South Dakota
Department of Revenue
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, South Dakota 57501

This Tax Facts is designed to explain how sales and use tax ap-
plies to restaurants and bars. If this Tax Facts does not answer
your specific question, please call the department’s toll-free
Helpline at 1-800-829-9188 between 8:00 AM —-5:00 PM CST,
Monday through Friday.

Information found in this document rescinds and replaces all
previous written information on this subject. All readers and
users of this publication are responsible for keeping informed
about changes in tax laws and regulations by reading the De-
partment of Revenue newsletters, press releases, Tax Facts, and
other documents published by the department.

Sales of Food and Beverages

All receipts from furnishing, serving or preparing food, soft drinks,
or alcoholic beverages, whether served on the premises or “to go”,
are subject to the state sales tax plus applicable municipal sales tax
and municipal gross receipts tax. This tax must be paid on the sale
of all meals, food, and drinks served or sold by restaurants, bars,
casinos, hotels, boarding houses, drugstores, drive-in restaurants,
lunch counters, snack bars, cafeterias, caterers, sandwich shops,
cafes, or other similar places of business.

Gross receipts include taxable and non-taxable sales and services
(including all video lottery receipts) and are reported on Line 1 of
your tax return. You may deduct sales that are non-taxable on Line
3 of the return. Examples of taxable sales are sales of liquor, ciga-
rettes, food, and cover charges. Examples of non-taxable sales are
sales made for resale, sales of pull tabs and video lottery receipts.

Bars are allowed to back tax out of their gross receipts. For
example, a drink is sold for $1.00 which includes tax. At a 4.5%
rate, the gross receipts subject to tax are $.96. All other
businesses must clearly state to the customer that tax is included
in the price to be able to include taxes in the posted price.

On two-for-one drink promotions, no use tax is due on the cost of
the “free drink™ as gross receipts have been reported on the sale. For
events such as “Ladies Night” where, for example, the customer pays
$2 at the door and drinks all night, the bar’s gross receipts would
be $2 no matter how much the customer consumes.

Employvee Meals

The receipts from the sale of meals to employees are subject to the
4.5% state sales tax, the municipal sales tax and municipal gross
receipts tax. The cost of meals furnished to employees or others
at no charge are subject to the 4.5% state use tax, plus the
municipal sales tax.

Restaurants and Bars

Tips
Tips received as discretionary gifts to waiters, waitresses or
bartenders are not subject to sales tax.

Some businesses collect the tips for their employees. If the tip is
added to the bill and is a mandatory charge for services, it is
subject to the sales tax. For example, if a restaurant serves a
dinner to an organization and adds a 15% tip when the
organization is billed, the entire charge, including the tip, is
subject to the sales tax. If the tips collected by the business are
voluntary tips paid by the customer, the tip is not subject to sales
tax. A restaurant may retain a fee for the credit card processing
from the voluntary tips given to the staff. The fee retained for
credit card processing is included in the restaurant’s taxable
receipts.

Sales for Resale

Food and other similar items that are sold to a customer may be
pur-chased by the restaurant or bar from its supplier as a “sale for
resale.” The business does not pay sales tax to the supplier at the
time of the purchase, but must furnish the supplier with a valid
exemption certificate indicating the types of items being
purchased for resale.

Tour guides and promoters are required to pay sales tax on meals
purchased for tourists and clients.

Exemption certificates should be reviewed annually and list the
items purchased for resale. Exemption certificates may be
obtained from our website at http://dor.sd.gov or by calling
1-800-829-9188.

Sales to Governments and Exempt Entities

Sales made directly to and for use by the U.S. Government or the
state of South Dakota and its counties, cities, townships, or
school districts are not subject to the sales tax.

The purchase must be made with government funds. An
exemption certificate or proof that payment was made with
government funds must be kept by the seller as documentation of
the exemption.

Sales made to other exempt organizations are not subject to the
sales tax. However, the organization must provide the seller
restaurant with an exemption certificate and number. The
purchase must be paid by an authorized representative with a
voucher that states that the purchase is for the organization’s own
use.

The purchase must be paid directly from the funds of the orga-
nization.

NOTE: Purchases made by individuals are not exempt from
the sales tax, even if the individual is reimbursed later. This
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includes high school ball players, cheerleaders, state and
federal employees, city council representatives, or teachers who
purchase their own meals.

Coupons

Retailer or Store coupons are discounts or reductions given by a
retailer at the time of sale. Because the retailer is not reimbursed
by a third party for this amount, this discount is not subject to sales
tax. To calculate tax on this sale, deduct the value of the coupon
from the sales price of the item then calculate the tax.

