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2007 Legislative Update

Tax exemptions and refund programs, changes in how property is assessed for tax
purposes, and tax breaks for veterans and military personnel were among the tax-
related issues discussed by the South Dakota Legislature during the 40-day legislative
session that officially ended on March 26.

The Department of Revenue & Regulation tracked 186 bills during the 2007 Session
dealing with sales, use and contractors’ excise taxes; property taxes; motor vehicles
issues; insurance coverage; banking and securities issues; and issues affecting the South
Dakota Lottery, the South Dakota Gaming Commission, and the Appraiser Certification
Program. Following is a brief look at several bills that had received final action by the
time this article was printed.

Property Tax Issues
Two schools of thought over how agricultural land in South Dakota should be assessed
for property tax purposes clashed in the committee rooms and Chambers of the South
Dakota Legislature this year. While both HB1308 and SB173 advocated the removal of
the 150% rule (which throws out any sale from the assessment process where the sale
price is more than 150% of the property’s assessed value), they differed on what method
should be used to value agricultural property.

Under HB1308, a property’s full and true value would have been used for assessment
purposes, based upon comparable sales in that county. SB173 promoted using produc-
tivity valuations for all agricultural land. Under this method, agricultural land would be
valued based upon a formula using cash rents.

Although both concepts received much debate and discussion, neither finished the trip
to the Governor’s desk for signing. HB1308 met its demise in the House on Feb. 20
while SB173 lasted until March 2 when it met the same fate in the same Chamber.

Streamlined Sales Tax Bills
Governor Rounds put his signature to three bills that bring South Dakota further into compli-
ance with the Streamlined Sales Tax Project, an effort to create a uniform system for
administering state and local sales taxes nationwide. HB1042 clarified the definition of “bundled
transaction” for Streamlined Sales Tax purposes to mean any transaction involving two or
more distinct and identifiable products sold for one non-itemized price in which more than
10% of the products (other than food or medical supplies) or 50% (including food or medical
supplies) are subject to tax. A related bill, HB1047, revised the taxation of bundled transac-
tions for telecommunications and related services. This bill amended the current statute to
include Internet access, ancillary services like voicemail and directory assistance, and audio/
video programming services in the types of transactions subject to tax.

Under the third Streamlined bill to be passed, sellers will have more time to obtain
exemption certificates to prove a transaction is not subject to tax. HB1055 changed the
deadline from 60 to 120 days from the commencement of an audit for sellers to present
exemption certificates.
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Sales and Use Tax Exemptions, Refunds and
Reciprocity
Supporters say coin dealers will no longer lose sales out-of-
state or to the Internet with the successful passage of HB1151.
The bill exempted coins, currency and bullion including bars,
ingots and medallions, from sales tax as of July 1. This ex-
emption does not include the sale of jewelry.

The requirements for South Dakota’s construction refund pro-
grams were clarified with the approval of SB38. Two of those
programs offer tax refunds for expanded agricultural and busi-
ness facilities but offered no specifications as to what consti-
tuted “expansion.” When SB38 officially becomes law, “ex-
pansion” will be defined as a physical increase in the size of a
building, not the expansion of product lines or work force, or
the upgrading or modernizing of an existing plant unless it
involves actually increasing the size of the plant.

Farmers who purchase equipment out-of-state can receive a
reciprocal credit for any sales, use or gross receipts taxes
that were paid on the equipment now that Governor Rounds
has signed HB1044 into law. While most of the surrounding
states do not charge sales tax on farm equipment, the reci-
procity will be available for equipment purchased in states
that do have such taxes when the equipment is brought back
into South Dakota.

Motor Vehicle Issues
The deadline has been extended for the Division of Motor
Vehicles to complete implementation of the plate with owner
system with the passage of HB1081. The 2006 Legislature
had approved pushing back the implementation date to Jan. 1,
2008; the 2007 bill sets the deadline as July 1, 2008. Once the
system is in place, vehicle owners will receive license plates
specific to them as owners that will follow them from vehicle
to vehicle instead of the plate staying with the vehicle, as is
currently the practice.

Another bill receiving the official nod allows motor vehicle
dealers to display vehicles within the limits of the city where
the dealer is licensed without obtaining a supplemental license.
Under SB93, dealers who want to display a vehicle at a loca-
tion other than their principal place of business – for example,
as part of a display at a shopping mall – will be able to do so
without a supplemental license.

