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SECTION 10 
 

 

EMERGENCY VEHICLE DEALER LICENSE 
 
South Dakota law requires that anyone engaged in the business of selling or 
exchanging new or used authorized emergency vehicles shall have an 
emergency vehicle dealer’s license. An emergency vehicle dealer’s license is also 
required in the event of submission of a bid proposal of an emergency vehicle 
for sale by a person not exempt under the dealer statute, if the bid proposal is 
offered in response to a bid request originating in this state. 

 
An “emergency vehicle dealer” is defined as any person who converts or 
manufacturers authorized emergency vehicles and who, for commission or with 
intent to make a profit or gain, sells, exchanges, rents with option to purchase, 
offers, or attempts to negotiate a sale or exchange of new, or new and used 
authorized emergency vehicles, or who is engaged wholly or in part in the 
business of selling new, or new and used authorized emergency vehicles. The 
term also includes the submission of a bid proposal for the sale of a vehicle if 
the bid proposal is offered in response to a bid request originating in this state. 

 
An “authorized emergency vehicle” is defined as any vehicle of a fire 
department and any ambulance and emergency vehicle of a municipal 
department or public service corporation that are designed or authorized by the 
Department of Commerce and Regulation. 

 
An emergency vehicle dealer is exempt from the requirement of having its 
principal place of business in South Dakota and is not required to secure a 
separate license for each county it operates within. 

 
Any out-of-state dealer that applies for an emergency vehicle dealer’s license 
and whose principal place of business is not located in South Dakota must 
provide proof it is a licensed dealer in another state and attest that there are no 
outstanding dealer violations against the dealership. The dealer is allowed to 
verify that there are no outstanding dealer violations by attesting to such on an 
affidavit. 

 
The following requirements must be met before a license can be issued: 

 
1) Application for license; 
2) $300 initial license fee; $175 renewal license fee; 
3) $10,000 surety bond; 
4) $300,000 liability insurance on principal place of business (principal place 

of business does not have to be in South Dakota). 

57  


	SECTION 1  REQUIREMENTS TO BE A LICENSED DEALER
	SECTION 2
	SECTION 3 RECORD KEEPING
	SECTION 4 TITLE REQUIREMENTS
	SECTION 5
	SECTION 6
	SECTION 7
	SECTION 8
	SECTION 9
	SECTION 10
	SECTION 11
	SECTION 12 BUYER’S GUIDE
	SECTION 13
	SECTION 14
	SECTION 15

	Section 15
	SECTION 16
	SECTION 17
	SECTION 18
	SECTION 19 SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATION

