
 

Tax Rates 
Cigarette Tax  
$1.53 per pack for 20-stick packs 
$1.92 per pack for 25-stick packs 

Other Tobacco Products Tax 
35% of the wholesale purchase price 

State & Local Sales Tax 
Retail sales of cigarettes and other tobacco 
products are subject to the 4% state sales tax 
rate plus the municipal general rate in 
addition to any cigarette or tobacco tax. 

Pricing 
State law sets a minimum price for cigarette 
sales. Generally, the minimum price is the 
price the retailer paid the wholesaler plus 
8%. 

Fire-safe cigarettes 
All cigarettes sold in the state must be 
certified fire-standard compliant by the State 
Fire Marshall’s Office. These cigarettes will 
have “FSC” printed on the package near the 
barcode.  

Packaging 
Cigarettes must be sold in the 
manufacturer's unopened package of 20 or 
25. Cigarettes may not be sold individually,
i.e. by the single stick. 

Age Requirements  
The minimum age to purchase or use 
tobacco products is 18. There is no state law 
regarding the minimum age a clerk must be 
in order to sell tobacco products. 

Definitions 

Other Tobacco Products (OTP) 
All tobacco products, except cigarettes. 

Roll-Your-Own (RYO) 
Loose-leaf tobacco used to make your own 
cigarettes. RYO is an Other Tobacco Product for 
taxation purposes. 
However, for the reporting requirements of the 
Master Settlement Agreement, it is considered a 
cigarette. 

Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) 
This is the agreement that resolved the lawsuits 
between many states and the largest tobacco 
companies. The companies agreed to pay all of 
the settling states money every year to 
compensate the state for tobacco related 
illnesses. 

Non-Participating Manufacturer (NPM) 
This is a company that did not participate in the 
MSA. These companies are required to place 
money into an escrow account for each pack of 
cigarettes and each ounce of RYO that they sell. 
The money will be used to ensure payment of 
future claims for damages, and ensures the 
NPMs do not have an unfair competitive 
advantage over the PMs. 

Participating Manufacturer (PM) 
One of the companies that settled the claims 
against it, and agreed to pay the states yearly 
damages as well as abide by certain market 
restrictions. 

Fire-Standard Compliant (FSC) 
Cigarettes tested that meet established 
standards for reduced ignition propensity. 

Information for 

Cigarette &  
Tobacco Retailers 
The Department of Revenue is responsible 
for collecting the cigarette excise tax, the 
other tobacco products tax, and regulating 
brands of cigarettes and roll-your-own sold 
in South Dakota. 

Division of Special Taxes 
445 E. Capitol Ave. 
Pierre, SD 57501 
Phone (605) 773-3311 
Fax (605) 773-6729 
www.dor.sd.gov/Taxes/Special_Taxes 

April 2015



Cigarette & Tobacco Retailers 
Businesses that sell cigarettes and other 
tobacco products at retail must: 
 
• Be registered with the Department of 

Revenue. 

• Sell only certified brands of cigarettes 
and roll-your-own (RYO). 

• Ensure every pack of cigarettes offered 
for sale is stamped with the South Dakota 
tax stamp. 

• Purchase tobacco products from 
distributors and wholesalers licensed by 
the State of South Dakota and maintain 
records to show this. 

• Not ship cigarettes or tobacco products 
direct to consumers in this state. 

• Follow minimum pricing guidelines. 

• Only sell cigarettes in the manufacturer’s 
unopened package. 

• Not sell tobacco products to anyone 
under 18. 

 
Registration 
Each location selling cigarettes/tobacco 
needs to be registered with the Department. 
There is no fee, no extra taxes, and no extra 
filing or reporting requirements for this 
registration. The registration works in 
conjunction with your sales tax license. If 
your business ceases selling tobacco 
products, contact the Department at 605-
773-7804. 
 

Certified Brands  
Following the signing of the Master 
Settlement Agreement, the State of South 
Dakota enacted statutes requiring tobacco 
manufacturers to annually certify their 
brands of cigarettes and RYO to sell in this 
state. The Department maintains a directory 
of certified cigarette and RYO brands on its 
website. Only certified brands of cigarettes 
and RYO can be sold in this state. Any 
brands not on the certified tobacco brands 
directory will be seized.  
 
South Dakota Tax Stamp 
South Dakota uses a heat-applied tax stamp. 
The stamp contains the words "South 
Dakota", a serial number, and specifies 
either 20 or 25 cigarettes. Currently the tax 
stamps are purple for 20-stick packs, and 
pink for 25-stick packs. These stamps have 
invisible security features which can be 
verified with special scanning equipment. 
 
Licensed distributors purchase and affix the 
South Dakota tax stamp to each pack of 
cigarettes they sell into this state. The stamp 
is proof the tax has been paid. Packs without 
a South Dakota tax stamp, or that have 
another state’s tax stamp, will be seized. 
Before shelving packs of cigarettes for sale, 
check the bottom of the packs to be certain 
they bear the SD tax stamp. If they do not, 
return them to your supplier; DO NOT sell 
them. 
 
 
 

Purchase from Licensed Distributor or 
Wholesaler 
State law requires retailers to purchase 
tobacco products only from distributors and 
wholesalers licensed by the State of South 
Dakota. This ensures the tobacco taxes are 
paid and the NPM sales reported. 
 
You are required to have documentation 
available showing you purchased all of your 
tobacco products from a licensed wholesaler 
or distributor.  If not kept on the premises, it 
must be made available to the Department 
within five business days. 
 
Delivery Sales Prohibited 
A person or business that sells or distributes 
cigarettes or tobacco products is prohibited 
from engaging in sales direct to consumers 
via e-mail, phone, fax, U.S. mail, the 
internet etc. 
 
RYO Machines  
Effective July 1, 2012, any person that 
maintains or provides a machine at a retail 
establishment that enables any consumer to 
process tobacco or any product that is made 
or derived from tobacco into a roll or tube is 
deemed to be a manufacturer of cigarettes 
under South Dakota state law, regardless of 
whether a fee is charged for the use of the 
machine or whether tobacco products are 
sold at the establishment. Compliance with 
statutes pertaining to cigarette taxation and 
regulation is required. Compliance with FSC 
laws is required by July 1, 2014. 