Consumers will be able to make better decisions about whether
or not to purchase boats and vehicles with new information
they will receive thanks to the passage of HB1103. The bill
requires that for any vehicle for sale on a dealer’s lot which
has a branded title (salvage, flood-damaged, etc.), the dealer
must disclose that information to the buyer on a posted form.

The South Dakota House and Senate gathered its ranks to
override a veto by Governor Rounds on HB1174, a bill which
expanded the exemption from excise tax for motor vehicles
11 or more model years old. Under current law, such vehicles
are exempt from tax if they sell for $1,500 or less before
trade-in. Effective July 1, that amount will increase to $2,200.

Changes for Veterans and Military Personnel
Three bills which offer tax or fee breaks for veterans or current
members of the military were signed by Governor Rounds. SB96
exempts the first $100,000 of valuation of a disabled veteran’s
home if the individual is 100% disabled due to a service-related
injury.  Under HB1204, honorably discharged veterans who pur-
chase special veterans license plates are now exempt from the
$10 special plate renewal fee. And military personnel assigned to
temporary duty who miss the deadline to apply for the owner-
occupied status on their homes will get a second chance to re-
ceive property tax relief. HB1187 allowed for an abatement or
refund of property taxes for such individuals who would have
qualified for the owner-occupied status, but missed the applica-
tion deadline due to their temporary military assignment.

For more information on the 2007 Legislative Session, visit
the Legislative Research Council’s website at http://
legis.state.sd.us/sessions/2007/index.aspx.

Paul Kinsman Appointed Secretary of Revenue & Regulation

Governor Rounds appointed Paul Kinsman as the new Secretary of Revenue & Regulation in Decem-
ber, 2006. Paul is a 1977 graduate of Watertown High School. He attended the University of South
Dakota, where he earned a Bachelor of Science and a Juris Doctorate.

Prior to his current position with the Department of Revenue & Regulation, Paul was employed with the
Department of Labor in 1988 as an Administrative Law Judge in the Office of Administrative Hearings.

From 1996 to 2000, he served as Director of Central Services and legal counsel for the Bureau of Administration. From
2000 to 2003, Paul served as Director of Property and Special Taxes within the Department of Revenue. In 2003,
Governor Rounds appointed Paul as Commissioner of the Bureau of Administration.

Paul replaced Gary Viken as the Secretary of Revenue & Regulation.

EXECUTIVE
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REVENUE SOLUTIONS
Business Education Program
Come join our Business Education Program at one of the workshops or seminars in your area.   For the most current list of seminars
or to register, visit our website at www.state.sd.us/drr2/businesstax/seminar/seminar.htm
Border Issues Seminars

Border Issues Seminars cover the difference in the tax application
and reporting process between South Dakota and bordering states.
WY/SD
April 12, 2007 Sales Tax:
Western Dakota Tech 9:00am – 12:00pm
CTC-A Room Contractors’ Tax:
800 Mickelson Drive 1:30pm – 4:30pm
Rapid City, SD
IA/SD
April 19, 2007 Sales Tax:
Morningside Community Center 9:00am – 12:00pm
Conference Room Contractors’ Tax:
2400 S. Bahnson Avenue 1:00pm – 4:00pm
Sioux Falls, SD
ND/SD
May 10, 2007 Sales Tax:
Lake Area Technical Institute 8:30am – 12:00pm
Technical Education Building Contractors’ Tax:
Room 514 1:00pm – 3:00pm
1225 Arrow Avenue
Watertown, SD
Tri-State (IA/NE/SD)
May 23, 2007 - Sales Tax: 9:00am – 4:00pm
May 24, 2007 - Contractors’ Tax: 9:00am – 4:00pm
Western Iowa Technology
Building B (Advanced Sciences Building)
4647 Stone Avenue
Sioux City, IA

Small Business Workshops
Information regarding the Department of Revenue & Regu-
lation, Department of Labor, and the Small Business Admin-
istration will be covered. Seminars run from 8:30am - 4:00pm.
April 25, 2007
Lake Area Technical Institute, Technical Education Building
230 11th Street NE
Watertown, SD
May 2, 2007
SD Department of Labor, Upstairs East Conference Room
420 South Roosevelt Street
Aberdeen, SD
May 9, 2007
Brookings Library
515 3rd Street
Brookings, SD
June 6, 2007
Dacotah Bank
320 Main Street (in the basement)
Mobridge, SD
June 13, 2007
First Dakota National Bank
500 E. Norway Avenue
Mitchell, SD
July 18, 2007
Regional Technical Education Center, Community Room
1200 W. 21st Street
Yankton, SD

Basic Tax Seminars
Basic Tax Seminars cover sales, use and contractors’ excise
tax issues. These seminars are free and designed for new
business owners or as a refresher course.

