15 Day Temporary Permit

1. A 5-15-day temporary license permit will be available to allow temporary noncommercial operation of a vehicle.
2. The permit is purchased from a county treasurer for a period from 5 to 15 consecutive days.

3. The fee for the permit is $1 per day for each day the permit is requested. The minimum fee is $5.

4.  Only one permit should be issued yearly per motor vehicle.

5. An applicant must be in possession of either a title in the applicant’s name, a title properly assigned to the
applicant, or a bill of sale that lists the applicant as the purchaser of the vehicle.

6. The title or bill of sale must be available for inspection by a peace officer when the vehicle is being moved.

7. In private, individual vehicle sales, the new purchaser may obtain a 5-15-day permit for a fee of $1 per day if
extended time is needed from the 30-day seller's permit until the 45-day title transfer.

8. A temporary permit can be used on a vehicle hauling a load if the operation is noncommercial.
9. The permit information (vehicle, year, make and VIN/HIN will be entered into the system.
10. The reason the permit is needed must be entered (list of possible reasons will be displayed).

11. Sale of any subsequent permit for the same vehicle within a one-year period will require entry of a comment as to
why a second permit is being issued.

12. When a permit is issued on a vehicle that is titled in South Dakota, the permit will be tied to the vehicle title record.
32-5-107

Commercial Permit

1. The owner of a commercial vehicle who has returned the current commercial plates and has since shown a need to
operate this motor vehicle (unladen operation) on the highway can obtain a temporary commercial single-trip
permit from the Highway Patrol.

The fee for a commercial single trip permit is $15.

SOUTH DAKOTA 30-DAY COMMERCIAL PERMIT SCHEDULE

Ton----===-mmmmmmmn 9.00 25Ton 135.00
Ton----==-==-mmum- 11.00 26 Ton 142.00
Ton----==-==-mmum- 13.00 27 Ton 149.00
Ton----=---cemeemm 15.00 28 Ton 156.00
Ton----=---cemeemm 18.00 29Ton 163.00

Ton------——==————- 21.00 30Ton 170.00
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Ton------——=—————- 24.00 31Ton 177.00

Ton----=--==-mmum- 27.00 32 Ton 184.00
o] e ——— 30.00 33 Ton 191.00
o] e —— 37.00 34Ton 198.00
Ton----==mmmmmmmm- 44.00 35Ton 205.00
Ton----==mmmmmmmm- 51.00 36Ton 212.00
Ton-----=-==-=---- 58.00 37Ton 219.00
o] e —— 65.00 38Ton 226.00
o] e ——— 72.00 39Ton 233.00
o] e ——— 79.00 40 Ton 240.00
Ton----------——--- 86.00 41 Ton 247.00
Ton----------——--- 93.00 42 Ton 254.00
Ton-------==----- 100.00 43 Ton 261.00
Ton-------==----- 107.00 44 Ton 268.00
Ton-------==----- 114.00 45Ton 275.00
Ton-----=-==-=--- 121.00 46 Ton 282.00
Ton-----------—-- 128.00 47 Ton 289.00
A fee of $7 is added for each additional ton.
32-9-22

Dealer's 45 Day Sold Permit

1. The dealer can issue sold permits manually.

2. Permits can be issued off of the system in conjunction with a dealer pending title, or in the case of when a vehicle is
sold and the title is not available at the time or when the vehicle is sold out- of-state, the dealer can create a report
of sale since there is no pending title record, which then allows a dealer to create a 45-day sold permit off the
system.

3. Issuance of a 45-day permit off the system when a dealer does not have title in-hand or when a vehicle is sold
requires the dealer to create a report of sale. A DEALER CANNOT CREATE A PENDING TITLE RECORD WITHOUT
HAVING TITLE IN HAND. 32-6B-26; 32-6B-29

Harvest Permit
A. Resident harvesters.

1. South Dakota residents engaged in custom harvesting must comply with the commercial licensing laws.

2. Residents who have their vehicles licensed commercially must display on each power unit a license sufficient to
cover the total gross weight of the vehicle and its load, plus any trailer and its load. Trailers may display
identification plates. South Dakota commercially licensed vehicles are not required to purchase trip permits,
temporary commercial license, or harvest permits.

3. Residents who have their vehicles licensed non-commercially and wish to commercially harvest in South Dakota
must purchase temporary commercial license or harvest permits. A harvest permit is required for each power unit
and for each grain hauling trailer (regardless of whether the trailer displays an ID plate).

4. Non-commercially licensed custom combiners must purchase a trip permit to travel in the state unless they
display temporary commercial license or harvest permits.
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5. Pickups and service trucks carrying over 500 pounds of harvest equipment, tools or fuel supplies will be required
to display some form of commercial license (trip permits, South Dakota commercial license, temporary
commercial license, or harvest permits).

6. Passenger vehicles, mobile homes, and camper vehicles are not required to purchase trip permits or display a
commercial license.

7. An operator who purchases a temporary commercial license for harvest purposes should display the temporary
commercial sticker in the lower center of his windshield to allow for easier and quicker identification by law
enforcement officers.

8. Farmers who are temporarily engaged in custom harvesting are treated like any other custom combiner.

9. Farmers who are harvesting their own fields are not required to purchase trip permits, temporary commercial
license, or harvest permits.

B. Nonresident harvester.

1. Nonresidents engaged in the custom harvest in South Dakota must purchase harvest permits for each vehicle
hauling grain. A permit is required for each power unit and for each grain hauling trailer. Harvest permits exempt
nonresidents from all other South Dakota registration requirements.

2. Passenger vehicles, empty trucks and empty pick-ups pulling mobile homes or camper trailers are not required to
pay additional license fees.

3. Pickups and service trucks carrying over 500 pounds of harvest equipment, tools or fuel supplies will be required
to display some form of commercial license (trip permits, South Dakota commercial license plates, temporary
commercial license, or a harvest permit -- collections in accordance with base plate covering that vehicle (*).

4. Trucks loaded with or pulling combines or other harvest equipment will be treated like any other loaded truck
and considered according to the base license of the vehicle (*).

5. Vehicles displaying a valid harvest permit will not be required to purchase a trip permit for their travel into or
through the state.

* Prorate States -- Three axle combinations having a gross vehicle weight more than 12,000 pounds must buy
trip permits or purchase a harvest permit.

C. Custom combiners "Harvest Permit".

1. SDCL 32-9-3.1. Fee required of harvest vehicle -- Sticker -- Collection of Fees -Violation as misdemeanor. Any
motor vehicle or trailer owned and operated by a resident or a nonresident engaged in the harvest of agriculture
products may be operated upon the highways, roads, and streets of this state upon payment of a seventy-five-
dollar fee. Payment of the fee shall be evidenced by a sticker provided by the division affixed in a conspicuous
place on the vehicle as the division may require. The stickers, which are valid for a calendar year, shall be
purchased from the county treasurer of any county through which the owner or operator may travel, an inspector
at a port-of-entry, or any other agent designated by the division. All fees collected shall be handled, accounted
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for, and distributed in the same manner as the other fees provided for in this chapter. Violation of this section is a
Class 2 misdemeanor. A permit is required for each truck or tractor and for each grain hauling trailer.

. Harvest permits are sold to vehicles that will be utilized to haul agricultural products or to service harvesting
equipment and are available to both foreign and South Dakota licensed harvesters. (A permit is required for each
truck or tractor and for each grain hauling trailer.)

. Passenger vehicles, mobile homes, service pick-ups and camper vehicles will not be required to display a harvest
permit. However, service trucks carrying harvest equipment, tools or fuel supplies will be required to display
some form of commercial license (trip permits, South Dakota commercial license plates, temporary commercial
license, or a harvest permit.)

. The harvest permit must be displayed in the lower center of the windshield.

. Harvest permits are valid only while involved in custom harvest operations during the period of January 1
through December 31 of each calendar year. The cost of each permit is $75.

. Harvest permits may be obtained from any county treasurer, port-of-entry, South Dakota Highway Patrol district
office, Highway Patrol trooper, or any motor carrier inspector. Permits may also be obtained by sending a check
or money order along with a copy of the current registration for each vehicle to be permitted to:

District Four Headquarters South Dakota Highway Patrol
500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-5070

. Enforcement action may be taken against any carrier or custom harvester who fails to comply with South Dakota
permit requirements.

. For information on other permits that may be required (fuel, oversize, over width, etc.) the applicant should be
advised to contact one of the ports-of-entry listed below:

Sisseton....... (605) 698-3925

Sioux Falls... (605) 757-6406

Tilford.......... (605) 347-2671

McCook.......(605) 232-9106 32-9-3.1

Manufactured Home Permit

1. Single trip permit to move a manufactured home (county issued or dealer self-issued) is issued from the system.
[At some point, the affidavit of tax paid will be issued off the system and the system will send a notice containing
the information on the permit to the DOE in the country of origin, the DOE in the county of destination, and the
county treasurer in the county of destination, if different than the county of origin.]

Manufacturer/Customizer and Dealer Temporary Permits
A. Violations

1. Any person found to be in violation of the permitting requirements will be denied a temporary permit for a
period of one year from the date of the violation.
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B. Motor vehicle manufacturer/customizer permit:

1. Any person engaged in the business of manufacturing or customizing motor vehicles may display, but not sell,
any motor vehicles at an event.

a. The event must last 3 or more days.
b. The person must register with and purchase a permit from the department.

c. The fee for the permit is $250 if purchased prior to the event and $500 if purchased at or after the
event.

d. A customized motorcycle being built for and displayed during a sponsored event (where the
participants had to qualify through competition), is not required to have a permit. A permit is required if any

customized motorcycle is being displayed outside the sponsored event. C. Licensed dealer's permit:
1. Any licensed dealer may sell trailers or motorcycles at an event.

a. The event must last 3 or more days.

b. The dealer must register with and purchase a permit from the department.

¢. The dealer must provide proof he/she is a licensed dealer in his/her own state and that his/her dealership
has no outstanding dealer violations.

d. A permit to sell new trailers or motorcycles can only be issued if the trailers or motorcycles being sold are
not franchised in this state.

e. The fee for the dealer permit is $250 if purchased prior to the event or $500 if purchased at or after the
event.

(1) A permit may be obtained to display a trailer at an event regardless of whether there is a franchise in this state.
A. The fee for the permit is $250 if purchased prior to the event or $500 if purchased at or after the permit.

D. License boat and boat trailer dealer permit:

1. The event must last 2 or more days and must be an organized sponsored event with no less than 3 licensed boat
dealers displaying boats.

2. The dealer must register with and purchase a permit from the department at least 5 days before the event.

a. The fee for a boat and boat trailer dealer permit is

$200. E. Out-of-state dealer auction permit:



1. An out-of-state dealer may sell a vehicle that is at least 20 years old or more or a motorcycle that is at least 30
years old that is titled in the dealer's name (out -of-state title) at public auction if the dealer purchases a permit
from DMV.

The dealer must provide proof that the dealership is in good standing in the dealer’s home state and has no outstanding
dealer violations.

The permit fee is $250 if purchased before the auction and $500 if purchased at or after the auction. A dealer in violation
shall be denied a temporary permit for a period of one year from the date of the violation.
32-6B-5.1

Non-resident Off road permit
A. An off-road decal may be purchased, online with the State or at a County Treasurer’s office, for any out-of-state
resident bringing into this state an off-road vehicle. The permit is valid for one year.

1. Proof of ownership (a bill of sale, title or assigned title) must be presented. If the applicant is from a state that does
not title or register an offroad vehicle, an affidavit attesting to this fact and attesting to the ownership of the off-road
vehicle is acceptable along with proof of insurance.

2. One decal is issued and must be attached to the rear of the off-road vehicle in a location easily visible for inspection
by any peace officer.

3. The out-of-state applicant must complete the Non-Resident Off-Road Vehicle Application form attesting that the
vehicle meets the equipment criteria.

4. Only out-of-state residents can apply for these permits so the applicant must furnish proof of a valid driver’s license
and a copy of their Social Security number (SSN).

SDCL 32-5-107, 32-20-13

Plate Ordered Permit

1. This permit allows the operation of a vehicle during the time between application for special plates and the arrival
of new plates.

2. The permit is valid for 45 days or until the plates arrive, whichever occurs first.

3. When application is made for a plate ordered permit, the system will check for suspensions (financial responsibility),
title record status (title only, junking certificate, parts only, junk, surrendered out-of-state, offroad, interstate or
suspended) and plate type, A (noncommercial), L (motor home), G (gross weight), M (motorcycle).

The system will not issue the plates unless the vehicle that the plates will be attached to is titled in the applicant’s name
or is a pending title in the name of the permit applicant.

Portable Physically Disabled Person's Parking Permit
A. Application for portable physically disabled person’s parking permit.
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1. This permit is to be used only when transporting a physically disabled individual and the use of a designated
physically disabled person’s parking facility is necessary. Unlawful use of this permit by anyone not authorized to
use physically disabled person’s parking facilities is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor and such use may result in
revocation of the permit by the Secretary of Revenue.

a. If an applicant is no longer a person with a physical disability or is deceased, or if the applicant no longer
transports persons with physical disabilities, the permit must be surrendered within 30 days to the county
treasurer of the applicant's residence.

2. The applicant must properly complete an Application for Portable Physically Disabled Person’s Parking Permit
and have it validated by a physician. The application is filed with the county treasurer of the applicant's
residence.

3. Itis a Class 1 misdemeanor to submit a false or fraudulent application or to alter a portable permit.

B. The plastic portable permit must be displayed while the vehicle used for transporting the physically disabled person is
parked. The permit must be visible through the front windshield of the vehicle.

1. Failure to properly display or the illegal use of any portable parking permit may result in enforcement action.

C. All portable physically disabled person’s parking permits shall contain an expiration date. The expiration date may not
exceed five years.

1. A temporary permit will be construed as a permit expiring within 12 months or less of the issuance date. A
permanent permit will be construed as a permit issued for a period of more than 12 months, not to exceed five
years. The only distinguishing feature between the temporary permit and the permanent permit is that the
expiration date on the permanent permit is denoted in black ink and the expiration date on the temporary
permit is denoted in red ink.

2. ltis the applicant's responsibility to obtain a new permit prior to its expiration. A new and renewal permit
application must be completed. If the applicant's condition is certified as permanent by the certifying doctor on
the initial application, the doctor's certification section on the renewal application does not have to be
completed. The renewal application will be processed the same way as was the original application.

D. Vehicles owned by certain nonprofit organizations, licensed hospitals, retirements homes, educational institutions
that have under their care or responsibility physically disabled persons, and nursing facilities licensed pursuant to

chapter 34-12 (regulation of hospitals and related institutions) may obtain portable physically disabled person’s
parking permits.

1. These organizations can obtain one permit for each vehicle used to transport physically disabled persons.

2. The permits are only for the loading and unloading of physically disabled persons. Vehicles cannot be parked in
a physically disabled person’s parking facility.

3. Permits must contain an expiration date and must be renewed with the county treasurer.

E. Violations



1. The court shall assess a fine of not less than $100 if the parking space is marked in accordance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines, as of January 1, 2002, when any person, other than the
physically disabled person to whom it was issued uses a physically disabled person’s parking permit for the
purpose of parking; when a person who is not a person with a physical disability exercises the privileges granted
to a person with a physical disability; when the owner of any vehicle not displaying a permit or special plate
parks or stops in a parking space, or blocks a parking space on public or private property designated as reserved
for a person with a physical disability; when an owner of a vehicle parks, stops, or stands in an access isle or lane
immediately adjacent to reserved parking spaces or in front of a ramp or curb-cut in such a manner that blocks
access to a person with a disability who uses a wheel chair.

2. The police of any municipality or any other political subdivision are requested to report all violations of special
license plates or permits to the Division of Motor Vehicles, who in turn, must revoke the privilege of displaying
plates or permits that are improperly used.

3. Each designated parking space must state the penalties for illegal use of the parking space. This only applies to
a new sign or a sign that replaces an existing sign after July 1, 2002.

F. Parking Spaces for Physically Disabled Persons

1. Each municipality shall, by ordinance designate special parking spaces that are accessible to and usable by
persons with physical disabilities.

2. A municipality may, by ordinance, designate spaces that are only for use by a person using a wheel chair.
32-5-76.1; 32-5-76.2; 32-5-76.3

Seller's Permit

1. A private seller must obtain a temporary license permit that allows a buyer to drive during the interval between
purchase and registration/title.

2. Duration of the permit is 45 days.

3. A new purchaser of a vehicle through a private individual sale can obtain a 5-15-day permit for a fee of $1 per day if
extended time is needed beyond the 45-day seller's permit.

4. No fee is charged for the permit since registration fees are assessed from the date of sale.

5. If a second permit is requested (same owner/vehicle combination), justification is required.

6. The system will check for suspensions and title record status.

7. Failure of a seller to provide the permit to a purchaser upon sale of a vehicle is a class 2 misdemeanor.
8. A seller can obtain a seller's permit on-line at SDcars.org

9. A seller's permit cannot be issued for a boat or a snowmobile. 32-5-2.9
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Temporary Commercial Licensing Permit
A. A temporary commercial license permit may be sold to a South Dakota resident or an out-of-state resident.

1. The vehicle must display some other form of current license, which is valid through the life of the temporary
commercial permit.

a. Some other form of current license may be a noncommercial license plate or a 30-day "sold" dealer paper

plate. If a 30-day dealer paper plate is used, however, keep in mind that the temporary commercial permit
is only valid if the dealer plate is valid.

2. The temporary commercial permit may be sold in 30-day increments (30, 60, 90, 120, etc.) for up to one year.
There is no limit on the number of temporary commercial license permits that can be sold. An applicant is
required to file the federal heavy vehicle use tax and provide proof of the filing by providing DMV with a copy of
the IRS verified form for the licensing period (please indicate on the proof of filing that it was in connection with
the issuance of a temporary commercial permit).

3. A temporary commercial license permit may be used to temporarily increase the tonnage on a commercial
licensed vehicle.

a. The permit fee is assessed according to the 30-day permit fee schedule. Remember the total permit fee is
charged, not the difference resulting from the increased tonnage. 32-5-83

Temporary Registration Permit
1. Free temporary registration permits, that can be completed by the county treasurer, will be available for
emergency situations when the system is not working. (Under most circumstances, the permit is issued for a
five-day period.)

a. A title or bill of sale must be available for inspection. 32-5-107

Refunds

Commercial Bus

Application for commercial bus plate requires that a commercial vehicle registration be completed for each bus.
1. The gross maximum weight on a commercial bus will be calculated by using the largest gross maximum weight
the unit will haul, plus the weight of the bus.

B. Determination of fees is made from the appropriate gross weight on the commercial fee schedule.

C. Commercial License Plate with Owner.
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1. If discontinuing use of a commercial license, the plates can be turned in for a refund of the remaining months
on the license plates.

If a commercial vehicle is sold or transferred, the commercial plates must be removed and can be attached to a newly
acquired vehicle, upon registration of the newly acquired vehicle through the county treasurer. Credit is given for any
remaining months on the plates at the time the county registers the vehicle. If the plates expire prior to the attachment,
the plates are no longer valid and cannot be used. 32-9-3.5

Commercial License
A. Commercial License (plate with owner)

1. If discontinuing use of a commercial license, the plates can be turned in for a refund of the remaining months
on the license plates.

2. If a commercial vehicle is sold or transferred, the commercial plates must be removed and can be attached to a
newly acquired vehicle when registration of the newly acquired vehicle through the county treasurer is complete.

a. Credit is given for any remaining months on the plates at the time the county registers the vehicle.
b. If the plates expire prior to the attachment, the plates are no longer valid and cannot be used.
3. In the event tonnage is being lowered, no refund is given.

a. The applicant can either retain the current plates with the higher tonnage until the new licensing period
(within 3 months of expiration) and then lower the tonnage, or, if so desired, the applicant can return the
license plates and a new set of plates can be issued with the lower tonnage.

Inform applicant that a copy of the registration must be placed in the power unit, to be always carried and exhibited upon
demand of any law enforcement official. 32-9

Commercial Motor Vehicles
32-9-1.
Definitions. Terms used in this chapter mean:

(1)  "Compensation," the charge imposed upon motor carriers in consideration of the unusual use of the public
highways in this state by such motor carriers.

(2) "Compensation certificate," the certificate issued upon application by a motor carrier, as defined in §§ 32-9-2 and
32-9-3, showing authority to use and payment of compensation for the unusual use of the highways by the one to
whom issued.

(3)  "Commercial motor vehicle," any motor vehicle used or maintained for the transportation of persons or property
for hire, compensation or profit or designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, and
not specifically excluded under § 32-9-3.

(4)  "Department," Department of Revenue.
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(5)  "For hire," for remuneration of any kind, paid or promised, either directly or indirectly, for the transportation of
persons or property. An occasional accommodative transportation service by a person not in the transportation
business while on an errand for himself, is not a service for hire, even though the person transported shares in the
cost or pays for the service.

(6)  "Gross weight," the total weight of the chassis, body, equipment, and maximum load of each motor vehicle, trailer,
or semitrailer as fixed by the applicant for a compensation certificate.

(7)  "Motor vehicle," all vehicles or machines propelled by any power other than muscular used upon the public
highways for the transportation of persons or property or both. The term does not include an electric bicycle as
defined in § 32-20B-9.

(8)  "Private business use," the transportation of persons or property for hire, compensation, profit, or remuneration of
any kind, or the transportation of any property of a business venture not specifically excluded under § 32-9-3.

(9)  "Public highway," every street, alley, public road, public thoroughfare, or highway in this state.

(10) "Secretary," secretary of revenue.

(11)  “"Semitrailer,” any vehicle of the trailer type, equipped with a kingpin assembly, designed, and used in conjunction
with a fifth wheel connecting device on a motor vehicle and constructed so that some part of its weight and that of its

load rests upon or is carried by another vehicle.

(12)  "Trailer," every vehicle without motive power designed to carry property or persons wholly on its own structure
and to be drawn by a motor vehicle.

From <http://sdleqislature.gov/Statutes/Codified Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-1

A commercial trailer unit will only be required to display commercial trailer identification plates.
1. This will be the only license identification required on a commercial trailer. The $10 fee is a one-time only fee if
the trailer is owned by the applicants.

2. In the event the trailer plate is lost, a new plate is issued. The applicant is not required to complete a duplicate
plate affidavit. A $10 fee is assessed.

B. In the event of ownership transfer, the new owner must make application in his name for a new trailer identification
plate.

C. A trailer bearing a commercial identification plate may be towed behind any commercial power unit.

D. A commercial power unit may tow any legally licensed trailing unit if the proper weight fees have already been paid
on said power unit.

1. A noncommercial declared gross weighted unit may pull any trailer bearing a commercial trailer identification
plate.

E. There is no refund or credit provision for a commercial trailer plate. 32-9-8.1
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Commercial Vehicles

A. Payment of the annual commercial motor vehicle fee must be made before beginning an operation. License renewal is
done under a staggered licensing system.

1. All address information should be properly recorded on the commercial registration.

2. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number of each applicant must be given. In the case of a

company, the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner’s social security number or
driver’s license number may be used.

3. The county treasurer will fill out a commercial registration for each unit using commercial license plates.
4. All information concerning the motor vehicle must be correct and included on the commercial registration.

The county treasurer may assess a mailing fee for the mailing of commercial license plates and for the mailing of stickers.

If the applicant requests the plates/stickers be express mailed, the applicant must pay any costs for the service.
32-9

Commercial Vehicle Tonnage Decals

1. Any vehicle registered to haul more than 27 tons by license or permit is required to file the IRS 2290 schedule 1
and provide proof of the filing by providing a copy of the IRS verified form for the licensing period. Twenty-eight

ton and over stickers are issued directly from the Division of Motor Vehicles to individuals when all applicable
laws are complied with.

a. Proof of federal heavy vehicle use tax must be furnished.

(1) Form #2290 Schedule 1 stamped received by IRS.
(2) Form #2290 Schedule 1, plus copy of canceled check.

b. Vehicles exempt from federal heavy vehicle use tax must also send in the Form #2290 Schedule 1 and have
it stamped received by the IRS.

2. The county treasurer will attach to the daily printout of vehicles registered by the county at a tonnage of 28 ton
or over, the taxpayer statement notification concerning payment of the federal heavy vehicle use tax form (DMV-
HVUT), which is to be completed on all vehicles licensed at 28 ton or over, in which proof of payment of the tax is
not available at the time of registration. If proof is available at the time of registration, the county treasurer shall
attach the proof of payment of the heavy vehicle use tax (IRS forms) along with a copy of the vehicle registration.

If proof of payment is not available at time of registration, the applicant has 30 days in which he can operate the
vehicle without displaying the tonnage decals.

a. Contact for Federal Excise Tax information and form 2290-Heavy Vehicle Use Tax: 1-866-699-4096,
Cincinnati Service Center.

3. Status categories in the HVUT queue:
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1. R —Requested or Registered (indicates the vehicle has been registered at a qualifying weight but nothing has been
received and tonnage decals have not been issued.

2. WP - Waiting Proof (indicates we received the HVUT form claiming filing of the 2290 and have verified proof for the
previous years but still waiting for proof of filing with a copy of the IRS verified form for the current licensing period
for the correct vehicle. Tonnage decals have been issued.

3. Category Z and Newly Purchased Vehicles (if a vehicle is purchased within 60 days of a qualifying HVUT registration,
tonnage decals will be mailed without proof of filing; however, the 2290 is still required to be filed. A code of Category
Z means that proof of HVUT has not been received. Once the proof is received, the code will be changed.

4. V —Verified (indicates verification that the tonnage decals have been issued.
5. Common Problems

a. The form provided is either not stamped as verified by the IRS, the form is not for the correct vehicle or it is for
the wrong filing period, or the VIN is incorrect and the name on the form does not match the titled owner. 32-9

Exceptions From Commercial Vehicles
A. The following do not come within the definition of "motor carriers" or "commercial vehicles" when used in intrastate

operations.

1. A motor vehicle registered in South Dakota used to carry private business property of five hundred pounds or
less.

2. A motor vehicle chassis registered in South Dakota on which is mounted a corn sheller, grain cleaner, feed
grinder, grain and alfalfa feed mixing machine, haystack mover, sawmill, water well drilling equipment, power
shovel, ditch digger, mobile crane which exceeds the maximum size or weight limits prescribed by chapter 32-
22, drag line, posthole auger, and which is not used for demonstration or display purposes outside the limits of
a municipality, or a truck tractor and trailer carrying permanently mounted hay grinding equipment.

3. Any motor vehicle registered in South Dakota used for the transportation of liquid or solid livestock waste
(Including trailers and equipment used to load liquid or solid livestock waste) and any vehicle registered in
South Dakota used for the application, distribution, spraying or transportation from retail business to user of
dry, liquid, or anhydrous ammonia fertilizers or agricultural chemicals.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

A motor vehicle registered in South Dakota of less than thirty thousand pounds gross weight owned by a
merchant licensed under Chapter 10-45 or his commissioned paid employee and used to transport the
merchant's previously sold merchandise to a purchaser outside the limits of a municipality and to return
exchanged property or to transport fuels to a purchaser within a municipality or an unincorporated town
which is without such service.

A motor vehicle registered in South Dakota owned by a farmer of this state and used by or for the farmer to
transport property for his farming operation, to transport farm property from farm to farm or from a
community or market to his farm or from his farm to a community or market, to transport livestock in a
vehicle that is registered at 26,000 pounds or less and when hauling for no monetary compensation or to
transport farm property when the vehicles are used as reimbursement in the ordinary exchange of farm work
if the provisions of § 49-28-8.2 are met.

A motor vehicle registered in South Dakota operated by or for its owner and exclusively used to transport
products originating in or produced from logging or mining operations or lumber milling waste products if
such products are produced or owned by the motor vehicle owner.

Except as provided in § 32-9-3.3, any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, motor propelled or trailed vehicle
chassis registered in South Dakota, which is used for highway construction or for the construction of stock
water dugouts, dams, farm and ranch irrigation systems or other soil and water conservation projects on
farms and ranches and used exclusively on the job site. Such equipment may be moved between job sites or
from job site to a central location.

A motor vehicle used principally for providing prearranged transportation of persons to or from their place of
employment and is operated by a person who does not drive the vehicle for his principal occupation but is
driving it only to or from his principal place of employment or for personal use as permitted by the owner of
the vehicle.

