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& Regulation

Who needs Commercial License Plates?

Operators of vehicles transporting private business property in South Dakota are sub-
ject to the requirements of commercial vehicle licensing. A proper South Dakota com-
mercial vehicle license can be purchased in a variety of ways depending on usage.
Operators may purchase annual commercial license plates, a temporary commercial
license sold in 30 day increments, or a single trip permit. Operators, individuals or busi-
nesses providing a service for compensation are required to be commercially licensed
while working in South Dakota. Temporary licenses must be displayed in the lower right
hand corner of the vehicle windshield.

If you are moving business property that exceeds 500 pounds, you are required to display
some form of commercial license. This weight includes the weight of the load or any trailer
and load being pulled and any adaptations or modification to the vehicle such as ladder
racks, storage containers or other means of containment used to transport the property.
Vehicles transporting less than five hundred pounds of business property or equipment would
not be required to purchase any form of South Dakota commercial license.

Temporary commercial licenses are available and valid for any 30 day period and may
be purchased for up to 12 months. The fees are determined according to gross vehicle
weight of the vehicle and load and any trailer and load being pulled. The temporary
commercial license may be purchased from a County Treasurer’s Office, Port of Entry,
South Dakota Highway Patrol trooper or Motor Carrier Inspector.

All commercial vehicles operating in South Dakota are subject to inspection for compliance.

Transient Vendors Take Advantage of South Dakotans

We have been seeing an influx of unlicensed out-of-state people coming into South
Dakota to do home repair jobs — mainly roofing - since the hail storm that recently hit
the Black Hills area and others doing clean up work in the Hermosa area. These people
appear to follow storm-struck areas around the country. Some of them are not repu-
table and pose a potential fraud risk to the citizens of our area.

We have had out-of-state persons apply a thin layer of gray sealer to the roofs of homes
and guarantee that the roof will stop leaking. They have charged the homeowners
$1,200 and the roofs still leak. By the time the homeowners were aware of the faulty
repair, the out-of-state persons were gone and the homeowner had no recourse but to
hire a local, reputable contractor to repair the leaky roof.

Under South Dakota law, any business which intends to sell any kind of tangible per-
sonal property or service in the state must have a current South Dakota tax license.
Anyone found guilty of engaging in business without a valid South Dakota tax license
after having been notified in writing may be charged with a Class 6 felony.

Our department is advising citizens who encounter unlicensed or suspicious transient ven-
dors to report them to local law enforcement. If you have any questions on transient vendors
or if the Department can be of assistance regarding this issue, please contact our office at
1-800-829-9188. All calls are confidential. Thank you for your assistance with this issue.

45,366 copies of this publication were printed by the South Dakota Department of Revenue & Regulation at a cost of 9.5 cents each.



Are you making these Top 10 Contractors’ Excise Tax Errors?

1. Do you deduct the contractors’ ex-
cise tax from gross receipts prior to
listing the total gross receipts on line
1 of the contractors’ excise tax re-
turn?

The contractors’ excise tax is a gross
receipts tax on the contractor. Gross re-
ceipts include 100% of the amount re-
ceived in payment from the owner for
completing the project. No deductions
may be taken for any expenses or losses
incurred. The contractors’ excise tax is
an expense of the project and must be
included in the figure on line 1 of the re-
turn.

In order for the contractor to recoup tax
from the customer, the contractor is al-
lowed to use a factor of 2.041% when
bidding and billing the customer.

2. Does the project owner provide
materials for you to install?

The cost or fair market value of materi-
als provided by the owner for a contrac-
tor to install are subject to the 2% con-
tractors’ excise tax and must be reported
on line 2 of the return. The contractor
should obtain a copy of the invoice or a
statement from the owner regarding the
price of the materials and sales tax paid
on the materials. If this information is not
provided by the owner, the contractor
must calculate the fair market value of
the materials provided. The fair market
value of the owner-furnished materials
includes sales or use tax on the material.

3. Do you bring materials and equip-
ment into South Dakota from out of
state or buy tools and materials over
the Internet?

If a contractor purchases or brings equip-
ment or materials into South Dakota from
out of state, the contractor may have a
use tax liability. If the vendor does not
collect the applicable sales tax, new or
used equipment and materials delivered
into South Dakota are subject to 4% state
use tax, plus applicable municipal tax, on
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the purchase price. If the contractor
paid tax in another state and the rate
was less than South Dakota’s, the con-
tractor must remit the additional use tax
in South Dakota.