April 26, 2007 Sales Tax:
Western Dakota Tech 9:00am – 12:00pm
800 Mickelson Drive Contractors’ Excise Tax:
Rapid City, SD 1:00pm – 4:00pm

May 30, 2007 Sales Tax:
Southeast Technical Institute  9:00am – 12:00pm
2320 N. Career Avenue Contractors’ Excise Tax:
Sioux Falls, SD 1:30pm – 4:30pm

June 26, 2007 Sales Tax:
Technical Education Center 9:00am – 12:00pm
1200 West 21st Street Contractors’ Excise Tax:
Yankton, SD 1:00pm – 4:00pm

June 28, 2007 Sales Tax:
Mitchell Technology Center 9:00am – 12:00pm
Room 111 Contractors’ Excise Tax:
1800 East Spruce Street 1:00pm – 4:00pm
Mitchell, SD

July 20, 2007 Sales Tax:
Southeast Technical Institute 9:00am – 12:00pm
2320 N. Career Avenue Contractors’ Excise Tax:
Sioux Falls, SD 1:30pm – 4:30pm

Tax Filing Deadlines

April
April 20 - Paper returns and payments due for

monthly filers.
April 23 - SD QUEST returns due.
April 27 - SD QUEST electronic payments due.

May
May 21 - Paper returns and payments due for

monthly filers.
May 23 - SD QUEST returns due.
May 30 - SD QUEST electronic payments due.
May 31 - Paper returns and payments due for

bi-monthly filers.

June
June 20 - Paper returns and payments due for

monthly filers.
June 23 - SD QUEST returns due.
June 28 - SD QUEST electronic payments due.
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NEWS YOU CAN USE

Sales tax applies to receipts resulting
from sales of handicap cards from
SDGA. Golf courses and country
clubs should provide SDGA with an
exemption certificate so they may pur-
chase the handicap cards for resale.

Equine Services: Knowing What’s Taxable

If you train or board horses in South Dakota, the Department of Revenue & Regu-
lation reminds you that the services you provide are subject to sales tax.

Animal specialty services such as boarding horses, showing horses, shoeing horses,
providing riding lessons, and training horses (for racing or otherwise) are subject to
both the 4% state sales tax and applicable municipal sales tax. Selling, breeding, or
adopting horses is not subject to sales tax.

Tax liabilities also exist for the supplies, materials and equipment used in providing
the service; such items are subject to the state and applicable municipal tax at the
time they are purchased. This also includes horse feed for boarding services. The
sale of horse feed is only exempt from sales tax if the feed is used by farmers or
ranchers who are regularly engaged in the business of raising horses.

If the supplier does not charge sales tax, then use tax is due. South Dakota’s use
tax rate is 4%, plus applicable municipal use tax, and is payable to the department
in the filing period in which the supplies are received.

The South Dakota Department of Revenue & Regulation is always ready to an-
swer your tax questions on this or other topics. Call the toll-free helpline at 1-800-
829-9188 Monday through Thursday from 8:00am to 6:00pm and Friday from 8:00am
to 5:00pm central time, or visit the website at www.state.sd.us/drr.

SDQuest Reminders

• Due Date - 23rd of the month,
even if it falls on a Saturday,
Sunday or holiday.

• Payment is due on the second
to last working day of the
month. The amount listed in
the Amount Remitted line is
the amount that will be taken
from your account.

• If filing after the 23rd, you must
file a paper return.

• ACH Debit: when return is
completed, payment for this
method  is also completed.

• ACH Credit: When a return is
completed, payment must be
generated by the taxpayer.

• To add additional cities, click
on the  “manual entry” button.

• Complete a new application if
there is a change to your bank
information.

• If you don’t have a return due,
SDQuest won’t let you log-on
to the system.

• If you provide an email ad-
dress, you will receive an email
reminder to file your return.
Contact us if we do not have
your email address.

• If there is an error on your re-
turn, you must file an amended
return on paper - not elec-
tronically.

Audit Findings

Routine audits are performed on businesses throughout the year. Some of the
major findings of tax due in audits include:

• Use tax on equipment and services
• Use tax on farm equipment
• Use tax on Internet access fees
• Use tax on supplies
• Use tax on food items purchased untaxed by motels for continental

breakfasts
• Use tax on computer software and support contracts
• Poor accountability of contractor’s gross receipts resulting in under

reported taxable receipts
• Sales or use tax on fuel surcharges
• Excise tax on owner furnished materials

If your business is expanding or replacing part of its operation, and you are hiring contrac-
tors or service providers from other states, it would be in your best interest to notify your
vendors that South Dakota sales or excise tax may apply to the work that they are
performing. Insuring that your vendors are in compliance with South Dakota tax laws
reduces your potential for a use tax assessment in an audit.  If you have any questions
concerning the audit process or the taxability of these items, call 1-800-TAX-9188.

Golf Courses/Country Clubs
Sales tax also applies to receipts result-
ing from, but not limited to, green fees,
membership fees, cart rental, storage
fees, lessons, concessions and the sale
of tangible personal property such as golf
clubs, balls, shoes, etc.

In addition to sales tax, an additional
one (1%) percent tourism tax applies
to golf ball rental, fees charged for us-
ing driving ranges and rental of golf
clubs.
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Municipal Tax Issues

Returns filed this past year indicate a
need for clarification in municipal tax re-
porting.  The following is an explanation
on the tax rates reported in the munici-
pal tax section of the sales tax return.

In South Dakota, each city may elect to
impose a tax on goods and services. Gen-
erally, if a good or service is subject to
State 4% sales or use tax, the city gen-
eral tax rate also applies. There are a
few exceptions. The general tax rate
code is identified on the city rate
worksheet with an asterisk (*).  An ex-
ample would be Spearfish code 334-2.
Most cities have a 2% general rate. The
general rate is applied to all taxable sales
that take place within a municipality that
includes lodging, restaurants, bars, de-
partment stores, convenience stores, as

well as most retail trades such as pro-
fessional services, utilities, office sup-
plies, building materials, clothes, food,
etc. In this example, the sales would be
reported to 334-2 (Spearfish code at the
rate of 2%.) on any one of lines 8
through 21 of your sales tax return.

The Municipal Gross Receipts Tax also
known as MGRT is an additional 1%
rate. Most South Dakota cities have
elected to apply the additional tax to se-
lected types of industries.  The tax is on
entertainment and special events, lodg-
ing, restaurants and bars, and services
most consumers would normally associ-
ate with the former “bed and booze” or
“fun” tax. The revenue received from
these services are reported (using the
Spearfish example) by using the MGRT

code 334-1. This is in addition to the
general rate for the city where the ser-
vices were provided. Prior to this, the
businesses that reported 3% did so on
one line only whereas now it is split out
on two different lines, 2% general and
1% Municipal Gross Receipts Tax.

The Tourism or Seasonal Tax was imposed
on visitor related industry for South Da-
kota Tourism Promotion in 1995. Examples
of trade in which Tourism Tax (code 700-
1) is due are lodging, recreational services,
spectator and special events, visitor attrac-
tions, etc.  Revenue from these areas is
subject to the additional tax.

Keep in mind, use taxable items are not
subject to the Municipal Gross Receipts
Tax or Tourism Tax.

Example:

A business has receipts from a restaurant ($1000.00), bar ($1000.00), gift shop ($849.68), and hotel ($1849.99). The
receipts from the bar sales include sales tax. Because you do not include the sales tax collected when reporting gross
sales amounts on the sales tax return, you must back the tax out by dividing those receipts by 1.07% (the rate of tax). The
bar sales to report are 934.58 (1000.00 / 1.07 = $934.58).

You owe use tax on supplies that cost you $500.00.

