South Dakota
Department of Revenue
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, South Dakota 57501

This Tax Facts is designed to explain how sales and use tax
applies to Real Estate Brokers' commissions and products or
services purchased or sold. If this Tax Facts does not answer
your specific question, please call the department’s toll-free
Helpline at 1-800-829-9188 between 8:00 AM — 5:00 PM CST,
Monday through Friday.

Information found in this document rescinds and replaces all
previous written information on this subject. All readers and
users of this publication are responsible for keeping informed
about changes in tax laws and regulations by reading the De-
partment of Revenue newsletters, press releases, Tax Facts, and
other documents published by the department.

- .

Commissions received by a real estate broker under any type of
agency agreement or any fee originating from the sale of real prop-
erty sold in the state of South Dakota, regardless of the broker's or
agent's residence, are subject to state and applicable municipal sales
tax based on where the property is located.

Sales tax is due during the reporting period the broker receives the
commission, usually at the time of closing. The broker pays sales
tax on the full commission received, without deduction for amounts
paid to broker associates or salespersons or other expenses.

* Broker - The broker(s) is responsible for sales tax on the total
commission received.

* Broker associate or salesperson — A broker associate or sales-
person is a representative of the broker with whom he/she is
affiliated. The broker associate or salesperson does not owe
sales tax on the commission received as the listing or selling
broker associate or salesperson.

Example: Broker A lists a house. A broker associate affiliated
with Broker A contacts a buyer, shows a house listed with
Broker A and obtains an offer that is accepted. When the clos-
ing occurs the full commission of $10,000 is paid to Broker A.
Broker A then remits a 40% commission split, $4,000, to the
broker associate. Broker A owes sales tax on the full commis-
sion of $10,000. The broker associate does not owe sales tax
on the $4,000 commission split.

Multiple Listing Service. Under a multiple listing agreement, more
than one broker may be involved in the sale of a property. In some
instances, the listing broker is paid the commission and applicable
sales tax at the time of closing. The listing broker sends the selling
broker the agreed upon share of the commission along with the
applicable sales tax. Both brokers remit the applicable sales tax on
their respective portions of the commission.

Example: Ahouse in Pierre sells for $175,000. The commission is
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split between the listing and selling brokers. The listing broker
collects $10,500 plus $682.50 (state and Pierre city sales tax) at
the time of closing. The listing broker keeps 50% of the
commission and sends 50% to the selling broker. Each reports tax
on $5,250 at 6.5%.

Referral Fees - The agency receiving the referral fee owes sales
tax based on its location.

Services provided by office personnel, broker associates
or salespersons may be subject to sales or use tax. However,
sales tax does not apply to broker commission splits to broker
associates or salespersons in regard to their listing and selling
activities.

1. When a service provider is an employee and the real estate
company is paying withholding taxes, the wages are not subject to
sales or use tax.

2. A company paying a service provider on an hourly basis that is
not paying withholding taxes should contact the Department of
Labor (www.dol.sd.gov) to determine if withholding is required. If
withholding is not required, the service provider is an independent
contractor. Amounts paid to an independent contractor are subject to
sales or use tax. The real estate company is responsible for remitting
use tax if the service provider does not charge sales tax.

Examples:

a. An independent contractor is paid $12 an hour to answer calls
and schedule appointments. The payment each week shows the
number of hours and hourly rate. Because this is not for a spe-
cific client, use tax is due on the amount paid to this person.

b. The broker hires a broker associate on an hourly basis to do a
few jobs. The broker associate answers the phone, places signs
on three properties, and shows a property to a prospective buyer.
The broker associate was paid for 5 hours work at $15.00 per
hour. No withholding is done. This is an independent contractor.
Because the services were for multiple clients, these services
cannot be purchased for resale. Sales or use tax is due on the
$75.00 paid to the salesperson.

3. If the independent contractor provides services for a specific client
and the invoices and payment information indicate the services are
for a specific client, the services may be purchased for resale.

Example: A broker associate hosts an open house and shows the
house to three prospective buyers for the broker. The broker
sells the house and pays the broker associate $200. The invoice
states the owner and property for which the service was pro-
vided. The $200 is not subject to sales or use tax.
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Temporary help services are subject to state and city sales tax
where the services are used.

