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South Dakota’s Fuel Tax System 
South Dakota’s 8,000 mile network of roads and highways, waterways, snowmobile trails, 
airport facilities and runways are essential to the state’s economy and its citizens’ quality of life. 
Through the taxation of motor fuels, the costs associated with creating and maintaining this 
transportation infrastructure are distributed proportionately to the individuals and businesses that use 
this transportation system. 

 
Tax Rates 
The chart below shows the South Dakota tax rate charged for the following types of fuel: 

 
FUEL TYPE TAX RATE 
Gasoline $0.28per gallon 
100% Ethyl Alcohol & 100% Methyl Alcohol $0.14 per gallon 
Clear (Undyed) Diesel Fuel $0.28 per gallon (Including K1 & K2 Kerosene) 
Clear (Undyed) Biodiesel Fuel $0.28 per gallon 
Liquid Petroleum Gas (LPG) $0.20 per gallon 

 

*In addition to the above taxes, there is a $0.02 per gallon Tank Inspection Fee. 
*As of June 1st 2016, the South Dakota Sales Tax rate has changed to 4.5 percent.  

 
Taxpayer Bill of Rights 
The Taxpayer’ Bill of Rights has formalized the fundamental principles that have guided the South 
Dakota Department of Revenue since 1986. 

 
1. You have the right to confidentiality. 

 
2. You have the right to tax information that is 

written in plain English. 
 

3. You have the right of appeal. 
 

4. You have the right to courteous, prompt and 
Accurate answers to your questions. 

9. You have the right to seek a refund of any taxes 
you believe you have overpaid within the last 
three years. 

 
 

10. You have the right to a process requiring that 
the seizure of your property for taxes be 
be approved by a person no lower in 
authority than the division director. 

 

5. You have the right to be certain that collection 
procedures or assessments are not influenced by 
performance goals or quotas. 

11. You have the right to expect that a good-faith 
effort to comply with tax laws will be given 
consideration in disputed cases. 

 

6. You have the right to rely on the written advice 
given to you by the Department of Revenue. 

 
7. You have the right to be notified before the 

Department audits your records unless the 
Secretary of Revenue determines that a delay 
will jeopardize the collection of tax. 

12. You have the right to a tax credit of interest 
or penalties that are determined to have been 
inappropriately levied. 

 
13. You have the right to the removal of a lien on 

your property within 30 days after you have 
paid all tax, penalty and interest due. 

 

8. You have the right to clear and consistent policy 14. 
Regarding the deadline for filing tax returns and 
making payments. 

You have the right to have the South Dakota 
Department of Revenue correct the public 
record. 
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Definitions 
The following definitions are intended to help identify some of the terms commonly used by 
industry and the South Dakota Department of Revenue when referring to the Highway 
Contractor profession: 

 
• A Highway Contractor is defined as, “any person engaged in the activity of highway 

construction work in this state. The term includes any person paid by public funds who 
performs seeding, re-seeding, fencing or other maintenance or construction work within the 
right-of-way. The term does not include any person who only owns and operates motor 
vehicles within the right-of-way hauling gravel or concrete and does not own or operate 
off-road machinery in the highway construction work.” 

• Public Roads & Highways are defined as, “any way or place of whatever nature, 
including waterways and snowmobile trails, which are open to the use of the public as a 
matter of right for the purpose of vehicular, snowmobile or watercraft travel, even if the way 
or place is temporarily closed for the purpose of construction, reconstruction, 
maintenance or repair.” 

• The Road Right-of-Way is defined as, “a strip of land over which a public road is built. 
The boundaries for public highways and township roads are from fence post to fence 
post, while city streets are from curb to curb. Storm sewers, ditches and gutters are 
included within the road right-of-way.” 

• Highway Construction Work is defined as, “all work which is performed in any capacity 
to propel vehicles, machinery, or equipment within the right-of-way in the construction, 
reconstruction, repair or maintenance of public roads & highways.” Maintenance 
includes, but is not limited to road grading and snow removal. 

 
The Highway Contractor License 
The effectiveness of the fuel tax system in South Dakota depends on license holders at every level 
within the fuel distribution system. Each license grants certain privileges and carries 
specific responsibilities. An individual or business may hold one or several licenses, depending upon 
the kind of business transacted. 

 
Any person engaged in highway construction work in this state is required to become 
licensed as a Highway Contractor before performing this work. In order to be awarded a 
public highway or street contract from the State of South Dakota, or from any county, township or 
municipality within the state, a bidder must be licensed as a Highway Contractor. The state, counties, 
townships and municipalities have access to the Department’s Highway Contractor 
Verification System and will check on-line to verify that a company is properly licensed and not 
delinquent in filing tax returns or paying taxes prior to awarding a bid or making the final 
payment on a highway contract. 

 
A Highway Contractor, who has been issued a Highway Contractor’s fuel tax license, may also 
operate as a licensed Liquid Petroleum Gas User without obtaining a separate license. 
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How and Where to Apply for a License 
There are different ways to obtain a motor fuel Highway Contractor’s tax license. You may 
complete an on line application at 
https://apps.sd.gov/applications/rv23cedar/main/main.aspx. Or you can log onto the web at 
www.state.sd.us/drr2/motorvehicle/motorfuel/highway_contractor1.htm and click on Motor  Fuel 
Tax License Application. You may also visit our Pierre, Rapid City, or Sioux Falls office. If you are 
completing a paper application form, return it to the Division of Motor Vehicles in 
Pierre. You will receive your license(s) approximately 10 working days after the receipt of your 
application.  No fees are charged for fuel tax licenses and there are no bonding requirements  
(except for individuals who are delinquent in reporting and remitting fuel tax, and to reinstate a 
revoked license). Once a license card is received, it should be prominently displayed at the place of 
business, for which it was issued, within the public’s view. 