If equipment is purchased or brought into
the state for use during construction, it is
subject to the South Dakota sales or use
tax.

If new equipment is purchased for con-
struction use, the South Dakota sales tax
must be paid to a licensed vendor or the
use tax paid to the Department of Rev-
enue & Regulation on the cost or fair
market value, whichever is greater.

If used equipment is brought into the
state by a contractor who originally pur-
chased the equipment for use in another
state and the equipment is seven years
old or less, use tax must be paid on the
fair market value of equipment unless
sales or use tax has been previously paid.
The age of the equipment is based on
the manufacture date if available; if not
available, age is based on the purchase
date. The amount of tax on the equip-
ment will be reduced by the amount of
sales or use tax previously paid by the
contractor to another state, if South Da-
kota has reciprocity with that state.
Equipment used in a municipality is sub-
ject to that municipality’s use tax.

4. Do you have contracts for Exempt
Entities?

Contractors’ excise tax is a tax imposed
on the gross receipts of all contractors
engaged in realty improvements includ-
ing projects for governmental entities.
There are NO exemptions from contrac-
tors’ excise tax. Sales and/or use tax is
also due on the materials used in projects
for exempt entities. If the exempt entity
provides materials, the contractor will
owe the state use tax, plus applicable
municipal tax, in addition to contractors’
excise tax on the value of the materials.

5. Do you barter or trade items? Do

you have liquidated damages? Do
you reduce the contract amount for
“sweat equity”?

A contractor cannot deduct “sweat eg-
uity,” or labor performed by the home-
owner, in exchange for a reduction in the
amount due to the contractor, from their
gross receipts reported. If a contractor
barters or trades an item for labor, the
value of the item determines the amount
of tax due.

Example: The owner asks, “Will you
reduce my contract amount by $10,000
if | do all the trim work in my new
home?” The contractor agrees. The
contractor will still owe contractors’
excise tax on the $10,000. The owner
becomes a subcontractor.

Example: The owner asks, “Will you
reduce my contract amount by $10,000
on my new home if | give you the title
to my boat?” The contractor agrees.
The contractor will still owe
contractors’ excise tax on the $10,000
as gross receipts.

Example: The contractor is behind on
his work. The contract amount to
complete a highway project was
$750,000. The deadline to be done with
the project was January 15; the
contractor finished the project on
February 15. The contract stated that
the owner would reduce the payment
amount by $1,000 for every day that
the contractor went over the deadline.
The contractor is not allowed to reduce
gross receipts by the amount the owner
withheld for penalty for late
completion. The contractor will owe
contractors’ excise tax on the full
amount of $750,000.

6. Do you take material or equip-
ment from a rural location into a city?

Materials and equipment are taxable
where possession is taken. If possession
is taken in a city that imposes a city tax,
applicable city tax is due. City use tax is
due during the reporting period that the
materials are used, stored or consumed
in the city limits.

CONTINUED ONPAGE 7



REVENUE SOLUTIONS

Business Education Program

Come join our Business Education Program at one of the
workshops or seminars in your area. For the most current
list of seminars or to register, visit our website at
www.state.sd.us/drr2/businesstax/seminar/seminar.htm

Border Issues Seminars

Border Issues Seminars cover the difference in the tax appli-
cation and reporting process between South Dakota and bor-
dering states.

Tri-State (IA/NE/SD)

October 10, 2007  Sales Tax: 9:00am — 4:00pm
October 11, 2007 Contractors’ Tax: 9:00am — 4:00pm
Western lowa Technology

Building B (Advanced Sciences Building)

4647 Stone Avenue

Sioux City, 1A

Small Business Workshops

Information regarding the Department of Revenue & Regu-
lation, Department of Labor, and the Small Business Admin-
istration will be covered. Seminars run from 8:30am - 4:00pm.
October 10, 2007
Western Dakota Technical Institute

CTC-ARoom

800 Mickelson Drive

Rapid City, SD

Basic Tax Seminars

Basic Tax Seminars cover sales, use and contractors’ excise
tax issues. These seminars are free and designed for new
business owners or as a refresher course.

