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With few exceptions, the sale of products and services in South 

Dakota are subject to sales tax or use tax. One exception is the 

sale or purchase of a motor vehicle subject to the motor 

vehicle excise tax. 

• If you rent or lease a motor vehicle for 28 days or less to 
customers in South Dakota, the rental fee is subject to 
state and municipal sales tax and may be subject to 
tourism tax and motor vehicle gross receipts tax.   

 * The next page shows the tax that applies to the 
 lease or rental receipts for certain vehicles.   

• You may purchase motor vehicles to lease or rent without 
paying sales tax.   

• Dealers are required to collect the state sales tax and any 
applicable municipal sales tax, motor vehicle gross receipts 
tax, and tourism tax on any vehicle, product, or service 
they sell that is subject to sales tax in South Dakota. 

Motor vehicles not subject to motor vehicle excise tax include: 

• Motorcycles, cars, pickups, and vans that will be rented for 
28 days or less  

• Trailers with a trailer ID plate under SDCL 32-5-8.1 that 
have an unladen weight of 9,000 pounds or more and are 
rented for 6 months or less  

These are subject to the Motor Vehicle Gross Receipts tax 
under SDCL 32-5B-20.  

 

  

  

  

  

         

Motor Vehicle Leases 

and Rentals 

The purpose of this Tax Fact is to  explain how South Dakota state and local  taxes apply to 
motor vehicle lease and rentals. It is not intended to answer all questions that may arise. The 
information contained in this fact sheet is current as of the date of publication. 

July 2019 

http://dor.sd.gov/       1-800-829-9188 

Lease and Rentals 

South Dakota Taxes and Rates 

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax – Applies to the  
purchase of most motor vehicles. 

 4% 

State Sales Tax and Use Tax – Applies to all 
sales or  purchases of taxable products and 
services. 

4.5% 

The following tax may apply in addition to the state sales tax:  

Municipal Sales Tax and Use Tax – Applies to 
all sales of products and services that are 
subject to the state sales tax or use tax if the 
purchaser receives or uses the product or 
service in a municipality that imposes a sales 
tax or use tax. 

1 to 2% 

Motor Vehicle Gross Receipts Tax—Applies 
to the rental of motorcycles, cars, trucks, and 
vans for less than 28 days, and the rental of 
certain trailers for 6 months or less. 

4.5% 

Tourism Tax—Applies to the rental of certain 
motor vehicles.  Tourism tax does not apply 
when you are remitting use tax. 

1.5% 

If a dealer is in the business of renting or leasing motor vehicles, the 

dealer must title the rental or leased vehicles in a separate and distinct 

name from that of the dealership.  

http://www.sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-8.1
http://www.sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5B-20
http://dor.sd.gov/
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Motor Vehicle Lease and Rentals - Applicable Taxes 

Vehicle 

Taxes that apply to the Lease or Rental Payments 

Sales or 
Use Tax 

Municipal 
Sales or 
Use Tax 

Tourism 
Tax 

Motor 
Vehicle 
Gross 

Receipts 
Tax 

Motor 
Vehicle 
Excise 

Tax 

Automobiles, Pickups, Vans, and Motorcycles 

• Leased or rented under a single contract for 28 days or less 

• Leased or rented under a single contract for more than 28 days 

• If this same vehicle is later rented for 28 days or less, the receipts from that 
rental are subject to the state and applicable municipal sales tax, motor 
vehicle gross receipts tax, and tourism tax. 

 
Yes 

No 

 
Yes 

No 

 
Yes 

No 

 
Yes 

No 

 
No 

Yes 

Trailers with a trailer ID plate under SDCL 32-5-8.1 that have an unladen 
weight of 9,000 pounds or more 

• Leased or rented under a single contract for 28 days or less 

• Rented under a single contract for more than 28 days but less than 6 
months 

• Rented for more than 6 months 

 

 

Yes 
 

No 

 

No 

 

 

Yes 
 

No 

 

No 

 

 

No 
 

No 

 

No 

 

 

Yes 
 

Yes 

 

No 

 

 

No 
 

No 

 

Yes 

Recreational Equipment that are motor vehicles under SDCL 32-5-1 

• Leased or rented under a single contract for 28 days or less 

• Leased or rented under a single contract for more than 28 days 
 

Includes: 

ATVs 

Campers 

Camping trailers 

Motor coaches 

 
Yes  

No 

 
Yes 

No 

 
Yes 

No 

 
No 

No 

 
No 

Yes 

Recreational Equipment that are not motor vehicles under SDCL 32-5-1 

• Leased or rented under a single contract for 28 days or less 

• Leased or rented under a single contract for more than 28 days 

 

Includes: 

Electric Bicycles 

Mopeds* 

 

* Taxation may be different if a moped is titled and registered. 