Example:

Widget $200.00
Store Discount - 20.00
Sub Total $180.00
Tax 8.10
Total Due $188.10

$180.00 is reported as gross receipts on this transaction.

Manufacturer’s coupons. The manufacturer reimburses the seller
for the value of the coupon. Because the retailer receives reim-
bursement, the value of the coupon is part of the selling price and
is subject to sales tax if the item sold is taxable. To calculate tax
on this sale, calculate tax on the sales price of the item then deduct
the coupon value.

Example:

Widget $200.00
Tax 9.00
Manufacturer’s Discount - 20.00
Total Due 189.00

$200.00 is reported as gross receipts on this transaction.

Cigarettes

Receipts from the sale of cigarettes are subject to the 4.5%
state sales tax plus applicable municipal sales tax.

Taxable Receipts include:

=  Amounts received from customers from the retail sale of
cigarettes are subject to sales tax.

= Amounts received from the manufacturer if the payment is
directly related to a discount the retailer must provide to the
purchaser when the purchaser is the end consumer and one
of the following criteria is met:

a. Theretailer shows the discount on the invoice as a discount
from a manufacturer or third party;

b. The purchaser presents a coupon issued by a third party
that indicates the third party will reimburse any retailer
for the discount.

Example 1

ABC Quick Stop sells a carton of cigarettes for $32.00. The
manufacturer reimburses the store $2.00 for each pack of
cigarettes sold. The store is required to pass this discount
to the customer.

A. Ifthe discountis listed as a manufacturer’s discount, the store
will include the $2.00 in their taxable receipts.

Invoice A

Cigarettes $32.00
Sub Total $32.00
Tax 1.44
Manufacturer Discount - 2.00
Total $31.44

$32.00 is reported as gross receipts on this transaction.

B. If the store does not list this as a manufacturer’s discount,
the store does not owe tax on the $2.00 received from the

manufacturer.

Invoice B

Cigarettes $32.00
Discount - 2.00
Sub Total $30.00
Tax 1.35
Total $31.35

$30.00 is reported as gross receipts on this trasaction.

Example 2

ABC Quick Stop sells a carton of cigarettes for $30.00. ABC
owes sales tax on the $30.00. ABC has signed a contract with
the manufacturer stating they will put their cigarettes on the
shelf nearest the cash register (most visible site) in return for
$2.00 for each carton of cigarettes sold. Because the $2.00
is for placement of a product pursuant to a written contract,
ABC does not owe sales tax on the $2.00.

Displays and Signage

Payments received by a retailer from a manufacturer, wholesaler,
or distributor pursuant to a written contract between the retailer
and manufacturer, wholesaler, or distributor that requires the
retailer to display the manufacturer, wholesaler, or distributor’s
product or signage in a specified manner or location are exempt
from sales tax.

Examples

1. ABC Supply receives a cash payment for placing XYZ
Softdrinks’ products on the third shelf in the soft drink
aisle.

2. XYZ Softdrinks offers retailers cash payments if the retailer
sells soft drinks supplied only by XYZ Softdrinks.
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Vending Machines and Games

The gross receipts from vending machines are subject to the state
4.5% sales tax, plus applicable municipal sales tax. Gross
receipts from vending machines that serve prepared food, such as
hot soup, cof-fee, or hot chocolate, are also subject to the
municipal gross receipts tax. If a vending machine sells prepared
food and other items, the municipal gross receipts tax will apply to
all receipts unless documen-tation is kept to show the products
sold. Gross receipts from vending machines located outside
municipal limits are subject to the 4.5% state sales tax only.

The purchase of vending machines is subject to the 4.5% state
sales tax, plus the municipal sales tax. Mechanical or electronic
amuse-ment devices or machines are subject to 4.5% tax, no
municipal tax. Machines brought into South Dakota from other
states are subject to use tax, however credit will be allowed for
sales or use tax paid the state the machine was original used in.

Owners of these machines who place them in another person’s
busi-ness are considered retailers. They must have a sales tax
license, and report and pay sales tax on the gross receipts from
these machines. Owners of coin-operated amusement machines
pay an annual fee of $12 per machine in lieu of paying municipal
sales tax. Tax on amusement machines is 4.5% of the total
gross receipts, which in-cludes any commission paid to the
liquor store, bar or restaurant owner. Businesses do not
owe sales or use tax on commissions they receive from
receipts of amusement or vending machines owned and
operated by others.