 
Other Licenses 
Some other license types that might relate to you as a Highway Contractor are as follows: 

• An Importer’s License - is required if you purchase and bring fuel into South Dakota by 
truck or railcar. 

• An Exporter’s License - is required if you export or remove fuel from South Dakota by 
truck or railcar. 

• A Transporter’s License - is required if you transport fuel in or out of South Dakota in 
quantities greater than 4,200 gallons. 

• A Contractor’ s Excise Tax License - is required if you are entering into a contract for 
construction services which may be listed in Division C of the Standard Industrial 
Classification Manual of 1987. You can find the manual online at 
http://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sic_manual.html. To obtain this license, please contact 
the Business Tax Division toll free at 1-800-TAX-9188 or fill out a license application 
online at http://www.state.sd.us/_drr. 

 
NOTE: If importing, exporting and transporting activities are a required part of a Highway 
Contractor’s work, the contractor need only file a Highway Contractor’s tax return. If these 
activities are not directly related to contracting work, a contractor must file separate returns for 
each activity. 

 
Refusals to Issue or Reinstate a License 
The Secretary of Revenue may refuse to issue or reinstate a license for any of the following 
reasons: 

• The application is filed by a person whose license has been cancelled for cause by the 
Secretary. 

• The applicant has made false or misleading statements on the application. 
• The application is filed by a person as a subterfuge for another person whose license has 

been cancelled for cause by the Secretary. 
• At the time of application for license reinstatement, the person is found to have been 

delinquent in the filing of tax returns or the payment of taxes two or more times during 
the preceding license year. 

 

http://www.state.sd.us/drr2/motorvehicle/motorfuel/highway_contractor1.htm
http://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sic_manual.html
http://www.state.sd.us/_drr
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• The applicant was convicted of a crime involving fuel tax or owes fuel tax, penalty or 
interest to South Dakota or another state. 

If your license application is refused, you may request an administrative hearing before the 
Secretary to review the application. Your request must be submitted within 15 days of the date of 
notification of refusal. 

 
License Revocations 
If you fail to file a report or remit a tax payment when due, the Secretary of Revenue may 
immediately schedule a license revocation hearing.  If your license is revoked, you may not 
engage in any business activity authorized by the license. Written notice of the revocation will be 
given to you and all other current license holders. 

 
Cancelling Your License 
In order to properly cancel your license, a written request must be submitted indicating the 
reason and the requested date of cancellation. Before your license is cancelled, all returns and taxes 
must be filed and paid up to the date of cancellation. Your Highway Contractor License card must 
be returned with your cancellation request. 

 
Changes in Ownership or Address 
If your business ownership changes, for instance; from a sole proprietor to a corporation or there are 
changes in corporate officers, you must contact the Department. A new license will be issued in 
certain situations. 

 
If your mailing address or business location changes, please notify the Department in writing 
immediately. 

 
Taxation & Fuel Usage   
Fuel is only subject to either sales/use tax or fuel excise tax in South Dakota. The tax that 
applies is based on how and where the fuel is consumed. 

 
Dyed Fuel 
Under the dyed fuel program, diesel & biodiesel fuel that is used for off-road purposes will have dye 
added to it at the refinery or at the fuel terminal. Fuel Marketers (retail stations, convenience stores or 
bulk fuel distributors) must charge sales tax to Highway Contractors when the 
contractor purchases dyed fuel. 

 
• Dyed fuel used for off-road construction (for example, in the pit area or on private 

property), is subject to sales tax; 
• Dyed fuel used in stationary equipment within the road right-of-way during road 

construction, repair or maintenance is subject to sales tax; and 
• Dyed fuel that is used within the road right-of-way in self-propelled movable 

machinery and equipment is subject to South Dakota’s fuel excise tax. 
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It is important that the Highway Contractor examine fuel purchase invoices to ensure the sales tax was 
charged. If no sales tax has been charged, the Highway Contractor needs to pay the 
appropriated sales tax when sending in their quarterly Highway Contractor’s Tax Return or 
report the sales tax on line 6 of the Contractor’s Excise Tax Return. If sales tax was charged and the 
fuel is used in a fuel taxable manner, a credit for the state sales tax is taken on the Highway 
Contractor’s Tax Return and the fuel excise tax would be due. The city tax credit must be taken on 
lines 10 through 21 on the Contractor’s Excise Tax Return. 

 
No refund of fuel excise taxes will be paid for undyed (clear) diesel or biodiesel fuel used in movable 
machinery or equipment.   For this  reason,  contractors  are  encouraged  to use dyed  diesel     fuel             
in their equipment or machinery. Also, no refund will be paid for undyed fuel (gasoline, ethanol blend, 
undyed diesel, undyed biodiesel or any other undyed fuel) used in licensed 
vehicles, for any reason, in highway construction. 

 
Penalties for Illegal Use of Dyed Fuel 
Penalties apply to anyone who uses dyed diesel or dyed biodiesel in a licensed motor vehicle 
operating on South Dakota roads and highways. Authorized personnel of the Department of 
Revenue, the Internal Revenue Service, and the Highway Patrol may withdraw fuel from 
licensed motor vehicles, machinery, equipment and storage facilities in sufficient quantities to 
test for compliance with the law. Any person who refuses to allow an inspection of 
equipment or fuel as authorized by SDCL 10-47B-189 is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. 

