Dealers Corner

Dealer Licensing

South Dakota requires that people who engage in the business of selling vehicles, whether exclusively or in addition to any other occupation have a motor vehicle dealer license.

All businesses must become licensed with the Division of Motor Vehicles before any sales transactions may occur.  Also, it is recommended that applicants contact the division prior to submitting a license application to make sure that the name you want to use for your business is not already in use.


Prospective Dealer Notice

In July of 2008, the Division of Motor Vehicles implemented a new title and registration computer system, SDcars. All licensed dealers are required to use the on-line system. For more information, please contact the Division of Motor Vehicles at: motorv@state.sd.us; phone 605-773-3541605-773-3541; or Fax 605-773-2549.

Information soon available on-line at: www.SDcars.org


Contact Us

Dealer Licensing Office - Provides information on licensing/renewal requirements, principal place of business requirements, bonding and insurance requirements, fees, dealer plates and permits, title and registration, recordkeeping requirements, violation penalty provisions, etc.
445 E. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501  |  Phone: 605-773-4416650-773-4416  |  Fax: 605-773-2549

Motor Vehicle Information Section - For general motor vehicle questions, titling and registration.
445 E. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501  |  Phone: 605-773-3541605-773-3541  |  Fax: 605-773-2550

Dealer Inspector - Answers dealer business questions, provides training and instruction on compliance and procedures, enforces laws and regulations, investigates complaints and violations, conducts inspections, etc.

Dealer Agents In The Field
Pierre Sioux Falls Rapid City
Mike Mehlhaff
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3185
Phone: 605-773-2121605-773-2121
Fax: 605-773-4117
mike.mehlhaff@state.sd.us
Ron Rysavy
300 S. Sycamore Avenue, Suite 102
Sioux Falls, SD 57110
Phone: 605-367-5814605-367-5814
Fax: 605-367-5830
ron.rysavy@state.sd.us
Pilo Pena
4447 South Canyon Road, Suite 6
Rapid City, SD 57702-1889
Phone: 605-394-3394605-394-3394
Fax: 605-394-6076
pilo.pena@state.sd.us
Watertown Dealer Program Assistant/Pierre Dealer Program Manager/Pierre
Lori Colberg
715 S Maple
Watertown, SD 57201
Phone: 605-882-5192605-882-5192
Fax: 605-995-8087
lori.colberg@state.sd.us
Brittany Kenzy
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3185
Phone: 605-773-4416605-773-4416
Fax: 605-773-4117
brittany.kenzy@state.sd.us
Kendall Velder
445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3185
Phone: 605-773-2122605-773-2122
Fax: 605-773-4117
kendall.velder@state.sd.us
Home  |  SD.GOV  |  DOR Intranet
445 E Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501




© Copyright 2012 - State of South Dakota