Video Lottery/Gaming

Lottery and gaming receipts are not subject to sales tax; however,
all such receipts should be reported as gross receipts on line 1 of the
sales tax return and deducted on line 3. Sales, rental and repairs to
video lottery machines and gaming equipment are subject to sales
or use tax at the time of purchase. Video lottery machines and
repairs are exempt from municipal tax; however, all other
gambling equipment is subject to municipal tax. If sales tax is
not paid on machines or repair parts at the time of the purchase,
use tax is due on the cost of the machine or parts. Sales tax
applies to repairs that are delivered to customers in South Dakota.

Jukebox Licenses

An amusement decal for each jukebox or amusement machine
must be purchased from the Department of Revenue. There is an
annual fee of $12, payable every July 1. In addition, businesses
that play music generally are required to be licensed by national
performing rights organizations. Contact BMI (1-800-669-4264)
and ASCAP (1-800-910-7347, extension 36) regarding licensing
fees for playing copyrighted music, or for an explanation of this
system.

Franchise Operations

Most services provided by a franchisor to a franchisee are subject
to sales tax. For more information, view the Franchise
Operations parts at the time of purchase, use tax is due on the cost
of the machine or parts. Sales tax applies to repairs that are
delivered to customers in South Dakota. View Franchise Tax

Fact Sheet on our website at http://dor.sd.gov or request a copy
by calling the department at 1-800-829-9188.

Brewpubs

A retailer with either an on-sale liquor license or an off-sale malt
beverage license may brew beer and sell it to customers if the
retailer obtains a malt beverage manufacturer’s license. The
product brewed can then be purchased for consumption on the
premises.

If the product is sold in a package for consumption off the
premises, a liquor licensee must obtain a package beer license. A
retailer with an on-off sale license already holds a package sale
privilege. Retailers holding an on-sale liquor or an off-sale malt
beverage license must limit their brewing production to 5,000
barrels (31 gallons) per year and must pay state excise tax of $8.50
per barrel each month on all brewed beer.

Use Tax

Equipment and supplies used by restaurants are subject to sales
tax when purchased. If the supplier does not charge sales tax, use
tax is due. In addition, items purchased with the intent to resell
which are removed from inventory for use by the restaurant or
bar are also subject to use tax. Use tax is the same rate as
sales tax (4.5%), and both state and any applicable municipal
taxes apply.

The following items are use taxable items commonly found in
bars and restaurants (this list is NOT inclusive):

Air filter systems Keg taps
Amusement machines Magazine subscriptions
Appliances Menus
Ashtrays Microwave pizza ovens
Bands Newspaper subscriptions
Banners Office supplies
Barstools On-line service fees
Bookkeeping fees Paper towels/napkins
Can liners Pitchers
Cards Placemats
Cash registers Poker chips
Chairs Popcorn (if furnished free)
Cleaning service Popcorn machines
Cleaning supplies Posters
Coin counters Pourers
Computer system Serving trays
Cooking utensils Signs
Coolers Sink brushes
Dance Wax Software
Dice and cups Stir sticks
Disposable eating utensils Straws
Glassware Sword picks
Glass washers Tables
Internet access fees Tableware
Jukebox or sound system Toilet paper

Uniforms

CO, used to dispense soda pop is NOT subject to use tax at the time
the business purchases it since it becomes part of the pop, which is
taxed. CO, used for dispensing beer is subject to sales or use tax
since it is a catalyst that transports the beer out of the keg and does
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not become part of the beer.

Items purchased for promotional purposes are use taxable if sales
tax was not paid at the time of purchase. These may include T-shirts,
frisbees, caps, liquor samples, etc. which are given away. Use tax

is also due on items an employee or owner withdraws from inven-
tory for personal use.

Merchandise (such as food or beverages) taken out of inventory and
donated to a sales tax exempt agency is not subject to sales or use
tax. A group is not exempt just because it is described as “nonprofit”,
the group must hold a valid South Dakota exemption number. To
find out if a group is sales tax exempt, contact the department at
1-800-829-9188.

Example

Steve’s Family Restaurant donates food for the Washington
Elementary School PTA meeting. Since the PTA is not a
sales tax exempt organization, the restaurant owes use tax
on the cost of the donated food.

Drinks awarded as prizes for games of chance are subject to tax as
in the following example:

Example

Joe’s Bar offers pull tabs to customers with the purchase of
a drink. The pull tabs give the customer either a free drink
or $.25 off the next drink. The free drink is use taxable to
the bar at their cost. The $.25 would just lower the gross
receipts by $.25, therefore no use tax is due. If the supplier
doesn’t charge Joe’s Bar sales tax on the pull tabs, Joe would
owe use tax on the purchase price of the pull tabs. Drinks
given away by the owner or employees to customers are use
taxable on the cost of the drink.

