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An Introduction to the International
Registration Plan and Prorate Licensing

To obtain an IRP/Prorate License, request an application packet from the Office of Prorate
and Commercial Licensing at the address listed below.

South Dakota Department of Revenue & Regulation
Prorate and Commercial Licensing

445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3185

(605) 773-4111

State (SDCL 20-13) and federal (Title VI) of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended, and the
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 laws require that the Department of Revenue & Regulation provide services to all
persons without regard to race, color, creed, religion, sex, disability, ancestry or national origin.
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Introduction

If you use a vehicle to transport any items for business purposes of 500 pounds or more, that vehicle must be commercially
licensed.  Some vehicles are exempt from commercial licensing under SDCL 32-9.  Contact the Office of Prorate and
Commercial Licensing for further information on commercially exempt vehicles.   If your vehicle travels only in South Dakota,
you need to obtain an in-state commercial license from your county treasurer’s office.  However, if you use that vehicle outside
South Dakota, you must either have a trip permit or have an IRP license (also referred to as a prorate license). These licenses are
issued only by the Office of Prorate and Commercial Licensing, a section of the Department of Revenue and Regulation’s
Division of Motor Vehicles.

• The International Registration Plan
Purchasing a prorate license in South Dakota licenses your vehicle in all states and Canadian provinces participating in the
International Registration Plan (IRP) in which you choose to travel.  The member jurisdictions include:

Alabama Manitoba Oklahoma
Alberta Maryland Ontario
Arizona Massachusetts Oregon
Arkansas Michigan Pennsylvania
British Columbia Minnesota Quebec
California Mississippi Rhode Island
Colorado Missouri Saskatchewan
Connecticut Montana South Carolina
Delaware Nebraska South Dakota
District of Columbia Nevada Tennessee
Florida New Foundland & Labrador Texas
Georgia New Brunswick Utah
Idaho New Hampshire Vermont
Illinois New Jersey Virginia
Indiana New Mexico Washington
Iowa New York West Virginia
Kansas Nova Scotia Wisconsin
Kentucky North Carolina Wyoming
Louisiana North Dakota
Maine Ohio

The Prorate License
• License Cost
The cost of prorate license depends on two factors: the fee schedule in each jurisdiction in which your vehicles travel and the
percent of miles traveled in each jurisdiction of the total miles that your vehicles travel.  Fees, which vary from jurisdiction to
jurisdiction, are typically based on:

⇒ The weight of a vehicle;
⇒ Its model year;
⇒ Its value;
⇒ Some combination of weight, model year, and value

The cost of a license also depends on the percentage of miles traveled in each jurisdiction by each vehicle.  For instance, if 60
percent of the miles a vehicle travels are in South Dakota and the remaining 40 percent in Minnesota, 60 percent of the prorate
license cost will be based on South Dakota’s fee schedule and the remaining 40 percent on Minnesota’s fee schedule.  South
Dakota also collects excise tax on most vehicles where title is being transferred.  The tax rate is 3%; however, on a prorate
licensed vehicle, the tax is also based on the percentage of miles for South Dakota.
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• Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax
All states are required to verify that the Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (required on vehicles licensed at 55,000 pounds or
greater) has been paid/filed before the state licenses a vehicle.  In order for South Dakota to verify that this tax has been paid,
you must provide the state with a copy of your processed IRS Form 2290, Schedule 1 or an unprocessed copy accompanied by
photocopies of your tax payment.

• US DOT Number – MCS 150
All applications for IRP licensing must report the US DOT number of the Registrant (the business or individual that the prorate
account is being issued to) and the US DOT number of the Carrier (the business or individual responsible for the safety of the
vehicle).  In most cases, the Registrant and the Carrier are one and the same.

• New Entrant Program - MCS 150A
Any new carrier applying for a US DOT number must complete a MCS-150A.

Licensing and Vehicle Titles
All South Dakota based prorate licensed vehicles must have a South Dakota title or an interstate title.  If your vehicle is not yet
titled in your name, you must include the following documents in your application for a prorate license:

⇒ A completed application for the International Registration Plan;
⇒ A completed application for South Dakota Motor Vehicle Title (MV-608);

If it is a new vehicle, include:
⇒ A Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO);
⇒ A copy of the purchase invoice, purchase order or sales contract indicating the selling price along with any vehicle

trade-in;
If it is a used vehicle, include:

⇒ A properly assigned title free of all prior liens;
⇒ A copy of the purchase order or sales contract, or bill of sale.

If the vehicle is owned by an out of state owner operator leasing to you and the vehicle is titled in another state, a “non-
negotiable” interstate title may be applied for.  This interstate title allows the owner to retain the out of state title, yet license in
the state of South Dakota.  In applying for this title, you must include:

⇒ A completed application for the International Registration Plan:
⇒ A completed application for South Dakota Motor Vehicle Title (MV-608);
⇒ A photocopy of the vehicle’s out-of-state title;
⇒ A General-Purpose Affidavit form with the Interstate Affidavit section completed.

• Steps in the Licensing Process
The licensing process for a new applicant is composed of the following steps:

• Complete the application for the International Registration Plan and attach the following forms:
⇒ Agreement to Maintain Records;
⇒ Ownership Information Form;
⇒ MCS 150 Form (US DOT Number application) & MCS 150A (if applicable)
⇒ Power of Attorney ( if applicable);
⇒ Estimated Mileage Justification Form (Schedule G) if the carrier is estimating their own mileage and not using

the department’s estimated mileage schedule;
⇒ Proof of Residency: Copy of a phone bill in registrant’s name for the address listed, proof of insurance on the

real estate property, and proof of payment of real estate taxes on the described property, or if rented, a copy of
the property’s rental contract.

Send this material to the Office of Prorate and Commercial Licensing at the address given on the cover page of this
document.  Send no money at this time unless requesting a temporary clearance (see “Temporary Clearances” below).

• The office will calculate the cost of your license and send you a bill.
• Return the top portion of the bill along with your payment made payable to the South Dakota Department of Revenue &

Regulation.  Payments received after 30 days of the billing date in which a temporary clearance has been issued will
be assessed a penalty of $10.00 or 10% of the billing; whichever is greater and interest of 1.5%.  Interest is assessed
monthly until payment is received.
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• After payment has been received, you will be sent license plates/decals and cab cards covering the vehicles you have
licensed.  Review these to make sure they are correct.  Corrections requested more than 15 days after receipt will be charged
$3.00 per cab card.

• Temporary Clearances
If you are a new applicant, you may request an immediate, although temporary, prorate clearance.  This temporary clearance
allows interstate travel in the same manner as a permanent prorate license but is only valid for a maximum of 45 days or until the
end of the current registration year.  Once issued, licensing of each unit commences upon the date of issuance of the
temporary or until the end of the licensing period.  The temporary cannot be voided once issued and licensing cannot be
canceled.  In order to receive a temporary, you must first complete an application for the International Registration Plan (see
“Steps in the Licensing Process”).  You must than calculate and submit an advanced deposit.  To determine this amount, refer to
the **”Tables for Advanced Deposit” located on the last page of this document.  Locate the correct age chart for the vehicle you
want to license. Follow the column “Gross Weight” downward until you find the weight of the vehicle.  In the adjoining column
you will find the amount of deposit required for a temporary clearance.  The advanced deposit must be submitted with the
application and all other required documents.  If a change in the vehicle’s title is required, a title application must also be
attached to the title application.  This proof includes a foreign title, an assigned South Dakota title, or a Manufacturer’s
Certification of Origin (MCO).

• What a Prorate License Does not Do
A prorate license does not:

1. Exempt a carrier from payment of motor fuel taxes in any state;
2. Exempt a carrier from obtaining operating authority from a state where the apportioned vehicle operates or from the

SSR program;
3. Exempt a carrier from any sales tax liability;
4. Exempt a carrier from obtaining a DOT number;
5. Exempt a carrier from the payment or filing of the Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax;
6. Permit a carrier to exceed maximum length, height, width, or axle limitations;
7. Permit the violation of bridge laws;
8. Exempt a carrier from obtaining a Commercial Driver’s License.