November 13, 2007 Sales Tax:

Southeast Technical Institute ~ 9:00am —12:00pm

2320 N Career Avenue Contractors’ Excise Tax:
Sioux Falls, SD 1:30pm—4:30pm

Get your tax guestions answered

Did you know the Department of Revenue and Regulation
prepares tax presentations specific to your group, organiza-
tion, association or even for your business? On a regular
basis the Department offers a number of tax education semi-
nars. In addition, the department is anxious to provide tax
education specific to your needs.

The department will tailor a presentation specific to your
group. Let us know your concerns or topics you want ad-
dressed and we will do the rest. This is a great opportunity
to get questions answered, develop working relationships
not only with Department of Revenue and Regulation staff,
but also with your fellow taxpayers.

Contact the Business Education Coordinator at
business.education@state.sd.us or 605-773-3311. It will be
our pleasure to provide a presentation at your next meeting.

Tax Filing Deadlines

October

October 1 - Paper returns and payments due for
bi-monthly filers. (July - August)

October 20 -  Paper returns and payments due for
monthly filers.

October 23 -  SD QUEST returns due.

October 30 -  SD QUEST electronic payments
due.

November

November 20 - Paper returns and payments due for
monthly filers.

SD QUEST returns due.

SD QUEST electronic payments due.
Paper returns and payments due for bi-

monthly filers.

November 23 -
November 29 -
November 30 -

December
December 20 - Paper returns and payments due for
monthly filers.

SD QUEST returns due. (Sunday)

SD QUEST electronic payments due.

December 23 -
December 28 -

RETRACTION
Contributions to Construction

The South Dakota Department of Revenue and Regulation
is retracting the allowance for “contributions to construc-
tion” as described in the April 2007 Taxation newsletter.
Information provided stated contributions to construction
were not taxable receipts to a utility company. The Depart-
ment has further researched this issue and has determined
that the contributions to construction are subject to contrac-
tors’ excise tax.

Any utility that charges their customer for construction ser-
vices should have a contractors’ excise tax license and should
report contractors’ excise tax on their receipts. Construc-
tion services may include charges for extending lines or in-
stallation of meters.

If your utility has receipts from customers for any construc-
tion and are not currently reporting contractors’ excise tax
on those receipts please contact the Department at 1-800-
829-9188 to determine if you have a tax liability.
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News You CaN Use

Are you filing electronically?

October 2007 marks the 8™ anni-
versary of the Department of Rev-
enue and Regulation’s electronic fil-
ing system SDQUEST. SDQUEST
allows taxpayers to file electroni-
cally using the Internet or Interac-
tive Voice Response method with
ACH debit or credit payment
method. The system is secure with
all information safeguarded through
encryption technology.

SDQUEST was implemented in Oc-
tober 1999. At that time only a hand-
ful of taxpayers used the electronic
option to file and pay their taxes. Eight
years later the number of electronic
filers has grown to almost 22% of the
monthly filers with 52% of the col-
lections remitted via SDQUEST.

-

If you are not currently a QUEST filer
consider the advantages this system of-
fers you on a regular basis:

e There is no charge to use the sys-
tem.

* Your tax return due date is extended
from the 20" of the month to the 23",

e ACH payments are not deducted
from your bank account until the sec-
ond to the last business day of the
month.

e SDQUEST offers you the option to
import existing city/special jurisdiction
tax information from your data files
through the Dynamic Web Import op-
tion. No more re-keying for those who
have numerous city/special jurisdic-
tion tax obligations.

~

* The system automatically calculates
the taxes due based on gross and tax-
able sales. This feature eliminates
calculation errors that can be time con-
suming and require additional filings
and result in interest assessments.

* Users also have the option to begin
areturn, save and return to complete
the return prior to the submission
deadline.

All that is required to become a user is
asimple one page informational appli-
cation that can be completed and sub-
mitted electronically. This form can
be found on the department’s website
www.state.sd.us/drr or contact the de-
partment at 1-800-TAX-9188 for infor-
mation. Sign up today and discover,
as many of your fellow taxpayers have,
how easy the system is. J

ATM Fees

In South Dakota, the service industry
continues to grow. ATM machines are
located in grocery stores, conve-
nience marts, and various other loca-
tions. When you visit the ATM at the
nearest convenience store for a quick
$50.00 to pay the babysitter, there is
normally a fee associated with the
ATM transaction.

