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SECTION 5 
 

LEASED AND RENTED VEHICLES 

TITLING LEASED/RENTED MOTOR VEHICLES 

 
A. Definitions: 

 
1. "Leased vehicle," A motor vehicle titled in the name of a leasing 

company or  the individual leasing the motor vehicle, which is 
leased for a period of more than 28 days. 

 
2. "Rental vehicle," A motor vehicle titled in the name of a rental 

company licensed under 10-45 (sales tax license) which is rented 
for 28 days or less; or a trailer which is titled in the name of a 
rental company licensed under chapter 10-45 (sales tax license) 
and that has an un-laded weight of 9,000 pounds or more, that 
is rented for 6 months or less and that is not consecutively rented 
to the same person for more than one 6-month period. 

 
B. CLOSED LEASE (TERMS OF THE LEASE ARE KNOWN AT THE TIME 

THE CONTRACT IS EXECUTED). Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight 
rating of less than 16,000 pounds and fertilizer vehicles, leased for more 
than 28 days. (Effective July 1, 2006, motorcycles are included in the 
lease law.) 

 
1. The lessor must title and license the vehicle. In the case of a 

leasing company within a dealership, the leasing company name 
must be separate and distinct from that of the dealership. 

 
2. The lessor and the lessee's name must appear on the title. 

 
3. Under plate with owner, either the lessor or the lessee is the owner 

of the plates and upon sale or transfer of the vehicle can remove 
the plates, which can then be attached to a newly acquired vehicle 
upon title and registration of the newly acquired vehicle through 
the county treasurer. 

 
a. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number 

of each lessee must be given. If the lessee is a company, the 
FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, 
the lessee’s South Dakota driver’s license number or social 
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security number may be used. The FEIN of the lessor is 
required. 

 
3. The lessor or the lessee must pay the 4% excise tax on the 

purchase price of the vehicle (purchase price as defined in 3a). 
 

a. Purchase price on a leased vehicle that is a closed lease 
(terms of the lease are known at the time the contract is 
executed) is the total consideration whether received in 
money or otherwise. Total consideration is: all lease 
payments, including cash, rebates, the net trade-in, 
extended warranties, administrative fees, acquisition fees, or 
any other fees assessed on the purchase of the vehicle. Total 
consideration does not include: title fees, registration fees, 
vehicle excise tax, federal excise tax attributable to the sale 
of the vehicle to the owner or to the lease of the vehicle by 
the owner, insurance, and refundable deposits. 

 
b. Calculation of the tax shall be done on the tax worksheet 

entitled South Dakota Closed Lease Tax Worksheet 
(DMV/CLTW). A copy of the worksheet must accompany the 
application for title and registration (MV608). The signature 
area must be completed on the worksheet or the purchase 
price must be certified on the application for title and 
registration (MV608). 

 
c. A copy of the lease agreement is required. 

 
4. If the term of the lease is extended or if the vehicle is leased for an 

additional period of time; excise tax is assessed on the additional 
lease payments and must be paid by the lessor. 

 
a. If additional consideration is paid during the course of the 

lease or upon termination of the lease, the excise tax is 
assessed on such amount and is to be paid by the lessor. 

 
Additional consideration does not include a late fee that a 
lessor may assess a lessee on a late lease payment. 

 
b. The South Dakota tax worksheet entitled, South Dakota 

Extended or Additional Consideration Lease Tax Worksheet 
(DMV/LTW.1) is to be used to remit the additional tax. 
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c. The title does not have to be submitted but can be if the 
lessor wants the additional tax to be shown on the title. If 
the title is submitted a $5 title fee is required. 

 
5. If the lessee buys the vehicle at the end of the lease, excise tax is 

assessed on the purchase price of the vehicle at the end of the 
lease. 

 
a. The lessor/dealer must assign the title to the lessee and 

submit the assigned title to the lessee’s county treasurer, 
along with an application certifying the purchase price of the 
vehicle and the required fees and taxes. 

 
b. A lessee who entered into a lease prior to July 1, 2000, and 

who paid excise tax based on the purchase price of the 
vehicle, including the value of the leased vehicle at the end of 
the lease shall receive credit for tax previously paid if the 
lessee purchases the vehicle at the end of the lease. 

 
c. If a lease is terminated prior to the termination date 

contained in the lease agreement, no refund is given for tax 
previously paid. 

 
d. If prior to the expiration of a lease, the leased vehicle is 

destroyed by fire, accident or vandalism to the extent that it 
constitutes a total loss of the vehicle, credit for the lease tax 
paid for the period remaining on the previous lease is 
allowed if another vehicle is substituted under the original 
lease or a new lease is executed with the intent to replace the 
vehicle subject to the previous  lease. The new  lease or 
substituted vehicle under the original lease must be 
executed by the same lessor and lessee for lease of a vehicle 
of the same or similar make, model, year and options as the 
vehicle subject to the previous lease. The lease must be for 
the remaining lease period as the previous lease, for the 
same lease price and under the same lease terms as the 
previous lease. 