 
Penalties differ for qualified and unqualified licensed vehicles. A qualified vehicle is used, 
designed, or maintained for transportation of persons or property, and: 

 
• Has two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 

26,000 lbs.; or 
• Has three or more axles regardless of weight; or 
• Is used in combination when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 lbs. 

 
Persons using dyed diesel or dyed biodiesel in a qualified vehicle, such as a semi-truck and similar 
large truck, are subject to the following penalties: 
• $500 for the first violation 
• $1,000 for each subsequent violation 

 
Persons using dyed diesel or dyed biodiesel in vehicles other than qualified vehicles, such as cars 
or pickup trucks, are subject to these penalties: 
• $250 for the first violation 
• $500 for each subsequent violation 

 
The first violation of the dyed-fuel law is a Class 2 misdemeanor; any subsequent violation is a 
Class 6 felony. 

 
The information in this section also applies to any other type of fuel that has had dyed added to it such 
as kerosene and biodiesel. 
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Undyed Fuel 
When you purchase undyed fuel from a retail fuel station, convenience store or bulk fuel 
distributor in South Dakota, they will charge you the fuel excise tax. Undyed fuel purchased outside 
of South Dakota and imported into the state is subject to fuel excise tax. This tax must be remitted 
with the Highway Contractor’s Tax Return. 

 
Highway Contractors may only use undyed fuel in licensed vehicles, regardless of how or where the 
fuel is to be used. Undyed fuel is gasoline, 100% ethyl alcohol, clear diesel & clear 
biodiesel, and liquid propane gas (LPG). 
• Undyed diesel or biodiesel fuel consumed in stationary equipment within the road right- 

of-way or in other equipment outside of the road right-of-way is not subject to a refund 
of fuel excise taxes. For this reason, a Highway Contractor should use dyed diesel or 
biodiesel fuel for these purposes; 

• Gasoline, ethanol blend, and LPG that is consumed in licensed vehicles, machinery or 
movable equipment within the road right-of way is subject to the fuel excise tax. 

• No refund or credit of fuel excise taxes will be allowed for gasoline, ethanol blend, 
undyed diesel, undyed biodiesel or any other undyed fuel that is used outside of the road 
right-of-way, in license vehicles, for highway construction purposes. 

 
Refund for Accidental Mixing of Undyed Fuel with Dyed Fuel 
A refund may be claimed for fuel excise taxes paid when undyed fuel is accidentally mixed with dyed 
fuel when the following conditions are met: 
• The amount of undyed fuel accidentally mixed with dyed fuel equals 500 gallons or 

more; 
• The claimant notifies the Department of the accidental mixing within five days of the 

incident through an Affidavit of Accidental Mixing of Undyed Fuel with Dyed Fuel (see 
appendix); 

• The Department can determine with reasonable certainty the amount of taxed and tax- 
exempt fuel involved; and 

• The mixed fuel is dyed by the Department to legal specifications if deemed necessary by 
the Secretary. 

 
Instances When Refunds Are Not Available 
No refunds of fuel excise taxes will be given in any of the following cases: 
• Fuel used in licensed motor vehicles, self-propelled machinery and equipment operated 

on South Dakota’s public highways; 
• Fuel used on the highway in any licensed motor vehicles, machinery or equipment 

engaged in highway construction or maintenance work that is paid for, wholly or in part, by 
public moneys; 

• Undyed diesel & biodiesel fuel that is used in off-road machinery or equipment; 
• Fuel used by a motor vehicle while it is idling; 
• Undyed diesel & biodiesel fuel that is consumed in licensed vehicles outside of the road 

right-of-way for commercial purposes; and 
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• Gasoline and ethanol blend that is consumed in licensed vehicles and stationary 
equipment within the road right-of-way or in licensed vehicles and other equipment 
outside of the road right-of-way. 

 

Equipment Used For Multiple Purposes   
Only one type of tax (fuel excise or sales/use tax) is due on fuel when it is purchased. How and 
where the fuel is consumed ultimately determines which type of tax is due. 

 
Examples of How and Where Fuel is Consumed* 
The following examples are intended to assist you in determining the type of tax that applies 
based on how and where the fuel is consumed: 
• A scraper may extract dirt from outside the road right-of-way. The scraper could then 

transport the dirt to a location inside the road right-of-way for distribution. When the 
scraper is outside of the road right-of-way, the dyed fuel used is subject to sales/use tax. 
The dyed fuel that is used inside of the road right-of-way is subject to fuel excise tax. 

• A bulldozer might be used for ripping out the road surface on one project and then used 
for pushing a scraper outside of the road right-of-way to extract more dirt for road fill on 
another project. The dyed fuel used on the first project would be subject to fuel excise 
tax, while the dyed fuel used for the second project would be subject to sales/use tax. On 
such occasions, records based on each type of use need to be maintained on the bulldozer. 

 
Project managers and foremen should be able to identify a percentage of time when equipment is used 
inside the road right-of-way versus outside the road right-of-way. Percentages will vary, depending 
on how and where the equipment is used. The percentage of usage will be acceptable as long as it can 
be verified. This information will be necessary when completing the Highway Contractor’s Fuel Tax 
Return. 

