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The sale of products and services in South Dakota are subject 

to sales tax or use tax. One exception is the sale or purchase of 

a motor vehicle subject to the motor vehicle excise tax. 

Motor vehicles not subject to motor vehicle excise tax include: 

• Motorcycles, cars, pickups, and vans that will be rented 

for 28 days or less.  

• Trailers with a trailer ID plate under SDCL 32-5-8.1 that 

have an unladen weight of 9,000 pounds or more and 

are rented for six months or less.  

• If you rent or lease a motor vehicle for 28 days or less 

to customers in South Dakota, the rental fee is subject 

to state and municipal sales tax and may be subject to 

tourism tax and motor vehicle gross receipts tax.   

 * The next page shows the tax that applies to the lease 

or rental receipts for certain vehicles.   

• Dealers are required to collect the state sales tax and 

any applicable municipal sales tax, motor vehicle gross 

receipts tax, and tourism tax on any vehicle, product, or 

service they sell that is subject to sales tax in South 

Dakota. 

 

  

  

  

  

         

Motor Vehicle Leases 

and Rentals 

The purpose of this tax fact is to explain how South Dakota state and local taxes apply to 
motor vehicle lease and rentals. It is not intended to answer all questions that may arise. The 
information contained in this fact sheet is current as of the date of publication. 

April 2025 

https://dor.sd.gov/       1-800-829-9188 

Lease and Rentals 

South Dakota Taxes and Rates 

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax – Applies to the  
purchase of most motor vehicles. 

 4% 

Boat Excise Tax – Applies to the purchase of 
most boats. 

3% 

State Sales Tax and Use Tax – Applies to all 
sales or purchases of taxable products and 
services.  

4.2% 

The following tax may apply in addition to the state sales tax:  

Municipal Sales Tax and Use Tax – Applies to 
all sales of products and services that are 
subject to the state sales tax or use tax if the 
purchaser receives or uses the product or 
service in a municipality that imposes a sales 
tax or use tax. 

1 to 2% 

Motor Vehicle Gross Receipts Tax – Applies 
to the rental of motorcycles, cars, trucks, and 
vans for less than 28 days, and the rental of 
certain trailers for six months or less. 

4.2% 

Tourism Tax – Applies to certain lodging and 
amusement services and the rental of certain motor 
vehicles. Tourism tax does not apply when remitting 
use tax.  

1.5% 

If a dealer is in the business of renting or leasing motor vehicles, the 

dealer must title the rental or leased vehicles in a separate and distinct 

name from that of the dealership.  

http://www.sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=32-5-8.1
https://dor.sd.gov/
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Motor Vehicle Leases and Rentals 

The following table shows the tax that applies to the lease or rental receipts for certain motor vehicles. This is not an all-

inclusive list of motor vehicles. For title, license, and registration information on a specific vehicle, please contact your 

County Treasurer. 

For tax information on vehicle purchases, see the Tax Fact on Motor Vehicle Sales & Purchases. 

For any vehicle type not specifically listed below, please 

contact your County Treasurer for applicable taxes. 

Vehicle & Trailer Lease and Rentals - Tax Application 

Short Term Lease or Rental - 28 Days or Less 
Sales or  
Use Tax 

Municipal 
Sales or 
Use Tax 

Tourism 
Tax 

Motor 
Vehicle  
Gross  

Receipts  
Tax 

Motor 
Vehicle 
Excise 

Tax 

Automobiles, Pickups, Vans, and Motorcycles Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

ATVs & UTVs Yes Yes Yes No Yes 

Recreational Motor Vehicle - RVs, Snowmobiles, & Boats* Yes Yes Yes No Yes 

Recreational Equipment - Electric Bikes & Mopeds Yes Yes Yes No No 

Trailers & Camper Trailers - unladen weight of 9,000 lbs or more Yes Yes No Yes No 

      

Long Term Lease - Greater Than 28 Consecutive Days 
Sales or  
Use Tax 

Municipal 
Sales or 
Use Tax 

Tourism 
Tax 

Motor 
Vehicle  
Gross  

Receipts 
Tax 

Motor 
Vehicle 
Excise 

Tax 

Automobiles, Pickups, Vans, and Motorcycles No No No No Yes 

ATVs & UTVs No No No No Yes 

Recreational Motor Vehicle - RVs, Snowmobiles, & Boats* Yes Yes Yes No Yes 

Recreational Equipment - Electric Bikes & Mopeds Yes Yes Yes No No 

Camper Trailers, Snowmobile Trailers, & Watercraft Trailers      

• More than 28 days but less than six months (unladen weight of 
9,000 lbs or more) 