9. A school bus, owned by a school district, when rented by or its use has been granted to a nonprofit
club, group, organization, fraternal society, association, or corporation for use pursuant to subdivision (1) or
(8) of § 49-28-2

A motor vehicle that is not for hire and is operated solely for educational purposes by a student or an instructor as
part of a heavy motor vehicle or heavy equipment operator's course offered by a nonprofit postsecondary
institution located in the state.

A motor vehicle used for personal purposes and not operated for private business.

A motor vehicle used for recreational purposes and not operated for private business use.

A motor vehicle, semitrailer, motor propelled or trailed vehicle chassis, registered in South Dakota and used to
move equipment involved in soil and water conservation projects or township road work when operated between

job sites or from a job site to a central location or point of repair.

Any motor vehicle used by an implement dealer to transport farm machinery to and from a county fair or the state
fair.
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14. A motor vehicle, other than a motor vehicle which carries inventory replacement vehicles entirely upon its own
structure, owned by a licensed motor vehicle dealer and used to transport inventory replacement vehicles to the
dealer's principal place of business.

15. Any motor vehicle, with a seating capacity of 16 or more persons, including the driver, used as a motor bus in the
transportation of persons for hire within the corporate limits of any city or town.

The specialized equipment mounted on a motor vehicle chassis listed in #3 to #6, inclusive, is included in the vehicle weight used
to determine license fees under the noncommercial fee schedule. A violation of the section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. 32-9

Noncommercial Vehicle
A. A refund can be authorized to the owner of a motor vehicle for any overpayment (vehicle age and weight
correction), or for any license fee paid in error, past or future, paid by the owner.

1. Supporting documentation: noncommercial license refund affidavit form and the unused registration with
decals still attached.

2. The refund is paid out of the motor vehicle fees collected by the county.

a. Application for the refund of overpayment must be made within one year from the date the license fee
was paid.

b. Application for refund of payment made in error but be made within ninety days from the date the
license fee was paid.

3. The refund is granted to the person to whom the vehicle is currently registered. The title must be in the name
of the individual applying for refund, not just assigned on the reverse side.

B. The county treasurer is authorized to make a refund based on the documentation.

C. If an applicant wants to lower the tonnage on a noncommercial declared gross weighted vehicle, no refund is given.
The applicant can either retain the current plates with the higher tonnage until the new licensing period and then
lower the tonnage or, if so desired, the applicant can return the license plates and a new set of plates with the lower
tonnage will be issued.

D. If an applicant wants to change the license on a vehicle from noncommercial to commercial, the applicant can
surrender the noncommercial license plates and receive a credit for the remaining months (to zero) toward the
commercial plates or the owner has the option of removing the valid noncommercial license plates and retaining
them for transfer to a newly acquired vehicle upon registration of the newly acquired vehicle through the county
treasurer (credit will then be given for the remaining months left on the plate at time of attachment).

E. If an applicant was unable to obtain a bill of sale prior to making application and was assessed motor vehicle excise
tax on the book value, later obtains the bill of sale, a refund for the overpayment of the excise tax will be authorized
if the request is made within one year from the date of the original application. No refund will be granted on
requests made after one year from the date of application. 32-5-24
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Transporter License Plates

A. Any commercial motor carrier located in the state that is hauling a new trailer with an MSO or title and who has
registered with the Division of Motor Vehicles as a transporter may use a transporter plate on the streets and
highways for in-transit purposes.

=

The transporter must complete and submit a Transporter Registration form.

n

The registration is submitted to the Motor Vehicle Division.

3. The annual fee for a transporter plate is $50.

4. The owner can move the plate from one trailer to another.

o

Any new trailer with a transporter plate can be used to haul other new trailers.

A transporter plate can't be used to transport mobile/manufactured homes. 32-9-57.1
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Chapter 32-3 Title Registration, Liens, and Transfers

TITLE REGISTRATION, LIENS, AND TRANSFERS

32-3-1 Definition of terms.

32-3-2  Applicability.

32-3-2.1 32-3-2.1. Repealed by SL

1989, Ch 257, § 3. 32-3-2.2 32-3-2.2.

Repealed by SL 1982, Ch 225, § 1.

32-3-2.3 Mopeds exempt.

32-3-2.4 Farm vehicles exempt--Exceptions.

32-3-3 Selling new vehicle without delivering manufacturer's statement or certificate of origin--Purchasing new vehicle
without obtaining certificate--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-3-3.1 Initial registration and titling of mobile and manufactured homes--Time for registration--Penalty--Violation
as misdemeanor.

32-3-3.2  Surrender of title on mobile or manufactured home--Request and application--Record--Liens.

32-3-3.3 Titling of mobile or manufactured home whose title was surrendered--Affidavit--Report.

32-3-4 Eligibility for license--Mobile and manufactured homes exempt.

32-3-5 Sale without delivering certificate of title--Purchase without obtaining certificate of title--

Temporary use--Time limit--Violation as misdemeanor. 32-3-5.1 32-3-5.1. Repealed by SL 1989, Ch

257, 89.

32-3-6 Ownership passing by operation of law--Burden of proof.

32-3-7 Sale of secondhand vehicle--Time for delivery of certificate of title--Exception--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-3-7.1 Extension of time to deliver certificate of title to secondhand vehicle--Temporary license permit.

32-3-8 32-3-8. Repealed by SL 1988, Ch 236, § 4.

32-3-9 32-3-9. Superseded.

32-3-10 Statement or certificate of origin as passing title--Waiver and estoppel inapplicable.

32-3-11 Certificate as evidence of ownership--Possession before delivery of certificate--Risk of loss--Insurable interest.
32-3-12 Operation or possession of vehicle without certificate as misdemeanor.

32-3-13 Sale or transfer without certificate as misdemeanor.

32-3-14 False statement in application--Felony.

32-3-15 Alteration or forgery of certificate--Knowing use of altered or forged certificate--Felony.

32-3-16  Uniform method of numbering certificates--Retention of documents by department.

32-3-17 Validity of certificates previously issued--Issuance of new certificate.

32-3-18 Application for certificate--Contents--Fee--Assignment of previous certificate.

32-3-18.1 Administration fee--Title applications processed by mail.

32-3-19 False swearing in connection with certificates--Perjury--Punishment.

32-3-20 Change of identification number on vehicle--New certificate--Contents of new certificate--Delivery to owner.
32-3-21 Unnumbered vehicles not subject to titling -- titling by number other than vehicle identification number.
32-3-22  Assignment and attachment of vehicle identification number--Registration under

assigned number--Violation as felony--Fees. 32-3-22.1  Fee for assignment of vehicle

identification number.

32-3-23 Application for original certificate--Contents--Supporting documents.

32-3-24 Burden of proving ownership--Issuance of certificate.

32-3-25 Application for title and registration by dealer on behalf of customer--Location of filing.

32-3-26 Time for filing application for certificate--Vehicles in dealer's stock.

32-3-26.1 32-3-26.1. Repealed by SL 2005, Ch 155, § 1.

32-3-27 Late application for certificate--Additional fee--Application delay as misdemeanor.

32-3-28 Issuance of certificate in paper or electronic form--Notation of liens.

32-3-29 Lost certificates--Fee for duplicate.

32-3-30 Certificate to show chain of title--Exceptions.

32-3-30.1 Odometer information to be included on certificate--Information required on sale--Falsification as felony.
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32-3-30.2 Certified abstract of title history or damage disclosure statements--Fee.

32-3-31 Dealer prohibited from taking certificate which does not show name of vendor and vendee--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-3-32 Dealer's acceptance of out-of-state certificates.

32-3-33 Change of county of use of vehicle--Issuance of duplicate for filing by treasurer--Validity of liens.

32-3-34 Assistance by county treasurer.

32-3-35 Manufacturer's statement or certificate of origin pending issuance of certificate of title--Priority of liens.

32-3-36  All lien spaces filled--Issuance of new certificate.

32-3-37 Sale of encumbered vehicle with knowledge of lien holder--Effect against subsequent purchasers.

32-3-38 Holder of security interest entitled to have notation of lien made by treasurer--Notification to department--Notation on
instrument and certificate of title.

32-3-38.1 Bank, savings and loan association, credit union, or dealer access to motor vehicle title and lien information on state's
computer system.

32-3-38.2 Certain fleet leasing contracts do not create sale or security interest--Not applicable to personal leases.

32-3-38.3 (Section effective January 1, 2008) Dealer required to utilize electronic title file system.

32-3-39 Deposit of security interest instrument not required.

32-3-40 Security interests created prior to enactment of statute.

32-3-41 Liens noted on certificate valid against creditors of debtor, subsequent purchasers, and other claimants--Perfection of lies
noted on-line .

32-3-42  Vebhicles held in stock--Security interests acquired previous to enactment of statute.

32-3-43 Notation of lien on certificate of title--Liability of holder of certificate of title for refusal to deliver.

32-3-44 Release on discharge of lien--Liability for failure to release--Delivery of certificate after entry of discharge.

32-3-45 Fees for notation.

32-3-46 Enforcement of liens--Filing for record not necessary--Notice of sale.

32-3-47 Consent of lien holder required for disposal or removal of encumbered vehicle--Violation as felony.

32-3-48 Power to revoke or refuse to issue certificate or registration--Notification to applicant.

32-3-49 Cancellation of certificate--Notification to county treasurer--Notification to certificate holder and lien holder--Surrender «
certificate.

32-3-50 Cancellation of receipt of registration upon cancellation of certificate--Return of receipt and license plates--Confiscation.
32-3-51 Dismantled or destroyed vehicle--Return of plates and title to department--Cancellation of registration--Consent of lien |
-Notation on certificate--Destruction of certificates-Retention of record--Removal of identification numbers as felony.

32-3-51.1  32-3-51.1 to 32-3-51.3. Repealed by SL 1988, Ch 238, §§ 11 to 13.

32-3-51.4 32-3-51.4. Repealed by SL 1990, Ch 231, § 5.

32-3-51.5 Vehicle with out-of-state marked title--Damage disclosure information--Salvage title or junking certificate. 32-3-51.6
title.

32-3-51.7 32-3-51.7 to 32-3-51.10. Repealed by SL 2015, Ch 157, §§ 2 to 5.

32-3-51.11 Retention of damage disclosure statement by department--Part of title history.

32-3-51.12 Junking certificate required for vehicle being dismantled--Removal of identification number prohibited--Violation as fe
32-3-51.13 Rebuilt or salvage vehicle--Application for junking certificate--Inspection.

32-3-51.14 32-3-51.14, 32-3-51.15. Repealed by SL 2015, Ch 157, §§8 6, 7.

32-3-51.16 Information required on first and subsequent South Dakota titles for vehicles coming into state.

32-3-51.17 Junking certificate for non-rebuildable vehicle.

32-3-51.18 Vehicle dealers required to display damage disclosure statement--Return of vehicle. 32-3-51.19  Salvage vehicle defir
Application.

32-3-51.20 Insurer or self-insurer acquiring ownership of salvage vehicle without salvage vehicle title to surrender certificate of tit
Salvage title issued--Rebuilt title.

32-3-51.21 Owner to obtain salvage title if insurer or self-insurer declares vehicle total loss but does not acquire ownership--
Notice--Sale without title as misdemeanor--Application. 32-3-51.22  Recovered stolen vehicles--Inspection--Title--Salvage
vehicle.

32-3-52  Surrender of indicia of ownership by dealers, salvage yards, and others.

32-3-53 Restored or rebuilt vehicle--Submission to department--Inspection--Issuance of rebuilt title.

32-3-53.1 32-3-53.1. Repealed by SL 1988, Ch 238, § 15. 32-3-53.2 Inspection of restored or rebuilt vehicles.

32-3-53.3  32-3-53.3. Repealed by SL 1988, Ch 238, § 17.
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32-3-53.4 Trailer defined.

32-3-54 32-3-54. Repealed by SL 1984, Ch 30, § 35.

32-3-55 32-3-55. Transferred.

32-3-56 Special seal--Forms furnished by secretary.

32-3-57 Power of secretary to make rules and require uniformity in administration of statutes--Duty of local officials.
32-3-58 32-3-58. Repealed by SL 1990, Ch 390, § 29.

32-3-59 Auction of certain older automobiles sponsored by nonprofit automobile club--When permitted--Violation as
misdemeanor.

32-3-60 Auctioneer to have odometer reading and certificate of title--Exception--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-3-61 Auction of vehicle covered by lien--Consent and release of lien holder--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-3-62 List of vehicles sold at auction--Copy of title--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-3-63 Sales of older vehicles at certain auctions exempt from vehicle dealer requirements.

32-3-64 Titling vehicles eleven years old or more with no existing record.

32-3-64.1 Titling vehicles older than 30 years with no existing record--Bond required--Promulgation of rules.
32-3-65 Converted motor home title--Unit requirements--Certain requirements to meet national standards--Title
application requirements.

32-3-66 Certain motor home transport uses not deemed private business uses.

32-3-67 Department to provide name and address of record holder of title and lien holders to possessor of vehicle
due to unpaid repair bill.

32-3-68 Application for title on motor vehicle unclaimed as result of unpaid repair bill--Notice to owner and insurer or
lien holder--Publication.

32-3-69 Vesting of title to motor vehicle in person to whom repair bill is payable--Intent to reclaim--Sale of vehicle.
32-3-69.1 Electronic title system for motor vehicles.

32-3-70 Electronic lien filing system--Paper title--Liability for noting or canceling lien in error.

32-3-71 Low-speed vehicles.

32-3-72 Local law enforcement officers to provide certain information to motor vehicle repossession businesses.
32-3-73 Delivery of manufacturer's statement or certificate of origin upon sale and delivery--Default on sale--Notice--
Violation as misdemeanor.

32-3-74 Information to be provided to auction agency taking possession

of vehicle at insurer's request. 32-3-75 Title issued to auction agency--

Notice of right to reclaim.

32-3-76  Reclamation of vehicle by owner or lienholder--Notice of intent to reclaim--Vesting of title to abandoned
vehicle in auction agency--Sale of vehicle--Distribution of proceeds.

32-3-77 Issuance of title to insurer unable to obtain title after payment of total loss.

Chapter 32-3A Title, Registration and Taxation of Boats

TITLE, REGISTRATION AND TAXATION OF BOATS

32-3A-1 Rules governing motorboats, watercraft and recreation on public waters--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-3A-2 Definition of terms.

32-3A-3 Registration validation decal and numbering display requirements for boats--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-3A-4 Registration of boats--Application--Violation as felony.

32-3A-5 Issuance of certificate and decals--Display of number and decals--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-3A-5.1 Certain owners exempt from numbering and title requirements--Registration and license decals required on
state waters--Proof of taxes paid.

32-3A-5.2 Mailing fees.

32-3A-6 Size and legibility of numbers--Size and availability of certificate for

inspection--Violation as misdemeanor. 32-3A-7 to 32-3A-10.  Repealed.
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32-3A-11
32-3A-12
32-3A-13
32-3A-14
32-3A-15
32-3A-16
32-3A-17
32-3A-18
32-3A-19
32-3A-20
32-3A-21
32-3A-22
32-3A-23
32-3A-24
32-3A-25
32-3A-26
32-3A-27
32-3A-28
32-3A-29
32-3A-30
32-3A-31
32-3A-32
32-3A-33
32-3A-34
32-3A-35
32-3A-36
32-3A-37
32-3A-38

Exemptions from numbering requirement.

Replacement of lost decal or registration--Fee.

Expiration and renewal of registration and validation decals.

Certificate records as public records.

Administrative fee for each boat license.

Display of other numbers on boat prohibited--Misdemeanor.

Inspection by law enforcement officer.

Classification of boats for equipment purposes.

Territorial application of chapter--Identical local rules not prohibited.

Application for title.

Time for application for certificate of title--Form and content of application.

Acquisition of used large boat by dealer--Application for title.

Assignment of title for transfer by boat dealer or motor vehicle dealer--Violation as misdemeanor.
Transfer of title required for large boats--Violation as misdemeanor.

Fee for issue, transfer, or correction of certificate of title--Duplicate title.

Manufacturer's or importer's certificate of origin for new large boats--Violation as misdemeanor.
Hull identification number.

Dealer record of large boats--Inspection by Department of Revenue.

Transfer by operation of law--Transferee application for title.

Security interest in large boat--Perfecting interest--Fee.

Forms to implement large boat provisions.

Certificate of title for large boats not yet subject to large boat provisions.

Promulgation of rules for titling large boats.

Registration requirements--Time to apply for large boat registration.

No tax paid title for large boat.

Application submitted to county treasurer--Nonnegotiable title--Violation as misdemeanor.
Validation of nonnegotiable interstate title application.

Abstract of boat title history.

32-3A-38.1, 32-3A-38.2. Repealed.

32-3A-38.3 Damage disclosure statement to be part of title history.

32-3A-38.4, 32-3A-38.5. Repealed.

32-3A-38.6 Damage disclosure sticker, decal, or notice required on large boats sold or offered for sale.
32-3A-38.7 Repealed.

32-3A-38.8 Large boats previously titled in another state--Notation on title required.

32-3A-39
32-3A-40
32-3A-41
32-3A-42
32-3A-43
32-3A-44
32-3A-45

Temporary permit--Fee.

Transferred ownership of large boat.

Late application--Fee--Violation as misdemeanor.

False statement on application for certificate of title as felony.

Alteration or forgery of title as a felony.

Burden of proving ownership of large boat.

Notification to deliver certificate of title upon treasurer's receipt of lien or title instrument--Notation of lien--Notice

to lien holder--Liability for refusing to show lien.

32-3A-46
32-3A-47
32-3A-48
32-3A-49
32-3A-50

Release of discharged lien--Notation on title--Time requirement.
Record of chain of title of large boat.

Duties of county treasurer.

Refusal or revocation of license--Notice.

Excise tax on purchase of any large boat--In lieu of sales tax--Violation

as misdemeanor. 32-3A-51 "Large boat" defined.

32-3A-52
32-3A-53

Exemptions from excise tax.
Purchase price defined.
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32-3A-54  Used large boats--Valuation.

32-3A-55 Application for title and registration--Falsification as felony.
32-3A-56 Payment of tax to county treasurer.

32-3A-57 Boats previously subjected to tax.

32-3A-58 No issuance or transfer of title without tax payment.
32-3A-59 Seller's books and records--Availability--Retention.
32-3A-60 Deposit of revenues.

32-3A-61 Siblings defined.

32-3A-62 Revenues allocated for state aid to education.

32-3A-63 Expenditures on educational purposes--Vouchers.
32-3A-64 Rental company operating within dealership is separate business--Distinct name required.
32-3-78 Electric bicycle exempt from chapter.

Chapter 32-5 Annual Registration and License

ANNUAL REGISTRATION AND LICENSE PLATES

32-5-1 Motor vehicle defined.

32-5-1.1 32-5-1.1. Repealed by SL 1982, Ch 225, § 2.

32-5-1.2 Mopeds exempt from chapter.

32-5-1.3 Farm vehicles exempt--Exceptions.

32-5-1.4 All-terrain vehicles used in agriculture exempt.

32-5-2  Application for registration--Contents--Failure to provide information as misdemeanor--Acceptance of
incomplete or erroneous form prohibited.

32-5-2.1 Staggered registration of noncommercial vehicles.

32-5-2.2 Determination of month to register vehicle.

32-5-2.3 32-5-2.3. Repealed by SL 2007, Ch 173, §§ 1, 49, eff. July 1, 2008.

32-5-2.4 Renewal of registration during assigned month--Expiration of staggered license plates or validation stickers--
Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-2.5 Registration of acquired motor vehicle--Application.

32-5-2.6 Early renewal--Fee for late renewal.

32-5-2.7 Removal of number plates required upon transfer or assignment of vehicle ownership--Credit for
unexpired months--Violation as misdemeanor. 32-5-2.8  32-5-2.8. Repealed by SL 2007, Ch 173, §§ 5, 49, eff.
July 1, 2008.

32-5-2.9 Seller's permit for sold or transferred vehicle--Time for registration--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-5-2.10 Seller's report of sale--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-2.11 Fee for reassignment of license plate.

32-5-3 Information respecting owner of vehicle.

32-5-4 32-5-4. Repealed by SL 1987, Ch 215, § 7.

32-5-4.1 Nonresident registration application--Issuance of nonnegotiable interstate title--Purpose and duration--
Violation as misdemeanor
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32-5-4.2 Forwarding of nonnegotiable interstate title to department with application.

32-5-4.3 32-5-4.3. Repealed by SL 1988, Ch 236, § 13.

32-5-5 Vehicle license fee based on weight--Certification of correct weight.

32-5-6 Schedule of fees for noncommercial automobiles, pickup trucks, and vans.

32-5-6.1 Schedule of fees for noncommercial motor homes.

32-5-6.2 32-5-6.2. Repealed by SL 1991, Ch 239, § 10.

32-5-6.3 Schedule of fees for noncommercial vehicles other than automobiles, pickup trucks, or vans--Misdemeanor.
32-5-6.4 Registration of certain noncommercial motor vehicles for less than twelve months--Fee.

32-5-7 32-5-7.Repealed by SL 1977, Ch 249, § 57.

32-5-8 Schedule of fees for recreational vehicles and noncommercial trailers and semitrailers.

32-5-8.1 Identification plate required for certain trailers or semitrailers--Display--Fee--Transfer of title.

32-5-8.2 Trailers or semitrailers with identification plates may only be pulled by certain motor vehicles--Violation as
misdemeanor.

32-5-83 Temporary permit for certain noncommercial motor vehicles to pull identified trailer or semitrailer.

32-5-84 Additional fee when weight exceeds license.

32-5-9 Schedule of fees for motorcycles.

32-5-9.1 Fees for snowmobiles--Period of license--Payment before operation.

32-5-9.2 Disposition of snowmobile fees and initial registration tax.

32-5-9.3 Initial registration tax on snowmobiles--Failure to pay as misdemeanor.

32-5-10 32-5-10. Repealed by SL 1977, Ch 249, § 57.

32-5-10.1 Motorcycle safety education fee--Amount and payment.

32-5-10.2 Motorcycle safety education fee--Deposit in special revenue fund.

32-5-10.3 Motorcycle safety education fee--Collection and remittance.

32-5-104 32-5-10.4, 32-5-10.5. Repealed by SL 1992, Ch 222, §§ 1, 2.

32-5-11 32-5-11 to 32-5-16. Repealed by SL 1977, Ch 249, § 57.

32-5-16.1 Mobile home or manufactured home license fee--Establishment of purchase price by bill of sale or retail book value--
Fee in lieu of certain taxes--Exemption for certain entities.

32-5-16.2 Division of receipts from mobile home or manufactured home license fees.

32-5-16.3 Permit required to move mobile home or manufactured home--Valid for single trip--Conditional on tax payment--
Fee--Disposition of fees--Dealer--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-164 32-5-16.4, 32-5-16.5. Repealed by SL 2005, Ch 71, §§ 6, 7.

32-5-16.6 Penalties for owner's or lender's failure to obtain tax affidavit--Notification to department.

32-5-16.7 Penalties for transporter's, manufacturer's, or dealer's failure to obtain tax affidavit--Notification to department.
32-5-16.8 Single party not to be assessed multiple penalties.

32-5-16.9 Assessment based upon mistake of fact or error of law--Hearing--Appeal.

32-5-17 32-5-17, 32-5-18. Repealed by SL 1977, Ch 249, § 57.

32-5-18.1 Licensing and compensation requirements applicable to highway construction or reconstruction--Special permits not
required while engaged in construction. 32-5-19  32-5-19, 32-5-20. Repealed by SL 1977, Ch 249, § 57.

32-5-21 Motorbus defined--Noncommercial fee--Gross

maximum weight. 32-5-22  Unregistered motor vehicles.

32-5-23 Destruction of licensed vehicle or failure of vehicle to pass inspection--Removal of plates--Credit--Replacement of
plates.

32-5-24 Refund of overpayments and erroneous payments--Return of registration and

stickers--Time for application. 32-5-25 Dealer's license fee.

32-5-26  32-5-26. Repealed by SL 1989, Ch 257, § 61.

32-5-27 Used out-of-state motor vehicles--Sale or resale--Title, taxes, and license--Exemptions--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-5-27.1 32-5-27.1. Repealed by SL 1990, Ch 234, § 2A.
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32-5-28 32-5-28. Repealed by SL 1988, Ch 236, § 14.

32-5-29 Sales of vehicles prima facie evidence that seller is used car dealer--Particular parties excepted--Violations--
Misdemeanor.

32-5-30 Fee for noncommercial vehicles more than ten years old.

32-5-31 32-5-31. Repealed by SL 1985, Ch 241, § 12.

32-5-31.132-5-31.1. Transferred to § 32-5B-13.

32-5-31.232-5-31.2, 32-5-32. Repealed by SL 1985, Ch 241, §§ 14, 15.

32-5-32.1 32-5-32.1. Transferred to

§ 32-5B-12.

32-5-33  32-5-33. Repealed by SL 1985, Ch 241, § 17.

32-5-34  32-5-34. Repealed by SL 1980, Ch 213, § 5.

32-5-35 32-5-35. Transferred to §

32-5B-6. 32-5-36  32-5-36.

Transferred to § 32-5B-8.

32-5-37 32-5-37 to 32-5-41.5. Repealed by SL 1977, Ch 249, § 57.

32-5-42 Registration--Vehicles--Costs.

32-5-42.1 Nonprofit community support provider vehicles--Registration--Plates--Disposition of costs.

32-5-42.2 Registration of mass transit vehicles owned by state, municipality, or county--Costs--Vehicles purchased with
federal funds.

32-5-43 Identifying markings of state-owned vehicles--Exceptions--License plates.

32-5-44 Plates without yearly designation--Distinctive color--Yearly renewal dispensed with.

32-5-45 Exemption of mobile homes purchased outside state.

32-5-46 Vehicles owned by nonresidents--Compliance with laws of foreign state--Display of foreign license plates.
32-5-47 Definition of nonresident.

32-5-47.1 Military personnel, domestic volunteers, and dependents as nonresidents.

32-5-48 Reciprocity required.

32-5-49 32-5-49. Repealed by SL 1992, Ch 208, § 3.

32-5-49.1 Registration not required for nonresident harvest vehicles during harvest season--Compensation certificate
required--Violation a misdemeanor.

32-5-50 Dealers participating in driver education program--Application to department--Fee--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-5-51 License plate design--Operation on highways.

32-5-52 Radius of use of vehicle--Size of first or second class municipality--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-53 32-5-53. Superseded.

32-5-54 32-5-54. Repealed by SL 1977, Ch 249, § 57.

32-5-55 32-5-55 to 32-5-56.1. Repealed by SL 2014, Ch 142, §§ 16 to 19.

32-5-57 32-5-57, 32-5-58. Repealed by SL 1992, Ch 208, §§ 4, 5.

32-5-59 32-5-59. Repealed by SL 2014, Ch 142, § 20.

32-5-60 32-5-60. Repealed by SL 1986, Ch 242, § 41.

32-5-61 32-5-61 to 32-5-64. Repealed by SL 2014, Ch 142, §§ 21 to 24.

32-5-65 Special plates for employees of commercial radio or broadcasting companies--Fee--Surrender of plates--
Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-65.1 Special plates for amateur radio licensees--Fee--Surrender of plates--Violation as misdemeanor.
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32-5-66 32-5-66. Repealed by SL 2007, Ch 173, §§ 24, 49, eff. July 1, 2008.

32-5-67 License plate special revenue fund.

32-5-68 32-5-68 to 32-5-74. Repealed by SL 1977, Ch 249, § 57.

32-5-75 32-5-75. Repealed by SL 2001, Ch 164, § 1.

32-5-76 Special plates for person with substantial physical disability or parent or guardian of dependent with substantial
physical disability--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-76.1 Portable certificates for persons with substantial disabilities--Application--Physician's certificate--Rules--Surrender of
certificate--Violations as misdemeanors.

32-5-76.2 Portable certificates for nonprofit organizations, hospitals, local government entities, etc.--Application--Rules--
Surrendering certificate--Violations as misdemeanors.

32-5-76.3 Special plates for nursing facilities transporting persons with disabilities--Parking--Surrender of plates--Violation as
misdemeanor.

32-5-77 Historical license plates--Application and fee--Permanent plates--Use of vehicle restricted.

32-5-77.1 32-5-77.1. Repealed by SL 1986, Ch 242, § 15.

32-5-77.2 Display of original number plates on historical

vehicles. 32-5-77.3  32-5-77.3. Repealed by SL 2018, Ch 180,

§3.

32-5-78 General license fees in lieu of other taxes against vehicle.

32-5-79 32-5-79. Repealed by SL 2007, Ch 173, §§ 11, 49, eff.