Brokers do not owe sales tax on amounts received as reimbursement

for fees paid on behalf of a broker associate or salesperson if the
broker associate or salesperson is legally liable for those fees.

* License Fees. Licensing fees paid to the State are not subject to
sales tax. Because these fees are required by law, brokers who
pay the licensing fees of their broker associates or salespersons
do not owe sales tax if reimbursed by the broker associates or
salespersons.

* Errors & Omissions Insurance. Premiums paid for insurance
policies are not subject to sales tax. Brokers do not owe sales tax
on reimbursements for Errors & Omissions Insurance because
the licensee is legally liable for this insurance.

Meeting Expenses

Reimbursements the broker receives from broker associates or
salespersons for meeting or meal expenses the broker paid on behalf
of the broker associates or salespersons are not subject to sales tax.
Sales or use tax should be paid on all taxable services or products
purchased.
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A company may bill expenses such as utilities, phone calls, copies,
desk rent or office space rent to the broker associates, salespersons,
or other people that share an office.

Rent an Expen

1. A company that owns an office building does not owe sales tax on
the rental of office space. Charges for any optional services offered
by the owner are subject to sales tax.

Example: Broker A owns an office building. Broker A charges that
each pay a portion of the utilities and phone service. Because
the utilities and phone service are not optional, the entire charge
is not subject to sales tax whether billed as a lump sum or the
charges are itemized.

2. A company leasing office space from the building owner may split
the office rent with others working in that office and may charge for
various services. Charges for desk or office rent are not subject to
sales tax. If the company bills separately or itemizes charges for
other services, those charges are subject to sales tax. Examples of
taxable charges include equipment rental, phone services, utilities,
office help, copies, snow removal, and cleaning.

Example: Broker B leases office space from the owner of a
building and bills broker associates monthly for their share of
the office, including a separate charge for utilities and phone
service. Sales tax applies to the utilities and phone charges. If
Broker B had charged a flat fee per month that included space,
utilities and phone, no sales tax would be due.

These are membership organizations the broker, broker associate,
or salesperson may choose to join. Membership fees are not subject
to sales tax. Services provided by a membership organization, such
as multiple listing services, are not subject to sales tax. The sale,
lease, or rental of tangible personal property or products transferred
electronically is subject to sales tax. The association is responsible
for paying sales or use tax on all purchases of products and services.
Taxable items may include books printed with listings, flyers, and
locks, keys, or key readers used to access the properties. Any
charges by the broker to the broker associate or sales person for
association fees are not taxable; charges by the broker for taxable
items are subject to sales tax.
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Advertising services where the service provider creates or prepares
the ad and places the ad in the media are exempt from sales tax.
Either creating an ad or placing an ad without the other service is
subject to sales tax. Any charges by the broker to the broker as-
sociates or salespersons for exempt advertising services are not
subject to sales tax. Charges by the broker to the broker associates
or sales persons for taxable services, flyers, or brochures are subject
to sales tax.

Newspaper, Radio, Magazine

* Fees to create an advertisement and place the advertisement in
the media are not subject to sales tax.

* A fee to create an advertisement that is not placed in the media
by the business that created the ad is subject to sales tax.

* Charges by a newspaper, radio, magazine or other form of media
for the placement of an ad are not subject to sales tax.

Websites

* Charges by an agency to create a website and place a website
on the Internet are not subject to sales tax. The agency must
create and place the website for this to be an exempt advertis-
ing service.

* Charges by an agency to create a website that is transferred to
the owner, and not placed on the Internet by the agency, are
subject to sales tax.

* Web hosting services, domain name registration, and services
other than creating and placing the website are subject to sales
tax.

* Charges by a website owner for another business to place an
advertisement or a listing on an existing website are not subject
to sales tax.

 Charges by an agency to create and place virtual tours on the
Internet are not subject to sales tax. Charges by an agency to
create a virtual tour that is not placed on the Internet by that
agency are subject to sales tax. Charges by the owner of an
existing website to an agency for placement of its virtual tour
on the existing website are not subject to sales tax.
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Flyers and brochures. Charges to create and print flyers and
brochures are subject to sales tax as a sale of tangible personal

property.

