South Dakota

Department of Revenue

445 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, South Dakota 57501 - 3185

This fact sheet is designed to educate taxpayers on gross receipts
from providing entertainment services. Sales tax is also due on
sales of merchandise such as T-shirts, CD’s, posters and any
other items or services. Since it’s impossible to cover every
conceivable situation, specific questions can be directed to the
Department of Revenue’s toll-free phone center at 1-800-TAX-
9188.

Information found in this document rescinds and replaces all
previously written information on this subject. All readers and
users of this publication are responsible for keeping informed
about changes in tax laws and regulations by reading the De-
partment of Revenue newsletters, press releases, Tax Facts, and
other documents published by the department.

Who needs a tax license?

If you receive payment in any form for providing entertainment
services, you are operating a business and must obtain a sales tax
license. The following list may be used as a guide to help deter-
mine whether you are performing entertainment services. This list
is NOT inclusive:

* Actors and actresses

* Ballet

* Bands

* Clowns

* Comedians

* Dancing

» DJ’s for special events
* Event announcers

* Exotic dancing

» Karaoke

Who is responsible for paying tax?

Any person or business who receives payment for entertainment
activities is responsible for paying the sales tax to the state. See
the example:

Example

A magician performs a magic act at a children’s birthday party. He
charges the parents $50.00 for his performance. The magician owes
4% state sales tax plus applicable city tax on the $50 received. The
magician may figure the tax into the charge for his services by billing
the customer $52.00 ($50.00 + $2.00 state sales tax).

Entertainers

What about tips and free drinks?

If an entertainer receives tips from customers (which are received
entirely at the option of the customer), no sales tax is due. If an
entertainer’s contract states that drinks or meals will be provided,
tax is due on the entire receipts for the engagement including the
value of the meals, drinks and cash payment received.

Exemption Certificates

An exemption certificate is a form given by a purchaser to the
seller of goods or services that the purchaser intends to resell. An
entertainer may accept an exemption certificate from a licensed
business that intends to resell the entertainment services. Be sure
the certificate is completed and signed.

A bar that charges admissions or a cover charge may provide an
exemption certificate. When admissions or tickets are sold for an
event such as a concert, the entertainer may accept an exemption
certificate.

If the admissions or ticket sales to the event are not taxable, an
exemption certificate may not be issued for the entertainer. This
may include events at state, county or local fairs or fundraising
events when the charitable organization is collecting the admis-
sions or ticket sales. In these situations, sales or use tax is due on
the entertainer’s fees.

An exemption certificate from a bar or promoter only covers the
charge for entertainment services; the entertainer is still responsible
for collecting tax on sales of t-shirts and CD’s and other items.

Exemption certificates may be obtained at www.state.sd.us/drr or
by calling 1-800-829-9188.

Examples

Harry’s Bar hires Rock Band to appear at Harry’s on Saturday night.
Harry charges his customers a $5.00 cover charge to attend. Rock
Band receives $500 and a resale certificate from Harry. During a
break, Rock Band receives $200 for sales of t-shirts and CD’s. Rock
Band must remit sales tax on the $200 in merchandise sales.

Southside Promotions hires five bands to play for a weekend music
festival. Southside sells tickets for the event. Southside may pro-
vide an exemption certificate to the bands for their services. Each
band is responsible for reporting and remitting tax on sales of their
merchandise at the event.




Entertainers

Use Tax

Equipment and supplies purchased by an entertainer are subject
to sales tax when purchased. If the supplier does not charge sales
tax, use tax is due. An example is a purchase made through the
mail or the Internet. Use tax is reported on line 2 of the sales tax
return. Here are some examples of items on which sales or use tax
must be paid:

*  Amplifiers

e Artwork

*  Attorney fees

*  Bookkeeping and accounting fees
*  Consulting fees

e Costumes

* Internet access fees

e Musical instruments

*  Production services

e Props

*  Recording equipment

*  Recording studio time

*  Repair parts

e Sheet music

»  Stagehands (except for W-2 employees)
e Uniforms

*  Webpage design

Municipal Tax

Many municipalities in South Dakota have a sales and use tax in
addition to the state sales tax. If the customer receives a product
or service in one of these municipalities, the product or service is
subject to that municipality’s sales tax.

Municipalities may also have a 1% gross receipts tax The municipal
gross receipts tax (also referred to as the Bed, Board, and Booze
tax) is a 1% tax that is in addition to the municipal sales tax.
The gross receipts tax can be imposed on alcoholic beverages,
eating establishments, lodging accommodations, ticket sales,
and admissions to places of amusement, or athletic and cultural
events.

A list of municipal tax rates is available on our website at www.
state.us.sd/drr or by calling 1-800-TAX-9188.

Tourism tax also applies to admissions and merchandise sales made
at spectator events and visitor attractions.

Other publications you may wish to request:

Exempt Entities Tax Facts
Municipal Tax Information Bulletin
Restaurant and Bar Tax Facts
Exemption Certificate Tax Facts
Tourism Tax Facts

Use Tax Facts

Talk to Us!

If you have a tax problem or question, call the South Dakota Depart-
ment of Revenue toll-free at 1-800-TAX-9188. Visit us on the web
at www.state.sd.us/drr, email us at bustax@state.sd.us or write us:

South Dakota
Department of Revenue
445 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-3100

Aberdeen
14 South Main, Suite 1-C
Aberdeen, SD 57401

Mitchell
417 N. Main, Suite 112
Mitchell, SD 57301

Rapid City
1520 Haines Avenue, Suite 3
Rapid City, SD 57701

Sioux Falls
300 S. Sycamore, Suite 102
Sioux Falls, SD 57110

Watertown
715 S Maple
Watertown, SD 57201

Yankton
1900 Summit Street
Yankton, SD 57078-1951