Your sales will be reported on your return as follows:
SALES TAX CALCULATIONS GROSS         TAXABLE RATE     TAX DUE

1.  Gross Sales
2.  Use Taxable
3.  Non-Taxable Sales
4.  Reservation Sales (Detail in City Section)
5.  Net State Sales Taxable (Line 1 plus Line 2, minus Line 3, minus Line 4)
6.  City & Reservation Tax Calculation Detail:
7. City/Reservation Name     Code         Taxable      Rate          Tax Due
8.
9.
10.

x 4%

$4634.25
500.00

0.00
0.00

$5134.25     $205.37

Spearfish* 334-2 $5134.25 .02 $102.69
Spearfish MGRT 334-1 $3784.57 .01 $ 37.85
Tourism Tax 700-1 $1849.99 .01 $ 18.50

selastnaruatseR 00.0001$ xaTetatS
xaTlapicinuM

xaTstpieceRssorGlapicinuM

raB 85.439$ xaTetatS
xaTlapicinuM

xaTstpieceRssorGlapicinuM

pohStfiG 86.948$ xaTetatS
xaTlapicinuM

letoH 99.9481$ xaTetatS
xaTlapicinuM

xaTstpieceRssorGlapicinuM
xaTmsiruoT

Sale Type Amount Tax Type
Restaurant sales $1000.00 State Tax

Municipal Tax
Municipal Gross Receipts Tax

Bar $ 934.58 State Tax
Municipal Tax
Municipal Gross Receipts Tax

Gift Shop $ 849.68 State Tax
Municipal Tax

Hotel $1849.99 State Tax
Municipal Tax
Municipal Gross Receipts Tax
Tourism Tax
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IRS News

• Read about proposed laws affect-
ing the Tax Gap in the 2008 revenue
proposals. There are some propos-
als to increase 1099 reporting require-
ments.  This is your chance to study
them in advance and contact your
Congressional representatives about
any concerns.   http://www.irs.gov/
irs/article/0,,id=167584,00.html

• THE DIRTY DOZEN  The IRS
identified 12 of the most blatant scams
affecting American taxpayers and
warned people not to fall for schemes
peddled by scam promoters.  http://
www.irs.gov/newsroom/article/
0,,id=167983,00.html

• Publication 1518. The 2007 Tax
Calendar for Small Businesses and
Self-Employed is now available. It has
information in plain language, remind-
ers and important dates to help small
businesses comply with their tax ob-
ligations. To order, 800-829-3676, or
view it online at   http://www.irs.gov/
b u s i n e s s e s / s m a l l / a r t i c l e /
0,,id=101169,00.html

• The IRS is issuing a series of
monthly fact sheets about issues rel-
evant to small businesses.  These are
areas in which small businesses of-
ten make mistakes, that contribute to
the “tax gap” - http://www.irs.gov/
n e w s r o o m / a r t i c l e /
0,,id=158619,00.html

• Business Income and the Tax Gap
• Cost of Goods Sold and the Tax Gap
• Third-Party Reporting Reminders
• Home Office Deduction Reminders
• Car and Truck Expense Deduction
Reminders
• Depreciation Reminders
• Deducting Business Supply Expenses
• Deducting Travel, Entertainment
and Gift Expenses
• Deducting Rent and Lease Expenses

Are you a Speculative Builder?

A speculative builder is one of the following:
• A licensed contractor is a speculative builder even if they build and sell only

one home.
• A realtor that owns the land and builds homes for sale but does not do any of

the actual construction or have a crew that does the construction.
• An individual, contractor, or developer that purchases a building to remodel and sell.

A speculative builder is an individual who holds title to the land and builds with the
intent to sell. Speculative builders need to know the following.

• You are considered a speculative builder even if you do not do any of the work
yourself.

• Speculative buildings include new construction or remodeling.
• All speculative builders must have a contractors’ excise tax license.
• Speculative builders must pay sales/use tax on all construction materials used

in the project.
• Exemption: Homeowners who build a home for themselves, with no inten-

tion of selling the home, but end up selling the home within 4 years, are not
considered speculative builders. If this is more than a one-time occurrence,
then the homeowner is a speculative builder and must obtain a contractors’
excise tax license.

• Licensed speculative builders should issue prime contractors exemption cer-
tificates to their subcontractors (except for land improvements).

• Selling spec buildings: A spec builder will owe 2% contractors’ excise tax in the
period when the realty improvement is sold. The contractors’ excise tax is
reported in the same reporting period as the closing. Contractors’ excise tax
does not apply if the realty improvement is sold more than four years after the
date of completion. Tax is due on the selling price, less the cost or fair market
value of the land and land improvements, whichever is greater. Contractors’
excise tax must be paid to the contractor completing the land improvements to
qualify for the deduction. Land costs that may be deducted include amount
paid to the seller for the land, real estate taxes and settlement costs.
Leasing spec buildings: the owner is responsible for the 2% contractors excise
tax on the fair market value of the building. The tax is due in the same reporting
period the improvement is first leased.