Recordkeeping

Prorate license holders are required to maintain detailed mileage records.  These records include:
⇒ Individual Vehicle Mileage Records (IVMR);
⇒ A monthly summary;
⇒ A yearly summary.

Individual vehicle mileage records must contain the following information:
1. Date(s) of trip;
2. Trip origin and destination;
3. Route of travel, including highway numbers;
4. Total mileage traveled within each jurisdiction;
5. Total trip miles (including all vehicle movement whether loaded, empty, deadhead, or bobtail miles);
6. Unit number or vehicle identification number for power units and trailers;
7. Odometer reading (or hubometer);
8. Driver’s name and signature.

An IVMR must be completed any time a vehicle moves.  All vehicles must be accounted for on an IVMR, including miles
traveled under trip permits.  The monthly summary must show:

⇒ Total miles traveled by each vehicle during the month;
⇒ Total miles traveled in each state by all vehicles during the month.

The yearly summary must show:
⇒ Total miles traveled by each vehicle during the year;
⇒ Total miles traveled in each state by all vehicles during the year.

All records must be maintained for a period of four years.  You will be required to file an agreement to maintain records on a
yearly basis.  If you fail to keep adequate records, you may be assessed a penalty or have your license revoked.
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Audits

The Department of Revenue & Regulation routinely audits the records of prorate license holders to verify the accuracy of
reported mileage.  Any license holder who fails to comply with the provisions of the law can be assessed the following penalties:

⇒ If the records are found to be inadequate at any time, the license holder will be assessed the full 3 % excise tax on
any vehicle that had the tax apportioned during that license period.

⇒ If the records are not adequate to allow a satisfactory audit, the license holder will be assessed a penalty of 20% of
the South Dakota fees for the year(s) under the audit.

⇒ If the records are found to be inadequate in subsequent year, the license holder will be assessed a 100% penalty and
his or her prorate license will be revoked.

**See Reverse Page for the Table of Advanced Deposits
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TABLES FOR ADVANCED DEPOSITS

Current Model Year and Four Year Previous Years

Older Than Five Model Years

TONNAGE TONNAGE TONNAGE

TONNAGETONNAGETONNAGE

GROSS
WEIGHT

GROSS
WEIGHT

GROSS
WEIGHT

GROSS
WEIGHT

GROSS
WEIGHT

GROSS
WEIGHT

DEPOSIT
AMOUNT

DEPOSIT
AMOUNT

DEPOSIT
AMOUNT

DEPOSIT
AMOUNT

DEPOSIT
AMOUNT

DEPOSIT
AMOUNT

2T
3T
4T
5T
6T
7T
8T
9T
10T
11T
12T
13T
14T
15T
16T
17T
18T
19T
20T
21T
22T

2T
3T
4T
5T
6T
7T
8T
9T
10T
11T
12T
13T
14T
15T
16T
17T
18T
19T
20T
21T
22T

23T
24T
25T
26T
27T
28T
29T
30T
31T
32T
33T
34T
35T
36T
37T
38T
39T
40T
41T
42T
43T
44T

23T
24T
25T
26T
27T
28T
29T
30T
31T
32T
33T
34T
35T
36T
37T
38T
39T
40T
41T
42T
43T
44T

45T
46T
47T
48T
49T
50T
51T
52T
53T
54T
55T
56T
57T
58T
59T
60T
61T
62T
63T
64T
65T

45T
46T
47T
48T
49T
50T
51T
52T
53T
54T
55T
56T
57T
58T
59T
60T
61T
62T
63T
64T
65T

UNDER 4,000
4,001-6,000
6,001-8,000
8,001-10,000
10,001-12,000
12,001-14,000
14,001-16,000
16,001-18,000
18,001-20,000
20,001-22,000
22,001-24,000
24,001-26,000
26,001-28,000
28,001-30,000
30,001-32,000
32,001-34,000
34,001-36,000
36,001-38,000
38,001-40,000
40,001-42,000
42,001-44,000