 
Yes  

Yes 

 
Yes 

Yes 

 
Yes 

Yes 

 
No 

No 

 
No 

No 

Motor Vehicle Lease and Rentals 

The following table shows the tax that applies to the lease or rental 

receipts for certain motor vehicles.  This is not an all-inclusive list of 

motor vehicles.  For title, license, and registration information on a 

specific vehicle, please contact your County Treasurer. 

For tax information on vehicles that will be purchased, see the Tax Fact 

on Motor Vehicle Sales & Purchases. 

For any vehicle type not specifically 

listed below, please contact your 

County Treasurer for applicable taxes. 

Snowmobiles 

Snowmobile trailers 

Watercraft trailers 

Watercraft (Boats) 

http://www.sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-8.1
http://www.sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-1
http://www.sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-1
https://dor.sd.gov/Taxes/Business_Taxes/Publications/PDFs/Tax%20Facts/SalesAndPurchases.pdf
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Optional Products or Services 

Delivery and Handling Fees 

The following items may be included with a vehicle rental.  The charges for these items are subject to the same tax as the 
vehicle rental whether the rental agency lists each charge on the customer’s invoice or includes it in the car rental fee.  

A car rental company does not owe sales tax on the insurance premiums customers pay for insurance the rental 
company sells when the following criteria are met: 
 

1. The insurance is from a licensed insurance company; 
2. The entire amount charged to the customer for the premium is subject to insurance premiums tax; and 
3. The charge is itemized on the customer’s invoice.  

 
If the charge to the customer for the insurance is greater than the amount the insurance company pays insurance 
premiums tax on, the entire charge is subject to sales tax. 

The retailers’ charge for delivery is subject to the same state and municipal sales tax rate as the product or service sold.  
If the product or service sold is not taxable, the delivery charge is not taxable. 

Delivery charges include any charge for transportation, shipping, postage, handling, crating, and packing. 

If you hire a transportation company and bill the customer for the transportation service, your receipts for the 
transportation charge are subject to the same tax as the product sold. 

When a shipment contains taxable and nontaxable products, sales tax is due on the portion of the delivery charge for the 
taxable products.  This is determined by using a percentage of the sales price compared to the total sales or a 
percentage of the weight of the taxable products compared to the total weight of all products in the shipment. 

Examples 

1. A parts store ships a part to a customer in rural Minnehaha County for $200 plus $20 delivery. 

• The parts store owes state sales tax on $220.  No municipal sales tax is due because the customer takes 

possession outside the city limits. 

2.  A parts store sells spark plugs to a repair shop in Watertown for $100 plus $10 delivery.  The repair shop provides 

the parts store with an exemption certificate. 

• The store does not owe sales tax as this is a sale for resale. 

3.  Jones Auto sells and delivers the following items to Fred’s Farm Store in Pierre: 2 tires for resale for $1000 and 1 

tire display rack for use by Fred for $1000.  Jones bills Fred $2000 plus $200 delivery.  Fred gave Jones an 

exemption certificate for the two tire. 

• Jones charges state sales tax plus Pierre municipal sales tax on $1,100 ($1000 for the display rack plus $100 

shipping).  Taxable shipping was determined by dividing the taxable products by the total sale ($1000/

$2000 = 50%).  50% of the shipping is taxable ($200 x 50% = $100). 

Insurance Premiums 

• Additional driver fee 

• Airport concession fees and facility fees 

• Car navigational (GPS) system  

• Car Satellite radio 

• Child seat  

• Drivers 24 years or younger  

• Drop charges  

• Emergency roadside service 

• Energy surcharges 

• Exceeding mileage 

• Frequent flyer surcharge 

• Fuel and service charges 

• Fuel purchase option 

• Loss damage waiver 

• Rental tax surcharges 

• Ski racks 

• Up charges for nonstandard vehicles 

• Vehicle licensing fees passed onto customer 
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Sourcing - Which State or Municipal Tax Applies? 

Driving Services 

Towing Services 

Repairs and Maintenance 

With the exception of motor vehicles and transportation equipment, 
sales tax applies to the first lease payment where the lessee receives or 
takes possession of the product. If the leased product is moved to a new 
location and the lessee tells the lessor the new location, sales tax applies 
to each additional lease payment based on the new location.  If the 
lessor does not know the leased product’s new location, sales tax will 
continue to apply based on where the lessee originally received the 
product. 

The intermittent use at different locations, such as use of business 
property that accompanies employees on business trips or service calls, 
does not alter the property location. 

 

Motor Vehicles Lease or Rentals: 

Includes the lease or rental of motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers that 
do not qualify as transportation equipment. 

One payment covers the entire lease or rental:   

 The payment is taxed where the customer receives or takes 
possession of the property.   

The lease or rental includes more than one payment:    

 Each payment, including the first payment, is taxed at the primary 
property location, which is the address for the property the lessee 
provides the lessor. Occasional use at a different location does not 
change the primary property location. 

Example 

1. Rusty Car Rental in Rapid City rents a 
car to John for 7 days. John uses the car 
to tour the Black Hills and Badlands in 
South Dakota. 