July 1, 2008. 32-5-80 Registration of motorcycles.

32-5-81 Application to county treasurer--Issuance of distinctive number plate--Fuel used by vehicle--Failure to identify fuel as
misdemeanor.

32-5-82 Delivery or mailing of plates or stickers--Fees--Plates to be stocked at county treasurer office.

32-5-82.1 Number stickers--Evidence of current registration.

32-5-83 Design of number plates--Color contrast.

32-5-83.1 Color of number stickers--Contrast with plates.

32-5-84 Composition of number plates--Size of figures--Snowmobile tags.

32-5-84.1 Composition of stickers.

32-5-84.2 Snowmobile license must be attached.

32-5-85 Number of plates issued.

32-5-86 Reflectorized plates--Determination by department--Elimination of bids deemed not feasible.

32-5-87 32-5-87. Repealed by SL 1977, Ch 249, § 57.

32-5-88 Mount Rushmore design--Costs and feasibility.

32-5-89 Determination of characteristics of plate--Dealers' plates.

32-5-89.1 32-5-89.1. Omitted.

32-5-89.2 Special personalized license plates as replacement for regular plates--Restrictions.

32-5-89.3 Application for personalized plates--Fees--Validation each year with stickers--Fee disposition.

32-5-89.4 Transfer of vehicle--Removal of personalized plate required until transfer approved by secretary--Violation as petty
offense.

32-5-89.5 Replacement of lost, mutilated, or destroyed personalized plates--Affidavit--Fee--Disposition of fee.

32-5-89.6  32-5-89.6. Repealed by SL 2007, Ch 173, §§ 30, 49, eff. July 1, 2008.

32-5-90 Registration--Contents--Registration number.

32-5-90.1 Certified abstract of registration information--Fee.

32-5-90.2 32-5-90.2. Repealed by SL 2001, Ch 165, § 9.

32-5-91 Inspection of registration by peace officer--Possession of registration--Violation as petty offense.

32-5-92 Lost certificate of registration--Duplicate--Fee.

32-5-93  Forwarding applications to department.
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32-5-94 Application and registration of vehicle--Manner to facilitate retrieval.

32-5-95 32-5-95. Repealed by SL 1989, Ch

257,897.32-5-96 32-5-96. Repealed by

SL 1985, Ch 241, § 21.

32-5-97 Separate numbering of different types of vehicles.

32-5-97.1Farm vehicles--Decals.

32-5-97.232-5-97.2. Repealed by SL 2007, Ch 173, §§ 16, 49, eff. July 1, 2008.

32-5-98 Operation of motor vehicle without visible license plates prohibited-- Removal of unauthorized plates--
Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-99 Loss of plates--Issuance of duplicates--Affidavit--Fee--Disposition of fee--Report of loss.
32-5-99.1  32-5-99.1. Repealed by SL 1992, Ch 208, § 7. 32-5-99.2

32-5-99.2. Repealed by SL 1987, Ch 217, § 2.

32-5-100 Plates as state property.

32-5-101 Operation of vehicle while registration is suspended--Misdemeanor.

32-5-102 Prosecution for assault or homicide not barred--Civil action.

32-5-103 Trafficking in license plates or decals--Counterfeiting--Unauthorized transfer to another vehicle--
Misdemeanor.

32-5-103.1 Alteration or forgery of registration card--Felony.

32-5-104 32-5-104. Repealed by SL 1989, Ch 255, § 12; SL 1989, Ch 257, § 102. 32-5-

105 32-5-105. Repealed by SL 1989, Ch 255, § 17; SL 1989, Ch 257, § 103.

32-5-106 32-5-106. Repealed by SL 2014, Ch 144, § 10.

32-5-107 Temporary permit for person in possession of title or bill of sale--Inspection of title or bill of sale--Fee.
32-5-108 32-5-108 to 32-5-109.7. Repealed by SL 2014, Ch 142, §§ 25 to 33.

32-5-110 Commemorative or souvenir license plates--Use for general transportation purposes.
32-5-111 Promulgation of rules--Duty of local officials.

32-5-112 Duties of county treasurers.

32-5-113 Special plates for firefighters--Design of plates.

32-5-114 Fee for special firefighter plates.

32-5-115 Time for retention of firefighter's plates.

32-5-116 Application to Department of Revenue for special firefighter plates.

32-5-117 32-5-117. Repealed by SL 2007, Ch 173, §841, 49, eff. July 1, 2008.

32-5-118 Application to county treasurer for special firefighter plates--Fee.

32-5-119 Failure to apply for firefighters plates.

32-5-120 Surrender of special firefighter plates upon discharge, separation, or retirement.
32-5-121 Transfer of special firefighter plates.

32-5-122  Applicability of state motor vehicle laws to firefighters.

32-5-123 Special plates identifying Indian tribes.

32-5-124 Fee for Indian tribe license plates.

32-5-125 Replacement of Indian tribe license plates.

32-5-126 Certain trailers authorized to be licensed for more than one year--Fee.

32-5-127 Additional charges for decals and plates mailed to owner.

32-5-128 Exemption from excise tax for motor vehicles leased to tax exempt entities.

32-5-129 32-5-129 to 32-5-135. Repealed by SL 2014, Ch 144, §§ 3to 9.
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32-5-136  32-5-136 to 32-5-139.6. Repealed by SL 2014, Ch 143, § 13 to 22.

32-5-140 Repealed by SL 2012, Ch 164, § 1.

32-5-141 32-5-141. Repealed by SL 2007, Ch 173, §§ 48, 49, eff. July 1, 2008.

32-5-142 Suspension of registration, title, or license if distress warrant issued--Credit for fee paid.

32-5-143 Definitions.

32-5-144 Disclosure of personal information contained in motor vehicle records prohibited--Exceptions.

32-5-145 Personal information to be disclosed for certain purposes.

32-5-146 Disclosure to one who has subject's consent.

32-5-147 Disclosure on proof of identity of requestor and representation of use for certain limited purposes.

32-5-148 Department may impose conditions on requesting person.

32-5-149 Retention of records by certain recipients.

32-5-150 Misrepresentation by requesting person as misdemeanor--Use of personal information to commit crime of violence as
felony.

32-5-151 Person in possession of title or certificate authorized to renew registration--Misrepresentation as misdemeanor.
32-5-152 Low-speed vehicles.

32-5-153 Highway patrol fee.

32-5-154 Definitions regarding military specialty plates.

32-5-155 Military specialty plates listed.

32-5-156 General requirements for military specialty plates.

32-5-157 Specific additional requirements for military specialty plates.

32-5-158 Application for military specialty plate--Falsification of application as misdemeanor--Determination of eligibility.
32-5-159 Fee for initial issuance of military specialty plates.

32-5-160 Certain military specialty plates not subject to annual registration fees--Maximum sets--Permissible vehicles.
32-5-161 Reflectorized military specialty plates--Annual decals--Permissible vehicles--Display.

32-5-162 Number and design of military specialty plates--Requirements.

32-5-163 Surrender of military specialty plates--Death of owner--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-164 Transfer of ownership of vehicle with military specialty plate--Credit--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-165 Destruction, salvage, or condemnation of vehicle with military specialty plate--Credit--Replacement--Violation as
misdemeanor.

32-5-166 Duplicate military specialty plates upon loss, mutilation, or destruction.

32-5-167 Emblem specialty plates listed.

32-5-168 Eligibility for emblem specialty plates.

32-5-168.1 State seal--Emblem set.

32-5-168.2  State seal emblem fee--Motor vehicle fund.

32-5-168.3 State seal emblem design.

32-5-169 Reflectorized emblem specialty plates--Annual stickers--Permissible vehicles--Contents.

32-5-170 Fee for emblem specialty plates.

32-5-171 Transfer of ownership of vehicle with emblem specialty plate--Credit--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-172 Destruction, salvage, or condemnation of vehicle with emblem specialty plate--Credit-- Replacement--Violation as
misdemeanor.

32-5-173 Duplicate emblem specialty plates upon loss, mutilation, or destruction.

32-5-174 Retention time for emblem specialty plates.

32-5-175 Application for emblem to be used on emblem specialty plate.

32-5-176General requirements for emblem specialty plates.

32-5-177Specific additional requirements for emblem specialty plates.

32-5-178 Emblem specialty plates--Administration--Fees--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-5-179 Special interest motor vehicle plates--Application.
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32-5-180 Design of special interest motor vehicle plates--Decals--Rear plates.
32-5-181 Fees for special interest motor vehicle plates.

32-5-182 Contents of application for special interest motor vehicle plate--Renewal.
32-5-183 Misuse of special interest motor vehicle plate.

32-5-184 Dignity sculpture special plates.

32-5-185 Fee for Dignity sculpture plates.

32-5-186 Lost, stolen, or mutilated Dignity sculpture plate.

32-5-187 Electric bicycle exempt from chapter.

Chapter 32-5A County Wheel Tax

COUNTY WHEEL TAX

32-5A-1 Wheel tax rate--Maximum vehicle tax.

32-5A-1.1 Publication of ordinance on imposition of tax--Content of announcement.
32-5A-2 Deposit, use, and distribution of proceeds.

32-5A-3 Payment by purchaser of vehicle--Dealers exempt.

32-5A-4 Notice of tax sent to owners--Cost reimbursement.

32-5A-5 Schedule of rates.

32-5A-6 Repealed.

32-5A-7 Prorated tax if licensed for less than twelve months.

Chapter 32-5B Excise Tax on Motor Vehicles

EXCISE TAX ON MOTOR VEHICLES

32-5B-1 Imposition of tax--Rate--Failure to pay as misdemeanor.

32-5B-1.1 Licensing and payment of tax on leased vehicles--Assessment of tax upon purchase by lessee--Lessor to
assign title and certify price, fees and title.

32-5B-1.2 Leasing or rental company separate from dealership--Distinct name--Daily rental operations--Exemption from
excise tax.

32-5B-1.3 Licensing and titling of used vehicle by dealer--Payment of tax by subsequent purchaser.

32-5B-14 Licensing and payment of excise tax on new vehicle by dealer--Subsequent purchaser exempt.
32-5B-1.5 Payment of excise tax by dealer required to take title--Subsequent purchaser not exempt.

32-5B-2 Exempt vehicles.

32-5B-2.1 Repealed.

32-5B-3 Dealer's inventory exempt--Filing required.

32-5B-4 Purchase price defined.

32-5B-4.1 Insurance check included in trade-in value.

32-5B-5 Repealed.

32-5B-6 Use of dealers' guide for used motor vehicles.

32-5B-7 Repealed.

32-5B-8 Fixing value, capacity, and weight of rebuilt or foreign vehicle.

32-5B-9 Information to be presented by new owner of vehicle--Falsification as felony.
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32-5B-10
32-5B-11
32-5B-12
32-5B-13
32-5B-14
32-5B-15
32-5B-16
32-5B-17
32-5B-18
32-5B-19
32-5B-20
32-5B-21
32-5B-22
32-5B-23
32-5B-24
32-5B-25

Payment of tax.
Credit for taxes paid to this or another state.
Proration of tax on proportionally registered vehicles--Exemptions to trailers.
Repealed.
Title issuance or transfer prohibited unless tax paid--Exception.
Rules authorized.
Records required of sellers--Inspection.
Disposition of revenue.
"Siblings" defined.
Rental vehicle and leased vehicle defined.
Gross receipts tax on vehicle rental--Violation as misdemeanor.
Applicability of tax on leased vehicles--Leasing information required.
No tax refund for early termination of lease.
Tax on vehicles leased in another state--Credit for tax paid to another state.
Tax credit for total loss of leased vehicle.
Excise taxes on off-road vehicles deposited in general fund.

Chapter 32-6B Regulation of Vehicle Dealers
REGULATION OF VEHICLE DEALERS

32-6B-1

32-6B-1.1
32-6B-1.2
32-6B-1.3
32-6B-14

Definition of terms.

Motor home defined.

Recreational park trailer defined.
Temporary special events lot defined.
Temporary supplemental lot defined.

32-6B-2 Principal place of business defined.
32-6B-3 Sale on consignment--Contract required--Form.

32-6B-3.1
32-6B-3.2
32-6B-3.3
32-6B-3.4
32-6B-3.5
32-6B-3.6

Sale on consignment prohibited for vehicle without statement of origin.

Odometer reading required for consignment or auction--Violation a misdemeanor.
Consignment or auction of vehicle with lien--Written consent and release by lien holder.
Auction on consignment of older vehicle titled in another state.

Auction on consignment of older motorcycle titled in another state.

Sale of used motorcycles and

32-6B-4 License required--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-6B-4.1

Brokering prohibited--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-6B-5 Exemptions from licensing requirements. off-road vehicles on consignment where dealer possesses state title or
title from bordering state--Exception.

32-6B-5.1

32-6B-5.2
32-6B-5.3
32-6B-5.4
32-6B-5.5
32-6B-5.6
32-6B-5.7

Repealed by SL 2019, Ch 130, § 20.

Permit for dealer licensed in another state to sell motorcycles at event.

Permit for dealer licensed in another state to sell trailers at event.

Permit for dealer licensed in another state to sell older vehicles and motorcycles on consignment at public auction.
Permit for manufacturer to display trailers at event.

Permit for manufacturer to display or demonstrate customized motor vehicle at event.

Permit for sponsor to display customized

motorcycles at event. 32-6B-6  Application required--Contents.
32-6B-7 Bond required--Amount--Term--Continuation certificate--Notification of payment or cancellation--Additional bond.

32-6B-7.1

Pooling of assets to satisfy bond requirements--Right, title, and interest in state--Termination--Notice of payment of

claim--Replenishment of pool.
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32-6B-7.2 Increase in dealer bond amount--Implementation.

32-6B-8 Dealer in new vehicles to maintain repair shop.

32-6B-9 Dealer in new vehicles to give bond to cover warranty obligations--Amount--Exemption.

32-6B-10 Manufacturer's contract or franchise prerequisite to license for dealer in new vehicles.

32-6B-11 Verification of application by department--Refusal to issue license.

32-6B-12 Classification of licenses--Issuance of license certificate.

32-6B-12.1 Low-speed vehicle retail sales.

32-6B-13  Fees for dealer's licenses--Disposition of fees.

32-6B-14 Dealer license--Annual review--Renewal notice--Suspension or revocation--Promulgation of Rules.
32-6B-15 Renewal application--Fees.

32-6B-16 Modification of license certificate--Display of license.

32-6B-17 Separate licenses--Requirement.

32-6B-18 Permission to change principal place of business within county.

32-6B-19 Supplemental licenses for supplemental lots within county--Exemptions.

32-6B-20 Books, records, and files to be kept--Inspection.

32-6B-20.1 Certificate kept at another dealership or at lending institution--Requirements--Notice.

32-6B-20.2 Offer to sell, sale, or exchange of vehicle without certificate of title allowed under specified circumstances.
32-6B-20.3 Agreement that dealer will satisfy lien by paying lienholder--Trade of vehicle or consignment agreement--
Theft.

32-6B-20.4 Time period to satisfy lien after receipt of funds--Offering vehicle for sale prior to tender to lienholder.
32-6B-21 Issuance of dealer plates--Numbering--Fees--Return of plates--Misdemeanor.

32-6B-21.1 Mailing fees.

32-6B-22 Use of dealer plates--Transfer of plates--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-6B-22.1 Commercial motor vehicles licensed to dealers--Dealer 88 license plates--Return of plates--Violation as
misdemeanor.

32-6B-22.2 Use of dealer 88 license plates--Transfer of plates.
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32-6B-23 Issuance of motorcycle dealer and trailer dealer plates--Numbering--

Display and use--Fees. 32-6B-24 Repossession of dealer plates.

32-6B-25 Use of vehicles bearing dealer's demonstration or in-transit permits--Time limitation--Issuance of permits for
unauthorized purposes prohibited--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-6B-26 Temporary license permit--Provision by dealer.

32-6B-27 Location of temporary license permit.

32-6B-28 Time for application for registration by owner--Inspection of documents by law enforcement officer.

32-6B-29 Restrictions on dealer use of temporary license permits--Renewal prohibited--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-6B-30 Design of dealers' demonstration, in-transit and temporary license permits--Information required--Source of permits.
32-6B-31 Repealed by SL 2013, Ch 142, §§ 2 to 4.

32-6B-34 Dealer's car auction agency--Defined--Applicability of chapter--Additional provisions.

32-6B-35 Dealer's car auction agency--Bond requirements--Dealer's right of action--Liability of surety.

32-6B-35.1 Dealer's car auction agency--Announcement at sale when title denotes any brand or damage--Return of vehicle.
32-6B-36 Dealer's car auction agency--Vehicles acceptable for sale--Permitted purchasers--Unauthorized sale a misdemeanor.
32-6B-36.1 Sale of government owned vehicles by auction agency.

32-6B-36.2 Repealed by SL 2002, Ch 152, § 3.

32-6B-36.3 Issuance of auction agency plates--Numbering--Fees--Return of plates--Misdemeanor.

32-6B-36.4 Use of agency plates--Transfer of plates--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-6B-37 Dealer's car auction agency--Records required.

32-6B-37.1 Public auction to keep records--Inspection by dealer appointed inspectors.

32-6B-38 Appointment of inspectors--Entry authorized--Complaints.

32-6B-39 Investigation of dealers--Authorized.

32-6B-40 Repealed by SL 2005, Ch 162, § 8.

32-6B-41 Grounds for denial of license or application of provisions of §§ 32-6B-41.1 to 32-6B-41.6, inclusive.

32-6B-41.1 Cease and desist order for specified violations--Period of effectiveness.

32-6B-41.2 Cease and desist order--Request for hearing--Procedure.

32-6B-41.3 Finality of cease and desist order.

32-6B-41.4 Order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license upon failure to comply with cease and desist order--Deposit of
monetary penalties.

32-6B-41.5 Contest of order--Procedure.

32-6B-41.6 Finality of order.

32-6B-41.7 Cease and desist order--Failure to comply--Penalty.

32-6B-42 Notification of surety of license denial, suspension or revocation.

32-6B-43 32-6B-44. Repealed by SL 2005, Ch 162, §§ 9, 10.

32-6B-45 Good cause required for franchisor termination, cancellation, nonrenewal, or change in competitive circumstances.
32-6B-46 Repealed by SL 2010, Ch 156, § 6, eff. Mar. 9, 2010.

32-6B-47 When franchisor may establish additional vehicle dealership for same line-make--Hearing.

32-6B-48 Factors in determining cause for establishing additional franchise for same line-make.

32-6B-49 Factors which are not cause for termination or non-continuance of franchise or for establishing additional franchise
for same line-make. 32-6B-49.1 Terms or conditions not allowed in franchise agreement.

32-6B-50 Notice of intention to enter into additional franchise for same line-make.

32-6B-51 Copies of notice to be sent to franchisees and other interested persons.

32-6B-52 Objection to approval of notice--Time for filing written objection--Approval absent timely objection.

32-6B-53 Hearing on objection--Time and place--Notice--Continuance.

32-6B-54 Burden of proof at hearing.

32-6B-55 Hearing upon change of circumstances.
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32-6B-56 Dealer's license not to be issued to franchisee absent compliance by franchisor.

32-6B-56.1 Trailer franchisees not subject to certain provisions.

32-6B-57 Sale by franchisor to franchisee at lower price than that charged to other franchisee prohibited--Exceptions--
Violation as misdemeanor--Damages.

32-6B-58 Duty of franchisor or manufacturer to fulfill warranty agreements and compensate dealers for labor and
parts--Disposition of dealer claims.

32-6B-59 Right of department to apply for injunction against violation of chapter.

32-6B-60 Adoption of rules.

32-6B-61 Schedule of compensation for warranty work.

32-6B-62 Trailer dealers exempt from certain liability insurance requirements.

32-6B-63 Regulation of advertising.

32-6B-64 Advertising defined.

32-6B-65 Repealed by SL 2005, Ch 153, § 3.

32-6B-66 In-transit permits for certain trailer manufacturer's trailers.

32-6B-67 Promulgation of rules for in-transit permits for trailer manufacturer's trailers.

32-6B-68 Sale of lists of dealers authorized--Fees.

32-6B-69 Franchise agreement--Change of terms--Dealer rights.

32-6B-69.1 Audit by franchisor--Limitation--Exception.

32-6B-70 License required for certain activities--Violation as misdemeanor--Additional violations as felony.
32-6B-71 Vehicle dealership--Death of owner--Succession of interest.

32-6B-72 Succession--Refusal to honor.

32-6B-73 Notification of decision to transfer, assign, or sell franchise agreement or dealership--Notification as
application for approval.

32-6B-74 Contents of notice.

32-6B-75 Manufacturer or franchisor to determine prospective transferee's qualification--Notice of decision--
Statement of reasons for rejection.

32-6B-76 Approval may not be unreasonably withheld.

32-6B-77 Filing objection when application rejected.

32-6B-78 Transferee's qualification as sole issue in objection.

32-6B-79 Manufacturer defined.

32-6B-80 Manufacturer or franchisor may not own or operate dealership--Exceptions.

32-6B-81 Manufacturer or franchisor may own or operate for limited period--Conditions.

32-6B-82 Exceptions for the purpose of broadening diversity of dealer body.

32-6B-83 Extension of time period in 32-6B-81--Application--Limit.

32-6B-84 Repealed by SL 2010, Ch 156, § 17, eff. Mar. 9, 2010.

32-6B-85 Civil action for injunction and damages.

32-6B-86 Applicability of SL 2010, Ch 156 amendments.

32-6B-87 Dealers permitted to lease space in common area of shopping mall for displaying new vehicles--Restrictions-
-Exception.

32-6B-88 Off-road vehicle dealers exempt from certain special event permit requirements, fees, and taxes.
32-6B-89 Licensed dealer permitted to take vehicle to adjoining county for demonstration.


https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-56.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-57
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-57
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-57
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-57
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-57
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-58
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-58
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-58
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-58
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-58
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-59
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-59
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-59
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-59
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-59
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-60
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-60
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-60
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-60
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-60
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-61
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-61
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-61
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-61
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-61
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-62
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-62
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-62
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-62
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-62
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-63
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-63
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-63
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-63
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-63
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-64
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-64
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-64
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-64
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-64
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-65
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-65
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-65
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-65
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-65
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-66
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-66
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-66
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-66
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-66
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-67
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-67
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-67
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-67
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-67
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-68
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-68
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-68
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-68
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-68
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-69.1
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-70
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-70
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-70
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-70
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-70
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-71
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-71
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-71
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-71
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-71
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-72
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-72
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-72
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-72
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-72
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-73
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-73
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-73
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-73
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-73
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-74
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-74
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-74
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-74
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-74
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-75
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-75
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-75
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-75
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-75
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-76
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-76
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-76
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-76
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-76
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-77
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-77
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-77
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-77
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-77
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-78
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-78
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-78
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-78
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-78
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-79
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-79
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-79
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-79
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-79
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-80
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-80
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-80
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-80
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-80
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-82
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-82
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-82
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-82
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-82
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-83
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-83
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-83
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-83
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-83
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-81
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-84
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-84
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-84
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-84
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-84
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-85
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-85
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-85
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-85
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-85
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-86
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-86
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-86
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-86
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-86
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-87
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-87
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-87
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-87
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-87
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-88
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-88
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-88
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-88
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-88
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-89
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-89
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-89
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-89
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-6B-89

Chapter 32-6C Regulation of Snowmobile Dealers
REGULATION OF SNOWMOBILE DEALERS
32-6C-1  "Snowmobile dealer" defined.
32-6C-2 License required--Exceptions--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-6C-3  Application required--Contents.
32-6C-4 Bond required--Amount--Term--Continuation certificate--Notification of payment or cancellation--Additional bond.
32-6C-4.1 Increase in dealer bond amount--Implementation.
32-6C-5 Fee for dealer's licenses--Term--Renewal application--Disposition of fees.
32-6C-5.1 Sale on consignment--Contract required--Form.
32-6C-5.2 Sale on consignment prohibited for snowmobile without statement of origin.
32-6C-6 Books, records, and files to be kept--Inspection.
32-6C-6.1 Offer to sell, sale, or exchange of snowmobile without certificate of title allowed under specified circumstances.
32-6C-6.2 Agreement that dealer will satisfy lien by paying lienholder--Trade of snowmobile or consignment agreement--
Theft.
32-6C-6.3 Time period to satisfy lien after receipt of funds--Offering snowmobile for sale prior to tender to lienholder.
32-6C-7 Issuance of dealer plates--Fees--Disposition of fees--Numbering of plates.
32-6C-7.1 Mailing fees.
32-6C-8 Use of dealer plates--Display--Transfer of plates--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-6C-9 Use of vehicles bearing dealer's demonstration permits--Time limitation--Issuance of permits for unauthorized
purposes prohibited--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-6C-10 Temporary license permit--Restrictions on use--Renewal or alteration prohibited--
Violation as misdemeanor. 32-6C-11 Dealer inspectors.
32-6C-12 Investigation of dealers.
32-6C-13 Repealed.
32-6C-14 Grounds for denial of license or application of provisions of §§ 32-6C-14.1 to 32-6C-41.6, inclusive.
32-6C-14.1 Cease and desist order for specified violations--Period of effectiveness.
32-6C-14.2 Hearing on question of whether violations occurred--
Procedures. 32-6C-14.3  Finality of cease and desist order.
32-6C-14.4 Order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license upon failure to comply with cease and desist order--Deposit of
monetary penalties.
32-6C-14.5 Hearing to contest order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license--Procedures.
32-6C-14.6  Finality of order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license.
32-6C-15, 32-6C-16. Repealed. 32-6C-17 Adoption of rules--Administration by local officials.
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Chapter 32-6D Manufacturer's Warranty

32-6D-1 Definitions.

32-6D-2 Notice of nonconforming condition--Timeliness--Obligation to repair.
32-6D-3 Replacement of irreparable vehicle--Refund.

32-6D-4  Allowance for use of vehicle offset against monetary recovery.
32-6D-5 Reasonable attempts to correct nonconforming condition.
32-6D-6 Civil action against manufacturer.

32-6D-7  Affirmative defenses to claim against manufacturer.

32-6D-8 Attorney fees.

32-6D-9 Resale of returned vehicle.

32-6D-10 Liability of dealer.

32-6D-11 Time limit for action. Lan

Chapter 32-6E Regulation of Snowmobile Franchising Agreements
REGULATION OF SNOWMOBILE FRANCHISING AGREEMENTS

32-6E-1 Definition of terms.

32-6E-2 Termination of franchise--Hearing.

32-6E-3 Determination of cause for termination of franchise.

32-6E-4 Additional franchises of same line/make--Public interest--Hearing.

32-6E-5 Determination of cause for additional franchises of same line/make.

32-6E-6 Non-considerations for termination of franchises or additional same line/make franchises.
32-6E-7 Impermissible conditions of franchise.

32-6E-8 Franchisor's notice of franchise termination or addition of same line/make franchises.
32-6E-9 Notice to franchisee--Interested parties.

32-6E-10 Objection to approval of notice.

32-6E-11 Hearing on timely objection to approval of notice.

32-6E-12 Hearing on objection to notice--Franchisor's burden of proof.

32-6E-13 Hearing to determine change in circumstances sufficient to support dealership.
32-6E-14  Violation of chapter.

Chapter 32-7A Dealers and Manufacturers of Manufactured Homes and Mobile Homes
DEALERS AND MANUFACTURERS OF MANUFACTURED HOMES AND MOBILE HOMES

32-7A-1 Definitions.

32-7A-2 Established place of business.

32-7A-3 License required--Exceptions--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-7A-3.1 Supplemental license for auxiliary or supplemental lots--Exemption for temporary locations.
32-7A-3.2 Temporary locations for certain purposes--Time limit--Zoning and

building requirements. 32-7A-4 Repealed.

32-7A-4.1  Application required--Contents.

32-7A-4.2  Grounds for denial of license or application of provisions of §§ 32-7A-4.3 to 32-7A-4.8, inclusive.
32-7A-4.3 Cease and desist order for specified violations--Period of effectiveness.

32-7A-44 Hearing on question of whether violations occurred--

Procedures. 32-7A-4.5 Finality of cease and desist order.
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32-7A-4.6  Order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license upon failure to comply with cease and desist order--Deposit of
monetary penalties.

32-7A-4.7 Hearing to contest order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license--Procedures.

32-7A-4.8 Finality of order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license.

32-7A-5 Bond required for license.

32-7A-5.1 Notice to surety company of denial, suspension, or revocation of license.

32-7A-6 Separate licenses for places of business in different counties.