The fee charged to the user by the
ATM machine owner/operator is sub-
ject to state and applicable city sales
tax. The fee is reported as gross sales
(without tax included). You may de-
duct the sales tax that is included in
the fee by dividing the fee by the ap-
plicable tax rate. For example, a fee
of $2.50 is divided by 1.06 = $2.30,
which is the taxable revenue.
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There are times when the owner/op-
erator will pay acommission to the busi-
ness that allows the ATM machine to
be placed in their business location.
This commission is exempt from sales
tax as a space rental.

The ATM machine owner/operator
typically hires a company to process
the ATM transactions. The fee that is
retained by the processing company is
subject to sales or use tax. Some pro-
cessors are located out of state and do
not report sales tax on the fee they
charge for the processing service. If
the processor is unlicensed, the ATM
owner/operator is responsible for re-
porting use tax on the fee.

SD processors may also have sales or
use tax liability on services provided to

them by service providers who verify
cardholder information such as name,
address, and expiration dates.

In an ATM transaction the money is
taken from a credit card or bank
card, the networks charge the bank
that issued the card an interchange
fee, which the bank in turn charges
the card holder. The interchange fee
is paid to the ATM owner/operator
who may split the fee between the
processor, credit card company, and
the bank. The interchange fee is sub-
ject to sales tax.

Financial services provided by banks
are not subject to sales tax. Banks
not licensed with the SD Banking Di-
vision are subject to state sales and
use tax laws.




News You CaN Use

Recycled or Reused Owner-Furnished Material

If the owner of a construction project
furnishes you with equipment or mate-
rial to install that the owner previously
used in another realty improvement this
is owner-furnished material, and it is sub-
ject to the following tax:

1. Contractors’ excise tax applies to the
cost or fair market value of owner-fur-
nished material, including material pre-
viously used by the owner in another
project.

2. Use tax is due on the cost or fair mar-
ket value of owner-furnished material,
including material previously used by the

owner in another project, unless one of
the following conditions is met:

A. The material was previously used
in SD. Because the material was used
in South Dakota sales or use tax should
have been paid at that time.

B. The material was previously used
by the owner at an out-of-state loca-
tion and

* the material is greater than seven
years old; or

* documentation shows that sales or
use tax greater than the amount
due SD was previously paid.

Prime Contractor Exemption Certificates:

Who issues them?

Prime contractor exemption certifi-
cates should be given by the prime
(general) contractor to all subcontrac-
tors performing realty improvements.
Prime contractor exemption certifi-
cates are to be issued for each project
that subcontractors work on. The ex-
ception is if the project is for a Quali-
fied Utility. All contractors owe excise
tax on their receipts for Qualified Util-
ity projects.

If a prime uses the same subcontrac-
tor on multiple jobs, it is acceptable for
them to issue a prime contractor ex-
emption certificate and provide a list-

ing of each project that subcontractor
works on, rather than a separate prime
contractor exemption certificate for
each project. The prime contractor is
liable for excise tax on the total con-
tract even if no prime contractor ex-
emption certificate is given to the sub-
contractor and the subcontractor pays
the tax.

Prime contractor exemption certifi-
cates are only issued by the Prime con-
tractor. Subcontractors who use sub-
contractors need to obtain prime con-
tractor exemption certificates from
the prime to issue to their subs.

Attention Agricultural EqQuipment Repair Shops

Repairs and repair parts for agricultural
equipment are exempt from sales tax.
If you are repairing agricultural equip-
ment you do not owe sales tax on your
receipts. These services are exempt by
law. If you are not sure the equipment
is used for agricultural purposes, you
may have the customer complete an

exemption certificate indicating the re-
pair is for agricultural use. Having a
completed exemption certificate on file
at the time of sale provides the repair
business relief from liability for tax.
Customers that provide incorrect infor-
mation on the certificate will be respon-
sible for any use tax that may be due.

Sales by Governmental
Entities

Sales by counties, cities and the state
are subject to 4% state sales tax re-
gardless of how the items are sold -
on demand, by sealed bid or at a
yearly surplus auction. This includes
the sales of office furniture and equip-
ment, gravel, culverts, bridge planks,
grader blades, tools, heavy equip-
ment, etc.