Four and a half percent use tax plus the municipal use tax is due
on the cost of meals and drinks given free of charge to customers.

Hors Dourves
Food that is given away is subject to the 4.5% state use tax,
plus the municipal use tax on the cost of the food. If a charge is

made for the food, the receipts are subject to the 4.5% state sales
tax, the municipal sales and municipal gross receipts tax.

Containers

Containers used for food or beverages are exempt from sales tax if
they are used to hold items which are sold by the restaurant or bar
and which are subject to the sales tax, such as coffee, sandwiches,
french fries, or soft drinks. The container must be given free of

charge and as a convenience to the customer. This is also true for
an off-sale business purchasing bags. Paper or plastic bags are not

subject to sales or use tax.

Examples of Containers
Papercups and lids
Wrapping paper
Styrofoam containers
Paper or plastic bags
Tape

Doggie bags

Pizza boxes and liners
Disposable food trays

Items that are not containers but are subject to sales
tax

Napkins

Straws

Utensils

Reusable plates, trays, or baskets

Catering

Catering services are subject to the 4.5% state sales tax, the
municipal sales and municipal gross receipts tax rate based on the
location of the catered event. A South Dakota restaurant that
caters an event in North Dakota does not need to report South
Dakota sales tax on the receipts from the event.

Catering services may purchase food and disposable plates,
glasses, cups, and trays for resale. Napkins and utensils are
subject to sales or use tax when purchased.

Delivery Services

Companies that sell and deliver prepared food can buy the food for
resale by providing an exemption certificate to the restaurant. The
sale of food, plus delivery charge is subject to the 4.5% state
sales tax, the municipal sales and municipal gross receipts tax.

The delivery company hired by a restaurant to deliver meals sold
by the restaurant is providing a transportation service that is exempt
from sales tax.

Live Entertainment

Entertainment services are subject to sales tax. If you hire a band,
comedian, dancer, or any other type of performer that is not an em-
ployee on your payroll, the entertainer should charge sales tax on the
entire receipts for entertainment services. If an entertainer does not
have a sales tax license or does not charge sales tax, the purchaser
of the entertainer’s services is subject to use tax. If admission or a
cover is charged, the admission or cover charge is subject to tax and
the entertainer(s) may be given an exemption certificate.

Recordkeeping Requirements

Restaurant and bar owners must have a South Dakota sales tax
license for each place of business in the state. Even outlets located
in the same county or the same town must have separate licenses.
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Records, such as purchase and sales invoices, bills of lading, books
of all receipts and sales, cash register receipts, and other pertinent
papers and documents, are required to be kept for at least three years
and be available for inspection during business hours.

Many municipalities in South Dakota have a sales and use tax in
addition to the state sales tax. If the customer receives a product

or service in one of these municipalities, the product or service is
subject to that municipality’s sales tax.

Municipalities may also have a 1% gross receipts tax The municipal
gross receipts tax (also referred to as the Bed, Board, and Booze
tax) is a 1% tax that is in addition to the municipal sales tax. The
gross receipts tax can be imposed on alcoholic beverages, eating
establishments, lodging accommodations, ticket sales, and admis-
sions to places of amusement, or athletic and cultural events.

A list of municipal tax rates is available on our website at http://
dor.sd.gov or by calling 1-800-829-9188.

Restaurants and bars must remit the municipal gross receipts tax (if
applicable for that municipality) for all sales of food and beverages,
admissions, and cover charges.

The municipal use tax applies to snacks, meals, or beverages that
are given away free of charge. The municipal sales tax also applies
to purchases of supplies and equipment.

Bad Checks/Bad Debts

Most restaurants and bars report tax on a cash basis, that is the
amount of money collected during the month is the amount reported
as gross receipts. If a customer’s check is returned from the bank
unpaid, and the restaurant or bar reports on a cash basis, the amount
ofthe customer’s check is not included in the gross receipts reported
by the restaurant or bar for the month. The collection of the nonsuf-
ficient funds check must be included on the sales tax return when
payment is received.

Bars and restaurants reporting on the accrual basis may take checks,
whiclare returned unpaid because of nonsufficient funds or no ac-
count that are not collected by them, as a reduction in gross receipts.
If the nonsufficent funds check is deducted then later collected, the
collection of the nonsufficent funds check must be included on the
next sales tax return.

Amounts written off as bad debts with the IRS may be deducted
from the sales tax return during the twelve months following the
IRS writeoff if those amounts were previously reported as taxable
transactions.