32-7A-7 Fee for license--Renewal.

32-7A-8 Disposition of fees.

32-7A-8.1 Increase in dealer bond amount--Implementation.

32-7A-9 Time for grant or denial of license--Issuance of certificate--Form.

32-7A-10 Dealers' plates--Issuance--Use--Fees.

32-7A-10.1 Mailing fees.

32-7A-11 Transportation of manufactured and mobile homes owned by dealer.

32-7A-12 Books, records, and files kept by licensees.

32-7A-12.1 Offer to sell, sale, or exchange of mobile or manufactured home without certificate of title allowed under
specified circumstances.

32-7A-12.2 Agreement that dealer will satisfy lien by paying lienholder--Trade of mobile or manufactured home or
consignment agreement--Theft.

32-7A-12.3 Time period to satisfy lien after receipt of funds--Offering mobile or manufactured home for sale prior to
tender to lienholder.

32-7A-13 Fraud in contracts for sale, trade or purchase prohibited--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-7A-14 Repealed.

32-7A-14.1 Power of secretary to make rules and require uniformity in administration of statute--Duty of local officials.
32-7A-15 Used mobile or manufactured homes--Activities authorized by dealer or real estate license--Responsibilities of
real estate licensee.

32-7A-16 Sales on consignment--Title requirements.

32-7A-17 Title transfer--Affidavit of registration and tax payment required--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-7A-18 Appointment of dealer inspectors--Entry--Complaints.

32-7A-19 Investigation--Purpose--Inspection--Examination.

32-7A-20 to 32-7A-22. Repealed.

32-7A-23  Application for injunction--Issuance without bond.

Chapter 32-7B Regulation of Boat Dealers

REGULATION OF BOAT DEALERS

32-7B-1 Boat dealer defined.

32-7B-2 License required--Exceptions--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-7B-3 Classification of licenses.

32-7B-4  Application required--Contents.

32-7B-5 Verification of application--Refusal of application.
32-7B-6 Bond required--Amount--Term--Continuation certificate--Notification of payment or cancellation--Additional
bond.

32-7B-6.1 Increase in dealer bond amount--Implementation.
32-7B-7 Proof of contract or franchise.

32-7B-8 Fee for license--Renewal.
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32-7B-9 Books, records, and files to be kept--Inspection.

32-7B-9.1 Offer to sell, sale, or exchange of boat without certificate of title allowed under specified circumstances.
32-7B-9.2 Agreement that dealer will satisfy lien by paying lienholder--Trade of boat or consignment agreement-
-Theft.

32-7B-9.3 Time period to satisfy lien after receipt of funds--Offering boat for sale prior to tender to lienholder.
32-7B-10 lIssuance of dealer plates--Fees--Disposition of fees.

32-7B-10.1 Mailing fees.

32-7B-11 Use of dealer plates--Display--Transfer of plates--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-7B-12 Use of boat bearing dealer's demonstration permits--Issuance of permits for unauthorized purposes
prohibited--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-7B-13 Temporary license--Display--Restrictions on use--Renewal or alteration prohibited--

Violation as misdemeanor. 32-7B-14  Dealer inspectors.

32-7B-15 Investigation of dealers.

32-7B-16 Repealed.

32-7B-17 Grounds for denial of license or application of provisions of §§ 32-7B-17.1 to 32-7B-17.6, inclusive.
32-7B-17.1 Cease and desist order for specified violations--Period of effectiveness.

32-7B-17.2 Hearing on question of whether violations occurred--

Procedures. 32-7B-17.3  Finality of cease and desist order.

32-7B-17.4 Order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license upon failure to comply with cease and desist order--
Deposit of monetary penalties.

32-7B-17.5 Hearing to contest order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license--Procedures.

32-7B-17.6  Finality of order to pay fine or suspend or revoke license.

32-7B-18, 32-7B-19. Repealed.

32-7B-20 Promulgation of rules--Administration by local officials.

32-7B-21 Principal place of business defined.

32-7B-22 Permission to change principal place of business.

32-7B-23 Supplemental license required for each additional place of business in same county--Local codes and
ordinances to be met.

32-7B-24 Separate licenses for places of business in different counties.

32-7B-25 Temporary permits for special events--Time limitation--Fee.

32-7B-26  Consignment sales--Contract required--Form.

32-7B-27 Manufacturer's statement of origin required for sale on consignment.

32-7B-28 South Dakota title required for sale on consignment or at auction--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-7B-29 Auction of boat covered by lien--Consent and release of lien holder--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-7B-30 Temporary location--Time limit--Zoning and building requirements.

Chapter 32-9 Commercial Motor Vehicle Certificates
COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE CERTIFICATES

32-9-1 Definitions.

32-9-2  Motor carrier defined.

32-9-3  Exceptions from definitions of motor carrier and commercial vehicle.
32-9-3.1 Fee required of harvest vehicle--Permit--Violation as misdemeanor.
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32-9-3.2 Mounted specialized equipment included in weight to determine license fee--Violation as misdemeanor.
32-9-3.3 Infrequently used vehicle and equipment owners to file for license from department--Application form--
Fee.

32-9-34 Repealed.

32-9-3.5 Fee for commercial use of motorbus--Gross maximum weight.

32-9-4 Motor carriage as affected with public interest--Unusual impairment of highway.

32-9-5 Presumption that motor carrier makes unusual use of highways.

32-9-6 Application to county treasurer--Nonresidents--Contents of application--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-9-7 lIssuance of receipt, commercial motor vehicle certificate, and plates--Conspicuous display--Mailing fees--

Violation as misdemeanor.

32-9-8 Repealed.

32-9-8.1 Fees applicable to power unit or tractor only--Interchangeable trailers--Identification plates required--Fee--New

plate upon title transfer--Disposition of fees--Trailers within a municipality--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-9-9 Loss or destruction of commercial plates--Duplicate plates--Fee--Disposition of fee--Report of loss.

32-9-10 Duties of department.

32-9-11 Repealed.

32-9-12 Forwarding applications to department.

32-9-13 Registration of maximum gross weight of vehicle.

32-9-14 Overweight operation prohibited--Violation a misdemeanor.

32-9-15 Schedule of commercial motor vehicle fees per gross pounds--Older vehicles.

32-9-16 Time for payment of commercial motor vehicle fee--Time for display of plate--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-9-16.1 Promulgation of rules for staggered registration system.

32-9-16.2 Fees paid pursuant to chapter--Calculation.

32-9-16.3 Staggered registration of intrastate commercial vehicles.

32-9-17 Duration of commercial plates and decals--Payment for unexpired portion of year--Proration of fee.

32-9-17.1 Denial of registration or title to certain commercial motor carriers--Suspension or revocation or registration or

permit--Conditions for issuance or restoration.

32-9-17.2 Denial of registration or title to motor carrier for failure to disclose information, making false statement,

affiliation with ineligible person, or safety reasons--Conditions for issuance.

32-9-18 to 32-9-20. Repealed.

32-9-21 Discontinuing use of vehicle--Return of plates and certificates--Portion of fees refunded.

32-9-22 Temporary thirty-day permit to operate as commercial motor vehicle--Multiple permits allowed--Fee schedule--

Proof of previous registration as noncommercial vehicle.

32-9-22.1 Temporary non-hire permits for commercial vehicles--Fee--Disposition

of fees--Limit on issuance. 32-9-23 Repealed.

32-9-23.1 Alternate commercial fee by intrastate carriers--Amount of fees--Proof of registration or temporary permit--

Certificate required for commercial use of certain noncommercial vehicles.

32-9-23.2 Application to pay alternative fee.

32-9-23.3  Alternative permit to be secured before movement--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-9-23.4 Repealed.

32-9-23.5 Receipt issued on payment--Display on demand--Violation

as misdemeanor. 32-9-23.6 Repealed.

32-9-24,32-9-24.1. Repealed.

32-9-25 to 32-9-27. Repealed.

32-9-28 to 32-9-40. Repealed.
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32-9-41 Persons and entities required to comply with chapter.

32-9-42 Repealed.

32-9-43 Repealed.

32-9-44 Revocation or cancellation of certificate upon violation.

32-9-44.1 Failure to surrender suspended, revoked or canceled plate or certificate as misdemeanor--Assistance by
peace officers.

32-9-44.2 Revocation, cancellation or suspension of certificate upon repeated violations of § 32-5-16.7.
32-9-45 Overweight operation of vehicle--Payment of additional fee--Payment no defense.

32-9-46 Fee award as part of criminal conviction for overweight operation--Nonpayment punishable by
contempt.

32-9-47 Determination that vehicle was overweight--Variation of five percent.

32-9-48 to 32-9-52. Repealed.

32-9-53  Gross weight of tow trucks and wreckers.

32-9-54  Fee for certain vehicles transporting passengers--Seating capacity--Maximum weight.

32-9-55, 32-9-56. Repealed.

32-9-57 Transporter plates for hauling new trailers--Violation as misdemeanor.

32-9-57.1 Revocation or suspension of transporter plate--Failure to surrender plate as misdemeanor.
32-9-58 Registration and permit required to move certain vehicles between job sites--Fee. 32-9-59  Use of
vehicles with dealer 88 license plates--Violation as misdemeanor.

Chapter 32-36 Abandoned, Derelict and Junk Motor Vehicles and Scrap Metals
ABANDONED, DERELICT AND JUNK MOTOR VEHICLES AND SCRAP METALS

32-36-1 Declaration of public interest in disposal.

32-36-2 Definition of terms.

32-36-3 Authority of removal agency generally.

32-36-4 Entry on land for purpose of removal.

32-36-4.1 Removal of abandoned vehicles from private property without written permission prohibited.
32-36-5 Title information to be furnished to removal agency.

32-36-6 Repealed.

32-36-7 Repealed.

32-36-8 Notice to owner and lien holders after removal--Contents--Form--Publication of notice--Violation as
misdemeanor.

32-36-9 Vesting of title in removal agency after notice sent--Time allowed for holder of title or lienholder to reclaim--
Notice of intent to reclaim--Failure to reclaim. 32-36-10 Repealed.

32-36-11 Application for certificate of title by removal agency.


http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-41
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-41
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-41
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-41
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-41
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-42
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-42
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-42
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-42
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-42
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-43
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-43
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-43
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-43
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-43
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-44.2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-45
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-45
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-45
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-45
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-45
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-46
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-46
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-46
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-46
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-46
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-47
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-47
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-47
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-47
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-47
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-48
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-48
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-48
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-48
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-48
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-53
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-53
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-53
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-53
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-53
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-54
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-54
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-54
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-54
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-54
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-55
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-55
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-55
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-55
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-55
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-57.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-58
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-58
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-58
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-58
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-58
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-59
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-59
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-59
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-59
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-9-59
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-2
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-3
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-3
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-3
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-3
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-3
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-4.1
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-5
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-5
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-5
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-5
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-5
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-6
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-6
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-6
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-6
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-6
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-7
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-7
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-7
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-7
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-7
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-8
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-8
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-8
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-8
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-8
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-9
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-9
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-9
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-9
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-9
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-10
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-10
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-10
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-10
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-10
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-11
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-11
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-11
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-11
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-36-11

Boats
A. Boat titling

1. Boats over 12 feet in length or motorboats (includes electric) of any length, which are purchased or acquired by residents
of this state, are required to be titled at time of registration, except canoes, inflatable vessels, kayaks, sailboards, and
seaplanes.

2. An owner of a boat over 12 feet in length or a motorboat of any length not subject to titling requirements (boats over 12
feet, purchased or acquired prior to July 1, 1992) may apply to the county treasurer for a title.

a. An owner of a boat 12" in length that was titled previously to July 1, 1994, will no longer be allowed to title the boat. The
record on these boats must be converted from a title record to a registration record in the new owner's name. The
certificate of title should be surrendered, if available, for cancellation.

3. Application for boat title is made to the county treasurer of the owner's residence.
a. The owner is required to apply for title within 45 days of acquisition.

b. The applicant shall submit the MCO, title or other ownership document along with an application for title, bill of sale, and
appropriate fees.

c. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number of each purchaser must be given. In the case of a company,
the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner’s South Dakota driver’s license number or social
security number may be used.

4. Effective July 1, 2004, to July 1, 2015, damage disclosure is required on large boats (boats over 12 feet in length and
motorized boats, except canoes, inflatable boats, kayaks, sailboards, and seaplanes) that are 6 years old or less with
damage more than $5,000 (see Damage Disclosure Section for additional information).

B. Exemptions from boat titling (boats that cannot be titled).
1. Non-motorized boats 12 feet and under in length.

2. Canoes, inflatable vessels, kayaks, sailboards, and seaplanes. C. Liens.

1. If a lien is noted on the certificate of title, there will be an electronic record created and no title will be printed.
2. Notation of lien:

a. To note a lien on a paper certificate of title, a copy of the security agreement and a lien notation fee must be presented
to the county treasurer of the applicant's county of residence.

4. Cancellation of lien:

a. To release a lien on a certificate of title, a lien release must be presented to the county treasurer of any county or
released electronically by the lender.

D. Boat licensing.



1. No person may operate or give permission to operate a boat over 12 feet long or a motorboat of any length on
the public waters of South Dakota unless that boat is numbered in accordance with South Dakota law, applicable
federal law, or with a federally approved numbering system of another state.

a. A non-motorized boat 18 feet and under in length is exempt from having to display boat numbers.
b. A non-motorized boat over 12 feet in length and a motorboat of any length, however, must be registered
and display a registration validation decal

2. Boat decals expire on the last day of the month of the year for which they were issued. Boats are registered
under the staggered registration system.

E. Exemptions from boat licensing and numbering.

1. A non-motorized boat 12 feet and under in length. F. Exemptions from boat numbering.

1. A boat covered by a number still in effect which was awarded pursuant to federal law or a federally approved
numbering system of another state, and the boat has neither been in this state for more than 60 consecutive
days during any calendar year or been subject to a contract for berth for a period of more than 60 consecutive
days during any calendar year in marina facilities located within this state.

2. A boat from a country other than the United States, temporarily using the waters of this state.

3. A boat whose owner is the United States, a state, or subdivision thereof.

4. A racing boat competing in a regatta or boat race approved by the Game, Fish, and Parks Commission or
operating during a period not to exceed 48 hours immediately preceding the race and the remainder of the race
day.

5. A non-motorized boat 18 feet and under in length. G. Applicant for South Dakota boat registration receives.

1. Boat number: Applicant is responsible for permanently affixing this number to the boat.

a. The owner must permanently and securely display the numbers on each side of the forward part of the boat
so that the numbers displayed must be not less than three inches in height. They must be in plain block
design and in a color that contrasts with the color of the boat. Properly displayed numbers will read from left
to right. A space equal to one letter or number must be left between the letters "SD" and the group of three
letters. Another space equal to one letter or number must be left between the group of three numbers and
the final group of two letters. The only numbers that may appear on the forward part of the boat are the
valid numbers assigned to the boat. The numbers must be clearly visible and readable at 100 feet when the
vessel is in the water.

b. Non-motorized boats, 18 feet and under in length, are not required to display the three-inch boat number
on the sides of the boat. Includes all non-motorized boats.
i. Although the "SD" number does not have to be affixed to a non-motorized boat 18 feet and under in
length, the boat number is still assigned so that there is a tracking mechanism on the computer system.
i. The owner is still required to license a non-motorized boat over 12 feet in length and must display the
annual or three-year license on the boat.



2. Annual boat validation decals.

a. Decals must be mounted on both sides of the boat, adjacent to and in line with the boat number.
3. Boat registration.

a. Registration must be kept in the boat.

4. Temporary permits.

a. Temporary boat permits are available. The permit is issued by the county treasurer upon presentation of the
title or (if no title issued) other ownership document or bill of sale. The permit can be purchased for five to
fifteen days for a fee of $1 per day.

b. A boat owned or operated by a person who is participating in a fishing tournament permitted by the
Department of Game, Fish and Parks is not required to be numbered, provided the boat has been issued a
temporary boat license by the Department of Game, Fish and Parks. The temporary permit is valid in South
Dakota for a period of 10 consecutive days. The fee for the permit is $50.

c. There is no seller's permit for a boat.
H. Registration of a new or used boat purchased from a dealer (instate or out-of-state).

1. Ownership documents required.

a. MSO and dealer invoice or purchase agreement (if the dealer price certification has not been completed on
the application on new boats).

b. Title (or other ownership document if title not previously issued) and bill of sale (boat dealer allowed to
certify purchase price on application).

2. The applicant will be required to complete a boat application (MV-607).
3. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number of each purchaser must be given. In the case of a

company, the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner’s South Dakota driver’s license
number or social security number may be used.

4. Payment of applicable fees.
I. Registration of boat previously registered in another state.
1. Ownership documents required.
a. Previous state's registration, if available (affidavit of facts if not available) or ownership document.
2. The applicant is required to complete a boat title and registration application (MV-607).
3. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number of each purchaser must be given.
4. Payment of applicable fees.

J. Registration of used boat not purchased from a dealer (instate or out-of-state).



1. Ownership documents required.

a. Title (if previously issued) and bill of sale.

2. The applicant is required to complete a boat application (MV-607).

3. Payment of applicable fees.
K. United States Coast Guard Registered Boats.

1. An owner whose boat is registered and documented in accordance with United States Coast Guard regulations is
not required to display a South Dakota boat number; nor obtain a title.

2. A boat registered with the Coast Guard that is used on the waters of this state must be registered with the
county treasurer and display South Dakota boat decals.

a. The boat is not required to display an “SD” boat number.
b. A title is not issued.

3. Interstate Registration.
a. An interstate title will not be issued. The registration record will indicate “interstate.”

b. These boats are subject to 3% excise tax. Application for registration of US Coast Guard documented boats
are subject to the 3% excise tax in-lieu-of sales or use tax. All statutes (purchase price defined, exemptions,
etc.) applicable to assessment of 3% excise tax on large boats apply to documented boats (see section “R”
below).

L. Boat license refunds.

1. There is no provision for a refund of a boat license fee. M. Boat serial (hull) identification number.

1. A serial number (hull) identification number is required on any boat whose construction began after October 31,
1972, on any boat that is required to be titled that does not have a hull identification number, and on homebuilt
boats.

a. A serial number (hull) identification number is not required on a boat 1972 and older that is not titled but is
required to be licensed.

2. The county treasurer shall assign a serial number on boats required to have a serial number.
a. An affidavit (DMV:400) for permission for special hull identification number is required.

b. The number must be permanently affixed to the outboard side of the transom or, if there is no transom, to
the outermost starboard side at the end of the hull that bears the rudder or other steering mechanism,
above the waterline of the boat or device in such a way that alteration, removal, or replacement is obvious
and evident.



c. The county treasurer may assign a serial number to a boat constructed before 1972. N. Tax.

1. Excise tax is assessed on large boats (over 12 feet in length or a motorboat of any length, except canoes,
inflatable vessels, kayaks, sailboards, and seaplanes) purchased or acquired, unless otherwise exempted.

a. See section entitled, “3% Excise Tax Exemptions".

b. See section entitled, "Definitions of Purchase Price for Assessment of Excise

Tax". O. Boats that are exempt from 3% excise tax may be subject to sales tax.

1. Proof of tax paid required on boats purchased from out-of-state dealers and boats previously registered in
another state. Does not include casual sales which are sales between individuals.

a. if the applicant has owned the boat for less than three years, proof of tax paid by the applicant will be
required.

b. If the applicant has owned the boat for three years or more, no proof of tax paid will be required.

c. If proof of tax paid cannot be furnished, the county treasurer will assess taxes on NADA Value or purchase
price on Bill of Sale.  32-3A

Low Speed Vehicles
A. A low-speed vehicle is a 4-wheeled motor vehicle whose speed attainable in one mile is more than 20 miles per hour
and not more than 25 miles per hour on a paved level surface.

B. A low-speed vehicle may not be operated on any highway where the speed limit is more than 35 miles per hour.
1. Local government may adopt more stringent local ordinances governing low-speed vehicle operation.
C. Other requirements that a low-speed vehicle must meet:

1. Each low-speed vehicle shall be equipped with: headlamps, front and rear turn signal lamps, tail lamps, stop
lamps, reflex reflectors (one red on each side as far to the rear as practicable, and one red on the rear); exterior
mirror mounted on the driver’s side of the vehicle and either an exterior mirror mounted on the passenger’s side
of the vehicle or an interior mirror; a parking brake; a windshield that conforms to the federal motor vehicle
safety standard on glazing materials (49CFR571.205); a conforming VIN (part 565 Vehicle Identification Number);
a type 1 or type 2 seat belt assembly conforming to § 571.209, Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 209,
seat belt assemblies, installed at each designated seating position.

D. The MSO/MCO or vehicle title must clearly identify the vehicle as a low-speed vehicle.

1. If the title does not clearly designate the vehicle as a low-speed vehicle, a low-speed vehicle affidavit must be
completed.

2. The department may not issue a vehicle identification number to any homemade low-speed vehicle or retrofitted
golf cart, as these vehicles do not qualify as low-speed vehicles.
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E. A low-speed vehicle must be titled and licensed (noncommercial vehicle fee schedule). 1. A license plate designating

the vehicle as a low-speed vehicle is issued.

2. The applicant must possess a valid driver’s license.

3. A vehicle is subject to 4% motor vehicle excise tax.

A person engaged in the retail sale of low-speed vehicles must be licensed as a vehicle dealer or used vehicle dealer. F. A
low speed vehicle is exempt from the odometer disclosure. 32-3-1; 32-3-71; 32-5-152; 32-5-5

Boat 3% Excise Tax Exemption Codes

1.

Any large boat which is the property of the governmental units which are exempted from motor vehicle registration
fees by § 32-5-42.

Any large boat acquired by inheritance from or bequest of a decedent.

Any large boat previously titled or licensed jointly in the names of two or more persons and subsequently
transferred without consideration to one or more of such persons.

Any large boat transferred without consideration between spouses, between a parent and child, and between siblings.

EXEMPTIONS 5 THROUGH 11 MUST ALREADY BE SOUTH DAKOTA TITLED VEHICLES TO QUALIFY

10.

11.

Any large boat transferred pursuant to any mergers or consolidation of corporations or LLCs or plans of
reorganization by which substantially all the assets of a corporation or LLC are transferred.

Any large boat transferred by a subsidiary corporation or LLC to its parent corporation or LLC.

Any large boat transferred between an individual and a corporation or LLC if the individual and the owner of most
of the capital stock of the corporation or LLC are one and the same.

Any large boat transferred between a corporation or LLC and its stockholders or creditors when to effectuate a
dissolution of the corporation or LLC.

Any large boat transferred between an individual and a limited or general partnership if the individual and the
owner of the majority interest in the partnership are one and the same person.

Any large boat transferred to affect a sale of all or substantially all the assets of the business entity.

Any large boat transferred between corporations or LLCs, both subsidiary and non-subsidiary, if the individuals who
hold most of the stock in the first corporation or LLC also hold most of the stock in the second corporation; but
these individuals need not hold the same ratio of stock in both corporations and LLCs.

Any large boat acquired by a secured party or lienholder in satisfaction of a debt.
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14. Any large boat sold or transferred which is eleven or more model years old and which is sold or transferred for
$2,500 or less before trade-in.

18. Any large boat transferred by a trustor to his trustee or from a trustee to a beneficiary of a trust.

42. Dealer titles (optional licensing) a boat and does not pay 3% excise tax.

84. Any damaged large boat transferred to an insurance company in the settlement of an insurance claim.

95. Title only (large boat) in which no tax is being paid because the large boat will not be used on the waters of this state
or any other state.

97. Any large boat owned by a former resident of this state who returns to the state and who had previously paid excise
tax to this state on the large boat as evidenced within the department's records or by submission of other
acceptable proof of payment of such tax.

98. Applies when an even trade takes place, or trade-down takes place. Prices must be substantiated w Applicant
surrenders out-of-state title in applicant's name from a state that has an equal and similar tax for a South Dakota
title; reciprocity granted.

99. Applicant surrenders out-of-state title in applicant's name from a state that has an equal and similar tax for a South
Dakota title; reciprocity granted.

PLEASE NOTE: If an asterisk appears before the figure given in the tax amount section on the certificate of title, this
indicates that it is an exemption code. If the asterisk does not appear, the figure is the amount of tax paid.

32-3A-52; 32-5-42

Damage Disclosure Statement
A. Salvage Title (Effective July 1, 2015)
1. The use of Damage Disclosures has been repealed, effective July 1, 2015.

2. Damage Disclosures will remain noted on titles issued before July 1, 2015.
3. Upon Written request and a fee, the South Dakota Motor Vehicle Division will provide a vehicle title history.

B. For any vehicle with a salvage title or damage noted on the title, a dealer must place a notice in plain view in the
window of the car.

1. The notice must be printed on white NCR paper, measuring 4" x 6". The original is to be retained by the dealer
and the copy is given to the purchaser.

2. The information must be printed in 12-point (minimum) Universe - bold - CAPITAL LETTERS.

3. The notice must be posted on the inside of a side window with the front of the form facing the outside, or in the
case of a large boat on the front window.
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4. The dealer is responsible for keeping the notice always posted that a vehicle/large boat is available for sale to
consumers.

5. At the time of sale of the vehicle/large boat, the dealer must remove the notice and must have the purchaser
sign and date it. The dealer must retain the signed notice, along with copies of the title document, for 5 years
from the date of sale.

6. If a dealer fails to display a damage disclosure notice (disclosure must be signed by the purchaser at the time of
sale), the purchaser may return the motor vehicle/large boat to the dealer within 10 days after receiving the title
and receive a full refund.

C. Certificates of title issued on motor vehicles/large boats in which damage has been disclosed shall reflect this
information on the front of the title.

1. Vehicles/large boats coming into the state in which a salvage title or similar brand, or a brand denoting damage was
issued by another state, on a qualifying vehicle/large boat, shall be issued a South Dakota salvage title or a title reflecting
damage information.  32-3-51.18; 32-3A-38.6; 32-3-51.5; 32-3-51.22

Excise Tax
A. Motor vehicles

1. In addition to all other license and registration fees for the use of the highways, a person must pay an excise tax
at the rate of 4% on the purchase price of any motor vehicle purchased or acquired for use on the streets and
highways of South Dakota and required to be registered under the laws of this state. 32-5B-1

a. This tax is place of any tax collected on the sales of such vehicles.

b. Failure to pay the full amount of excise tax is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

B. Boats

1. In addition to all other fees, a person must pay an excise tax at the rate of 3% on the purchase price of any large
boat purchased or acquired for use on the waters of this state and required to be registered under the laws of
this state.

a. This tax is in place of any tax charged by chapters 10-45 and 10-46 on the sales of such large boats.
b. Failure to pay the full amount of excise tax is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
2. For a used vehicle/large boat sold by a licensed motor vehicle/boat dealer:

a. When a vehicle/large boat is taken in trade by the dealer as a credit or partial payment, the trade allowance
must be deducted so the net purchase price is established.

b. The trade-in value of any damaged motor vehicle may include the value of any check from an insurance
company which is intended to cover the damages of the traded motor vehicle.

c. Rebates are taxable
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3. For a used motor vehicle/large boat sold or transferred by any person other than a licensed motor vehicle/boat
dealer, motor vehicle excise tax is due on the purchase price.

a. If a bill of sale is not available, tax is based on the retail value stated in a nationally recognized dealer's
guide approved and provided by the Secretary of Revenue.

b. If a bill of sale cannot be obtained, a statement by the applicant must be provided or it must be indicated
on the title application that a bill of sale is not available.

c. When there is a trade-in indicated on the bill of sale, tax is due on the difference.

i. For example: a 1970 Chevrolet plus $2,000 is traded for a 1979 Chevrolet; motor vehicle tax is
assessed on the $2,000.

i. If bill of sale is not available, tax is based on NADA book value of the vehicle/boat purchased
minus NADA book value of the vehicle/boat traded in and taxed on the remainder. d. Any re

property can be used for trade-in value.

4. For a new or used motor vehicle/large boat acquired by gift from someone other than immediate family or by
other transfer for no or *nominal consideration tax is due on:

a. The manufacturer's suggested dealer list price for new vehicles/large boats

b. The retail value stated in a nationally recognized dealer's guide for used motor vehicles/large boats

5. For a vehicle/large boat manufactured by a person who registers it under the laws of this state, the amount
expended for materials, labor, and other property allocable costs, or in the absence of actual expenditures, the
reasonable value of the completed motor vehicle/large boat.

