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SECTION 10 
 

EMERGENCY VEHICLE DEALER LICENSE 

 

South Dakota law requires that anyone engaged in the business of selling or 

exchanging new or used authorized emergency vehicles shall have an 

emergency vehicle dealer’s license. An emergency vehicle dealer’s license is also 

required in the event of submission of a bid proposal of an emergency vehicle 

for sale by a person not exempt under the dealer statute, if the bid proposal is 

offered in response to a bid request originating in this state. 

 

An “emergency vehicle dealer” is defined as any person who converts or 

manufacturers authorized emergency vehicles and who, for commission or with 

intent to make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with option to purchase, 

offers, or attempts to negotiate a sale or exchange of new, or new and used 

authorized emergency vehicles, or who is engaged wholly or in part in the 

business of selling new, or new and used authorized emergency vehicles. The 

term also includes the submission of a bid proposal for the sale of a vehicle if 

the bid proposal is offered in response to a bid request originating in this state. 

 

An “authorized emergency vehicle” is defined as any vehicle of a fire 

department and any ambulance and emergency vehicle of a municipal 

department or public service corporation that are designed or authorized by the 

Department of Commerce and Regulation. 

 

An emergency vehicle dealer is exempt from the requirement of having its 

principal place of business in South Dakota and is not required to secure a 

separate license for each county it operates within.   

 

Any out-of-state dealer that applies for an emergency vehicle dealer’s license 

and whose principal place of business is not located in South Dakota must 

provide proof it is a licensed dealer in another state and attest that there are no 

outstanding dealer violations against the dealership.  The dealer is allowed to 

verify that there are no outstanding dealer violations by attesting to such on an 

affidavit. 

 

The following requirements must be met before a license can be issued: 

 

1) Application for license; 

2) $300 initial license fee; $175 renewal license fee; 

3) $10,000 surety bond; 

4) $300,000 liability insurance on principal place of business (principal place 

of business does not have to be in South Dakota).  

  