 
Examples of Construction Projects* 
Questions have arisen over the years on whether certain projects are considered highway 
construction work. Listed below are some examples of how to classify different construction 
projects: 

• Construction or maintenance of storm sewers, ditches or gutters is considered highway 
construction work since they direct water and debris away from the road or highway. If a 
subcontractor is hired for the sole purpose of installing water or sewer mains, the 
subcontractor’s work is not considered highway construction. Utility work performed in 
ditches would not be highway construction work either because it has nothing to do with 
maintenance of the actual roadway. 

• Boring under the road to install utilities is not considered highway construction work 
because it does not involve the tearing up of the road. 

• Construction of airport runways is not highway construction because while the runway 
may be open for private aircraft usage, they are not open for general public use. 

• The paving of private parking lots and driveways are not considered highway 
construction because they are not within the road right-of-way. 

• Annexation work  is not  highway construction  if it is privately funded.  If  publicly funded, 
it is highway construction work. 
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• Grading and snow removal performed on state, city, county, township and municipal 
roads are considered highway construction. When this work is billed to a city or 
township, it is exempt from sales tax, but the dyed diesel or biodiesel fuel used in the 
equipment is subject to the fuel excise tax. The best way to report these gallons is to 
identify the average gallons per hour used in the equipment and take the gallons times the 
number of hours the equipment was used. 

• Mowing ditches, seeding and laying sod within the road right-of-way are considered 
highway work. These activities help maintain and improve the road right-of-way. 

• Light pole installation and road painting are also considered highway construction work. 
They are both considered maintenance of the road right-of-way. 

• Installing a culvert through an approach is highway construction work. The culvert helps 
divert water in the ditches and the approach is located inside the road right-of-way. 

• Construction of or maintenance on boat ramps and boat ramp parking is considered 
highway construction. Boat ramps are comparable to access ramps to a road and 
considered part of the right-of-way. 

• Dredging of rivers and lakes is also considered highway construction. This process clears 
waterways, which are considered highways for watercraft travel. 

*These are just examples and do not cover every situation. 
 

Record Keeping/Acceptable Records 
To ensure that the correct amount of fuel excise tax and sales/use tax is collected on all fuel used on 
South Dakota road and highway projects, the law requires Highway Contractors to keep 
detailed records of all fuel purchases and fuel usage, as well as machinery and equipment used on 
highway construction projects. License holders need to maintain these records to accurately complete 
tax returns and must present them to Department personnel if they are audited or have their licenses 
reviewed. Records are to be maintained for a period of at least 30 days at the 
business or delivery location or at a location approved by the Secretary. All records must be 
preserved for the current year and the three preceding calendar years. 

 
Fuel Purchases and Deliveries 
Highway Contractors must keep all bills-of-lading and purchase invoices for fuel received for 
use in highway construction projects. These records must be kept for both bulk and retail 
transactions including credit card receipts and statements from unattended automated pump 
facilities. Contractors need to ensure that their receipts for fuel include the following 
information: 

• The Suppliers’ or fuel Marketers’ name and address (must be machine printed or rubber 
stamped on the invoice); 

• The license number of the Supplier or fuel Marketer from whom they purchased the fuel; 
• The Highway Contractor’s name and address; 
• The sale and delivery date of the fuel; 
• The type of fuel and number of gallons purchased, and in the case of diesel or biodiesel 

fuel, if it was dyed or undyed; 
• Ethanol blend invoices must list gasoline gallons & 100% ethyl alcohol gallons 

separately; 
• The price charged per gallon for the fuel; 

 



• The amount of fuel excise tax or sales tax paid for the fuel. Either the fuel excise tax or 
sales tax must be listed separately on the purchase invoice or a statement by the Supplier 
or Marketer must be included in your records that says the price per gallon includes 
South Dakota fuel tax; and 

• The total cost of the fuel. 
 

Sales and Purchase Records 
Licensed Highway Contractors must keep all sales and or purchase invoices. A copy of the invoice 
must be maintained in the records of both the seller and the purchaser. The invoices 
must be serially numbered and must contain the following information: 
• The seller’s name and address; 
• The seller’s supplier’s license number issued by the department, if the fuel was sold at the 

pipeline or the seller’s marketer’s number if not sold at a pipeline; 
• The purchaser’s name and address; 
• The date of sale and delivery of the fuel; 
• The number of gallons of fuel sold and delivered to the purchaser, the type of fuel and if 

diesel whether it was dyed or not; 
• The price charged per gallon of fuel; 
• If charged, the amount of fuel tax or sales tax. Fuel tax must either be listed separately or as 

a statement by the marketer that the price per gallon required by law includes the South 
Dakota fuel tax; and 

• The total amount of the sales invoice 
 
Licensed Highway Contractors must also maintain all fuel shipping documents in their records. 
These records must be retained at the place of business for at least 30 days. They may then be 
transferred to an off-site location. 

 
Fuel Consumption and Usage 
Highway Contractors are also required to keep records of the following: 

• All fuel consumption records to support statements of fuel used in self-propelled motor 
vehicles, and equipment within the road right-of-way; 

• All fuel consumption records to support statements of fuel used in stationary equipment 
or in self-propelled motor vehicles, machinery and equipment used outside of the road 
right-of-way; and 

• The serial number and year of manufacture for all motor vehicles, machinery and 
equipment used to complete the project or contract. 