UNDER 4,000
4,001-6,000
6,001-8,000
8,001-10,000
10,001-12,000
12,001-14,000
14,001-16,000
16,001-18,000
18,001-20,000
20,001-22,000
22,001-24,000
24,001-26,000
26,001-28,000
28,001-30,000
30,001-32,000
32,001-34,000
34,001-36,000
36,001-38,000
38,001-40,000
40,001-42,000
42,001-44,000

44,001-46,000
46,001-48,000
48,001-50,000
50,001-52,000
52,001-54,000
54,001-56,000
56,001-58,000
58,001-60,000
60,001-62,000
62,001-64,000
64,001-66,000
66,001-68,000
68,001-70,000
70,001-72,000
72,001-74,000
74,001-76,000
76,001-78,000
78,001-80,000
80,001-82,000
82,001-84,000
84,001-86,000
86,001-88,000

44,001-46,000
46,001-48,000
48,001-50,000
50,001-52,000
52,001-54,000
54,001-56,000
56,001-58,000
58,001-60,000
60,001-62,000
62,001-64,000
64,001-66,000
66,001-68,000
68,001-70,000
70,001-72,000
72,001-74,000
74,001-76,000
76,001-78,000
78,001-80,000
80,001-82,000
82,001-84,000
84,001-86,000
86,001-88,000

88,001-90,000
90,001-92,000
92,001-94,000
94,001-96,000
96,001-98,000
98,001-100,000
100,001-102,000
102,001-104,000
104,001-106,000
106,001-108,000
108,001-110,000
110,001-112,000
112,001-114,000
114,001-116,000
116,001-118,000
118,001-120,000
120,001-122,000
122,001-124,000
124,001-126,000
126,001-128,000
128,001-130,000

88,001-90,000
90,001-92,000
92,001-94,000
94,001-96,000
96,001-98,000
98,001-100,000
100,001-102,000
102,001-104,000
104,001-106,000
106,001-108,000
108,001-110,000
110,001-112,000
112,001-114,000
114,001-116,000
116,001-118,000
118,001-120,000
120,001-122,000
122,001-124,000
124,001-126,000
126,001-128,000
128,001-130,000

$     14.00
$     17.00
$     19.00
$     22.00
$     25.00
$     29.00
$     33.00
$     38.00
$     42.00
$     48.00
$     55.00
$     62.00
$     68.00
$     75.00
$     82.00
$     88.00
$     95.00
$   102.00
$   108.00
$   115.00
$   122.00

$   128.00
$   135.00
$   142.00
$   148.00
$   155.00
$   162.00
$   168.00
$   175.00
$   182.00
$   188.00
$   195.00
$   202.00
$   208.00
$   215.00
$   222.00
$   228.00
$   235.00
$   243.00
$   249.00
$   256.00
$   263.00
$   269.00

$   276.00
$   286.00
$   289.00
$   296.00
$   303.00
$   309.00
$   316.00
$   323.00
$   329.00
$   336.00
$   343.00
$   349.00
$   356.00
$   363.00
$   369.00
$   376.00
$   383.00
$   389.00
$   396.00
$   403.00
$   409.00

$     13.00
$     15.00
$     17.00
$     20.00
$     23.00
$     26.00
$     30.00
$     34.00
$     38.00
$     43.00
$     50.00
$     56.00
$     61.00
$     68.00
$     74.00
$     79.00
$     86.00
$     92.00
$     97.00
$   104.00
$   110.00

$   115.00
$   122.00
$   128.00
$   133.00
$   140.00
$   146.00
$   151.00
$   158.00
$   164.00
$   169.00
$   176.00
$   182.00
$   187.00
$   194.00
$   200.00
$   205.00
$   212.00
$   219.00
$   225.00
$   231.00
$   237.00
$   243.00

$   249.00
$   255.00
$   261.00
$   267.00
$   273.00
$   279.00
$   285.00
$   291.00
$   297.00
$   303.00
$   309.00
$   315.00
$   321.00
$   327.00
$   333.00
$   339.00
$   345.00
$   351.00
$   357.00
$   363.00
$   369.00