The Legislature passed SB 43 to en-
hance enforcement of tobacco laws.
The bill makes two changes to tobacco
regulation in South Dakota.  First, the
bill requires all businesses which sell
cigarettes or other tobacco products at
retail, to register with the Department.
No fee will be charged to register as a
tobacco retailer. Look for more de-
tailed registration information in the
July 2007 Taxation newsletter.

The bill also requires the tobacco retail-
ers to purchase their tobacco products

(chewing tobacco, cigars, and everything
else with tobacco, except cigarettes)
only from licensed wholesalers and dis-
tributors. Current law already requires
retailers to purchase their cigarettes only
from a licensed wholesaler or distribu-
tor. The wholesalers and distributors
collect and pay the cigarette and tobacco
products tax.  The retailer is required to
keep documentation showing they pur-
chased all of their tobacco products from
a licensed wholesaler or distributor.  A
list of licensed wholesalers and distribu-
tors is on the Department’s web page.

New Laws to Implement Tobacco Tax Increase
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Utility Company “Contribution to Construction” Contracts

Effective December 1, 2006, charges
by a utility company to a customer to
help cover the cost of expanding a line
are not considered gross receipts sub-
ject to contractors’ excise tax when
those receipts are considered a contri-
bution to construction by the utility com-
pany. Contributions for construction
must be shown as such in the records
of the utility company in order to not be
considered taxable gross receipts.

Example:
Farmer Bill wants to put in water ser-
vice to water his cattle three miles
from an existing line. He will only pur-
chase a small amount of water each
year. The rural water system deems
this line economically unfeasible be-
cause of the huge cost of putting in
the line. It is also unfair to the rest of
the customers to share in the costs by
raising water prices. The rural water
system hires a contractor to install the
line and invoices Farmer Bill for a con-
tribution to construction.

The utility company must mark the in-
voice as “Contribution to Construc-
tion.” The utility company must report
the contribution to construction on line
1 of the contractors’ excise tax return
and deduct the same amount on line 3
(Deductions). The contractor must re-
port the receipts paid to him by a util-

ity company. The utility company can-
not give the contractor a Prime Con-
tractor Exemption Certificate.

In the future, if the line becomes eco-
nomically feasible by increased use or
another customer wanting a service in
close proximity is also asked to contrib-
ute to construction, the property owner’s
contribution could be partially refunded
with interest. The payments are not off-
set by future water purchases.

What type of projects are not consid-
ered a contribution to construction?

1. Replacing lines or updating lines
is subject to the contractors’ ex-
cise tax.

2. Repair work that is done that the
utility company bills another per-
son for — those fees are subject
to contractors’ excise tax.

3. Moving lines is subject to the con-
tractors’ excise tax.

4. Leakage detection is subject to 4%
state plus applicable municipal
sales tax

5. Monitoring services are subject to
4% state plus applicable munici-
pal sales tax

For additional information, contact the
department at 800-829-9188.

CONTRACTORS IN THE KNOW

Prime Contractors’
Exemption Certificates

The department recommends
obtaining a prime contractor’s
exemption certificate prior to
starting work. If a subcontrac-
tor hires another subcontractor
for a project, the prime con-
tractor must issue the certifi-
cate for each project. A blan-
ket certificate cannot be issued
to a subcontractor on a yearly
basis.

You cannot deduct subcontrac-
tor receipts from your gross re-
ceipts unless you have a prime
contractor’s exemption certifi-
cate on file. If you do not re-
ceive a properly completed
certificate, you are liable for
the contractor’s excise tax.

A certificate may not be issued
by an owner of a project. A ho-
meowner is not a prime con-
tractor. Exception: An owner
is a prime contractor if building
or remodeling with the intention
of selling the property (Spec
Builder).

Correction to the October 2006 Issue of Taxation News - DuraStone/DuraCeramic Tile
The department erroneously stated in the October 2006 news article, Installing Flooring?, that DuraStone and
DuraCeramic Tile Installation was subject to contractors’ excise tax. The Department has reviewed DuraStone
and DuraCeramic Tile and the installation process and has determined the installation of this type of tile is
subject to sales tax.

Check out the NEW Business Tax website!
w w w . s t a t e . s d . u s / d r r 2 / b u s i n e s s t a x / b u s t a x . h t m
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