 
Any of the following records may also be used to substantiate fuel usage and time spent on 
projects: 

• Machine hour listings; 
• Time Sheets; 
• Mileage records; 
• Average gallons per hour as furnished by the manufacturer; 

 
The Secretary of Revenue may require other pertinent records and papers necessary for the 
enforcement of fuel tax laws, including journals, ledgers, bank deposits and statements, and 
checking account records. The Department of Revenue reserves the right to determine if these 
records will be considered valid or not. The Department will not accept a deduction of fuel used 
while vehicles, equipment, or machinery are idling. 
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Licensee and Compliance Reviews 
There are two programs designed to both help taxpayers with the proper maintenance of fuel tax 
records and ensure that the appropriate amount of taxes are being reported and paid. These 
programs are the Licensee Review and the Compliance Review. 

 
The Licensee Review 
The Licensee Review is an educational tool that was developed by the Department to help 
educate taxpayers on the proper procedures to follow in keeping and maintaining fuel tax 
records. This review can take anywhere between a half an hour and three working days to 
complete. This will generally depend on the size of the company being reviewed and the amount 
of records that are being maintained. No assessments will result from this type of review and the 
taxpayer is given an opportunity to correct errors, usually by amending tax returns. Penalties and 
interest are assessed if it is found that additional tax is owed and amended tax returns have to be 
filed. Recommendations are also given on how to correct any minor errors that are found. 
Business, company or corporate officer and license information is also updated. If major 
problems are found during a licensee review, the agent has the option of recommending the 
business for an audit. 

 
The Compliance Review 
The Compliance Review is a tool that is used in place of an audit to correct known problems that have 
been discovered with a business. This type of review can take between 1 working day and a working 
week to complete. During the review, records are inspected in order to determine if the problem is a 
valid one. Again, problems can be corrected by amending tax returns but the general solution to these 
types of problems is to schedule the company for an audit. 

 
Audits 
The Department of Revenue routinely audits taxpayers required to pay fuel taxes. The purpose 
of an audit is to verify the accuracy of reported fuel purchases, usage, deductions, credits and 
refunds. 

 
Notice of Intent to Audit 
The audit process begins when the Department mails a “Notice of Intent to Audit” to the 
taxpayer. Taxpayers are normally notified at least 30 days prior to the audit date (unless the 
Department Secretary determines that a delay would jeopardize the collection of tax). 

 
 

At the opening conference the taxpayer must supply all records of fuel purchases and sales, 
including tax-unpaid sales of special fuel and sales on which sales tax was charged; all 
distribution records; and all fuel inventory records. 

 
Within 60 days after the beginning of the audit, the taxpayer must provide the auditor with all 
records supporting deductions and exemptions. If the taxpayer fails to present documentation to 
the auditor within the 60-day period, the auditor may disallow the claimed exemption or 
deduction, resulting in an assessment of additional taxes and interest. If the taxpayer’s records 
are not complete enough to show the true liability, the auditor may estimate the taxable receipts. 
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Certificate of Assessment 
After all records have been analyzed, the auditor will explain their findings to the taxpayer. The 
taxpayer will have an opportunity to comment on those findings. The auditor will then finalize the 
findings and mail the taxpayer a “Certificate of Assessment”. The certificate identifies the tax and 
interest due, if any, and the South Dakota law that applies to the assessment. The 
taxpayer has 60 days from the date of the certificate to take the following action: 

1. Pay the assessment, including accrued interest, or 
2. Request a hearing (in writing) before the Secretary of Revenue. 

 
Appealing an Audit Assessment 
A request for hearing is the taxpayer’s only way of contesting an audit assessment. If a taxpayer 
decides to appeal the assessment, he or she must submit a “Request for Hearing” within the 60- 
day time limitation. The request, submitted in letter form, must specifically identify the issues 
being contested. If it does not, the administrative hearing could be denied. The request for 
hearing must state: 

1. The portion of the assessment being contested, and 
2. The mistake of fact or error of law the taxpayer believes resulted in an invalid 

assessment. 
 
Once a proper request for hearing has been filed, the matter becomes a contested case and falls 
within the scope of the Administrative  Procedures Act  (SDCL 1-26).  The South  Dakota  Office 
of Hearing Examiners schedules the matter for hearing and serves the taxpayer with a “Notice of 
Hearing.” 

 
Notice of Hearing 
The notice of hearing informs the taxpayer of the time and place of hearing, the name and 
address of the hearing examiner, and sets forth the issues to be considered. The notice of hearing must 
be served on the taxpayer at least 10 days prior to the hearing to allow time for “discovery 
proceedings,” which may include a pre-hearing conference involving the Department’s attorney, the 
taxpayer and his or her representative, and the Hearing Examiner. 

 
The Administrative Hearing 
The administrative hearing is conducted according to the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act (SDCL 1-26) and the rules set forth by the Office of Hearing Examiners. The 
taxpayer may be represented by an attorney. Essentially, the taxpayer is a plaintiff in a civil matter. 
Consequently, he or she must prove that the assessment is invalid because it is based on a mistake of 
fact or error of law. In most cases, the administrative hearing is the taxpayer’s only opportunity to 
present testimony and evidence. 

 
At the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing examiner may request briefs on the legal issues. 
Following the submission of briefs, the hearing examiner prepares proposed findings of fact and 
conclusions of law for the Secretary of Revenue to consider. 

 
Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order 
The Secretary may adopt the proposals of the hearing examiner or, after reviewing the record, may 
submit their own findings, conclusions and decision. Copies of the findings of fact, the 
conclusions of law and the order are sent to the taxpayer. 