In addition, if the purchaser takes
possession inside the boundaries of a
city that imposes a municipal tax, the
municipal tax rate will be applicable.
If the purchaser takes possession out-
side of city limits and pays 4% state
sales tax, then, at a later date, takes
the equipment into a city that imposes
a municipal tax, the purchaser be-
comes responsible to remit the addi-
tional municipal use tax to the state
at the time it is taken into a city.

If the purchaser takes possession out-
side of the state of South Dakota, no
South Dakota tax is due. However,
there may be a tax imposed by the state
where the purchaser takes possession.
If the purchaser brings the item back
into South Dakota, use tax is due.

If an item is sold to a construction
company in South Dakota, the 4%
state sales and applicable municipal tax
is always applicable. A contractor is
not allowed to purchase material to
be installed or equipment for resale.

If equipment is sold to a equipment
company that will resell the equip-
ment, the county may accept an ex-
emption (resale) certificate. The
county would not charge any tax on
this transaction. The equipment com-
pany will collect/remit the tax when
sold to the end consumer. The county
must keep a copy of the exemption
certificate in their records to docu-
ment why sales tax was not charged

at the time of sale.
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SALES & Use TAx
Hunting Lodges

It’s that time of year again for the fields to be flooded with hunters and
game. There are a lot of new hunting operations in the state and some may
not be aware of the tax issues. If you are providing any type of guiding,
lodging, or recreational service, there is a 1% tourism tax that would apply in
addition to the state tax and applicable municipal tax.

Most operators provide package deals that include beverages, meals, shells,
guide, and lodging. State and tourism tax applies to the package price plus
applicable municipal tax if any of the service is provided in a municipality.
The only services that can be purchased for resale if sold in a package are:
guide services, meals purchased at restaurants, lodging accommodations, items
sold outside the package.

Landowners that charge for hunting rights also need to be licensed and would
owe 4% state tax.

Sports and Recreation Clubs

Are you a member of a sports or recreation club such as a gun club or an
archery club? If so your club may have a South Dakota sales tax obligation.

Any membership sport or recreation club in the state of South Dakota is re-
quired to have a South Dakota sales tax license. Products and services sold by
a club are subject to the 4% state and applicable city sales tax.

Items a club may sell that are subject to South Dakota sales tax include mem-
bership fees, charges to use the range, ammunition, targets, chips, pop, and
candy.

Charges to use the shooting or archery range are subject to the 1% tourism tax
in addition to the 4% state and applicable city sales tax. The tourism tax does
not apply to shooting ranges owned by non-profit organizations.

Charges for shooting league or for tournaments are exempt from South Dakota
sales tax and the tourism tax.

Are you receiving payment from a state
government?

The governments from other states or the District of Columbia are exempt from
sales tax if the law in that state provides a similar exemption for South Dakota
governments. Governments providing a similar exemption are Colorado, Indiana,
lowa (motels and hotels are not exempt), Minnesota (lodging and meals are not
exempt), North Dakota, Ohio, and West Virginia. The governments from states
without a sales tax are exempt from South Dakota sales tax. These states are
Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon.

Payment must be made directly from the government. The exemption does not
apply to payments made by employees, even if the employee will be reimbursed
by the government.
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County Governments

Counties receive many different
types of funds for services they pro-
vide. One area that may be over-
looked is their highway department.
If the county highway department
receives any type of payment for one
of the following construction services,
they need to obtain a South Dakota
Contractors’ Excise Tax license and
remit the 2% contractors’ excise tax
on those receipts.

Examples of taxable construction ser-
vices are:

e Repairs to damaged signs and
other structures due to accidents
or vandalism

e Private contributions to repair
roads and driveways

 Road repairs for townships or road
districts.

The contractors’ excise tax license
is in addition to their sales tax license.

For more information see County
Government Tax Facts on our web-
site at www.state.sd.us/drr2/
businesstax/publications/
publications.htm

Did your customer hire
the delivery company?

Retailers owe sales tax based on where
products are delivered if the retailer
knows the delivery address. This in-
cludes delivery by a delivery company
hired by the customer. If the retailer
does not know the delivery address,
sales tax applies based on the
customer’s address.

If the customer takes possession of the
product at the retailer’s business or if
the retailer does not know the delivery
or customer’s address, then sales tax
applies at the retailer’s location.



CONTRACTORS' EXCISE TAX
Modular, Ready-Built, UBC Homes

If a contractor or dealer constructs a
building on their property and sells to
a customer with or without installa-
tion, there are some tax laws to con-
sider. Effective July 1, 2004, changes
were made on how excise, sales, and
use tax apply. There are three sce-
narios that should be followed.

1. Contractor/dealer sells house with
installation on permanent foundation

Contractors’ Excise Tax Errors (CONTINUED FROM PAGE 2)

Many contractors have offices or stor-
age facilities located outside of city lim-
its and many of their contracts are lo-
cated inside city limits. Contractors who
have materials or equipment delivered
to their office or storage facilities located
outside of the city limits owe the mu-
nicipal tax when the equipment or ma-
terials are used inside city limits.

7. Do you issue or receive Prime
Contractor Exemption Certifi-
cates?

The prime contractor should furnish
prime contractors’ exemption certifi-
cates to each subcontractor for each
realty improvement project. The prime
contractors’ exemption certificate must
show the prime contractor’s valid ex-
cise tax license number and the project
location. Prime contractors’ exemption
certificates cannot be issued to service
providers subject to sales tax such as
carpet installers, surveyors, or archi-
tects or to subcontractors on contracts
for qualifying utilities.

Subcontractors must retain the prime
contractors’ exemption certificates in
their records. The prime contractors’
exemption certificate should not be
mailed in with the excise tax return.
Any subcontractor who fails to retain
a prime contractors’ exemption certifi-
cate for each project is considered to
be a prime contractor and is subject to

- use tax is due on the cost of mate-
rial where the dealer takes posses-
sion or where items are taken out of
inventory. Contractors’ excise tax is
due on total gross receipts.

2. Contractor/dealer sells house
without installation-sales tax is due
on the cost of materials based on the
customer’s point of possession.

3. Contractor is hired to install a prebuilt

the 2% contractor’s excise tax on their
gross receipts from the project.

8. Do you know what “undue en-
richment” is?

Auditors and agents often see accu-
mulating balances in the tax account
record when the amount of tax col-
lected from accumulated customers
does not balance with the actual tax
due on the return. This is often a result
of rounding. If the correctly calculated
return does not balance with the
amount collected, 100% of the tax col-
lected must be remitted. A business is
not allowed to transfer tax collected
into an operating account and use for
general operating expense. If tax is
collected from the customer it must be
remitted to the Department. If an er-
ror was made in collecting tax from
the customer, the additional tax col-
lected must be refunded to the cus-
tomer. The tax account record should
zero out each month.

9. Do you make sure your subcon-
tractors have a current contractors’
excise tax license?

The Department of Revenue and Regu-
lation works to make sure that all con-
tractors working in South Dakota are
properly licensed and remitting the ap-
propriate sales and excise taxes. It is
also very important for the prime con-

house on permanent foundation - con-
tractors’ excise tax is due on the con-
tract price plus value of the house since
it is owner furnished material. If no
sales or use tax was previously paid on
home, the contractor will owe use tax
on cost of materials.

For additional information review Tax
Facts on Manufactured and Modular
Homes online at www.state.sd.us/drr.

tractor on a project to verify that all
subcontractors working for them on a
project have a contractors’ excise tax
license. Administrative Ruling
64:09:01:16 states, “General contrac-
tors are liable for use tax due on all
items of tangible personal property
used, stored or consumed in the per-
formance of their contract including
those portions of the contract per-
formed by subcontractors.” For your
own protection be sure to verify that
all your subcontractors are licensed
and have paid the applicable sales or
use tax on the materials they furnish
forajob. If youwould like to know if
a business has a valid tax license,
please contact the Department.

10. Do you have both a sales tax
and contractors’ excise tax li-
cense? Do you report the use tax
on materials for an excise taxable
transaction on the sales tax re-
turn?

If you have both a sales tax license
and a contractors’ excise tax license,
you must complete two different tax
return forms. Retail sales and services
are reported on the sales tax return.
When use tax is due on the contrac-
tors’ cost of materials used in an ex-
cise taxable transaction, the state use
tax and any applicable municipal tax
should be recorded on the contractors’
excise tax return.
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