 
6. Leased vehicles entering the state under a lease are subject to tax 

on the date the vehicle enters this state for the remaining months 
in the lease period. 
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a. Credit is given for tax that has been paid up-front to another 
state. The applicant must submit proof of payment of the 
tax. The lessee and the lessor must remain the same. 
Calculation of the tax should be done on the South Dakota 
Closed Lease Tax Worksheet (DMV/CTW). A copy of the 
lease is required. [No credit is given if payment of the tax on 
a lease was being made to another state on a monthly basis.] 

 
b. In the event tax was being paid by the lessee to another state 

on a monthly basis, the county treasurer shall require the 
leasing company making application for title and license to 
submit a completed application for title and registration, a 
South Dakota Lease Tax Worksheet For Out-Of-State Vehicle 
Lease (DMV/OSVLW), and a copy of the lease agreement. 

 
7. When entering a lease transaction on the computer system that 

falls under Section 6A above, in which more tax has been paid to 
another state than is due South Dakota, a tax code 45 should be 
used. The purchase price, as indicated on the worksheet is 
entered, the amount of tax paid to the other state is shown as a 
credit, and no amount is entered in the tax amount area. 

 
C. OPEN-END LEASE (TERMS OF THE LEASE ARE NOT CERTAIN AT THE 

TIME THE LEASE IS EXECUTED OR THE LEASE IS OPEN-ENDED). 
Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 16,000 pounds 
and fertilizer vehicles, leased for more than 28 days. (Effective July 1, 
2006, motorcycles are included in the lease law.) 

 
 

1. The lessor must title and license the vehicle. In the case of a 
leasing company within a dealership, the leasing company name 
must be separate and distinct from that of the dealership. 

 
2. The lessor and the lessee's name must appear on the title. 

 
a. The South Dakota driver's license or social security number 

of each lessee must be given. If the lessee is a company, the 
FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, 
the lessee’s South Dakota driver’s license number or social 
security number may be used. The FEIN, South Dakota 
driver’s license number or social security of the lessor is 
required. 
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3. The lessor or the lessee must pay the 4% excise tax on the 
purchase price of the vehicle (purchase price as defined in 3a). 

 
a. Purchase price on a leased vehicle in which the terms of the 

lease are either not certain at the time the lease contract is 
executed or the lease is open-ended, shall be the total 
consideration whether received in money or otherwise. Total 
consideration includes the purchase price of the  vehicle, 
plus cash, rebates, net trade-in, extended warranties, 
administrative fees, acquisition fees, or any other fees 
assessed on the purchase of the vehicle. Total consideration 
does not include title fees, registration fees, excise tax, 
federal excise tax, insurance, and refundable deposits. 

 
b. Credit is given for tax previously paid to another state. The 

applicant must submit proof of payment of the tax. The 
lessor and the lessee must remain the same. 

 
c. No tax worksheet is required on an open-end lease. The 

purchase price of the vehicle is certified by the dealer on the 
application for title (MV608) or a purchase order must be 
submitted to substantiate the vehicles’ purchase price. 

 
4. When entering a lease transaction that falls under Section C above 

on the computer system, a tax code 46 should be used. 
 
D. Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,000 pounds or more 

(excluding fertilizer vehicles…see Section B), leased for more than 28 
days. 

 
1. The lessor must title and license the vehicle. In the case of a 

leasing company within a dealership, the leasing company name 
must be separate and distinct from that of the dealership. 

 
2. The lessor and the lessee’s name must appear on the title. 

 
a. The South Dakota driver’s license or social security number 

of each lessee must be given. If the lessee is a company, the 
FEIN is required. If the company is a sole proprietorship, 
the lessee’s South Dakota driver’s license number or social 
security number may be used. The FEIN, South Dakota 
driver’s license number or social security number of the 
lessor is required. 
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3. The lessor or the lessee must pay the 4% excise tax on the 
purchase price of the vehicle. A bill of sale or purchase order is 
needed to establish purchase price, unless the dealer price 
certification on the application is completed. 

 
a. Purchase price on a leased vehicle with a gross vehicle 

weight rating of 16,000 pounds or more is the total 
consideration whether received in money or otherwise. [Total 
consideration is the lessor’s purchase price.] 

 
b. In the case of a lessor/lessee situation in which a lease 

vehicle is traded in to a dealer on another lease (no buy-out 
takes place and the trade takes place with the same leasing 
company), the trade-in allowance is granted if the trade-in 
vehicle is in either the lessor or the lessee's name. If the 
lessee's name does not appear on the title, a copy of the 
lease agreement or other supporting documentation 
indicating that the lessee was responsible for payment of the 
excise tax is required. On titles issued after July 1, 1994, 
the law requires that the lessor and the lessee be indicated 
on the title. 