 
If the taxpayer is ordered to pay additional fees and/or tax and desires to appeal the decision to the 
circuit court, they must: 

1. Pay the amounts ordered to be paid, or 
2. File a bond with the Department to insure payment. 14 
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The South Dakota Supreme Court has ruled that if payment is not made, or a bond posted, the 
circuit court cannot hear an appeal. 

 
Notice of Appeal 
After the taxpayer has paid the fees and/or tax or filed a bond, the appeal to the circuit court is 
governed by the Administrative Procedures Act. The taxpayer must serve their notice of appeal upon 
the Department of Revenue and file it, along with proof of service, with the clerk of courts of the 
appropriate county. This notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date the Secretary of 
Revenue serves the taxpayer notice of their decision. 

 
When the court hears the appeal, it will base its review of the Department Secretary’s decision 
upon the administrative record. With regard to the questions of fact, the Secretary’s findings will be 
upheld unless “clearly erroneous.” Questions of law are fully reviewable by the court. 

 
The decision of the circuit court may be appealed to The South Dakota Supreme Court. The 
Supreme Court will review the Secretary’s decision on the record, under the same standards of 
review employed by the Circuit Court. 

 

Collections 
If a taxpayer fails to pay taxes, penalties, and interest, the Department of Revenue may begin a civil 
suit against the taxpayer for recovery of the debt. If successful, the Department becomes a 
judgment creditor and can use the normal collection procedures open to such a creditor. 

 
Notice of Jeopardy Assessment 
In some cases, the Department may bypass the formal audit procedure in determining if taxes are 
due. If the Secretary of Revenue finds that the assessment or collection of any tax is jeopardized 
by delay, they may immediately make an assessment of the estimated tax, penalty or interest and 
demand payment from the taxpayer.  Thus, when confronted with an uncooperative taxpayer 
who fails to file required returns or report taxable transactions, the Secretary may estimate the 
amounts due based upon available records or sources and issue the “Notice of Jeopardy 
Assessment.” 

 
If a taxpayer fails to pay the amounts noted in the jeopardy assessment and is a resident of South 
Dakota, the Department will file appropriate liens and request the issuance of distress warrants. 

 
Notice of Tax Lien 
Any tax, penalty or interest due from a taxpayer results in an automatic lien on their real or 
personal property. To preserve the state’s lien priority against other creditors, the Department files 
a “Notice of Tax Lien” with the Register of Deeds of the county in which the taxpayer’s property is 
located. 

 
Distress Warrant 
If the taxpayer still fails to make payment, the Department requests the County Treasurer to issue a 
distress warrant to the County Sheriff. The distress warrant directs the Sheriff to proceed to collect the 
delinquent taxes by seizing and selling the taxpayer’s property. 
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License Revocations 
If the holder of a Highway Contractor’s license fails to file a report or remit a tax payment when 
due, the Secretary of Revenue may immediately schedule a license revocation hearing. If your 
license is revoked, you may not engage in any business activity authorized by the license. 
Written notice of the revocation will be given to you and all other current license holders. 

 
A Hearing Examiner conducts the revocation hearing. The Department presents evidence to 
prove the failure to file or pay taxes. The taxpayer then submits their evidence or testimony to 
show compliance with the tax statutes. Following the hearing, the Hearing Examiner prepares 
minutes and a decision for the Secretary of Revenue to consider. The Secretary will then issue 
their order, which may include an assessment of additional taxes, penalty and interest. 

 
The Department and the taxpayer have the right of judicial review of the Secretary’s order. The 
procedure for judicial review is essentially the same as that described in the previous section on audit 
appeals. 

 
Declaratory Rulings 
If a taxpayer believes that an error has been made in determining their liability, they may ask the 
Secretary of Revenue to render a formal opinion regarding the application or interpretation of a tax 
statute. This opinion is called a declaratory ruling and is made according to specific rules and 
procedures set forth in SDCL 1-26-15. 

 
A taxpayer who wants a declaratory ruling from the Department Secretary must submit a verified 
petition. The petition must present the specific question on which they are requesting a ruling 
and the factual basis for the question. Typically, the petition will include a request for a refund of 
taxes. If the Secretary determines that additional facts or information are needed, they may 
call for a hearing on the petition. The Secretary must notify the taxpayer of the hearing at least ten 
days prior to the hearing date. 

 
The Secretary may decline to render a decision if it is determined that a ruling will not settle the 
controversy. If a ruling is made, the Secretary will include findings of  fact  and  conclusions of 
law. 

 
The Secretary’s ruling is subject to appeal to the courts. The appeal is the same as an appeal of any 
other agency decision in a contested case. 

 
Highway Contractor Tax Return 
A tax return MUST be filed even if no activity has occurred during the reporting period! 

 
All fuel excise tax due from a Highway Contractor must be paid to the Department of Revenue 
on a quarterly basis by filing a Highway Contractor’s Tax Return. The tax is due on the last day 
of the month following the end of the quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, legal 
holiday or on a day that the Federal Reserve Bank is closed, the tax is due on the next day that is 
not a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday or day that the Federal Reserve Bank is closed. 
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The return periods and due dates are as listed below: 
 

Tax Period 
January - March 

April - June 
July - September 

October - December 

Tax Return & Payment Due Date 
April 30th 

July 31st 

October 31st
 

January 31st
 

 

Highway Contractor Tax Return Instructions 
When completing the Highway Contractor’s Tax Return, please start on Line 1 on the back of the 
return. 

 
Fuel Usage - Lines 1 - 3 
This section is used to report where the fuel was consumed. 

Line 1 - Enter total gallons of fuel used within the road right-of-way in Movable Equipment and Licensed 
Vehicles (Subject to Fuel Excise Tax). 