6. For a rebuilt motor vehicle/large boat, upon its initial registration and titling, the total cost for the salvage
vehicle/large boat, whether received in money or otherwise, and the total cost for any assemblies, subassemblies,
parts, or component parts used that sales tax was not previously paid on.

*Nominal consideration is a consideration which has no relation to the actual value of the contract or article. 32-5B

Leased Vehicle with GVWR less than 16,000 Ibs.

A. To this motor vehicle excise tax, the purchase price is:
1. For a new motor vehicle/large boat, sale, or lease:

a. When a motor vehicle/large boat is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on a new vehicle/large boat,
the credit or trade-in value allowed by the seller shall be deducted from the total consideration for the new
motor vehicle/large boat to establish the purchase price.

b. The trade-in value of any damaged motor vehicle may include the value of any check from an insurance
company which is intended to cover the damages of the motor vehicle.
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B.

D.

E.

For either a new or used motor vehicle (that has a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 16,000 pounds) or a
fertilizer vehicle, which is a closed lease, the total consideration is all lease payments, including cash, rebates, the net
trade-in, extended warranties, administrative fees, acquisition fees, or any other fees assessed on the purchase price
of the vehicle.

1. Total consideration does not include title fees, registration fees, vehicle excise tax, federal excise taxes
attributable to the sale of the vehicle to the owner, or to the lease of the vehicle by the owner, insurance, and
refundable deposits.

2. If the term of the lease is extended or if the vehicle is leased for an additional period, the excise tax is assessed
on the additional lease payments and shall be paid by the lessor.

3. If additional consideration is paid during the lease or upon termination of the lease, tax is assessed upon such
amount and shall be paid by the lessor.

For either a new or used motor vehicle (that has a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 16,000 pounds), or a
fertilizer unit, which is leased and the terms of the lease are either not certain at the time the lease contract is
executed or the lease is open ended, the purchase price is the total consideration whether received in money or
otherwise.

1. Total consideration includes the purchase price, plus cash, rebates, the net trade-in, extended warranties,
administrative fees, acquisition fees, or any other fees assessed on the purchase of the vehicle.

2. Total consideration does not include, title fees, registration fees, vehicle excise tax, federal excise tax attributable

to the
sale of the vehicle to the owner or to the lease of the vehicles by the owner, insurance, and refundable deposits.

A motor vehicle/large boat license will not be issued unless all requirements for registration are completed and the
correct amount of the motor vehicle excise tax has been collected by the county treasurer.

No refunds or collections of the motor vehicle excise tax will be made on amounts under $5. 32-5B-1.1

Motor Vehicle 4% Excise Tax Exemption Codes

**The following Excise Tax exemptions are listed by the tax code number they represent; some numbers are skipped**

1.

Vehicles and house trailers, which are the property of this state, of the United States, of counties, townships,
municipalities, public or nonpublic schools, Indian tribes or schools, fire departments, vehicles purchased by the
state under the Urban Mass Transportation Act, nonprofit community support providers, buses and vans owned by
churches, and farm vehicles as defined in 32-5-1.3.

Vehicle acquired by inheritance from or bequest of a decedent.

Vehicle previously titled or licensed jointly in the names of two or more persons and subsequently transferred
without consideration to one or more of such persons.

Vehicle transferred without consideration between spouses, between a parent and child, and between siblings.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

EXEMPTIONS 5-11 MUST ALREADY BE SOUTH DAKOTA TITLED VEHICLES TO QUALIFY

Vehicle transferred pursuant to any mergers or consolidation of corporations or plans of reorganization by which
substantially all the assets of a corporation or LLC are transferred.

Vehicle transferred by a subsidiary corporation or LLC to its parent corporation or LLC.

Vehicle transferred between an individual and a corporation or LLC where the individual and the owner of most of
the capital stock of the corporation or LLC are one and the same.

Vehicle transferred between a corporation or LLC and its stockholders or creditors when to effectuate a dissolution
of the corporation or LLC.

Vehicle transferred between an individual and a limited or general partnership where the individual and the owner
of the majority interest in the partnership are one and the same person.

Vehicle transferred to affect a sale of all or substantially all the assets of the business entity.

Vehicle transferred between corporations or LLCs, both subsidiary and non-subsidiary, if the individuals who hold
most of the stock in the first corporation or LLC also hold most of the stock in the second corporation or LLG; but
these individuals need not hold the same ratio of stock in both corporations and LLCs.

Vehicle acquired by a secured party or lienholder in satisfaction of a debt.

Vehicle first transferred to a person other than a licensed motor vehicle dealer when such vehicle was previously
licensed and registered pursuant to 32-5-27 (exemption applies only if title previously coded 27).

Any motor vehicle sold or transferred which is eleven or more model years old, which is sold or transferred for
$2,500 or less before trade-in.

This exemption code is used when the first retail purchaser registers the vehicle that was exempt under exemption
code #36.

Effective July 1, 1990, licensed motor vehicle dealer titles vehicle pursuant to 32-5-27, (vehicle brought in from out-
of-state, not taken in on trade, for the purpose of resale) and does not pay motor vehicle excise tax. Dealer has the
option of licensing the vehicle. The first retail sale is taxable.

Any motor vehicle transferred by a trustor to his trustee or from a trustee to a beneficiary of a trust.

Vehicle/motorcycles rented for 28 days or less or a trailer that has an empty or shipping weight of 9,000 pounds or
more, rented for 6 months or less and not consecutively rented for more than one six-month period.

Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe member living on his/her own reservation.
Rosebud Sioux Tribe member living on his/her own reservation.
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe member living on his/her own reservation.
Crow Creek Sioux Tribe member living on his/her own reservation.

Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe member living on his/her own reservation.
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25. Lower Brule Sioux Tribe member living on his/her own reservation.
26. Oglala Sioux Tribe member living on his/her own reservation.

27. Prior to July 1, 1990, licensed motor vehicle dealers paying tax pursuant to 32-5-27 (vehicles brought in from out-of-
state, not taken in on trade, for the purpose of resale).

28. Sisseton Wahpeton Sioux Tribe member living on his/her own reservation.

29. Yankton Sioux Tribe member living on his/her own reservation.

42. Dealer titles used vehicles and does not pay motor vehicle excise tax.

48. Vehicle transferred without consideration to any South Dakota nonprofit corporation that will donate the vehicle to
a needy family or individual.

55. Prorate 84. Insurance company titles vehicle and does not pay motor vehicle excise tax.

90. Motor vehicle purchased prior to June 1985.

91. Motor vehicle was on a licensed motor vehicle dealer's inventory as of May 30, 1985.

92. House trailer (assessed tax under the 4% initial registration fee).

93. Motor vehicle donated to non-profit organization if the non-profit organization sells the vehicle within 45 days of
the donation (purchaser may be subject to 4% motor vehicle excise tax).

94. All-terrain vehicle (purchased before July 1, 2016).
95. Title only (no tax is paid because the vehicle will not be used on the streets or highways).

a. These vehicles will not operate on the streets and highways or waterways of this state or any state and must be
hauled or transported to their destination and not driven over the roadways. The title only tax exemption must
be requested within 30 days of the date of purchase and prior to a title being issued.

b. In situations where title only is granted, various taxes such as sales tax, use tax and municipal taxes may be
applicable based on the provisions in those tax laws. Proof of payment of applicable taxes, such as bill of sale,
should be submitted to the County Treasurer along with the motor vehicle title application for the title only tax
exemption.

When a vehicle qualifies for the title only tax exemption, the vehicle may not be registered and license plates are not
issued. If the vehicle is later registered and plated so it may operate on streets and highways or waterways, the motor
vehicle excise tax must be paid at that time. If the vehicle is currently titled and assigned license plates, the plates must
be surrendered to the County Treasurer Office upon application for the title only tax exemption.

Vehicles eligible for the title only tax exemption include:
0 Racing vehicles that are not street legal and will only be driven on racetracks.
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0 A newly purchased vehicle wrecked prior to titling of the vehicle that will be turned over to the insurance
company or otherwise disposed of and not used on the roadways.

0 Abandon vehicles towed by a removal agency as outlined in law.
0 Vehicles obtained legally through a Mechanic's Lien or Unpaid Repair Bill.
0 Vehicles purchased by Indian casinos to be awarded as a prize in an officially registered raffle within South

Dakota. **the raffle winner is required to pay tax, title, and register the vehicle in their state of residency.

Any person applying for the title only tax exemption must complete the motor vehicle application for title or boat title
and registration application and South Dakota exemption form attesting that the vehicle qualifies for the title only tax
exemption as outlined in this policy statement.

For policy clarification purposes, the following are exclusions from this policy:

0 Travel trailers and campers are not eligible for the title only tax exemption. These vehicles are titled and are
intended to be mobile and use the roads and highways to reach their destination regardless of whether the
location is temporary or permanent.

0 Off road vehicles used on privately owned property or farm use. These vehicles are titled but are not
required to be licensed unless they will be used on public roads.

0 Certain equipment is intended for specialized use and is not eligible to be titled (and therefore not eligible
for the title only tax exemption). Examples include:

0 Farm equipment or implements of husbandry such as: hay grinders, feed mixers, etc.
0 Towing vehicles or auxiliary axles such as: tow dolly, flip axle, jeep, jeep booster, etc.

97. Specialized mobile equipment such as: log splitters, air compressors barbeque pits, etc., which are not designed to
haul ancillary items.

Tax previously paid by registered owner (for instance, previous interstate title, title submitted for removal of
canceled lien).

98. Applies when an even trade takes place where both vehicles are of equal value, or trade-down takes place where the
vehicle purchased has a lesser value than the vehicle traded. Prices must be substantiated with a bill of sale.

99. Applicant surrenders out-of-state title in applicant's name from a state that has an equal and similar tax for a South
Dakota title reciprocity granted.

PLEASE NOTE: In the tax-amount section on titles issued prior to January 1, 1991, if an asterisk appears before the figure
given, this indicates that it is an exemption code. If the asterisk does not appear, the figure is the amount of tax paid.

32-5B-2; 32-5B-1; 32-5B-3; 32-5B-11; 32-5B-12

Purchase Price for Excise Tax
A. To this motor vehicle excise tax, the purchase price is:
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1. For a new motor vehicle/large boat, sale, or lease:

a. When a motor vehicle/large boat is taken in trade as a credit or partial payment on a new
vehicle/large boat, trade allowance must be deducted from the total amount owed for the new
motor vehicle/large boat to establish the purchase price.

b. The trade-in value of any damaged motor vehicle may include the value of any check from an
insurance company which is intended to cover the damages of the traded motor vehicle.

1) The insurance check and the totaled vehicle must be turned into the dealer to receive trade-in credit. 32-5B-4

Tax Previously Paid Without Bill of Sale

A. To this motor vehicle excise tax, the purchase price is:

1. For a new motor vehicle/large boat, sale, or lease:
a. When a motor vehicle/large boat is taken in trade as a credit or partial payment on a new vehicle/large boat,

trade allowance must be deducted from the total consideration for the new motor vehicle/large boat to
establish the purchase price.

b. The trade-in value of any damaged motor vehicle may include the value of any check from an insurance
company which is intended to cover the damages of the traded motor vehicle.

B. If an applicant who was unable to obtain a bill of sale prior to making application and was assessed motor vehicle excise
tax on the book value, later obtains the bill of sale, a refund for the overpayment of the excise tax will be authorized if the
request is made within one year from the date of the original application.

1. No refund will be granted on requests made after one year from the date of application.

2. The title must be returned to the Motor Vehicle Division for correction of the tax amount.

A title correction fee is assessed. 64:29:02:03.03

Previously Paid Out of State
A. To this motor vehicle excise tax, the purchase price is:

1. For a new motor vehicle/large boat sale:

a. When a motor vehicle/large boat is taken in trade as a credit or partial payment on a new vehicle/large
boat, trade allowance must be deducted from the total consideration for the new motor vehicle/large boat
to establish the purchase price.

b. The trade-in value of any damaged motor vehicle may include the value of any check from an insurance
company which is intended to cover the damages of the traded motor vehicle.


http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5B-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5B-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5B-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5B-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5B-4
http://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5B-4
https://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/Administrative/21958

B. If any motor vehicle/large boat has been subjected previously to a sales tax, use tax, excise tax, or similar tax on the
purchase of the vehicle by any other state or its political subdivision, and the percentage of tax paid in the other
state is equal to or greater than the tax owed to this state, and if the tax has been paid by the applicant; then no
additional tax is due.

1. The following states impose a flat rate motor vehicle excise tax less than South Dakota’s 4 percent rate:

Alabama - 2%

Alaska - 0%

Montana—0%

New Hampshire—0%

North Carolina—3%
Oregon—0%*See State Tax Rates page
South Carolina- 5% up to $500 max

Titles transferring from the states listed above to South Dakota require payment of motor vehicle excise
tax equal to the imposed 4% in South Dakota.
Note: For further information see the State Tax Rates page.

In some states, motor vehicle excise tax includes a flat rate, plus a county or city rate. In such states, if proof of
payment of a similar tax is equal or greater to the amount to of South Dakota’s 4 percent tax, reciprocity, or
credit for tax paid may be granted.

2. If the amount of tax levied in such other state or its political subdivision is less than the amount of tax levied by
South Dakota, then an additional tax is due. The amount due is arrived at by subtracting the amount of tax
previously paid by the applicant from the amount of tax due.

a. For instance, an applicant previously paid tax in the amount of $80 to the state of Alabama. The
applicant is registering a vehicle that currently books for $4,000. The amount of tax due our state is $80.

$4,000 x 4% = $160 - $80= $80

b. If proof of the amount of tax previously paid by the applicant is not available, the following amount of
excise tax would be assessed:

$4,000 x 2% = $80

C. Atitle in the applicant's name from a state that collects an equal or greater amount of tax, an affidavit of a licensed
dealer, bill of sale, receipt, or other tangible evidence that an amount of tax has been paid by the current applicant
must be submitted.

1. If the applicant submits an "Applicant's Tax Payment Verification" form on any out-of-state title transaction, in
which the issue date on the out-of-state title is 12 months or less from the date of application, the owner must
also supply proof taxes previously paid. These may be subject to further verification by the Motor Vehicle
Division.

2. On a vehicle purchased from an out-of-state dealer that collects tax, the dealer is required to complete a "Out
of State Dealer Tax Assessment” form. If sufficient proof is not furnished, the county treasurer must collect the
full amount of excise tax. 32-5B; 64:29:02:
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Wheel Tax

A. County may, by ordinance, impose a wheel tax on all motor vehicles (auto, truck, motorcycle, house trailers,
trailers and off-road vehicles). 32-5A-1

1. Rate may not exceed $5 per vehicle wheel.
2. Total tax may not exceed $60 per vehicle.

3. Fee retained by county for highway and bridge maintenance and construction with distribution among
county and the municipalities and townships within the county. 32-5A-2

4. Dealer is exempt from tax unless they are licensing commercially. 32-5A-3

B. Wheel tax rate may be charged according to manufactured shipping weight, including accessories and may
vary according to the following: 2,000 pounds or less; 2001-4000 pounds, inclusive; 4001-6000 pounds,
inclusive; over 6000 pounds. 32-5A-5

Farm Vehicles and Equipment
C. Farmers or ranchers can apply at their county treasurer's office for a deal with the word "farm" on it. This decal
must be placed on the license plate of a motor vehicle as defined by 32-3-1, used wholly and exclusively for the
following purposes:

1. To carry their own supplies, farm equipment, and household goods to or from the owner’s farm or ranch

2. Used by the farmer or rancher to carry his own agricultural products, livestock, and produce to or from
storage or market

3. Used by farmers or ranchers in exchange of service in hauling of such supplies or agricultural products,
livestock, and produce.

D. To obtain a farm decal, applicant must complete and apply for Farm Decals.
1. The farm decal does not exempt the vehicle from any taxes or yearly license plate fees.

E. If the vehicle is sold or disposed of during the licensing period, the plates can be transferred to a newly
acquired vehicle. If the new vehicle is not used for the purposes listed in section A, then the farm decals must be
removed from the plates. 32-3-1; 32-5-97.1

If vehicle licensed for less than 12 months, fee is prorated on a monthly basis. 32-5A-7

Interstate Record

The interstate title record is a temporary registration in South Dakota used by a person who wants to obtain South
Dakota license plates, but since their stay within South Dakota is for a short time, the applicant wants to retain their
certificate of title or ownership certificate issued by their home state.
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1. The following are the valid reasons for obtaining an Interstate record:
1. Applicant is in state on a temporary basis.

2. Commercial vehicle titled out-of-state, but on lease to a South Dakota based motor carrier.

3. Military personnel temporarily stationed at a military base located within South Dakota.

4. South Dakota resident whose vehicle/boat is mortgaged by an out-of-state based financial service
(mortgagor), not applicable if out-of-state title is electronic (ELT).

No special license plates (military, personalized, etc.) can be issued on an interstate title record.
B. To obtain an interstate registration in South Dakota, one of the four qualifications stated above must be met.
1. On reasons 1 through 3, an applicant can have an out-of-state driver’s license and obtain an interstate.

2. On reason 4, an applicant, who is attesting to be a South Dakota resident, must possess a SD driver's license. If
the applicant (South Dakota resident) does not have a South Dakota driver's license, the out-of-state title must
be surrendered and a South Dakota title obtained.

C. A nonresident without a temporary SD residence (a PMB or mail forwarding service address cannot be used in lieu
of a SD address) does not qualify for an interstate record

1. Exception: Off Road Vehicle registration -- An interstate record can be issued to a nonresident (with no
temporary SD address) on an Off-Road Vehicle that is titled in another state.

2. Required documentation to be submitted to the county treasurer:
a. The interstate affidavit form,
b. Copy of the out-of-state title or current out-of-state registration,
c. Title and Registration Application
d. Applicable fee (interstate title record fee)

e. Applicant(s) must provide his/her Social Security number (verification documents required) and an out-of-
state driver license (copy submitted with the application).

i. The SD interstate record must be issued in the same name(s) as the out-of-state title/registration.
3. An interstate record, under most circumstances, will not be issued on an out-of-country application.

4. The territories of Guam and Puerto Rico are recognized as states for purposes of obtaining an interstate title
record and receiving reciprocity for payment of tax.

5. Military ownership is accepted if the ownership document does not indicate “nontransferable”.

D. Application for interstate record will not be accepted by a county treasurer, unless the applicant has provided the
following:

1. A copy of the current out-of-state registration or a copy of the certificate of title in the applicant's name.

2. Application for title properly completed and signed, along with an interstate affidavit.



a. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number of each purchaser must be given. In the case of
a company, the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner's South Dakota driver's
license number or social security number may be used.

E. Application is subject to the same title and registration fees, as for a regular registration. Reciprocity and credit will
be given to the applicant if a similar and equal (or more) amount of 4% motor vehicle excise tax has been paid in
former state.

F. The county treasurer will issue license plates and registration card upon completion of the proper papers.
No certificate of title or similar document is issued. The title record is designated as an "interstate" title record.
The record is valid only for issuance of license plates in South Dakota.

G. The interstate record is valid if title ownership remains the same.

H. When a regular South Dakota certificate of title is wanted for a vehicle now covered by a South Dakota interstate
title record, the valid foreign ownership document, an application for title, and a title fee are to be submitted to the
Motor Vehicle Division. 32-5-4.1

Manufacturer's Statement of Origin/Manufacturer's Certificate of

Origin and Vehicle Identification Number Requirements
The Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) recommends that the following MSO/MCO (Manufacturer’s Statement of

Origin/Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin) and VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) specifications be used by any
vehicle manufacturers operating within the state. A. Manufacturer’'s Statement of Origin/Manufacturer’s Certificate of

Origin (MSO/MCO):

1. At this time, the MVD does not endorse any specific MSO/MCO printer and has no specific requirements for
the content of the MSO/MCO form itself; however, the following information must be contained on the
document:

a. Date.

b. Invoice number.

c¢. Vehicle Identification Number.

d. Vehicle year.

e. Vehicle makes.

f. Vehicle body type.

g. Series/model.

a. Vehicle shipping weight, horsepower, or number of cylinders
i. Name and address of distributor/dealer.

j. Signature of authorized representative.
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k. City and state of authorized representative.

I. On the face of the MSO/MCO, in the assignment area, the manufacturer’'s name and address and a
signature area for the manufacturer’s signature.

2. The MVD recommends that the security standards established by the American Association of Motor Vehicle
Administrators (AAMVA) be followed: a. Paper.

1) Sensitized Security Paper - paper that is reactive to chemicals commonly used to alter documents.

2) Non-Optical Brightener Paper - paper without added optical brighteners that will not fluoresce under
ultraviolet light.

b. Engraved Border--a border produced from engraved artwork that will appear on the front of the document.
1) Prismatic--rainbow printing that is used as a deterrent to color copying, and/or
2) Copy Void Pantograph--the word “void” appears when the document is copied.

c. Complex Colors - colors that are developed by using a mixture of two or more of the primary colors (red,
yellow, or blue) and black if required.

d. Erasable Fluorescent Background Inks--fluoresces under ultraviolet light and reacts to any attempt to erase
in such a manner as to be immediately detectable. e. Background Security Design--a repetitious design

consisting of a pattern that hinders counterfeiting efforts.

f. Micro-line--a line of small alpha characters in capital letters that requires a magnifying glass to
read.

g. Consecutively Numbered--documents that contain a number that is consecutively numbered
for control purposes. 1. Security Thread--with or without watermark, and/or
2. Intaglio Print--with or without latent image.
h. Document Size--"Certificates of Origin” size specifications shall be seven (7) inches by eight (8) inches.

i. Paper Stock--Sixty (60) pound offset or equivalent durability.

j. Construction--Unless otherwise specified by the user, the form should be constructed and fan- folded for
use on high-speed pin-fed computer printer and/or continuous typewriters.

k. Layout--Text matter space for 1/10-inch horizontal and 1/6-inch-deep characters per AAMVA H12 Policy
for standard format.

Facility Security--To ensure the integrity of the manufacturer’s "Certificate of Origin” the user should require the
vendor to maintain secure printing and storage facilities.



Manufactured homes
Mobile Homes/Manufactured Homes

A mobile/manufactured HUD home is a movable or portable unit, designed and constructed to be towed on its own

chassis (composed of frames and wheels) and designed to be connected to utilities for year- round occupancy. The
term shall include:

1. Units containing parts that may be folded, collapsed, or telescoped when being towed and that may be
expanded to provide additional cubic capacity; and

2. Units composed of two or more separately towable components designed to be joined into one integral unit
capable of being separated again into the components for repeated towing.

3. A mobile/manufactured home on an MSO is built to HUD standards, whereas a modular home is built to UBC
standards. Modular homes are not titled and/or registered.

a. A mobile/manufactured home built to HUD standards will have permanently attached to the exterior
siding of each transportable section a HUD Construction Code Label, per HUD title regulations, effective
June 15, 1979. The HUD Construction Code Label is a metal certification label that is red in color, and
contains the following information:

AS EVIDENCED BY THIS LABEL NO. 000-000000 THE MANUFACTURER CERTIFIES TO THE BEST OF THE
MANUFACTURER'S

KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF THAT THIS MOBILE/MANUFACTURED HOME HAS BEEN INSPECTED IN
ACCORDANCE WITH THE

REQUIREMENTS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT AND IS
CONSTRUCTED IN CONFORMANCE WITH THE FEDERAL MOBILE/MANUFACTURED HOME

CONSTRUCTION AND SAFETY STANDARDS IN EFFECT ON THE DATE OF MANUFACTURE. SEE DATA
PLATE.

b. The data plate verifies the following: manufacturer’s name, trade/model name, year of manufacturer, serial
number, HUD Construction Code Label(s), and HUD construction zones. Per 1976 HUD Regulation, this

form is to be affixed inside the home on or near the main electrical breaker box and is printed on paper or
foil stock 8-1/2" x 11" to 8- 1/2" x 14" in size.

c. If alabel is missing or if modifications have been made without proper permit/inspections, the structure
cannot be offered for sale or occupied.

B. The term mobile/manufactured home includes units designed to be used for residential, commercial, educational,
or industrial purposes.

1. This excludes recreational vehicles which are defined as vehicular portable structures built on a chassis
designed to be used as a temporary dwelling for travel, recreational and vacation uses.

2. Also excluded is a sectional home that is defined as any home prebuilt in whole or in part for the purpose of
permanent placement on a foundation. A sectional home is not subject to vehicle licensing.



c. Upon application for the initial licensing of a mobile/manufactured home in South Dakota, the county treasurer
shall collect the 4% initial registration fee based on the purchase price. No trade-in allowance is granted.

1. Exemptions:

a. Governmental or public entities set forth in 32-5-42 and 32-5-42.1 (see exemptions under 01, in the
"Exemptions from Motor Vehicle Excise Tax"). Exemption code 01 should be used on the application for
title.

b. When a mobile/manufactured home that has previously been exempted from the 4% initial registration fee
(the initial registration fee has not been previously paid in South Dakota) is sold to a nonexempt agency,
the 4% initial registration fee shall be assessed on the purchase price of the mobile/manufactured home.

D. A mobile/manufactured home owned by a nonresident coming into this state from another state, a
mobile/manufactured home purchased and owned by a member of the armed forces while on duty in the United
States and a mobile/manufactured home purchased in another state by a resident other than a licensed dealer are
exempt from the 4% initial registration fee to the extent of a similar and equal amount of registration tax, sales, use
or state excise tax has been paid in another state by the current applicant.

1. The county treasurer shall require an affidavit of a licensed dealer, bill of sale, receipt, or other tangible
evidence that a similar and equal amount of tax has been paid by the current applicant.

2. If sufficient proof is not furnished, the county treasurer shall collect an additional or full amount to equal the
South Dakota rate of tax.

E. Native Americans living in mobile/manufactured homes located within a Native American reservation are assessed
11.25% of the 4%of the purchase price of the mobile/manufactured home.
(Example: A HUD home that will be located on a reservation that sells for $100,000, is subject to $450 initial
registration fee - $100,000 x 4% x
11.25%.)

F. If the mobile/manufactured home is new, a manufacturer's statement of origin, properly transferred to the
applicant, must be attached. If the mobile/manufactured home is used, a certificate of title properly transferred
must be attached.

G. If the mobile/manufactured home is sold by a dealer, the licensed dealer must deliver to the county treasurer the
manufacturer's statement of origin or the title for such home together with the required fees and forms within 45
days of the sale. Any dealer who does not comply with this section is subject to a late penalty fee of $1 for each
week or fraction thereof beyond the 45-day limitation for 25 weeks and a late fee of $50 for 26 weeks or more. Any
person applying for title a year or more beyond the 45-day limitation is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.

1. Any mobile/manufactured home purchased or transported by or for a dealer must have:

a. On any used home, an affidavit issued by the county treasurer in which the home is registered stating that
the current year's taxes have been paid, is required.

b. A self-issue permit displayed when moving a used or new mobile/manufactured home.

c. When the dealer sells a new, used or an out-of-state titled home and is transporting it to the purchaser,
the dealer must file a property tax assessment (PT6) form with the Director of Equalization in the county of
destination.
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H. Any transfer or reassignment of a title must be accompanied by an affidavit issued by the county treasurer stating
the current year's taxes as set out in SDCL 10-21-36 and 10-21-39 or 10-9-3, have been paid.

1.

If an owner of a used mobile/manufactured home, regulated lender, transporter or a licensed dealer fails to
obtain a tax affidavit, from the county treasurer from the county in which the used home is requested, stating
current year's taxes are paid as described in SDCL 10-21-36 and 10- 21-39, inclusive, or SDCL 10-9-3, the
department shall assess a monetary penalty of $250 for the first violation within a one-year period; $500 for the
second violation within a one-year period; and $1,000 for each subsequent violation within a one-year period.

2. The county treasurer shall notify the department, in writing, of any violation for failure to obtain a tax affidavit

before moving a home.

In addition to a monetary penalty, a transporter or dealer who was responsible for moving a
mobile/manufactured home is liable for any property taxes due to the county if a tax affidavit was not obtained
before moving the home.

For mobile/manufactured homes not sold by a licensed dealer, the purchaser shall title the mobile/manufactured
home within 45 days. Any person who does not comply with this section is subject to a late penalty fee of $1 for
each week or fraction thereof beyond the 45-day limitation for 25 weeks and a late fee of $50 for 26 weeks or more.
Any person applying for title a year or more beyond the 45- day limitation is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.

No South Dakota certificate of title on a mobile/manufactured home can be transferred without the affidavit from

the county treasurer stating the current year’s taxes as set out in SDCL 10-21-36 and 10-21-39 or 10-9-3, have been

paid. K. Transportation of mobile/manufactured home.

