
Examples

1. Able Leasing leases a backhoe to Ace Construction.  Able 
delivers the equipment to Ace in Sioux Falls on January 15.  
Two months later Ace moves to Aberdeen. On March 10 Ace 
informs Able Leasing that the backhoe is in Aberdeen.  Able 
Leasing owes the state and Sioux Falls sales tax on the lease 
payment for January and February. Able also owes the state 
and Aberdeen sales tax on the lease payment for March.

2. Able Leasing leases a backhoe for six months to Ridge 
Construction to use at a construction site in South Dakota. 
Ridge Construction picks the backhoe up at Able Leasing’s 
location in Minnesota and takes the backhoe to their jobsite 
in South Dakota.  Because the lessee receives the equipment 
in Minnesota, the first payment is subject to Minnesota 
sales tax.  Because the equipment is located in SD and Able 
Leasing has this information, the remaining lease payments 
are subject to South Dakota sales tax.

3. Comp Leasing leases a computer to John Smith for six months 
for $200 a month.  The contract states that John Smith may 
purchase the computer for $100.00 at the end of the lease.  
Because the buyout option is not greater than $100.00, this 
is a sale of tangible personal property, not a lease.  The sales 
tax applies based on where John Smith receives the computer.  
Sales tax may be paid on the payments as they are received, 
because the payments are extended over a period greater 
than 60 days.

4. Comp Leasing leases a computer to a print shop for six 
months for $500 a month, with a buyout option of $1,500 at 
the end of the lease.  Because the buyout option is greater 
than 1% of the total required payments of $3,000, this is a 
lease. Each payment is subject to state and municipal tax. 
If the buyout option is taken, state and municipal tax 
applies to the $1,500 also.
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This Tax Fact Sheet is designed to explain to the lease and rental 
business how sales and use tax applies to items and services they 
sell or lease. If your specific question is not answered in this Tax 
Fact Sheet, please call our toll-free helpline at 1-800-829-9188 
weekdays from 8-5 CT.

Information found in this document rescinds and replaces all 
previous, written information on this subject. All readers and 
users of this publication are responsible for keeping informed 
about changes in tax laws and regulations by reading the De-
partment of Revenue newsletters, press releases, Tax Facts, and 
other documents published by the department.

Taxes and Rates that may apply to a retail business.

State Sales and Use Tax................................................... 4% 
Tourism Tax........................................................1.5% 
Municipal Sales and Use Tax .......................................... 1 to 2% 
Municipal Gross Receipts Tax ......................................... 1% 
Motor Vehicle Gross Receipts or Leasing Tax ............. 4 ½% 
Wireless Gross Receipts Tax ........................................... 4% 

Lease and Rental Services
Gross receipts from the lease or rental of tangible personal property are 
subject to the  state sales tax, plus applicable municipal sales tax. Sales 
tax also applies to any buy-out payments at the end of a lease.

The lease or rental of farm machinery, attachment units and irriga-
tion equipment used exclusively for agricultural purposes is subject 
to state tax, no municipal tax.

Lease or rental means any transfer of possession or control of tan-
gible personal property for a fixed or indeterminate term for con-
sideration. A lease or rental may include future options to purchase 
or extend. Lease or rental does not include:

•  A transfer of possession or control of property under a security 
agreement or deferred payment plan that requires the transfer 
of title upon completion of the required payments;

•  A transfer of possession or control of property under an agree-
ment that requires the transfer of title upon completion of 
required payments and payment of an option price does not 
exceed the greater of one hundred dollars or one percent of 
the total required payments; or

• Providing tangible personal property along with an operator 
for a fixed or indeterminate period of time. A condition of 
this exclusion is that the operator is necessary for the equip-
ment to perform as designed.  An operator shall do more than 
maintain, inspect, or set-up the tangible personal property.

Contracts that contain purchase options that do not exceed the greater 
of one hundred dollars or one percent of the total required payments 
are considered sales of tangible personal property.  Any sale made 
under a contract where payment of the principal sum is extended 
for more than 60 days from the date of sale, only the portion of the 
sale amount that has actually been received by the retailer during 

each reporting period is subject to sales tax.

A lease or rental that requires recurring periodic payments is subject 
to sales tax as follows:

1. The first periodic payment is subject to state and municipal sales 
tax where the lessee receives the product.  

2. If the product is moved to a new location and the lessor has been 
notified of the new location, sales tax will apply to subsequent pay-
ments based on the new location. If lessor does not receive notice 
of a change of location sales tax will continue to apply based on 
where the lessee received the product.

The property location is not altered by intermittent use at different 
locations, such as use of business property that accompanies em-
ployees on business trips and service calls.
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Examples

1.  A car leased with a driver is performing a transportation 
service subject to the 4% state sales tax. No municipal tax 
applies to transportation services until January 1, 2006, 
when transportation that begins and ends within the same 
municipality will be subject to that municipal tax.