No No No Yes No 

• Six months or longer (gross weight rating of less than 16,000 lbs) No No No No Yes 

Trailers - unladen weight of 9,000 lbs or more      

• More than 28 days but less than six months (unladen weight of 
9,000 lbs or more) 

No No No Yes No 

• Six months or longer (gross weight rating of less than 16,000 lbs) No No No No Yes 

* Boats are subject to boat excise tax. 

https://dor.sd.gov/media/lynnmg3l/motor-vehicle-sales-purchases.pdf
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Motor Vehicle Leases 

A car rental company does not owe sales tax on the insurance premiums customers pay for insurance the rental 

company sells when the following criteria are met: 

1. The insurance is from a licensed insurance company; 

2. The entire amount charged to the customer for the premium is subject to insurance premiums tax; and 

3. The charge is itemized on the customer’s invoice.  

If the charge to the customer for the insurance is greater than the amount the insurance company pays insurance 

premiums tax on, the entire charge is subject to sales tax. 

Insurance Premiums for Rental Vehicles 

Optional Products or Services—Rentals 
The following items may be included with a vehicle rental. The charges for these items are subject to the same tax as the 

vehicle rental, whether the rental agency itemizes each charge on the customer’s invoice or includes it in the car rental 

fee.  

 • Additional driver fee 

• Airport concession fees and facility fees 

• Car navigational (GPS) system  

• Car Satellite radio 

• Child seat  

• Drivers 24 years or younger  

• Drop charges  

• Emergency roadside service 

• Energy surcharges 

• Exceeding mileage 

• Frequent flyer surcharge 

• Fuel and service charges 

• Fuel purchase option 

• Loss damage waiver 

• Rental tax surcharges 

• Ski racks 

• Up charges for nonstandard vehicles 

• Vehicle licensing fees passed onto customer 

Motor Vehicle Rentals 

Motor vehicles titled in the name of a rental company and rented for 28 days or less are exempt from the motor vehicle 

excise tax but are subject to other state taxes. Trailers that have an unladen weight of 9,000 lbs or more, that are rented 

for six months or less, are also exempt from the motor vehicles excise tax but are subject to other state taxes. See the 

Motor Vehicle Lease and Rentals—Tax Application chart on page two for details on what taxes may apply to rentals. 

For motor vehicles and off-road vehicles leased for more than 28 days, the lessor is responsible for titling and licensing 

the motor vehicle and denoting the lessee on the application for the title. The lessor or the lessee pays the motor 

vehicle excise tax. 

The lease type will determine how the motor vehicle excise tax due is calculated. There are two types of vehicle leases: 

• Open-ended Leases – this is a lease where the length of the lease is not set at the time the contract is entered 

into. 

• Closed Leases – this is a lease where the length of the lease is set at the time the contract is entered into. 

For an open-ended lease, motor vehicle excise tax is due on the 

purchase price of the vehicle, plus cash, rebates, the net trade-

in, extended warranties, administrative fees, acquisition fees, 

and any other fees on the purchase of the vehicle. 

For a closed lease, motor vehicle excise tax is due on the total 

of all lease payments, including cash, rebates, the net trade-in, 

extended warranties, administrative fees, acquisition fees, and 

any other fees on the purchase of the vehicle. 

Motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating 

of less than 16,000 lbs are subject to motor 

vehicle excise tax under a closed lease. Motor 

vehicles include:  

• Cars • Motorcycles 

• Pickups • Motorized bicycles 

• Vans • Off-road vehicles 

• Light trailers  
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Delivery Fees for Leased or Rented Vehicles 

Charges for the delivery of a leased or rented vehicle are subject to the same tax as applied to the lease or rental. 

Delivery charges include any charges for transportation, mileage, driver time, etc.  

Examples: 

1. A car dealer delivers a vehicle to their customer for a long-term lease (greater than 28 consecutive 

days). The delivery is part of the lease agreement and included within the lease price. 