Line 2 - Enter total gallons of fuel used in Stationary Equipment and in off-road Machinery and Equipment 
(Subject to Sales Tax). 

Line 3 - Enter the total of Lines 1 & 2. 
 
Fuel Inventory Reconciliation - Lines 4 - 12 
This section is used to report any fuel purchases or consumption as well as fuel remaining in inventory at the end of 
the reporting period. Any fuel that was imported and/or exported during the reporting period is also recorded here. 

Line 4 - Enter the total amount of fuel in your inventory at the beginning of the reporting period (This total 
should match the total fuel in your inventory at the end of the prior reporting period). 

Line 5 - Enter the total amount of bulk fuel brought into South Dakota (imported), during the reporting 
period, on which South Dakota Fuel Excise Tax has been paid (Attach Uniform Schedule of Receipts - 
Type 1a). 

Line 6 - Enter the total amount of bulk fuel brought into South Dakota (imported), during the reporting 
period, on which South Dakota Fuel Excise Tax has not been paid (Attach Uniform Schedule of Receipts - 
Type 2a). 
Line 7 - Enter the total gallons of fuel purchased in South Dakota during the reporting period. 
Line 8 - Enter the subtotal of fuel in your inventory (Add lines 4, 5, 6 & 7). 
Line 9 - Enter the total gallons of fuel used during this reporting period (record amount from line 3 here). 
Line 10 - Enter the total amount of bulk fuel taken out of South Dakota (exported) during this reporting 
period (Attach Uniform Schedule of Disbursements - Type 7) 
Line 11 - Enter the total amount of gallons used and exported during this reporting period (Add lines 9  & 
10). 

Line 12 - Enter total amount of fuel remaining in your inventory at the end of the reporting period  (Ending 
Inventory) - (Subtract line 11 from line 8). 

 
Tax Computations - Lines 13 - 19 
This section is used to calculate fuel excise tax liability and/or fuel excise tax credit. Dyed diesel fuel and LPG that 
has been used within the road right-of-way and is subject to the fuel excise tax will be computed in this section. Any 
sales tax paid on this fuel will be credited on the Sales Tax Worksheet portion of the return (Lines 29 - 37). 

Line 13 - Enter the total gallons reported on line 1, columns A, C and F (These gallons are subject to Fuel 
Excise Tax upon use). 

Line 14 - Enter the total gallons reported on line 6, columns B, D, E and G (These gallons are subject to  tax 
upon import). 
Line 15 - Enter the total gallons reported on line 10 (bulk gallons that were exported). 
Line 16 - Enter the subtotal of gallons that are subject to tax (Add lines 13 and 14 and subtract line 15). 
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Line 17 - South Dakota Tax Rates. 
Line 18 - Enter the Fuel Excise Tax that is due per type of fuel (Debit or [Credit]) - Multiply the amounts 
on line 16 by the Tax Rates on line 17. 
Line 19 - Enter the total Fuel Excise Tax that is due (Add columns A - G, line 18). 

 

Sales Tax Worksheet - Lines 27 - 33 (Front of the Return, Bottom Section) 
This section is used to calculate any sales tax liability and/or credit due. Before completing this section, you will need 
to calculate your average fuel cost per gallon for each type of fuel that you are reporting. 

 
If sales tax was paid on dyed fuel or LPG that was used in a fuel taxable manner, the sales tax paid can be taken as a 
credit in this section. Any city tax due or city tax credit must be paid or taken on your Contractor’s Excise Tax 
Return. 

Line 27 - Enter the total gallons that were used, on which South Dakota Sales Tax has been paid (Do not 
include gallons still in your inventory). 
Line 28 - Enter the total gallons that are subject to Sales Tax from line 2 on the reverse side of this return. 
Line 29 - Enter the net gallons that are subject to Sales Tax (Debit or [Credit]) by subtracting line 27 from 
line 28. 
Line 30 - Enter the Average Fuel Cost per Gallon (determine this from your records -- Federal Taxes, if 
charged at the time of purchase, must be included here). 
Line 31 - Enter the Total Fuel Cost (Multiply line 29 by line 30). 
Line 32 - Enter the Net Sales Tax Due (Debit or [Credit]) by multiplying each column on line 31 by $0.045 
cents. 
Line 33 - Enter the total Sales Tax Due (Add columns A - C, line 32). 

 

Tax Computations - Lines 20 - 26 (Front of the Return, Top Section) 
This section is used to record the total tax liability due or tax credit. If the return is being filed late, interest and/or 
penalty must be calculated on Line 24 (refer to the section on Interest and Penalties in this manual for more 
information). 

 
Bills-of-lading, fuel and equipment usage records and purchase invoices must be maintained for audit purposes or 
reviews by the Department of Revenue. 

 
If a fuel tax credit occurs, the Department will apply the credit to any further tax liability. If the credit exceeds $25, 
contact the Department for a refund. 

 
Line 20 - Enter the Fuel Excise Tax that is due (Record the amount entered on line 19 on the reverse side of 
this return). 

Line 21 - Check the box that applies and if your answer is YES enter your Contractors Excise Tax License 
number. 

Line 22 - Enter the amount listed on line 33 here (NOTE: Sales Tax may be remitted on either your 
Contractors Excise Tax Return or on this return. If City Tax is due, it must be reported on your Contractors 
Excise Tax Return). 
Line 23 - Enter the total Fuel Excise Tax and Sales Tax liability here (Add lines 20 and 22). 
Line 24 - Enter any Interest and Penalty that is due (if filing after the due date of the return). 
Line 25 - Enter the any balance due or credit from prior reporting periods (see the computer generated 
notice if you received one for this). 

