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This Tax Facts is designed to explain the collecting and 
remitting of the 911 Emergency Surcharge.  If this Tax 
Facts does not answer your specific question, please call the 
Department’s toll-free Helpline at 1-800-829-9188 
between 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. CDT, Monday through Friday.

Information found in this document rescinds and replaces 
all previous written information on this subject. All 
readers and users of this publication are responsible 
for keeping informed about changes in tax laws and 
regulations by reading the Department of Revenue 
newsletters, press releases, Tax Facts, and other 
documents published by the Department of Revenue. 

Prepaid Wireless 911 Emergency 
Surcharge 

All sellers and wireless service providers that sell prepaid 
wireless service, which includes prepaid wireless airtime 
cards and prepaid wireless minutes and plans, are responsible 
for collecting and remitting the 2% Prepaid Wireless 911 
Emergency Surcharge.

• The surcharge is 2% on the gross receipts from retail
sales of all types of prepaid wireless service delivered to
customers in South Dakota or sold to online customers
with a South Dakota address.

• The surcharge is to be itemized on the customer’s
invoice or other documents provided to the customer and,
if itemized, the surcharge is not subject to sales tax.

Bundled transactions: If prepaid wireless service is sold 
with other products for a single, non-itemized price, the 2% 
surcharge applies to the entire price, unless: 
1. The dollar amount of the prepaid wireless service and
surcharge is disclosed to the consumer; or
2. The seller identifies the portion of the price that is for the
prepaid wireless service in their books and records kept in 
the regular course of business.  

If the prepaid wireless service is disclosed or identified, then 

July 2015

South Dakota
Department of Revenue
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, South Dakota 57501

911 Emergency 		
Surcharge

only the portion of the charge for the prepaid wireless service 
is subject to the 2% surcharge.

However, a seller may elect not to collect the 2% surcharge 
on any sale of a prepaid wireless device, such as a prepaid 
wireless phone, that is bundled with prepaid wireless service 
denominated as ten minutes or less or as five dollars or 
less.

Examples: 

1. A retailer sells a prepaid phone package for $9.95. The
package includes 20 minutes of airtime to allow the customer 
to activate the phone. The retailer does not know the dollar 
value of the 20 minutes of airtime.  The surcharge applies 
to the $9.95 because the package includes more than 10 
minutes and the retailer cannot document the value of the 
minutes. Sales tax also applies to the $9.95 sales price.

2. A wireless phone provider sells a prepaid phone package
for $19.95 which includes 20 minutes of airtime to allow the 
customer to activate the phone. The provider documents in 
their records the value of the airtime at $4.00 and the phone 
at $15.95. Because the provider has documented the airtime 
at a value under $5.00, the provider may choose to not collect 
the surcharge on this transaction. If the airtime value is not 
documented, the provider should assess the 2% surcharge on 
the $19.95.Sales tax will apply to $19.95.

3. A phone is purchased with 100 minutes of prepaid airtime
for $75.00.  Because the minutes are not itemized, the 
entire $75.00 is subject to the 2% surcharge.  If the package 
indicates the fee for the phone is $50 and the prepaid airtime 
is $25, then only the $25 is subject to the 2% surcharge. 
Sales tax will apply to $75.00.

All sales of prepaid wireless airtime cards are subject to the 
Prepaid Wireless 911 Emergency Surcharge.  When a prepaid 
wireless airtime card is sold to an exempt entity, such as the 
State of South Dakota or a local governmental entity, the 
receipts are not subject to sales tax; however, the 2% 911 
Emergency Surcharge will apply.
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Definitions: 

Prepaid wireless service seller is any person who sells prepaid 
wireless telecommunications service to the consumer.

Prepaid wireless service provider is any person that provides 
prepaid wireless telecommunications service.

911 Emergency Surcharge

All telecommunications service providers, wireless service 
providers, or Interconnected Voice over Internet Protocol 
service providers are responsible for collecting and remitting 
the 911 Emergency Surcharge.

• The surcharge is $1.25 per service user line per month.
• Surcharges itemized on the customer’s invoice are not

subject to sales tax.
• The $1.25 per service user line surcharge does not apply

to prepaid wireless telecommunications service.

No surcharge may be imposed on more than 100 service user 
lines or equivalent service, per customer account billed, per 
month.   

For multi-station network systems, the service user lines 
shall be equal to the number of calls that can simultaneously 
be made from such system to the public switched telephone 
network. 

Definitions:
Service provider is any person or entity providing, or offering 
to provide, or selling telecommunications service, wireless 
telecommunications service, or Interconnected Voice over 
Internet Protocol service.

Administrative Fee

All sellers and providers may retain 2% of the total surcharge 
collected or $25, whichever amount is greater, each month 
as an allowance for the cost of collecting and remitting the 
911 Emergency Surcharge. The administrative fee cannot 
exceed the amount of surcharge collected.  