1.

If an owner of a used mobile/manufactured home, regulated lender, transporter or a licensed dealer fails to
obtain a tax affidavit, from the county treasurer from the county in which the used home is located, stating the
current year's taxes are paid as described in SDCL 10-21-36 and 10-21- 39, inclusive, or SDCL 10-9-3, the
department must charge a monetary penalty of $250 for the first violation within a one-year period; $500 for
the second violation within a one-year period; and $1,000 for each subsequent violation within a one-year
period.

The county treasurer must notify the department, in writing, of any violation for failure to obtain a tax affidavit
prior to moving a home.

In addition to a monetary penalty, a transporter or dealer who was responsible for moving a
mobile/manufactured home is liable for any property taxes due the county if a tax affidavit was not obtained
prior to moving the home.

Transporter plates shall not be used to transport a mobile/manufactured home. L. Any person moving a

mobile/manufactured home must have:

. A'single trip permit issued by the county treasurer unless the home is being moved by or for a licensed

mobile/manufactured home dealer.

On any used home, an affidavit issued by the county treasurer in which the home is registered stating that the
current year's taxes have been paid, is required.
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M. Any mobile/manufactured home purchased or transported by or for a dealer must have:

1. On any used home, an affidavit issued by the county treasurer in which the home is registered stating that the
current year's taxes have been paid, is required.

2. A self-issued permit displayed when moving a used or new mobile/manufactured home. There is no fee for the
permit.

3. When a dealer sells a new, used, or an out-of-state titled mobile/manufactured home and is transporting it to
the purchaser, the dealer must file a Property Tax Assessment Form with the director of equalization in the

county of destination. N. Any mobile/manufactured home moved by a transporter must have:

1. On any used home, an affidavit issued by the county treasurer in which the home is registered stating that the
current year's taxes have been paid, is required.

2. A single-trip permit issued by the county treasurer of the county in which the home is registered, stating that
the current year’s taxes are paid.

0. In the event the owner requests the conversion of the manufactured home title record to indicate the manufactured
home is listed as real estate, the following is required:

1. If the title is not already in the name of the person requesting the conversion, the title must be properly
assigned to the person requesting the conversion.

a. Atitle fee is due. (If the title is already in the name of the person requesting the conversion,
no title fee is assessed.)

b. The Motor Vehicle Division's records will reflect the new owner on the computer file system.
c. No liens will be noted on the system.

d. Current manufactured home taxes will have to be paid, so a current tax affidavit must accompany the
request.

e. The Division of Motor Vehicles requires an affidavit of Declaration for a Manufactured Home Placed on
Real Estate. This will require that the title be transferred as real estate.

f. No title document is issued, it is kept as a record in the MVD system.

g. Title cannot be transferred until the owners convert the Real Estate record back to a title record.

h. The Motor Vehicle Division will flag the record so no transfer can take place. Notice will be sent by the
division to the Division of Property Tax in the Department of Revenue, who will notify the Director of
Equalization in the county in which the mobile/manufactured home is located, indicating that the
mobile/manufactured home is being converted to real estate.

P. Conversion of manufactured home that was converted to real estate back to manufactured home (title) status.

1. Documentation that must accompany a request for conversion of a manufactured home real estate record to a

certificate of title: a. Current tax affidavit from the county treasurer in which the home is located.



b. Affidavit of declaration for a manufactured home removed from real estate.

2. An independent report that contains the following:
a. Legal description of the real estate upon which the home is located.
b. Listing of liens or encumbrances against the home or the real estate upon which the home

is located. c. Current owner of the home.

d. Affidavit stating a lien search has been conducted of all records of the following offices where the home is
located and describing any liens revealed by the search:

1) Register of Deeds.

2) Clerk of Courts.

3) County Treasurer.
4) Secretary of State.

If any liens, a lien release from each lienholder or the lien must be noted on the application for title. 32-3-1; 32-3-3.1;
32-3-3.2;32-3-3.3

Mopeds

A. A moped may be licensed and titled if the applicant wishes to obtain title and registration.

B. A moped is defined as a motor driven cycle equipped with two or three wheels. If a combustion engine is used, the
maximum piston or rotor displacement shall be fifty cubic centimeters, regardless of the number of chambers in
such power source. The power source shall be equipped with a power drive system that functions directly or
automatically only, not requiring clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is engaged.

C. Sales tax must be collected by the selling dealer on mopeds and proof of sales tax paid must be furnished at the
time of application. 32-3-1; 32-3-2.3

Golf Carts
A. A golf cart may be titled.

1. A municipality or an improvement district may, by ordinance, permit golf carts on a highway under the
jurisdiction of the municipality. The golf cart must be insured and the driver must have a driver’s license.
A permit must be obtained from the municipality.

2. A golf cart can be used on roads within state parks and state recreation areas that are designated by
GF&P to be used by golf carts. The golf cart must be insured, have a rearview mirror, and have
functioning headlights, and brake lights. The golf cart must display a valid park entrance license. A
person operating a golf cart on any such designated road must hold valid driver license.
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Sales tax must be collected by the selling dealer on any golf cart and proof of payment of the sales tax must be
submitted at the time of application for title. 32-lemon law14-13; 31-14-14; 32-14-15; 32-14-16; 32-20-13

Non-Resident Title and Registration
A. South Dakota title and registration statutes do not expressly prohibit an out-of-state applicant from titling and
registering in South Dakota.

B. An applicant must provide the county where the vehicle will be kept and the applicant’s residence post office
address on the application for title and registration. If an applicant resides out-of- state, the applicant’s actual
address must be used on the application

C. For applicants that are truly nomads (no physical address in this or any other state), an affidavit stating those facts
is required before a mail forwarding address can be used on the application. 32-3-18; 32-5-3

Odometer Statement

A. Federal and State regulations require odometer statements on motor vehicle transactions, unless otherwise
exempted. On South Dakota certificates of title issued after January 1, 1991, the odometer disclosure statement,
which complies with federal/state regulations, is on the assignment of the certificate of title. Required information
to comply with federal/state odometer requirements:

1. Hand-printed name of buyer and seller.

2. Hand-written signature of buyer and seller.

3. Address of buyer and seller.

4. Date of sale.

5. Odometer reading.

6. Odometer indicators. (Actual miles, not actual miles, exceeds mechanical limits, etc.)
7. Complete description of vehicle.

B. Leasing companies are required to follow the same criteria; however, they must complete a federal odometer
disclosure form for leased vehicles which directly relates to the lessor and lessee. This form is retained by the lessor.

c. Under law, the seller is required to retain a copy of the title assignment or the Odometer Statement for five years.

D. If a certificate of title on a vehicle less than 10 years old is submitted without an odometer reading, the last owner
(seller) will be required to disclose the odometer reading to the buyer and the odometer reading will be entered on
the new title.

E. a. Titles and MSOs are not returned if the odometer or signature is missing. On a qualifying vehicle involving a
dealer, a secure dealer reassignment form or a secure power of attorney form is required.
Odometer readings are required on motorcycles (same exemptions).

1. Disclosure on all new and out-of-state motorcycles.

a. Federal regulations require an odometer statement on motorcycles in which the state previously exempted
from odometer disclosure.
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1) Motorcycles with a South Dakota title previously issued showing no odometer reading will be required to comply.
The reading will be shown on the title.

F. Exemptions from federal/state odometer requirements:
1. Vehicle having a weight (shipping weight or gross vehicle weight rating) of more than 16,000 pounds.
2. A vehicle that is not self-propelled (trailers or mobile homes).
3. A vehicle that is ten (10) or more years old [current year (-) 10].

a. Title applications for vehicles 10 years old and older that include an odometer reading will be processed the
same as vehicles under 10 years of age unless:

1) There is a discrepancy between the odometer reading being disclosed and the previous odometer
reading.

2) The odometer reading was not previously disclosed (once there is a skip, the odometer cannot be
shown on the title). In these instances, if the odometer is shown on the assignment, it will become a
part of the vehicle history but will not be printed on the face of the title.

4. A vehicle sold directly by the manufacturer to any agency of the United States in conformity with contractual
specifications.

5. An MSO transfer between dealers. The federal odometer statement is not required until the first retail sale of
the vehicle is made.

6. Snowmobiles.

Federal odometer statement forms are not provided by the Division of Motor Vehicles. 32-3-30.1; 64:28:03:11

Off-Road Vehicles

A. An off-road vehicle (ATV) must be titled. Upon the sale of any off-road vehicle, the dealer or applicant must
complete all forms to apply for title and turn in the application at the county treasurer's office.

1. An "Off-road vehicle" is defined as: any self-propelled, two or more wheeled vehicle designed primarily to be
operated on land other than a highway and includes, but is not limited to, all-terrain vehicles, dune buggies and any
vehicle whose manufacturer's statement of origin (MSO) or manufacturer's certificate of origin (MCO) states that the
vehicle is not for highway use. Off-Road vehicle does not include a farm vehicle. B. 4% motor vehicle excise tax is

collected when titling an off-road vehicle.

=. Any all-terrain vehicle with four or more wheels with a combustion engine having a piston or rotor displacement of
two hundred cubic centimeters or more or any two wheeled all-terrain vehicles having a piston or rotor displacement
of one hundred and twenty cubic centimeters or more may be licensed as a motorcycle to be used on a public
highway. An electric four-wheel off-road unit may also be licensed as a motorcycle to be used on a public highway.

1. Any two-wheeled, three-wheeled, or four-wheeled, all-terrain vehicle using a highway ditch or crossing a
highway to get to and from a field or pasture and being used during farm or ranch labor, is exempt from
annual registration and licensing.
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. Off-Road Vehicle Affidavit must be submitted at time of licensing.

. The licensed two-wheel or four-wheel, all-terrain vehicle may not be operated on the interstate highway.

. An interstate title can be issued to a nonresident (with no temporary SD address) on an off-road vehicle that is titled
in another state. The interstate affidavit form, a copy of the out-of-state title or current out-of-state registration, an
application, and applicable fees are submitted to a county treasurer. The applicant(s) must provide his/her Social
Security number and an out-of-state driver license (copy submitted with the application). The SD interstate title must
be issued in the same name as the out-of-state title/registration.

SDCL 32-20-13, 32-5B-1

Ownership

Consignment Sales by Dealers or Public Auctions
A. Any dealer or public auction may sell or offer to sell South Dakota titled vehicles/boats on consignment.

1. Exception: Any dealer licensed to sell motorcycles, off-road vehicles, snowmobiles, boats and boat trailers, or
public auction, may sell motorcycles, off-road vehicles, snowmobiles, boats, and boat trailers on consignment
from a bordering state. If the bordering state does not issue titles for the consigned unit, the owner must
provide a current state registration and accompanying affidavit stating that their home state does not issue
titles for the unit. A bill of sale, the registration and/or affidavit of statement must be in the possession of the
consignment dealer or public auction along with the proper consignment contract.

B. A titled vehicle that is at least 20 years old and a motorcycle that is at least 30 years old that is not titled in South
Dakota may be sold at a public auction if a title is issued in the name of the seller.

1. Dealer to Dealer consignments is not allowed (unless sold at public auction).
2. A dealer is not allowed to use dealer plates or permits on a consigned vehicle.

3. An out-of-state dealer may sell a vehicle that is at least 20 years old or a motorcycle that is at least 30 years old
that is titled in the dealer's name (out-of-state title) at public auction if the dealer purchases a temporary
permit from the division.

a. The dealer must provide proof that the dealership is in good standing in the dealer's home state and has
no outstanding dealer violations.

b. The fee for the permit is $250 if purchased prior to the auction or $500 if purchased at or after the auction.

c. Any dealer in violation shall be denied a temporary permit for a period of one year from the date of the
violation.

c. Consignment is defined as: the delivery of a vehicle/boat by the owner into the possession of another without
transfer of title for the purpose of sale or where there is any condition that the purchaser does not have an absolute
obligation to pay for the vehicle/boat or has a right to return the vehicle to the seller.

D. Public auction is defined as: a business that is open to the public where South Dakota titled motor vehicles/boats
are consigned, displayed, and auctioned to the highest bidder by an auctioneer.
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E. Auctioneer is defined as: a person who presides over a public auction where following an initial starting price, bids
are taken from 2 or more people until a final bid or price is established for a motor vehicle/boat.

F. If a person trades in a vehicle to a dealer or enters a consignment with a dealer and the vehicle has a lien notated
on the title, the parties may agree that the dealer will satisfy the lien. Failure to satisfy a lien constitutes theft.

1. A dealer must satisfy the lien within ten business days after receipt of the funds.

2. Proof of payment of the lien shall be the confirmation number when payment is made on-line or a copy of the
check and the certified return mail card if payment is not made on-line.

3. A dealer may not offer the vehicle for sale until payment has been made to the lienholder, except on a
consigned vehicle on which the dealer must comply with the terms of the consignment agreement. Proof of
payment shall be documented as listed above “2".

G. Any dealer or public auction that sells or offers to sell South Dakota titled vehicles/boats on consignment shall
enter a contract with the consignor. The contract shall contain, at a minimum, the following information:

1. Name and address of consignor (owner).

2. Name and address of consignee (dealer or auctioneer).

3. Vehicle/boat description: title number, year, make, serial number.
4. When applicable, completed odometer disclosure.

5. Agreed upon price or range.

6. Agreed upon amount that the owner will pay the dealer or auctioneer.

~

. Length of time vehicle/boat will be with the dealer or auctioneer.
8. Disclosure by dealer or auctioneer that the sale is a consignment sale.
9. Signature of owner and dealer or auctioneer.
H. The following documents must be available at the dealership or auction prior to sale of a vehicle/boat:

1. South Dakota title in the name of the consignor or registration and/or affidavit from the owner that their home
state does not title the unit.

2. Completed and signed consignment sales contract containing information set out above; 3. When applicable,
an odometer reading certified by the owner (may be included on contract).

4. Federal FTC Buyer Guide must be displayed in a vehicle being offered for sale on dealer lot.

I. The following documents must be available at the dealership or auction upon sale of a vehicle/boat:



1. South Dakota title properly assigned by the consignor (owner) or registration and/or affidavit from the owner
that their home state
(Bordering SD) does not title the unit.

2. Bill of sale.
3. Prior disbursement of proceeds if lien is indicated (lien must be satisfied and released). J. A violation of these

provisions is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

K. A dealer and auctioneer are required to keep the following records:

1. Dealer or auctioneer must maintain record of consignment sales for 5 years.
2. Dealer or auctioneer must retain a copy of consignment sales contract for 5 years.

L. A dealer or an auctioneer may not sell a vehicle/boat that has a title with a lien on it for less than the full amount of
the lien, without the advance written consent of the lienholder. A dealer or an auctioneer may not release the
proceeds from the sale of a vehicle/boat with a lien until the lienholder signs a release of the lien. A violation of
these provisions is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

M. Every dealer and public auction shall keep books, records, and files. A record shall be kept on every vehicle/boat
offered for sale, including the serial number or vehicle/hull identification number and a description of the
vehicle/boat and the name and address of the owner. If the vehicle/boat is sold, the name and address of the
person purchasing the vehicle/boat and the price for which it is sold.

N. All records must be open and available to inspection by a dealer inspector.

32-6B-3; 32-6B-3.1; 32-6B-3.2; 32-6B-3.3; 32-6B-3.4; 32-6B-3.5; 32-6B-20.3

Duplicate Certificate of Title

A. The duplicate title application can be turned in to any county treasurer.
B. All duplicate title applications must be properly signed.
C. The recorded owner or a duly authorized agent holding power of attorney can apply for a duplicate title.
1. A copy of the power of attorney document must be attached to the application form.
2. Duplicate title will be issued in the name indicated on the original title.
3. If the title has been issued with names joined by “and”, all owners must sign the application.
4. The address can be updated on the application.

D. A duplicate title application can only be submitted when the original title has been lost, mutilated, or destroyed.

1. The mutilated certificate of title must be attached to the application.
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E. Duplicate title applications won't be accepted by the county treasurer or the Division of Motor Vehicles when the
original title
is being held by the lienholder or is an electronic title (ELT).

F. When there are existing liens, the lienholder’s signature must also be on the application, unless a lien release is
attached.

1. If the title has an existing lien and a lien release is submitted with the application, a free and clear title will be
mailed to the address indicated on the form. There is no fee for a lien release.

G. A new lien can be added at time of application for duplicate certificate of title.
1. A copy of the loan contract must be submitted with the application.

2. The new lender does not need to sign the duplicate application.

3. The lien notation fee of $10.00 is due at time of application.

H. In the event of a name change due to marriage, divorce, or a court order, the duplicate title will be issued as the
original title record reads. The title can then be resubmitted with all appropriate documents to change the name.

1. If the applicant's name has changed since the original title was issued, the applicant should sign using the
name that was used on the original title.

2. The application may be signed using both names.

3. If the owner chooses to sign using his/her new name, an affidavit stating he/she is one and the same must
accompany the application.

4. If the title is listed only in the name of a trust, the application must be signed by the trustee(s). The portion of
the trust appointing the trustee(s) and the signature page of the trust must be attached.

5. If the trust appoints multiple trustees with the form of ownership as “and”, all the trustees’ signatures are

required. |. The current odometer reading must be completed on the application if applicable.

J. The duplicate title fee must be collected. 32-3-29

Ownership Transfers

Joint Ownership
A. Assignment should be completed in the regular manner from the recorded owner to the joint ownership.

B. No certificate of title will be issued showing the phrase "and/or" in any joint ownership.

1. Assignment must be completed from the recorded joint owners to the new purchaser as follows:
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"John Doe or Mary Doe" must be assigned by either.

"John Doe and Mary Doe" must be assigned by both.

"John Doe and Mary Doe, with rights of survivorship (WROS)" must be assigned by both except on the death
of one, may be assigned by the survivor, when a certified copy of death certificate is attached to the certificate
of title.

C. If a document had previously been issued with the joint ownership shown as "and/or", form of ownership must be
construed as "or" and the title may be assigned by either owner.

D. To change the type of joint ownership the title and title application must be properly completed and turned in to
the county treasurer with the required title fee. The appropriate exemption must be noted on the title application.

E. The form of ownership on an out-of-state title will be treated the same as a South Dakota title.

F. If there is no form of ownership between the names, it will be interpreted as "and" requiring the signatures of all
owners.

Transfer due to Marriage or Name Change

G. Assignment must be made the same way as any other transfer except on the reverse side of the title, the owner
must sign as seller using the exact name as shown on the face of the title and then type or print their correct
married name as purchaser.

1. The title fee must be charged.

Transfer of Ownership by Court Order

H. The county treasurer requires the surrender of title covering the vehicle(s) involved (if available), along with the
original court order (or a certified copy), the required title fee, and the title application signed by the person
granted ownership of such vehicle(s).

1. An application for each vehicle covered will be required.

Transfer of Ownership by Inheritance/Succession No probate of estate.

1. An Affidavit of Vehicle Ownership by Succession must be completed where there are no probate proceedings in the
matter of the estate of the deceased.

2. If a South Dakota resident inherits a vehicle (not through probate) that is titled in another state, the applicant must
apply for title through the state where the deceased lived.

a) There have been some exceptions to this when the state involved will not title the vehicle because it is not
present in that state or because the applicant is not a resident of that state.

. In these situations, an affidavit from the applicant stating that fact along with the affidavit of succession
(or similar form) from the other state is required to title the vehicle in our state.

Il. The SD affidavit of succession should only be used for South Dakota titled vehicles.
a) The affiant must be an heir of the deceased or a devisee in the deceased'’s will.

b)  The affiant must complete the Affidavit of Vehicle Ownership by Succession indicating who the vehicle title
should be transferred to.



) If the title is to be transferred to a successor, the successor will make application for title and be exempt from the
motor vehicle excise tax.

d) If the title is to be transferred to a purchaser, the purchaser will make application for title and is subject to the
excise tax based on their purchase price. If the purchase price is of no or nominal consideration, tax is due on the
current NADA book value.

3. The county treasurer must require the surrender of the South Dakota title for the motor vehicle set out in the
Affidavit of Vehicle Ownership by Succession. A copy of the will and separate bill of sale is not required to be
submitted.

a) If the title is not available, it must be indicated on the affidavit. A duplicate title application is not required.

4. If more than one vehicle is involved, a separate Affidavit of Vehicle Ownership by Succession must be completed
for each vehicle.

Probate of estate - Personal representative transfers title to heir.
A. The county treasurer must require the surrender of the South Dakota certificate of title.

1. If the title cannot be located, the personal representative must apply for a duplicate before transferring title to
the heir.

2. A copy of the court filed papers appointing the personal representative, an application for title, and the title fee
are also required.

3. If a resident inherits a vehicle titled in another state through probate (letters of appointment of an
administrator or executor) a South Dakota title can be applied for with copies of the probate papers.

4. The Last Will and Testament is not a legal court document and will not be accepted.
5. The certificate of title will be issued to the heir(s).

Probate of estate - Personal representative selling vehicle.

B. The personal representative must complete the assignment of title and attaches a copy of the papers appointing
them as personal representative.

1. If the title is lost, the personal representative must apply for a duplicate before transferring title to the
purchaser.

2. Personal representative paper must accompany the duplicate title application. 64under:28:13:05.; 64:28:13:06.;
64:28:13:04.; 32-3-6.

Replacement of Lost Title Document (Lost in Mail)

A. [f the original title is not received through the mail, the county treasurer can waive the duplicate title fee if:
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1. The application for replacement of lost title is made within ninety (90) days from the date that the original
title was issued.

2. The title is being mailed to the same address the original title was mailed to.
In cases where the original title was received and then lost, the duplicate title fee must be collected.

Requiring South Dakota Driver's License Number or Social Security Number
A. South Dakota driver's license or social security number required.

1. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number of each purchaser must be given. In the case of a
company, the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner’s South Dakota driver's
license number or social security number may be used.

2. Out of state applicants must supply their social security number and US issued photo ID.

3. Out of country applicants must supply a United States social security number, and either a US Passport and
194 form or an out-of-state driver's license.

4. International driver licenses are unacceptable.
B. An applicant must also provide the county in which the vehicle is to be kept (regardless of state).
An applicant must also provide his/her residence post office address. An out-of-state resident is not prohibited from

registering in South Dakota. An applicant must provide his/her actual resident address, which can be out-of-state.
32-5-3; 25-7A-56.2 ; 1-1-26

Transfer of Ownership
A. Individual/private sales and dealer sales allow the seller 45 days from the date of sale to deliver the title to the
buyer. The buyer must apply for title within 45 days from the date of purchase.

B. A properly assigned title must be turned in to the county treasurer.
c. All liens shown on the face of the title should be released by the county treasurer.

1. The county treasurer can accept a title submitted for transfer with an open lien if there is a lien release
attached to the title.

D. The county treasurer must send all documents to the Motor Vehicle Division, no later than the next business day.

1. If the application for title is turned in more than 45 days after the date of sale, in addition to the title
fee, the following applies. a. A late fee for late application for title.

b. Interest and Penalty (applies to motor vehicle excise tax and 4% initial registration fee). All fees are
calculated from purchase date regardless of when an applicant applies for title and registration.

iy The system automatically applies interest on the tax owed for each month or partial month
that the tax payment is late.
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i) Interest will be charged at 1% or $5, whichever is greater, for the first month; and 1% per
month on any application made after 45 days from the date of purchase. (Interest is not
calculated on interest.)

i) A one-time penalty equal to 10% of the tax or $10, whichever is greater, is automatically
applied to any application made after 60 days from the purchase date.

iv) In addition, any person applying for a title more than 90 days after the date of assignment
is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. E. If a buyer fails to transfer the title within 45 days, and
the seller files a written complaint stating the facts, the buyer is guilty of a Class 2
misdemeanor.

F. If a buyer defaults on the terms of the sale within the 45-day period, the seller does not have to deliver the title to
the buyer. The seller must notify the Division of Motor Vehicles in writing of the seller’s refusal to deliver title to the
buyer within 14 days of the buyer's default on the terms of the sale.

G. If the sale date is changed on the title, the applicant must provide proof of the correct purchase date. This could be
done by a bill of sale, sales contract, etc. The penalty would continue to run while the applicant is obtaining proof of
the date of purchase.

H. Use of Secure Power of Attorney

1. Federal regulations prohibit the same person from signing as both the seller and the buyer in the same
transaction involving a sale or purchase by dealer. Federal regulations apply to motor vehicles 9 model years
and newer and less than 16,000 Gross Vehicle Weight Rating.

a. A secure Power of Attorney can only be used if the title is with the lienholder (or ELT) or if the title has
been lost and a duplicate title is required.

b. With the expansion of electronic titles, titles (including out-of-state titles) may be assigned by a dealer
(as seller) with a power of attorney. The title will give the appearance that there was not a lien (or a duplicate
title). In these situations, the Power of Attorney can be accepted, if the title has a recent issue or print date. I. Use

of Non-Secure Power of Attorney
1. A non-secure Power of Attorney may be used when the vehicle is not subject to Federal Odometer regulations.

a. Non-Secure Powers of Attorney are commonly used in private transactions.

Vehicle Age Exemption Schedule

EXEMPTION # 14 (EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2007, ANY MOTOR VEHICLE SOLD OR TRANSFERRED WHICH IS 11 OR MORE
MODEL YEARS OLD AND WHICH IS SOLD OR TRANSFERRED FOR $2,500 OR LESS BEFORE TRADE-IN) -- CURRENT YEAR

(-)11:



As of January 1, 2022-----------------mmmmmmmo- 2011 and older vehicles are exempt As of January 1, 2023-----------
2012 and older vehicles are exempt

Reference: 32-5B-2

SALVAGE TITLE (Vehicles less than 11-years-old) -- CURRENT YEAR () 11:

As of January 1, 2015--------------------------- 2008 and older vehicles/boats are exempt
As of July 1, 2015------—— - 2004 and older vehicles/boats are exempt
As of January 1, 2022---------------------------- 2011 and older vehicles/boats are exempt
As of January 1, 2023------------------mmmmmm - 2012 and older vehicles/boats are exempt
As of January 1, 2024 --------------mmmmmmmmomee 2013 and older vehicles/boats are exempt

Reference: 32-3-51.19

ODOMETER STATEMENT/FEDERAL AND STATE REQUIREMENT
THROUGH DECEMBER 30, 2020: Exemption granted on vehicles 10 or more years
old0 CURRENT YEAR (-) 10

EFFECTIVE DECEMBER 31, 2020: Exemption granted on vehicles 20 or more years old beginning with model year
207710 CURRENT YEAR (-) 20

As of January 1, 2020--------------------------- 2010 and older vehicles are exempt
As of January 1, 20271--------------------mmmmmom- 2011 and older vehicles are exempt
As of January 1, 2022---------------------mmmmo- 2011 and older vehicles are exempt
As of January 1, 2023-----------------mmmmmm - 2011 and older vehicles are exempt
As of January 1, 2024-------------------mmmmmmo- 2011 and older vehicles are exempt

(EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2011) 10-YEAR-OLD VEHICLE LICENSE BREAK (NONCOMMERCIAL VEHICLES 10-YEARS-OLD OR
MORE shall pay 70 percent of the fee originally issued.) — CURRENT YEAR (-) 10:

As of January 1, 2022-----------------mommm - 2012 and older vehicles receive reduction
As of January 1, 2023---------------mmmmmoe oo 2013 and older vehicles receive reduction
As of January 1, 2024------------------mmmmmmmoo - 2014 and older vehicles receive reduction
As of January 1, 2025---------------mmmmmmmme - 2015 and older vehicles receive reduction

Damage and Salvage Dates:

1988 damage (9 years and newer) ------------==-------mmmmoooo—- $1,000
1992 damage-------- === == s $2,000
1999 damage (and damage disclosure notice) ---------------- $3,000
2003 damage (6 years and newer) ---=---=-========mmmmmoommmooo $5,000
2004 damage (boats added) ------------------mmmmmmm oo $5,000
2005 damage (salvage added) --------------=------mmmommmm - $5,000

2010 damage and salvage (salvage recovered theft added) --$5,000
2015 damage disclosure requirement repealed for all vehicles acquired after July 1, 2015.
32-3-7; 32-3-3; 32-3-30.1; 32-3-27
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Recovered Theft

A. If a stolen vehicle is recovered, the insurer or self-insurer, within 30 days of recovery, must inspect the vehicle and
apply for a title as follows:

1. If the vehicle has no damage or the damage is less than that defined in state law, the existing salvage title must
be surrendered to the department. A title fee and a salvage/recovered theft disclosure statement must be
completed. The department will issue a title marked as recovered theft with no salvage notation.