• The charge for delivery is subject to the motor vehicle excise tax and paid when the vehicle is 

registered. 

2.  A car rental company will deliver rental cars to customers. These are short-term rentals (28 days or 

less). 

• The delivery charge is subject to the same taxes as the rental fee. This includes state sales tax, 

applicable municipal sales tax, motor vehicle gross receipts tax, and tourism tax. 

• The applicable municipal tax is based on where the rental car is delivered to the customer. 

Motor Vehicle Leases (contd.) 
Additional Consideration Paid on a Lease  

If a lease is extended from that of the initial lease period, or if additional consideration is paid during a lease or upon 

termination of a lease, additional taxes are due. An Extended or Additional Consideration Lease Tax Worksheet is 

completed and submitted to the Motor Vehicle Division, along with the appropriate taxes.  

• If the vehicle is leased for an additional period of time, the motor vehicle excise tax shall be assessed on the 

additional lease payments. The lessor is responsible for completion of the worksheet and payment of the taxes. 

• If additional consideration is paid during the course of the lease or upon termination of the lease, the motor 

vehicle excise tax shall be assessed on such amount. The lessor is responsible for completion of the worksheet 

and payment of the taxes. 

 Additional consideration paid during a lease or upon termination of a lease does not include late fees 

assessed for late lease payments. 

• If the lessee buys the vehicle at the end of the lease, motor vehicle excise tax is assessed on the purchase price. 

The lessor shall assign the title and certify the purchase price. The title must be submitted to the lessee’s county 

treasurer’s office with the required fees and taxes. 

Tax Credit for Total Loss of Leased Vehicle   

If the motor vehicle lease tax has been paid on a current qualifying lease, and the vehicle is destroyed to the extent that 

constitutes a total loss, a credit will be given for the motor vehicle lease tax paid for the remaining lease period. 

To qualify for the credit:  

1. There must be a total loss of the vehicle subject to the previous lease (example: fire, accident, or vandalism); or 

2. A new lease must be executed, or a vehicle must be substituted under the original lease 

 the new lease or substituted vehicle under the original lease shall be executed by the same lessor and lessee; 

 the vehicle must be of the same or similar make, model, year, and options as the vehicle subject to the 

previous lease; 

 for the remaining lease period of the previous lease; and 

 for the same lease price. 

The lease shall contain the same lease terms as the previous lease. 

https://sddor.seamlessdocs.com/f/1029
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Sourcing - Which State or Municipal Tax Applies? 

Driving Services 

Towing Services 

Repairs and Maintenance 

Long-Term Lease 

Long-term leases are subject to the motor vehicle excise tax. The lessor or the lessee pays the tax to the county 

treasurer’s office in the lessee’s county of residence.  

Short-term rentals are subject to sales tax based on where the vehicle is picked up. Rented vehicles picked up in a city 

with a municipal sales tax are subject to the municipal sales tax of that city in addition to the state sales tax, motor 

vehicles gross receipts tax, and tourism tax. 

Example: 

Rusty Car Rental in Rapid City rents a car to John for 

seven days. John uses the car to tour the Black Hills and 

Badlands in South Dakota. 

• All charges on the rental are subject to the same 

tax. 

• The Collision Damage Wavier is not insurance. 

• Rapid City tax applies because the car was picked 

up by John at the Rapid City airport. 

7 Day Rental     

Full Size Car   $  375.00 

GPS Navigation     50.00 

Collision Damage Waiver   25.00 

Airport Facility Fee   20.00 

Sub Total   $  470.00 

 Tax Rate  

State sales tax 4.2% 19.74 

Rapid City sales tax 2% 9.40 

Tourism Tax 1.5% 7.05 

Motor Vehicle Gross 
Receipts Tax 

4.2% 19.74 

       TOTAL DUE   $  525.93 

Fees charged for driving a motor vehicle from one location to another are subject to sales tax or use tax. Sales tax applies 

based on the location to which the vehicle is driven.  

For example, if a person drives a car from Highmore to Pierre, the state and Pierre municipal sales tax or use tax is due. 

Receipts from towing services are subject to state and municipal tax at the location to which the vehicle is towed. 

Receipts for towing to a location outside South Dakota are not subject to South Dakota sales tax. 