Effective July 1, 2013, 911 Emergency Surcharge returns 
and payments must be filed and paid timely by electronic 
means to receive the administrative fee. 

Registration

All businesses reporting the 911 Emergency Surcharge or 
Prepaid Wireless 911 Emergency Surcharge are required to 
register with the Department of Revenue. 

Apply for your 911 Surcharge Registration at the same time 
you apply for your South Dakota sales tax license online 
at www.state.sd.us/taxapp. During the application process 
you will be asked if you sell prepaid wireless service and 
if you sell telecommunications, wireless, or VOIP services. 
After the application is submitted an agent will contact you 
to verify the type of South Dakota licenses you need and to 
discuss your tax liability.

If you already have a tax license please contact the Department 
at 1-800-829-9189 for your 911 Surcharge Registration. 

Change of Ownership:  The registration cannot be transferred. 
If the business is sold or ownership changes, the prior owner 
should cancel his identification number and the new owner 
will need to complete a new registration form.

No Longer Selling Prepaid Wireless: If you are no longer 
selling prepaid wireless services, check the box on the return 
showing you have discontinued selling prepaid wireless 
services and indicate the date sales were discontinued.  This 
will only cancel the 911 Surcharge identification number. 

If your business is closing you will also need to cancel your 
sales tax license.

Reporting

All 2% Prepaid Wireless 911 Emergency Surcharge is 
reported and remitted directly to the Department of Revenue 
on the state 911 return. Do not include the surcharge on your 
sales tax return.

All 911 Emergency Surcharge per user line is reported on 
and remitted directly the Department of Revenue except for 
the following.

Any Tribal 911 Emergency Surcharges collected from 
customers with addresses in Dewey, Ziebach, and Oglala 
Lakota Counties and Jackson County south of the White 
River are not to be reported or remitted to the Department 
of Revenue.  
911 Surcharges imposed by Tribal Governments should be 
remitted and reported to the tribal authority assessing the 
surcharge.
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For questions on collection and remittance of the Tribal 911 
Surcharges contact the following Tribal Governments:
• Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe – which includes Dewey

and Ziebach Counties.
• Oglala Sioux Tribe – which includes Oglala Lakota

County and Jackson County south of the White River.

Any 911 Emergency Surcharges collected prior to July 
1, 2012, are reported to the jurisdiction that imposed the 
surcharge (county or city).  Questions concerning the 
collection or remittance of the surcharges prior to July 1, 
2012, should be referred to the jurisdiction that imposed the 
surcharge.

Reporting and paying of the 911 surcharges will be done 
electronically using SD EPath.  You will be sent 
information on SD EPath after you register.   

Returns will be filed monthly and are due by the 23rd of 
the month following the reporting period. If the 23rd falls 
on a Saturday, Sunday, a legal holiday enumerated in SDCL 
1-5-1, or a day the Federal Reserve Bank is closed, the return 
is due on the next business day.  

Electronic payments are due the 2nd to last working day of 
the month which is not a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or 
a day the Federal Reserve Bank is closed.

If you are unable to file or pay online contact the Department 
at 1-800-829-9188.  

All returns must be filed even if no amounts are due.
Filing or paying late will result in penalty and interest being 
applied to your return or amount due.  

Interest of 1% (.01) will be assessed each month on any 
past due surcharge until the surcharge is paid in full. (A 
minimum of $5.00 interest is due the first month). (Interest 
of 1.25% is assessed for each month surcharge that is 
unpaid prior to July 2015).

Penalty is 10% (.10) of the surcharge liability (minimum 
$10.00) and is assessed if a return is not received within 
30 days following the month the return is due. Penalty will 
apply even if no surcharge is due.  

If a taxpayer fails to file returns or pay surcharges, penalties, 
and interest, the Department of Revenue may use civil or 
criminal remedies to obtain compliance.

Corporate officers,member-managers or managers of limited 
liability companies, or partners that control, supervise, or 

are charged with the responsibility of filing the returns or 
remitting the payments pursuant to SDCL 34-45 may be held 
personally liable for taxes accrued by the business.

Related Tax Publication 

Tax facts that may provide additional information for your 
business are available online at http://dor.sd.gov select 
business tax, then publications.

• Telecommunications Services
• Communications Equipment – Installation & Repair
• Audits

Talk to Us!

If you have a tax problem or question, call the South Dakota 
Department of Revenue toll-free at 1-800-829-9188. Visit us 
on the web at http://dor.sd.gov, email us at dor.911@state.
sd.us or write us:

South Dakota
Department of Revenue
445 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-3185

If you have questions on the distribution or use of the 911 
Emergency Surcharges contact:  

Department of Public Safety
South Dakota State 9-1-1 Coordinator
118 West Capital Ave
Pierre, SD  57501

Phone: 605-773-3178
Email:  sd911coordinator@state.sd.us
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