If the condition of the vehicle is such that it would have been determined a salvage vehicle as defined in state law, due
to the damage to the vehicle, the salvage title is retained and the insurer or self-insurer is not required to apply for a
title pursuant to this section. 32-3-51.20

Salvage Title
Salvage Title (Effective July 1, 2015)

1. Qualifying for a salvage title

a. A qualifying salvage motor vehicle includes automobile, motor truck, motorcycles (on-road), house
trailers (campers), and trailers. b. Vehicles that do not qualify for a salvage title include:

ATVs and other off-road vehicles
Dirt Bikes (off road)

Golf Carts

Dune Buggies

Humvees 1 Boats

o o o o 4a

c. Vehicles more than 10 model years old or with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds are
exempt from qualifying for a salvage title.

2. If any insurer, in settlement of a total loss insurance claim, or self-insurer acquires ownership of a salvage vehicle
that does not have a salvage title, the insurer must, within 30 days following acquisition of the title of that vehicle,
surrender the title to the department.

a. A title indicating salvage will be issued to the insurer or self-insurer.

3. If any insurer or self-insurer declares a vehicle to be a total loss but does not acquire ownership of the vehicle, the
owner must obtain a salvage title.

a. The insurer or self-insurer must notify the owner, in writing, of the obligation to obtain a salvage title before
the owner sells or transfers the title.

b. If the owner sells or transfers the ownership of the vehicle without first obtaining a salvage title, the owner is
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
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4. Any motor vehicle 16,000 pounds GVWR or less, regardless of the vehicle’s age, that has a title branded as salvage
or with any other similar brand by another state or jurisdiction, the applicant shall receive a salvage title, or at the
option of the owner, a junking certificate.

5. If an out of state title with a brand is transferred to South Dakota, the South Dakota title will be branded with the
same or similar brand based on the department’s standards.

6. Out-of-state title brands are displayed on all titles in the previous state field. 32-3-51.19; 32-3-51.5

Serial Numbers
A. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VIN):

1.

Title 49, Code of the Federal Regulations, Parts 565 and 571 (Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards Number
115) specify the format, content and location of manufacturer’s certification labels and the VIN system currently
used to simplify vehicle information retrieval and increase the efficiency of vehicle defect recall campaigns.
These regulations apply to trailers as well as other vehicles.

It is a class 6 felony to remove or alter a VIN plate on a vehicle.

In the event the VIN on a vehicle does not match the VIN on the title or paperwork, the vehicle is to be
removed from the dealership lot and the Division of Motor Vehicles or Highway Patrol should be notified.

As a result, the Division of Motor Vehicles passed Administrative Rule 64:30:02:04:01, “VIN Requirements for
Trailers” that requires persons manufacturing trailers use a seventeen (17) digit VIN on each trailer produced.
This Rule went into effect January 1, 1989 and applied to all trailers manufactured after January 1, 1989. Since
August 1978, the approved VIN system has consisted of seventeen (17) digits. However, some trailer
manufacturers were still using systems consisting of fewer than seventeen digits that did not incorporate any
manufacturer identification, resulting in several different trailers having identical numbers.

Part of the VIN consists of a unique identifier of the manufacturer. It is the responsibility of the manufacturer to
obtain an assigned World Manufacturer Identifier that is supplied by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
at no charge. We have been asked that your initial contact concerning VIN requirements be made to the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), VIN Coordinator, at 202-366-6018. Information on
assignments of the manufacturer identifiers can be made through the Society of Automotive Engineers at 412-
772-8511.

Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations and other federal motor vehicle safety standards can be purchased
from: Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington DC 20402 (telephone: 202-
512-1800). These are also available in many law or general libraries.

B. If a serial number of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer is changed, the owner must apply for a rebuilt title.

c. Whenever the serial number is illegible, destroyed, or obliterated, the Department of Revenue will assign a
distinguishing serial number to any motor vehicle, manufactured trailer that weighs over 3,000 pounds, or
semitrailer or any component part thereof.

1.

2.

If a number is assigned by the department, the owner must have the number attached by an employee of the
Department of Revenue or the Highway Patrol.

On manufactured trailers that weigh 3,000 pounds or under and homemade trailers, the county treasurer will
assign a serial number that the applicant is responsible for stamping on the trailer. When the assigned number
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is placed on the trailer, a physical inspection must be made of the assigned number on the trailer by a law
enforcement officer and verified on the Permission for Special Serial Number form.

a. When a manufactured trailer that weighs 3,000 pounds or under is assigned a special serial number by the
county treasurer, the application for title must denote the manufacturer's vehicle information (year, make,
and model).

3. The vehicle will then be registered under the assigned number then such registration is required.
4. Existing liens on the motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer must be carried forward.

5. The new title will be issued.

6. The removal, alteration, or failure to have the serial number attached is a Class 6 felony.

7. The fee for issuance and attachment of serial number is $25.

D. If a travel trailer is converted to a trailer, a weight slip is needed. The title must be submitted for correction of the
type of vehicle from a travel trailer to a trailer. A new serial number is not required. A trailer conversion does not
require a new serial number, because the serial number does not distinguish and determine the type of trailer.

If a motorcycle or vehicle is changed, a new serial number is required (i.e., a motorcycle converted to a three-wheel
motorcycle, title would be issued as assembled, rebuilt). A motorcycle conversion requires a new serial number,
because the serial number distinguishes and determines the type of motorcycle. 64:30

Snowmobiles

A. Upon the sale of any snowmobile the dealer or applicant must complete all forms to apply for title and turn in the
application at the county treasurer's office.

1. A snowmobile is defined as: Any engine-driven vehicle of a type which uses sled type runners or skis with an
endless belt tread or similar means of contact with the surface upon which it is operated and the vehicle does
not exceed forty-eight inches in width.

B. All snowmobiles used on public and private lands and any frozen public waters within territorial limits of South
Dakota must be licensed.

C. Payment of the annual license fees must be made prior to the operation of, or permitting the operation of, any
snowmobile within this state.

1. The initial fees are prorated monthly and the snowmobile is registered under our staggered registration
system, with expiration on the last day of the month of the year for which it was issued.

2. The snowmobile license decal stays with the snowmobile and credit is given to the new owner for any months
remaining on the license.

D. Operating motorcycles as snowmobiles.


http://sdlegislature.gov/Rules/DisplayRule.aspx?Rule=64:30

1. The motorcycle must be titled as a motorcycle, the title is not converted to snowmobile title. All changes to
the unit must comply with the definition of a snowmobile to obtain a permit.

2. The annual permit to use a motorcycle as a snowmobile is issued by the Department of Game, Fish, and Parks.

32-5-9.1; 32-5-9.2; 32-5-9.3; 32-5-84.2; 32-5-84; 32-20A-25

South Dakota Requirements for Out of Country Title Documents
A. A vehicle owner titling a new or used vehicle in South Dakota from a foreign country shall present as evidence of
ownership the following:

1. A Current Registration Certificate, Certificate of Title, Foreign Country Ownership Document, or
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO).
a. In Canada, their similar form is referred to as a New Vehicle Information Statement (NVIS), and in Europe
their similar form is referred to as a European Community Certificate of Conformity.

2. A Bill of Sale (if ownership document is not in applicant’s name)

AND THE FOLLOWING IMPORT PAPERS AS PROOF OF LEGAL ENTRY

1. U.S. Customs Form 7501 (This form can be electronically signed and if it is it doesn’t need a stamp. If the form
is ink signed it needs a stamp from CBP)

a. The CBP Form 7501 is signed and stamped (if applicable) by the CBP when all the necessary
documentation is received, and the vehicle meets all applicable requirements at the time of importation.
This document identifies that the importation process was successful

2. EPA Form 3520-8 or EPA Form 3520-1

3. If EPA form 3520 is not submitted, then Certificate of Fact from importer attesting NHTSA guidelines were
followed — 30-day time has lapsed.

4. NHTSA Form HS-7

5. For a Canadian title or registration document a Lien Quest/Car Proof CA

B. A vehicle owner titling a new or used boat or trailer in South Dakota from a foreign country shall present as
evidence of ownership the following:

1. A Current Registration Certificate, Certificate of Title, Foreign Country Ownership Document, or
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO).
a. In Canada, their similar form is referred to as a New Vehicle Information Statement (NVIS), and in Europe
their similar form is referred to as a European Community Certificate of Conformity.
2. A Bill of Sale (if ownership document is not in applicant’s name)

AND THE FOLLOWING IMPORT PAPERS AS PROOF OF LEGAL ENTRY

1. U.S. Customs Form 7501 (This form can be electronically signed and if it is it doesn't need a stamp. If the form
is ink signed it needs a stamp from CBP)
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a. The CBP Form 7501 is signed and stamped (if applicable) by the CBP when all the necessary
documentation is received, and the vehicle meets all applicable requirements at the time of importation.
This document identifies that the importation process was successful

2. For a Canadian title or registration document a Lien Quest/Car Proof CA

The following Federal Government Agencies oversee different requirements involved in the import of vehicles:

3. Emission Standards:
« Environmental Protection Agency — (800) 223-0425, Kansas City, KS.

4. The following agencies control the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards:
* National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration - (202) 366-5291, Washington D.C.
+ Department of Transportation: Canadian and Foreign Imports - (202) 366-5309 Washington D.C.
* United States Customs South Dakota Port of Entry — (605)-338-4384

Title Transfers

Assignment of Certificate of Title
A. Assignment of a title must be made by the recorded owner or owners or by a fully appointed agent.

1. Papers of appointment (power of attorney) must be attached to the title document when the assignment is
made by an appointed agent.

2. If a title is being put in the name of a trust, the trustee(s) must be indicated on the title.

3. If a title is issued in the name of a trust without a trustee indicated, a copy of the trust papers must be

submitted. B. Transfer of ownership must be made by an assignment on the reverse side of the certificate of

title.

C. A separate bill of sale will not be accepted in addition to or in place of a South Dakota certificate of title or a
required assignment.

D. A properly assigned title must be submitted to the county treasurer's office in the applicant's county of residence.
E. Licensed dealers can reassign a title.

1. Only a licensed dealer is authorized to do multiple reassignments on a title.

2. If the title does not have additional reassignment space on the back, the dealer must use a Secured Dealer
Reassignment form (form not provided by the State).

3. An out-of-state title that is reassigned to an insurance company (from a state that permits such
reassignments) can do multiple reassignments.



a. South Dakota titles cannot be reassigned by an insurance company.
F. Federal odometer regulations require that the odometer statement is completed on the title reassignment.
1. Itis a Class 6 felony to falsify information on the odometer disclosure.
2. The Division may refuse to transfer or issue a title if the owner or seller does not complete the information.

3. Odometer disclosure information is not required for the following vehicles:

a. Prior to December 30,2020, a vehicle that is ten (10) or more years old.

b. As of December 31, 2020, beginning with model year 2011 vehicles, a vehicle that is twenty (20) or more
years old.

c. A vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds.

d. Snowmobiles, manufactured homes, off-road vehicles, trailers, and boats. 32-3-30; 32-3-30.1; 32-3-38;
32-3-47; 32-3-57; 64:28:09

Title Only

A. In limited situations, obtaining a title without payment of motor vehicle excise tax is allowed.
1. The title only tax exemption is intended for vehicles with special circumstances.

2. These vehicles will not operate on the streets and highways or waterways of this state or any state and must
be hauled or transported to their destination and not driven over the roadways. The title only tax exemption
must be requested within 45 days of the date of purchase and prior to a title being issued.

B. In situations where title only is granted, various taxes such as sales tax, use tax and municipal taxes may be
applicable based on the provisions in those tax laws.

1. Proof of payment of applicable taxes, such as bill of sale, should be submitted to the County Treasurer along
with the motor vehicle title application for the title only tax exemption.

C. When a vehicle qualifies for the title only tax exemption, the vehicle may not be registered and license plates are
not issued.

1. If the vehicle is later registered and plated so it may operate on streets and highways or waterways, the
motor vehicle excise tax must be paid at that time.

2. If the vehicle is currently titled and assigned license plates, the plates must be surrendered to the County
Treasurer Office upon application for the title only tax exemption.

Vehicles eligible for the title only tax exemption include:

o Racing vehicles that are not street legal and will only be driven on racetracks.

o A newly purchased vehicle wrecked prior to titling of the vehicle that will be turned over to the insurance
company or otherwise disposed of and not used on the roadways.
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o Abandon vehicles towed by a removal agency as outlined in law.
o Vehicles obtained legally through a Mechanic's Lien or Unpaid Repair Bill.

o Vehicles being awarded as a prize via an officially registered raffle within the state of South Dakota. The
raffle winner will be required to title and register the vehicle in their state of residency.

o Manufacturer Buy Back going into manufacturer's name.

3. Any person applying for the title only tax exemption must complete the motor vehicle application for title
and registration application with the exemption indicated.

For policy clarification purposes, the following are exclusions from this policy:

o Travel trailers and campers (including park models) are not eligible for the title only tax exemption. These
vehicles are titled and are intended to be mobile and use the roads and highways to reach their destination
regardless of whether the location is temporary or permanent.

o Off road vehicles used on privately owned property for farm use. These vehicles are titled but are not
required to be licensed unless they will be used on public roads.

o Certain equipment is intended for specialized use and is not eligible to be titled (and therefore not eligible
for the title

only tax exemption). Examples include:

0 Farm equipment or implements of husbandry such as: hay grinders, feed mixers, etc.
0 Towing vehicles or auxiliary axles such as: tow dolly, flip axle, jeep, jeep booster, etc.

0 Specialized mobile equipment such as: log splitters, air compressors barbeque pits, etc., which are not designed
to haul ancillary items.

Title Transfer Requirements

All Title Transfers must have the following:
A. Application for a South Dakota Motor Vehicle Title.

1. Every owner of a motor vehicle that is operated or driven upon the public highways of this state must present
to the county treasurer of their county an application for the registration of that vehicle. The application must
be filed in the county of the new applicant's residence, in accordance with an Attorney General's opinion and
state statute.

2. Any person who intentionally falsifies information required on the application or provides erroneous
information is guilty of a Class 6 felony.



3. The division will not accept an incomplete application form or an application form that the Division considers
inaccurate or appears to be altered.

4. The application must be signed by the record owner(s) or by an authorized agent for the record owner(s). If

the application is signed by an authorized agent, a power of attorney document must be attached to verify
the appointment.

B. A manufacturer's statement of origin (MSO) or manufacturer's certificate of origin (MCO) or title, properly assigned
to the applicant, must be attached.

C. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number of each purchaser must be given. In the case of a

company, the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner’s South Dakota driver’s license
number or social security number may be used.

D. If the vehicle was purchased out-of-state or from a private seller, a bill of sale, purchase order, or sales contract
must be attached. If the dealer price certification on the title application is not complete and the applicant
purchased the vehicle from a South Dakota dealer, a purchase order must be attached.

1. The seller of the motor vehicle must provide the purchaser with a bill of sale. The bill of sale should contain
the following information:

a. A complete description of the vehicle (make, model, serial number).
b. Selling price of the vehicle.
c. Date of sale.
d. Purchaser information (name and address).
e. The bill of sale must be signed by the seller.
2. If a bill of sale cannot be furnished, the excise tax will be assessed on the retail value as stated in a nationally
recognized dealer's guide as approved by the Secretary of Revenue. A statement by the purchaser indicating

that a bill of sale cannot be obtained must be attached, or the area indicating such on the title application
must be checked.

E. Purchase price on a vehicle is the total amount paid whether received in money, tangible trade, or otherwise.

a. The trade-in value of any damaged motor vehicle may include the value of any check from an insurance
company which is intended to cover the damages of the traded motor vehicle. The damaged vehicle
and the insurance check must be turned into the dealer to receive trade-in credit.

b. Total amount paid must include cash down payments, cash rebates, money and any other item given as
payment for the vehicle.

c. Discounts are allowed, but a purchase agreement is required to substantiate the discount.



F. Payment of the correct amount of motor vehicle excise tax, a title fee, and any license fees as may be required
must be collected. Failure to pay the full amount of excise tax is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

64:28:03; 64:28:09; 64:29:02; 32-5B-1; 32-5B-4; 32-5B-4.1

Title Transfer on Used assignment of certificate of title by Individual/Private Sale
A. Individual or private vehicle sales have 45 days from the date of purchase to deliver or take title.

B. The seller must provide the purchaser a seller's permit to allow for the movement of the vehicle until the title is
transferred.

1. The seller will take their license plates from the vehicle.

2. The seller’s permit is valid for 45 days. Seller's permits may be obtained from a country treasurer’s office or
printed online at http://mysdcars.sd.gov.

C. A new purchaser can obtain a 5-15-day permit for a fee of $1 per day if extended time is necessary beyond the 45-
day seller's permit. These permits are available at a county treasurer’s office.

32-5-2.9; 32-5-2.7; 32-5-107

Transfer of Ownership on Abandoned Mobile/Manufactured Homes
A. Abandoned Mobile/Manufactured Home

1. If a home has been abandoned and left on leased real property, the owner of the real property may sell the
home under the provisions of chapter 21-54 (Foreclosure of Personal Property Liens and Pledges by
Advertisement).

a. A home is considered abandoned if the owner has not removed it within 30 days of the court issuing a
writ of possession as provided in chapter 21-16 (Forcible Entry and Detainer). Upon issuance of the writ
of possession by the court, the owner of the real property must give the owner and any lienholder (lien
noted on the title) written notice of intent to sell the home pursuant to chapter 21-54 (foreclosure) if the
home is not removed within 30 days. The notice must be sent by certified mail.

b. The sale is subject to any taxes owed on the home and unpaid lot rent. The unpaid lot rent may not
exceed two months lot rent at the price previously agreed to by the owner of the real property and the
owner of the home.

c. After the owner of the home has received 30 days written notice, and before the owner of the property
proceeds with the sale, the property owner must provide written notice of intent to sell the home to the
county treasurer where the home is located.

d. If the county treasurer has not issued a distress warrant and informed the property owner of such
issuance within 30 days of the notice or the home has not been removed by its owner or lienholder
within 30 days of the notice, the property owner may proceed with the sale pursuant to chapter 21-54.

e. If the home fails to sell at a sale held pursuant to chapter 21-54, title to the home vests with the property
owner. The property owner can obtain an abandoned title without payment or obligation to pay any
taxes owed on the home or any lien on the home at time of acquisition. However, if the property owner
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intends any use of the home other than disposal, the property owner can obtain an abandoned title after
paying any taxes owed on the home.

f. If a property owner obtains a title on the home, the owner must obtain a permit to move the home. If the
property owner files an affidavit with the county treasurer stating that the owner is going to move the
home for the sole purpose of disposal, the treasurer must issue the permit without receiving payment of
the current year's taxes. The county treasurer must deliver the affidavit to the board of county
commissioners after issuance of the permit. The board must abate any taxes owed on the home.

2. An owner of an unencumbered, except for taxes owed, mobile home or manufactured home may voluntarily
transfer the title of the mobile home or manufactured home, for the sole purpose of disposal, to the owner of
the real property on which the mobile home or manufactured home is located.

a. The treasurer shall issue a title to the owner of the real property on which the mobile home or
manufactured home is located without payment or obligation to pay any taxes owed on the home at the
time of acquisition.

b. Prior to the disposal, the owner of the real property shall submit an affidavit for disposal of the mobile
home or manufactured home, along with the properly endorsed title, to the country treasurer. The
affidavit shall verify that the title was transferred for disposal purposes only and that no consideration
was exchanged.

c. County treasurers must issue a permit to move the mobile home or manufactured home for disposal
purposes without receiving payment of taxes owed.

d. The owner of the real property has 90 days from the date of the affidavit to dispose of the mobile home
or manufactured home and to surrender the title to the county treasurer.

e. The county treasurer may allow an additional 60 days for disposal upon request by the owner of the
mobile home or manufactured home upon good cause.

If the title is not surrendered to the county treasurer in a timely fashion, the owner of the real property is liable for all
taxes owed on the mobile home or manufactured home.

32-36-1 32-36-2 32-36-3 32-36-4 32-36-4.1 32-36-5 32-36-6 32-36-7 32-36-8 32-36-9 32-36-10
32-36-11

Transfer of Ownership on Abandoned Vehicles
A. Criteria that must be met to qualify for application for an abandoned vehicle title (this is different for
mobile/manufactured homes).

1. The vehicle must have been towed by a removal agency.

2. Written notice, by certified mail, must have been sent to the owner and lienholder, if applicable, within 45 days
of removal of the vehicle.

B. Any owner that intentionally abandons a vehicle on any public highway or right-of-way is civilly liable to the
removal company for the expense of towing and storing the vehicle.

1. ltis a class 2 misdemeanor to abandon a motor vehicle on any public highway or right-of-way.
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2. A person convicted of abandoning a vehicle will be ordered to pay any reasonable towing and storage fees.
The court will suspend the fine if the person pays the towing and storage fees.

c. No removal agency may remove abandoned, wrecked, or impounded motor vehicles or other scrap metals from
private property without written permission of the landowner or tenant.

1. The Department of Revenue must provide the removal agency with the last known address of the record holder
of title and any readily identifiable lienholders free of charge.

2. If a removal agency removes any unattended vehicle from a public street or highway and the removal is not at
the written request of the owner, an authorized agent of the owner, or a law enforcement officer, the removal
agency must report the removal to the owner within 24 hours of removing the vehicle.

a. If the removal agency is unable to contact the owner, the removal agency must report the removal to the
county sheriff, if the removal occurred outside any municipality, or to the chief of police if the removal
occurred inside any municipality within 24 hours of removing the vehicle. b. Failure to make a report
is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

c. The removal agency is not entitled to any towing or storage fees for the removed vehicle and no such fees
may be billed or collected by the removal agency.

D. If the vehicle is being removed by the removal agency:

1. The sheriff, law enforcement officer, or removal agency taking custody of any vehicle has a possessory lien on
the vehicle and the contents of the vehicle for reasonable costs in taking custody and storing the vehicle.

a. No lien on the contents of the vehicle may exceed $500. No possessory lien attaches to the tools and
implements, which a person uses and keeps for the purpose of carrying on his or her trade or business, or
to any clothing or food.

2. Within 10 to 45 days after any abandoned, wrecked, or impounded motor vehicle or other scrap metal has been
removed, the removal agency shall send written notice by certified mail to the registered owner and to all
readily identifiable lienholders of record at their last known address.

a. The notice must have the date and place of the taking, the year, the make, model and serial number of the
abandoned motor vehicle, and the place where the vehicle is being held, and shall inform the owner and
any lienholders of their right to reclaim the vehicle.

b. The notice must be on a form provided by the Department of Revenue.

i. If the removal agency does not give notice within 10 days from the date of removal, no storage
may be charged beyond the 10day period until the notice is mailed.

i. Notice must be sent within 45 days to qualify for an abandoned title.

1. If it is impossible to determine with reasonable certainty the identity and address of the registered owner and all
lienholders, the notice must be published once in a newspaper of general circulation in the area where the motor
vehicle was abandoned.

a. Published notices may be grouped together for convenience and economy.



4. If the record holder of title fails to claim and remove the vehicle within thirty (30) days, title to the vehicle is
irrevocably vested in the removal agency.

A. The removal agency must then apply to the county treasurer for a regular title or a junk title.

3. Once a junking certificate is issued, a regular title may never be obtained. o
If a regular title is issued, the title must carry a notation of "Abandon" in the transaction field on the title
document, to represent an abandoned vehicle.

B. If the owner or lienholder does not surrender the title of the vehicle or scrap metal to the removal agency, the
agency must submit the following to the county treasurer:

1. A completed title application.

2. Copy of the written notice sent to the registered owner of record and the lienholder (if applicable).

3. Copy of the tow ticket when removed from public property or copy of the written approval from the landowner
when removed from private property.

4. A title fees.
c. The Department of Revenue will verify the vehicle information against the stolen vehicle file.
1. If the vehicle is found to be stolen, title will not be issued.
D. The removal agency may elect to register the vehicle at the time of application for an abandoned title.

The applicant must pay the motor vehicle excise tax, unless otherwise exempted, based on the NADA book value (if
applicable), any license fees, and the title fee.

E. A vehicle that is left on private property and not reclaimed by the owner is not subject to an abandon title unless it
is towed by a removal agency. The removal agency must have written permission from the landowner.

F. For vehicles left unclaimed for a period of 30 days, because of an unpaid repair bill on private property, refer to
Transfer of Ownership on an Unpaid Repair Bill" section.

G. For a vehicle that is 11 years old or more that is acquired as the result of the purchase of property (for example, a
farmer on whose land there is an abandoned vehicle), or similar situation, the landowner may apply for a title by
submitting the following:

1. If a record owner is on file, proof of notice by certified letter to the record owner and any lienholders of the
intent to apply for a title, an affidavit of facts, an application for title, and a title fee.

2. The division reserves the right to deny the application if it is determined that sufficient documentation is not
provided to establish proper ownership of the vehicle.

This is not an abandoned vehicle transaction and the title is not branded “abandoned”. 32-36

Transfer of Ownership on Auction Agency

A. Criteria that must be met for an auction agency to qualify for title to a vehicle they are in possession of that was
subject to an insurance claim.
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1. The vehicle must have been towed by an auction agency, at the request of an insurer.

2. Written notice by certified mail, or a similar service that provides proof of delivery, must have been sent to the
owner and lienholder, if applicable.

3. If an owner cannot be identified, a notice must be published once in a newspaper of general circulation in the
area where the motor vehicle was acquired by the auction agency.

4. The notice is on a form prescribed by the department: Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, Storage
Facility Lien, or Auction Agency Form.

B. Title will vest in the auction agency name if the vehicle is not reclaimed by its owner or any lienholder within 45
days from their receipt of the notice.

C. The auction agency must submit the following to the county treasurer:
1. A completed title application.

2. Copy of the written notice sent to the registered owner of record and the lienholder (if applicable).
3. Atitle fees.

D. The vehicle must be sold by the auction agency and any excess proceeds received from the sale, beyond the
reasonable charges incurred by the auction agency, shall be paid jointly to the owner and any prior lienholder.

If the auction agency cannot identify or contact the owner or any lienholder, any excess proceeds received shall be
sent to the state treasurer and treated as unclaimed property. 32-3-74, 32-3-75, 32-3-76

Transfer of Ownership on Storage Lien
A. Criteria that must be met to qualify for application for an abandoned storage facility vehicle title (this is different
for mobile/manufactured homes).

1. The vehicle must have been under a rental agreement with a licensed storage facility and rent or other
charges under the rental agreement have remained unpaid for 60 days.

2. Written notice, by certified mail, must have been sent to the owner and lienholder, if applicable, within 45 days
of unpaid fees.

3. The Department of Revenue must provide the storage facility with the last known address of the record holder
of title and any readily identifiable lienholders free of charge.

4. Within 10 to 45 days after any abandoned due to 60 days of unpaid storage fees, the storage facility shall
send written notice by certified mail to the registered owner and to all readily identifiable lienholders of record
at their last known address.
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a. The notice must have the year, make, model and serial number of the abandoned motor vehicle, and the
place where the vehicle has been stored, and shall inform the owner and any lienholders of their right to
reclaim the vehicle.

b. The notice must be on a form provided by the Department of Revenue.

i. If the storage facility does not give notice within 10 days from the default of payment, no
storage may be charged beyond the 10-day period until the notice is mailed.

ii. Notice must be sent within 45 days to qualify for an abandoned title.

B. Ifitis impossible to determine with reasonable certainty the identity and address of the registered owner and all
lienholders, the notice must be published once in a newspaper of general circulation in the area where the motor
vehicle was abandoned.

a. Published notices may be grouped together for convenience and economy.

1. If the record holder of title fails to claim and remove the vehicle within thirty (30) days, title to the vehicle is
irrevocably vested in the storage facility.

C. The storage facility must then apply to the county treasurer for a regular title or a junk title.
1. Once a junking certificate is issued, a regular title may never be obtained.

2. If aregular title is issued, the title must carry a notation of "Abandon" in the transaction field on the title
document, to represent an abandoned vehicle.

D. If the owner or lienholder does not reclaim the vehicle or pay the storage fees, the facility must submit the
following to the county treasurer:

1. A completed title application.

2. Copy of the written notice sent to the registered owner of record and the lienholder (if applicable).

3. A copy of the storage rental agreement.
4. A title fees.

E. The Department of Revenue will verify the vehicle information against the stolen vehicle file.
1. If the vehicle is found to be stolen, title will not be issued.

