
 
South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles 

2014 Legislation Summary 
 

HB 1056:  Repeals Provisions Regarding the Taxation, Licensing and Regulation of 

Motor Vehicles. 
 

 Repeal of SDCL 32-5B-5, requiring a manufacturer to notify DMV of any model or 

price revisions.  And the requirement of DMV to file the approved national dealer 

and appraisal guides used with the Secretary of State’s Office.  (With the 
implementation of the 3% motor vehicle excise tax in 1985, this became obsolete.) 

 

 Repeal of SDCL 32-5-129 - 32-5-135, a provision that allowed Licensing Agents to do 

the work of County Treasurers. 
 

 Repeal of SDCL 32-5-106, provision allowing municipalities to license, tax, and 

regulate motor vehicles. 

 

HB1059:  Revises the Exemption of Mass Transit Motor Vehicles from Licensing, 

Registration Fees, and the Motor Vehicle Excise Tax. 
 

 SDCL 32-5-42, clarifies which mass transit vehicles qualify for special plates and 

exemption from the 3% motor vehicle excise tax.  

 

HB1060: Revises Provisions Regarding Military Specialty Plates. 
 

 SDCL 32-5:  Reorganized statutes to make easier to read, understand and apply.  No 

major changes. 
 

 Removes the requirement to be eligible for National Guard plates, the applicant must 
be a member of the South Dakota National Guard.  

 

 Defines “Veteran” as any person who meets provisions 33A-2-1:  must be an 

honorably discharged veteran who served on active duty for a period of at least 90 
days.  
 

 Defines “owner” as any person who operates a motor vehicle operated on public 

highways. 

 

 Sets Class 1 Misdemeanor for falsifying application.     

 

 Establishes the procedure to deal with the loss, transfer or destruction of a vehicle 

with military specialty plates.  
 

 



HB1061: Includes Limited Liability Corporations (LLCs) to Statutes 

 

 Adds Limited Liability Corporations (LLCs) to statutes so they are treated like 

Corporations when vehicles are transferred or sold. (32-5B-2, 32-5-2.2, 32-5-27,         
32-6C-3, 32-7A-4.1, 32-7B-4, 32-6D, 32-9, and 32-10) 

 

SB 54:  Revises the Definition of Dealers 
 

 Revises the definition of “Boat Dealer” (32-3A-2) to say new or used large boats 

rather than qualifying used as selling 5 or more in a year. 
 

 (Under 32-7A-1), removed the requirement that manufactured/mobile home dealer 

must sell 3 or more homes in a consecutive 12 month period.  Revised to anyone 

who with the intent to make a profit is engaged in the business of selling, renting or 
exchanging mobile/manufactured homes falls under the definition. 

 

 Provides for a Class 2 Misdemeanor for selling without a license and a Class 1 

Misdemeanor for a subsequent violation within 2 years.                                                  
(32-6B4, 32-6C-2, 32-7A-3, 32-7B-2)  

 

 Clarified that licensing requirements do not apply to regulated lenders and insurance 
companies authorized to do business in this state, or financial institutions that 

acquire the vehicle as an incident to its business. (32-6C-2, 32-7A-3, 32-7B-2)     

 

SB 59: Increases the Penalty for Trafficking of Vehicle License Plates and Decals, 

Provides a Penalty for the Unauthorized Transfer of a Vehicle License 

Plate or Decal, and Imposes a Penalty for Altering or Forging Certain 

Vehicle Registration Cards. 

 

 Increases the penalty for buying, selling or dealing in license plates or decals from a 

Class 2 Misdemeanor to a Class 1 Misdemeanor. (32-5-103) 

 

 Provides for a Class 1 Misdemeanor for any person that transfers license plates or 

decals from a motor vehicle it is registered to, to any other motor vehicle.   
 

 Provides for a Class 6 felony for altering or forging a motor vehicle registration card 
or other temporary registration device. (32-5) 

 

SB 60: Revises Certain Provisions Regarding the Titling and Licensing of Boats 

and Motor Vehicles and Establishes Penalties for Violations of those 

Provisions. 
 

 Requires a boat dealer to deliver a title or MSO to a purchaser within 30 days of the 
date of sale.  Establishes a penalty of a Class 2 Misdemeanor for the first violation 



and a Class 1 Misdemeanor for any subsequent violation that occurs within 2 years 
from any violation. (32-3A-23, 32-3A-24) 

 

 Changes the exemption from the 3% excise tax on a boat that is 11 or more years old 

which is sold or transferred from $1,500 or less to $2,200 or less before trade-in.   Is 
now uniform with the motor vehicle tax exemption. (32-3A-52) 

 

SB61: Revises Certain Provisions Regarding Organization, First Responder, and 

Organ Donor Emblem Specialty Plates for Motor Vehicles. 
 

 Changes reference from organization plates to Emblem Specialty Plates. (32-5) 

 

SB 95:  Revises Certain Vehicle Dealer Licensing Provisions. 

 

 Clarifies who is exempt from the “licensing provisions” of 32-6B-5. 

 

 Removes exemptions 6-9 and 19 from 32-6B-5 clarifying that manufacturers have an 

agreement with dealers that pertain to event permits for a manufacturer, customizer 
and dealer and for the sale of classic vehicles and motorcycles.     

 

 
 

 

 

   