• All charges on the rental are subject to the 

same tax. 

• The Collision Damage Wavier is not 
insurance. 

• Rapid City tax applies because the car was 
delivered to John at the Rapid City airport. 

7 Day Rental     

Full Size Car   $  375.00 

GPS Navigation     50.00 

Collision Damage Waiver   25.00 

Airport Facility Fee   20.00 

Sub Total   $  470.00 

 Tax Rate  

State sales tax 4.5% 21.15 

Rapid City sales tax 2% 9.40 

Tourism Tax 1.5% 7.05 

Motor Vehicle Gross 
Receipts Tax 

4.5% 21.15 

       TOTAL DUE   $  528.75 

Fees charged for driving a motor vehicle from one location to another are subject to sales tax or use tax.  Sales tax 
applies based on the location to which the vehicle is driven.  

For example, if a person drives a car from Highmore to Pierre, the state and Pierre municipal sales tax or use tax is due. 

Receipts from towing services are subject to state and municipal tax at the location to which the vehicle is towed.  
Receipts for towing to a location outside South Dakota are not subject to South Dakota sales tax. 

Services such as auto repair, maintenance, body repair, oil changes, and customizing are subject to state and municipal 
sales tax.  Sales tax applies to the full charge, including parts, labor, and delivery charges.  Repairs and maintenance to 
rental vehicles are subject to sales tax or use tax whether the rental agency or the customer pays for the service. 

 Resale Purchases 

A rental business cannot buy repair parts or maintenance items for their rental fleet without tax. 
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Contact Us 

If you have any questions, please contact the South Dakota Department of Revenue. 

Call toll-free:  1-800-829-9188     

Business Tax Division Email:  bustax@state.sd.us 

Motor Vehicle Division Email:  motorv@state.sd.us  

Website:  http://dor.sd.gov/           

Mailing address and office location: South Dakota Department of Revenue 

 445 East Capitol Ave 

 Pierre, SD 57501 

Warranties, Service Contracts, and Insurance 

Manufacturer’s Warranty 

Parts and labor furnished to fulfill a warranty obligation of the manufacturer are not subject to sales tax.  Your receipts 
from the manufacturer for warranty work are not taxable.  You do not owe use tax on parts taken from inventory to 
complete work under a manufacturer’s warranty, this does not include warranty software.   

Receipts from the customer or manufacturer for items not covered by the warranty are subject to sales tax.            

Loaner/rental vehicle: A warranty may provide for a loaner or rental vehicle while a car is repaired. 

• When the manufacturer pays for the loaner/rental vehicle as provided under a warranty, the receipts are subject to the motor 
vehicles gross receipts tax, but are not subject to sales tax or tourism tax.   

• If the customer pays for the rental vehicle, the receipts are subject to state and municipal sales tax, motor vehicles gross 
receipts tax, and tourism tax.  

Extended Service Contracts (Extended Warranty) 

Extended service contracts that cover unexpected repair costs are subject to the motor vehicle excise tax when sold at 
the time of the vehicle purchase.   

Extended service contracts sold later are subject to sales tax. Sales tax applies where the extended service contract is 
delivered to the customer. If customer takes possession at the dealer, the tax rate is based on the dealer’s location. If the 
extended warranty is mail to the customer, the tax rate is based on the customer’s mailing address. 

Mechanical Breakdown Insurance 

Insurance policies are not considered warranty or service contracts.  Insurance premiums are not subject to sales tax; 
however, the premiums are subject to insurance premiums tax.  All charges made to the insurance company for parts 
and labor are subject to sales tax.  

If you do not know if a service contract is insurance or not, you may contact the South Dakota Department of Labor, 
Insurance Division and ask if the company that sells the contract is a licensed insurance company, or call the Department 
of Revenue at 1.800.829.9188. 

Implied Warranty 

If you do not charge for repairs made to a customer’s motor vehicle after the sale and those repairs are not covered by a 
written warranty, you owe use tax on the cost of all parts installed in the customer’s vehicle.  You do not owe use tax on 
your employee’s labor. 

If the manufacturer’s warranty states: Sales Tax or Use Tax Due 
No cost to customer for parts No sales tax or use tax due on the parts 

Customer is responsible for a percentage of parts and labor Sales tax due on the amount charged the customer 

Customer pays a deductible for parts or labor Sales tax due on the amount charged the customer 

Customer is responsible for the repair labor Sales tax due on the amount charged the customer 

The manufacturer furnishes you the repair part at no charge No sales tax or use tax due on the repair part 

The manufacturer pays you for the repair part No sales tax or use tax due on the repair part 

The manufacturer pays you for the repair labor No sales tax or use tax due on the repair labor 

mailto:bustax@state.sd.us
mailto:motorv@state.sd.us
http://dor.sd.gov/
https://dlr.sd.gov/insurance/
https://dlr.sd.gov/insurance/