Services such as auto repair, maintenance, body repair, oil changes, and customizing are subject to state and municipal 

sales tax. Sales tax applies to the full charge, including parts, labor, and delivery charges. Repairs and maintenance to 

rental vehicles are subject to sales tax or use tax whether the rental agency or the customer pays for the service. 

• A rental business cannot buy repair parts or maintenance items for their rental fleet exempt from sales tax. 

The rental of a boat or watercraft is subject to South Dakota state sales tax, applicable municipal tax, and tourism tax. 

• The rental of a trailer for less than 28 consecutive days is subject to state and applicable municipal sales tax and 

tourism tax. The owner must title and register leased trailers.  

• A leasing or rental company that operates within the principal place of business of a boat dealer must title, 

license, and tax any leased or rental boat in a name that is distinct and separate from that of the dealership. 

• Report the tourism tax in the city and special jurisdiction tax section of the sales tax return with the code 700-1. 

Rental of Boats 
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Contact Us 

If you have any questions, please contact the South Dakota Department of Revenue. 

Call toll-free:  1-800-829-9188     

Business Tax Division Email:  bustax@state.sd.us 

Motor Vehicle Division Email:  motorv@state.sd.us  

Website:  https://dor.sd.gov/           

Mailing address and office location: South Dakota Department of Revenue 

 445 East Capitol Ave 

 Pierre, SD 57501 

Warranties, Service Contracts, and Insurance 
Manufacturer’s Warranty 

Parts and labor furnished to fulfill a warranty obligation of the manufacturer are not subject to sales tax. Receipts from 

the manufacturer for warranty work are not taxable. No tax is owed on parts taken from inventory to complete work 

under a manufacturer’s warranty, this does not include warranty software.   

Receipts from the customer or manufacturer for items not covered by the warranty are subject to sales tax.            

Loaner/rental vehicle: A warranty may provide for a loaner or rental vehicle while a car is repaired. 

• When the manufacturer pays for the loaner/rental vehicle as provided under a warranty, the receipts are subject 

to the motor vehicle gross receipts tax, but are not subject to sales tax or tourism tax.   

• If the customer pays for the rental vehicle, the receipts are subject to state and municipal sales tax, motor 

vehicle gross receipts tax, and tourism tax.  

Extended Service Contracts (Extended Warranty) 

Extended service contracts that cover unexpected repair costs are subject to the motor vehicle excise tax when sold at 

the time of the vehicle purchase.   

Extended service contracts sold later are subject to sales tax. Sales tax applies where the extended service contract is 

delivered to the customer. If customer takes possession at the dealership, the tax rate is based on the dealer’s location. If 

the extended warranty is mailed to the customer, the tax rate is based on the customer’s mailing address. 

Mechanical Breakdown Insurance 

Insurance policies are not considered warranty or service contracts. Insurance premiums are not subject to sales tax; 

however, the premiums are subject to insurance premiums tax. All charges made to the insurance company for parts and 

labor are subject to sales tax.  

If it is unknown if the service contract is insurance or not, contact the South Dakota Department of Labor, Insurance 

Division and ask if the company that sells the contract is a licensed insurance company, or call the Department of 

Revenue at 1.800.829.9188. 

Implied Warranty 

If there is no charge for repairs made to a customer’s motor vehicle after the sale and those repairs are not covered by a 

written warranty, use tax is owed on the cost of all parts installed in the customer’s vehicle. No use tax is owed on 

employee labor. 

If the manufacturer’s warranty states: Sales Tax or Use Tax Due 
No cost to customer for parts No sales tax or use tax due on the parts 

Customer is responsible for a percentage of parts and labor Sales tax due on the amount charged the customer 

Customer pays a deductible for parts or labor Sales tax due on the amount charged the customer 

Customer is responsible for the repair labor Sales tax due on the amount charged the customer 

The manufacturer furnishes you the repair part at no charge No sales tax or use tax due on the repair part 

The manufacturer pays you for the repair part No sales tax or use tax due on the repair part 

The manufacturer pays you for the repair labor No sales tax or use tax due on the repair labor 

mailto:bustax@state.sd.us
mailto:motorv@state.sd.us
https://dor.sd.gov/
https://dlr.sd.gov/insurance/
https://dlr.sd.gov/insurance/