Multiple Listing Services (MLS) Websites. The MLS develops
and places websites on the Internet for the participants in the mul-
tiple listing area. The development and placement of a website is
an exempt advertising service. Charges for placing ads or listings
on an existing website are not subject to sales tax. All purchases
by a MLS company are taxed. All sales of products by a MLS are
taxable, i.e., copies of listings, keys and locks. Charges by the broker
to the broker associates or salespersons for MLS services that are
exempt advertising services are not subject to sales tax.

See Advertising Tax Facts for further information.

Earnest Money

Earnest money held by the real estate broker on behalf of their cli-
ent is not subject to state and city sales tax. However, if the earnest
money is used as part of the broker’s commission at closing that
is subject to state and city sales tax based on the property location.
Earnest money paid to the homeowner or returned to the seller is
not subject to sales tax.

Exempt Entities

Sales to the federal government, its agencies, and the State of South
Dakota and any public or municipal corporations of the State of
South Dakota are exempt from sales tax. If the broker’s contract is
with the government or state and payment of the commissions is
from the government or state, no sales tax applies. If the broker’s
contract is with the buyer, who is not a government entity, and the
buyer pays the commission, then the commissions are subject to
sales tax.

Example: When the real estate broker represents the Department
of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) for the sale of a
property and HUD has a contract to compensate the agent, the
commission paid to the broker is exempt from tax since HUD
is a government entity.

Eranchise Fees

Royalty fees paid by a franchisee strictly for the privilege of engag-
ing in business using the franchiser’s name are not subject to sales or
use tax. However, royalty fees are taxable if the franchiser charges
the franchisee a flat fee which includes royalty fees and products
or services. When taxable sales are included within the royalty fee,
and not separately stated, the entire royalty payment is subject to
South Dakota sales or use tax. Examples of taxable items that may
be included with the royalty fee are training, accounting, software,
signs, and promotional items.

See Franchise Tax Facts for additional information.
Real estate appraisals are subject to state & applicable municipal
tax where the report is delivered.

Foreclosures

Banks or finance companies often contract with brokers to sell
properties they obtained through foreclosure. Commissions received
from the sale of foreclosed properties are subject to sales tax. Banks
and financial companies are not exempt from sales tax. Any person
or retailer subject to sales tax may add the tax to his or her price or
charge. (SDCL 10-45-22) Brokers are responsible for remitting sales
tax whether or not the tax is collected from the client.

Home Inspections

Home inspection services are subject to state and applicable mu-
nicipal sales tax based on the location of the property.

Home Warranties

The sale of home warranties, which may cover the structure and
appliances, is subject to state and applicable municipal sales tax.
Brokers, broker associates, or salespersons do not owe sales tax on
commissions they receive from the sale of a home warranty.

Auctioneer commissions for the sale of real property are subject to
state and applicable city tax based on where the property is located.
The sale of real property, land and buildings, is not subject to sales

tax except for buildings sold with the requirement that they must
be moved.

See Auctioneer Tax Facts for further information.

Spec Homes

Any person that makes a realty improvement and sells the prop-
erty containing the realty improvement within four years of its
completion is subject to contractors’ excise tax. This includes new
construction and remodeling of existing buildings. This may be
referred to as a spec building or house flipping. Brokers, salesper-
sons, investors, individuals, and contractors are examples of people
that may be spec builders.

See Speculative Builders, $100,000 Rule Tax Facts for further
information.

Asset Management Companies

An asset management company manages assets an owner has in
inventory for sale. An asset management company may provide
services from maintenance to selecting the brokers and will see that
transactions are completed through closing. Services provided by
these companies are subject to state and applicable municipal sales
tax based on where property managed is located. An asset manage-
ment company cannot deduct expenses incurred from its taxable

gross receipts, except for items the client is legally liable for, such
as property tax or filing fees.
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Examples of services or products sold by asset management com-
panies:

* Valuation

* Appraisals

* BPO's (A broker’s price opinion (BPO) as to the value of prop-
erty may be used when a full appraisal is not necessary.)