F. The storage facility may elect to register the vehicle at the time of application for an abandoned title.

1. If choosing to register the vehicle, the applicant must pay the motor vehicle excise tax, unless otherwise
exempted, based on the NADA book value (if applicable), any license fees, and the title fee.

For vehicles left unclaimed for a period of 30 days, because of an unpaid repair bill on private property, refer to
Transfer of Ownership on an Unpaid Repair Bill" section. 44-14-2, 44-14-3(13)
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Transfer of Ownership on Unpaid Repair Bill Vehicle Unclaimed Vehicle
The unclaimed vehicle due to unpaid repair bill is a means for repair facilities to re-coup unpaid fees due on the
repair of motor vehicles. The title to any motor vehicle left at a repair facility with an unpaid bill vest in the repair
facility. The procedure is as follows:

« The repair facility must send notice by certified mail to the owner of record and any lienholders noted on the
title. (MVD will provide owner/lienholder information through the DPPA process free of charge.)

+ If owner and lienholder information cannot be furnished, the repair shop may publish notice in the newspaper
in the area the vehicle was left for repair.

+ The owner/lienholder/insurer may reclaim the vehicle within 30 days of notice by paying the repair bill.

« Thirty (30) days after the repair facility sends notice to the owner/lienholder/insurer, title vests in the repair
facility and the vehicle must be sold at public auction.

« Any money more than the repair bill must be forwarded to the owner/lienholder. If the
owner/lienholder/insurer is unidentifiable the excess money must be forwarded to the state treasurer and
treated as unclaimed property.

The unclaimed vehicle due to unpaid repair bill procedure does not apply to boats or off-road vehicles nor does it
include storage fees.

A. A person may apply for a title on a vehicle that is left unclaimed, as the result of an unpaid repair bill on private
property for a period of 30 days.

1. Written notice of intent to apply for a title must be given the owner at the last known address, and any
lienholder or identifiable insurer by certified mail.

1. The notice is on a form prescribed by the department: Notice of Abandoned, Unpaid Repair Bill, Storage
Facility Lien, or Auction Agency.

B. If an owner cannot be identified, a notice must be published once in a newspaper where the vehicle was left for
repair.

C. Title will vest with the person to whom the unpaid repair bill is payable and who has complied with all the
requirements after 30 days from the date the notice was sent.

D. If the owner, insurer, or lienholder intends to reclaim the vehicle, notification of intent to reclaim the vehicle must
be sent to the department and the repair facility within 30 days of receipt of the notice.

1. If the vehicle is not reclaimed or removed within 30 days after mailing of the notice of intent to reclaim the
vehicle, title irrevocably vests in the person to whom the repair bill is payable and who has complied with the
requirements.

E. The vehicle must be sold at public auction and any excess money above settlement of the debt must be forwarded
to the prior owner, insurer, and any other party with a legal interest in the vehicle. It is not necessary to use an
actual "auctioneer” to conduct the sale.

F. If the owner, insurer, and any lienholders are unidentifiable or not able to be contacted, the excess money shall be
sent to the state treasurer and treated as unclaimed property.


http://www.sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-3-67

G. An application for title along with a copy of the completed form and title fee are submitted to the county
treasurer's office of the applicant’s county of residence.

32-3-67; 32-3-69; 32-3-68; 21-54-5

Titling Leased/Rented Motor Vehicles

A. Definitions:

1.

"Leased vehicle," A motor vehicle titled in the name of a leasing company or the individual leasing the motor
vehicle, which is leased for a period of more than 28 days.

"Rental vehicle,” A motor vehicle or motorcycle (as of July 1, 2015) titled in the name of a rental company
licensed under 10-45 (sales tax license) which is rented for 28 days or less; or a trailer which is titled in the
name of a rental company licensed under chapter 10-45 (sales tax license) and that has a shipping or empty
weight of 9,000 pounds or more, that is rented for 6 months or less and that is not consecutively rented to the
same person for more than one 6-month period.

B. CLOSED LEASE (TERMS OF THE LEASE ARE KNOWN AT THE TIME THE CONTRACT IS EXECUTED). Vehicles
with a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 16,000 pounds, motorcycles, leased for more than 28 days.

1.

The lessor must title and license the vehicle. In the case of a leasing company within a dealership, the leasing
company name must be separate and distinct from that of the dealership.

The lessor and the lessee's name must appear on the title.

Under plate with owner, either the lessor or the lessee is the owner of the plates and upon sale or transfer of
the vehicle can remove the plates, which can then be attached to a newly acquired vehicle upon title and
registration of the newly acquired vehicle through the county treasurer.

The lessor or the lessee must pay the motor vehicle excise tax on the purchase price of the vehicle (purchase
price as defined in 3a).

a. Purchase price on a leased vehicle that is a closed lease (terms of the lease are known at the time the
contract is executed) is the total consideration whether received in money or otherwise. Total
consideration is all lease payments, including cash, rebates, the net trade in, extended warranties,
administrative fees, acquisition fees, or any other fees assessed on the purchase of the vehicle. Total
consideration does not include title fees, registration fees, vehicle excise tax, federal excise tax attributable
to the sale of the vehicle to the owner or to the lease of the vehicle by the owner, insurance, and
refundable deposits.

b. Calculation of the tax shall be done on the tax worksheet entitled South Dakota Closed Lease Tax
Worksheet. A copy of the worksheet must accompany the application for title and registration. The
signature area must be completed on the worksheet or the purchase price must be certified on the
application for title and registration.

c. A copy of the lease agreement is required; however, leasing companies that lease to large
companies/corporations for confidentiality reasons do not want to supply the 30-to-100-page lease
agreement. In these situations, please obtain the attachment to the lease known as a Schedule A. If the
Schedule A has the vehicle information, the lessor and lessee names, the terms of the lease (which includes
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the monthly payment, the dates involved, information about the end of the lease), and signatures of the
lessor and lessee, the actual lease agreement is not required.

5. If the term of the lease is extended or if the vehicle is leased for an additional period; excise tax is assessed on
the additional lease payments and must be paid by the lessor.

a. If additional consideration is paid during the lease or upon termination of the lease, the excise tax is
assessed on such amount and is to be paid by the lessor.

1. Additional consideration does not include a late fee that a lessor may assess a lessee on a late lease
payment.

b. The South Dakota tax worksheet entitled, South Dakota Extended or Additional Consideration Lease Tax
Worksheet is to be used to remit the additional tax.

c. The title does not have to be submitted but can be if the lessor wants the additional tax to be shown on
the title. If the title is submitted a title fee is required.

6. If the lessee buys the vehicle at the end of the lease, excise tax is assessed on the purchase price of the vehicle
at the end of the lease.

a. The lessor/dealer must assign and deliver the title to the lessee along with an application certifying the
purchase price of the vehicle and the required fees and taxes must be paid to the lessee's county
treasurer's office.

b. If a lease is terminated prior to the termination date contained in the lease agreement, no refund is given
for tax previously paid.

c. If prior to the expiration of a lease, the leased vehicle is destroyed by fire, accident, or vandalism to the
extent that it constitutes a total loss of the vehicle, credit for the lease tax paid for the period remaining on
the previous lease is allowed if another vehicle is substituted under the original lease or a new lease is
executed with the intent to replace the vehicle subject to the previous lease.

1. The new lease or substituted vehicle under the original lease must be executed by the same lessor and
lessee for lease of a vehicle of the same or similar make, model, year, and options as the vehicle
subject to the previous lease.

2. The lease must be for the remaining lease period as the previous lease, for the same lease price and
under the same lease terms as the previous lease.

7. Leased vehicles entering the state under a lease are subject to tax on the date the vehicle enters this state for
the remaining months in the lease period.

a. Credit is given for tax that has been paid up-front to another state. The applicant must submit proof of
payment of the tax. The lessee and the lessor must remain the same. Calculation of the tax should be done
on the South Dakota Closed Lease Tax Worksheet. A copy of the lease is required. [No credit is given if
payment of the tax on a lease was being made to another state monthly.]

b. In the event tax was being paid by the lessee to another state monthly, the county treasurer shall require
the leasing company making application for title and license to submit a completed application for title



and registration, a South Dakota Lease Tax Worksheet for Out-Of-State Vehicle Lease, and a copy of the
lease agreement.

8. When entering a lease transaction on the computer system that falls under Section 6A above, in which more
tax has been paid to another state than is due South Dakota, the purchase price, as indicated on the worksheet
is entered, the amount of tax paid to the other state is shown as a credit, and no amount is entered in the tax
amount area.

C. OPEN-END LEASE (TERMS OF THE LEASE ARE NOT CERTAIN AT THE TIME THE LEASE IS EXECUTED OR THE
LEASE IS OPEN-ENDED).

Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 16,000 pounds, motorcycles, and off-road vehicles,

leased for more than 28 days.

1. The lessor must title and license the vehicle. In the case of a leasing company within a dealership, the leasing
company name must be separate and distinct from that of the dealership.

2. The lessor and the lessee's name must appear on the title.

3. The lessor or the lessee must pay the motor vehicle excise tax on the purchase price of the vehicle (purchase
price as defined in 3a).

a. Purchase price on a leased vehicle in which the terms of the lease are either not certain at the time the
lease contract is executed or the lease is open-ended, shall be the total consideration whether received in
money or otherwise. Total consideration includes the purchase price of the vehicle, plus cash, rebates, net
trade-in, extended warranties, administrative fees, acquisition fees, or any other fees assessed on the
purchase of the vehicle. Total consideration does not include title fees, registration fees, excise tax, federal
excise tax, insurance, and refundable deposits.

b. Credit is given for tax previously paid to another state. The applicant must submit proof of payment of the
tax. The lessor and the lessee must remain the same.

c. No lease tax worksheet is required on an open-end lease. A document from the lessor indicating it is an
open-end lease must accompany the application for title.

d. The purchase price of the vehicle is certified by the dealer on the application for title (MV608) or a
purchase order must be submitted to substantiate the vehicles’ purchase price.

e. Unless the lessee is not indicated on the paperwork, a copy of the lease agreement is not required.

D. OPEN-END LEASE (TERMS OF THE LEASE ARE NOT CERTAIN AT THE TIME THE LEASE IS EXECUTED OR THE
LEASE IS OPEN-ENDED) Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,000 pounds or more, leased for
more than 28 days.

1. The lessor must title and license the vehicle. In the case of a leasing company within a dealership, the leasing
company name must be separate and distinct from that of the dealership.

2. The lessor and the lessee’s name must appear on the title.



3. The lessor or the lessee must pay the motor vehicle excise tax on the purchase price of the vehicle. A bill of sale
or purchase order is needed to establish purchase price unless the dealer price certification on the application
is completed.

a. Purchase price on a leased vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,000 pounds or more is the total
consideration whether received in money or otherwise. [Total consideration is the lessor's purchase price.]

b. In the case of a lessor/lessee situation in which a lease vehicle is traded into a dealer on another lease (no
buy-out takes place and the trade takes place with the same leasing company), the trade-in allowance is
granted if the trade-in vehicle is in either the lessor or the lessee's name. If the lessee's name does not
appear on the title, a copy of the lease agreement or other supporting documentation indicating that the
lessee was responsible for payment of the excise tax is required.

4. If the lessee pays the tax and subsequently purchases the vehicle, the lessee must title the vehicle and shall
receive credit for tax paid (on a South Dakota title that denotes the lessee and lessor, a copy of the lease
agreement is not required).

5. Out-of-state leasing companies titling and licensing a leased vehicle in South Dakota that has been previously
titled and licensed in another state shall be exempt from the motor vehicle excise tax to the extent that an
equal and similar amount of registration fee, sales tax, use tax, state excise tax (in dollars) has been paid in such
other state. The lessee must remain the same.

a. The county treasurer must require the leasing company making application for title of a vehicle to provide
proof that a similar and equal amount of tax has been paid in another state.

b. If sufficient proof is not furnished at the time of application, the county treasurer must collect the full
amount of the 4% motor vehicle excise tax.

E. Vehicles rented for 28 days or less (includes automobiles, pickups, and vans) licensed under the
noncommercial license fee schedule (SDCL 32-5-6) with a manufacturer shipping weight, including
accessories, of 10,000 pounds or less; trailers with an empty or shipping weight of 9,000 pounds or more
that are rented for six months or less that display a trailer ID (U) plate (32-5.8.1).

1. Exempt from the motor vehicle excise tax.

a. Ataxof 4 1/2% is imposed upon the gross receipts of any person renting motor vehicles, including
motorcycles (not off-road vehicles), for 28 days or less. This tax is in addition to any taxes levied pursuant
to chapter 10-45, 10-45D and 10- 52 on rentals of 28 days or less.

1. Exemption code 19 should be used on the application for title.

2. Title must be issued in the name of the rental company.

3. If the rental company is within a dealership, the rental company name must be separate and distinct
from that of the dealership.

4. If the lessee is a rental company leasing vehicles for use in a daily rental operation, the rental company
must be indicated on the title as the lessee.



b. The rental company remits the gross receipts tax and the rental sales tax to the Sales Tax Office of the
Department of Revenue on the Sales Tax Return.

Title applications on rental vehicles must include the rental company's sales tax number.
32-5B-19, 32-5B-20, 32-5B-21

Title Changes

Corrections/Recalls of South Dakota Certificate of Title/Registration

A. Either the county treasurer, the dealer, or the owner shall return certificates of title with errors for correction to the
department with a statement of facts explaining the reason for the correction. The dealer and owner are
responsible for assuring that the issued title contains accurate and correct information.

B. On assignment of South Dakota certificate of title, it will be the responsibility of the purchaser to verify that their
name is written correct and that their name and address are legible.

C. A correction is free of charge when the Motor Vehicle Division is responsible for the error. When the applicant is
responsible for the error, a title fee is due.

D. A certificate of title with an error is returned to the county treasurer with a statement of facts for correction. The
title fee is collected. If the fee is not required, it will be returned.

E. A current odometer reading, when applicable, must be submitted with the request for correction.

F. Ifitis determined that the titleholder or lienholder was not entitled to a title or registration already issued, the
division must send a certified notice to the titleholder or lienholder that the title or license plate will be revoked
and canceled 10 days after the date of receipt, refusal to accept receipt, or the last day the postal service attempted
delivery. The notice will demand that the titleholder or lienholder return the title or license plates.

1. If the owner or lienholder believes that the title or registration should not be revoked, the owner may request,
in writing, a hearing. The hearing must be requested before the effective date of the title or registration
revocation.

2. Intentional use of title after receiving the department's notice of revocation is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
64:28:10:03; 64:28:10:02; 64:28:10:01

Serial Numbers
A. If a serial number of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer is changed, the owner must make application for a
rebuilt title.

B. Whenever the serial number is illegible, destroyed, or obliterated, the Department of Revenue must assign a
distinguishing serial number to any motor vehicle, manufactured trailer that weighs over 3,000 pounds, or
semitrailer or any component part thereof.

1. If a number is assigned by the department, the owner must have the number attached by an employee of the
Department of Revenue or the Highway Patrol.

2. On manufactured trailers that weigh 3,000 pounds or under and homemade trailers, the county treasurer must
assign a serial number that the applicant is responsible for stamping on the trailer. Upon placement of the
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assigned number on the trailer, a physical inspection must be made of the assigned number on the trailer by a
law enforcement officer and verified thereto on the Permission for Special Serial Number form

a. When a manufactured trailer that weighs 3,000 pounds or under is assigned a special serial number by the
county treasurer, the application for title must indicate the manufacturer's vehicle information (year,
make, and model).

3. The vehicle must then be registered under the assigned number.
4. Existing liens on the motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer will be carried forward.

5. The new title must be delivered to the owner, unless otherwise directed by the owner, on surrender of the
former certificate of title.

6. The removal, alteration, or failure to have the serial number attached is a Class 6 felony.

7. The fee for issuance and attachment of serial number is $25. C. If a travel trailer is converted to a trailer:
1. Weight slip is required.

2. The title must be submitted for correction of the type of vehicle from a travel trailer to a trailer.

3. A new serial number is not required. A trailer conversion does not require a new serial number, because the
serial number does not distinguish and determine the type of trailer.

D. If a motorcycle or vehicle is changed: (i.e., a motorcycle converted to a three-wheel motorcycle, title is issued as
assembled, rebuilt)

1. A new serial number is required. A motorcycle conversion requires a new serial number, because the serial
number distinguishes and determines the type of motorcycle.

64:30:02:02; 64:30:02:03;

Void Certificate of Title
A. Any alteration or correction on the certificate of title, either on the face or reverse side of the document, voids the
certificate of title.

B. Only one certificate of title can be in existence on a vehicle.

C. The issuance of a duplicate certificate of title will automatically void the previously issued document.

D. When an original certificate of title is lost and a duplicate certificate of title issued, if the original title is found, the
original title will be void and forwarded to the Motor Vehicle Division. 64:28:07:01; 64:28:07:02; 64:28:07:03
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Unconventional Motor Vehicles

Destroyed Vehicles

A. When a vehicle is permanently destroyed, crushed, or compacted so that it can no longer be used on the public
highways or used for parts, the owner should remove the plates. If the plates are valid (not expired), they may be
assigned to a newly acquired vehicle, upon proper registration of the vehicle with the county treasurer.

1. Once unattached, expired plates are no longer valid and should be destroyed.

B. The title certificate should be submitted within 15 days to the Motor Vehicle Division or the county treasurer. An
affidavit from the owner, stating that the vehicle has been destroyed, is required.

C. The division shall cancel the title on its records but shall keep an appropriate record of all vehicles destroyed,
crushed, or compacted and denoting the name and address of the last owner.

D. If the title shows any lien, the lienholder's consent to the cancellation, shall be endorsed on the certificate of title.

E. Itis a Class 6 felony for the owner to remove the vehicle's identification number or other identification numbers.
32-3-51

Mini Trucks

A. Mini Trucks

1. Any vehicle that is not manufactured to US standards that is imported as agriculture equipment is considered
an unconventional vehicle. These units will be titled as an off-road vehicle.

2. The person selling these units must title the unit prior to selling it. Motor vehicle excise tax is due at time of
application for title.

3. A Green Export Certificate, Combined Transport Bill of Lading, and US Department of Homeland Security
Bureau of Customs and Border Protection Entry/Immediate Delivery document (import form), and translations
of documents (if applicable) must be attached.

4. A motorcycle plate will be issued, and an Off-Road Vehicle affidavit must be submitted.
5. The licensed unconventional vehicle may not be operated on the interstate highway.

Junking Certificate/Parts Only Vehicle Record

Any owner of a motor vehicle that is being dismantled for the purpose of selling its parts shall apply for a junking
certificate or shall have the record converted to a junking certificate/part only record.

A junking certificate is not issued on a manufactured home or a snowmobile.
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A. If an owner prefers that a vehicle be permanently removed from the roads and highways, a junking certificate may
be applied for.

1. If a junking certificate is issued for a motor vehicle, it may never be issued a regular title.

2. Application for Junking Certificate:

a. The certificate of title must accompany an application for junking certificate.

b.

If the title shows any liens, the lienholder's consent to the issuance of the junking certificate shall be

endorsed on the title. c. A title fee is required.

d. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number of each applicant must be given. In the case of

a company, the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner’s social security
number or driver’s license number may be used.

B. In the event the vehicle displays valid plates, the owner should remove the plates. If the plates are valid (not
expired), they may be assigned to a newly acquired vehicle, upon proper registration of the vehicle with the county

treasurer.

1. Once unattached, expired plates are no longer valid and should

be destroyed. C. Procedure for “Parts Only Vehicle” record conversion.

1. This procedure applies to South Dakota titled and out-of-state titled vehicles.

a.

When a vehicle is being dismantled for the purpose of selling its parts, a recycler/salvage dealer may
request that the Division of Motor Vehicles convert the vehicle’s record to a “Junking Certificate/Parts
Only” record.

This shall be accomplished by stamping the front and back of the South Dakota or out-of-state title as
“parts only vehicle.” Care should be taken to assure that pertinent title information is not covered by the
stamp.

The stamp must contain the name and address of the dealer.

The original stamped title must be submitted to the division, with a copy of the front and back of the title
(after stamping) being retained by the dealer (retention shall be for 5 years after the vehicle is
dismantled).

The division will cancel the title by using a code that designates the vehicle as a part's only vehicle. In this
situation, a certificate of title is not issued.

2. When a stamped South Dakota or out-of-state title that has not been issued in the name of the dealer is
submitted for conversion of the record to a “parts only vehicle,” a $5 fee is assessed (fee must be submitted
with title). The fee covers the cost of adding and/or updating a record to reflect current ownership
information. A fee is not assessed when a South Dakota title that is already in the name of the dealer is
submitted for conversion to a “parts only vehicle” record.



a. At the option of the dealer and in place of the above “parts only vehicle” record conversion procedure,
when a vehicle is being dismantled for the purpose of selling its parts, application for a junk certificate of
title shall be made. In this situation, a title is issued.

SAMPLE OF STAMP:

PARTS ONLY VEHICLE SMITH RECYCLING
000 MAIN
ANYTOWN USA 32-3-51.12; 32-3-51.17

Homemade Trailers
A. A homemade trailer that weighs less than 3000 pounds must obtain an assigned serial number from the county
treasurer's office.

1. The owner shall permanently affix the assigned number to the neck of the trailer and have any South Dakota
law enforcement officer certify on the permission for special serial number form that the number was
properly affixed to the trailer.

2. A weight slip must accompany the application for title and permission for special serial number form.

B. Application for a title on a motor vehicle manufactured by a person who registers it under the laws of this state.

1. Every owner of a motor vehicle that is operated or driven upon the public highways of this state shall present
to the county treasurer of his county an application for the registration of that vehicle. The application must
be filed in the county of the new applicant's residence.

2. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number of each applicant must be given. In the case of a
company, the FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, the owner’s social security number or
driver’s license number may be used.

3. Any person who intentionally falsifies information required on the application or provides erroneous
information is guilty of a Class 6 felony.

4. The division will not accept an incomplete application form or an application form, which the division
considers erroneous.

5. The application must be signed by the record owner(s) or by an authorized agent for the record owner(s). If
the application is signed by an authorized agent, a power of attorney document must be attached to verify
the appointment.

C. No excise tax is assessed on first application for homemade trailer, as sales tax has been assessed on the materials
purchased to construct the trailer. Tax Code 97 should be used on the initial application.

1. Excise tax is assessed on the purchase price on all future transactions.

D. Payment of a title fee and any license fees as may be required must be collected.

E. All the above-indicated forms, properly completed, must be submitted to the applicant’s county treasurer.
SDAR 64:30:05:06 SDCL 32-3-22
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Rebuilt Vehicle

A. To license a rebuilt vehicle, the owner must apply for a Rebuilt branded title. Vehicle must be in running order
before the original forms are submitted to our office. [A snowmobile is subject to the rebuilt process, but a title

branded rebuilt is not issued on a snowmobile.] 1. Application for title and title fee

2. Affidavit for Rebuilt Vehicle form

3. Titles or bills of sale establishing ownership must be attached.

4. Receipts for parts must be attached.

5. $25 special serial number fee (check is to be made out to applicant’s county treasurer).

6. Submit all completed form to county treasurer.

w

Rebuilt vehicles are subject to inspection by the Highway Patrol or an employee of the Department of Revenue.

O

. The year on the rebuilt title shall be the year indicated in the identification number. If the identification number is
missing, the year shall be the year of the body. If the year of the body is indistinguishable, then the year on the title
shall be the year the vehicle was rebuilt.

D. Once a title is branded Rebuilt, the brand will remain for the life of the vehicle.

E. When a rebuilt vehicle is eligible for South Dakota license and registration, the motor vehicle excise tax will be
based on the actual cost of the vehicle.

a. Any part used in a rebuilt motor vehicle or motor vehicle manufactured by an applicant, previously
subjected to sales tax, use tax, motor vehicle excise tax, or similar tax by this or any other state or its political
subdivision, is not subject to the motor vehicle excise tax, if the applicant applies for registration of the motor vehicle
in this state within five (5) years from the purchase date of the part. F. A temporary permit may be used when the

vehicle is travelling to the place of inspection.

G. After the motor vehicle is inspected, the owner may take his copy of the certificate of inspection to the county
treasurer, purchase his license plates and pay any tax owed. Once the Division of Motor Vehicles is notified that the
inspection is complete and has verified that the correct amount of tax has been paid, a rebuilt title will be issued.

H. A vehicle title stamped as non-rebuildable, parts-only, junk, or a similar vehicle brand from another state can only
be issued a South Dakota junking certificate. A rebuilt title cannot be issued on the vehicle. The vehicle may be
used as parts to rebuild another vehicle.

I. A motorcycle that is built with all new parts; has a 17-digit serial number on the frame; and has an MSO
(Manufactures Statement of Origin) on the major parts (frame, engine, and transmission), does not require the $25
special serial number fee. The motorcycle may be inspected. The make of the motorcycle will be “Kit" and the
model will be “Custom”. 64:30:05:08; 64:30:05:02; 64:30:05:06; 64:30:05:07; 64:30:05:09; 64:30:05:11; 64:30:05:12
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Fertilizer Vehicles
A. Any self-propelled agricultural application unit is not required to be titled and licensed

1. The term, self-propelled agricultural application unit, is defined as equipment designed and used exclusively to
carry and apply fertilizer, pesticides, or related products for agricultural purposes. It doesn't include an
application unit attached to a motor vehicle chassis. 32-9-3 32-5B

Trailers Exempt from Licensing
A. The following categories of trailers and/or semitrailers are exempt from vehicle licensing requirements (these
trailers can be titled).

1. Auxiliary axles: This includes converter dollies, converter gears, jeep axles, etc.

2. Implements of husbandry: This includes hay grinders, feed mixers, grain cleaning machines, livestock loading
chutes, etc.

a. The only farm trailers on which a license plate is required are stock trailers, gooseneck trailers and
semitrailers.

3. Special mobile equipment: This includes log splitters, air compressors, welders, generators, cement mixers,
street sweepers, barbecue pits, tar pits, stump grinders, tree chippers, tree spades, etc. (These are specialized
trailers on which only the special equipment is hauled on the trailer. In the event anything additional is hauled
on or in the trailer, the trailer must be titled and licensed.)

4. Car tote or tow dolly: This includes the device often seen behind a motor home used for transporting a car
behind the motor home. The vehicle being towed must be licensed. 64:28:01:02

Truck Tractor Converted to a Motor Home

A. To become a motor home, the truck tractor shall be modified to include a vehicular type of unit built on the
tractor’s chassis and designed primarily as temporary living quarters for recreational, camping, vacation, or travel
use.

B. A truck tractor that has been modified to become a motor home must be equipped with at least 5 out of the
following 7 established criteria to be titled and registered as a motor home:

1. Cooking facilities.
2. Heating or air conditioning system separate from vehicle engine or vehicle engine electrical system.
3. Self-contained toilet or toilet connected to a plumbing system with connection for external water disposal.

4. Portable water supply, including plumbing and a sink with faucet either self-contained or with connections for
an external source.

5. Sleeping facilities.
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6. Refrigerator.

7. 110- or 115-volt system separate from the vehicle engine electrical system either with its own power supply or
with a connection for an external source or a liquefied petroleum system and supply.

a. The systems in 2, 3, 4, and 7 must be permanently installed and meet American National Standards
Institute and National Fire Protection Association standards in effect on the date of manufacture.

. When a motor home is used to transport a motor vehicle, boat, or animal to a race, tournament, show, or similar
event, it is not considered to be engaged in a private business use if:

1. Any prize money received from participating in the activity is declared as ordinary income for tax purposes.
2. The cost of participating in the activity is not deducted as a business expense for tax purposes.
3. No corporate sponsorship exceeding $2,000 in any one calendar year.

. If the vehicle is being used to tow a trailer, the trailer does not qualify for a permanent trailer identification plate.
The trailer must display a noncommercial trailer plate.

. The Motor Vehicle Division provides the form for the affidavit.  32-3-65

Amphibious Vehicles (combination off road vehicle/boat)
A. An amphibious vehicle must be titled as an Off-Road Vehicle, and an interstate record is created for the boat.

1. Excise tax is collected when applying for title.
2. Two applications must be completed for amphibious vehicles (Off Road Vehicle/boat).

B. Off Road Vehicle and boat must be titled. Licensing is optional unless the Off-Road Vehicle is used on public
roads/waters, then it must be licensed.

1. Off Road Vehicle Affidavit must be completed to license as a motorcycle.

Boat license must be purchased before operating the vehicle in the waters, a boat number will be assigned.
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