 
4. If the lessee pays the tax and subsequently purchases the vehicle, 

the lessee must title the vehicle and shall receive credit for tax paid 
(on a South Dakota title that denotes the lessee and lessor, a copy 
of the lease agreement is not required). 

 
5. Out-of-state leasing companies titling and licensing a leased 

vehicle in South Dakota that has been previously titled and 
licensed in another state shall be exempt from the 5% excise tax to 
the extent that an equal and similar amount of registration fee, 
sales tax, use tax, state excise tax (in dollars) has been paid in 
such other state. The lessee must remain the same. 

 
a. The county treasurer shall require the leasing company 

making application for license of a vehicle to provide proof 
that a similar and equal amount of tax has been paid in 
another state. 

 
b. If sufficient proof is not furnished at the time of application, 

the county treasurer shall collect the full amount of the 4% 
excise tax. 

36  



 

E. Vehicles rented for 28 days or less (includes automobiles, pickups,  
vans and motorcycles) licensed under the noncommercial license fee 
schedule (SDCL 32- 5-6) with a manufacturers shipping weight, 
including accessories, of 10,000 pounds or less; trailers with an 
unladen weight of 9,000 pounds or more that are rented for six months 
or less. 

 
1. Exempt from the 4% excise tax. 

 
a. A tax of 4 1/2% is imposed upon the gross receipts of any 

person renting motor vehicles for 28 days or less (see E. for 
qualifying vehicles). This tax is in addition to any sales tax 
levied pursuant to chapters 10-45 or 10-46 (4% sales tax, 
1% tourism tax 
(note: effective July 1, 2009, during the months of June, 
July, August and September until June 30, 2011, the 
tourism tax rate increases from 1% to 1-1/2%) plus 
applicable city tax on rentals of 28 days or less) , plus 
applicable city tax) on rentals of 28 days or less. 

 
1) Exemption code 19 should be used on the application 

for title (MV608). 
 

2) Title must be issued in the name of the rental 
company. 

 
3) If the rental company is within a dealership, the rental 

company name must be separate and distinct from 
that of the dealership. 

 
4) If the lessee is a rental company leasing vehicles for 

use in a daily rental operation, the rental company 
must be indicated on the title as the lessee. 

 
b. The rental company remits the 4 1/2% gross receipts tax 

and the rental sales tax to the Sales Tax Office of the 
Department of Revenue and Regulation on the Sales Tax 
Return. 

 
c. Title applications on rental vehicles must be accompanied by 

an affidavit from a representative of the  rental company 
stating that the vehicle is being used for rental. The 
representative of the rental company will also be required to 

37  



state the rental company's sales tax number on the affidavit. 
(An MV-608 or MV-609 exemption form, which contains this 
information, may be used in-lieu-of the affidavit.) 

 
F. All revenues received from the 4% excise tax and the 4 1/2% gross 

receipts tax are credited to the State Highway Fund. 
 
G. To apply for South Dakota title and registration, an applicant must 

complete an Application for Motor Vehicle Title and Registration (MV- 
608). The application must be filed in the county of the new applicant's 
residence. 

 
1. The application must be signed by the record owner(s) or by an 

authorized agent for the record owner(s). If an authorized agent 
signs the application, a power of attorney document must be 
attached to verify the appointment. 

 
H. If the vehicle is new, a manufacturer's statement of origin (MSO) must be 

attached. If the vehicle is used, a certificate of title, properly transferred 
to the applicant, must be attached. 

 
1. The purchase price would be the same as previously set out in the 

section entitled "Definition of 4% Excise Tax". 
 
I. A properly completed Damage Disclosure Statement form, if applicable, 

must be attached. The lessor is responsible for completing the Damage 
Disclosure Statement. 

 
J. Payment of the correct amount of 4% excise tax (if applicable), a title fee, 

and any license fee as may be required must be collected. Failure to pay 
the full amount of excise tax is a Class 1 misdemeanor. 
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