2. A backhoe leased with an operator to dig a trench 
is performing construction service subject to the 2% 
contractors’ excise tax.

Example

A leasing company installs and leases a burglar alarm system. 
The lessor will owe use tax on the cost of the materials and 
contractors’ excise tax on each lease payment.

A contractor sells and installs the property for a leasing com-
pany. The contractor is liable for use tax on the material and 
contractors’ excise tax on their receipts. The leasing company 
will not owe sales or contractors’ excise tax on the lease pay-
ments, because the tax has been paid by the contractor.

Lease and Rental

Lease of Equipment with Operator
If an operator is provided to operate the equipment being furnished, 
the contract is for a service and does not meet the definition of a 
lease.  The type of service provided in this contract determines the 
tax application.  Construction services as defined in Division C of 
the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification manual are subject to 
contractors’ excise tax.  All other services are subject to sales tax, 
unless they are specifically exempt.

As a service provider, sales or use tax is due on all material or 
equipment used in providing the service.

Purchases Exempt from Sales Tax
A business that buys property to lease to others may purchase that 
property exempt from sales tax. The business purchasing the prop-
erty must provide the seller with a complete exemption certificate 
at the time of purchase.  A business that leases property with the 
intent of subleasing the same property must provide an exemption 
certificate to the business from whom the property is originally 
leased.

The business that is subleasing the property is responsible for remit-
ting sales tax on the lease payments. State law requires exemption 
certificates to be complete and accurate. The buyer will be held 
responsible for properly completing an exemption certificate.

Exemption certificates may be obtained from the department’s 
website, http://dor.sd.gov, or by calling 1-800-829-9188.

Sales for Resale
A lease and rental business may sell services or products for resale 
if the buyer provides an exemption certificate. It is the buyer’s re-
sponsibility to know when a service or product qualifies as a sale for 
resale. The seller is responsible for maintaining a complete exemp-
tion certificate. For more information on sales for resale, view the 
Exemption Certificate Tax Fact on our website at http://dor.sd.gov 
or request a copy by calling the department at 1-800-829-9188.

Repair and Replacement Parts
A lease or rental business owes sales or use tax on all replacement parts, 
repair parts or maintenance items installed in its rental inventory.

Repair and parts for farm machinery, attachment units and irriga-
tion equipment used primarily for agricultural purposes are exempt 
from sales or use tax.

Lease of Real Property
The lease or rental of real property is exempt from sales tax. 
However, leased or rented tangible personal property  installed 
into real property may be subject to contractors’ excise tax. Con-
tractors’ excise tax applies to lease payments when the contractor 
that installs the property is also receiving lease payments on the 
property. Examples of leased or rented tangible personal property 
that become real property subject to contractors’ excise tax include 
burglar alarms, irrigation systems, restaurant equipment, security 
systems and signs.

Warehousing and Storage
Warehousing and storage, with services, is subject to the state 
sales tax plus applicable municipal sales tax where the storage or 
warehouse is located.

Examples of services that may be provided with storage and ware-
housing are inventory, insurance, handling, packing or repacking, 
security guards, climate or temperature controls, and inventory 
retrieval. 

Cold or refrigerated storage or warehousing including food lock-
ers, frozen food lockers, cold or refrigerated warehousing.

Airport hangar rental including aircraft storage at airports.

Deposits for taxable services, such as a security deposit, are sub-
ject to sales tax. The sales tax on deposits may be refunded to the 
customer when the deposit is refunded.

Exceptions:

Storage provided as part of a moving service is not subject to sales 
tax.

Storage or warehouse space leased for office use is not subject to 
sales tax. If office space is leased along with taxable mini-storage 
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•	 Motorcycles
•	 Recreational Gold Mining 

Equipment
•	 Recreational Vehicles
•	 Recreational Water Equipment
•	 Rock Climbing Gear
•	 Rollerblades
•	 Saddle Horses
•	 Skis
•	 Snowboards
•	 Snowmobiles
•	 Snowmobile trailers
•	 Snowshoes
•	 Watercraft
•	 Watercraft Trailers

or warehousing, the charge for the office space must be separately 
stated. If not separately stated, the entire charge is subject to sales 
tax.

For further information review Tax Facts Storage available online 
at http://dor.sd.gov or by calling 1-800-829-9188.

Sale/Leaseback
Lease or rental payments from a sale and leaseback contract are 
subject to sales tax. Tangible personal property purchased with the 
intent of entering into a sale and leaseback contract is exempt from 
sales tax. A complete resale certificate must be provided by the 
purchaser and retained by the seller.

Recreational Equipment
Tourism tax applies to rentals of recreation equipment when rented 
for 28 or fewer days. The tourism tax is in addition to any state and 
municipal sales tax that applies to the rental.