Bad check fees or penalties charged by a restaurant, bar or any other
retailer are not subject to sales tax.

Adpvertising which is prepared by an advertising agency and placed

by that agency in the media is exempt from sales tax. In addition,
charges by a newspaper, radio or television station for placement

of an ad are exempt.

All other advertising charges are subject to sales tax. Examples of
taxable advertising are brochures, signs, posters, and promotional
items given free of charge to customers.

Gift Certificates

No sales tax should be charged on gift certificates at the time the
gift certificate is sold. Tax should be charged on items purchased
with a gift certificate. If an individual has a gift certificate valued
at $50, and purchases $55 worth of goods, sales tax is owed on the
$55. If the customer uses the $50 gift certificate to purchase $25
worth of goods and receives change, sales tax is owed on the $25
purchase.

Sales of gift certificates are included in gross sales on line one of the
sales tax return and deducted on line 3, Non-Taxable Sales.

Keg/Tapper Deposits

When a keg of beer is sold, the customer is frequently charged a
deposit for the keg and tapper. If the keg and tapper are returned,
there is no tax charged on the deposit. If the keg and tapper are
not returned, the deposit becomes subject to sales tax. A business
may choose to charge tax on all deposits and refund the tax when
the deposit is refunded.

Alcohol License Requirements

Licenses

You must have the proper alcoholic beverage license and a sales
tax license to legally sell alcoholic beverages or purchase alcoholic
beverages for resale. The sales tax license and the alcoholic bever-
age license must be in the same owner’s name.

To apply for a new alcoholic beverage license contact your county
auditor or city finance officer for availability of licenses, the cost
and the process for obtaining a license.

If an alcoholic beverage license is being transferred to new
ownership, the seller and buyer must fill out the necessary forms
from the city finance office or county auditor in which the property
is located. The license will not be transferred until:

1. The seller has filed a final sales tax return and paid all taxes
due; and

2.The new owner has obtained a sales tax license in the
same owner’s name as the alcoholic beverage license will
be held.

The city or county will conduct public hearings to act on license
applications and license transfers. If approved, the application is
sent to the Department of Revenue to issue or transfer the license.

Legal Age To Sell and Serve

In any establishment with an on-sale alcoholic license, anyone who
tends bar, draws or mixes alcoholic beverages must be at least 21
years of age.
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Restaurants: Owners of on-sale liquor and on-sale beer licenses may
permit persons 18 years of age or older to sell or serve alcoholic
beverages if:

1.1ess than 50% of the gross business transacted by the es-
tablishment is from the sale of alcoholic beverages; and

2. the licensee or an employee who is at least 21 years of age
is on the premises when the alcoholic beverages are sold and
dispensed.

In these businesses, the 18-20 year old employees may take orders
for alcoholic beverages and deliver the alcoholic beverages to the
customers. However, they may not tend bar, draw or mix alcoholic
beverages.

Bars: In establishments where 50% or more of the business trans-
acted comes from the sale of alcoholic beverages employees must
be at least 21 years of age to tend bar, draw or mix alcoholic bever-
ages, or serve alcoholic beverages to customers.

Legal Age to Purchase and Consume Alcohol

The legal age to purchase and consume alcohol in South Dakota is
21 years of age.

* Itis legal to sell alcohol to persons aged 18-20 if they are
in the immediate presence of a parent, guardian or spouse
who is over the age of 21. Itis legal to refuse to serve anyone
under the age of 21.

* It is illegal to serve alcohol to anyone under 18 years of
age, even if accompanied by a parent guardian or spouse who
is 21 years of age or older.

* It is illegal for a person less than 21 years old to loiter on
the licensed premises of an on-sale alcohol licensee.

For additional information on types of alcoholic beverage
licenses and age restrictions view Special Taxes Division
website at http://dor.sd.gov.

Talk to Us!
If you have a tax problem or question, call the department toll-

free at 1-800-829-9188. Visit us on the web at http://dor.sd.gov,
email us at bustax@state.sd.us or write us:

South Dakota
Department of Revenue
445 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-3100

Or, visit your nearest Department of Revenue Field Office:

Aberdeen Office
14 South Main, Suite 1-C
Aberdeen, SD 57401

Sioux Falls Office
300 S. Sycamore, Suite 102
Sioux Falls, SD 57104

Mitchell Office
417 N. Main St., Suite 112
Mitchell, SD 57301

Watertown Office
715 S Maple
Watertown, SD 57201

Yankton Office
1900 Summit Street
Yankton, SD 57078

Rapid City Office
1520 Haines Avenue, Suite 3
Rapid City, SD 57701