Line 26 - Enter the total amount to be remitted with this return (Add lines 23 and 24, and then add  or 
subtract the amount on line 25 if any). 

Sign the return, enter your title and the date of the return, and then mail the return to the address indicated 
in the top, right hand corner of the return. Do not mail to this address if this is an amended return, instead 
see the section on amending a Tax Return that follows. 
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Uniform Schedules of Receipts and Disbursements 
As a Highway Contractors that is required to file reports with the Department you are also required to file Uniform 
Schedules of Receipts and/or Disbursements if you import and/or export fuel for Highway Construction in bulk 
quantities. These schedules must identify each transaction that takes place during a reporting period. 

 
The Uniform Schedule of Receipts is used to show fuel products that are imported into the state for use. 
The only Schedule Types that are to be entered on this form are Schedule Type 1a, for gallons imported in bulk 
on a tax-paid basis and Schedule Type 2a, for gallons imported in bulk on a tax-unpaid basis. These gallons are 
reported on lines 5 and/or 6 of the Highway Contractor tax return as indicated above. 

 
The Uniform Schedule of Disbursements is used to show fuel products that are exported in bulk from the 
state. These gallons are reported as Schedule Type 7 and entered on line 10 of the Highway Contractor tax 
return. 

 
 All fuel that is imported or exported is to be reported using the Product Types as listed on the form for the 
fuel. 

 
Amending a Tax Return 
If the taxpayer discovers an error in the number of gallons of fuel reported on a previous return, the taxpayer will 
need to file an amended return. The correction cannot be made on a subsequent return. To file an amended return, 
make a copy of the original return that was filed, check the amended return box (located on the back of the return), 
cross out the incorrect figure(s) and report the correct figure(s). The return must indicate what the correct figures 
are, not just the difference between what was originally reported and what is correct. Interest will be due if 
additional tax is owed. 

 
A Summary for Amending Motor Fuel Tax Returns (see Appendix), must also be completed and sent in with the amended 
return. The return and Summary, also with any tax payment, must be sent to the following address (not the address 
indicated on the return): 

 
Department of Revenue 
Motor Fuel Tax Section 
445 East Capitol Avenue 
Pierre, SD 57501-3185 

 



 

Appendix of Forms   
 

Highway Contractor’s Tax Return 
Uniform Schedule of Receipts 

Uniform Schedule of Disbursements 
Summary for Amending Motor Fuel Tax Returns 

Affidavit of Accidental Mixing of Undyed Fuel with Dyed Fuel 



 

 
 
 



 
 

 

 



 

 

 



 

 

 



 
 

 

 
Department of Revenue 
Motor Fuel Tax 
445 East Capitol Avenue 
Pierre, SD 57501-3100 

SUMMARY FOR AMENDING 
MOTOR FUEL TAX RETURNS 

 

Please Type or Print: 
1. License Number:   

 

2. Federal ID or Social Security Number:   
 

3. Business Name:   
 

4. Mailing Address:   
 

5. City:_ State: Zip   
 

6. Amount overpaid/underpaid:$   
 

7. For the period(s) of:_   
 

8. State full and complete reasons for the error(s) in reporting which resulted in the above listed 
over/under payment: 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

These figures are provided to the best of my knowledge and I understand that this form does not 
restrict the Department of Revenue from performing an audit of my records. 

 
Name (Please Print):   

 

Signature: Date:_   
 

Title: Telephone Number:   
 

 

(For Department Use Only) 
 

DOR Comments:   
 
 

 

 

Postmark:   
 

Reviewed By:_ Date:   
 

MF056 07/11 
All amended returns covering the periods indicated above must accompany this form 

 



 

 
 

Affidavit of Accidental 
Mixing of Undyed Fuel With Dyed Fuel 

Reference  SDCL 10-47B-132 
 

Explanation 

 
 

Claimant Information 
Claimant Name License Number (If Applicable) 

Address Phone Number 

Attach copies of all fuel invoices related to this accidental mixture. 
1 Total gallons of undyed diesel fuel accidentally mixed with dyed diesel fuel - Obtain from sales invoice 1  
2 Fuel Tax Rate 2 $0.28 

3 Total Fuel Tax Due - Multiply Line 1 by Line 2 3 $ 

4 Total Fuel Cost - Obtain from invoice 4  
5 Net Fuel Cost - Subtract Line 3 from Line 4 5 $ 
6 Sales Tax Due - Multiply amount on Line 5 by $0.045 6 $ 
7 Refund Amount - Subtract Line 6 from Line 3 7 $ 

 

Claimant  and/or Marketer/Retailer Signature 
I/we declare and affirm under the penalty of perjury that gallons of undyed (taxed) fuel were 
accidentally mixed with gallons of dyed fuel on _  , 20_ _. I/we 
understand that the mixed fuel may be dyed by the Department of Revenue to the specifications set forth by law if deemed 
necessary by the Secretary of Revenue. I/we further declare that this dyed fuel will be used for the purpose stated below. 
Explain Purpose for Dyed Fuel 

 

Claimant Signature Title Date 

Marketer/Retailer Signature Title Date 

 
Notarization 

 
 

 
Affix Seal Here 

 
Subscribed and sworn before me this 

 day of , 

20 . 

 

Notary Public 

My commission expires on    
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