Recreational Equipment includes:
•	 All-Terrain Vehicles
•	 Beach Chairs
•	 Bicycles
•	 Bumper Boats
•	 Bumper Cars
•	 Campers
•	 Firearms
•	 Fishing Equipment
•	 Floatation Devices
•	 Go-Carts
•	 Golf Clubs
•	 Hunting Dogs
•	 Hunting Equipment
•	 Mopeds
•	 Motor Coaches

Motor Vehicle Lease & Rental
For more information on application sales tax, tourism tax, motor 
vehicle gross receipts tax, and the motor vehicle excise tax on motor 
vehicles that are leased or rented please review the Motor Vehicle 
Sales and Repair Tax facts online at http://dor.sd.gov or by calling 
1-800-829-9188.

Exemptions to Sales Tax on Lease/
Rentals
The following transactions are exempt from sales and use tax:

•	 Lease or rental of tangible personal property between tele-		
	 phone companies

•	 Lease or rental of mobile homes
•	 Lease or rental of real property
•	 Lease or rental of registered motor vehicles for more than 28 	

	 consecutive days
•	 Lease or rental of motel, hotel, campground site or other
	 accommodations for more than 28 consecutive days
•	 Leases or rentals to exempt entities (Proper documentation 		

	 must be on file to support this exemption.)			 
					   

Use Tax
Supplies, materials, or services purchased without an exemption 
certificate are subject to use tax, if appropriate sales tax was not paid 
at the time of purchase. The state use tax, plus applicable municipal 
use tax, is payable to the department in the filing period in which the 
lease and rental business receives the supplies or services.

Tangible personal property delivered into South Dakota by the 
supplier or transportation company hired by the customer is subject 
to the South Dakota sales or use tax, even if the supplier charges 
another state’s sales tax.  When a purchase is made out of state and 
possession is taken out of state the supplier may charge you that 
state’s sales tax. If the rate of the other state’s sales tax is the same 
or more than South Dakota’s tax rate, you do not owe any South 
Dakota use tax. If it is less than South Dakota’s, you pay the differ-
ence in use tax. Add the state and any applicable city rates together 
to determine if you owe additional use tax.

Use tax is also due on supplies taken out of retail inventory for the 
business’ use. Use tax is due on these items in the filing period they 
are taken out of inventory. Additional use tax is due on the lease 
or rental payment if the item is used at a location that imposes 
a higher use tax rate than is being charged by the lessor. Please 
contact the department at 1-800-829-9188 for help in determining 
the use tax due.

Example

Company B buys a bulldozer from Company A. Company B 
sells it to Company C. Company B then leases the bulldozer 
from Company C.
• The first transaction is exempt from sales tax if Company 
B gives a valid exemption certificate to Company A.
• The second transaction is exempt from sales tax if  Com-
pany C gives a valid exemption certificate to Company B 
and signs a contract showing the sale/leaseback intent.
• Company C is responsible for sales tax on the gross 
receipts from the leaseback to Company B.
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Example

A contractor rents a backhoe from a supplier. The supplier delivers 
the backhoe to the contractors’ location outside Sioux Falls. The 
supplier charges 4% state sales tax because the delivery is outside 
municipal limits. The contractor uses the backhoe at a jobsite in 
Sioux Falls, which imposes a 2% municipal tax. Because the total 
use tax rate in Sioux Falls is 6%, the contractor owes an additional 
2% municipal tax on the lease payment for the month the equipment 
is used in Sioux Falls. 

Credit for tax paid in another state

When leased equipment is delivered to a customer in a state that 
imposes sales tax on all future payments of the lease, South Dakota 
will allow credit for the sales tax paid up to the amount of use tax 
due.

Municipal Tax
Many municipalities in South Dakota have a sales and use tax in 
addition to the state sales tax.  If the customer receives a product 
or service in one of these municipalities, the product or service 
is subject to that municipality’s sales tax.  A list of municipal tax 
rates is available on our website at http://dor.sd.gov or by calling 
1-800-829-9188.

Exempt Entities
Accredited schools, non-profit hospitals, approved relief agencies 
and government entities are exempt from sales and use tax.

Lease and rental businesses are required to keep proof of payment 
from the exempt purchaser. Accredited schools and relief agencies 
have numbers assigned by the department that should be provided 
to the lease and rental business. 

Required Records
Lease and rental businesses must have a South Dakota sales tax 
license for each place of business within the state.  Records, such as 
purchase and sales invoices, bills of lading, books of all receipts and 
sales, cash register receipts, and other pertinent papers and documents, 
are required to be kept for at least three years and be available for 
inspection during business hours.  

Talk to Us
For more information please visit us on the web at http://dor.sd.gov 
or call our toll-free tax helpline at 1-800-829-9188.

South Dakota
Department of Revenue
Business Tax Division

445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3185