* Marketability analysis

» Market plan

* Recommended sales price

* Broker selection and monitoring

* Analysis of sales "As is" or "As repaired”

* Eviction management

* Cash for keys (CFK)

* Contract negotiations

» Title curative (Researches documentation to obtain clear titles)
* Closing, funding

An asset management company may have a network of recom-
mended brokers for their clients to use. Fees paid by brokers to
be included in this network are subject to sales tax based on the
management company’s location. Brokers owe use tax based on
the broker’s location if the management company does not charge
sales tax.

Services such as appraisals or BPOs sold to an asset management
company are subject to sales or use tax based on the management
company’s location.

Example: A bank has several homes it foreclosed on in Sioux
Falls and Brandon. It hires an asset management company to
handle the process of selling these homes. The asset manage-
ment company cleans the property, obtains appraisals, selects
a broker for the bank to contract with, negotiates the offers,
and reviews all transactions through the closing. Fees charged
by the asset management company for the homes in South
Dakota are subject to the state sales tax. In addition, fees for
homes in Brandon are subject to Brandon municipal tax and
fees for homes in Sioux Falls are subject to Sioux Falls mu-
nicipal tax.

An asset management company will owe sales or use tax on services
it purchases. Services performed on the property such as staging,
cleaning, snow removal, and lawn mowing are subject to sales or use
tax at the property location. Contractors hired to repair a property
will owe contractors’ excise tax on their receipts.

Use Tax

Products or services purchased from an unlicensed business are
subject to use tax. The state use tax rate is 4.5%, plus applicable
municipal use tax, and is payable to the Department of Revenue
in the filing period in which the supplies or services are received.

Products delivered into South Dakota are subject to the South
Dakota sales or use tax, even if the supplier charges another state’s
sales tax. When a purchase is made out-of-state and possession is
taken out-of-state the supplier may charge that state’s sales tax. If

the other state’s sales tax is the same or more than South Dakota’s
tax, there is no South Dakota use tax due. If it is less than South
Dakota’s, the difference is due in use tax. The state use tax plus
applicable municipal use tax must be added together to determine
if additional tax is owed.

Examples of use taxable items are:

* Computers

* Software

* Office Supplies

* Paper

* Laminating and binding services
* Equipment

* Furniture

* Law Books

* Internet database services

* Maintenance Agreements

Municipal Tax

Many municipalities in South Dakota impose sales and use tax in
addition to the state tax. If the customer receives a product or service
in one of these municipalities, the product or service is subject to
that municipality’s sales or use tax. A list of municipal tax
rates is available on our website at http://dor.s.gov or by
calling 1-800-829-9188.

It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to remit the correct sales tax. If
the taxpayer relies on the customer’s representation of his or her
taxing jurisdiction and that information is incorrect, the taxpayer
will be responsible for any additional sales tax due.

TaxMatch, the department’s Geographic Information System (GIS),
will help users quickly find the correct tax rate and codes for loca-
tions throughout South Dakota. Users enter any South Dakota ad-
dress into the Tax Match System; the system will then provide all
the applicable tax codes and rates for that address. For quick and
easy access, look for the GIS icon on the department’s web site at
http://dor.sd.gov.
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Brokers must have a South Dakota sales tax license for each place
of business within the state. The Department of Revenue — Business
Tax Division requires records be kept for at least three years and
be available for inspection during business hours. This includes
records such as purchase and sales invoices, bills of lading, books
of all receipts and sales, cash register receipts, and other pertinent
papers and documents. Please note that other state or federal agen-
cies may require a longer retention period.




Talk to Us!
If you have a tax problem or question, call the South Dakota De-

partment of Revenue toll-free at 1-800-829-9188. Visit us on the
web at http://dor.sd.gov, email us at bustax@state.sd.us or

write us:
SD Department of Revenue
445 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
Aberdeen Sioux Falls
14 South Main, Suite 1-C 300 S. Sycamore Ste 102
Aberdeen, SD 57401 Sioux Falls, SD 57110
Mitchell Watertown
417 N. Main, Ste 112 715 S Maple
Mitchell, SD 57301 Watertown, SD 57201
Rapid City Yankton

1520 Haines Avenue, Suite 3 1900 Summit Street
Rapid City, SD 57701 Yankton, SD 57078




