UCR

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR ALL INTERSTAE MOTOR CARRIERS, FREIGHT FORWARDERS, BROKERS AND LEASING COMPANIES

If you operate a truck or bus in interstate or international commerce there is a new federal law that applies to your business. The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Program requires individuals and companies that operate commercial motor vehicles in interstate or international commerce to register their business and pay an annual fee based on the size of their fleet. Motor private carriers of passengers only are not required to register and pay fees under the UCR. This law includes private carriers.

The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Program requires individuals and companies that provide freight forwarding, brokering or leasing services in interstate or international commerce to register their business and pay an annual fee of $76.00.

A “Commercial Motor Vehicle” is defined as a self-propelled or towed vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers or cargo, if the vehicle:

  • (a) has a gross vehicle weight of 10,001 pounds or more;
  • (b) is designed to transport 11 or more passengers (including the driver); or
  • (c) is used in transporting hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding.

Your IFTA decals for 2015 will not be mailed and your IRP renewal will not be completed until 2014 UCR fees have been paid. You must register for 2015 by the enforcement date of January 1, 2015 to avoid motor carrier enforcement fines.

The fees under this program will be required to be paid each year and may vary from year to year.

Fee Brackets for Motor Carriers



Tier From To Fee per Company
1 0 2 $76.00
2 3 5 $227.00
3 6 20 $452.00
4 21 100 $1,576.00
5 101 1,000 $7,511.00
6 1,001 200,000 $73,346.00
Example: A motor carrier operating four tractors and nine straight trucks has a fleet size of 13 (Tier 3) commercial motor vehicles and pays $452.00.

Included in this mailing is a UCR application form for 2015 and an instruction sheet. To avoid delays it is highly recommended that you register on-line. Go to www.ucr.in.gov and follow the step by step instructions. If registering on-line, the enclosed application does not need to be completed. When registering on-line, payments can be made using MasterCard, Visa, Discover, Debit Card or e-Check. The following fees will be applied when registering through the above mentioned website. Please note that the credit card fee is an estimate but should be fairly accurate to what you will be charged when paying by credit card.

Tier Credit Card Fee Debit Card Fee e-Check Fee Website Fee
1 $2.57 $2.99 $1.00 $3.00
2 $5.58 $3.75 $1.00 $3.00
3 $10.05 $3.75 $1.00 $3.00
4 $32.42 $3.75 $1.00 $3.00
5 $150.53 $3.75 $1.00 $3.00
6 $1,460.65 $3.75 $1.00 $3.00
Example: A motor carrier operating four tractors and nine straight trucks has a fleet size of thirteen (Tier 3) commercial motor vehicles and pays by credit card owes $464.05. If the motor carrier pays by debit card, they will owe $458.75. If the motor carrier pays by e-Check, they will owe $456.00.

Applications and payments by mail from out-of-state businesses must be made by certified check or money order. Make payments payable to the South Dakota Department of Revenue. Please place your USDOT # on the front of your check. Mail UCR application and payment to:

  • South Dakota Department of Revenue
  • Division of Motor Vehicles – UCR Program
  • 445 East Capitol Avenue
  • Pierre, SD 57501-3185

If you would like to learn more about UCR, go to www.ucr.in.gov or call (605) 773.4595(605) 773.4595.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: If you operated in 2014 and did not register in the UCR Program, you must pay both your 2014 and 2015 UCR fees to avoid possible enforcement action.

Home  |  SD.GOV  |  DOR Intranet
445 E Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501




© Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota